This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by Dan B
Last review on 2017/12/03
# of Reviews: 9

Very Humbling Day

Posted on: 2017/12/03

We were picked up on time by a very professional and knowledgeable driver who explained everything we needed to know before entering Pearl Harbor. We had time to visit the museum buildings which included many relics from the era and the gift shop before entering the building where a short film is seen. We then boarded a boat piloted by military personnel who brought us to the memorial. Once we entered the memorial we we asked to keep conversations to a whisper to respect the souls below. It was a very humbling moment for us all. We were then taken back to shore and boarded our bus to head to the Missouri. We were told NOT to take any pictures while driving they the military base until we got to the Missouri, There are lots of places to have a quick meal before and after boarding the Ship. Once you're on the ship you can go out on your own or take a free guided tour which I would suggest. because all of the important areas like where the surrender took place. After the tour you will still have time to walk about the ship and to go beneath to view crew quarters and other areas of interest. After leaving the ship we boarded our bus, picked up our bags and purses at the locker area (not allowed at Pearl Harbor) and headed to the Punch Bowl for a short drive thru to pay our respects then to our hotels. This was a very informative tour done by a great drive who also acted as the tour guide. He didn't miss a thing and made us feel that we were back un the day with his presentation. His company would be very proud of him!!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

What a great day,!!

Posted on: 2017/11/05

The pick up was right on time and was greeted by a very knowledable and talented host who gave us information about the island and the adventure ahead of us. He also sang us songs and got to know each of us. The first part of the adventure was to board 2 katamarans and sail to the sandbar. The crew was also very knowledgeable and made sure we all knew what to do. They spoke many languages so everyone was cut in. The sandbar is amazing where you wade in waste deep water and enjoy the company of other travelers or play water volleyball. After that we boarded the boat and went to see the green sea turtles which we all over the area while the crew prepared lunch. The lunch was a grilled burger which was vert flavorful and juicy. All the fixings were available along with baked beans, potato salad etc. soft drinks, ice tea, hot tea and coffee were free and beer and wine was available for purchase. After lunch we sailed to the reef where we readied for snorkeling. All equipment was available from masks, snorkels, fins and life jackets. The crew kept an eagle eye on all of us to ensure our safety. The snorkeling was wonderful with a nice display of fish and some turtles who didn’t mind us being there. My wife came face to face with a turtle and went above water for air the went back under with the turtle. This was one of the best adventures we’ve had and can be enjoyed by all ages. We had young people and I am 66 years so all ages can enjoy. The crew saw to our every need from helping us to put equipment on to helping the first times who seemed to enjoy it the most. After that we headed back to shore, the bus and our ride home. I can’t say anything but good about this adventure and will do it again next year when we return. The driver, the host and the crew made this a very perfect day for us❤️❤️❤️

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Perfect pickup

Posted on: 2017/11/05

We were met at the luggage carousel by a delightful woman the walked us to our van. The drive to the hotel was very comfortable with a knowledgeable driver who loaded and unloaded our luggage. No problems and right on time,

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Interesting tour

Posted on: 2016/11/27

Our driver picked us up on time as they usually do and we headed to the Iolani Palace for the first leg of our tour. Our Driver like all of the Veltra Tour drivers gave us useful information and told us about the interesting areas along the way. When we arrived at the palace our driver brought us to the palace staff for the guided tour. This place is amazing and very well kept. The tour guide was full of interesting facts about the palace and the people who lived there. We went from room to room and floor to floor never conflicting with our tours in the building. Once the guided portion of the tour was over we were brought to the museum area and gift shop to view the Kings and Queens jewels and other artifacts.

We boarded the bus and our drive brought us to the Bishop Museum where we had a very good lunch and time to relax for a few moments. Once lunch was over we went thru the gift shop to head to the Bishops Museum. We spent a few moments there before heading to another building to see ho volcanoes make lava and other interesting scientific items. We had some tome to walk around before heading back to the Bishops Museum. We were always given the option to walk thru any of the many areas without a guide or have the guided tour which we did. The guide went from display to display explaining the items and how they were used in the Hawaiian culture. After the guided portion of the tour we were given tome to walk from display to display along the 4 floors of the museum. There is also an interactive room where children of all ages can take part in different things. We once again boarded the bus where our driver asked how we enjoyed our tours and if there was anything else he could have done to make it better. He brought us back to our various hotels with more information about the area. This was a very comfortable tour and plan on spending more tome at this museums next year.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great Experience

Posted on: 2016/11/21

We were picked up on time by a friendly driver who explained everything we needed to know regarding our hike. He was right on with his explanation. We walked along with several others up the trails which we easy then got to some of the curves and switchbacks where the footing was a little difficult. Be sure to wear good tennis shoes or hiking boots not sandals or heels for this hike. We came to a series of steps that were steep then into a tunnel that was a few minutes long. Outside the tunnel there were 2 routes to the top. One set of steps much steeper than the other but can stop and rest along the way if needed. Once on the top the views were spectacular and well worth the climb. I'm 65 years old and have 3 stents in my hear and made this "moderate " hike with only a few stops. There are some rough areas in this hike so people with walkers, wheel chairs and buggies will not make it. We will definitely do this event next time we're in Hawaii. We did the hike up to the top, looked around for 15-20 minutes and hiked back down in 1 - 1/2 hours.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Nice Sunset Sail but crew begs for tips...

Posted on: 2016/11/21

We took off on time after being greeted by the 2 man crew and the bar was opened after a short explanation of what drinks were available which consisted of soft drinks, beer, wine and some concoction in a gallon jug. The crew mentioned several times that tips were appreciated even though there was a jar in plain site marked "TIPS". Shortly after we set sail the bar tender put up a looped message that said, "Aussie's OI, OI, OI TIP!!! TIP!!! TIP!!!" This played over the entire trip and most of us thought it was quite tacky and unnecessary to single out our friends from Australia. Even though the sail was nice this sad action from the crew took away from it. 50 passengers paid $55 each to take this sail so it seems to many of us that it's not necessary to beg for tips especially when all he did was pour a drink from a plastic gallon jug. People from Australia have always been our friends and the Aussie's we sat by were not amused nor were we. We come to Honolulu every year but probably won't do this event again.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Beautiful Views

Posted on: 2015/11/11

We were greeted at our hotel by a Cruise rep and his trainee who had a wonderful smile. We were taken to our boat and directed to our seats by a wonderful staff who all greeted us with the traditional "Aloha". The Cruise rep and his trainee (Smiley) cited on our table with tremendous professionalism and friendliness making our cruise very pleasant. The food was perfect for this cruise and everything was brought to our table in perfect order. The floor show was spectacular and it was fun seeing the traditions of dance and music. We started off during daylight and cruised the beautiful skyline of Waikiki Beach and Honolulu in the dark. Everyone had a chance to spend time outside on several different viewing areas. This was a great dinner cruise and we highly recommend it to people of all ages.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Nice scenery

Posted on: 2015/11/11

Started out from our hotel with a great driver who was very knowledgable and entertaining. We stopped to see Hanauma Bay which was beautiful then moved on to see some very beautiful scenery areas and a stop for ice cream. We hadn't seen this part of the island before especially the beautiful homes with ocean scenery. We ended up at Kuala Ranch that had a tram tour that was somewhat of a disappointment because we saw scenery from the ranch that we could see from the road but now much of the ranch or ranching activities. The gold buffet lunch was okay but only came with complimentary water with tiny plastic glasses. If we wanted any other drinks we had to stand in line while our food got cold. We headed to Dole thinking we would get a tour but again only stopped at the gift shop for shopping. Best part of that was we had another pineapple whip which was great. We saw many of the same things on this tour that we saw the day before on our Pearl Harbor / Polynesian tour. The driver was great and very informative but the tour was just so-so and wouldn't recommend it to others who do the Pearl Harbor / Polynesian Cultural Center.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Humbling tour

Posted on: 2015/11/11

We had a great driver/tour guide named Kona who brought us to Pearl Harbor and explained everything we needed to know.We had time to explore the museums and to visit the gift shop prior to our introduction film. After the film the boats took us to the memorial and were given plenty of time to see this very humbling area. After the tour we went to the Polynesian Cultural Center and again our driver Kona explained everything we needed to know and helped us go to the right places. Next time we visit we plan on spending more time here to see everything because the whole day would be needed for that. It was a beautiful drive around the Island with a short stop at the North Shore to see its beauty. Kona pointed out everything along the drive from points of interest to island history. After that we made a stop at Dole Plantation which was a bonus for us so we had the delicious pineapple whip while we checked things out. Our trip back to the hotels was very interesting thanks to Kona's constant and very interesting information. He made this day tour fun, entertaining and informative so we highly recommend this tour.

Reply from activity provider

Mahalo for your wonderful review, Dan! We'll be sure to tell Kona how much fun you had and we hope to see you the next time you're in the islands :)

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | | Next