This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Overall Rating

4.19 4.19 / 5

Reviews

53 reviews
Post a review

Jeeping in Lanai

Reviewed by: AZ jeepers, 2015/10/31

We booked a Maui to Lanai Ferry tour with a jeep rental from Veltra. When we arrived at the ferry the clerk was extremely courteous and had our tickets ready for us. The ferry was on time and we had a smooth ride over to Lanai. The shuttle driver was at the landing when we arrived and he was very informative about the island and dropped us at the jeep rental location and reminded us when he would be there to return us to the ferry. We had a yellow 2 door jeep waiting for us and we were given a map on where we could drive. Lanai apparently had a ton of rain and most of the roads were not accessible for us. We really wanted to drive to Shipwreck Beach and fortunately it was the only dirt road open to us. We had a nice hike out to the end of the point and saw turtles and some fascinating washed up debris. We found a Mouflon sheep horn on the beach and small shells, bobbers, rope, and misc. trash. The rusty tanker was really awesome! When we walked back we stopped for lunch on the square and went back to our pickup point. The ferry back was a little rougher, but we arrived on time back at the dock. Glad we went, just disappointed about the other closed trails. I gave it four out of five stars because everything was great except the rain closed all but one of the trails, not the fault of the tour agency.

  • Our Jeep rental parked at Shipwreck Beach, Lanai.

  • Shoreline hike to the wreck on Lanai.

  • Totally awesome rusted ship!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/10
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Ferry and Jeep Adventure

Reviewed by: Bunky , 2015/07/27

All we can say is "WOW"!

First:
The Ferry ride to and from Lanai was, in itself, fantastic. We met some locals who couldn't have been nicer and saw an unreal sunset on the way home.

Next:
After we grabber our Jeep we hit Richards supermarket. Now, by this time in the trip we had eaten enough poke to get Mercury poisoning so when I tell you that Richrads Super Poke Bowl was the best we had. I mean it! Id go back just for that!

More!:
We hit Shipwreck beach which was beautiful. We made it to the Garden of the Gods and then to the beach beyond that....we did not see a SOUL out there. It really felt like we were on a deserted island.
Now, I do have to tell you, the drive is technical and you could get stuck. So be careful! There was a point where I had to lay some rocks and driftwood in the trail just to make it through.

All in all....it was an amazing day and I will go back to see the rest of Lanai as soon as I can.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One day Jeep rental on Lanai.

Reviewed by: Drunkey, 2015/07/01

The customer service and Jeep rental were very friendly and professional. They handled our request and took care of our needs. The Day on Lanai was exciting and and fun for everyone. We decided this would be an excursion we will do again. Thanks for everything Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Sightseeing and Off-roading Trip

Reviewed by: Rob, 2015/05/18

Very good trip. Jeep was decent from Dollar Rental in Lanai City. Map provided was clear enough and the signs on the road really helped. I had not done any off-roading before this trip and although it wasn't easy it was a lot of fun! I would start with going to Shipwreck Beach first as this is the easier off roading route if you are a novice so you can build up some confidence, then got the harder routes!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great trip to the most unusual island in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jan & Cathy, 2015/05/07

We wanted to explore all 6 of the main Hawaiian islands on our trip and so included a trip to Lanai. We signed up to take the ferry, shuttle, & Jeep rental package. We drove to Lahaina on Maui & rode the 9:15 AM ferry for the 45 minute ride to Manele Bay on Lanai. We then took the shuttle to the Dollar rental place in Lanai City (a small community in the center of the island with no traffic lights) and we were given an almost new air conditioned Jeep to drive around for the day. We were well aware of the landscape on Lanai - so it wasn't a surprise to see very little vegetation and no good beaches there. We took our time and drove east to Shipwreck Beach & then north to the Garden of The Gods (a truly unique moonscape like place). Then back into town for a casual lunch & finally out to the west coast to see the barge harbor (not much there). We turned in our Jeep (after filling up with $4.50 per gallon gasoline) & were taken back to the ferry dock & ferry ride back to Lahaina in the evening. A very full day and worth it - not something to do again, but worth it to say that we explored this very little visited island. We had no problems with the ferry, shuttle or Jeep reservation.

  • Shpwreck Beach

  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai trip

Reviewed by: John Costello, 2015/01/03

We expected lush vegetation, waterfalls, and pools. We got desert and a jeep with no air-conditioning, and one beach. We expected to be taken to the car rental, but were lied to by a shuttle service and conned into paying $20.00 to get there, from the dock, since there was no one to pick us up. There was nothing lush about this island, and only the beach was worth seeing and experiencing. The cost was close to $300 for the experience, and as far as we are concerned a complete waste. We would never do it again and would never recommend it. It was a compete waste of time and money, and I feel we were completely deceived for the very purpose of getting money out of our pockets into yours. I guess you got what you wanted. And I learned my lesson.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Chris, 2014/12/30

We had a great time driving around Lanai in a Jeep Wrangler with the top down. The roads that were open and on the 'allowed' list were a lot of fun and filled up the time we had open to us. The only problem with this activity is that it is a loooong day. We had to wake up at 4:30am to drive to the ferry, take the ferry, take the shuttle, enjoy the day, then shuttle/ferry/drive back to our hotel around 6:00pm.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny! Best & Dirtiest Time ever!

Reviewed by: AmyB, 2014/10/14

Lots of bad reviews about this activity can only mean they were written by people having much too high of expectations of what Lanai is about. Lanai City is probably one of the smallest in America, on a remote island with only 3 main rds - all others being only tracks in the sand/dirt/mud. THERE IS ONLY 1 RENTAL CO & 1 GAS STN, and of course they are expensive (imagine the costs of repairs after tourists wreak havoc on those 4x4s). However, we met the rental owner & he was so down to Earth w/ a lot of Aloha!! Told us not to worry about scratches, just bring her back in 1 piece. We got a soft top & took the top down (have them do it for you if you're unfamiliar). Our jeep was dirty & beat up (inside & out), but I expected that, & you see why after being on those trails! We minded our P's & Q's w/ the locals & the mud, & we did not have to pay extra for cleaning/traffic tickets/towing. We got DIRTY, TAN & WINDBLOWN, but the landscapes & wildlife were amazing... we experienced RAW HAWAII at its best! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!

So, if you come, have respect & Aloha for this place & its people. Keep your expectations realistic. Get the hard top if you don't want to get as dirty or as sun worn... soft top if you want the real experience! Helps to have a driver with 4x4 experience (maybe some mechanical too). **A 6:45a departure / 4:30 return gives you appx 9a-3p in a jeep. If you need more time, request the last ferry. But, be on time for the shuttle, or you'll be paying to stay at the Four Seasons & for morning ferry tickets! Again, it's just about having respect for where you are!

Most dirty fun we've ever had! You are paying for the experience, NOT LUXURY, and it's worth every single penny!! Aloha Lanai... be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/10
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: corrie wijbenga , 2014/09/29

We booked this one because my husband wanted the offroad experience. And it was great! We started early in the morning by going to the Lahaina harbour, from there the ferry took us in about 45 minutes to Lanaï where we were brought to Dollar and get a beat up Jeep and a roadmap with roads we could drive on and roads we weren't allowed to drive on( which we did anyway). We went to Shipwreck beach, Garden of the gods, Polihua beach,Hulopoe bay,Keomoku village and Lanaï city. We drove around Lanaï almost the whole day and snorkeled a bit in a tidepool at Hulopoe bay.
Because we took the last ferry back to Mauï , we were exhausted at the end of the day. But it was worth it.

  • our rental jeep

  • entering the Lanaï harbour

  • Shipwreck beach

  • Driftwood on Shipwreck beach

  • Garden of the Gods

  • Polihua Beach

  • Polihua Beach

  • Church in Lanaï city

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/12
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

maui to Lanai

Reviewed by: shareen, 2014/09/25

we had a wonderful time. this was an awesome trip!
the beaches were beautiful. off roading was fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best experience in Lanai

Reviewed by: NHR, 2014/09/12

Not the experience we had hoped to have. We hoped that by being able to rent and drive our own jeep that we would be able to experience the island on our own. The rental that we got was in really bad shape and there was a very little information available for the best spots to go to explore, that we could actually get to. I definitely do NOT recommend this for someone who is trying to learn more about what is available to do on the island. I think the guided tour would have been a better choice. Especially since the rentals they provided at budget were in such bad shape.

  • Some areas of the island are accessible and beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aweful

Reviewed by: id4das, 2014/05/28

This is the worst waste of time and money. Most roads are closed no beaches to snorkel or swim at. Speed limit twenty miles per hour and they do ticket you. Jeeps in poor shape.
Only really want people to come over to the four season resorts.again do not waste time or money

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ferry/Jeep Rental

Reviewed by: Donald, 2014/05/16

This trip was not as advertised and was the greatest disappointment in our week on Maui. Roughly half of the Jeep travel on the island of Lanai was declared "not accessible". The Dollar agency has a red stamp already made to limit travel to the one main island road. This was not the map we had seen when we decided to book the tour. Also, Jeeps should have been made available at the ferry dock instead of losing time getting to and from the Dollar agency by van. That was over an hour lost out of an already short day. Correspondence through the Office of the Attorney General, Facebook, Trip Advisor and other media outlets will help inform the purchasing public of the service actually delivered by this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HORRIBLE - would not let me post under 1 or 2 stars

Reviewed by: amy, 2014/04/27

My husband and I were on our honeymoon, and out first trip together to Hawaii. We took the ferry from Maui to Lanai, but when we got there we were not directed what to do. After wandering around for a while someone finally directed us to where we needed to go. After waiting in line to get a shuttle to where our jeep rental was, they were out of spaces on the shuttle. We ended up having to wait for one of the workers to take us to the jeep rental. Once we finally got our jeep, they provided us with a map with places we were allowed to go (most of which were closed without reason) there were only two places we were allowed to go. We went down to Shipwreck Beach to snorkel, but the water was so murky we could not see anything. We went down to the other beach we were allowed to go to, but shortly after we left. We wanted to turn in our jeep and go back to the main harbor to snorkel, and we were told the shuttle would run every half hour, but when we got back to the rental place to turn n the jeep, they advised that that wasn't the case, and we would have to wait for the shuttle that took the group back to the ferry right before it left. We ended up sitting in the car until it was time to return. The shuttle was fifteen minutes late picking us up.This was the worst day in Hawaii that we had, and I would not recommend this activity to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry 4x4 Rental

Reviewed by: Regina M, 2014/04/23

This is a MUST NOT MISS trip if you are in Maui. Explore Lanai in a 4x4 Jeep to areas off the grid. Don't worry that you aren't an off road driver. Put the Jeep in 4wheel drive and go! I am so glad that I was able to fit this trip into our itinerary.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Connie, 2014/04/02

A great way to see the island of Lanai. Definitely could have used more time, so plan on taking the first ferry over from Maui and the last ferry back. Loved being able to use the roads less traveled and see the sights normally out of reach. The only reason I didn't give it Five Stars is that about half the roads were off limits. Would have liked to see more roads accessible. That being said, still worth it!

  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We loved Lanai!!!!

Reviewed by: Chere, 2013/12/28

Jeep rental was easy and Lanai was beautiful. Had a little trouble with the map, but overall, Lanai was our second favorite island we visited on our trip. We saw deer and other amazing things.

  • Jeep Rental

  • Shipwreck Beach

  • Sweetheart Rock

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to Lanai

Reviewed by: Dave Hall, 2013/12/12

Fourth time to Islands. First time to Lanai. Very nice day trip
To the Island. Jeep gives you access to hard to get places. Very enjoyable day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

LANAI JEEP TREK

Reviewed by: JOHN NICKELSON, 2013/10/27

NICE TRIP, I WAS DISAPPOINTED WITH SHIPWRECK BEACH. THE PLACE WAS INTERESTING BUT NOT EASILY ACCESSIBLE AFTER GETTING OUT OF THE JEEP. THE OTHER BEACH ( STARTS WITH P ) WAS OUTSTANDING. THIS IS A TRUE JEEP TRAIL AND 4X4 WAS NEEDED TO GET OUT. THE PLACE WAS VERY PRETTY.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeep Rental

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2013/08/31

Check in procedure was quick and easy. Gas prices were a bit high, but we didn't need a full tank. Off roading wasn't the highlight of the trip, but it was okay.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Adventure

Reviewed by: Texas Dave, 2013/08/10

My partner and I made the all day trip to the island of Lanai, with a day rental of a Jeep. I really had no idea what to expect. We had a great ride over at sunrise, then took a bus into Lanai City to pick up our Jeep. We then had breakfast at the Sunrise Café...spam and eggs! Then we drove all over the island. You need to see the old Liberty ship on the north side, and the Garden of the Gods stone monument. The Jeep was a hoot, and 4wd was definitely needed...Otherthan that, we visited both 4 Seasons Hotels, and drove to every corner of the island. We returned at sunset....Nice trip, but not a lot to see on Lanai, but it least we can now say we have been there!

  • Departing Maui at 6:30AM....sunrise

  • Approaching Lanai on ferry....

  • Downtown Lanai City......

  • Lanai ferry boat....

  • Four wheeling to Garden of the Gods...

  • Looking north to Molokai from Lanai.....

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeeping Lanai

Reviewed by: Geri Jones, 2013/06/29

We traveled to Lanai via the ferry to explore the island with a rental Jeep. The ferry crew was friendly, and on time. We had a good trip over, and when we forgot something in the Jeep we had rented the ferry company let us change our return time so we could retrieve our belongings.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Lanai

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/06/16

A great ride around Lanai. We saw shipwreck beach, Garden of the Gods, and stopped at a few other spots to look out over the ocean and see some of the other islands!

Stopped at the beautiful Hulopoe Beach for a picnic lunch and some snorkeling before heading back and catching the last ferry back to Maui. A great day and one of the best adventures we did in Maui/Lanai!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]