This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

A little disappointing

Reviewed by: Michigan , 2018/08/06

Three of the five off road trails were closed. That should be advertised to people who are looking to come over. The trip to Shipwreck Beach was beautiful and worth that road. The Goddess trail was not clearly marked and hard to find where it was. One of the highlights of the day was pastries and coffee at Blue Ginger Cafe. Wish we had time to have lunch there too. It was a happening place and the staff were very friendly. Overall good day but would have been better if there were more trails open and they were up front with potential customers.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to lanai

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2017/12/03

Very easy! Great trip! The experiencemafe easy was simplified by your booking. Would use it again on our next trip over to the Hawaiian islands.


  • Shipwreck beach!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!!

Reviewed by: Tera , 2017/10/08

I have been on this Lana‘i jeep excursion activity twice in the past, loved it!! My new husband had never been to Hawai‘i so we are here for our honeymoon and I told him we had to go on this activity to Lana’i, and he loved it!!!! We will definitely do this again!! In fact we are going to purchase a condo here in Maui ❤️


  • Keomuku village


  • Beaut beaches in Lana’i


  • Polihua Beach!!! The most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!


  • Keomuku village Hawaiian church!! Stunningly beautiful!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved Lanai

Reviewed by: Susie R., 2017/08/19

Ferry ride to and from Lanai was very nice. After we arrived our shuttle was waiting to take us to the rental jeep. Ate breakfast in town then began our day of exploring. I would recommend this trip!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.


  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day

Reviewed by: Christine, 2017/04/06

We took the early ferry for a pleasant trip to Lanai. The shuttle to the Jeep rental was waiting for us so we got headed on our exploration of the island quickly. After a tasty omelette and pancakes at the Ginger Cafe we headed to the Garden of the Gods seeing beautiful rock formations and landscape on the way. Next stop was shipwreck beach. It was only a short hike to get fairly close to the shipwreck and being the only ones on the beach was lovely. We felt like we were the only people on the entire island. So tranquil and peaceful there. We headed back and stopped at the Four Seasons for a drink, appetizers and a glorious view. The package was a great way spend the day on Lanai.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day in Paradise

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2016/05/04

Been visiting Hawaii Islands for years, and it's our first time to island of Lanai. The packaged deal gave the idea, and means to explore islands to find places/sights that are NOT cramped with fellow tourist. Just a bit caution for people who might easily get car/sea sickness: The ride are rough, but the rewards are extraordinary: You get a picture prefect beach all to yourself!!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME !!!

Reviewed by: Tony and Nellie, 2016/04/17

We had a wonderful time on this day trip to Lanai. Everything from the time we checked in at Lahaina harbor until our return to the harbor went smoothly. We were met at the harbor in Lanai, escorted to our jeep rental and off we went. What a FUN day !! Rough and rugged roads but it was a blast. Don't miss this one, well worth the money if you like adventure and beautiful scenery and like to explore on your own.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day adventure!

Reviewed by: SMTM, 2016/03/23

This was a fun and adventurous trip. The island has so many different types of landscape and things to do. We were able to hike out to Shipwreck Beach and find the petroglyphs. We also enjoyed the snorkeling in Manele Bay the reef was so clear. On the ferry ride over we saw whales as well. Everything is well organized, ferry ride was quick and jeep pickup very easy. There are many back roads to explore as well. I highly recommend this trip to people looking for a non-touristy adventure. We were exhausted upon our return to Maui but it was well worth it!


  • Manele Bay!


  • Rugged jeeps!


  • Great red back roads!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/15
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent & Fun!!!!!

Reviewed by: HIDEMI Yokota, 2016/02/06

I used to have a Jeep CJ-7 in my college days in Philly. On this trip, We had such a fun time and amazed by nature and landscapes.


  • Fun fun fun!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeeping in Lanai

Reviewed by: AZ jeepers, 2015/10/31

We booked a Maui to Lanai Ferry tour with a jeep rental from Veltra. When we arrived at the ferry the clerk was extremely courteous and had our tickets ready for us. The ferry was on time and we had a smooth ride over to Lanai. The shuttle driver was at the landing when we arrived and he was very informative about the island and dropped us at the jeep rental location and reminded us when he would be there to return us to the ferry. We had a yellow 2 door jeep waiting for us and we were given a map on where we could drive. Lanai apparently had a ton of rain and most of the roads were not accessible for us. We really wanted to drive to Shipwreck Beach and fortunately it was the only dirt road open to us. We had a nice hike out to the end of the point and saw turtles and some fascinating washed up debris. We found a Mouflon sheep horn on the beach and small shells, bobbers, rope, and misc. trash. The rusty tanker was really awesome! When we walked back we stopped for lunch on the square and went back to our pickup point. The ferry back was a little rougher, but we arrived on time back at the dock. Glad we went, just disappointed about the other closed trails. I gave it four out of five stars because everything was great except the rain closed all but one of the trails, not the fault of the tour agency.


  • Our Jeep rental parked at Shipwreck Beach, Lanai.


  • Shoreline hike to the wreck on Lanai.


  • Totally awesome rusted ship!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/10
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Ferry and Jeep Adventure

Reviewed by: Bunky , 2015/07/27

All we can say is "WOW"!

First:
The Ferry ride to and from Lanai was, in itself, fantastic. We met some locals who couldn't have been nicer and saw an unreal sunset on the way home.

Next:
After we grabber our Jeep we hit Richards supermarket. Now, by this time in the trip we had eaten enough poke to get Mercury poisoning so when I tell you that Richrads Super Poke Bowl was the best we had. I mean it! Id go back just for that!

More!:
We hit Shipwreck beach which was beautiful. We made it to the Garden of the Gods and then to the beach beyond that....we did not see a SOUL out there. It really felt like we were on a deserted island.
Now, I do have to tell you, the drive is technical and you could get stuck. So be careful! There was a point where I had to lay some rocks and driftwood in the trail just to make it through.

All in all....it was an amazing day and I will go back to see the rest of Lanai as soon as I can.






Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great trip to the most unusual island in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jan & Cathy, 2015/05/07

We wanted to explore all 6 of the main Hawaiian islands on our trip and so included a trip to Lanai. We signed up to take the ferry, shuttle, & Jeep rental package. We drove to Lahaina on Maui & rode the 9:15 AM ferry for the 45 minute ride to Manele Bay on Lanai. We then took the shuttle to the Dollar rental place in Lanai City (a small community in the center of the island with no traffic lights) and we were given an almost new air conditioned Jeep to drive around for the day. We were well aware of the landscape on Lanai - so it wasn't a surprise to see very little vegetation and no good beaches there. We took our time and drove east to Shipwreck Beach & then north to the Garden of The Gods (a truly unique moonscape like place). Then back into town for a casual lunch & finally out to the west coast to see the barge harbor (not much there). We turned in our Jeep (after filling up with $4.50 per gallon gasoline) & were taken back to the ferry dock & ferry ride back to Lahaina in the evening. A very full day and worth it - not something to do again, but worth it to say that we explored this very little visited island. We had no problems with the ferry, shuttle or Jeep reservation.


  • Shpwreck Beach


  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: corrie wijbenga , 2014/09/29

We booked this one because my husband wanted the offroad experience. And it was great! We started early in the morning by going to the Lahaina harbour, from there the ferry took us in about 45 minutes to Lanaï where we were brought to Dollar and get a beat up Jeep and a roadmap with roads we could drive on and roads we weren't allowed to drive on( which we did anyway). We went to Shipwreck beach, Garden of the gods, Polihua beach,Hulopoe bay,Keomoku village and Lanaï city. We drove around Lanaï almost the whole day and snorkeled a bit in a tidepool at Hulopoe bay.
Because we took the last ferry back to Mauï , we were exhausted at the end of the day. But it was worth it.


  • our rental jeep


  • entering the Lanaï harbour


  • Shipwreck beach



  • Driftwood on Shipwreck beach



  • Garden of the Gods


  • Polihua Beach


  • Polihua Beach


  • Church in Lanaï city

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/12
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best experience in Lanai

Reviewed by: NHR, 2014/09/12

Not the experience we had hoped to have. We hoped that by being able to rent and drive our own jeep that we would be able to experience the island on our own. The rental that we got was in really bad shape and there was a very little information available for the best spots to go to explore, that we could actually get to. I definitely do NOT recommend this for someone who is trying to learn more about what is available to do on the island. I think the guided tour would have been a better choice. Especially since the rentals they provided at budget were in such bad shape.


  • Some areas of the island are accessible and beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ferry/Jeep Rental

Reviewed by: Donald, 2014/05/16

This trip was not as advertised and was the greatest disappointment in our week on Maui. Roughly half of the Jeep travel on the island of Lanai was declared "not accessible". The Dollar agency has a red stamp already made to limit travel to the one main island road. This was not the map we had seen when we decided to book the tour. Also, Jeeps should have been made available at the ferry dock instead of losing time getting to and from the Dollar agency by van. That was over an hour lost out of an already short day. Correspondence through the Office of the Attorney General, Facebook, Trip Advisor and other media outlets will help inform the purchasing public of the service actually delivered by this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry 4x4 Rental

Reviewed by: Regina M, 2014/04/23

This is a MUST NOT MISS trip if you are in Maui. Explore Lanai in a 4x4 Jeep to areas off the grid. Don't worry that you aren't an off road driver. Put the Jeep in 4wheel drive and go! I am so glad that I was able to fit this trip into our itinerary.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun!

Reviewed by: Connie, 2014/04/02

A great way to see the island of Lanai. Definitely could have used more time, so plan on taking the first ferry over from Maui and the last ferry back. Loved being able to use the roads less traveled and see the sights normally out of reach. The only reason I didn't give it Five Stars is that about half the roads were off limits. Would have liked to see more roads accessible. That being said, still worth it!


  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We loved Lanai!!!!

Reviewed by: Chere, 2013/12/28

Jeep rental was easy and Lanai was beautiful. Had a little trouble with the map, but overall, Lanai was our second favorite island we visited on our trip. We saw deer and other amazing things.


  • Jeep Rental


  • Shipwreck Beach


  • Sweetheart Rock

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to Lanai

Reviewed by: Dave Hall, 2013/12/12

Fourth time to Islands. First time to Lanai. Very nice day trip
To the Island. Jeep gives you access to hard to get places. Very enjoyable day.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Adventure

Reviewed by: Texas Dave, 2013/08/10

My partner and I made the all day trip to the island of Lanai, with a day rental of a Jeep. I really had no idea what to expect. We had a great ride over at sunrise, then took a bus into Lanai City to pick up our Jeep. We then had breakfast at the Sunrise Café...spam and eggs! Then we drove all over the island. You need to see the old Liberty ship on the north side, and the Garden of the Gods stone monument. The Jeep was a hoot, and 4wd was definitely needed...Otherthan that, we visited both 4 Seasons Hotels, and drove to every corner of the island. We returned at sunset....Nice trip, but not a lot to see on Lanai, but it least we can now say we have been there!


  • Departing Maui at 6:30AM....sunrise


  • Approaching Lanai on ferry....


  • Downtown Lanai City......


  • Lanai ferry boat....


  • Four wheeling to Garden of the Gods...


  • Looking north to Molokai from Lanai.....

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]