Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Jeep Day

Reviewed by: GA Girl, 2017/09/19

The Ferry ride was nice...twas a beautiful day! Rented the Jeep saw what there was to see on Lanai...beautiful Island to camp on or just get away from the world for a day! You definitely need a jeep to see this island the good things to do are see are where the black top ends and the red dirt roads begin!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved Lanai

Reviewed by: Susie R., 2017/08/19

Ferry ride to and from Lanai was very nice. After we arrived our shuttle was waiting to take us to the rental jeep. Ate breakfast in town then began our day of exploring. I would recommend this trip!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent service.

Reviewed by: jerome, 2017/06/19

A true 4x4 adventure on Larry Ellison's private island. Time is on the short side since there are limited roads, and one must cover roads to and from each point of interest often overlapping and repeating. but that's part of the fun---given the breathtaking scenery, we didn't mind the back and forth driving.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai

Reviewed by: Jason B., 2017/05/14

This was an excellent day trip to explore another island! The views are magnificent while cruising around in the jeep. This is definitely a worthwhile visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Paul, 2017/05/01

My wife and I rented a jeep to tour Lana'i and visited the Garden of the Gods. The views were stunning around the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.


  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day

Reviewed by: Christine, 2017/04/06

We took the early ferry for a pleasant trip to Lanai. The shuttle to the Jeep rental was waiting for us so we got headed on our exploration of the island quickly. After a tasty omelette and pancakes at the Ginger Cafe we headed to the Garden of the Gods seeing beautiful rock formations and landscape on the way. Next stop was shipwreck beach. It was only a short hike to get fairly close to the shipwreck and being the only ones on the beach was lovely. We felt like we were the only people on the entire island. So tranquil and peaceful there. We headed back and stopped at the Four Seasons for a drink, appetizers and a glorious view. The package was a great way spend the day on Lanai.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - Fun for the Family

Reviewed by: Deric, 2017/02/06

We had a great time with the ferry to lanai and the Jeep rental. Although buyer beware - the Jeep rental agency on Lanai will try to shake you down for transporting you on the shuttle to the rental office. Only send your driver with the shuttle to avoid being charged for the shuttle.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Adventure

Reviewed by: John Berka, 2017/01/31

A bucket list hitter..............beautiful Island, friendly folks, great return ferry ride in 10+ foot swells, jeeping/views were magnificent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeep rental

Reviewed by: Cheryl , 2016/06/18

We were so disappointed that the rental company did not notify us that the off roads were closed due to all the rain. We were so excited to go over and had our day planned accordingly. We ended up taking an earlier Ferry home..a ton of money spent for exploring the town.
We would have rescheduled if they had let us know. I had been there before and wanted so much to show my family. It was a very unhappy day.
I love Lanai and its charm. I'm sure the trip will be taken again. You can't control Mother Nature but it would have been nice to be given the option to reschedule.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cheryl,

Thank you very much for submitting your review on our website. Expeditions usually informs us at least a day or two in advance so that you can make the decision before you board the ferry ride to Lanai. We regret to hear that you were not informed of the road closures ahead of time. Expeditions has offered a partial refund in for the activity not meeting your expectations.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day in Paradise

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2016/05/04

Been visiting Hawaii Islands for years, and it's our first time to island of Lanai. The packaged deal gave the idea, and means to explore islands to find places/sights that are NOT cramped with fellow tourist. Just a bit caution for people who might easily get car/sea sickness: The ride are rough, but the rewards are extraordinary: You get a picture prefect beach all to yourself!!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice trip to lanai

Reviewed by: J.w., 2016/04/29

All worked best, carrental was easy, ferry on time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME !!!

Reviewed by: Tony and Nellie, 2016/04/17

We had a wonderful time on this day trip to Lanai. Everything from the time we checked in at Lahaina harbor until our return to the harbor went smoothly. We were met at the harbor in Lanai, escorted to our jeep rental and off we went. What a FUN day !! Rough and rugged roads but it was a blast. Don't miss this one, well worth the money if you like adventure and beautiful scenery and like to explore on your own.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Experience

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2016/04/13

The reservation process was simple and the package allows for Kama'aina discount (Hawaii Residency discount), which you would have to call and request for it.

Our overall experience was good regarding getting the ferry and jeep rental reservation however I would've provided the 5th star if we were notified that our ferry back from Lanai to Maui was going to be cancelled. While my boyfriend and I were waiting at the dock for the last ferry to head back to Maui, we overheard another family talking about how the same ferry ride we were taking was cancelled earlier in the day due to the water conditions. They have mentioned they had received a call to notify the family but my boyfriend and I did not receive a call ourselves. I'm not sure if it's the responsibility of Veltra or the ferry vendor to contact their travelers but it would've been nice to receive some sort of notification so that we can arrange accommodation if we were to be stuck on Lanai overnight.

In the end our ferry ride was reinstated to head back to Maui but it was the most terrible and choppiest ride ever. Many were sea sick on the ride but that's not really the fault of Veltra, more of Mother Nature. Other than not being notified of the possible ferry cancellation, everything else about the reservation was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day adventure!

Reviewed by: SMTM, 2016/03/23

This was a fun and adventurous trip. The island has so many different types of landscape and things to do. We were able to hike out to Shipwreck Beach and find the petroglyphs. We also enjoyed the snorkeling in Manele Bay the reef was so clear. On the ferry ride over we saw whales as well. Everything is well organized, ferry ride was quick and jeep pickup very easy. There are many back roads to explore as well. I highly recommend this trip to people looking for a non-touristy adventure. We were exhausted upon our return to Maui but it was well worth it!


  • Manele Bay!


  • Rugged jeeps!


  • Great red back roads!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/15
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Trip

Reviewed by: Chris & Mary, 2016/03/21

All parts of this trip went very well. We were on time in the morning to pick-up our ferry tickets at the Laihaina Lanai Ferry Booth and they had a prepared envelope waiting for us with all the tickets and information for the day. Upon arrival at Manele Small Boat Harbor, we were cordially met by Rick as we walked off the ferry, who quickly whisked us away and up to Lanai City and Dollar Rental. Our Jeep was waiting for us and check-in was smooth, cordial and we were given a map and suggestions on starting our day exploring Lanai'i. We had a great time finding our way down the bumpy one-lane dirt roads to the Garden of the Gods and partly to Polihau Beach. We returned and then went to see Shipwreck Beach in the sand. No problems, as we were careful to avoid soft sand areas. We returned to Dollar Rental at noon concerned that the late afternoon and evening ferries may be cancelled due to rough seas. We decided to return on the 2 p.m. ferry. The Dollar Rental agents and Rick, who we happened to see at the Grocery Store / gas station, were very helpful in arranging earlier shuttle service to the harbor and changing our ferry tickets for the earlier return. Note: everything seems to happen there at the one-stop grocery store / gas station / Dollar Rental place and parking lot. Even with the changes, all went quickly, no hassles, and we were back to the harbor with time to spare for the return bumpy, high-seas ferry ride to Lahaina. If it is rough seas, sit in the inside lower deck center rear section. We have great memories, pictures and fun stories to tell of our half-day on Lanai'i, thanks to how easy the tour arrangements worked and how friendly everyone was on our excursion. Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent & Fun!!!!!

Reviewed by: HIDEMI Yokota, 2016/02/06

I used to have a Jeep CJ-7 in my college days in Philly. On this trip, We had such a fun time and amazed by nature and landscapes.


  • Fun fun fun!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day

Reviewed by: SF2, 2015/12/06

Good insights from the friendly shuttle bus driver made the day perfect

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeeping in Lanai

Reviewed by: AZ jeepers, 2015/10/31

We booked a Maui to Lanai Ferry tour with a jeep rental from Veltra. When we arrived at the ferry the clerk was extremely courteous and had our tickets ready for us. The ferry was on time and we had a smooth ride over to Lanai. The shuttle driver was at the landing when we arrived and he was very informative about the island and dropped us at the jeep rental location and reminded us when he would be there to return us to the ferry. We had a yellow 2 door jeep waiting for us and we were given a map on where we could drive. Lanai apparently had a ton of rain and most of the roads were not accessible for us. We really wanted to drive to Shipwreck Beach and fortunately it was the only dirt road open to us. We had a nice hike out to the end of the point and saw turtles and some fascinating washed up debris. We found a Mouflon sheep horn on the beach and small shells, bobbers, rope, and misc. trash. The rusty tanker was really awesome! When we walked back we stopped for lunch on the square and went back to our pickup point. The ferry back was a little rougher, but we arrived on time back at the dock. Glad we went, just disappointed about the other closed trails. I gave it four out of five stars because everything was great except the rain closed all but one of the trails, not the fault of the tour agency.


  • Our Jeep rental parked at Shipwreck Beach, Lanai.


  • Shoreline hike to the wreck on Lanai.


  • Totally awesome rusted ship!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/10
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Ferry and Jeep Adventure

Reviewed by: Bunky , 2015/07/27

All we can say is "WOW"!

First:
The Ferry ride to and from Lanai was, in itself, fantastic. We met some locals who couldn't have been nicer and saw an unreal sunset on the way home.

Next:
After we grabber our Jeep we hit Richards supermarket. Now, by this time in the trip we had eaten enough poke to get Mercury poisoning so when I tell you that Richrads Super Poke Bowl was the best we had. I mean it! Id go back just for that!

More!:
We hit Shipwreck beach which was beautiful. We made it to the Garden of the Gods and then to the beach beyond that....we did not see a SOUL out there. It really felt like we were on a deserted island.
Now, I do have to tell you, the drive is technical and you could get stuck. So be careful! There was a point where I had to lay some rocks and driftwood in the trail just to make it through.

All in all....it was an amazing day and I will go back to see the rest of Lanai as soon as I can.






Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One day Jeep rental on Lanai.

Reviewed by: Drunkey, 2015/07/01

The customer service and Jeep rental were very friendly and professional. They handled our request and took care of our needs. The Day on Lanai was exciting and and fun for everyone. We decided this would be an excursion we will do again. Thanks for everything Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Sightseeing and Off-roading Trip

Reviewed by: Rob, 2015/05/18

Very good trip. Jeep was decent from Dollar Rental in Lanai City. Map provided was clear enough and the signs on the road really helped. I had not done any off-roading before this trip and although it wasn't easy it was a lot of fun! I would start with going to Shipwreck Beach first as this is the easier off roading route if you are a novice so you can build up some confidence, then got the harder routes!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great trip to the most unusual island in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jan & Cathy, 2015/05/07

We wanted to explore all 6 of the main Hawaiian islands on our trip and so included a trip to Lanai. We signed up to take the ferry, shuttle, & Jeep rental package. We drove to Lahaina on Maui & rode the 9:15 AM ferry for the 45 minute ride to Manele Bay on Lanai. We then took the shuttle to the Dollar rental place in Lanai City (a small community in the center of the island with no traffic lights) and we were given an almost new air conditioned Jeep to drive around for the day. We were well aware of the landscape on Lanai - so it wasn't a surprise to see very little vegetation and no good beaches there. We took our time and drove east to Shipwreck Beach & then north to the Garden of The Gods (a truly unique moonscape like place). Then back into town for a casual lunch & finally out to the west coast to see the barge harbor (not much there). We turned in our Jeep (after filling up with $4.50 per gallon gasoline) & were taken back to the ferry dock & ferry ride back to Lahaina in the evening. A very full day and worth it - not something to do again, but worth it to say that we explored this very little visited island. We had no problems with the ferry, shuttle or Jeep reservation.


  • Shpwreck Beach


  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai trip

Reviewed by: John Costello, 2015/01/03

We expected lush vegetation, waterfalls, and pools. We got desert and a jeep with no air-conditioning, and one beach. We expected to be taken to the car rental, but were lied to by a shuttle service and conned into paying $20.00 to get there, from the dock, since there was no one to pick us up. There was nothing lush about this island, and only the beach was worth seeing and experiencing. The cost was close to $300 for the experience, and as far as we are concerned a complete waste. We would never do it again and would never recommend it. It was a compete waste of time and money, and I feel we were completely deceived for the very purpose of getting money out of our pockets into yours. I guess you got what you wanted. And I learned my lesson.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Chris, 2014/12/30

We had a great time driving around Lanai in a Jeep Wrangler with the top down. The roads that were open and on the 'allowed' list were a lot of fun and filled up the time we had open to us. The only problem with this activity is that it is a loooong day. We had to wake up at 4:30am to drive to the ferry, take the ferry, take the shuttle, enjoy the day, then shuttle/ferry/drive back to our hotel around 6:00pm.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth every penny! Best & Dirtiest Time ever!

Reviewed by: AmyB, 2014/10/14

Lots of bad reviews about this activity can only mean they were written by people having much too high of expectations of what Lanai is about. Lanai City is probably one of the smallest in America, on a remote island with only 3 main rds - all others being only tracks in the sand/dirt/mud. THERE IS ONLY 1 RENTAL CO & 1 GAS STN, and of course they are expensive (imagine the costs of repairs after tourists wreak havoc on those 4x4s). However, we met the rental owner & he was so down to Earth w/ a lot of Aloha!! Told us not to worry about scratches, just bring her back in 1 piece. We got a soft top & took the top down (have them do it for you if you're unfamiliar). Our jeep was dirty & beat up (inside & out), but I expected that, & you see why after being on those trails! We minded our P's & Q's w/ the locals & the mud, & we did not have to pay extra for cleaning/traffic tickets/towing. We got DIRTY, TAN & WINDBLOWN, but the landscapes & wildlife were amazing... we experienced RAW HAWAII at its best! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!

So, if you come, have respect & Aloha for this place & its people. Keep your expectations realistic. Get the hard top if you don't want to get as dirty or as sun worn... soft top if you want the real experience! Helps to have a driver with 4x4 experience (maybe some mechanical too). **A 6:45a departure / 4:30 return gives you appx 9a-3p in a jeep. If you need more time, request the last ferry. But, be on time for the shuttle, or you'll be paying to stay at the Four Seasons & for morning ferry tickets! Again, it's just about having respect for where you are!

Most dirty fun we've ever had! You are paying for the experience, NOT LUXURY, and it's worth every single penny!! Aloha Lanai... be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/10
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: corrie wijbenga , 2014/09/29

We booked this one because my husband wanted the offroad experience. And it was great! We started early in the morning by going to the Lahaina harbour, from there the ferry took us in about 45 minutes to Lanaï where we were brought to Dollar and get a beat up Jeep and a roadmap with roads we could drive on and roads we weren't allowed to drive on( which we did anyway). We went to Shipwreck beach, Garden of the gods, Polihua beach,Hulopoe bay,Keomoku village and Lanaï city. We drove around Lanaï almost the whole day and snorkeled a bit in a tidepool at Hulopoe bay.
Because we took the last ferry back to Mauï , we were exhausted at the end of the day. But it was worth it.


  • our rental jeep


  • entering the Lanaï harbour


  • Shipwreck beach



  • Driftwood on Shipwreck beach



  • Garden of the Gods


  • Polihua Beach


  • Polihua Beach


  • Church in Lanaï city

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/12
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

maui to Lanai

Reviewed by: shareen, 2014/09/25

we had a wonderful time. this was an awesome trip!
the beaches were beautiful. off roading was fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not the best experience in Lanai

Reviewed by: NHR, 2014/09/12

Not the experience we had hoped to have. We hoped that by being able to rent and drive our own jeep that we would be able to experience the island on our own. The rental that we got was in really bad shape and there was a very little information available for the best spots to go to explore, that we could actually get to. I definitely do NOT recommend this for someone who is trying to learn more about what is available to do on the island. I think the guided tour would have been a better choice. Especially since the rentals they provided at budget were in such bad shape.


  • Some areas of the island are accessible and beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aweful

Reviewed by: id4das, 2014/05/28

This is the worst waste of time and money. Most roads are closed no beaches to snorkel or swim at. Speed limit twenty miles per hour and they do ticket you. Jeeps in poor shape.
Only really want people to come over to the four season resorts.again do not waste time or money

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI