Lanai Jeep Rental with Round-Trip Ferry Ride from Maui (Lahaina Departure) reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Lanai Jeep Rental with Round-Trip Ferry Ride from Maui (Lahaina Departure)

Overall Rating

4.23 4.23 / 5

Reviews

56 reviews
Post a review

Lanai Jeep Tour

Reviewed by: Rhonda A., 2019/11/19

Planning this trip was so easy! We've tried to book this before, but due to too much rain it was cancelled. My husband and I took the ferry from Lahaina to Lanai. What a super smooth ride! We met a shuttle driver who took us to our rental car agency to get our Jeep. Lanai City is super friendly and we toured down to Shipwreck Beach and to the church. We loved every minute of our day and highly recommend this adventure! You won't be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I made it to Lanai!!!

Reviewed by: Pigalicious, 2019/09/25

The Expeditions morning ferry ride was like being in an airplane.  The vessel was really cold and it was such a smooth ride that it didn't feel like your on a boat.   Once you get to Manele Harbor the shuttle is waiting for you to take you to Lanai City. To make the most of our time in Lanai our family paid the driver the extra $10 per person for the shuttle ride but it was definitely worth it.  We all shared the excitement of how the trees are all beautifully aligned along the roads.  The attendant at the jeep rental gave us a map and some local tips of where to visit and eat. Being it was an early ferry ride, nothing was open so early around Lahaina Harbor we got our breakfast at the only gas station in Lanai.  We started the Munro Trail but after getting mosquito bites we decided to turn around and head towards the Garden of the Gods. It was my first time driving a jeep so I was a bit nervous but the trail ahead of the Garden was much more bumpy and thrilling.  Once we saw the dark clouds, we decided to make a u turn and head towards Lanai City. It was so nice to be driving on paved road again!!! The ferry ride back to Lahaina was nothing like the morning ride but with all the bumpiness you experience on the jeep I wasn't sure if was just the feeling of it or if was actually bumpy. My only regret us we left the Pineapple Island without seeing a pineapple plant!!!!  Thank you Expeditions for finally making my dream of visiting Lanai possible!    

  • Welcome to Lanai

  • Lanai Car Rental

Rating:
Attended as:Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Epic way to explore Lanai!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2019/08/07

Renting a jeep to explore Lanai was the best decision we made on our vacation! Renting the jeep gave us the ability to really go explore the island. When we arrived to lanai on the ferry we caught a shuttle ride that took us to Lanai City and dropped us off at the jeep rental office. From there we spent a little bit of time checking out some of the small shops in Lanai City before grabbing some lunch to take with us. The first place we went was the Garden of the Gods, which is a rock garden area that resembles the surface of Mars more than Hawaii. It is impossible to describe the overwhelming peace and untouched beauty of this place. From there we continued on to Polihua Beach. The off road trail starts to get a little more rugged and we locked the Jeep into four wheel drive, this is where the real fun began. At the end of the trail was the deserted and untouched Polihua Beach. We made this our lunch spot but did not stay long. Our next destination was Shipwreck Beach. Here we found the hiking trail that leads to the ancient Hawaiian petroglyphs. It was maybe a 10 minute hike from where we parked the jeep to the site with the petroglyphs. At first we were not able to see any, but you must climb up a few feet to see the more well preserved petroglyphs. After the petroglyphs and shipwreck beach we went back to Lanai City to return the jeep and catch a ride back down to the harbor. We intentionally turned the Jeep in a little bit early so that we could have plenty of time to snorkel at Hulopo'e beach before boarding the ferry to return to Maui. Hulopo'e Beach was absolutely incredible. In my opinion, it is the best snorkel spot in the entire state of Hawaii! The only thing I would change would have been to take the early ferry over to Lanai and the last ferry of the day to depart from Lanai. Lanai may be a small island, but there is more there than you can explore in one day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor) / 4 Door Jeep Rental

Reviewed by: Steve, 2019/05/19

Very nice people and island experience, would do it again
really enjoyed the wonderful beach on the south side of the island

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable experience

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2018/09/29

The ferry ride was VERY rough on trip over to Lana I. Many roads not open due to recent rain. We enjoyed hiking in Shipwreck beach and seeing the landscape. The cat sanctuary was the highlight of the day. Walking arount town was pleasant. We enjoyed visiting the shops. Probably wouldn't return unless we were assured that more roads were open. Staff was quite accommodating.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai 4+4 Jeep rental

Reviewed by: Bob, 2018/09/22

The Jeep experience on Lanai was great but we could not take it on most of the off roads except for shipwreck beach. The recent rain tropical storm dropped a lot of rain and left the roads impassable. This is the 2nd time I’ve tried and had the same result.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Something I'll never forget!

Reviewed by: Craig, 2018/09/14

Loved it! Everything I expected. Instructions were easy to follow.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A little disappointing

Reviewed by: Michigan , 2018/08/06

Three of the five off road trails were closed. That should be advertised to people who are looking to come over. The trip to Shipwreck Beach was beautiful and worth that road. The Goddess trail was not clearly marked and hard to find where it was. One of the highlights of the day was pastries and coffee at Blue Ginger Cafe. Wish we had time to have lunch there too. It was a happening place and the staff were very friendly. Overall good day but would have been better if there were more trails open and they were up front with potential customers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Opportunity missed!

Reviewed by: Marylibrary, 2018/08/04

Out of the five roads that took you to various parts of the island three were closed and the other two had restrictions. No mention of this was ever made on the website or when I booked. Also, my fault, Koele Lodge is closed and under renovation so did not get to see that! Lanai City was cute and people were so nice. Going to Lanai was a bucket list item for me. A little disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Misleading

Reviewed by: Kristy, 2018/06/11

Lodge is closed, two sites were inaccessible only 3 shops. If we had wanted to sit on a beach we could have stayed at our condo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Jim Arc, 2018/06/09

The staff a Dollar was supper nice and friendly. The vehicles easily handled the rough terrain. 4-6 hours is plenty of time unless you go swimming. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day !!

Reviewed by: Tony and Nellie, 2018/02/15

We had a blast in our jeep !! Everything went perfect from the time we boarded the ferry in Lahaina. We were picked up and transported to our jeep and off we went !! Loved exploring the island, from the beautiful beaches to the Garden of the Gods. Saw tons of turtles at Shipwreck beach !! Wonderful day !!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4X4 Jeep rental Lanai

Reviewed by: Rich McClure, 2018/02/14

Overall a very nice experience you will see places and things only accessible by Jeep.
However this was a very short turnaround. I was under the impression I would board a 6:00 AM ferry. It turned out to be a 9:30 ferry so I lost 3 Hrs right off the bat. Would have liked to have more time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to lanai

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2017/12/03

Very easy! Great trip! The experiencemafe easy was simplified by your booking. Would use it again on our next trip over to the Hawaiian islands.

  • Shipwreck beach!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!!

Reviewed by: Tera , 2017/10/08

I have been on this Lana‘i jeep excursion activity twice in the past, loved it!! My new husband had never been to Hawai‘i so we are here for our honeymoon and I told him we had to go on this activity to Lana’i, and he loved it!!!! We will definitely do this again!! In fact we are going to purchase a condo here in Maui ❤️

  • Keomuku village

  • Beaut beaches in Lana’i

  • Polihua Beach!!! The most beautiful beach I have ever seen!!

  • Keomuku village Hawaiian church!! Stunningly beautiful!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeep Day

Reviewed by: GA Girl, 2017/09/19

The Ferry ride was nice...twas a beautiful day! Rented the Jeep saw what there was to see on Lanai...beautiful Island to camp on or just get away from the world for a day! You definitely need a jeep to see this island the good things to do are see are where the black top ends and the red dirt roads begin!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved Lanai

Reviewed by: Susie R., 2017/08/19

Ferry ride to and from Lanai was very nice. After we arrived our shuttle was waiting to take us to the rental jeep. Ate breakfast in town then began our day of exploring. I would recommend this trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent service.

Reviewed by: jerome, 2017/06/19

A true 4x4 adventure on Larry Ellison's private island. Time is on the short side since there are limited roads, and one must cover roads to and from each point of interest often overlapping and repeating. but that's part of the fun---given the breathtaking scenery, we didn't mind the back and forth driving.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai

Reviewed by: Jason B., 2017/05/14

This was an excellent day trip to explore another island! The views are magnificent while cruising around in the jeep. This is definitely a worthwhile visit!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Paul, 2017/05/01

My wife and I rented a jeep to tour Lana'i and visited the Garden of the Gods. The views were stunning around the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.

  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun day

Reviewed by: Christine, 2017/04/06

We took the early ferry for a pleasant trip to Lanai. The shuttle to the Jeep rental was waiting for us so we got headed on our exploration of the island quickly. After a tasty omelette and pancakes at the Ginger Cafe we headed to the Garden of the Gods seeing beautiful rock formations and landscape on the way. Next stop was shipwreck beach. It was only a short hike to get fairly close to the shipwreck and being the only ones on the beach was lovely. We felt like we were the only people on the entire island. So tranquil and peaceful there. We headed back and stopped at the Four Seasons for a drink, appetizers and a glorious view. The package was a great way spend the day on Lanai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - Fun for the Family

Reviewed by: Deric, 2017/02/06

We had a great time with the ferry to lanai and the Jeep rental. Although buyer beware - the Jeep rental agency on Lanai will try to shake you down for transporting you on the shuttle to the rental office. Only send your driver with the shuttle to avoid being charged for the shuttle.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Adventure

Reviewed by: John Berka, 2017/01/31

A bucket list hitter..............beautiful Island, friendly folks, great return ferry ride in 10+ foot swells, jeeping/views were magnificent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeep rental

Reviewed by: Cheryl , 2016/06/18

We were so disappointed that the rental company did not notify us that the off roads were closed due to all the rain. We were so excited to go over and had our day planned accordingly. We ended up taking an earlier Ferry home..a ton of money spent for exploring the town.
We would have rescheduled if they had let us know. I had been there before and wanted so much to show my family. It was a very unhappy day.
I love Lanai and its charm. I'm sure the trip will be taken again. You can't control Mother Nature but it would have been nice to be given the option to reschedule.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cheryl,

Thank you very much for submitting your review on our website. Expeditions usually informs us at least a day or two in advance so that you can make the decision before you board the ferry ride to Lanai. We regret to hear that you were not informed of the road closures ahead of time. Expeditions has offered a partial refund in for the activity not meeting your expectations.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day in Paradise

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2016/05/04

Been visiting Hawaii Islands for years, and it's our first time to island of Lanai. The packaged deal gave the idea, and means to explore islands to find places/sights that are NOT cramped with fellow tourist. Just a bit caution for people who might easily get car/sea sickness: The ride are rough, but the rewards are extraordinary: You get a picture prefect beach all to yourself!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice trip to lanai

Reviewed by: J.w., 2016/04/29

All worked best, carrental was easy, ferry on time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME !!!

Reviewed by: Tony and Nellie, 2016/04/17

We had a wonderful time on this day trip to Lanai. Everything from the time we checked in at Lahaina harbor until our return to the harbor went smoothly. We were met at the harbor in Lanai, escorted to our jeep rental and off we went. What a FUN day !! Rough and rugged roads but it was a blast. Don't miss this one, well worth the money if you like adventure and beautiful scenery and like to explore on your own.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Experience

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2016/04/13

The reservation process was simple and the package allows for Kama'aina discount (Hawaii Residency discount), which you would have to call and request for it.

Our overall experience was good regarding getting the ferry and jeep rental reservation however I would've provided the 5th star if we were notified that our ferry back from Lanai to Maui was going to be cancelled. While my boyfriend and I were waiting at the dock for the last ferry to head back to Maui, we overheard another family talking about how the same ferry ride we were taking was cancelled earlier in the day due to the water conditions. They have mentioned they had received a call to notify the family but my boyfriend and I did not receive a call ourselves. I'm not sure if it's the responsibility of Veltra or the ferry vendor to contact their travelers but it would've been nice to receive some sort of notification so that we can arrange accommodation if we were to be stuck on Lanai overnight.

In the end our ferry ride was reinstated to head back to Maui but it was the most terrible and choppiest ride ever. Many were sea sick on the ride but that's not really the fault of Veltra, more of Mother Nature. Other than not being notified of the possible ferry cancellation, everything else about the reservation was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day adventure!

Reviewed by: SMTM, 2016/03/23

This was a fun and adventurous trip. The island has so many different types of landscape and things to do. We were able to hike out to Shipwreck Beach and find the petroglyphs. We also enjoyed the snorkeling in Manele Bay the reef was so clear. On the ferry ride over we saw whales as well. Everything is well organized, ferry ride was quick and jeep pickup very easy. There are many back roads to explore as well. I highly recommend this trip to people looking for a non-touristy adventure. We were exhausted upon our return to Maui but it was well worth it!

  • Manele Bay!

  • Rugged jeeps!

  • Great red back roads!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/15
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]