(All Reviews) Page 2) Waterfall Swim (Outdoor Adventures), Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Waterfall Swim in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

231 reviews

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Sacred Falls

Reviewed by: Karen, 2018/11/06

We took the Sacred Falls kayak, hike and waterfall swim with Doc as our guide. He was awesome, providing great information about many of the plants we saw. He was better than our guide at one of the botanical gardens we visited. He also provided information on Hawaiian culture and history. The kayaking was at a very comfortable pace. My advice to future visitors would be to wear shoes you wouldn't mind throwing away. The mud was VERY deep but not too difficult to hike through. The waterfall was beautiful and a fun place to at least wash off your feet!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Karen,

Thanks for sharing your impressions and insights to our Wailua Sacred Falls.

Glad to hear that Doc is doing a good job. Very lucky to have a Doctor in our employ who brings a real love and knowledge of the environment we are celebrating>

Stay paddling and hiking.

Thanks again.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Huleia River Ultimate Eco-Adventure - Wet Rappel, Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

An adventure not to be missed!

Reviewed by: Lorre, 2012/10/20

This was AWESOME from start to finish and all because of the professional way the Guides and organization as a whole treated us. This was a nbirthday gift I gave family members turning 50 and 60 and I felt I received a great gift as well. The kayak portion suited all skill levels and hike through the nature preserve was supurb. They are constantly developing their programs and offering unadvertised "extras" which we took full advantage of. I heartily recommend this to all who love learning of Hawaiian history and who have a love of the environment!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Great value for the money & SO FUN!

Reviewed by: Leddon, 2012/05/19

We had an amazing adventure with the wonderful staff at Outfitters Kauai. The zips were so fun, and we felt very safe. The kayak in was a fun little adventure and the hike in wasn't tough at all. The staff were so wonderful. We felt like there us no way we could have had so much fun for a whole day deal for the price. Nick, Mitch, and Golden were so funny and personable. Bring a camera with a wrist strap, your swim suit for the two swimming holes (one with a mini zip), sunscreen, water shoes, and big spray. Mahalo, Outfitters!! Ya'll are the best!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Only single rider on the trip!

Reviewed by: Lora Keller, 2014/07/09

Family review is posted separately, my single rider experience was AWESOME!!!!
It was an amazing experience and the guides were very good at giving direction on how to handle sticky situations. The only thing that would have made the experience better would have been MORE MUD!
The lunch was fresh and delicious, and we even got to share it with some wild pig.
The guides were very informative and couldn't have cared more about you if you were their own family.
I ended up being the only single rider on this trip, and I loved every moment of it!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Lora,

We are pleased to read that you had an awesome time! We would like to thank you for coming out with us & for including us on your vacation to Kaua'i.

Mahalo,
Management

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Fun, beautiful kayaking, hiking trip

Reviewed by: Susan Swanberg, 2014/10/31

Because we were off season my husband and I were the only ones that signed up for a kayaking tour - so we got a private tour with a guide. Our guide, Christian, was very friendly, familiar with the area and so helpful to have along. Being I had never kayaked before he went over safety features and the easiest way to get in and out of a kayak! The kayaking was easy (gorgeous views along the river), the hike was fun (mud up to my knees) the waterfall at the end was beautiful. It was a very successful trip and would very happily do it all again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle Valley Adventure at Princeville Ranch - Kayak, Zipline & Waterfall Swim

Jungle Valley Adventure

Reviewed by: Val B., 2010/06/17

Our whole family had a blast at this adventure. It was all of our first time ziplining and 3 had never kayaked before. My husband is disabled ( no right arm) and didn't think he would be able to take part of this trip. The staff talked him into going with grace. They towed him in the kayak to the zipline and sent him soaring! He giggled like a little kid! The waterfall and pond that you hike to is beautiful. The food was good too! We all enjoyed our guides and this trip so much! It was the highlight of our time in Kauai!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Awesome time...

Reviewed by: The Desio's, 2008/03/28

We had a great time on this tour. It is a 2.5 mile kayak and about a 2 mile hike to a spectacular waterfall. We went in March with our 9 yr old son. These are two person kayaks that you cannot have children in the middle. I ended up pairing up with another mom who came with her family. Our guide was very knowledgeable and able to tell us all about the trees and plants around us and other things along the way. We hiked to the waterfall where we had lunch and able to swim under the waterfall. This is definitely something to try.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Fantastic, Educational Adventure

Reviewed by: Rob M., 2012/06/29

Kayak Kauai Outbound makes this trip an experience not to be missed. Kelly was an extraordinary guide, enthusiastically sharing his knowledge and passion for the land, the local history and ancient culture. He went out of his way to make the hike interactive and interesting. He has a real gift for this. The operation, overall, is very laid back. You're made to feel comfortable with every aspect of the tour. We highly recommend Kayak Kauai Outbound and will surely be returning on our next visit to the island!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Huleia River Ultimate Eco-Adventure - Wet Rappel, Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

EXCELLENT & UNIQUE ACTIVITY!!!

Reviewed by: April, 2014/03/21

I'm so glad I learned about this activity. I got to do something most people don't do on their Hawaii vacation. I got to RAPPEL down waterfalls. I wasn't sure I could do it, but the guides were very reassuring, as they were attentive, very instructional, and entirely safety-minded. I felt very secure, and I could focus on surmounting my own challenges, and took in all the fun! It was so satisfying and exciting to achieve this adventure. The lunch afterward was totally refreshing, too. I'd love to do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle Valley Adventure at Princeville Ranch - Kayak, Zipline & Waterfall Swim

best guides on fantastic journey

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/14

What a wonderful activity... the hike was beautiful and broken up so not to hard on older hikers. The steps and rope are set up to make it easier if needed. The kayaking portion was delightful and peaceful. Wish it was longer! The ziplines are refreshing and the setup is perfect and all safety precautions were taken. The lunch was light and good food. The waterfall/swimming hole are a bit chilly in feb. Chase and Mark were the best guides-informative, kind, friendly and funny. Definitely do this activity!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

One of the best activities of our week on Kauai

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2014/10/11

My husband, 18-yr-old daughter,and 20-yr-old son completely enjoyed everything about this day adventure. I was unable to participate -- I have a bad knee and wear a brace, and it was recommended that it would be risky for me. Afterwards, my husband said that that was the right decision -- there's a bit of hard work in getting through the mud to the falls. The guide shared interesting local information throughout the day, it was beautiful, fun, active. would do it again. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hidden Valleys of Kauai Waterfall Swim, Kayak & Hike Adventure

Two Paddles WAY Up!!!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/01

This tour gets an enthusiastic YES from me! And my boyfriend agrees. We both had a great time. We are outdoor enthusiasts, so we wanted to stay in nature out and doing activities while here in Hawaii, so this was just right for us.

I like especially how the trip was mixed in that we got to paddle along the river in a kayak, and then mix it up a bit with a nature walk...kept things interesting and allowed different muscles to rest.

Really good time, we both had a lot of fun.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Had a Fantastic Time

Reviewed by: Allison Cook, 2009/05/28

I had such a great time on the Safari tour. I had Alex, Maggie and Adrienne as my tour guides and they were FANTASTIC! Our group laughed so much and I felt really safe having Alex and Adrienne there to explain what we were supposed to do during the zipline and jumping off Kipu falls. I had a blast and was totally pumped up after I left for the rest of the day. I would recommend this tour to everyone who's going to Kauai!

Thanks so much for the fabulous adventure!
Allison

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Best Part if our trip!

Reviewed by: Pilar Abalos, 2019/02/27

We got to kayak down the Wailua River. Jay our guide was amazing. He told us about historical information about the beautiful island of Kauai and it’s history. Our hike to the waterfall was deep in the interior and he pointed out plants and trees and gave us history and background about them. He was patient and very friendly. Our swim in the falls was something on my bucket list and was definitely what I was expecting and more! Thank you to Jay and everyone at Kayak Kauai!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Pilar,

Glad to hear that not only that Jay did a great job guiding but that he help lighten "your bucket".

Keep filling up that bucket and thanks for letting others know what a good job Jay is doing; we are very
fortunate to have him on board.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Kipu Falls with Lauren and Nate

Reviewed by: C2O, 2008/03/27

My friends and I can't say enough good things about the staff at Outfitters Kauai. We had a blast with the staff during our kayaking, hiking, swimming, rope-swinging, truck riding. Everyone, from Rachel to Lauren to Nate were all very pleasant, humorous and overall good people. This excursion is absolutely recommended for anyone and everyone looking for an overall great time. This is absolutely the first thing that we will be looking forward to on our next visit to Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim & Picnic Lunch

AMAZING Private Waterfall Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Alyssa & Bryan Davis, 2014/06/26

My new husband and I did this on our honeymoon and we had so fun! Our guide, Annalee, was a great guide and person. She was constantly gauging how we were doing and adjusting our ride accordingly. For example, she realized we liked getting information about the surrounding area so she would point out things, but when we got to the waterfall she gave us privacy and took lots of pictures of us having fun. This was so much fun and I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Comments from activity operators

Congratulations, Alyssa & Bryan! I am so glad that you had a fun experience with Annalee. I will be sure to let her know. Please come visit us again.

Aloha,
Karin Carswell Guest, Owner

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/06/16
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Kayak Fun

Reviewed by: Bruce Cariker, 2017/09/20

We had a great time. The hiking was great, the waterfall was gorgeous, and the water was a great temperature. While reasonably experienced kayakers, we had a little trouble keeping up with the rest of the kayakers on the upriver return, due to being older and out of shape. Dillon (our guide) did a great job of making this an enjoyable adventure. Due to a camera mishap, the pics he took of us and shared are the only ones we have of this adventure. Thanks, Dillon.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Great adventure for all ages!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2019/08/26

Dustin did a great job interacting with all of us and we were a very diverse group (age, gender and skill level)!

He was very knowledgeable of Hawaiian culture. We also learned a lot about the plants and animals of the area. Beware of the wild boar. ;-)

The hike was muddy but not too difficult. The waterfall was spectacular and much colder than expected.

Would definitely do this again! The morning is cooler and may be drier than the afternoon.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

WOW!!!!!!!!!! Totally worth it :)

Reviewed by: Ozzie, 2015/10/08

This is an adventure that everyone must go on. Our tour guide was informative, patient and hilarious! Being a first time kayaker, he took the time to get me comfortable paddling before heading out. The hike was great and the waterfall was breathtaking! So many things to see along the way, all of which our guide pointed out. I would highly recommend this to everyone who visits the island. Thanks for the great memories. Be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Huleia River Ultimate Eco-Adventure - Wet Rappel, Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Great Rappelling!

Reviewed by: Stewarts, 2015/04/12

This was an amazing outing...The Kayak portion was beautiful and not too strenuous so my teenagers enjoyed it. The hike is fairly easy and beautiful as well. The crew were knowledgeable and fun. The rappelling training was a little long but totally worth it as it is scary! But in a good way. We felt safe and confident when we started rappelling. The waterfall rappel was awesome!! One of the best excursions we have done!

Comments from activity operators

We're so glad you enjoyed it! Thank you for the feedback.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle Valley Adventure at Princeville Ranch - Kayak, Zipline & Waterfall Swim

HIGHLY RECOMEND!

Reviewed by: Jen & John Sustachek, 2013/10/28

What an amazing trip!! Nate and Josh were so helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Josh was the best when it came to what you can eat on the trails!! We had a small group which allowed us extra time on the zip lining portion which was GREATLY appreciated!! Can't wait to come back with our kids in a few years and do the zip lining adventure with them! Hope we are lucky enough to get Nate and Josh again!! recommend

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Huleia River Ultimate Eco-Adventure - Wet Rappel, Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Kauai Island Adventure Kayaking

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2008/01/21

My husband and I did this adventure last year and this year brought my parents, who are 64 and 72, and brother along. Everyone had a GREAT time and ranked it as one of the best activities we did on the island. The guides are friendly and informative. The activity is low key and shows a side of the island few get to see if unless they are willing to get off the beaten paths by themselves. We would recommend to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Kipu Zipline Safari - Awesome!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/06/18

We just returned from an awesome trip to Kauai and this was by far our favorite activity! It had a little of everything...kayaking, hiking, ziplines and cooling off in a stream fed pool. I was a little concerned about our kids, ages 9 and 11, but they handled the kayaking, hiking and ziplining with ease. We thought it was definitely worth the money. The 1800' zip was the best! We would do it again in a heartbeat!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Waterfall Hike & Swim with Picnic Lunch

Highlight of the trip

Reviewed by: EAA, 2014/06/29

Truly one of the highlights of the trip. The hike was all encompassing including terrain such as grass, flat land, uphill, downhill, dirt, mud, rocks, crossing waterfalls and climbing up and down a rock! Pushed my limits with the rock climbing which was great! Knowledgable and personable guide. Lunch was satisfying. Swimming in the waterfall after hiking to the waterfall was priceless. A wonderful wonderful time.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you! This adventure is one of the first offered by the Carswell family, starting in 1999. It is truly a classic. I'm so glad that it was a highlight of your trip. Please visit us again next trip!

Aloha from Karin Carswell Guest, Owner

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Adventure

Reviewed by: Ed, 2010/04/01

We absolutely loved this outing! It was a little bit of everything. The view from the kayak was amazing and the hikes are no where near as strenuous as they note. The ziplines were more than we expected. There are two zips and the final one being tandem and nearly 1800'. Awesome!! The guides were extremely friendly and make the experience enjoyable and informational. We will definitely do this trip again!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Great Experience and Workout!

Reviewed by: Sharilynn , 2017/12/21

There are some amazing views and creatures to see. The guide was awesome. We took two kids in the front of our Kayaks (which means we did all the rowing) therefore the groups with 2 adults per boat went way ahead of us. Don’t sign up for group activities if you expect the world to evolve around you. The group we went with seemed to rush through everything and we were trying to enjoy the trip and views.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Book it!

Reviewed by: Erik, 2016/10/26

Fantastic experience with professional and fun guides. We booked this activity due to the diversity of the kayak-swim-zipline activities offered, which we thought would be perfect for our group of 6 ranging in age from 11 to 68. We were not disappointed. Easygoing and fun tour guides, great activities and a relaxed and fun atmosphere, coupled with a great lunch made for an overall epic day. Book it!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2016/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim & Picnic Lunch

Princeville Ranch Horseback Ride

Reviewed by: Jaybird, 2015/08/22

Thirteen years ago I proposed to my wife on this very same adventure. It was a great adventure then and it was even better this time around. My wife and I brought our nine year old daughter with us and she enjoyed every bit of it. Our adventure guide Vance made it a very memorable ride. He was perfect. Very knowledgeable of the area because he was a "local kanaka" and courteous. Great time by all!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim & Picnic Lunch

Awe Inspiring

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/18

An unforgettable experience does not even being to describe this tour. I still can't believe how immense and beautiful this ranch and Kauai are. Traveling on horseback allows you to access places you would not be able to see from a car, and it is also a unique way to take a tour. At the end of the horseback tour we took a dip in the waterfall pool. The pool was refreshing and gorgeous.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

A Great Day

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2016/11/11

Had a great time with this activity. The kayaking was fun and leisurely; the hike a comfortable jaunt; the falls isolated and beautiful. Go early to reduce the number of visiting groups at the falls, and ask if you can have Jamie as your guide...he was really great. Not a tasking activity if the weather is moderate...if it's hot or wet, it could pose a different sort of adventure.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations