(All Reviews) Waterfall Swim (Outdoor Adventures), Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

All Reviews for Waterfall Swim in Kauai

Overall Rating

4.73 4.73 / 5

Reviews

233 reviews

カウアイ島 ワイルア川カヤックツアー 熱帯雨林ハイキング+滝遊び<英語ガイド/昼食付き>

密度の濃いツアーです

Reviewed by: mii, 2019/03/24

密度が濃く、充実感のあるツアーです。
1人参加もアジア人も私だけでしたが、アメリカ人の3人家族の方々が何かと気にかけてくださり、とても楽しく過ごせました。
カヌーは優雅なイメージでしたが、普段ヨガ程度の運動しかしていない自分にとってはかなりの重労働で、トレッキングよりもこちらの方がはるかに大変でした。
ただ、水面近くから見上げる景色は格別でした。

以下注意事項、所感を箇条書きにします。
・日差しが強いのでラッシュガードなどの長袖がおススメです。下は水着用の短パンにしましたが、日焼けと虫対策に長ズボン(ただし速乾性のあるもの)でもよかったかもしれません。
・集合場所はナビで出てきにくいので、住所を直打ちしました。
・集合場所にはトイレもあります。カヌー、ハイキングの途中にはトイレはありませんが、5時間くらいなので耐えられました。他の参加者で、ハイキング途中にトイレに行きたくなった方がいて、ガイドさんに茂みの奥?に案内されていました。
・防水リュックを貸してもらえます。水2本とジュースを貰えるのでそれを入れます。私は着替えやタオルなど荷物をたくさんいれましたが、渡された飲み物しか持っていかない人も沢山いて、結果的にはそのほうが正解でした。ランチはガイドさんが運んでくれます。
・カヌーは自分としてはかなり重労働で、開始数分でもう手首がしびれてしまい、行きも帰りも道のりが永遠に思えました。私個人は3日くらい筋肉痛(特に手指)になりました。
・ハイキング中に何度か川をわたるので、すねくらいまでは水に浸かります。
・ぬかるんだ道を通るので靴はドロドロになります。私は口コミを参考にさせて頂き、3000円くらいのウォーターシューズを現地購入し履いて行きましたが、これがかなり良かったです。ただ底は薄めなのでゴツゴツした岩場では少し足裏が痛かったです。
・蚊がまぁまぁいますが、虫除けスプレーを持参したおかげで刺されませんでした。数カ所刺されてる人もいました。
・持ち物に着替え、とありますが、滝つぼには更衣室などありませんので、濡れた水着をタオルで簡単に拭いて、また着てきた服を上から着る、という感じになります。
・3月半ばでしたが、水は冷たいので私は膝くらいまで滝つぼに入っただけで泳げませんでした。半分くらいの人が泳いでいましたが、みんな寒いと言っていました。
・滝つぼ後はまたハイキング、カヌーをしますが、だんだん乾くので寒いということはありません。
・ツアー終了後、ガイドさんがAirDropで写真を無料で下さいました。全員分の写真が入ってしまっているので、プライバシーを気にされる方は少し困るかもしれません。

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thanks for your nice review and taking the time to share with others.

Keep enjoying nature and thanks for letting us help show you the beauty of Kauai.

Until soon. Take care.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Awesome ride & breathtaking waterfall!

Reviewed by: Missy W, 2019/05/31

My husband and I had an awesome time with our guides Joshua and Lumbo. They took us on a fun, wild-ride ATV adventure and told us some cool history about the Kipu Ranch, including details about Hollywood movies filmed there. One stop along the route included an opportunity to swing from a rope swing from the same tree (same tree, new rope) Harrison Ford used as Indiana Jones in the movie Raiders of the Lost Ark!

Another stop included a delicious lunch of sandwiches, fruit, chips, cookies, and water. I was impressed with the tablecloths and individually wrapped moist towels (actual towels) handed out to clean off all the dirt on our hands and face from our ride. It was also really interesting to chat with the guides about their lives on the island and pick their brains about Kipu Ranch trivia. Joshua just had his third child last week, and Lumbo has 6 kids!

Our final stop was at a picturesque waterfall where we were all able to swim to the waterfall!

Tips: Wear closed toed shoes you don’t mind swimming in because you must wear shoes in the water. Wear a swimsuit under your clothes if you want to swim at the waterfall or swing on the rope swing into the water. Bring a towel unless you don’t mind air drying. Also, your clothes will definitely get dirty! Keep a change of clothes in the car unless you don’t mind the dirt in your car. In case you’re wondering, the water is definitely cold.

A nice bonus is that the company gives you complementary bandannas to wear over your nose and mouth to keep the dirt out. The bandanna serves as a cool souvenir afterwards! Also, one of our guides, Joshua, was especially gifted at taking cell phone pictures. If you luck out with him as your guide, let him take your pictures!

  • Waterfall you get to swim in!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

カウアイ島 ワイルア川カヤック+熱帯雨林ハイキング<英語ガイド/昼食付き>

1人でもとても楽しみました。

Reviewed by: 32歳女性, 2017/11/27

前日の夜にコンフォームの電話をしろと書いてある事に気がつき、当日朝イチで電話をすると、コンフォームしなくても大丈夫、時間通りに迎えに行きますよ、との事で一安心。
約束のお時間を15分くらい過ぎて迎えがきました。
感じのいいガイドさんでした。

歩きやすい靴、との事でスニーカーで行きましたが、川の中も靴のままで入ったり、ジャングルはぬかるみがひどく泥まみれになりました。
アウトドアー用のウォーターシューズで行く事をオススメします。(ガイドさんは裸足でした)
滝で水に入らなくても、行く途中に川を渡るところがあるので、その時点で155センチの私は太ももまで濡れました。

また、カヌーもハイキングもなかなかハードです。
普段運動をしている私ですが、翌日筋肉痛になりました。ですがその分達成感もあり、大変楽しかったです。

季節的に肌寒かったためか、ほとんどの人が滝には入らず、滝にはランチも含めて20分〜30分ほどしか滞在しませんでした。
行きも帰りもカヤッキングは焦らされることなく、自分のペースで行かせてくれて良かったです。
ちなみに私は1人の参加だったので、もう1人のお一人様と一緒にカヤッキングをしました。

8:40位に迎えがきて、ホテルに戻ったのは14:15くらいだったと思います。

また行くことがあったらまた参加したいです。

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Kayak, Rainforest Hike & Sacred Falls Swim Adventure

Adam was our guide

Reviewed by: Very Happy!, 2015/10/06

I normally do not write reviews, but this was needed. Please read this through to the end for the grand finale. The trip to the falls with Adam from Outfitters was about as good as it gets. He was very knowledgeable and engaging. My wife and I took a relaxed approach when preparing for this trip and wore flip-flops (not recommended due to the muddy trail you need to hike). When we arrived at the trail, Adam actually took the time to identify a local plant, strip the bark, and retrofitted our flip-flops into sandals. Someone in our group actually thought it was a set-up, but it wasn’t. Beyond just that, he kept the group together throughout while keeping the trip new and fresh with information. I would imagine being in his shoes, being a guide day-in and day-out; it would be natural tendency to become a little dull or burned out, but maybe not, and not Adam. To top it all off, on our way back kayaking along the river, he helped to salvage a sinking kayak and rescue two panicked people, who were with another kayak company. These two people were stranded and abandoned by their guide, with their Kayak filling with water and sinking. Adam and another local guide came to the rescue, initiated help from a couple other kayakers nearby (including us), and managed to drain the water filled kayak, pluck the two people from the river, and get them back safely to the dock, including the damaged kayak. At the same time he ran into the guide for those people and being very classy said to him “You got my back next time right?”. (I don’t think I would have been as nice.)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

A great day kayaking and hiking to Secret Falls!

Reviewed by: lorely81, 2015/11/17

My husband and I had a great time on this excursion. We were the only ones signed up for our particular day and time so it ended up being a private tour which was a bonus. We had the morning tour (check-in at 7:45 am) which seemed a lot less crowded than the later tours. There were a lot more people hiking in on our way out. The activity was very scenic and not strenuous at all for us moderately in-shape people (my husband more so that me!). Jamie was an excellent guide. He was knowledgeable in the flora, fauna, and area, but also personable so we weren't talking shop the whole time. Lunch was also more than adequate: fresh pineapple, deli sandwich on a good roll with cheese, lettuce, tomato, mayo, mustard, a bag of chips, 2 Kauai cookies, a drink, and 2 bottles of water. Since we took a guided tour this time, the next time around we'd probably opt for renting kayaks on our own and making our way to Secret Falls without a guide. We definitely want to do this again with our children when they are a little older (at least 5). However, for first timers we highly recommend Kayak Kauai with Jamie as your guide! P.S. I would not recommend this tour for children younger than 5. It is very rocky, muddy and wet with lots of tree roots on the trail and by the waterfall. We saw another tour group with young children and several of them were crying because they fell on their way down to the waterfall. One small boy fell and hit his head on a rock, poor thing.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

カウアイ島 ワイルア川カヤックツアー 熱帯雨林ハイキング+滝遊び<英語ガイド/昼食付き>

想像以上にハードでしたが、いい体験ができました

Reviewed by: なかよし夫婦, 2020/02/10

カヤックは何度も経験がありましたが距離も比較的長く、60代後半の夫婦には
いささかハードなところもありました。川沿いのハイキングは雨期(1月)ということもあり、雨には降られませんでしたが足元がぬかるみ、しかも粘土状の土なので木の根とも絡んで滑りやすく気をつけました。ゴールの滝でランチ。さすがに肌寒く水には入れませんでしたが外人はすごい。カップルでどんどん入っていく。同じ道を戻ってカヤック。行きと違って帰りは風が強く、流されて往生しているところをイケメンのガイドさんに引っ張ってもらって脱出とアクシデントもいろいろ。日本人は私たちだけでしたがカップルが多く、なかには小さな子供連れもいて、英語はできなくても楽しめます。送迎なしでしたのでリフエのホテルから往復タクシーで行きましたが、戻りの時間が予定より遅くなったので行き違いで帰りのタクシーを1時間近く待つことに。できれば送迎付きをお勧めします。

  • さあ出発

  • 川も渡ります

  • ゴールの滝

  • 泥んこになってしまいました。洗ってもなかなか落ちません。

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thanks for sharing your experience on our Wailua River paddle and hike to the Sacred/Secret fall.

Often it is easier to paddle agains the current and more work paddling back against the wind; this a reason why we use double kayaks...to make it more easy.

And yes there is mud which can make the trail slippery and you have to be careful.

Glad you enjoyed it and maybe next time you will take a cold swim by the waterfall.

Thanks again.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim & Picnic Lunch

Kauai Princeville Horseback adv.

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

We ride alot on vacations so it takes a lot of us to be overly impressed.

Well, this one is a good one to go on for sure.

Planning for this trip - you will want, SWIMSUIT under your clothes, blue jeans ( I would advise stretch or baggy for comfort), tennis shoes work best as you will be hiking (don't do this in boots seriously!) maybe a hat, sun glasses, towel and a camera!!! And it may rain on you but, hey its Kauai and you will dry off fast. Plus they have rain gear for you. So where do you put all this? Guides have saddle bags for that. They will feed you so no food is needed. They have water too.

First nice staff, their instructions on how to get to the ranch could be a wee bit better. HINT bascially if you driving north to the check in point, you will drive back the way to came a mile or so and it will on your right (driving south). Its not just across the road like they told us :)

Now, to the ride! They matched each person up with the horse that would be b

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Our Honeymoon

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2013/05/14

My wife and I made reservations online through VELTRA. I knew nothing more than the reviews posted on here (VELTRA/hawaiian activities) and a travel guide book. We enjoyed our morning paddle hike and tour so much! A great adventure that would not have been accomplished so smoothly on our own. It was our first time down the trail. It rains in Kauai, a lot, so the trail was mostly muddy. The guide for the trip kept us safe and informed about how to get there best. He also lead us on hawaiian time for the return trip. Allowing us all more time at the falls since our group was composed entirely of families. I appreciated that very much and a thank you to anyone from the company who reads this. Do not expect that though on your trip, we were lucky that no tour group was scheduled in the afternoon. Our stay on the island began the last week of April, until the first week of May.

You don't have to help the guide, but its friendly to do so. I bet you'll get a better trip out of it.

Comments from activity operators

Wow Jonathan, Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words. Nice to get the feedback that we are doing a good job. Constant struggle to keep good guides and have them approach each tour, as if it is the first day they are offering it. Come back and enjoy the same or some of the others....but mostly just wanted to thank you for caring and taking the time to share.
Until our wakes cross.

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Fun for Everyone

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/10/07

My husband and I have different ways of looking at the world. If you are familiar with the left brain/right brain descriptions, that's us. He is logical, likes order, and is an analytical thinker. I am creative, naturally chaotic, and a brain storm kind of thinker. We both loved this tour. We are a little above average fitness-wise, however, we haven't had many outdoor adventures. The way this tour was set up we were given instructions and guidance so we could experience the beauty of Kauai without the experience neccessary to do this on our own. The kayaking was so much fun my husband and I agree we would both like to learn more about it. We weren't sure about the ziplining, but that was a lot more fun then we expected. The swim around the waterfall was awesome! One of the guides led us under the falls and it was beautiful. The staff was great! They did everything they could to make our day fun. I would highly recommend them and this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Excellent adventure

Reviewed by: Travel4fun Group, 2014/07/07

What a blast! We rode in the Teryx 4 seaters and everyone had a fantastic time. The staff was great (James and Marlon). They were very knowledgeable about the ranch and history of the island. It had rained heavy the night before and still a little rainy when we started out which made the adventure even more fun in the mud. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next week and did their 'Teryx and BBQ tour' with James, which was completely different from the waterfall tour. We saw other parts of the ranch plus the food was great. This tour is only on Wednesdays for no more than 6 Teryx and not advertised. On our second tour the roads were dry and DUSTY. It was still fun but you will get dirty. If You only had time for one tour, I recommend the waterfall tour. It's a 4 hour tour (the BBQ tour is only 3 hours) because you will see more parts of the ranch and will get to swim under a waterfall towards the end of your adventure.

Comments from activity operators

We are pleased to hear you had a great time out on tour! When you come back next time we hope you have a chance to come back. Thank you for including Kipu Ranch Adventures in your vacation to Kaua'i.

Mahalo,

Management

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Great Activity

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2011/10/22

My husband and I were island-hopping on our honeymoon when we participated in the Zipline Safari with Hiking and Kayaking in Kauai. One of our guides said he felt it was his job to make us fall in love with his island, and this tour certainly helped us do that. The price was fair for all of the inclusions of the tour, and the lunch provided was more than enough food. We had never been kayaking, but the river was very smooth and calm, so we were able to keep up and didn't have any issues. The hikes, swimming spots, stories, and "history lessons" were amazing. I have never seen such a beautiful forest. The Zipline was awesome as well and our guides took every safety precaution necessary to make us feel at ease. I would definitely recommend this activity for anyone looking for a more physical adventure. Be sure to wear a bathing suit, sunscreen, and bring hiking sandals or water socks because you should definitely get wet!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Great experience

Reviewed by: Lora Keller, 2014/07/09

This excursion was originally booked for my daughters 17th birthday celebration, as your description states that you only have to be 16 to drive with a valid drivers license ,however apon check in it was discovered that this policy changed over 2 years ago.
Rules are rules, and she was not allowed to drive.....HOWEVER......everyone bend over backwards to correct the situation and make my daughters day still special. It was hard
to stay upset as everyone did what they could do and did so quickly. While still on the ride, I got a voicemail from VELTRA apologizing for their error and that it was taken care of before we even returned .
The staff and guides were the nicest people and made the whole experience a wonderful one. Thank you to VELTRA for correcting your error so quickly....she can't wait till next time to be old enough to drive, and thank you to the staff for being so awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Great family experience!

Reviewed by: Mike E., 2020/01/04

This was a great experience for my wife, our 16-year old daughter and me! And our guide, Tyler, was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the various interesting things we experienced along the river and the trail leading up to the waterfall. We highly recommend this excursion to anyone visiting Kauai!

Yes, the trail is muddy, but you just have to, in Tyler's words, "Embrace the mud" and not worry about it and your experience will be much enhanced. And the falls at the end were magnificent -- my daughter and I swam up to the base of them and the winds had spray had to be hurricane-force.

My only advice is to book the early-morning tours, before the crowds begin showing up. That way, you will have the trail (and the falls) mostly to yourself, and the mud won't be as bad.

This was a great experience and is highly recommended. Thanks Tyler!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Mike,

Nice review and correct, if you come with the mind set that it will be muddy, you will have better time.

We are blessed to have Tyler working with us.

Morning tours are definitely nice, but ending the day on the river is not too shabby either.

Thanks for sharing and thanks for making it possible and for your kind words.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2020/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Waterfall Rappel Adventure Tour

Loved this excursion, and LOVED the team!

Reviewed by: Naomi, 2016/04/28

This was the most fun I've had on the island THUS FAR! The staff is amazing!!! Dundee, Paa (spelling?), and Kelsey did a great job giving us a demo of how to rappel. I am TERRIFIED of heights, but I felt fully confident with the expert staff there to help me. Tanya had this motherly feel so I felt really safe knowing she was at the bottom of the waterfall coaching me through. As you're rappelling one of the staff responsible for you is instructing you on what to do, where to put your foot, etc. Mostly you are trying to figure all that out yourself but when it comes to tough parts they help you out. Really great experience and SO MUCH FUN!!!! THANK YOU ALL FOR A WONDERFUL TIME AND FOR MAKING US FEEL LIKE OHANA!

Btw, if you can't swim, THIS EXCURSION IS STILL FOR YOU! I cannot swim but the bottom of the waterfall isn't really deep so it was completely fine :)

  • 60 foot waterfal

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Kipu Ranch ATV

Reviewed by: ZNmez, 2014/03/08

Mark and Mano were our guides for the 4 hour ATV waterfall tour. It was kinda wet out but that didn't stop any of us from having a great time. It had been raining for three days prior as well so the trails were muddy and lots of fun! We rode in a side by side (tyrex) and slip and slide through the mud we got to see some of the most amazing views of the island! Kipu ranch is gorgeous with two waterfalls on the tour and a giant bamboo forest you have never seen before! Plus a chance to swing into the same river as Harrison Ford in Indiana Jones!! So much fun! The guides are careful considerate and knowledgeable! The lunch was the best deli sandwiches I've ever had with Marks mothers home made bread and cookies! Yum! So good. Recommend this tour! The best on the island! Cool photo opportunity at the end with a large Kipu Ranch frame!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Off-Road ATV Ride, Zipline & Waterfall Swim with Picnic Lunch

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Jaime Peñate, 2018/10/21

This was one of the best activities on the Island. I had booked it before our trip but when I was telling the hotel staff what we where doing they all high high praises for this experience. Highly recommend doing this activity with your family or even just your spouse. Our guides Omar and Tyler (I think) where super awesome. There guide jokes where on point, they gave us a bit of history of the land and scenery. The speed of the ATVs where great, I've been on other ATV tours and this one has been the best so far. The zipline experience was perfect and the dip in the water was amazing. You get a little bit of everything on this tour..ATV, history, a couple nice short hikes, ziplining, a swimming hole, a nice satisfying lunch and great entertaining guides. Great job to the Princeville Ranch for the awesome experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Great Adventure!

Reviewed by: Staci, 2020/03/14

Jay was our guide and he couldn't have been more awesome. He's a local and a bit of a botanist so he was very knowledgeable and truly happy to take us on the tour. The kayak to the hike was fairly easy for two inexperienced kayakers as we were flowing down stream. The hike was fairly easy for non-experienced hikers. We went during the rainy season so it was very muddy, so it was a bit slick in spots, but that's part of what made it fun. The waterfall was astounding. So tall and powerful. Well worth the hike to see it's beauty. The lunch provided was enjoyable. The kayak trip back was a bit of a challenge as you're going upstream, but once you hit a nice flow, it becomes much easier. I would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone visiting the island looking for a little adventure!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Staci,

Glad you enjoyed your recent paddle and hike on our Wailua River Sacred/Secret Falls tours.

Jay is a local boy who has proudly been sharing the beauty of Kaua'i with friends, locals and visitors alike; he "walks the talk".

You're description of the tour is great. The more mud...translates for a more forceful waterfall.

Thanks for taking the time to share with us and others your experience.

Keep paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

ziplining, hiking, kayaking

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/05/28

My boyfriend and I had a really great time on this adventure. Our favorite part was the ziplining. We wish there were more lines! I'm scared of heights but enjoyed it so much I can't wait to do it again!
The kayaking was nice despite the rain. We saw a few "movie spots" during our ride down the river. Also, saw some really beautiful sceneries.
The hiking was not strenuous but there were a few times where you really had to watch your step. Also, for those very prone to mosquito bites, be sure to put it on! It was pretty windy so the guides said we probably wouldn't have to worry about the mosquitos but I ended up getting bit 6 times before I was able to put some repellant.
Overall, a really great experience. This is a great tour if you want a piece of everything.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Another adventure on Kauai

Reviewed by: Vicky and Dave, 2020/01/25

ATV experience was a first for me ,I was surprised at how comfortable I was. I thought it would be too bumpy but happy it wasn't. We had a rainy time in Kauai so we dressed for a muddy ride. So much fun was had by all. Lunch was also very good. I would suggest wearing a long sleeve shirt and the scarf or bandana around the face. Such a pretty and very informative ride the tour was very interesting. Thanks for the adventure.
he perfect review should include:
- Your overall impression of the experience
- What you liked about the activity
- Advice for future participants

Reviews containing the following will be subject to deletion:
- Personal information, including phone numbers
- Profane or defamatory language

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

A must do adventure!

Reviewed by: WA State travelers, 2018/03/11

We took the first group out at 7:45am,was a perfect trip and not over crowded. Our tour guide was Phil, he was terrific -very knowledgeable and a ton of fun. My husband and I had a great time and would recommend this for anyone wanting a little adventure. The kayaking was nice and about two miles to your hiking spot-less waterway traffic going in- coming out was getting busy- would suggest booking the early group. The hike was muddy-go barefoot or wear sturdy shoes you don't mind getting wet and muddy, a bit slippery and challenging but fun. The waterfall is beautiful (water was a bit chilly) but worth getting in it. Lunch was perfect, not too much and very yummy. Definitely a must do when visiting the island.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

An AMAZING Adventure!!

Reviewed by: Alicia D, 2017/08/30

My husband and I had an amazing adventure zip lining (for the first time ever!) kayaking, hiking and swimming on the beautiful island of Kaua'i. Our tour guides, Dan, Flip, and Matteas were incredible. SO fun, supportive, informative, and upbeat and really put Me at ease with the things that were more "scary" for me. They are true professionals with a fun-loving spirit and made me feel safe and secure while laughing a LOT! They also know the history, botany, and many interesting facts and stories about the island, so we learned a lot. Now I know what leaf to use As a natural insect repellant! I highly recommend this adventure to anyone who wants to get out and truly experience Kaua'i up close and personal!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

fun adventure

Reviewed by: Kirsten, 2015/11/07

This was a great combination of exercise and adventure. It was listed as easy/moderate which I would think would be appropriate for slightly older, non-athletic people, but it included wading through muddy rivers with slippery rocks and hauling up a couple of steep and narrow muddy paths. I kept thinking I was glad I was with my fit husband instead of my healthy mom...she would never have made it. The description also mentioned something about "air conditioned vans will take you back to your car". This never happened...you hike and kayak all the way back. Again, I LOVED it and wouldn't have wanted it any other way...I just thought the advertisement was way off of what the actual experience entailed.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Awesome River and Waterfall Adventure!

Reviewed by: 3Dean, 2016/05/05

While this is rated Easy to Moderate, when it has been raining, it is much more Moderate than Easy! The rain brings mud and many in our group were slipping and sliding quite a bit! It is still a lot of fun and well worth the Moderate journey. The kayaking is smooth and the hike is exciting enough while still being safe if you watch your step. Brian was our guide and he was very helpful and had great stories for us. The meal was OK, but you are not going on this journey for the food. The waterfall is a great site to relax and spend time with the chickens. It's Kauai, so of course there are chickens! Would highly recommend this and I plan to go again when I next visit the island!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

BEST DAY EVER!

Reviewed by: Renee, 2019/06/22

A beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. The guide was friendly and helpful, everyone was able to paddle up the river at their own pace, the river is lined with greenery, but the real treats were the hike along a gorgeous trail with amazing foliage and, of course, the waterfall. Swimming in the pool at the base of the waterfall and looking up at the water pouring over the cliff is an experience like no other. I went with my teenage daughter on a beautiful sunny day. There were no significant recent rains, so the trail was not muddy or slippery and the hike wasn't strenuous at all. I highly recommend this tour!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Renee,

Glad you enjoyed our Wailua River paddle and hike to the Sacred Falls with your daughter.

Yes it’s pretty classic and you gave a really nice review. Thanks for taking the time and until our trails cross.

Stay paddling and hiking.

Aloha,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Absolutely Unforgettable

Reviewed by: Steve and Maria, 2011/05/14

My wife an I are both empty nesters (read that to mean at or near 50.) We've both been travelers and everywhere we go, we schedule events that expose us to the area we are visiting and the people and history of the area.

This event was so much fun and at no time did we feel anything be valued as being in the care and guidance of Dida and Danny.

You will meet people from all corners of the world. Eat a good low fat breakfast the morning of this event. Water is provided, and take advantage of it.

Our personal thanks to this outfitter for giving us a memory of our visit to Kauai we will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Kayak, Rainforest Hike & Sacred Falls Swim Adventure

Amazing

Reviewed by: Joyce, 2019/12/22

The whole experience was fantastic! Adam, our guide, was super friendly and great to talk to. He was very knowledgeable.

For those planning this, the kayak trip was a little work so be prepared for that. My husband and I thought we were in great shape but we struggled a bit. It’s 2.5 miles of fast, no break, paddling. The hike was super fun. Again, be prepared to work a little. You will hike in ankle deep mud in places. It’s slippery so the walking stick (supplied) was a big help. We saw a
lot of people struggle.

The waterfall was breathtaking. Eating lunch there was surreal. Definitely worth doing!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle Valley Adventure at Princeville Ranch - Kayak, Zipline & Waterfall Swim

Family loved this one too

Reviewed by: Big Momma, 2011/07/26

A great activity for the whole family, from kids to Grandparents. When I booked it, I was a little worried about Grandpa (almost 60 & smoker) on the hike part, but it turned out not to be as hard as I though and Grandpa was fine. My husband (who had the towels in his backpack) was the only one to fall out of his kayak. The kids (7 & 12) had no problem kayaking the stream. I wish I could say the same for Grandma (first time in a kayak). The ziplines were the highlight of our trip for my 7 yr old since he got to go by himself. The guides were great and very knowledgeable. Would definitely do this activity again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

カウアイ島 ワイルア川カヤック+熱帯雨林ハイキング<英語ガイド/昼食付き>

そこそこハードです

Reviewed by: せつこ, 2014/10/04

ホテル送迎なしで参加。待ち合わせ場所はアバウト。こちらからそれらしい人に声かければ、大丈夫です。
カヤックを川におろして、30分程度のカヤック。慣れてないため、かなり遅れをとりました。
その後、アップダウンはそれほどないものの泥道だったり藪だったりの一時間超の歩行。
滝を見ながらお弁当食べて、帰ってきます。お弁当は往路は背負ってるのがつらいほどボリュームたっぷり。
カウアイの自然を肌で感じることができるツアーです。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle Valley Adventure at Princeville Ranch - Kayak, Zipline & Waterfall Swim

A Blast!

Reviewed by: Sandi S, 2010/09/01

This was the first excursion we went on when we got to Kauai, and after doing an excursion every day it remained my favorite. We did the Kayaking/hiking/zip line/waterfall swim tour. I had never kayaked or been on a zip line before and it was so much fun. You kayak through this little jungle stream (twice, on the way there and on the way back) and it's just so relaxing. The zip lines were a blast and the lunch break at the waterfall to swim was great. We loved our guides too! Totally recommend this one to anyone. Don't forget to tip your guides! I wanted to upload pictures but couldn't get it to work :(

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Horseback Riding Tour with Waterfall Swim & Picnic Lunch

MORE than 5 stars!!

Reviewed by: Jeni G., 2015/11/19

This horseback ride to the waterfall hike was AMAZING! The guide was a huge part of that, Ulysses was fantastic. Very professional, knowledgeable, helpful, funny and all around great person to put your trust into for 4 hours! The horses were great, the ride was beyond amazing, you see sights that are just breathtaking, the hike to the waterfall was an entrance to a world you must see while on the island. Just breathtaking. I am a beginner horseback rider and there were more experiences riders but I felt just as comfortable and enjoyed myself. The entire process was really customer service friendly.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Jeni,
Thank you for joining us on the Ranch and for painting such a wonderful picture of the experience. We are thankful to have Ulysses on our team and will congratulate him on this fantastic feedback. We hope that you will always remember the time you spent here and that you will return to Kauai someday soon!

Mahalo,
Shelbi Joy
Sales & Hospitality Manager
Princeville Ranch Adventures

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations