This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Outdoor Adventures in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

2480 reviews

Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona)

大島一日旅遊: Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona) / Twilight Volcano & Stargazing Tour

Reviewed by: Fang Xing, 2018/11/13

我在計畫大島旅行前,從網站搜尋到其他人的分享,其中有許多人推薦從www.hawaiiactivies.com訂購行程,在大島的第一天抬頭看見星星已經吸引了我,我決定找一個可以看星星的行程。我們不打算租車,因此以有接送的行程為優先考量,11/08 我們試著在網上訂 Big island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner 的行程,這個行程包含接送,午晚餐!另外的優惠就是在行程後發文分享,可以有一位的50%退款反回! 當我們試著在網上訂這個行程,因為沒有找到小孩的訂購選項,而直接打電話由Ms. Nunia 協助,她在跟技術 部門溝通也確定多恩的年紀可以參加後,她打電話回覆我們,協助我們訂購2大一小(3Y5M) 的全日遊,謝謝她的幫助!第一次與這個公司交涉留下很好的印象!
11/10 我們的司機Chris 準時來接我們,在去接第二組客人時,他為我們講解沿路火山與海灘的景色,他是在這出生有少部分夏威夷原住民的血統,能遇到當地長大的居民做為我們的導遊,真是幸運!他從開始到行程結束始終掛著笑容為我們服務!
第一站是Kona 咖啡園: 在這裡我們繞了一圈咖啡園,可惜的是因為是周末,只有兩個烘培機器運轉著,途中還看見了Lava Tube,就是熔岩管,它是熔岩洞的一種,從這開始了對火山的認識。在這裡有各式免費咖啡的試飲,我試了Kona coffee medium roast 與有夏威夷豆口味所混合夏威夷咖啡,各有不同的風味!Chris 為我們在桌上準備了午餐,是亞洲式午餐有日本紫薯,魚片,雞肉與白飯,配上Kona的各式果汁! 是亞洲人喜歡的口味!
第二站到了黑沙灘看海龜:Chris 雖然不能保證是否看到海龜,一下車往海灘的方向,但我們非常期待,拉著兒子的小手往沙灘前進,踩在黑沙灘上是很特別的經驗,黑沙灘的沙是冷卻的岩漿經過風力與海水沖刷而成的,沙的顆粒很小摸起來很舒服,不過一會兒就看見一隻烏龜在沙灘上休息著,大家太过興奮靠近時,被在沙灘上的救生員喊ˇ著說”請給烏龜足夠的空間"! 在這地方有標示牌請大家給他們至少30ft 的空間,不可餵食也不可觸摸!在這片黑沙灘上是開著荷花的池塘,和諧地與海邊的景色共存著,非常美麗的景色.雖然只看見一隻海龜,還是非常值得.
第三站: 一連串的火山探險之旅,首先來到火山國家公園,Chris 分享著他在前幾個夜間所拍的照片,火紅的岩漿從洞口發出,非常驚人的景色,目前能見到的是火山停止噴發後不斷地發出的煙,這時候已經來到熱帶雨林區,天氣涼爽許多,再加上小雨落下,景色非常的特別,從海邊到山上,溫度驟降,但是貼心的Chris為大家準備了外套與雨衣,不需要擔心沒有帶外套,唯一的建議是要穿包腳的鞋子!
再來去看了crater lookout, steam vests,sea Arch 還有Chains of Craters Road.分別是火山口,蒸氣口,海邊拱門,最後在僅存的舊道路上欣賞熔岩經過的歷史痕跡! 如此接近因火山活動而產生變化的自然奇景,是來到大島時一定要參加的行程! 當我們站在舊有的道路上轉身往後一看在高處則是近期因火山活動留下的黑色的痕跡,在這Chris 找出各式不一樣型態的殘留物,仔細講解著,真的是更認識了大島!
第四站:在最後一站觀星之前,我們到了Lava Cafe享用晚餐,當魚補獲的魚排餐,牛仔骨分別配上土豆尼與白飯,兒子吃的是炒粉,免費的飲料,大家都吃得很飽! 估計是全車的亞洲客人而特別預備的餐點,接著到了Mauna Kea State Park 觀星,
一下車就已經能清楚看見滿天的星斗,透過Chris 架設的高倍望遠鏡看到了火星,邱比特星跟月球.同行有人看見了流星!
我真心推薦大家參加這個行程,不論你是一個人,兩人或親子行,都能享受從行程中帶來的樂趣與各樣的驚喜!




  • sea orch



  • our tour guied-Chris


  • black sand beach


  • our shuttle


  • kona coffee


  • national volcano park

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona)

大島一日旅遊: Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona) / Twilight Volcano & Stargazing Tour

Reviewed by: Fang Xing, 2018/11/19

我在計畫大島旅行前,從網站搜尋到其他人的分享,其中有許多人推薦從www.hawaiiactivies.com訂購行程,在大島的第一天抬頭看見星星已經吸引了我,我決定找一個可以看星星的行程。我們不打算租車,因此以有接送的行程為優先考量,11/08 我們試著在網上訂 Big island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner 的行程,這個行程包含接送,午晚餐!另外的優惠就是在行程後發文分享,可以有一位的50%退款反回! 當我們試著在網上訂這個行程,因為沒有找到小孩的訂購選項,而直接打電話由Ms. Nunia 協助,她在跟技術 部門溝通也確定多恩的年紀可以參加後,她打電話回覆我們,協助我們訂購2大一小(3Y5M) 的全日遊,謝謝她的幫助!第一次與這個公司交涉留下很好的印象!
11/10 我們的司機Chris 準時來接我們,在去接第二組客人時,他為我們講解沿路火山與海灘的景色,他是在這出生有少部分夏威夷原住民的血統,能遇到當地長大的居民做為我們的導遊,真是幸運!他從開始到行程結束始終掛著笑容為我們服務!
第一站是Kona 咖啡園: 在這裡我們繞了一圈咖啡園,可惜的是因為是周末,只有兩個烘培機器運轉著,途中還看見了Lava Tube,就是熔岩管,它是熔岩洞的一種,從這開始了對火山的認識。在這裡有各式免費咖啡的試飲,我試了Kona coffee medium roast 與有夏威夷豆口味所混合夏威夷咖啡,各有不同的風味!Chris 為我們在桌上準備了午餐,是亞洲式午餐有日本紫薯,魚片,雞肉與白飯,配上Kona的各式果汁! 是亞洲人喜歡的口味!
第二站到了黑沙灘看海龜:Chris 雖然不能保證是否看到海龜,一下車往海灘的方向,但我們非常期待,拉著兒子的小手往沙灘前進,踩在黑沙灘上是很特別的經驗,黑沙灘的沙是冷卻的岩漿經過風力與海水沖刷而成的,沙的顆粒很小摸起來很舒服,不過一會兒就看見一隻烏龜在沙灘上休息著,大家太过興奮靠近時,被在沙灘上的救生員喊ˇ著說”請給烏龜足夠的空間"! 在這地方有標示牌請大家給他們至少30ft 的空間,不可餵食也不可觸摸!在這片黑沙灘上是開著荷花的池塘,和諧地與海邊的景色共存著,非常美麗的景色.雖然只看見一隻海龜,還是非常值得.
第三站: 一連串的火山探險之旅,首先來到火山國家公園,Chris 分享著他在前幾個夜間所拍的照片,火紅的岩漿從洞口發出,非常驚人的景色,目前能見到的是火山停止噴發後不斷地發出的煙,這時候已經來到熱帶雨林區,天氣涼爽許多,再加上小雨落下,景色非常的特別,從海邊到山上,溫度驟降,但是貼心的Chris為大家準備了外套與雨衣,不需要擔心沒有帶外套,唯一的建議是要穿包腳的鞋子!
再來去看了crater lookout, steam vests,sea Arch 還有Chains of Craters Road.分別是火山口,蒸氣口,海邊拱門,最後在僅存的舊道路上欣賞熔岩經過的歷史痕跡! 如此接近因火山活動而產生變化的自然奇景,是來到大島時一定要參加的行程! 當我們站在舊有的道路上轉身往後一看在高處則是近期因火山活動留下的黑色的痕跡,在這Chris 找出各式不一樣型態的殘留物,仔細講解著,真的是更認識了大島!
第四站:在最後一站觀星之前,我們到了Lava Cafe享用晚餐,當魚補獲的魚排餐,牛仔骨分別配上土豆尼與白飯,兒子吃的是炒粉,免費的飲料,大家都吃得很飽! 估計是全車的亞洲客人而特別預備的餐點,接著到了Mauna Kea State Park 觀星,
一下車就已經能清楚看見滿天的星斗,透過Chris 架設的高倍望遠鏡看到了火星,邱比特星跟月球.同行有人看見了流星!
我真心推薦大家參加這個行程,不論你是一個人,兩人或親子行,都能享受從行程中帶來的樂趣與各樣的驚喜!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

THIS TOUR COVERS IT ALL!!!! SUPERB!!!!

Reviewed by: nwc, 2016/04/06

The booking process so easy – one simple phone call. The tour provides lunch, dinner, snacks, EVERYTHING you’ll need.

Jim Carey was our guide, and was EXCELLENT in EVERY WAY. “Uncle Jim” was very accommodating and went out of his way to ensure guests were comfortable. We were amazed at Jim’s knowledge of island history & Hawaiian culture. As we traveled, Jim educated us on island facts, myths, and legend. He recounted many great tales of Hawaiian lore,with enthusiasm and energy. Jim loves his job and entertaining his guests.

The tour began with a trip to Mauna Kea and picnic lunch. After, we headed to Hilo and stopped at a lava field. Next stops were Rainbow Falls, Kamehameha Statue and Big Island Candies for a snack. After Hilo, we went to Volcanoes National Park while Jim told us history of the island’s volcanoes. Jim is as much a geologist as tour guide. We pulled over to see “steam vents”, and then to the viewing area and the Volcano Museum and gift shop.

On the way to dinner, we stopped at the Thurston Lava Tube. The tube was well lit, but Jim made sure we were armed with flashlights. We exited through a “skylight” and made our way back.

We ate at the Kilauea Lodge, a quaint restaurant. Meal was top-notch. Back to Volcanoes Park at dark. Jim had high-powered binoculars and we viewed spewing lava. The temp dropped, and Jim was ready w/hot chocolate.

We made one last stop to do some stargazing. For someone who had never viewed the stars in the blackened sky of Hawaii, I was astounded. The sky was FULL of stars – thousands of them that I’ve never seen before. It was like visiting a planetarium, in real life.

In conclusion, we highly recommend this excursion for anyone interested in a comprehensive tour that covers everything you would want to see on the Big Island, in one feature-packed day. If Jim is available, as for him by name. He was the best tour guide we’ve ever had – on any tour, on any island, country or continent.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an excellent day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide whose Hawaiiana stories have quickly become a favorite among our guests. His top-notch hospitality allows everyone to just sit back, relax, and enjoy the day! We are so glad that you enjoyed all of the stops along the way and were able to get some stargazing in, as well. It truly is breathtaking to see such an abundance of stars and we totally agree that it's like standing in a real-life planetarium! Mahalo for the amazing recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

The Most Relaxing Informative Tour on the Island

Reviewed by: Casey, 2016/03/01

My husband and I recently took a Kailani Tours Hawaii trip to Kilauea Volcano. It was a very pleasant experience and probably one of the best tours we’ve ever done.

After driving about 90 minutes, we stopped to have a very nice box lunch at a rest stop near the military base. The lunches were prepared by a nice restaurant in Kona. Place mats were even provided to put on the picnic tables!

This was a tour in itself, as we were able to sample many different treats. We were even able to watch the employees preparing the cookies through a large glass wall. Everything we tasted was delicious except for the chocolate dipped squid that we thought was coconut!! I think one needs to develop a taste for the combination of chocolate and squid.

As we got closer to the volcano, the weather got progressively worse. Chris, our driver, was very adept at adjusting our schedule so that we took best advantage of the time we had. We stopped at the Rainbow falls lookout and took a short walk along the falls til we got to the huge banyan tree.

We went to the Kilauea Lodge for dinner. This looked to me to be a five star hotel and restaurant just outside the park. We were allowed to choose between a New York steak, fresh catch of the day, or a vegetarian dish.

After dinner we went back to the volcano to see it after dark. Thankfully, Kailani Tours provided very comfortable and warm Lands End parkas. Even though we were told to bring jackets, the ones we took were not warm enough as the winds were blustery, making the 45 degree weather seem much colder. We went to the lip of the Calderra where the view of the glowing lava was awe-inspiring.

As a final treat, we were given a short stargazing opportunity when we were about halfway home. The entire experience lasted from approximately 10:00 am to midnight. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about everything on the island, the volcano, and constellations and was very good at passing that knowledge along to us.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time with Chris. He is an awesome guide whose attention to detail really allows our guests to just indulge in the experience! He always makes sure that everyone has the best time possible. What an experience the chocolate squid must have been! I don't believe I've quite developed a taste for that either, but what a story to tell! Hopefully, the amazing dinner at Kilauea Lodge made your taste buds happier. Mahalo for the excellent review and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

This tour was AWESOME! Adam and Jim were incredible and we feel lucky to have had them as our guides.

Reviewed by: Robin and Gary, 2017/12/21

Our guides made our 12 hours together seem too short and they went above and beyond to make our day the best ever. Both were extremely knowledgeable about virtually any Hawaiian subject. They picked us up precisely on time and we started our day. We were taken to a lava flow surrounded by mountains that went on as far as the eye could see. Just our first stop of seeing mother nature at its finest. We continued on to a park for a gourmet box lunch that was obviously freshly made and to get to know our tour mates better. The views and fresh air were wonderful. The Hawaiian gods of weather were certainly shining down on us. Off again for a tour around the quaint town of Hilo where we enjoyed the statue of King Kamehameha and a stop at a candy shop. We then went on to Rainbow Falls with its beautiful waterfall and scenery. We stopped along the way at steam vents from the volcano. Ladies, if you want a facial, that's the place to go. Volcano National Park was amazing. The Visitor Center had a great museum and showed us the history of the crater. This was just a preview as we would return later for a nighttime view. Leaving the crater we visited the naturally formed lava tube used in the filming of the rolling boulder scene in Raiders of the Lost Ark. The ferns at the park were also used as a backdrop for scenes from Jurassic Park. We were treated to dinner at the Kilauea Lodge in Volcano, Hawaii. Fabulous. After dinner we returned to the crater to view the night time glow and star gaze. We were able to get a glimpse of the lava pool where the level varies 100s of feet over a few days' time. Jim talked about the stars and pointed out several constellations. It was definitely a once in a lifetime view. Throughout the entire trip our hosts provided almost continuous commentary on the history, stories, customs, flora and fauna of Hawaii. A total 1st class experience and the highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We would definitely do this tour with them again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour, Jurassic Jungle Jeep Expedition & Kaneohe Bay Cruise

WOW what a awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Steven, 2015/06/10

So you wanna see movie sets... this is the tour you wanna visit.

ok so the start of it was a bit confusing, you get on a bus with many other tourists inc non English speaking people, but thats expected, but when the tour guide starts talking in their language first...not sure. anyways they were explaining what the difference options to visit on the ranch.

we did ATV, Movie guide and jungle safari but other options inc sail and island hide away. the ATV is good but sucks when it rains like it did for us, was wet but they did provide ponchos but the seats got wet and our butts and pants were wet for the rest of the day. about a 30mins tour up and around the valley with 1 stop up near the mid valley looking down, yeah nice view, but they could have taken us to some movie sights that are not on the movie guide that we went on next. theres a million movies and tv filmed here and many not visited so they could have stopped us at them.

The Movie guides was great, Visited the site of Jurassic Parks tree stump for some pics, then drove past the lost golf field, also saw a few Godzilla foot prints, would have been good to stop and get pics there, the movie guide also took in some history about the ranch as well as the farming they do (it is a cattle ranch after all!)

After a very well stocked and yummy lunch we did the Jungle Safari in what simply put a Safari bus, which was also used for the Jurassic World bus as seen in the trailer so that was cool to know, went up into the jungle was rough and bounch so it added to the Safariness, we stopped at a few film locations inc the new Jurassic World Science building, it was fenced off but got a chance to take pics. up into the jungle and more little hidden spots were films and TV were filmed and to the top of the valley, good view and ics taken and then it was back to the gift shop, i thought there would be more LOST but i guess for licensing reason they cant sell things.
it was a great tour, well worth what we paid.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Wonderful experience. Must Go!

Reviewed by: Yuki, 2016/05/06

We started the morning with very warm welcome with big smile of the guide in front of our hotel lobby. His name was Jim Carey. Since we were Japanese visiting from Japan, he was concerned about the tour being conducted in English. We said we were Okay, try to keep up. He kindly told us that he would try to speak.
As we started the actual tour and as we picking up the more new guests, he explain the schedule of the day again and again. so everybody know how that day is gonna be.
As we were on the move, he had full of stories of scenic locations, Hawaiian history and cultures.
At the lunch, we had Pick-nick lunch at the base of Mauna Kea, we had the Chicken Caesar wrap at very fine environment. When it was time to go, Jim was not calling out the guest but he was playing songs with the Ukulele to let people know that it is time to go, what a kind way to notify!!

After that we went to Hiro, there we did not have much time to stop so Jim was explaining lots of stuff as he drove by. Then after that we went to the Rainbow Fall, although we could not see the rainbow, it was beautiful fall.
Then here comes the main event, the volcano. We visited the steam vent and couple of other scenic points and a little hiking it was very interesting and felt really good to hike in unusual volcanic environment. Only thing was that rain came and went repeatedly. Then we moved to the location of Lava tube. It was awesome!! Here also, Jim had a wonderful stories to tell. We learned a lot of stuff from him.
Then we moved to the lodge/Restaurant for the dinner. Surprisingly the dinner was much better quality than we expected. After the dinner, when we got out of the restaurant, it was dark but very clear sky, we went back to volcano and saw lava splash and million stars with Jim's stories. Totally different face the volcano showed us from earlier that day.
All activities were finished and on the way back to the hotel, we are so tired and fell asleep. Best tour ever!!


  • at the Lava tube


  • after the pick-nick lunch.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. His love for Hawaii shines through his songs and stories of the islands. It sounds like you folks had no problem keeping up and really enjoyed your day! Excellent! Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

An amazing waterfall and a day of fun!

Reviewed by: Alyssa, 2014/12/22

We had a great time zip lining! This was my second time zip lining (first time in Sonoma) and my husband's first time. Our amazing guides Brian and Nainoa helped make our day memorable and zip lining easy for everyone. One recommendation for anyone prone to mosquito bites: bring mosquito gel or something for your exposed arms/legs! I sprayed two layers of OFF on my legs and came out of the first two lines with about 14 bites on my legs. The company provides OFF spray for you to use before you head up the bumpy road to the first line, but it doesn't quite work. I recommend wearing pants/long sleeve clothes that breathes as well as using bug spray as it is very humid there. If you bring your smart phone, I'd recommend bringing something to wrap around your wrist. If you have a regular camera, you can strap it around your neck or wrist. They have water to drink as you go through the course, so no need to bring a bottle along.

The course has seven lines for you to travel on, with the first two being very beginner friendly through the banana trees. As you progress throughout the zip lines, they get longer and the terrain clears up a bit. The guides find wild fruit that is growing on the course and pick it for you to eat. We had apple bananas, two types of guava (one pink and one small, sweet yellow guava), tomatoes, and a sip of white ginger flower nectar. The last two lines are by far the best. Second to last, you travel over the river before the waterfall and is the last line where you can practice your "steering". The last line you just let gravity take you down as you take a nice long ride, with an amazing view of the waterfall, to the end of the course. When you reach the bottom of the line, they have more fresh fruit and sugar cane all cut up, ready to enjoy! We would definitely go back!

One thing is the equipment can get a little smelly. Not sure how much it gets wiped down (my harness smelled sour and helmet left me sweating brown stuff).

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Zipline Tour, ATV Ride & Climbing Adventures at Coral Crater

Epic day of adventure for my girlfriend and I!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2018/10/01

We had a blast at Coral Crater! We booked the ultimate package that included zipline, tower,and ATV and it was so worth it! The day started off zip-lining. We had zip-lined at a few other places here which I remember being somewhat bored. This wasn't the case here. The lines fly through the tree top and it definitely felt a lot faster than our previous zip tour. No one got stuck on the lines because you go more than fast enough! I wish I was able to post some of the video here! After zip-lining we had a much needed hour break for lunch before the tower activity. It does get very hot as the adventure park is literally built into a crater and is protected from the wind. Taking a break to cool off and drink lots of water was very nice. The tower was a ton of fun, some obstacles were pretty easy while others were fairly challenging. I am not a climber so being up in the air really took me out of my comfort zone which made even the simple obstacles exciting! The safety equipment they use is top notch, high-end gear, so when you do fall you can rest easy knowing that you are safe.There was a 3rd grade boy in the group who was flying through the course, his parents (not old) could barely keep up! So its safe to say this great for kids. The most intimidating part is the "freefall" from 70 ft using the auto-belay device.It looks terrifying but is actually pretty fun. The climbing wall was a lot of fun also. We all got to take as many attempts as we wanted. I made it up to the bell both times I went and was exhausted after that. The final activity was ATVs. These are not normal ATVs, they are custom 800cc v-twin mid-engine off-road machines. I had a blast drifting and sliding the ATV around. I got the ATV almost sideways multiple times and at one point we almost hit 30MPH! This is not a slow, sightseeing ATV ride, so do not expect that. Driving skill will play a role in how exciting this ATV is. If you want to tear up the trail and get dirty, these are the ATVs to do it on!


  • Loved the tandem zip


  • Zipping through the trees


  • The tower!


  • Climbing wall was definitley a challenge but I made it to the top!


  • Tore it up in an 800cc mid-engine off-road machine!

Comments from activity operators

Mike, Thanks for the kind review. It was great having you at the park and we hope to welcome you back for another fun time.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Best time ever!

Reviewed by: Shannel, 2017/10/26

I booked this horseback riding tour because my boyfriend has expressed how much he has always wanted to ride a horse. I did a quick search and Veltra had this awesome offer for a 2-for-1 which I found perfect as a surprise for him! I booked it and got confirmation very quickly.
We were coming from Honolulu so the drive took about an hour. Our booking was at 2pm and check-in was at 1:30pm. The early check-in was for the explanation of the liability and consent form while they prepared the horses. There was the two of us plus a small family of three. Helmets are recommended but not required- they are free to use. (If opt to not use a helmet, you must sign a section on the liability form) Around 10 minutes before 2pm, they explain and demonstrate how to ride and take care of our horses. We get on and begin the tour shortly after 2pm!
We got lucky with the weather! When we first arrived, it was grey, cloudy and started to drizzle. By the time we began our horse ride it turned sunny! Leanna was our guide and she is the sweetest person! We were all beginning horseback riders so we went at a good pace. She talked about the range, answered our questions, asked about ourselves, and made sure we were all comfortable and in control of our horses throughout the entire tour. The trail included uphill, downhill, and flat plains. The top view was absolutely stunning. We got to see the beautiful blue ocean in-front of us and the Ko'olau mountains behind us. Leanna even took our photos and they came out amazing. It was so serene, sunny and not too hot because there were cool breezes throughout that hour trail ride.
This is definitely an experience of a lifetime. I am so incredibly happy we got to do this! The views were breathtaking and I will be attaching photos even though the real thing is 1000 times better! We'll be doing it again the next time we get the chance. Thank you so much Leanna and Gunstock Range for a lovely time and thank you Veltra for the great offer!


  • Top view!


  • Through the trees


  • Through the range


  • At the stable

Comments from activity operators

Aloha!
Thank you for your great review. We hope you had a nice time and hope to see you again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Worth Every Cent Spent! A Definite MUST DO!

Reviewed by: Alan L, 2016/03/23

Our tour guide Mike was fantastic. After a bit of confusion on picking up passengers, we started heading east across the Big Island on Saddle Road in a very comfortable Mercedes van. Mike has a wealth of knowledge, both cultural and local, so he made the tour feel almost personalized for everyone. We stopped at the Mauna Kea Recreation Area for a tasty, fresh lunch. Weather was perfect to see both volcanoes. We stopped along the highway to walk on the lava and see and he explained the different types. We continued to Hilo and watched a video about the volcanes, and then we stopped at Rainbow Falls. Mike knew the best places for nice pictures. After taking the scenic route and getting downtown Hilo, we learned more history about various buildings and the Kamehameha statues around the islands and stopped at Big Island Candies for some tasty samples and quick shopping. Time for the main event!

We went into the Volcanoes National Park. We stopped by some active steam vents and then the Jaggar Museum to see the active crater. Mike tooks us to see other craters and lava flows and stopped to let us walk around and see various formations created by the flow. We went deeper and deeper into the park, making our way almost to the ocean, and then stopped at the Thurston lava tube. Very unique!

From there, we headed for dinner at the Kilauea Lodge. Great atmosphere, great food, great service! Definitely try the soups! After dinner and after dark, Mike took us back to the Jaggar Museum to view the lava glow. Mike must have called on Pele to part the fog, because we were able to see and take pictures of the glow. He provide binoculars and jackets to those who needed it.

Now, heading back to the Kona side at night, we finished the volcano video and watched an "update" video that showed all the eruptions since 1983. We stopped across from the Mauna Kea Rec Area for stargazing. Mike point out constellations, planets, galaxies, stars. BEAUTIFUL!


  • Nice Weather!


  • Lava flow with cinder cones.


  • Rainbow Falls


  • Big Island Candies Lobby


  • Getting steamed at the steam vents


  • Into the crater


  • Into the crater at night for the lava glow


  • Inside the Thurston lava tube


  • Lava Arch


  • Lava flow to the ocean with a touch of rainbow

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear you had such a fantastic day with Mike! Dinner at the Kilauea Lodge is such a special treat, and we agree that their soups are a must try to help warm up on those cold Volcano nights. We love when the fog parts and our guests get to enjoy that magnificent glow so clearly. Those clear skies also make for some amazing stargazing as well and we're glad to hear you enjoyed it! Mahalo for the wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

The most wonderful day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: NORMA BARAJAS, 2016/05/06

This tour was astonishing, we had our best time in Hawaii. Starting, our host Jim Carey a gentleman, expert story teller of Hawaiian culture. On the road we could see lava tubes, alien landscapes, the marvelous Mauna Kea where is an astronomical observatory and we had a windy delicious pic nic lunch. Near the city of Hilo, we had our second stop for seeing the Rainbow Falls, a fantastic view of the beauty and force of nature. Not far, Hilo, a rainy city, where is the University of Hawaii and the unforgettable chocolate factory where one can find all kind of delicious chocolates, candies, cookies, macadamia nuts. No one can leave that place without a full bag while Jim Carey is calling you with the sound of ukelele. Also you can take pictures of the statue of king Kamehameha in a park. Then, we took our way to Volcanoes National Park, which welcomed us with a warm fumarole that wet us in a strange but nice sensation. Then, the first wonderful breathtaking view of the Kilauea volcano, a vision like we were in Mars. The museum shows what the nude eye can’t see in a volcano, like Pele´s hair and lava forest. After, an outstanding landscape, the lava river, an unbelievable wonder full of mystery. We took a path through the rainy forest, where the flowers and the tree of Pele’s legend grow in the middle of volcanic rocks. Then Jim took us to a cozy restaurant, with a chimney attended by his owner. Dinner was awesome, very tasty, as the special passion fruit tea. At night we had the vision of fire in the middle of the night, the Kilauea's dancing lava took our breath away, an unforgettable moment, almost mystical. Pictures can’t catch that beauty, but the telescope that Jim takes with him did.
Back in the van a great surprise waited for us. Like a love detail, a hot coco and cookies appeared to warm us. On our road back more than one fell asleep dreaming of the most wonderful day of their lives. Mahalo from Colombia.


  • On the road


  • picnic stop


  • rainbow falls


  • Sunset at Kilauea


  • Kilauea at day


  • Volcanic landscape


  • Kilauea at night


  • Restaurant

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. He truly loves sharing his songs and stories of Hawaii with our guests, helping them to connect with our island while on tour. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the stops and treats throughout the day. Dinner at the Kilauea Lodge is so special and always helps our guests warm back up on those cold Volcano nights! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hike Maui Rainforest Trails & Waterfall Swim - Best Hana Hiking Tours

Had a great time, Sarah was a wonderful tour guide

Reviewed by: Stacie, 2017/07/13

My husband, myself and our 11 year old nephew had a great time on our hike. Pretty much everything was as described. We got to go to 4 different waterfalls, got to jump into 3 of them, included a pretty hefty peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a bag of chips, native fruit, lots of water and bug spray provided, and a backpack to keep everything in! The hike was definitely more on the moderate side than the easy side, I would say. My husband and I are fairly athletic and we were both sore and tired at the end of the hike. The nature is amazing. I took about 200 photos. The information that Sarah shared with us was interesting and insightful. She was a very nice, patient and informative tour guide. She was friendly and made conversation, but was not in your face, or invasive when people didn't want her to be. She was also very helpful because she showed the people on the tour the correct places and ways to jump off the waterfalls. I think this helped with some of the anxiety people had. I definitely recommend this hike. It is a little pricey, but it was worth it, and you really get your money's worth. I ended up messing up one of my ears when I jumped off of the third waterfall we found, so the end of the hike wasn't as pleasant for me as the beginning was, but I think that was a random thing that happened. My 11 year old nephew jumped a total of 7 times off the different waterfalls and never really complained about anything except that he slapped his hands and arms on the water (which was more his own fault). The one thing I didn't like was the number of people that were at the waterfalls during our tour. That was something we couldn't really control. There are some "private" waterfalls that we got to see, which, obviously had less people, but still had other people there. I think if you have a choice, go on a weekday, and it might be helpful to go during an off season. We went the day after 4th of July, so it was probably pretty busy.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Thoughtful and insightful tour -- well worth it!

Reviewed by: James Sturm, 2017/11/27

We had a fantastic time with our Kailani tour of the Big Island that we booked through Veltra. I’ll go through each category of the trip one by one and leave my detailed thoughts:

GUIDE
Our guide, Kevin, was a former U.S. Navy electrical engineer and was quite knowledgeable about the island. He spoke on the microphone throughout the trip, always providing new and interesting information, but never repeating himself or sounding boring. I got the sense that he wasn’t just trying to fill space, but rather that he genuinely had lots of things to share about the island. I also appreciated how he had studied some Hawaiian and was able to translate a number of names and titles to us in English and explain the cultural and linguistic origins.

ITINERARY
I was stoked to get to see Volcanoes National Park because it was on my bucket list and it was beautiful. The guide provided night-time binoculars so we could see the magma spitting out of the volcano crater at night—truly spectacular. Plus, the itinerary was designed so that you avoid the large crowds at the volcano, making stops before and after it erupts. Hilo was nice but quick, so I’d say if you really want to explore the town of Hilo you should go on your own. This one makes a brief stop in Hilo but really just uses it as a jumping off point to explore the volcano.

FOOD
The lunch was pretty simple but fresh – sandwiches with turkey, hummus, and avocado in various varieties. The dinner is quite special though as the lodge is quite intimate, very cozy and offers great food.

TRANSPORT
The transport is a Mercedes 12 seater van with a co-pilot seat, then three rows of three and one row of four. Even if you get a middle seat it’s not bad, because the windows are essentially panoramic on the bus and they are extremely clean. The black leather interior was very comfortable and not one on our ride got carsick.

Overall I highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Amazing tour! A cultural, historical and geological journey from sea to sky and back!

Reviewed by: Barry Zeve, 2016/03/15

Our tour started at 11:00 AM and ended at 11:00 PM. Our guide, Jim, gathered us together into what felt like a family outing, not a tour with strangers. He sang to us, played the ukulele, chanted and prayed in Hawaiian. He told stories he learned directly from “kahunas,” the gurus of the Hawaiian culture. And his stories had messages beneath the messages that elucidated the world the ancient Hawaiians inhabited when they reached the Hawaiian Islands in 1200 AD that mysteriously still affected me this day. When we arrived at Rainbow Falls, which is more than 75 feet high, I didn’t expect to react that way I did. The falls and turquoise pools beneath them were so majestic that they didn’t seem quite real. I kept looking for the frame around the picture.
“Pele,” the goddess of the volcano, has shimmering black hair that sometimes looks like smooth volcanic rock that oozes out of the craters. Her fiery eyes smoke by day, but they become visible at night. When we returned to the craters to meet her on her terms, at night, suddenly, modern science merged with ancient magic and mysticism, and Jim’s stories took on a haunting inference I hadn’t heard in the light. After several short excursions to the perimeter of Hawaii’s Volcanoes National Park that even included a walk through a lava tube, Nahuku, we stopped for a scrumptious dinner in an inn reminiscent of a European, mountain lodge. As the sun set on a day filled with new information that caressed my mind and opened my imagination, I was ready to return to the smoking, lava flows to see Pele’s fiery eyes shooting glances back at me at night, asking me to question the beauty and truth of this world we live in – asking me to quietly contemplate the meaning of my life and whether paradise could actually be something real – whether promises do get fulfilled for those who learn to make a difference.


  • Rainbow Falls


  • Steam Vents near Kiluea


  • Kiluea Crater


  • Dinner at Kiluea Lodge


  • Kiluea at Night

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an amazing day with Jim. He is such a wonderfully knowledgeable guide who truly exudes the Aloha spirit and helps our guests connect with our beautiful island home! His Hawaiiana stories have quickly become a guest favorite and it is so humbling to hear how deeply it all resonated with you. That's exactly why we LOVE what we are able to do! Mahalo for the incredible recommendation and we truly hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Must do volcano tour

Reviewed by: Pete, 2018/03/27

On Friday March 16th, 2018 my family and I attended the Deluxe Volcano Night Lava Viewing with Dinner at Kilauea Lodge & Stargazing Tour that also included the coffee trip to the Kona Joe Coffee Farm, Punaluu Bakery and the Black sand beach. To start, I have to say our guide Uncle Jim made the trip well worth the time and money we invested. He was prompt, courteous, knowledgeable and most of all both engaging and entertaining. From the history, folklore and ancient stories to the general knowledge of Hawaiian culture there was rarely a moment where we were not enjoying the tour. We started out from our resort and Jim began to answer our questions and tell us stories of the landscape (lava, terraforming and the effects of adding green spaces to the resorts on the climate) and a Captain Cook story. As we moved on and picked up the other guests the stories continued as he pointed out various points of interest and beaches we may want to visit on our own. Some great aspect to the tour were the mythical stories of the gods and goddesses and how they actually mirror what it believed to be the realities of the Hawaiian Islands today. Each of the stops we made were better than promised, lunch and dinner were both great and Uncle Jim having a telescope for the night time volcano viewing was great. Some of the highlights from our perspective were walking down a lava tube, walking through the steam vents, picturesque picnic lunch and the gathering of stones to gift to the volcano later in the day with a chant led by Uncle Jim. And I can’t forget the smell of the Huli Huli chicken BBQ that he teased us with that I never did actually get back to try, maybe on our next visit. I would recommend this as a must do tour on your trip to the big island and ask for Uncle Jim, he will make the tour that much better.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch Zipline Tours - Jurassic Valley Zipline in Hawaii

A GREAT DAY AT THE RANCH...

Reviewed by: Frank and Seanna, 2016/05/07

The wife and I had never been to Hawaii or on a Zip Line before, but being from southern Arizona, we love horseback riding and the ranch lifestyle. The ranch is a beautiful place and is adorned with beautiful flowers, green trees, awesome views and a lot of history. Our horseback ride was awesome. I wish we had done the 2 hour ride. Bravo is a great looking buckskin who was relatively new to the herd. I really enjoyed riding him. He was just a tiny bit ornery at first, which made him more fun to ride, but nothing an experienced rider couldn't handle. He settled in nicely and we got to see some spectacular views. Lunch was good and filling. Then it was out to the zip lines. Our bus driver/guide was great. She was funny and very informative and knowledgeable. A real pleasure. Now I know what pipi is. LOL... You will see some pipi as this is an active pipi ranch. The zip lines were awesome. The guides were informative and knowledgeable and always make you feel safe and secure. There are cameras on some of the zip lines and a bridge. The pics didn't come out very good and were expensive to purchase. We found three that were sort of ok. If you bring a camera on the zip lines, you will probably get some pretty good shots but tether it to your body. If you drop your camera or phone or anything else, it's gone for good. They do have lockers at base camp to lock your stuff in while you are on the zip lines. There are a couple of uphill hikes between zip lines, (maybe 100 feet or so), that can be strenuous for someone out of shape and those paths have some loose gravel. Wear shoes that will be comfortable and work well with some loose uphill terrain. Tennis shoes work fine or hiking boots. There are also a couple of water stops along the tour. We had a blast and would do it again any day. Enjoy.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Extraordinary Trip!

Reviewed by: Philip Shou, 2017/12/01

First of all, this is a fantastic trip. When we first booked the trip, we saw the 4.9 out of five rating and doubted. When we came back from the trip, all doubts were erased!

Our guide Kevin is extremely knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. We were picked up at our hotel at 12:05 noon. The lunch was served in the Mauna Lao Rest Area at 1pm. The quality of the lunch is totally out of expectations. Kevin told us they were picked up from a famous deli at 11:30 AM. No wonder it’s so good and fresh!

The Rainbow Fall in Hilo is the first highlight. We saw the rainbow as soon as we got there. It’s exactly the same as shown in the advertisement picture. Absolutely beautiful! Kevin specifically warned us not to climb on the rocks in the upper river because many people died falling into the pond under the waterfalls. We saw about 10 people on the rock that day. Two days later I saw a news that a young couple were seeing struggling in the upper River and disappeared. The lady was later found dead at the bottom of the waterfall and the guy was still missing. Very good advice from Kevin!

The highlight of all highlights is of course the view of the live volcano. The tour company’s arrangement it’s very smart. They let us view the volcano crater at sunset for about 30 minutes. Then, we were transported to a very nice restaurant nearby to enjoy a five course formal dinner. Again it is so good that it is totally out of expectation.

We were back to the volcano after dinner when it is dark and very few people there. We can see the lava glow very clearly. When Kevin set up his high quality binoculars on a stand, we can even see the lava splashed out of the crater like fireworks!

Overall, it worths all 5 stars. I would recommend this trip to anyone!



  • Rainbow Falls


  • Great Dinner Restaurant


  • Big Candy Store!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Awesome ride & breathtaking waterfall!

Reviewed by: Missy W, 2019/05/31

My husband and I had an awesome time with our guides Joshua and Lumbo. They took us on a fun, wild-ride ATV adventure and told us some cool history about the Kipu Ranch, including details about Hollywood movies filmed there. One stop along the route included an opportunity to swing from a rope swing from the same tree (same tree, new rope) Harrison Ford used as Indiana Jones in the movie Raiders of the Lost Ark!

Another stop included a delicious lunch of sandwiches, fruit, chips, cookies, and water. I was impressed with the tablecloths and individually wrapped moist towels (actual towels) handed out to clean off all the dirt on our hands and face from our ride. It was also really interesting to chat with the guides about their lives on the island and pick their brains about Kipu Ranch trivia. Joshua just had his third child last week, and Lumbo has 6 kids!

Our final stop was at a picturesque waterfall where we were all able to swim to the waterfall!

Tips: Wear closed toed shoes you don’t mind swimming in because you must wear shoes in the water. Wear a swimsuit under your clothes if you want to swim at the waterfall or swing on the rope swing into the water. Bring a towel unless you don’t mind air drying. Also, your clothes will definitely get dirty! Keep a change of clothes in the car unless you don’t mind the dirt in your car. In case you’re wondering, the water is definitely cold.

A nice bonus is that the company gives you complementary bandannas to wear over your nose and mouth to keep the dirt out. The bandanna serves as a cool souvenir afterwards! Also, one of our guides, Joshua, was especially gifted at taking cell phone pictures. If you luck out with him as your guide, let him take your pictures!


  • Waterfall you get to swim in!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Fantastic trip to the Wet Side!

Reviewed by: JenNMikeY, 2016/04/02

My husband and I enjoyed this trip immensely! Since we were staying on the opposite side of the island from the Volcanoes National Park and Hilo, this was a great way to see it all without having to spend half the day driving. The hotel pick-up was a nice added convenience. Taking the tour allowed us to just sit back in comfort and enjoy the sights and the company of some really nice people who took the tour with us.

The van was comfy and spacious, and the group is limited to 14 guests, so we were never lost in a crowd. Our tour guide, Chris, was a joy to spend time with. He knew the island quite well, from the top of the mountain to the waterfalls, the lava tube and all of the interesting sights that were covered on the tour. He showed a genuine interest ad knowledge of all of the places we visited, and delivered commentary with a great sense of humor thrown in - he was never boring! He was familiar enough with the tour and our expectations that he was able to adapt the schedule just enough to accommodate the changes in island weather - namely rain - on the wet side of the island. He even provided umbrellas and flashlights for exploring after the sun went down.

The trip included a Fantastic dinner at a lodge near the Park. This alone was almost worth the time and cost of the tour! We were lucky enough to be seated with Chris during dinner and found him to be very personable. I could have spent hours just enjoying our conversations. Chris is perfectly suited to run this type of tourism business, and has created a tour that is just different enough from other tours to make it stand out!

I would absolutely recommend this tour to others. Thanks for a great time on the Big Island!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a fantastic day with Chris. He is an amazing guide, whose love for the Big Island really shines though his stories and fun facts along the way. His witty personality and attention to detail really allow our guests to just sit back, relax, and enjoy! The dinner at Kilauea Lodge is always a very welcomed treat to help refuel and warm up before checking out that majestic glow from the lava lake inside of Halema'uma'u Crater and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed it so much! Mahalo for the wonderful review and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Excellent Trip

Reviewed by: Chris & Mary, 2016/03/21

All parts of this trip went very well. We were on time in the morning to pick-up our ferry tickets at the Laihaina Lanai Ferry Booth and they had a prepared envelope waiting for us with all the tickets and information for the day. Upon arrival at Manele Small Boat Harbor, we were cordially met by Rick as we walked off the ferry, who quickly whisked us away and up to Lanai City and Dollar Rental. Our Jeep was waiting for us and check-in was smooth, cordial and we were given a map and suggestions on starting our day exploring Lanai'i. We had a great time finding our way down the bumpy one-lane dirt roads to the Garden of the Gods and partly to Polihau Beach. We returned and then went to see Shipwreck Beach in the sand. No problems, as we were careful to avoid soft sand areas. We returned to Dollar Rental at noon concerned that the late afternoon and evening ferries may be cancelled due to rough seas. We decided to return on the 2 p.m. ferry. The Dollar Rental agents and Rick, who we happened to see at the Grocery Store / gas station, were very helpful in arranging earlier shuttle service to the harbor and changing our ferry tickets for the earlier return. Note: everything seems to happen there at the one-stop grocery store / gas station / Dollar Rental place and parking lot. Even with the changes, all went quickly, no hassles, and we were back to the harbor with time to spare for the return bumpy, high-seas ferry ride to Lahaina. If it is rough seas, sit in the inside lower deck center rear section. We have great memories, pictures and fun stories to tell of our half-day on Lanai'i, thanks to how easy the tour arrangements worked and how friendly everyone was on our excursion. Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/02/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Wonderful staff, beautiful area, and well cared for horses!

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/12/06

This is a review by an advanced rider, 1 intermediate and 2 beginners. First the drive from the west of the island takes about an hour to an hour and a half, but it's just beautiful. Our tour was in December and scheduled for 9am as a 1 hour walking tour. We arrived a bit early due to traffic being light. When we arrived, the staff greeted us and explained that they will need to grab the horses and tack up so we could wait by the picnic tables and the bathrooms were behind us. We had no problem waiting and a sweet dog named Sadie came to play fetch with us. It started to rain a bit once the horses were ready, we hadn't brought jackets but it wasn't very cold and it ended fairly quick. The guide asked our experience and explained how to ride to all of us and then began matching horses to people. I think she did an absolutely fabulous job. The tour started and each pair went along nicely and the guide was very informative about the ranch, landscape, and area. She was very friendly. The terrain and landscapes were just beautiful. Green everywhere, big green mountains with billowing clouds draping down them. Each rider enjoyed it, the horses kept the beginners so safe, and mine listened to my light cues well. The guide told us the trails run all over the ranch, so they don't always go on the same trails, this is what makes it great to me. You don't feel like you're on just another head to tail pony ride. It felt personal, it was beautiful, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. All in all, 10 out of 10! I recommend anyone looking for a horseback riding ride in oahu to here, get the morning tour, and relax in north shore afterwards. (great food is at any food truck)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Awesome Horseback Riding

Reviewed by: Edwin Foliaco , 2017/08/20

We were in Hawaii for our honeymoon and wanted to do something adventurous so we decided to go to Gunstock Ranch for some horseback riding. The booking was really easy and I received a call an hour later with confirmation of my purchase. Shortly after I received an email with the confirmation details and directions to the ranch. The process went really smooth. The route out to the ranch along highway 83 was absolutely spectacular! It goes right along the ocean coast with gorgeous views and the splashing water literally hits your car as you drive by because your so close. The ranch was very nice, easy to get to with a super friendly staff. There are restrooms which were very clean for being outdoors along with sinks to wash your hands afterwards. Plenty of parking.
They take safety precautions when mounting and unmounting the horses. They recommend that you wear a helmet also but you can sign a waiver if you choose not to. The horses are really friendly and very well trained. The trails are absolutely beautiful as you leave the ranch, enter into the mountain side, through forests, up and down hills, and a view of the ocean off in the distance. You get to see the cattle, and the baby calves as you ride. Leanna was our guide and she was very knowledgeable about the ranch, the area, and the horses. I could see her love for them and she was very friendly and made sure everyone in our group was doing good and having a great time. She recommended many things to do on the island and was very helpful answering any questions we had along the way. We had a great time and recommend Gunstock Ranch to anyone who is looking for a great horseback riding experience!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you so much for your review!
We truly appreciate the great time you had here at our ranch, and we hope to see you soon!

Mahalo nui,
Emily H
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

The Best day of our honeymoon!

Reviewed by: Guilherme Marinho, 2016/05/04

First of all, I would like to thanks hawaiian activies for appear on my google search!! As me and my wife didn't know about this activie, we search on google and find the website. We were very excited from the begening because of what the people were saying about eh tour. And we were right to be. The Tour is more than amazing, from the day before, I received a call in my hotel room to confirm the pick up time and he was there in the next day about 11:30h. He was Jim Carrey (no, not the famous one haha, but was so brilliant as the other!). Our tour guide was more than fantastic, a lot of histories about legends and culture from Hawaii than you could imagine. We had lunch in the way to Hilo, in a such nice beautiful place close to the Manua Lea. After that we took our way to Hilo, but before we went to the beautiful rainbow fall, not so beautiful, but very nature, in the midle of a forest, we loved. Hilo was a nice surprised, we went to a Candie Shop from Big Islands, huge store and my wife fall in love, she loves chocolates haha. After that we went to the volcano site at day, before dinner, was such a nice surprise, first time close to a active volcano. And every time with the histories from our brilliant guide. The dinner was one of the best parts of the tour, the best soup ever, and a very friendly restaurant, we loved every moment. After sunset, we return to the volcano to see the magic at night and we were really surprised and satisfied. I want thank Jim and everyone envolved, was one of the best days of our lives, and the best day of our honeymoon!! Guilherme Marinho and Aline Amaral.


  • On the lava tub!


  • With Jim Carrey the best guide ever!!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so glad you chose to let us show you some of our favorite spots on the Big Island. Jim is truly a fantastic guide who genuinely loves sharing his songs and stories of Hawaii. We are so happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed all of the stops along the way. Big Island Candies is a chocolate lover's dream with all the amazing goodies and samples they offer! Dinner at the world famous Kilauea Lodge is always so scrumptious and a great way to warm back up on those cold Volcano nights, before heading back into Volcanoes National Park. The majestic lava lake inside of Halema'uma'u Crater leaves such a lasting impression on everyone who gets the opportunity to witness the night time glow. Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Aquaball Adventure & Zipline Tour at Lahaina Dragonfruit Farm

I had the best day here!

Reviewed by: E.W., 2015/08/28

I booked the 430 appointment so I had a relaxing day in the morning and plenty of time to get to the plantation without being rushed. I called them and they gave me great driving directions to my phone via text which was extremely helpful. So the drive up and the plantation was beautiful. We got to see another side of Maui then where were staying at. We were welcomed in when we came by the owner of the field. Then we went up to a little cottage and we got to taste many different kinds of delicious home grown dragon fruit and we were offered cold drinks by the staff. The staff there were so sweet and helpful and accommodating! They have bathrooms and showers to change! Jennifer took us thru the fields while our belongings were taken up in a golf cart. On our way up Jennifer explained to us how they grow the dragon fruit. It was fascinating to learn how much work is involved and to hear it from her who does the work first hand . It was really interesting and informative. In addition there are bananas and pineapple to see. The Aqua ball was so fun! I'm always looking for new and adventurous activities to try and this was something I've never done. It is a huge blown up ball with an opening for a person to jump inside! It cooled us down and we had so much fun! You get in one person a time and they fill the ball up with cold water. You are then securely closed and are pushed down the hill. I was with some friends so we had fun pushing each other down. The staff waits for you at the bottom, takes you out safely and you get a gold ride back up the hill to complete the Aqua ball activity again.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

The BEST tour in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Tony and Emily, 2017/12/01

Kailani tours on the big Island of Hawaii was wonderful! Our tour guide Kevin, was an excellent tour guide. He was very knowledgeable and understanding and he took us to so many beautiful destinations on the island. The timing of the tour was perfect we had a beautiful lunch with an amazing view and the weather was great then he took us to see a beautiful waterfall at rainbow Falls and I actually saw a rainbow! We saw so many wonderful things on this tour. They took us out to a wonderful delicious dinner and after dinner we got to see the amazing volcano the red glow was magnificent. One of my favorite parts of the tour was when our tour guide Kevin offered to take an amazing photo that he captured in the dark from my cell phone. He was able to capture us and the red glow from the volcano behind us. True photographer status and that was just a bonus!! From what I recognized throughout the day on the tour is that there were a lot of other tour buses out there as well but I noticed that those tour guides were rushing their customers in and out of the van not giving them very much time to actually explore and learn about Hawaii. This is one thing that made Kailani tours and our tour guide Kevin stand out to me! Our tour guides patience with the group was excellent and he allowed us to really explore the land. The whole day I learned so many amazing things about Hawaii. Kailani tours made our Hawaii trip perfect. And I will cherish these memories forever. I highly recommend taking a Kailani tours if you’re ever on the big Island. I give them 5++ stars!! Thank you Kailani Tours of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

A good time was had by all

Reviewed by: Smith party, 2014/06/19

This is our second visit in 2 years to Piiholo Ranch Zip. We really like the people and the lines at this zip. They are very safety conscious and the experience was great again. We really like that you don't have to hike alot carrying that trolley with you. The zip lines are close together; you finish one and the next one is close by. The view is spectacular of the Baldwin working ranch and the forest preserve and they tell you about the indigenous plants and trees and about the island in general along the way. Our guide; Lana was very knowledgeable. A noticeable thing; The lady guides seemed to be doing all the work. One of the male guides was providing humor but no significant help and the other male guide was barely noticeable on the tour. Comment: the ladies could use some help! One thing I did not like was that nothing was said about pictures after the tour finished (where to view and purchase). Since we were here last year we knew that they were at the General Store, but then they weren't and the store was closed. When we called back to Piholo Ranch we were told the pictures were available at the check-in point, but we had already left. We would have liked to have purchased pics and also additional t-shirts, but since the store was closed at 4:15pm and the pics were back at check-in point; they lost revenue in those respects. That was the most disappointing part as both my husband and daughter planned to buy new t-shirts (to promote your tour). All in all it was still a good experience again!! We have zipped Kapalua 3 times and now Piiholo Ranch twice and prefer this one.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Quiet ride through the backwoods

Reviewed by: cwy, 2017/11/27

I went on this activity with a friend and we took the 55 bus from Waikiki to North Shore. It was a long ride (about 2.5 hours) but the bus literally runs along the shoreline so it the scenery was very nice. You can tell the bus operator that you want to get off at Gunstock Ranch and they'll holler to let you know when they've reached the appropriate stop. A note for those who are not taking a car to the ranch: It's a bit of a walk from the road! It probably took about 5-7 minutes for us to arrive at the ranch.

Because the bus was a bit late, my friend and I were late to our 10:30AM check-in time. We called ahead to let them know and they were very accommodating. The activity was scheduled for 11AM and they told us to just let them know if we were going to arrive later than 11 since our ride might have to be shortened in that case. Luckily we arrived right at 11. It took just a couple minutes to get us checked in and after a short introduction on how to make the horse go and stop, etc, we were on the horse and ready to go.

Our guide was Hannah and she was very nice and attentive. She made some conversation along the way and was quick to help us out if the horse wasn't cooperating. The rest of our group took a horseback ride along the shoreline but my friend and I chose Gunstock Ranch because my friend is allergic to UV rays. The backwood trail of Gunstock Ranch was perfect for her. It was very quiet and tranquil and you could still see the ocean from afar. For our purposes this ride was absolutely perfect.

My only gripe is that two days later, my bum still hurts! Haha.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you both had a great time. Hopefully we will see you on your next trip here!
Mahalo nui loa,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua River Jungle Stream Kayak, Hike & Sacred Falls Swim Adventure

Adam was our guide

Reviewed by: Very Happy!, 2015/10/06

I normally do not write reviews, but this was needed. Please read this through to the end for the grand finale. The trip to the falls with Adam from Outfitters was about as good as it gets. He was very knowledgeable and engaging. My wife and I took a relaxed approach when preparing for this trip and wore flip-flops (not recommended due to the muddy trail you need to hike). When we arrived at the trail, Adam actually took the time to identify a local plant, strip the bark, and retrofitted our flip-flops into sandals. Someone in our group actually thought it was a set-up, but it wasn’t. Beyond just that, he kept the group together throughout while keeping the trip new and fresh with information. I would imagine being in his shoes, being a guide day-in and day-out; it would be natural tendency to become a little dull or burned out, but maybe not, and not Adam. To top it all off, on our way back kayaking along the river, he helped to salvage a sinking kayak and rescue two panicked people, who were with another kayak company. These two people were stranded and abandoned by their guide, with their Kayak filling with water and sinking. Adam and another local guide came to the rescue, initiated help from a couple other kayakers nearby (including us), and managed to drain the water filled kayak, pluck the two people from the river, and get them back safely to the dock, including the damaged kayak. At the same time he ran into the guide for those people and being very classy said to him “You got my back next time right?”. (I don’t think I would have been as nice.)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

What an amazing experience!!

Reviewed by: Karen from MO, 2017/09/24

This trip was the highlight of our trip to the Big Island. We had a great time and enjoyed the experience immensely. I was a little disappointed when they called me that morning and told us the road to the summit was closed and we might not be able to go to the top. Since we were on a limited time schedule we decided to go anyway. Nate was our guide and picked us up in Kona. On the ride to Mauna Kea, he explained about the different kinds of lava flows and some of the myths about Pele. When we got to the sheep station, Nate set up our meal for us and explained about life as a sheep rancher on the island. He promised that if we didn't get to go to the summit, he would make sure we at least saw the sunset from another spot. Supper was very good and it was fun getting to know the other tourists with us. After we ate, we got the good news that the road had opened and we were able to go to the top. What a gorgeous sight!! We saw the sun set on one side and turned around and saw the full moon coming up on the other. After watching the sunset, we went back down to visitor center and did some stargazing. Nate was very knowledgeable about the constellations. We were able to see the rings around Saturn and other constellations that night. The hot chocolate and warm brownies tasted good after being up on the summit where it was pretty chilly! I would definitely recommend this adventure for anyone visiting the Big Island, If we are fortunate enough to return, we will be doing this again!! Thank you Nate for a great evening.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]