(All Reviews) Outdoor Adventures, Hawaii tours & activities, fun things to do in Hawaii | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

All Reviews for Outdoor Adventures in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.63 4.63 / 5

Reviews

4541 reviews

North Shore Beach Horseback Ride - Daytime & Sunset Tours [Open Now]

Excellent! Highly recommend!

Reviewed by: Tina M, 2021/07/19

Great family fun! My whole family really enjoyed the experience! We definitely recommend and we would consider going again. Friendly, professional staff. Pedro and Felipe were excellent and truly gave us a memorable experience! We felt safe during these times of covid and the horses were well mannered so the novice riders in our group felt safe as well.

  • Montoya Family

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui ATV Ride Tour - Mountain & Oceanfront Trail [Open Now]

Amazing fun!

Reviewed by: Michael U, 2021/07/18

We had a great time. The weather was perfect. The guides were extremely friendly and accommodating. The views were spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

ATV guide was awful

Reviewed by: CR510, 2021/07/18

My ATV guide was horrible really rude and really unprofessional. He said I was drifting and speeding when I was the atv right behind him therefore I don’t see how I can be drifting or speeding if I couldn’t even go more then 15 miles an hour. He then continued to lecture me like I was a little kid over the video that I watched when I answered all the questions right he was shocked. Singled me out for some reason and I don’t appreciate that at all specially when the tour was about 150 per person I wouldn’t recommend this tour to anybody in the future

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kaimana Tours Shuttles Diamond Head Hiking Tour [Open Now]

Shop around for other companies

Reviewed by: Shauna, 2021/07/17

After my group was picked up another couple was picked up. I was disappointed because they were picked up across the street from the condo we were staying at. My group had to take a 15 minute walk to The pick up location that they told us. We could have slept in a little bit later and had breakfast. The ride to Diamondhead was simple and quick. Once you get to the location they do you have food trucks if you want to grab food or something to drink. As we were entering we were ask for tickets. Our driver did not give us the tickets to enter the hiking trail. We called the company no one answered and we did not have the phone number to the shuttle driver. The staff at Diamondhead did not want to let us in. however after taking sympathy on as they were nice and let us in. They could have said no and we would have to have sat in front of Diamondhead for 2 1/2. If you book with this company make sure your driver gives you your blue ticket for entry into the park.

After the hike it was a madhouse because the afternoon tours were coming in and the morning tours were going out. I received a phone call and it was a new shuttle driver who was supposed to take us to our original shuttle driver because he was caught in some type of traffic. It was a tight squeeze because this new shadow was much smaller than the ones that we came in on. The drive was really nice he gave us kind of like a sightseeing tour as we were going to the drop off location. We all get out and we’re kind of just standing around waiting. He tells us that the original shuttle driver is coming (he never showed). For people decided not to continue on with the second hike. So the shuttle driver said that instead of us waiting he could take us now because it was a smaller group. This isn’t their first time doing these tour so I would have expected things to run a lot smoother. I do recommend shopping around for different tour companies.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Waimea Canyon Sightseeing Tour & Kokee Hike Adventure [Open Now]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sarah , 2021/07/16

This was a great tour to get to know the history of Kauai and see beautiful views. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and fun.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

Absolutely book!

Reviewed by: Cecilla (Cece) , 2021/07/15

First off, I would like to say thank you too Matt for being our tour guy! You’ve made it so much fun for me and my partner. We enjoyed every hurtles along the way lol. Every destination point we stopped at had a story behind the mountains and island. I thought Matt did an excellent job connecting the mountains history to us. The view was spectacular and it definitely took my breath away. I would highly suggest everyone to bring dusk shields or neckgaters to protect yourself from dusk. At one point my partner and I were stuck going up on the incline due to the excessiveness of wet mud from the rain. Lol. We felt so bad for the people behind us (mud bath accident). However, it was a fun experience. I highly recommend booking the 2 hour ATV ride! You will not regret it (: thank you Matt for a wonderful ride. -Cece

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides [Open Now]

Fun tour!

Reviewed by: Mariam, 2021/07/14

We did the 9am 1-hour horseback. This tour is a trail ride meant for beginners - which was perfect for me! Don't forget to wear long pants and wear closed-toed shoes. There isn't much shade on the trail so wear plenty of sunscreen and wear sunglasses.

If you do the ATV at Gunstock Ranch too, try to do the tours back-to-back. This tour booked out a few weeks in advance and I wasn't able to do the tours back-to-back. We did the 9am horseback, had some time to grab lunch in Haleiwa, then came back to the ranch for our 2pm ATV tour. If you do this, make sure you leave with plenty of time to allow for traffic. Traffic on the North Shore can be unpredictable and you can be caught in bumper to bumper traffic which might make you late for the tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Private ATV Tour - Daytime Picnic & Sunset Campfire [Open Now]

Fun ATV tour!

Reviewed by: Mariam, 2021/07/14

We did the 2pm ATV tour. The ATV is covered so you'll be in the shade for the drive. Gorgeous ranch! Just a reminder, this is a guided ATV tour. As in, the GUIDE will drive the ATV (not you!).

  • Included lunch!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore's Best Zipline Tour by CLIMB Works - Oahu’s Longest Zip [Open Now]

So worth it!!!

Reviewed by: Cecilla (Cece) , 2021/07/14

Aloha!! (: I would like to first thanks Jamie, Will, and Ephriam (sorry if I spelled your name wrong) for making my boyfriend and I feel safe and secured. You guys rock! Especially Jamie though, my girl made me felt like I was on top of the moon and ensure I had the best first flight. Haha. This experience has been by far the best and trillest adventure I’ve done. It was a first timer for my boyfriend and I & we absolutely loved it. We had to cross 8 zip line and take on a few upper body strength challenges along the way. Totally worth the soreness the next day lol. The view was stunning!!! We recommend this to everyone 100%. We will miss you Climb works. Mahalo, Cece

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure [Open Now]

Sunset and Stargazing Tour

Reviewed by: ElizD318, 2021/07/13

My husband and I, our 4 adult children, and their significant others had a wonderful time on the Mauna Kea Stargazing and Summit Tour. Everyone even liked the dinner.
Maka was a great guide. He picked us up promptly and was very friendly on the ride to Mauna Kea. We learned a lot about the surrounding area and volcanoes.
The best part was the sunset. It was like being on another planet and the colors were vivid and amazing.
Unfortunately, the amazing sunset was due to the clouds and it made for poor stargazing.
We were able to see the craters of the moon through the telescope and hear about the local names for some of the stars, in spite of the clouds. And I was glad we did not have to drive that windy road ourselves.
I would suggest checking on the cycle of the moon before booking and do not go during a full moon.
We still had a wonderful time and will never forget the Sunset on the summit.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kaimana Tours Shuttles Diamond Head Hiking Tour [Open Now]

Diamond Head Hike

Reviewed by: Lorena R, 2021/07/13

Great tour, our guide was friendly and professional.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

Worth the dust!

Reviewed by: Mae Sanchez, 2021/07/13

This was a pretty cool experience! It was my husband and I’s first time in Hawaii and this was a recommended activity to do. We really enjoyed the tour and our guide Liz was really informative and funny :) Kualoa Ranch is definitely a go-to as it just gives a closer view and experience to some of the mountains in Oahu plus all of the movie spots filmed in the area (Jurassic World as one of the movies with the most sites). I would advise for anyone going to just be prepared for the dust, cover your face with a bandana or something similar, dust really gets EVERYWHERE so wear something comfy and easy to just pat off the dust.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai ATV Off-Road Tour & Waterfall Swim - Longest Trail in Kauai [Open Now]

Family excursion

Reviewed by: Adivel68, 2021/07/12

We had an amazing time! This is a must-do activity if you like off-reading types of adventures. The tour guides and staff were fantastic and super-nice! There was awesome scenery and sections of the trail that got your blood pumping and adrenaline rushing. The waterfall is truly beautiful!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour Experience and Free Photos [Open Now]

Amazing night!

Reviewed by: Monica, 2021/07/12

This was by far one of the best things I’ve ever done. I would do it again in a heartbeat if I was given the chance.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Private ATV Tour - Daytime Picnic & Sunset Campfire [Open Now]

Such a fun day!

Reviewed by: Leslie Walsh, 2021/07/11

We loved Ryan, our guide! She was funny, knowledgeable and had the best spirit! We were covered in dirt from head to toe but loved every minute of it! The lunch was great and the view was beautiful. Loved the ranch!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai ATV Off-Road Tour & Waterfall Swim - Longest Trail in Kauai [Open Now]

Awesome ATV adventure!!

Reviewed by: Jeff Hunter, 2021/07/11

The Kauai ATV Tour was one of the best adventures on any trip that we have ever done. The ATVs were awesome and ran excellent, the staff was friendly and fun. The trip itself was incredible and a great length tour. The waterfall spot was very nice. We would go here again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

Fun tour

Reviewed by: Ck , 2021/07/11

The ATV tour was a fun afternoon! Tour guide was very friendly and had lots of stories and fun facts to share. If your family is looking for an adventure, book this tour. We got very dirty but had a great time !

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AATV - All About The View Big Island ATV Ride on Hamakua Coast [Open Now]

loved it!

Reviewed by: Eva and Johnnie , 2021/07/10

I loved this excursion and can’t say enough good things about it. The views were fantastic. It was really nice to see a different side of the island and a working ranch. The family that runs it are some of the nicest ppl. will do again for sure

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

Fun and relaxing all at once. Great way to enjoy one of the most beautiful sections of the island of Oahu!

Reviewed by: April P., 2021/07/10

This was a nice calm and fun group activity to do as a family. This is a great way to relax and enjoy the outdoors in any weather. Great for kids and even your older family members. My kids in their early twenties had a blast and my son (22) said this was his favorite adventure of the trip! Our tour guide was absolutely fun and engaging. What a great day.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AATV - All About The View Big Island ATV Ride on Hamakua Coast [Open Now]

Absolutely awesome!

Reviewed by: JDh, 2021/07/10

The 750 acre farm is beautiful, with spectacular ocean views. However the real highlight are the hosts. They are very knowledgeable about the land and Hawaii culture and history so you learn while enjoying the scenery. Cherry on top is supporting a local business that is truly part of the island. My entire family from ages 11-77 loved it. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

Awesome Time!!!!

Reviewed by: Brian Caloiaro, 2021/07/09

This was an awesome tour! Everything was perfect! Highly recommend to all adventurous people! Great sights and views

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure [Open Now]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Shalini Banerjee, 2021/07/08

This was the perfect ending to our Hawaii trip. It was awesome and the trip exceeded all our expectations. New even got to see Saturn and the entire thing was on time and perfect.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim [Open Now]

Kayaking Only

Reviewed by: Gina M., 2021/07/07

We went on a 2 hour kayaking trip. Unfortunately, the hike/sacred falls was cancelled due to inclement weather. It was a bummer, but we know it was for our safety. However, it did hurt a little when we were seeing others continuing to go past the fork in the river. We did get a partial refund. After concluding our kayaking trip, our tour guide Tyler did point us to the Nounou trail to hike which was great. So we were able to fill more of our day on this hike with spectacular views!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Gina,

Safety is no accident!

When in doubt we don't go out or up the North Fork that constricts and is more prone to flooding as consequence.

Having pioneered the tour we have safely been guiding folks to the falls for the last 37 years while other companies have lost clients in flood like conditions.

We love repeat business and believe "safety is no accident".

Glad to hear that Tyler was able to take curve and make it a plus.

Stay well and safe. Thanks for sharing.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Waterfall Swim & Hike Eco Adventure Tour [Open Now]

Beautiful hike and waterfall

Reviewed by: Cmm, 2021/07/07

It was a great adventure! We enjoyed it the hike and seeing the two waterfalls! Definitely must due when you come to Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Oceanfront Horseback Beach Trail Ride at Turtle Bay Resort [Open Now]

Great View and Horses

Reviewed by: MystiMama , 2021/07/07

It’s great view and horses. First time for us and we truly enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Zipline Tours - Kolekole Falls Big island Zipline Adventure [Open Now]

Great value!

Reviewed by: Abby, 2021/07/06

This is a fantastic zipline tour that is very well priced (with all the research I did on other tours, this offered the most zip lining for a better price!). The experience itself is so fun and the guides teach you about local plants and culture along the way, also with a sense of humor! Very fun trip and so cool to zipline over a waterfall.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour with Kauai Backcountry [Open Now]

This excursion is a MUST!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2021/07/05

This tubing trip was a great way to have fun and experience the beauty of Kauai! The tour guides were all amazing and taught us a lot about the area. They also recommended other things to do on Kauai and places to eat.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour Adventure [Open Now]

Super fun!

Reviewed by: Jonny, 2021/07/05

Everything about our tour was amazing! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and polite, the park was beautiful, and we never felt bored. It did rain a little but that wasn’t a problem. I do recommend bringing glasses and an extra mask or face covering because the UTVs do kick up a lot of dust. 5/5 stars would recommend. Much wow!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AATV - All About The View Big Island ATV Ride on Hamakua Coast [Open Now]

Such a fun day!

Reviewed by: Kelly B. , 2021/07/05

We had a blast on the ATV tour! The tour started at the Waipi'o on Horseback farm. We started off going uphill, past a fish pond and up to a beautiful spot overlooking the water. My son loved passing all of the horses and cows on the property. Then we headed down to the cliffs by the water which was beautiful! The guides were so nice and told us some interesting things about life on Hawaii. I highly recommend this tour! Quick tip- You will get quite dirty by the end, so bring some extra clothes if you have other plans after.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii ATV Off-Road Ride at Coral Crater Adventure Park [Open Now]

Loved being able to drive

Reviewed by: Amanda , 2021/07/05

Team was great and it was a super fun experience, just felt a little redundant going around the track multiple times still would recommend this activity!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]