This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Outdoor Adventures in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

2457 reviews

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Half Day Adventure.

Reviewed by: Yvette, 2012/10/14

I booked myself the half-day adventure with travel arrangements.

FUN! FUN! FUN!

Everything was very easy and very organized. They picked me up at the Sheraton Bus Depot in Waikiki. All the staff from beginning to end ( including the bus drivers ) was super nice and helpful.

I chose the ATV ride and had a blast. They give you a little trial run in order to get used to the ATV and then we were off! The guide was great. He kept a eye on me and then we stopped and I got to take some pictures. He chatted with me for a little while. I could have rod around for like 3 or 4 hours. My only complaint was it was too short!!!!

I also did the Jungle Excursion,

Lots of fun....but you will get the crap bounced out of you! I was smart and asked to sit in the front with the guide. If you sit in the back.................hang on for your life!!!

It was fun and the guide gave us guavas to try and talked to us. We rode through creeks and lots of bumps. It was a lot of fun.......but hang on !!!

There was a buffet dinner which I had low expectations of. I was surprised. It was actually good. Not high end dining, but solid fair. I was amazed. Also there was a LOT of food. Really yummy after a long day pf running around the ranch.

Dinner was followed by a show which was a lot of fun and very well done.

I tipped my ATV guide and the jungle guide. They were both very happy about it. I wish I could have tipped all the staff, because everyone was amazing.
Worth every dime and the highlight of my trip!!!!!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha, Yvette

Thank you very much for visiting Kualoa Ranch. We are so glad to hear that you had good experience with us. Guest's smile is the best encouragement to us.

I will pass your comment to our staff, I am pretty sure all of them (including me)love to hear it!

Hope to have you again here, in beautiful Kualoa Ranch.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Aquaball Adventure & Zipline Tour at Lahaina Dragonfruit Farm

This was one of my highlights of my trip!

Reviewed by: Elisheva, 2015/08/28

The staff works quick and efficient. They provide water up there at the activity as well which was amazing! Ice cold water bottles in coolers. Super convenient and necessary on a hot summer day in Ausguts. The staff added to our enjoyment and fun as well! They took as many pictures as we wanted and answered all of our questions. They shared their experience living in Maui Hawaii and their experience of working on the field and their travels, so super friendly. Zip lining was amazing. We did it as the sun set. So we got to dry up from the Aqua ball and Zipline across the field. They told us how to turn over and let loose. It was different then all my experiences where I just went across the rope holding on traditionally. The staff moved fast and I felt safe and secure with them as I landed on the landing board. If you ever went zip lining before, you want someone strong and secure to catch you. We got to do this Zipline 4 times each! I had my friend stand in the field and get amazing pics from so close. After we were done we changed and saw the sun setting on their field. We wanted to see the sun from a higher vantage point so we asked them where to go. They told us to just drive up the road.

We had just enough time to drive right up the road after and continued watching one of the most beautiful and serene sunset.

All in all this was one of my highlights of my trip! I will never forget it!! I would definitely recommend this to all my friends or anyone reading this review.
Thanks again guys!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hike Maui Rainforest Trails & Waterfall Swim - Best Hana Hiking Tours

Super hiking into rainforest

Reviewed by: Venky, 2017/08/01

This is my first visit to a rainforest and I was amazed.

We were picked up at designated location at 930 AM. We then changed to rubber shoes at the office and proceeded to hike. We were given breakfast and started the trail. Looks like it rained heavily the previous day and so we had to cross few streams on our way. The current in the streams were below our knee level but very strong. It was scary. The guide was very friendly, funny, knowledgeable and professional. So we did not have any difficulty. But it was awesome to see the falls full of water and strong currents in the streams. While we were told about occurrence of flash floods, I wonder what life would be in these situations. It was really wild out there, but you are with a professional.

I particularly enjoyed sliding in the water through a tunnel (the guide was there at the other end of the tunnel to stop me from being carried away by the current). My son (29) jumped 20 feet into one of the water fall, the guide showed us twice how to do that. We visited several water falls and I managed to stand under one of those 10 feet tall falls. The guide showed us several varieties of flowers, plants and fruits. We tasted some fruits, and had a good lunch break in one of the falls. The hike was not very difficult but also was not very easy. We returned to our car by 2 30 PM.

Many of the falls are not accessible to public and visiting with a professional is the best way to do it. I strongly recommend the hike to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Awesome Hike!!!

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/19

We met Keola Nui at the North Shore Market Place, he introduced himself and let us know we would be the only ones on the hike that day. We could not have asked for a better guide. Nui was very knowledgeable about the land we were going to be hiking on, letting us know about the different farms along the road to the trail. He explained the history behind the current lay out of the farms. When we arrived at the trailhead, there was a light mist falling as Nui offered a prayer to the land in the native tongue to reassure it that we were there on peaceful terms. The trail itself was unbelievably beautiful. There were moments where we were complete enclosed in the jungle, then, it would open up to expose the sky and the mountain stream below. Again, Nui was very knowledgable about the flora and fauna, explaining the difference between the native and invasive plants. We encountered a few berries along the trail that we were able to sample, they tasted very much like raspberries. We hiked in for a couple of hours and ended up having lunch on some rocks in the middle of the stream, very cool!!! We then headed back, though there was much more to be seen, we were on a schedule and did not have the time to hike any further. When we had packed away our gear, Nui drove us the the Boy Scout Camp nearby to an absolutely incredible overlook...we did not want to leave!!! This is definitely a hike everyone should try, you'll learn so much about Oahu. Thank you Nui for a truly outstanding experience!!!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so happy you all enjoyed your hike!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Tour - Stargazing and Sunrise with Nature Guide

First time close to the doors to haven:)

Reviewed by: Darko, 2018/09/12

I recommend this Sunrise tours especially to people who never conquers mountain peak higher then 3000 m.
Of course, I recommend it to everyone else, but for those who are for the first time on a higher elevation this is simply the must.

The flow of emotions I felt when I reached the peak was so overwhelming that I couldn't stop the tears.
It's almost impossible to express the feeling of inner fulfillment when you stand on the top of a high mountain watching the sunrise!

The Veltra crew did outstanding planning by set of small stops so our body can adapt to over 4000 m attitude.
First we stopped at 2000 to adapt to coldness of night and change in altitude. (They distributed parkas to all of us at that time)
Then we stopped at around 3000 m for unforgettable stargazing experience.
I saw shapes of Milky way, before but this was on completely different level.
I think the altitude of 3000 m makes substantial difference. There you don't have any light pollution but also the air is already thin enough to give you unforgettable experience of pure connection with the universe.

Then finally, just when you think that it can not get better then this, on the brink of dawn, we reached the summit and saw and felt unforgettable sunrise that will, at least in my case, stay forever in my memories.

I would like to use this opportunity to thank Veltra team and especially to our guide Stefan for allowing me to experience this unforgettable sunrise.

Sincerely.


  • Sunrise


  • Just we and the stars


  • Observatory

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you very much for joining our sunrise tour and giving us your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the sunrise and stargazing.
Because we are a Japanese tour company, it was our challenge to combine customers who speak different language.
We are very careful about the altitude accommodation of our customers.
Sunrise from the summit and the sky filled with the stars at Mauna Kea is outstanding.
I will tell Stefan about your review and he would be happy.
Thank you for choosing our tour.
We're looking forward to seeing you on Big Island again!

NatureSchool
Sumire

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

A great day kayaking and hiking to Secret Falls!

Reviewed by: lorely81, 2015/11/17

My husband and I had a great time on this excursion. We were the only ones signed up for our particular day and time so it ended up being a private tour which was a bonus. We had the morning tour (check-in at 7:45 am) which seemed a lot less crowded than the later tours. There were a lot more people hiking in on our way out. The activity was very scenic and not strenuous at all for us moderately in-shape people (my husband more so that me!). Jamie was an excellent guide. He was knowledgeable in the flora, fauna, and area, but also personable so we weren't talking shop the whole time. Lunch was also more than adequate: fresh pineapple, deli sandwich on a good roll with cheese, lettuce, tomato, mayo, mustard, a bag of chips, 2 Kauai cookies, a drink, and 2 bottles of water. Since we took a guided tour this time, the next time around we'd probably opt for renting kayaks on our own and making our way to Secret Falls without a guide. We definitely want to do this again with our children when they are a little older (at least 5). However, for first timers we highly recommend Kayak Kauai with Jamie as your guide! P.S. I would not recommend this tour for children younger than 5. It is very rocky, muddy and wet with lots of tree roots on the trail and by the waterfall. We saw another tour group with young children and several of them were crying because they fell on their way down to the waterfall. One small boy fell and hit his head on a rock, poor thing.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

This Was The Highlight of Our Hawaii Trip

Reviewed by: Sop, 2018/01/09

Our guides were Arthur and Justin. Both are funny and knowledgeable. This tour surprised us in so many ways. It is crazy that you can go from beach weather to freezing winds in a matter of hours. The parkas definitely help. I would recommend some layers of clothes, jeans, and good shoes. Bring a scarf or beanie. For those who live in the country, you do not realize how fortunate you are to not have light pollution. The stars that we saw were amazing. Your eyes adjust and focus so well on all the bright twinkles because there's no surrounding light. It's hard to explain but you feel like a child who's just seen something new and cool. Light pollution is real. On a good night in the city, I can probably see maybe 10 stars. Here, the volume is overwhelming. The location of Hawaii lets you see a lot more. Not only do you see the stars, but you can see distant galaxies as well our own milky way. Primitive, primal, natural are some other ways to describe experience.

The sunset on Mauna Kea was also a fantastic experience. Arthur and Justin are safe and excellent drivers. You see rental cars driving up the volcano on unpaved roads when they shouldn't. It's better to have the experts take you to the summit.

We attended this tour January 3, 2018. This gave us the rare opportunity to see the wolf moon and all the stars. I never knew how much light the moon provided at night.

I would do this again and recommend it to anybody who visits the Big Island.


  • moon through the telescope


  • sunset

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Don't Drive Yourself- Take the Tour!

Reviewed by: Len from ABQ,NM, 2017/11/21

After a self-guided drive and tour of the Haleakala volcano in Maui, I decided to let a professional do the drive from Kona to the Kilauea National Park. After reading many of the TRIP ADVISOR reviews (97% excellent), I felt confident this was the tour for my wife and I. It did not disappoint! I hate bus tours because it seems you spend half your day loading and unloading the 50+ passenger buses. Our 11 person tour allowed us to spend much longer times at each wonderful stop with no pressure. Our guide, Kevin Hasting, just said “Come back when you have seen enough.” Fantastic! In addition, Kevin had an encyclopedic knowledge of Hawaiian culture, lifestyle, history, geography, ecology, you name it. He was also an excellent storyteller between stops which made this tour a unique and personal adventure. Lastly, Kevin was so proficient at navigating the Eastern Coast, Hilo area and park that he was somehow able to adjust his routes and timing to avoid the many rain squalls and downpours common to this area. I cannot say enough about how great this tour is. Don’t drive yourself, you will miss so much. One piece of advice. Take some warm clothes with you as it gets cold at night at the high elevations. I carried a light windbreaker jacket, a hoodie, a knit cap and a pair of pullover slacks to put on at night. I ended up giving my hoodie to a fellow passenger to wear who was shivering. The tour does provide emergency blankets and jackets.


  • Kevin took this photo using our iPhone and a flashlight. He is a wizard!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: Tami, 2016/05/28

We were there last week. I want to start by thanking the bus driver who picked us up. We were standing in the wrong place to be picked up. It was our pick-up time and nobody was there. One of the workers from our hotel came out and happen to hear me say something about the bus being late. He looked at our reservation and said we were supposed to be down the strret. My husband and I took off running hoping they wouldn't leave us. Just at that time the driver called me and asked where we were at. I said running down the street. It was awesome they waited for us.
OK, back to the ranch.
We did the zip lining and the jungle tour. The zip line was absolutely amazing (you need to book this a head of time as they fill fast). Our guides were very pleasant and knowledgeable. They were alot of fun too. I was very impressed that the one that gets us ready to zip, could remember all of our names (there were 10 of us and we did not always go in the same order). It's better than me, I can't even remember her name, sorry. I will never forget the experience and would so do it again.
Next we went on the jungle tour. Though a bit bumpy (as expected going up a mountain) it was amazing. Our driver was also pleasant and knowledgeable. The views were unforgettable. One driver even offered to take a picture of my husband and I.
Those were the only two activities we had time for but would love to go back and try more.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Very few places could match this experience

Reviewed by: Darra, 2018/07/29

Very few places could match this experience. The location; the slow climb up the giant sloping mountain. We went through rain, sun, even through a cloud; through the lava landscape, ranch lands and very bumpy rocky last stretch of road to reach the top! And wow it was a view from the top.
Be warned; it is very very cold; not what you expect from your Hawaiian break! You get nice warm coats from the tour group though (and later a little hot cocoa and brownie to keep you going!)
As the sun sets; you can see the mountains shadow on the other side; a glimpse of Maui and the glint of the sun off the telescopes preparing for their nights work. You can see the odd bit of movement as they open up. As soon as the suns down; its all go though. We have to leave the area quickly as the lights from the cars interfere with the telescopes (so no, there is no looking around inside them; if that is what you're hoping for in this trip!).
We move down slope a little to a good spot to see the huge expanse of clear, cloudless sky and the abundance of stars.
It is slightly interrupted with the brightness of the moon (so depending how long your stay is in Hawaii, plan for a darker night, unless you love the moon!); but not enough to stop us seeing nebula, planets and stars - its a really interesting spot to see both the northern and southern skies.
We did also spot a bit of the glow from the erupting volcano

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Awesome day at Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Michele Colletti, 2017/09/04

My husband and I and our 2 kids age 10 and 12 set out from k'Olina area to the ranch. I have to say the drive was amazing. Great views, beach pull off spots, food trucks and we also stopped off at a coffee farm on the way. Once at Gunstock Ranch the staff was super friendly and accommodating. The horses were incredibly trained and easy to ride. The horses were very very very calm and I would trust my 91 year old grandmother could ride them and be just fine. The place was very clean and the horses very well kept after. Hardly any bugs at all, although we did put bug spray on us before hand just incase. I saw beautiful butterflies during the ride on beautiful lush natural trees and bushes. Seriously the views looked like movie sets and later we learned filming was done there in the past. The ride was easy, smooth and very very enjoyable. The scenery was incredible. We rode so close to cows big ones and baby ones. They were very calm and I was happy to know the cattle ranch does not brand their cattle but tag them with numbers. The people at this ranch really do take care of the horses. It's extremely apparent the amazing caring hands these horses are in. You do not need any prior experience at all to do this excursion and I highly highly recommend them over any other ranch in the area. We have done family trail rides before but this one was the best! When we return to Oahu we will be back.

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for your review Michele! We take great pride in the care of our horses and our ranch, we are so glad you had an amazing time! We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poipu Valley Skyline Ziplining Eco Adventure

Skyline Eco-Adventure

Reviewed by: Mark & Chris from LA, 2014/11/19

The activity that i was looking forward to the most, on my most recent vacation to Kauai with my girlfriend and two friends of ours last week, was this zipline adventure and it was so much better on many levels than i had imagined. it was my first, my girlfriend's second. this is a top notch crew that operates this gig. they called the day before our outting to remind and verify, checking in was quick and effortless, the entire staff is way cool and the ride from their storefront to the zipline site was a short and scenic 15 minuite ride. once you reach the initial starting point, your two guides (ask for Axel, he's a character) suit you up in your gear and it's a short hike (which is actually the longest of the day) to the first launching platform where they give you a brief zipline 001 tutorial. one guide takes off to the end of the line awaiting your arrival and the other assists and instructs you on how to proceed, and then one at a time you're zippin' down the line high above valleys of lush greenery with unimaginable views from your mountain top to the deep blue ocean miles away. each line is different than the others in height, speed, take off and landing, view, tension, etc. they take lots of pictures that you can view and opt to purchase after. it's worth every penny and if i would have had more time i would have done it twice. so, check it out, you'll dig it too..............

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

THE most AMAZING tour I've been on!!!

Reviewed by: Caren and Jan, 2017/12/09

We did the night time volcano viewing tour with stargazing through Kailani Tours Hawaii. It also included lunch, Rainbow Falls, Lava Tube and Jaggar Museum. This was one the BEST tours that I have EVER been on! It was our driver, Kawika's, first day and Kevin was his "co-pilot". We were VERY fortunate to have the knowledge of 2 excellent tour guides that could bounce things off of each other. They were both VERY personable and friendly. They took special care to make sure we were well fed, had water, jackets, flashlights, hot chocolate and cookies! The lunch was excellent and the dinner was superb! The service at the restaurant was just as good as the service from Kawika and Kevin! We ended up having some extra time due to all the pick up's being in the same vicinity, so we were able to see a couple of little extra things in the Volcano National Park - not normal - so it made the day extra special. Kawika was extremely knowledgeable about the volcanic system and was great at explaining it to us. The volcano viewing at night was the most spectacular thing I have ever had the privilege of seeing on this Earth! The weather was perfect and the view was INCREDIBLE! Kawika and Kevin set up a great telescope to view the stars through and they were also able to take photos of the volcano through it with our phones! I HIGHLY recommend this tour and the tour company! You won't regret it!


  • Volcano's National Park


  • Volcano's National Park


  • Devil's Throat


  • Night Time viewing of volcano


  • Night Time viewing of volcano


  • Night Time viewing of volcano

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Awesome volcano tour on the Big Island!

Reviewed by: jdgriffin23, 2016/03/22

This is one of the best tours to take while on the Big Island of Hawaii. We were picked up from our hotel in Waikoloa Beach in a very nice and comfortable van. The first stop was at Mauna Kea park where we had a delicious lunch. Our tour guide (Mike - awesome!) even brought placemats for us to use at the picnic tables! We then went along saddle road while he told us very interesting information about Hawaii and the volcanoes. We saw a beautiful waterfall at Rainbow Falls. We stopped at several locations to see the various types of lava produced by the volcanoes. We went to the Jagger museum and saw Kilauea crater, the Thurston lava tube, steam vents, and enjoyed samples of Kona coffee, cookies, and candy at the Big Island Candy factory. Delicious! We had a wonderful dinner at Kilauea Lodge and then went back to the Jagger museum to see the lava flow at night. It was amazing! Mike had binocular, warm coats, hot chocolate, tea, coffee and snack for us. After that, we went stargazing. It was cold at night, so having the coats was great. We had plenty of bathroom breaks throughout the tour and the 12 hours went by quickly. We also watched some incredible videos about the volcanoes on the trip on a large screen in the van. I would definitely recommend this tour! The tour guide was great, food was great, and we met some new friends along the way!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so happy to hear that you had such an awesome day with Mike. It's incredible how fast 12 hours can go by when you're having so much fun! Most people don't realize how cold parts of our island can get, especially in the evening, and we are glad that our parkas helped keep you comfortable while watching the glow from the lava lake in Halema'uma'u and also while stargazing. Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Gunstock Ranch Horseback Riding Tour 10/17

Reviewed by: Jason Layton, 2017/10/25

My wife and I were in Hawaii for our honeymoon and wanted to venture out to the north shore of Oahu to get a taste of the landscape out there. I booked a horseback riding tour for our first full day in Oahu, and even though we had to get up early to make it out in time for our ride, it was SO worth it. Everything with the ride and staff at Gunstock ranch was perfect. Finding the ranch was easy and the signs leading to where we needed to go were so clear. We showed up a little early and our tour guide was still grooming and prepping the horses for the day, but she let us wander around and meet some of the horses. She was so kind and informative and did an amazing job leading our ride. She was patient and very clear in her instructions, and even though our ride was only 1 hour I feel like she went above and beyond to pack as much as she could into our hour ride! The service from Gunstock ranch was TOP NOTCH and I would HIGHLY recommend anybody to check it out. Even if the price seems a little high, it was so worth it and I can guarantee you will not regret making the trek out and taking a trail ride with Gunstock ranch. The location / area is so beautiful, we even saw a full and amazing rainbow the morning of our ride. If I could give this company / this ride 6 stars I would! I will definitely come back again next time we are on the island!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha!
Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope you love our ranch as much as we do, and we hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Educational, Cultural, & Beautiful!!!

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2015/03/26

I have hiked many of the popular attractions here on Oahu like Diamond Head, Manoa Falls, and Koko Head, but they have nothing as elegant as what the Huakai Iki hike has. We booked our tour, and was informed that the check in location is at the Aloha General Store. We were greeted by our wonderful guides Keola and Holly. We started venturing off on the private roads owned by Kamehameha Schools, Bishop Estate. We had excellent views of the agricultural land, the coastline of Haleiwa, the mountain ranges of both the Ko'olaus and Waianae! We had learned so much Hawaiian historical facts, such as endemic versus native species of plants and animals, special trees and plants such as the Koa tree, ohia lehua, and the strawberry guava tree. Keola and Holly are excellent guides! The one thing that I highly valued is that you can ask them anything! They will tell you if they know about it, and if they don't they will either call you or email me and give you the answer! Many other tour guides on other hikes, tend to come up with excuses, or falsified facts. But not Keola or Holly. We had great views of the swimming pools (water ponds), nice high clouds, and wonderful native plants. This is the best hiking tour that I have been on by far. I will definitely go out with north Shore Eco Tours again, for their Huakai Nui Hike! Mahalo Keola & Holly!


  • Beautiful Day in Hawaii-ne!


  • Our guide Keola


  • The Ohia Lehua


  • One of the landing zones for our military helicopters for training purposes.


  • High up in the mountain range.


  • Did you know Oahu has it's own Grand Canyon too?


  • The big lunch, after our hike was through!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.


  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Horseback riding & Zipline adventure in September 2017

Reviewed by: Lee, 2017/10/21

Kuala Ranch is one organized, tightly runned place, especially with the amount of different tour groups going for all the different adventures. I opted for horseback riding & ziplining. Horseback riding was just good. Staff wasn't very personable. The basic instructions given by instructor felt very automated & quick. But since I'm a beginner, I was very happy to have a gentle horse like Mercury. However, my zipline adventure afterwards was fantastic! First time! Jerry, my driver to & from the zipline base, was so down-to-earth & pointed out things of interest along the ride. I was very lucky to have 3 super cool zipline instructors. Angie, Jessica & Connor were friendly, caring, knowledgeable & experienced! My group was a Japanese speaking family. So I was instructed separately. Connor speaks fluent Japanese! The ziplining was quite a thrill but felt very safe! I got stuck towards the end of the longest zipline; it was just amazing to watch how Angie propelled me towards the platform. There instructors are super fit! Never felt scared or nervous. Jessica & I ended up talking like friends! The scenery with its lush valleys & mountains was breathtaking! Seemed to go by so fast! I really wanted to do it again! I think my instructors made my zipline experience fun & memorable! Highlight of my Honolulu trip! Thanks guys!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

"A BEAUTIFUL DAY IN PARIDISE"

Reviewed by: Michele , 2016/04/18

We stared the day with a happy welcome from our guide and driver Jim. He had been a truck driver for most of his life so I felt very comfortable with his driving. From the very start to the end of the day Jim regaled us with his knowledge of the history, biology, geology, stories, songs and politics of this beautiful island. Our first stop was lunch at a pretty park. Lunch was delicious and healthy. We saw waterfalls, volcanos, steam vents and many different types of wild animals. We took an afternoon coffee break at the Big Island Candies shop where we enjoyed a free cup of Kona coffee and tasted many samples of the best cookies. Of course I had to buy at least one box. That evening we ate dinner and had drinks at a nice old lodge by the volcano. We enjoyed the company of the other guests. We all agreed dinner was great. The clouds had cleared and we were able to see the errie red glow of the lava and did some star gazing with Jim's high powered binoculars. The air was chilly up on the mountain and Jim made us hot chocolate and coffee to warm us up. On the way back to our hotels we watched a very interesting video of the history of the volcano with many amazing close up shots of inside and lava flows. It turned out to be a wonderful day and my husband and I agreed we were glad we went and it was worth every penny.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide whose love for Hawaii shines through his songs and stories of the island. So glad to hear you enjoyed all of the sights and meals along the way. It's pretty hard to walk out of Big Island Candies without buying something with all of the amazing goodies they have there! Even with some cloud coverage, the lava lake is such a majestic sight to see, but when those clouds move, WOW! Mahalo for your kind words and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle River Fun - Stand Up Paddle, Hike, Water Zipline & Swim

Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: Maren, 2016/03/14

We loved this day trip. The guides were really helpful and taught everyone on the lesson how to SUP. I was the only one of the group to fall in and it wasn't the guides fault.

The SUP portion was so relaxing, not strenuous at all. If you want a strenuous SUP trip rent and head up the Wailua River to the Fern Grotto.

After the SUP we hiked to a really beautiful swimming hole, not included in the description where we ate lunch and got to zip line into into the hole. There was also a huge dive platform. My husband did it, but I was too scared. Our guide had tons of information about local plants and wildlife.

After the swimming hole we hiked to another little lake with a rope swing. The lake was featured in the most recent Pirates of the Caribbean movie which our Guide clued us into. Super cool! And where we hiked out of the jungle to our boat to take us back to the launch we walked through the area where Indiana Jones ran out chased by natives in Raiders of the Lost Ark. So much fun! My husband and I went back to the hotel and watched Indy- Lost Ark just for fun.

We had so much fun on this trip and would recommend it to anyone. It's especially great if you want an intro to SUP. You'll feel like a pro by the end. And be ready to rent and board up a couple other rivers on the island.


  • At the beginning of the trip, leaving the harbor.


  • SUPing down the river. So Pretty.


  • The Swimming hole with zip line and high jump platform.


  • Little lake with rope swing.


  • Where we hiked out of the jungle to the boat that took us back to launch.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Tour - Stargazing and Sunrise with Nature Guide

Once-in-a-life kind of experience

Reviewed by: Shin Taniguchi, 2018/10/01

Many people say sunset is better than sunrise, but sunrise is great, too.
Even though we were on the tour about two days before the full-moon (meaning moonlight is very bright and moon doesn't set until about 5 in the morning), we could enjoy the gorgeous stars in the sky with decent explanation of the stars.
Sunrise was also gorgeous. It was no doubt one of the most beautiful scenaries I have ever seen in my life. Although we were lucky enough to see both stars and sunrise in good weather and it is said that we mostly see clear sky at the peak of Mauna Kea, you may have to keep in mind weather is always a variable you can never tell.

Our guides were good, with a lot of experience and knowledge, trying to do their best to make the tour enjoyable.

If you are okay to go to bed early on the day before and can wake up at 1:30 in the morning, it will let you spend your time more wisely because you have a whole day even after you come back from the tour. (we came back to the hotel around 8:30 am)

Also be noted that the temperature up there is very low. Especially because the weater in Hawaii is hot and you need to face the near-freezing-point weather on the same day, make sure to prepare warm clothes yourself. The ski jackets and pants they lend you will not be enough.


  • Sunrise you can expect

Comments from activity operators

Aloha, this is Sumire from NatureSchool.

Thank you for joining our tour and giving us your feedback.
I 'm glad to hear that you could enjoy the stars and sunrise with the clear sky.
As you said, it's very hard to expect the weather on the summit.
Even though the weather is not good, we try our best to make the customers enjoy the tour.
Our tour guides have much knowledge and many skills.
We would love to do more English tours in the future.
We are looking forward to seeing you again on Bigisland.
Thank you for joining our tour again!

NatureSchool
Sumire

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Awesome time!

Reviewed by: Misaki No, 2016/10/14

Not only I thoroughly enjoyed the sea and shopping this time, but also slightly different things wanted to do it and applied to this tour. I had not ridden a horse in Japan either and was the first experience of the throb.
When run on the shoreline of the north shore, and arrive; the place that is full of green far apart from the noise of Waikiki. There are not only the horse but also a chicken and the peacock.
A horse and the first meeting to be taken care of after arrival this time. Our fellow is Keahi and Ruby. I have gentle eyes having the rich mane. I have you teach how to get on at once and am a walk start. A guide walks the top and arrives in the next. I can take in the muscle of the horse whenever I step forward, and one step is very powerful. We stretch out the back not to break preparations and add it and the pace of the horse. The scenery from the horse is high and feels the comfortable wind. I might stop on the way, but walk the way with the pitch difference easily. I took a photograph at the good place of the scene. It was the experience that I could taste beautiful air and scenery in instant one hour, and was valuable.
A guide could tell neighboring restaurants and the recommended beach and was very kind. I want to recommend it to all of you by all means.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Excellent guided tour of Lana'i

Reviewed by: John and Eva, 2019/04/07

We have been coming to Maui for years but have never ventured off the island to visit Lana'i. First of all, Veltra allowed us to change the tour date from a Monday to a Thursday with no problem since we had a conflict come up. The ferry ride from Lahaina was easy and took about 45 minutes. The sea was very calm and although they recommend taking sea sickness pills, it wasn't necessary for this trip. Our tour guide Bruce, met us at the ferry dock on Lana'i. He drove us around in an air conditioned Suburban which was very comfortable. It was just the two of us so the tour was really personalized. We took the full day tour which really gives you a great impression of the island. The tour was about 2 1/2 hours in the morning, then an hour for lunch and 2 hours in the afternoon. Bruce, our guide has lived on Lana'i for 20 years and was very knowledgeable. He has seen the positive changes that have occurred on Lanai' since Larry Ellison bought the island five years ago and thoroughly explained the evolution of the island through the current day. We were then dropped off at the ferry dock for the 4:30 p.m. ferry back to Lanai--note, you need to book the return ferry when you schedule the tour and for the all day tour, the 4:30 p.m. ferry is the one to take.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Eco tours hike was informative and very nice

Reviewed by: Dan and Denise, 2015/04/27

Me and and my girlfriend both liked the young guides who picked us up at the North Shore Marketplace parking lot. It was just us two so we felt very privilidged. The Hawaiian guide drove for about 20 min through many farms and got to know much abut them and who owned them, unfortunately much of the land were rented by Monsantos. Part of the drive was very bumpy but became much better when we got unto the military roads. The hike was not that hard mostly because the water wasn´t that high this time. It was partly slippery but our sneekers was enough to manage it. There were some very niice sceneries and crossig over the river and the mountain pool swim at the summit was very pleasent and just what we needed after a 2.5 hours hike. We got to use helmets but just for a very short time. The lunch was two wraps each and was more than enough for us.
The hawaiian native guide told us much about the the hawaiian culture and the problems hawaiians have had keeping their language alive. We also got to know about much about the different plants and trees, and the tight bond to nature hawaiina have had, he also made a hawaiian chant to the forrest when we just started the hike which was very nice to hear. We would recommend this hike to all our friends.


  • Great view at the end of the hike

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much for the kind words... we're so glad you two enjoyed yourselves!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour

Amazing adventurous experience viewing much of the Big Island treasures!

Reviewed by: Swillem40, 2018/11/18

What an amazing experience!!  Not only are you able to see the beauty in a fun adventurous manner but there is time and places to capture pictures in between some of the ziplines. The views are stunning and you’ll see waterfalls, rainforest, the ocean and so much more. The staff does a great job of getting everyone to open up and have a great time. They take the time to give you tips on how to do things so you get the most out of your experience. You are sure to laugh the entire time! It was great to also see so many kids on our tour who had an amazing time!
There is a little store before you start where you can get some things like souvenirs, treats, and bug spray.  If you go on a rainy day I would note you could get some mud onto yourself but it is minimal. It may also be helpful to consider the equipment when dressing.  Many on our tour thought it would be cooler because of the rain to start but the equipment keeps you a bit warm so many had rain coats they didn’t want. They do have some video and picture packages you are able to purchase of your tour and I recommend waiting to purchase these extras until the end of your tour to see if you like them.  If you go with the GoPro camera option then you will want that ahead of time.


  • All strapped up and ready to go!


  • Awesome bridge you enjoy walking!


  • Beautiful view back on what you just went over.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Loved the Guided Diamond Head Hike!

Reviewed by: Mrs. D, 2015/09/06

The Diamond Head Hike was one of our favorite activities on Oahu! My 13 year old daughter and I booked this hike and, while we could have done it alone, I'm glad we were part of a group. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to diamond head. Our guide was friendly and helpful....I have to note that while he walked with the group, everyone climbed at their own pace...some were way ahead and others followed up from behind but we had meeting points at the mid way range and then at the top to be sure we had everyone. Our group was great and everyone watched out for one another. The climb itself is not overly difficult. There were people of all ages climbing. There are stopping points to take breaks if needed. Of course coming down is easier than going up!! Once we were down, our guide allowed time for the restroom and to grab a bottle of water if needed. Upon boarding the van for the return back to the hotel, we were all given our own individual 'I climbed Diamond Head' certificate which can be personalized and framed...my daughter loved this! I'd highly recommend this tour. I'd also recommend to book the early morning climb as it was getting very hot by 8:30 as we were finishing up. You'll also want a bottle of water.


  • At the top overlooking the inside off the crater


  • That's where we're headed


  • Sweeping views from the top


  • Top view


  • View of Makopu'u Lighthouse from the top

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Mrs. D,

We are thrilled that this hike was something you and your daughter both enjoyed! Your kind words and Great review mean a great deal to us, and your pictures turned out fantastic! The group support experience and educational part of the tours is exactly why we love our Diamond Head hike as well, and to be able to share that with Visitors makes it all worthwhile. Join us again for another adventure the next time you are in Oahu!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Best day of the trip

Reviewed by: Brandon M, 2018/04/04

The day itself started with a local Kona coffee plantation visit that included how the coffee trees are grown, picked, sorted, and roasted. Next stop was a roadside fruit stand where we were introduced to some island fruits and veggies. There was a good drive to the furthest south bakery in the U.S. where our tour guide Grant filled the drive time giving us the layout of the island. From there we visited a black sands beach and looked out for sea turtles. After the beach, we headed to Volcano Park to see the volcano during day light hours and checkout the Dr Jagger museum. Then the dinner... food was good and we had a chance to talk to other members on the tour. This led to the sun setting and the final activity... the volcano at night. The glow of the cauldron is amazing in of itself, but Grant pulled out a telescope and we not only got a close up view of the spattering lava, he also was able to record it on our phones!
Grant was a phenomenal tour guide! He was personable, full of facts and information, and delivered them in a fun, witty way. From the moment of being picked up, Grant was pointing plants and notable sights to the left and the right the entire time we were in the tour van.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

A great trip to the most unusual island in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jan & Cathy, 2015/05/07

We wanted to explore all 6 of the main Hawaiian islands on our trip and so included a trip to Lanai. We signed up to take the ferry, shuttle, & Jeep rental package. We drove to Lahaina on Maui & rode the 9:15 AM ferry for the 45 minute ride to Manele Bay on Lanai. We then took the shuttle to the Dollar rental place in Lanai City (a small community in the center of the island with no traffic lights) and we were given an almost new air conditioned Jeep to drive around for the day. We were well aware of the landscape on Lanai - so it wasn't a surprise to see very little vegetation and no good beaches there. We took our time and drove east to Shipwreck Beach & then north to the Garden of The Gods (a truly unique moonscape like place). Then back into town for a casual lunch & finally out to the west coast to see the barge harbor (not much there). We turned in our Jeep (after filling up with $4.50 per gallon gasoline) & were taken back to the ferry dock & ferry ride back to Lahaina in the evening. A very full day and worth it - not something to do again, but worth it to say that we explored this very little visited island. We had no problems with the ferry, shuttle or Jeep reservation.


  • Shpwreck Beach


  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Party Bike - Kakaako Bar Hopping Tour

Fun fun fun

Reviewed by: Margaret, 2016/02/28

My friends and I did not know what activities to do while staying in Hawaii. We searched and a lot of the tours were out of our price range. We stumbled across the bike bar hopping tour. It was decently priced and you got to bike around the city. Few of my friends weren't convinced that it would be fun. They thought it was lame to bike around in Waikiki and bar hop. Boy were they wrong! It was the best thing we done on our trip. It was tiring at times trying to pedal but it was well worth it! Great way to see Waikiki and to visit a few bars. The bars we went to were actually popular places we were planning to go already. It was a great way to see the city and hit up 3 bars/breweries were were already planning to go to without having a designated sober driver. The entire process of booking, confirmation and location was very easy. The tour guide was also great. He gave us tips on where to go, what to do. We never thought a bar hopping bike ride would be this fun. We will definitely do this again next time we are back in Hawaii. Will definitely highly recommend to people that want to have a good time at night and experience the city with a few drinks! Great way to burn s few calories too

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Fantastic Time with a great Tour Guide!

Reviewed by: Gabe F., 2017/11/22

My wife and I were celebrating our Honeymoon in Hawaii and were lucky enough to have a full day of entertainment with this tour! The Big Island can require a lot of driving time to get to see the numerous sights it has to offer. The tour we booked provided us with an experience I know we would not have gotten on our own. I cannot speak anymore highly of our awesome Tour Guide Jim Carey (I know and yes he has the same name). He made the whole experience that much more memorable by his genuine appreciation for Hawaiian culture. He was extremely knowledgeable about EVERYTHING which made the tour in depth and interactive. His added commentary was great while visiting the waterfalls and volcano. The day flew by and we were continuously more and more impressed with everything the tour offered. The provided lunch and dinner were both delicious. Every part of the day flowed very well and it was capped off by our last stop back at the volcano to stargaze. We were able to set up the telescope and see the lava erupting in the volcano! I definitely would recommend this tour to anyone and everyone and I can't thank our tour guide enough. Jim made the whole experience 10 times better! Thanks Jim!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]