This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Outdoor Adventures in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

2454 reviews

Aloha Island Expedition - Small Group Jeep Tour with Local Guide

Very good day! Great value! Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by: Christel and Jason, 2018/04/18

My husband and I went on a North shore / O'ahu tour a week ago with Aloha Island Expedition. We had a wonderful time and we got to see and experience a lot of unique sites throughout the day. It was the best day we've had in our 3-weeks visit to Hawai'i. Our guide was very friendly, thoughtful and knowledgeable and he really customized the day's activities based on our interests. He went out of his way to make sure that everything went smoothly and that we had the best time. We saw so much in 8-hours! Some of the highlights of our tour were: the Royal Mausoleum, the Green World coffee farms (such good coffee!), the many beaches along the North Shore, the Byodo-Inn temple, the Nu'uanu pali and (my personal favorite) the Ulupo heiau. Our lunch of Huli-Huli chicken and Garlic shrimp was also ono! There was nothing negative to say about the tour. It was all around wonderful. We would highly recommend it to anyone interested in seeing O'ahu in a more "authentic" light as well as people trying to see all that they can see in a day. We will definitively book another tour through Aloha Island Expedition the next time we come back to O'ahu. Mahalo nui, guys, for a job very well done!


  • Beautiful Ulupo!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

More than Moderate, but great experience

Reviewed by: Valgal, 2014/10/30

My sister insisted we had physical activity on our Hawaiian vacation...so she signed us up for the Diamond Head Crater Hike. We had a great experience! We were picked up at our designated location within the allotted 20 minute pick-up grace period and we were greeted by a very friendly guide. I am still amazed how he remembered everyone's name and where they were from instantly!

We felt safe the entire time and our guide (I think his name was Mike) was very upbeat and extremely knowledgeable about Hawaii, Diamond, the history of the island as well as the science behind the island formation, etc. I will say the trail was more challenging than I anticipated, but that could be because I haven't worked out in a few weeks. We were huffing and puffing at some points but were always given ample time to stop, rest and enjoy the scenery. The view once we reached the top was breathtaking and totally worth it.

The experience working with Veltra was enjoyable, they called to confirm our hike the day before and confirm our pick-up time and location. I would definitely recommend them and they would be my first choice for another adventure the next time I return to Hawaii.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Val,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your hike. Thank you for your kind words and great review. It is always satisfying to hear that our guests are able to share in our passion for the nature and beauty of Hawaii. Our guides love hearing the positive feedback and take pride in their work, training, and knowledge. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
Oahu Nature Tours Management

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Volcano Tour

Reviewed by: James Harmon, 2016/03/28

The tour was great. We started by being picked up a local shopping center and then driving north. On our way, our tour guild spotted whales jumping off the coast and pulled over so we could watch. An extra bonus. We then picked up the rest of the guest and went over the mountain. Chris, our tour guild was a wealth of information and gave a great discussion of Hawaii and the different things that we saw. After stopping for lunch, which was basic but good, we went to Hilo for a tour and then on to the National park. Chris took us to a couple of sites not normally seen by tourist which was great. He also took us to the volcano tubes which was really interesting. He timed the tour so we had the whole tube to ourselves, which was really neat. We then went to dinner at a very nice place. The food was great, especially the fish. After dinner we went to the volcano and since it was night we got to see the lava light up the back ground. Chris helped us take pictures which are already posted on Facebook. After that we headed back. I would recommend this tour, especially Chris, for anyone who wanted to see the volcanoes and learn about the Island of Hawaii.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so happy to hear that you had such a great day with Chris. He is a wonderful guide with an abundance of knowledge, helping our guests to really connect with our island while on tour. Whale season usually runs October-March and we are so excited to hear that you folks had an opportunity to see some humpback whales on your way up the coast. Very cool treat! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Great experience, great group of people (Eco)

Reviewed by: Robert, 2015/03/20

The zipline trip was a lot of fun. The views were great. Zipping over or past a couple of waterfalls was cool.
We happened to be there when the owners/bosses were out trying some new things. They took time to talk to us and genuinely solicited feedback that would make this and other tours more enjoyable. They were as friendly and personable as our excellent guides, Tim and Nainoa, jumping in to take photos, check on us to make sure we were having a good time, and to provide local information. Sure, they want more business, but also wanted to make sure we had enough fun that we would be repeat business as well. I'm sold. I highly recommend this zip for anyone looking to have some fun and excitement, see some cool scenery, and chat with a couple of locals.
If you go in realizing this is not constant action, you will enjoy this trip. Remember, it does take time to clip and unclip a group of people, one by one. But, take this time to talk to the guides and other members of the group, and those wait times pass by quickly...plus, you can get some fun stories or facts from the guides. Several of the stops have great views, as well.
Maholo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour

This is THE zipline tour you want!!

Reviewed by: Christina, 2018/12/13

If you're planning on ziplining, or have any remote interest in it, do this tour it's so worth it! I had never been ziplining before, and I'm glad this was my first experience. It was a decently long excursion and had 9 separate lines which all offered unique and breathtaking views. Each line felt different, and our guides even taught us how to do tricks like going upside down. You start with tandem lines so you're going with a buddy, plus the guides are great at keeping everyone calm. Our zipline guides Scot, Ian, Maccai (sorry for any misspelling) really kept the party going. Literally, they brought radios with them and danced with us. Honestly they were as entertaining as the ziplining. They even prepared some fresh guava and citrus for us (which tasted AMAZING). We asked them for some local grub recommendations which were all great. Overall amazing experience!

As an aside, the property is so beautiful that alone is worth the money- take some time to walk around and stroll through the gardens after your tour. I also bought the video from them at the end, totally worth. Thanks for keeping us safe and showing us a fantastic time guys!


  • View of the ocean from a line


  • View of the Eucalyptus Forest


  • Overlooking the river


  • Us dancing with our zipline guide (from the video)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Highlight of my vacation in Hawaii!!

Reviewed by: Tami, 2015/06/14

This was the highlight of my vacation in Oahu. It was very well organized. We were a group of about 7 adults and 5 kids (mostly 9 year old)). The van picked us up on time and drove us to a privately owned rain-forest. Our tour-guide was extremely knowledgeable and patient. The hike wouldn't have been the same without his interesting facts. The hike itself was easy (even for the kids) but can get slippery/muddy. I would recommend using the rainboots they offered.The time went by fast; it was a nice break to be outside in a totally shaded area. We were later joined by more kids (12 kids total) and grown ups for the downhill bike ride. At first it seemed intimidating, but the tour guides did an excellent job in making sure we were safe (there was a van behind the group that alerted the guide upfront if any cars were coming by). The lunch provided (sandwiches) was delicious. The snorkeling part was my least favorite (for personal reasons...I just couldn't get the hang of it...first timer). I would recommend wearing the swimsuits underneath the hike/bike clothes, that way you don't have to change on the boat (crammed).

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Hike & Lava Flow Adventure

One of the best things to do in all of Hawaii

Reviewed by: Sreezy, 2018/03/06

This hiking tour is a must-do for anyone who wants to see some lava and enjoys a nice hike. If you have a relatively able-bodied group, the hike takes a total of 4 hours...2 hours to hike to the lava, 2 hours to hike back. When we went, we saw lots of lava up close and personal...no more than 5 feet away.

They equip you with everything you will need, including walking sticks, protective gloves and flashlights for when it gets dark, in addition to water bottles.

Our tour guide was Justin, and I would highly recommend you book a tour with him. He is a fantastic guide with an immense amount of knowledge, and went beyond his job as a hike guide to inform us of Hawaiian history and culture, and this truly enriched our experience while driving about 45 min to the hiking location.

If you want to get some physical activity while also having an experience you cannot have anywhere else, this is the tour for you. When we talked to others during our stay in Hawaii and mentioned getting up close and personal to lava on this hike, every single person wished they had done something similar.



Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour

Super fun!

Reviewed by: Melanie, 2016/07/12

We really enjoyed this activity! It was relaxing and fun. Our guides were GREAT! They were lots of fun - without them the activity wouldn't have been as fun. The tunnels we went through were cool! I was worried they would be full of spider webs but they were super clean - no worries there at all. Our only complaint was it was too short. Wish it would have lasted longer! The lunch was good - just wish we would have had more time, it felt a little rushed. Here we were in this beautiful spot but had to eat and run. I would do this again. Kids of all ages would enjoy this adventure! We had old and young in our group and everyone had a great time. One thing I wish they would do is have someone taking photos that you could purchase afterwards. Since we were in the water and couldn't really get good shots - even with a waterproof case, it would have been really nice to buy some photos of our group as we came down the river and inside of the caves so that we have some memories of it. Since we have no pictures, we have nothing to show our family and friends. They want to see pictures.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour

One of the best things to do in Kauai!

Reviewed by: Ms. Kitty, 2015/10/09

You know those log rides at amusement parks? Now imagine one that is in a tropical paradise AND lasts an hour and that is what the tubing is like. It was literally the most fun I had on the island and I can see why it is so popular!

From the moment my husband and I checked-in we got amazing service from some of the friendliest peeps on the island. They got us kitted up with the gear we would need (bring a GoPro or a waterproof camera with you since you are wearing gloves the whole time and that makes touchscreen use a bit awkward) and then took us on a lovely drive to the launch site. The views along the way were breathtaking.

Once we plopped into our tubes, we let the water and Mother Nature take control as she kept me flowing along the irrigation ditches. There are some great drops and mini-rapids, as well as a number of dark tunnels. I didn't want the ride to end! At the end of the tour, we got to make yummy sandwiches, played with the local kitty Mochi and I wanted to jump in the swimming hole, but we ran out of time. Will definitely dive in on my next visit!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hiking Shuttle to Diamond Head & Manoa Falls Rainforest Trail (from Waikiki)

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Dan B, 2016/11/21

We were picked up on time by a friendly driver who explained everything we needed to know regarding our hike. He was right on with his explanation. We walked along with several others up the trails which we easy then got to some of the curves and switchbacks where the footing was a little difficult. Be sure to wear good tennis shoes or hiking boots not sandals or heels for this hike. We came to a series of steps that were steep then into a tunnel that was a few minutes long. Outside the tunnel there were 2 routes to the top. One set of steps much steeper than the other but can stop and rest along the way if needed. Once on the top the views were spectacular and well worth the climb. I'm 65 years old and have 3 stents in my hear and made this "moderate " hike with only a few stops. There are some rough areas in this hike so people with walkers, wheel chairs and buggies will not make it. We will definitely do this event next time we're in Hawaii. We did the hike up to the top, looked around for 15-20 minutes and hiked back down in 1 - 1/2 hours.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Deluxe Volcano & Stargazing with Night Lava Supreme!

Reviewed by: Suzy & Betty, 2017/12/09

We feel extremely fortunate to have joined Kailani Tours with our tour guides Kawika and Kevin as our guides. Together they shared a wealth of knowledge and personal charm. They gave us the history, geology and volcanology of the Big Island of Hawaii. Both were engaging, humorous and attentive to our every need. They provided us with lunch and a sumptuous dinner. They shared many sites along the way all detailed with their particular history. The highlight was a spectacular visage of our living Mother Earth in her volcanic glory along with a clear and beautiful view of the stars in the night sky. Breathtaking is an understatement given the epiphany of our smallness in the universe. We thoroughly enjoyed this "not to be missed" experience shared with an intimate group of 14 - giving us more opportunities to learn from our guides. If you find yourself amongst the fortunate to have Kawika or Kevin for your guide, you are truly in for a treat! Can't thank you enough Kailani Tours for a job well done! Mahalo Nui Loa - Suzy and Betty

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Best Tour Guide EVER!

Reviewed by: AZSKY, 2017/09/23

This is an absolutely terrific tour and worth every penny. Our family has visited the Big Island many times but we learned so much from our energetic and knowledgable tour guide, Kevin. Absolutely adored the gorgeous candy facility stop on the way to the volcano. This store is beautiful and we ended up purchasing client gifts which were efficiently ordered and shipped back to the mainland. The dinner stop at the Kilauea Lodge was amazing. I ordered a Cosmopolitan cocktail which was presented just as chic and lovely as any found in a Five Star hotel bar. Good meal enjoyed in a cozy spot among new friends. Back to the night lava viewing at the volcano which was utterly amazing. The warm coats and flashlights provided by Veltra made the experience even more enjoyable.
Last but not least I must give kudlos to Kevin, our tour guide. This man has truly done his homework and is passionate about educating his guests about the gorgeous Island of Hawaii. Thank you, Kevin for making each and every one of us feel important.

GREAT TOUR!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Party Bike - Kakaako Bar Hopping Tour

Fun party bike

Reviewed by: Annie, 2016/03/06

Was in Waikiki for my friends wedding and came across this party bike when my friends and I were searching of things to do. It was easy to make reservations and the location was easy to get to from our hotel. It was great that the meetup location had parking so we didn't have find parking. A few of my friends were skeptical at first how this would be fun but they changed their minds few minutes later after we hopped on the party bike. The entire group had amazing energy, music playing and beach breeze was amazing. We did the party biking at 7pm which was prefect because the sun was just setting so we got to see that on the bike. We got to visit 3 different bars in town and all great places. The guide was great. He would come in the bar to let us know that we had 10 mins left so we could get our bill. I liked how the bars we went to had seats reserved for us so service was expedited. The 3 bars we went to were great! All different and great vibes. Would recommend to everyone who wants to have fun and explore the city in a different way.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Ride Tour Through Waipio Valley

Our favorite vacation day!

Reviewed by: A. Durnell, 2017/03/02

This was truly a magical day in Hawaii. Waipio Valley is one of those places best seen through the eyes of someone local. This is not merely a tour, but more of an invitation to visit the valley as a guest and get the grand tour from people who truly love it and want you to as well. The horses are happy, healthy, well cared for individuals with personalities and this trail ride is not the dull, narrated nose to tail variety often found in tourist areas. You won't have a "canned" speech and your horses won't be falling asleep from having done a monotonous walk they have done a million times with no hope of change. We left feeling like we really learned a lot from our hosts, who live in the valley, love and know it well, while having seen some of the most spectacular scenery on the island. The snapshot of the view from the lookout point is certainly gorgeous, but go the extra mile and take a ride into the valley to see the taro, the waterfalls, the wild horses, the freshwater streams and amazing landscape. You won't be disappointed!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

This was a totally awesome tour! I would absolutely recommend it to anyone!

Reviewed by: L. Estrada, 2016/03/21

From the pick-up to the drop off 11 hours later, this was an absolutely fantastic tour! Our guide and driver, Jim Carey was so considerate of everyone from kids to seniors, he was totally accommodating and made excellent use of every minute. The van was clean and comfortable and he had anticipated every scenario. He was prepared with umbrellas, binoculars, flashlights, warm coats, hot chocolate and cookies and warm towels to freshen up after a day of adventures and beautiful sights. Jim was so knowledgeable about all things Kona, plants, birds, stars and he even played the Ukuele for us. Volcano National Park was truly awesome and especially at night. I really can't say enough about this tour from reservation to follow up - I could not ask for more. The lunch and dinner were great! So much thought and effort has obviously gone into this tour and Jim's enthusiasm was the icing on the cake. The concierge at the hotel said she could not even touch this tour and highly recommended Kailani Tours. This is a 10 star for sure!


  • Jim telling us about the lava tube.


  • Rainbow Falls


  • The lava glow at night as we walked through the park.


Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an awesome day with Jim. He is a wonderful, knowledgeable guide with so much Aloha to share! His Hawaiiana stories and ukulele playing have quickly become a favorite amongst our guests. We love hearing that you enjoyed all of our stops and treats along the way! Mahalo for the fantastic recommendation and we truly hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Kaanapali Zipline Adventure

A must-do on Maui: Kaanapali Zipline Adventure

Reviewed by: Manu S., 2014/12/15

One thing you definitely have to do during your Maui visit is ziplining!
We booked the 8 Line Zip Tour which took all in all about 4 hours. At „half time“ there was organized a little break at an wonderful lookout where you had the chance to take some snacks and drinks.
It was our very first time we did ziplining and we really enjoyed it. Not only the adventure itself but also the wonderful view on Kaanapali coast is worth it. Don‘t worry about little fear of heights, because the guides will take it away with their joking manner. We were surprised positively that ziplining is popular with all age groups. The group we joined in was mixed up and we all had pretty much fun doing the Kaanapali Zipline Adventure. Therefore we would absolutely recommend it to everybody - no matter if you do it with friends, your family or as a couple.
The online-booking via Veltra was uncomplicated and the procedure on site was smoothly.
Thumbs up for the great organization and the whole ziplining team - you must not miss this adventure!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Tropical Wonders - Waterfall Swim & Fruit Farm Tour

Amazing waterfalls

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2018/06/04

At the time of my tour, Hilo had been having rain for one straight month. As such, the waterfalls were massive.

We were lucky enough to have only scattered showers on the day of our tour, but the waters were still too rough to do any water sports. However, in my opinion, it was still worth it because of how spectacular the waterfalls were. We got to see Rainbow Falls from the opposite side of the normal overlook that most tourists go to.

In addition to getting exclusive overlooks of private waterfalls, you also get fresh fruits and nuts at each stop, including macadamias (complete with nut cracker), rambutan, and palm hearts. It was great!

The tour guide, Angela, seemed to have an encyclopedic knowledge of everything Big Island—flora and fauna, myths and legends, culture and history. I learned a lot on this tour, and it was awesome having a guide that was so passionate about the place. I recommend this tour even without going swimming at the waterfall, but with the water sports this is a must-do activity!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ultimate Waipio Valley Off-Road Tour, Akaka Falls and Waterfall Swim Adventure

If you can afford it, you should definitely take this trip

Reviewed by: Elise Wilson, 2017/06/24

If I could give this more than 5 stars, I would.

My family and I did this our first day in Hawaii, and it served as an amazing introduction to the culture, geography, and geology of the island. The waterfalls were beautiful and the valley was unexpectedly incredible. Our guide for the majority of the tour was named Ehitu and he was extremely knowledgeable and nice - he even brought us fresh pineapple from his house, which was amazing. The private waterfall where we swam was beautiful, albeit a little chilly. Definitely bring water shoes if you want to swim and jump off the rocks! I didn't catch the name of our guide into the valley, but he came up to take us on his day off, and he knew everything and everyone down there. He had lived there in the past, so he was able to take us off road and drive down rivers and even introduce us to the wild horses, who came up to the vehicle when he called them.

Overall, this was an amazing excursion - breathtaking views and excellent guides. Do this if you have the chance.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

Such a fantastic way to "tour Kauai"!!!

Reviewed by: MAof4, 2018/06/26

Everything about this adventure was so incredible! Kipu Ranch is an amazing ranch with an incredible amount of territory to explore! We saw some marvelous sights while covering some exciting terrain (such a perfect combo for a couple consisting of one who likes to hike and one who doesn't; but loves motorcycles/ off-road vehicles).
The employees at the ranch were all kind and helpful. Definitely want to give a huge shout out to our guides; Joshua and Marlin!! They really make this experience special! It was like exploring this new and gorgeous region with a couple of your close friends, They were so kind and considerate of each individual in the group. I especially enjoyed hearing some back-story of this incredible place and the people who made such an impact.
Safety was top notch. Treats were delicious. This adventure left both my husband and I overjoyed!! Thank you so much, Kipu Ranch, for a quality tour/adventure and true ~Aloha~ hospitality and kindness! It really made our trip special!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

Excellent Experience

Reviewed by: Sylvia, 2009/12/06

The tour was excellent and the guide had a lot of passion for what he does, so it was kind of contagious. He told us a lot of interesting stories making the trip very entertain. Dinner was very good and they provide us with coats and globes which we really needed. Then we had a second stop to explain to us about the telescopes and what is being measured. Finally we arrived at the top. I must admit I got very sick, but the guide had warned us that it could happen and recommended to sit on the floor. That is exactly what I did. I didn’t like the feeling at all, but I saw the most beautiful sunset that I have ever seen so it was worth the bad 5 minutes feeling LOL but I wouldn’t recommend it to people with heart problems. After the breath taking view we went down and watch the starts through a telescope. The guide explained a lot of things I didn’t know. I am not very knowledgeable about astronomy but I really learned a lot and enjoy the time. I will definitely recommend it as a must see

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Zipline Adventures

Princeville Ranch Zipline Tour

Reviewed by: Ladies of the Lei's, 2008/11/07

Five ladies ranging in ages of 40 to 66 decided to do something exciting on our first trip to Hawaii. We took a flight from Oahu to Kauai to do the Zip and Dip tour at the Princeville Ranch. We could not have been more pleased with our experience. The crew, Sherry and Preston were so funny and so much fun we could not have asked for a better pair of guides. This first zip was a little scary because none of us had done this before but after that they just got better and better and more exciting. Then we took the dip on the next to the last zip in a cool, very cool pool fed by a waterfall followed by a very nice sandwich lunch. Then we took the last zip to the end of the tour as we finished in disappointment that there were no more left. We could have happily zipped for another two to three hours. It was amazing and we can hardly wait until we can do it again. Just be prepared for a good walk but it is well worth it. I can’t recommend this experience enough. I promise you wil

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Mountain Tubing Adventure Tour

Butt chill

Reviewed by: Brian, 2012/09/12

From start to finish, this was one of the best experiences we had on the island. The trip out to the start was comfortable, informative and entertaining. Having a sound system that allowed the guide to talk normally and permit even those in the back of the van to hear was absolutely perfect. Our guides (unfortunately we don't remember them all) were just a fun bunch of guys! They enjoyed their jobs and it showed!

We were never bored because we never had a chance to get bored. The guys told us what to expect and allayed any fears anyone in the group had. Riding the tubes through the canals and caves was easy and very enjoyable. This is not an "adrenaline rush" activity but don't let that deter you. It was a relaxing but fun event for all in our group from the ten year old out to grandpop! A wonderful activity for all ages and physical levels.

The food and entertainment the guys put on was perfect. They obviously like what they do, with the guests and themselves. We didn

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Kualoa Ranch

Reviewed by: Lisa R., 2012/09/10

We had an amazing time at the Ranch. We chose the full day package. We started our morning with the Secret Island adventure. There were many things to do. They had Paddleboards and kayaks to use. They had Snorkle things you could borrow. We were a little disappointed by the snorkling. Just not a lot to see but we are used to snorkling off a boat in the Carribean so not sure that the shore snorkling would ever be the same. Not to worry though, we instead found a hammock under the trees, looking at the water and relaxed. Great way to start the day.
We were taken back to the ranch to eat lunch. Great food and plenty of it. Can't remember all the food. we had spare ribs, salad, and rice.
After lunch, we did the horseback riding. I was a little nervous about this one. I had never been on a horse and it seemed a little big. But we had Edie as a guide and she very quickly put my mind at ease. It was a great ride. There were very pretty views and the horses were very com

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Maui Oceanfront Trail Horseback Riding Tour at Mendes Ranch (Wailuku)

One of the highlights of our trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/08/15

We recently visited the Mendes Ranch with a group of 5 (two women in our forties, two 16 year-olds, and a 14 year-old). I owned horses while growing up, but haven't ridden in years, and the other members of our group have ridden once or twice on other trail rides. We all had a wonderful time. We were placed in an intermediate trail group with another couple, making our group total of 7. Butch was our guide and he moved along the line of horses throughout to the ride, checking in with everyone and chatting about the ranch. He took lots of photos with the riders cameras at two different photo locations and even took video of the final run. Other reviews have mentioned the dust on the trail and we did get VERY dirty, but we expected it. At times, Butch had some of the group veer off to other portions of the trail to try to limit the dust. I did not mind this, but our younger members got a bit nervous when they could not see the other horses.

The views were simply stunning, f

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Horseback Riding, Picnic & Waterfall Swim at Princeville Ranch

Kauai Princeville Horseback adv.

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

We ride alot on vacations so it takes a lot of us to be overly impressed.

Well, this one is a good one to go on for sure.

Planning for this trip - you will want, SWIMSUIT under your clothes, blue jeans ( I would advise stretch or baggy for comfort), tennis shoes work best as you will be hiking (don't do this in boots seriously!) maybe a hat, sun glasses, towel and a camera!!! And it may rain on you but, hey its Kauai and you will dry off fast. Plus they have rain gear for you. So where do you put all this? Guides have saddle bags for that. They will feed you so no food is needed. They have water too.

First nice staff, their instructions on how to get to the ranch could be a wee bit better. HINT bascially if you driving north to the check in point, you will drive back the way to came a mile or so and it will on your right (driving south). Its not just across the road like they told us :)

Now, to the ride! They matched each person up with the horse that would be b

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Zipline Trek Adventures (from Poipu)

Kipu Ziplining WOW

Reviewed by: Peggy - World Traveler, 2012/08/06

We had never done anything like this before and after this, EVERY VACATION we do will have ziplining !!!

Just off the charts.

It is GOREGOUS scenery between the zip lines.

You are very high up now how do you get there? You drive to the tour place and they will bus you to the starting zipline from there is mostly hiking from zip to zip.

So.... I would say that if you are in hearth healthy, have no knee issues and you are in reasonable shape or at least say 10 or 11 yrs old, okay with heights, this may is a great activity for you. Why.. well its ALOT of hiking! Up and down paths along side the mountain to get to each zipline. But that's what Kauai is all about after all. I am not a work out fanatic and I did just fine but I do elipse every other day so.... just take that into consideration.

It was fantastic and fun. The guides rocked and catered to every person. They were responsive, educational, helpful and funny. They also start you out on a "Bunny" line

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Awesome !

Reviewed by: Vicky & Bryce Cooper, 2012/07/22

Book this tour - if you love the outdoors and want a 'real experience' you will not be disappointed.

The bike ride is a great way to see the sights and is very relaxing. The bikes are very easy to ride and is mostly downhill.

The Hike allows you to get out of the concrete jungle and commercial centre of Waikiki, but be warned this is not a gentle 'stroll' this is a decent bush walk around 2 hrs, so make sure you read the recommended 'what to wear' list that is on the voucher. You will walk through a real rain forest and learn about the unique forest of Oahu along the way, so don't let a little mud scare you.

The boat ride and snorkel is a magical way to end an action packed day. Gear is provided. It was refreshing that the boat was not packed to capacity, and again was a 'real' experience. We swam with turtles and then sailed back to the marina, this was also a great way to see Waikiki from the water.

This was a very refreshing tour and a highlight of our trip. It was gre

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Beauitful way to end our evening

Reviewed by: Rosie and Herb, 2011/08/10

After a long stressful week, we headed on over to Kualoa Ranch. We were taken away by the beauty that this ranch preserves. You will NOT see any large buildings, overcrowded retail shops and a whole bunch of touristy Hokie Pokie music. Its just beauty and deep Hawaiian history that surrounds you.

We enjoyed the Hawaiian Fishing & Garden Tour the MOST!! You take a little ferry boat ride around the 800 year old pond, and let me tell you.. Mountain views are simply AMAZING!!! After the Garden tour, we head over for our Movie Sites and Ranch tour, which you get to see sites they used for Jurassic Park, Pearl Harbor, Windtalkers, 50 First Dates, Godzilla..real exciting!!

After an afternoon of activities, they had a buffet dinner ready for us, which was extremely tasty! Everything is chopped, prepared and cooked right at the ranch, NO CATERING HERE!!

Overall, we had a really good time. Everything was so beautiful, and it was just nice to be away from the whole tourist crowd that

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Oahu Bike and Hike Tour

Reviewed by: Perry Klahr, 2011/07/28

My family (wife and 2 teenagers & I) did the bike and hike tour last week. Our excursion lead was Mateais and he was very knowledgeable, friendly and somewhat entertaining with his canned one liners that he's been working on for quite a while. The tour started with a bike ride (mostly downhill) in a very scenic neighborhood with great view of downtown and into the valley. The hilight of the tour was the hike into the rain forest. It was quite a kick being able to get lost so close to civilization on a path that not many people have been on. The hike was not strenuous and the rain forest definitly lived up to its name. Recommend you wear the rain boots they offer as its is very wet at times and muddy in parts. The path was scenic taking you through deep brish, through small streams, up to an isolated waterfall and then through a mile long stretch of a bamboo forest. The kids & I enjoyed doing something unique on Oahu and they have told me this was one of the hilights for them and some

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Family Day at Kualoa Ranch!

Reviewed by: Ms Rosie, 2011/06/21

We had an amazing day at Kualoa Ranch! I live on O'ahu and I would always drive pass the ranch, so this was my first time EVER to experience Kualoa Ranch.

We did the Movie Sites and Ranch Tour, and got to go inside a huge bunker where Pearl Harbor/ Lost/ Tears of the Sun was filmed. Drove around to a spot where Jurassic Park was filmed, seen Godzillas footprint and other various movie sites. The best part about this tour was being able to go into Ka'a'awa valley, the scenery IS BEAUTIFUL!!!

2nd tour we did was the Jungle Expedition, hold on tight because this is seriously a bumpy ride! We drove up some massive steep hills to get to a lookout for an awesome scenery.. my kids loved it, only downside is..the tourguide did not give us any narrative tour or point out much stuffs. However, my sons did all the talking..they pointed out to other people on the jeep what the Kukui Nut Tree was, Mountain Apples, and other plants.Beautiful views of Mokoli'i Island (Chinaman Hat).

Lunch

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]