This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Outdoor Adventures in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

2457 reviews

Kipu Zipline Trek Adventures (from Poipu)

Definitely Worth the Visit!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/06/10

I was blessed to go on the Zipline Trek yesterday morning, and had such an amazing experience. The ziplines and course were incredible, but what truly made the tour were the guides, Trevor and Nick. From the minute we got our backpacks and climbed into the van, their energy, enthusiasm and candor put everyone at ease immediately...truly setting the tone for a remarkable day.

Between Trevor's humor and charm, and Nick's great historical knowledge and easy going attitude, it was a dynamic duo that I for one was so grateful to have lead me. I am an avid traveler, and have been on many tours...and if anyone knows, it would be me, that oftentimes it is the guides that can make or break the entire "feel" of the experience. Hands down, 100%, I can confidently say that Trevor and Nick MADE this experience.

And by the end of the day, I do believe we were all a bit enraptured with Trevor especially...even down to the 15 year old swooning in the back...charmer, witty, and just wonderful. G

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Piiholo was Awesome!

Reviewed by: Aaron & Lynn, 2010/08/17

We went on the 4-line adventure. There was a 5th line which was higher, longer, and faster but for $99/person more we didn't feel it would be worth it.

This was a great activity. We had 3 Piiholo staff members, one which helped us get hooked up at the start of each line and two which caught us.

The first of 4 lines was really a trial run. It wasn't very high, didn't go over a gorge/valley, and to me shouldn't be listed. I believe they had it there just to make sure everyone understood their instructions for speeding up, slowing down, and stopping. It was a smart move in my opinion because it really let you know how secure the straps were and how competent (extremely) the staff was. But still, I don't think it should have been listed as one of the 4 lines.

The first line had 4 people across too which was neat. The other 3 lines had 2 people at a time.

For this reason alone I recommend Piiholo. My mother & sisters who were also in Maui at the time booked a zip line wit

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hike Maui Rainforest Trails & Waterfall Swim - Best Hana Hiking Tours

Maui half day hike

Reviewed by: William, 2010/04/04

Helga was our guide and she seemed to know alot about the area. We were walking alog and she stopped at a tree and pointed out a lizard or some kind. How she saw it I don't know. My wife thought it was almost too long a hike as she has a back injury. I enjoyed every minute of it. We saw 4 waterfalls and I swam in 2 on them. Swung on a rope through the fourth waterfall. Had a blast. Your in a rainforest jungle so be ready to come out with muddy shoes. The info sheet said wear swim clothes and bring a dry change. Don't bring anything. There is no place to change at. If you need to just wear something over your swimwear. I wore swim trunks and took my shirt, shoes, socks off for swimming. Your provided backpacks to carry your lunch in. On the lunch choices bread choice should also be added. My and I both don't like rye?... The only down point i saw and was no control of the guide is there is a sick fasination with pit-bulls. The locals brings them and they are loose. My

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Scenic Skydiving Tour Adventure by Pacific Skydiving Honolulu

14000ft!!!

Reviewed by: Birdman, 2010/03/19

Words cannot describe the adrenalin rush you experience as you free fall from 14000ft in the sky.

When you are on the airfield, it is just an exciting plane ride. But as the plane takes off and goes higher and higher until you are well above the clouds, then the reality of jumping off the airplane kicks in (as shown in the photos).

At this point, you still have a chance to change your mind and not to jump, but who does? You are strapped to the instructor, so you have no choice but to jump anyway.

The first one minute of the jump (it feels a lot shorter), it's just a free fall. The adrenalin rush you get is just amazing, and you literally shoot through the clouds. The view of the North Shore is definitely breathtaking and magnificent as well.

The landing was much smoother than I though. The instructors were very professional and safe. No wonder they hold a perfect safety record.

If you have not done skydiving before, I highly recommend you to do it. It is definitel

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Loved It!

Reviewed by: L, 2009/09/19

The ATV tour was amazing. We saw incredible scenery and movie sites as well! Our guide was very entertaining and friendly - he even took us off the usual path for some real off roading. We only paid for an hour tour, so it did feel like our time was slightly limited. I would have liked to make more stops to see the valley, but this wasn't possible with time guidelines. I high recommend the ATV tour, but purchase a 2 hour tour if possible.

Ocean Voyaging was breathtaking. The cruise around Chinaman's Hat very relaxing and Captain John was humerous and warmhearted. We were hoping to get some snorkeling or swimming during the voyage, but were disappointed when this was not on the schedule - so don't bring your bathingsuits, you won't be needing them for this activity.

The whole staff was extremely friendly and accomodating to all needs. They seemed excited to have us there. The lunch buffet wasn't bad and there was certainly plenty of food.

I highly recommend going to the ranc

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Wow, what an experience

Reviewed by: CrazyCanadian, 2009/08/12

As a premise to this review, we have never hiked before.

We were picked up directly from our hotel and did the 9:30am trip. It was a hot day but we were provided water for the trip. Terry was our tour guide and we could not have asked for a better one at that. He was very informative and even allowed us breaks along the way. It is not a tough hike at all even for people who don't usually walk anywhere. The toughest part was the first set of stairs but even that passed by with very minimal discomfort.

There are great views along the way and amazing views at the summit so a camera is a must. Along the way, our guide explained the geological origins, biological phenomena and military history of the Diamond Head Crater. He also answered any questions we had about Hawaii and was very informative. The hike up itself is about 45 minutes and the hike down is even faster. Overall a great experience and the view was definitely worth it. A must do for anyone visiting Hawaii and is not hind

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

A Good Workout for A Great View

Reviewed by: Val, 2008/10/11

Tour guide was interesting and attentive to how the group was making it on the trail. For the faster he'd let us go ahead and express to wait at an area; and he then would walk with the not so fast group. The view is great at the end ?though sometimes you might wonder ?why am I doing this :) The Tour guide said flashlights were not necessary since they have lighted the tunnel area. I read the old literature and had my little flash light which worked good while your eyes adjusted to the lighted darkness in the tunnel. They also provided water and I had taken 2 of my own bottles of water - which is still a good idea because I wasn't sure water would be included. I drank my 2 bottles of water and at the end; I had one the tour guide supplied. After the long trail up negotiating some of the rocky trail, you get the steps and some winding steps. Then to the bunker and you do a little bending to get outside the outer area of the bunker to go up a few more steps for the best view. The

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Half day package

Reviewed by: Gelene and Larry, 2008/10/05

We chose the ATV Tour and the Ocean Voyaging around Chinaman's Hat for our half day package. Both activities were really fun and the staff was very informative, friendly and totally willing to answer any questions, take pictures, give directions to the next activity or whatever we needed.
The Ocean Voyaging involves a boat trip across a huge fish pond (complete with loads of info on the pond's history, etc.), followed by a short walk through some trees to a waiting catamaran which then takes you out to Chinaman's Hat Island.
The ATV tour is a "follow the leader" kind of trip, but so much fun and interesting info on movie and tv shows shot there. Helmets are supplied and required, so be prepared for major helmet hair, ladies. At the end of the ATV ride, we went for a really great "all you can eat" lunch back at the Ranch buildings.
Both activities, of course, were filled with gorgeous views and not a hotel in sight! We will definitely go back and check out their other activiti

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manoa Falls Guided Hiking Adventure

This was wonderful!

Reviewed by: The, 2008/04/28

I have to say that our guide was absolutely amazing. I even at one point asked if he was a naturalist. His degree was in polynesian studies, so he wasn't just a 'cab driver' and hiking 'escort'. We felt like we really were educated not only on Oahu, but all of the Hawaiian islands. The hike was an easy one for anyone who has any hiking experience at all. It can be muddy, but it is well worth it. The falls for us were just a trickle as it hadn't rained in a few days and the strength of the falls are obviously directly related to the amount of rainfall. We still felt the hike was worth it, even if it was more like a 'drip' than a 'fall' the education we got about the tree's, plants, history, nuts, animals....you name it. I just can't say enough good things about our guide (Greg or maybe Craig, we can't remember) he was just so knowledgeable and friendly. He spoke with everyone, left no one straggling behind, made sure we all had water and anything else we needed, and really just

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour - ATV at Oahu's Jurassic Park Film Location & Other Sites

2-hour ATV Tour was FANTASTIC!

Reviewed by: Cindy and Tom, 2008/01/22

This was my very first ATV ride, and the first for my husband after many years. This was our fifth trip to Hawaii, and my first time to have ANYTHING to post to any "comment site"!

We chose the 2-hour ATV tour. The first 45 minutes of our pre-tour afternoon was with Tony, our driver, who described all of the sites between Waikiki and the Ranch as he drove us to the northern reaches of Oahu... great guide with a true love for the Hawaiian culture, language, geography and history. Tony was a wealth of general and detailed information... we learned a lot and took some great "from the van" pictures. (Tony was there at the end of our adventure as well!)

Israel (a local kid who took to the Ranch about 6 months ago) took us on the most awesome 2-hour ATV tour of the valley and hillsides... selecting guava fruit from the local trees, husking a wild coconut : ) for us to drink and taste, taking us along a path that included many wild pigs, and pointing out the locations for the f

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Best thing I did in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Ed, 2007/11/16

After suffering through hokey luaus and the miserable submarine and magic shows, we went on this tour and it absolutely made our trip. The rainforest hike was unique, as expected. The tourguide had everything thought out for us: we were provided with rubber boots, food, water, waist packs, and water bottles.

The downhill bike portion of the day made for some great views and excellent photo ops. We took a picture of us holding hands with the entire coastline visible about 5 miles behind us and lots of ocean behind that.

The highlight of the trip was the sailing and snorkeling during which we (both first timers) played among a school of fish, got up close to sea turtles, swam to the coral reef about 25 feet down, and enjoyed a trip a mile or so offshore. As we sailed back in, we saw dolphins swimming beside the boat. We saw more sea life during this trip than during the entire submarine tour.

The tour guide was totally helpful and fun to talk to at the same time. We'd do t

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore's Best Zipline Tour by CLIMB Works - Oahu’s Longest Ziplines

Fantastic Fun - have to do it again!

Reviewed by: Ziki, 2017/04/26

This was our first time Ziplining but will not be our last! We wanted to have a great family vacation that we would talk about and laugh at for years to come and this was the perfect way to start our trip in Hawaii! The guides were funny, friendly and always kept safety first...I really appreciated that. My kids are daredevils so flying over trees, being held by a metal "rope" was no biggie for them. I am a much more conservative person so I needed a bit of encouragement - which I got and I am so glad that I threw up my chaka and had fun.
This is a MUST do if you are ever in the area. The views of the ocean are beyond amazing, flying over trees and smelling the sweet air is wonderful and just being in paradise does the soul good!
We did not even realize how much "work" we did climbing, ziplining and walking over the two hours. And it was two hours but we were having so much fun we did not realize... I guess that time does fly when you are having fun!
This is a must do and redo!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

EPIC WAY TO SEE THE JUNGLES AND WATERFALLS OF HAWAII!

Reviewed by: Billy Satterfield, 2014/11/22

My wife and I did a Zipline in Kauai last year and quickly fell in love with the activity. When we went to the Big Island this year we decided to give it another try and see if it was still as thrilling. You take a 15 minute ride through a farm area on your way to the first zipline and the staff gives you information on the plants in the area; both native and non-native to Hawaii. The opening ziplines they take you on are all about helping you feel comfortable for an activity that most participants haven't experienced before. While hanging from a cable may seem scary to some, we quickly felt safe and confident from the start given the equipment and staff's help. Each zipline is longer and better than the previous one and the last two ziplines are nothing short of sensational and worth the price of admission on their own. For a great experience and an opportunity to see a vantage point of Hawaii and its spectacular waterfalls rarely seen, this series of ziplines is a can't miss!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Great family time

Reviewed by: Kendall, 2013/04/05

My wife, 11 month old daughter, and I visited Kualoa Ranch with the Day Pass last week, and we had a blast. Due to some traffic, we arrived to the Ranch late, and were only able to go on the Movie Sites and Ranch Tour and the Ancient Fishing Grounds and Garden Tour. Both had excellent guides: the perfect mix of humorous and informative. I especially had fun on the Movie Sites tour with Cowboy (he said his name, being a Hawaiian one, would be too hard to remember), the information is part history, part Hawaiian culture, and part movies. Plus, it’s always fun to see places you recognize from the big screen in real life. My daughter really likes dinosaurs, so I’m looking forward to showing her the Gallimimus stampede scene from Jurassic Park, which is one of the stops on the tour. The Ranch store also sells beef from the cows on the Ranch. We decided to purchase some steaks for dinner that night, and they were fabulous. I will be visiting again so we can enjoy more of the Ranch.


  • A beautiful view of Kaneohe Bay


  • The Movie Tour takes you through the valleys of Kualoa Ranch


  • A bunker at the top of the mountain, used in LOST, Pearl Harbor, etc.


  • The views were absolutely gorgeous


  • The Fishing pond boat tour


  • Apparently archaeologists made this Moai to test how they may have been made on Easter Island/Rapa Nui


  • Green as far as you can see


  • One of Godzilla's footprints


  • Chinaman's Hat


  • Luckily, no Gallimimus stampede while we were there

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Best trip for me and my wife

Reviewed by: Tralonie, 2013/03/05

My wife n I are both active duty military N she is stationed N Hawaii N I'm N Guam. I missed Christmas New Years Her birthday N January Valentines Day N our anniversary N March so I knew when I went 2 visit her I had 2 take her somewhere special other than the routine movies n dinner I found this site on things to do in hawaii which pulled up a bunch of trips It was affordable and well worth it

We did the Jungle Tour, movie site tour, Horseback riding And the best and final one was the ATV riding. The guides are nice and they advertise that each tour is an hour. U do the entire thing n exactly 1 hour like clock work. These people are professionals with it. Highly recommend this place. Lunch wasn't the best but hey it was free. Dnt go there dressed up I recommend bringin a camera water and clothes u dnt mind getting dirty. Also recommend purchasing the photos @ the end of the trip. Make sure to pose when you take the photo 2. Mine came out really nice while riding the ATV lol.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/02/28
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Our Honeymoon

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2013/05/14

My wife and I made reservations online through VELTRA. I knew nothing more than the reviews posted on here (VELTRA/hawaiian activities) and a travel guide book. We enjoyed our morning paddle hike and tour so much! A great adventure that would not have been accomplished so smoothly on our own. It was our first time down the trail. It rains in Kauai, a lot, so the trail was mostly muddy. The guide for the trip kept us safe and informed about how to get there best. He also lead us on hawaiian time for the return trip. Allowing us all more time at the falls since our group was composed entirely of families. I appreciated that very much and a thank you to anyone from the company who reads this. Do not expect that though on your trip, we were lucky that no tour group was scheduled in the afternoon. Our stay on the island began the last week of April, until the first week of May.

You don't have to help the guide, but its friendly to do so. I bet you'll get a better trip out of it.

Comments from activity operators

Wow Jonathan, Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words. Nice to get the feedback that we are doing a good job. Constant struggle to keep good guides and have them approach each tour, as if it is the first day they are offering it. Come back and enjoy the same or some of the others....but mostly just wanted to thank you for caring and taking the time to share.
Until our wakes cross.

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2013/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Eco-Adventure Haleakala Zipline Tour

Fantastic Zipline Experience in Haleakala

Reviewed by: Tianxiong, 2014/11/09

What a wonderful day to expend about 2.5 hours in Haleakala. The stuff are very friendly. If I spell their names correctly, their names are Shin and Kathy. Shin is a fun guy that talked many jokes in this adventure. Kathy is a girl studying her undergraduate. She is enthusiastic in protecting environment in Maui.

This zipline fun activity does not require any past experience or training. Unlike some zipline that needs you to know some basic stuff like how to slow down using glove or how to handle when you get stuck in the middle of the zipline, here the stuff will take care of everything including landing. What you need to do is to free yourself and just enjoy. It contains five zipline courses and a skywalk bridge. I love the last zipline most. That one is the longest zipline that I have ever tried. Also, it has a great view. The max speed reaches 40 mph, and we go forth and backward multiple times. Shin uses the ladder to help us go down the zipline. That’s really fun!


  • Long long zipline!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Aquaball Adventure & Zipline Tour at Lahaina Dragonfruit Farm

BEST EXPERIENCE EVER

Reviewed by: Caligirl9, 2014/05/15

My mom, aunt, and I went ziplining and aqua balling and we had the time of our lives. I had the pleasure of speaking to Crystal one of the owners on the phone before we went and she was so polite and so inviting. We called the day before and she fit all three of us in. When we got there we had people already waiting outside for us and flagging us down. Andrew and Taylor were the people that helped us when we got there. They were so polite and made us feel very welcome. They calmed our nerves, answered all our questions and were very knowledgeable. They really love what they do and made us feel like friends visiting the farm. The farm is beautiful and intriguing. Dawn is the farm manager and she walked us to our car and showed us some more beauty about the farm. She was a sweetheart and made us feel so welcome we didn't want to leave! If anyone wants to have a good time I highly suggest you do the combo and hipline and aquaball!!! They are so fun!! Thanks so much guys!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

Awesome Adventure!!!!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2017/07/16

This tour was worth every penny on its own, but our guide ELON made it even better!

We were picked up on time and taken up into the hills of Manoa Valley and went on a hike in the rain forest all the way to the waterfall and back. Hike was not super difficult, but definitely wear shoes (no flip flops).

Next part of the tour was lunch up on Mt Tantalus and then a 30 minute downhill bike ride down the mountain. We stopped halfway down for a pretty nice photo op. The views were amazing! Must point out that the staff made sure we were very safe on the downhill bike ride.

Once we got to the bottom, we were take to the marina, where we boarded a catamaran and went out to the Pacific and snorkelled at the "turtle cleaning station" for about an hour. We saw about 4 or 5 turtles and a ton of fish. Snorkel boat also had sodas and snacks.

We were returned to our hotel around 5pm after a full day adventure.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and HUGE thank you to Elon!!!!!!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and mahalo for your comments Brian. We hope that you will return again soon and try some of our other tours to remote Oahu. We love our job!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

A GREAT DAY OUT!

Reviewed by: Darryl & Tina P, 2015/08/03

Wow, what a fantastic day! We arrived at Kualoa Ranch to a wonderful welcome of song and ukulele playing. Everything was planned to perfection. Our ranch and movie set tour was brilliant. We loved the most famous dead tree in the world and the surprise that came with it, (you have to go on this tour to find out)!
Next up was our ATV (quad-biking) adventure. We all loved it, especially our teenage kids! I can only imagine how much fun it would be in the rain as we were covered in dust from head to toe and didn't mind one bit!
Lunch was delicious!
Finally, we took the jungle expedition. Our guide Kaleo was awesome. The jungle truck wound its way across creek beds, along forest tracks to reveal sacred places, spectacular views and more movie sets. A brief stop to enjoy a mountain apple (or 5), yummy - then it was back to base. A quick shop to pick up a couple of treats and it was back on the bus for our return to Waikiki.
PS, The shaved ice was a hit too!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hiking Shuttle to Diamond Head & Manoa Falls Rainforest Trail (from Waikiki)

Finally hiked Makapu'u!!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/30

After several trips to Oahu and never having the opportunity to hike Makapu'u since I don't rent a car and the nearest bus stop is over a mile from the trailhead, I was happy to see Kaimana Tours offering transportation from Waikiki hotels to the trailhead.

As the only person taking the tour that day, I was put on a shuttle with a group headed to Hanauma Bay. Pickup from my hotel was prompt, the driver was both professional and entertaining, and pickup from the trailhead was efficient (all I had to do was call the office when I finished the hike, and the driver was there within 10-15 mins)!

As for the hike itself, it is actually a walk on a paved, slightly inclined one mile-ish road. The sights were beautiful all the way to the top, and people of all activity levels should be able to handle this without any issues.

All-in-all, Kaimana Tours delivered an A+++ experience, and I hope to partake in their other tour offerings the next time I'm in Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

great experience

Reviewed by: Peter Long, 2016/04/20

We went to the top, little lightheaded but no big deal. The stop at the lower altitude helps. Dinner was fun, just like going out camping, no frills, you get your portion and you eat it. Lasagna was actually very tasty, not overcooked, then back into the van( very comfortable), and up we go.

The summit was surreal, enveloped in the mist and clouds with large telescopes all around. We did not see the sunset because of the clouds. But it was still a great experience. We also had bad luck with star watching despite our driver's best efforts. At the end we were told that we will get a full refund minus our food ( $19). That was what convince me that the company stood behind its word. I plan to take the same trip as soon as I get back, and I will. I believe that given all the variables every trip is unique and worth taking. It was a great experience, we felt well taken care of and completely safe. Good job Veltra and our guide and driver Greg. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Princeville Ranch Zipline Adventures

Aaa maze!!!!

Reviewed by: Kauai zip n dipper, 2013/01/26

This was my families second trip to Kauai but it had been about 10 years and we were unsure what to do. Zip lining was always something we had wanted to do. A friend shared with me the website for this company and I'm so glad he did! I'm so bad with online so we called to make our reservation. The woman I worked with on the phone was named Jessica and was so nice and helpful. I'm so used to companies being rude when you call to book, but they were happy to help. They helped me book my family on a zip and dip adventure. I'm so glad we decided to do it! The zip lining was gooorrggeous and really worth the money. There were 9 lines to do all of varying length and they were all a blast. Our guides were hilarious and really informed. We were given little tidbits of info on Hawaiian culture, plant life, and language in between each zip line. Our guides, Chet and Stevie, really made the trip fantastic. I definitely recommend this to anyone going to Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hiking Shuttle to Diamond Head & Manoa Falls Rainforest Trail (from Waikiki)

Great experience

Reviewed by: Maryann , 2018/10/27

I did the Diamond head and Moana hike. Both great! Was picked up in morning a little earlier only because we were out there waiting already. Our driver was friendly and informative of things around town to try. Unfortunately it was our last day there so no time to go and try out. But we had an incident where a women was not happy because a family was late arriving for their pick up ( they said they thought it was somewhere else- so call to confirm but from my experience it’s usually at the entrance of the hotel.) But the lady wasn’t happy cause she was going to miss the sun rise...well driver told her he had to at least give people some time after pick up time to be there. But after all that we were all happy and headed our way. Bring rain jacket if you can to Moana falls hike and good shoes- wet slippery. They have ponchos though just in case. Thanks for the great experience!!! I would use them again next time I come back. Till next time!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Fun for Everyone

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/10/07

My husband and I have different ways of looking at the world. If you are familiar with the left brain/right brain descriptions, that's us. He is logical, likes order, and is an analytical thinker. I am creative, naturally chaotic, and a brain storm kind of thinker. We both loved this tour. We are a little above average fitness-wise, however, we haven't had many outdoor adventures. The way this tour was set up we were given instructions and guidance so we could experience the beauty of Kauai without the experience neccessary to do this on our own. The kayaking was so much fun my husband and I agree we would both like to learn more about it. We weren't sure about the ziplining, but that was a lot more fun then we expected. The swim around the waterfall was awesome! One of the guides led us under the falls and it was beautiful. The staff was great! They did everything they could to make our day fun. I would highly recommend them and this tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Top-Notch Kilauea Volcano Experience

Reviewed by: Kate, 2016/03/20

What a wonderful tour experience to Kilauea Volcano with Kailani Tours and Chris.  My husband and I greatly enjoyed the entire day and would recommend the tour to anyone seeking a rewarding day with Volcano viewing!  From start to finish, the tour was very well-planned and enjoyable.  Chris was a veritable encyclopedia of knowledge about sites, plants and the best times and places to enjoy Kilauea.  The food, both at lunch and dinner, was first-rate and could accommodate any dietary preference.  All the little touches -- like hot cocoa and cookies and an evening tour of the Thurston’s Lava Tube – made the day even more special.  Our group was lucky enough to see a great view of the glow at the Volcano on a misty night and stars on the trip home. The van is quite comfortable and we were never more than 45 minutes between bathroom opportunities. Count on Chris and Kailani for a tour to exceed your expectations on the Big Island.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Chris. We'd agree that he is a wealth of knowledge whose attention to detail and hospitality are truly Top-Notch! To hear our tour even exceeded your expectations is so incredible to us. Mahalo for your excellent review and recommendation! We hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Perfect day!

Reviewed by: msblock, 2013/10/14

What a wonderful day!
Everything was perfect. Make sure to have your camera ready, you will be taking many pictures!

The staff is very friendly and organized. As soon as you get there they will help you and schedule all the activities for the day.
My husband and I choose to do the Movie Sites & Ranch Tour, ATV (my favorite), Ocean Voyaging and Jungle Expedition.

If you are doing Horseback Riding or ATV, I recommend wearing long pants and closed toed shoes. I brought extra clothes just in case, and it was a good idea because was raining a lot during our jungle tour.

The day was perfect for sailing. The views are breathtaking and we even saw some turtles in the water!
The Movie Tour and Jungle Expedition are very informative, you have the chance to learn about the Ranch and Hawaii's history.

I would definitely come back and recommend this tour to everyone!
If you are planing to come to Hawaii, this is a must do attraction!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Excellent adventure

Reviewed by: Travel4fun Group, 2014/07/07

What a blast! We rode in the Teryx 4 seaters and everyone had a fantastic time. The staff was great (James and Marlon). They were very knowledgeable about the ranch and history of the island. It had rained heavy the night before and still a little rainy when we started out which made the adventure even more fun in the mud. We enjoyed it so much we went back the next week and did their 'Teryx and BBQ tour' with James, which was completely different from the waterfall tour. We saw other parts of the ranch plus the food was great. This tour is only on Wednesdays for no more than 6 Teryx and not advertised. On our second tour the roads were dry and DUSTY. It was still fun but you will get dirty. If You only had time for one tour, I recommend the waterfall tour. It's a 4 hour tour (the BBQ tour is only 3 hours) because you will see more parts of the ranch and will get to swim under a waterfall towards the end of your adventure.

Comments from activity operators

We are pleased to hear you had a great time out on tour! When you come back next time we hope you have a chance to come back. Thank you for including Kipu Ranch Adventures in your vacation to Kaua'i.

Mahalo,

Management

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Cool Views from the Top of the World!

Reviewed by: Ned from New Jersey, 2018/07/28

Our guide Jeff picked us up from the Pu'u Huluhulu Cinder Cone parking lot, at the base of the road up to the summit. We had a very nice pre-packaged dinner at the base camp, then rode up to the visitor center and onward to the observatories. A bumpy and steep ride, I was very happy to have an experienced driver at the wheel!
At the top the weather was cool and clear and good for viewing a sunset, then we went down to a slightly lower lot to view stars and planets through a good quality Celestron scope.... the clear air and high altitude really added detail! First time I have been able to make out the rings of Saturn, and four of Jupiter's moons were posing really well for us! Some really excellent deep space views too! Check out a cool image of the moon from the Celestron scope....

Highly recommended, especially if you live somewhere with so much haze and light pollution you don't get to see that stars that well!
Mahalo!!


  • A nearly full moon over Mauna Kea 27July2018

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Lanai Ferry and Jeep Adventure

Reviewed by: Bunky , 2015/07/27

All we can say is "WOW"!

First:
The Ferry ride to and from Lanai was, in itself, fantastic. We met some locals who couldn't have been nicer and saw an unreal sunset on the way home.

Next:
After we grabber our Jeep we hit Richards supermarket. Now, by this time in the trip we had eaten enough poke to get Mercury poisoning so when I tell you that Richrads Super Poke Bowl was the best we had. I mean it! Id go back just for that!

More!:
We hit Shipwreck beach which was beautiful. We made it to the Garden of the Gods and then to the beach beyond that....we did not see a SOUL out there. It really felt like we were on a deserted island.
Now, I do have to tell you, the drive is technical and you could get stuck. So be careful! There was a point where I had to lay some rocks and driftwood in the trail just to make it through.

All in all....it was an amazing day and I will go back to see the rest of Lanai as soon as I can.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/07/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]