This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Outdoor Adventures in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

2453 reviews

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

The highlight of our Kauai trip!

Reviewed by: Amy Ray - Olympia, WA, 2010/04/03

My boyfriend and I, plus another couple, had a fabulous day on Kipu Ranch with Kimo as our guide. We were lucky enough to have beautiful weather and a small group, both of which probably made the whole thing more fun. Kimo stressed safety, but we had plenty of opportunities to open our Rhino up a bit as well, and lots of bumpy terrain and hills to enjoy. He also shared great history about the area, and pointed out plenty of interesting plant and animal life. And the views! They are truly spectacular. Swimming in the river was a lot of fun, as was swimming in the pool at the waterfall. I recommend reapplying the bug spray as you're getting ready to swim, as the mosquitoes only seemed bad at the waterfall. To top it all off, lunch was delicious. After a morning of riding, it was a real treat to eat lunch outdoors in the sunshine with a small stream nearby. We would definitely do this again and would recommend it to almost anyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Horses, Guns, and Secret Island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/07/05

I really enjoyed horseback riding! Hadn't been on a horse in 25-year but it all came back to me. My horse minded VERY well. Thanks for the stairs to get on the horse. Kinda wished I had them to get back -- at 56 yrs old, I'm not as agile physically. I LOVED riding a horse again!!

Never shot a gun before. Out of 40 shots, I hit the target about 15 times, which surprised me. I liked all the safety features built into this activity. No way someone would accidentally shoot someone. Fabulous experience!

I was a little disappointed with the Secret Island beach beneath the water. Seaweed on the bottom was fine. It was rocky. Maybe they could have suggested to wear water shoes to the event. Water was great, although I expected it to be clear instead of muddy. Hammock was fun. They had lots of activities -- kayak, boats to row, volleyball, etc. I like how they provided the beach mats to lay on.

Overall a wonderful time!! Thank you!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

This is the Way to See the North Shore!

Reviewed by: MeSoHappy, 2015/03/25

I learned a lot about the history of the North Shore on this tour and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. Our guides Keola and Holly were knowledgeable in Hawaiian history and culture. They have exclusive access to this trail and I highly recommend going on this tour as you will not get the chance to see the North Shore like this with anyone else. It was a real treat for me. I appreciated that Keola asked for permission to enter the hiking trail in a traditional way.The hike itself was wonderful. We saw a lovely lehua blossom on the trail! The area is home to a number of rare native trees that I will leave to you to figure the name of. This hike is not for people who are out of shape. You will get a workout on the hike! If you appreciate learning about Hawaiian culture with legitimate information shared, the natural beauty of the North Shore, and to spend a day of your vacation in nature, this hike is for you. Way better than a luau!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu's Best Beach Horseback Riding Tour - Daytime & Sunset Rides (North Shore)

Great Horses!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/11/25

I had a great time at Hawaii Polo ride! I've been on a horse before at a different commercial ranch, so I wasn't expecting much. Usually the horses are pretty worn down, tired and boring. Oh boy, this wasn't the case at all. All the horses at Hawaii Polo Club are well trained professional polo horses, so they are young, strong, muscular and ready to trot. They are just gorgeous to look at!

Even the guide from Argentine was a professional polo player/trainer, so he knew all about the horses. (I didn't know that Argentine was the capital of polo!) He explained to us what to do and what not to do with the horse. I was a bit nervous first since the horse was a professional polo horse, and you know what they say about how the horse can feel your fear! But the guide made me feel relaxed, and I definitely enjoy the ride on the beautiful beach on North Shore.

This is highly recommended! Very romantic for couples for sure.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Daniel Ruymann, 2016/04/12

We just returned from Kona, Hawaii and had the opportunity to participate in 3 excursions from different operators. Our tour, specifically our tour guide, Jim Carey, was life changing. His knowledge, passion and enthusiasm made for a once in a lifetime experience that we will never forget. From Jim's storytelling, songs, narratives of the Hawaiian culture and history, throughout our 12 hour adventure that included stops at Rainbow Falls, Big Island Candies, Mauna Loa, Hawai'i Volcanoes National Park (with afternoon and evening viewings), hikes through lava tunnels, a fine dining experience, topped by an amazing stargazing experience, I was inspired by Jim Carey, which serves as a testament to the caliber of talent that Kailani Tour employees. I would highly recommend this tour and in particular, any tour with Jim Carey. I am blessed to have gone on this journey with him as our tour guide. Bravo to Jim and Kailani Tours.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an amazing day with Jim Carey! He is a wonderful guide whose Aloha shines through his stories, songs, and genuine love for Hawai'i. Jim's top-notch hospitality allows our guests to just sit back, relax, and enjoy the day! We are glad that you enjoyed all of our stops along the way and were able to get in some incredible stargazing! Mahalo for the amazing recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

ARE YOU IN SHAPE TO HAVE FUN????

Reviewed by: Magoo, 2013/11/25

What a terrific experience. PROVIDED, you are in reasonably good shape. Perhaps there could be oxygen bottles at all the takeoff platforms or maybe add elevators as the climb to the platforms was the most strenuous part for this 64 year old.
BUT WHAT A CREW!!!! First, Melissa in the office. Then, I must say to Ariel, Lionel and FP (She says Forest Princess and I say Forever Patient), you really made the tour enjoyable and special. There are ziplines everwhere but you three are unique.
This crew was not only very professional and safety conscious, they were FUN. Serious about their jobs with plenty of humor to lighten the mood and make me feel they really enjoy their work. My special thanks to FP, because in spite of my physical limitations, she allowed me all the time I needed for the physically challenging parts.
All three seemed genuinely concerned that everyone enjoyed themselves.
Given the opportunity, I'll be back!


  • Check out the shirt.


  • See what I'm talking about.


  • Just kickin' it.


  • What da ya think? Tough job?


  • Think I was kidding? Just kidding.


  • What a view!!!


  • Does that look fun or what.


  • THE FP, 'forever patient'. Say, what is your name anyway?


  • THE CREW!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Downhill Bike Ride & Outdoor Adventure Combos - Bike, Hike & Snorkel

M.D.

Reviewed by: Ken Mack, 2007/08/16

Rarely do I take the time to be a reviewer, but my family so enjoyed the bike, hike, sail, and snorkel combo that I felt compelled to give a review. The excursion starts with a high through a beautiful rainforrest. The guides were well prepared providing boots that were definitely needed for the muddy terrain, as well as mosquito repellant( A MUST!) and ponchos. My wife is recovering from ACL surgery 8 months ago and I was concerned she would not be able to complete the hike. We were able to go at a slower pace than the main group and the guides were very accomodating.
The bike ride comes next. It was very scenic and all downhill. You do mostly braking-coasting with very little peddling. Ending the day with the sail and snorkel is like icing on the cake. We got to see sea turtles up close while snorkeling!
I would highly recommend this outing and would definitely do this excursion again if/when I return to Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Fabulous Tour

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2016/04/24

My sister and I went on this tour with Jim Carey as our guide. We were picked up right from our hotel and then were gone all day. Jim was extremely knowledgeable about the Island of Hawaii as well as the folklore of the Hawaiian culture. It was fun to hear about all of the history of Hawaii and learn about the sites we were seeing, with such depth of knowledge that Jim brought. We stopped at Rainbow Falls (no rainbow, but the falls were wonderful). One aspect we both enjoyed a lot was going through one of the lava tubes near the volcano!

The lunch and dinner provided was excellent, we both enjoyed it. The whole tour was long - and by the end of the day we were tired, however we would recommend it to anyone wanting to learn about Hawaii and see many different sites along the way. Before heading back to the hotel we saw the lava glow located near the Jagger Museum, which was amazing to view at night. We had a great day!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a great day with Jim. He is a wonderful guide whose Hawaiiana stories have quickly become a guest favorite! We're glad that you enjoyed all of the stops and treats along the way. That majestic glow from the lava lake after dinner is truly an amazing sight that leaves a lasting impression! Mahalo for the kind words and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Party Bike - Kakaako Bar Hopping Tour

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Elizabeth , 2016/05/12

My fiancé and I originally booked this tour for my birthday but they had to reschedule us because they said we were mistakingly booked with a private party. Rescheduling meant that it was the last activity we did in Hawaii instead of the first like we planned before.
We arrived at the meet up point and we had to wait about 20 minutes for the bike to come to us. Our group completely filled all the spots on the bike which was good I think.
First bar was gastropub,my only complaint is that that brought out two checks for everyone to put their money in instead of splitting the bills per person or per party. But everything was still really great otherwise
2nd and 3rd bars were also great!
Also drink prices were very reasonable, we bought a half gallon of soju, 5 shots and a beer for less than $60 at one bar!
I would definitely recommend this to anyone who's looking to get their buzz on and check out some cool bars.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

North Shore Hike

Reviewed by: Ashley, 2015/06/07

I live here on the island and do a good amount of hiking. I thought this hike was pretty cool! Our guide, Nui, was extremely knowledgeable about the Hawaiian culture and plants in the area. The trail has TONS of strawberry guava and mountain apple trees along it. He pointed out plants that were native. He also pointed out the invasive plants, the problems they cause, and how or why they were brought here. It was very interesting! What made this hike special for me was is that we were hiing deep into the mountains where there aren't any houses or sign of urban development in view. This is quite rare for me. Most of the hikes I've done, known or less known, have some area that shows a city or buildings or concrete structures. Nui also stopped at a campsite to let us get some beautiful scenic pictures. This was my favorite part of the trip. The view of rows of ridges and the valley that we were hiking in was breathtaking.


  • The creek


  • Mountain apples


  • This is where you are probably guaranteed to get wet. We crossed the rocks on the way past but the way back was harder.


  • Cooling off on the way back :D

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Ashley,

Mahalo nui for your thoughtful and much appreciated review.

We are glad that you had a wonderful time, and you have taken great pictures of all the fun that you could have on our hike. We look forward to seeing out on our other tours as well!

Mahalo Nui Loa
Reid Oshiro

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Scenic Skydiving Tour Adventure by Pacific Skydiving Honolulu

Great experience with Pacific Skydiving Centre

Reviewed by: Xavier, 2014/01/29

I was delighted with the experience I had with this company that allow me to have my first jump ever not only safe and sound, but really enjoying every minute of it. After pick up at the hotel, we had aprox an hour drive to the airfield in North Shore.
After a safety video, my wife and I fortunately didn't have to wait that long to go to meet our instructors and cameraman (I remember that Colorado and Rob were mine respectively). They gave us a briefing on what to do during our jump and answer any questions, and we were ready to go.
We made the ultimate jump, and we were thrilled. The views of the island and the adrenaline you have during the jump are breathtaking.
Our instructors were very professional and made the best they could to give us a great experience and land safely (specially considering that there were some difficult winds during that morning).
I'd recommend anyone to do this jump with this company.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Safari Adventure - Zipline, Hike, Kayak & Waterfall Swim (from Poipu)

Great Activity

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2011/10/22

My husband and I were island-hopping on our honeymoon when we participated in the Zipline Safari with Hiking and Kayaking in Kauai. One of our guides said he felt it was his job to make us fall in love with his island, and this tour certainly helped us do that. The price was fair for all of the inclusions of the tour, and the lunch provided was more than enough food. We had never been kayaking, but the river was very smooth and calm, so we were able to keep up and didn't have any issues. The hikes, swimming spots, stories, and "history lessons" were amazing. I have never seen such a beautiful forest. The Zipline was awesome as well and our guides took every safety precaution necessary to make us feel at ease. I would definitely recommend this activity for anyone looking for a more physical adventure. Be sure to wear a bathing suit, sunscreen, and bring hiking sandals or water socks because you should definitely get wet!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Piiholo Ranch Zipline Tours in Makawao

Great Time! Lots of fun!!

Reviewed by: Family Vacation, 2010/09/09

On our recent trip to Maui, we let each of our teenage kids plan and book an event they wanted to do. Our youngest daughter (14) immediately knew Zip Line was her thing. She couldn't quite get herself to do it in Mexico so this was her chance to conquer her fear. And boy did she.

The zip lines at Piiholo Ranch were great! The area is beautiful. The 3 staff members we had were very good. Very focussed on safety and making sure everyone had fun.

We did the 4 line tour and it was just enough for us. About 2 hours in length. The first line is just a "warm up" and get comfortable with the concept of zip lining. It was very helpful for our kids so that they could relax and enjoy the other lines that take you over valleys and enjoy the ride and scenery.

We all got a great taste of zip line and enjoyed it all.

If you are considering it - DO IT!!! It is safe and fun. Anyone can do it. Conquer your fear!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour - ATV at Oahu's Jurassic Park Film Location & Other Sites

The BEST time I had in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Lisa T., 2009/04/29

This was my absolute favorite activity that I did in Hawaii. My husband and I were there for two weeks and did a lot and the ATV tour was by FAR our favorite.

The views from valley were unlike anything I had ever seen. If your looking for something to take your breath away Kualoa Ranch is where it's at. While there it was raining, which made it more fun. On that side of the island it rains a bit so be prepared for it. I believe they have ponchos there if you want them. But my hubby and I didn't and we got soaked which was fine by us.

Driving around in the ATVs was exciting. It was my hubby's first time riding one and he had a little trouble. But the instructors were friendly and took him under their wing a bit. After the two hours of amazing views and seeing all the wildlife they took us too a little field and let just drive around which was a lot of fun.

I will do this again on my next trip for sure.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Aloha! Bring your hiking shoes!

Reviewed by: Stoner, 2015/06/17

If your family is into the outdoors and adventure that is totally off the beat and path, book this tour. It is exclusive as the park is not accessible to the public. So you know, our family age ranges from 13 to 51. It was breathtaking- literally - not only from the views, but from the hiking. We hiked up the mountain trails crossing streams.
Our guides, Nui and Holly we very knowledgeable not only with the history but the plants and trees of the land.
The treat was to hike to a secluded pond and jump into the cool waters! Wow!
A bit of advice, wear comfortable shoes and water shoes are a must! Crossing the streams can be a bit challenging, as are some areas during the hike. Definitely grab a walking stick. It is about a 6 mile hike, 3 up and 3 back. All was about 6 hours.
Lunch is provided and we packed extra water. Nui and Holly were hands on assisting the entire hike. Awesome people! Mahalo!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much Stoner family for joining Nui and I, it was great meeting you folks! I'm so glad you all had fun, we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Thanks again!
Holly :)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Maui Oceanfront Trail Horseback Riding Tour at Mendes Ranch (Wailuku)

Horseback Riding

Reviewed by: Erica, 2013/09/17

I enjoyed the ride very much. It is a very beautiful ranch to see. I recommend taking the morning ride (the one we took), since it does get very hot as the day goes on. My horse was a very good follower and listened good. Our guild was fun, information, and funny. If we needed any kind of help he was right there when you asked. He also was a very good photographer for all of us when we stop to take pictures. I would also recommend being in the front so it isn't so dusty. I was in the back and got dusted out a few times so I just kept my distance from the person in front of me and it was fine after that. Did I mention how beautiful the views were? Also, the drive there seems like you've gone too far but you can't miss the gates with the Mendes Ranch name on it. Small parking lot so park by the entrance, for easy exiting. The whole staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely do this again!


  • View from the waiting area.


  • The horses for the ride.


  • Another view from on the ride.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2013/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Amazing guided diamond tour

Reviewed by: Jeff , 2018/06/15

Me and my wife booked a guided walking tour to the summit of diamond head crater with Oahu nature tours for June 12, our guide Tori was very friendly, knowledgeable and very informative, she went at a pace where we could all keep up and we stopped at a few spots along the way to take photo opportunities and to make sure everyone in the group was alright before continuing to the summit, once we arrived at the summit we had an unbelievable, breathtaking view of all of downtown Waikiki, she was more then willing to take pictures of me and my wife with the incredible picturesque views, once we got down we were all given certificates as a souvenir and a reminder of the achievement that we all accomplished, I would highly recommend booking a tour with Tori, she truly made one of our experiences here on Oahu a very memorable one, thank you so very much Oahu nature tours and a special thanks toTori.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4-Hour ATV Ride at Kipu Ranch - Picnic & Waterfall Swim Tour (from Lihue)

Great experience

Reviewed by: Lora Keller, 2014/07/09

This excursion was originally booked for my daughters 17th birthday celebration, as your description states that you only have to be 16 to drive with a valid drivers license ,however apon check in it was discovered that this policy changed over 2 years ago.
Rules are rules, and she was not allowed to drive.....HOWEVER......everyone bend over backwards to correct the situation and make my daughters day still special. It was hard
to stay upset as everyone did what they could do and did so quickly. While still on the ride, I got a voicemail from VELTRA apologizing for their error and that it was taken care of before we even returned .
The staff and guides were the nicest people and made the whole experience a wonderful one. Thank you to VELTRA for correcting your error so quickly....she can't wait till next time to be old enough to drive, and thank you to the staff for being so awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

Great value and views along this zipline

Reviewed by: Corly, 2018/04/14

Overall, very satisfied with the value of this trip. I have ziplined in Mexico and in Belize City, and this trip was very comparable in terms of value, excitement, and thrill.

The Hawaii zipline consisted of 7 lines, the first few were relatively short. Although short, breathtaking views. The last three were much longer, more scenic, and best of all, amazing view of a BEAUTIFUL waterfall! The day I went was very gloomy and did have some slight visibility issues due to fog, but the experience was amazing.

This was more expensive than my foreign ziplines, but as I mentioned, it was a great value for the experience relative to the other ziplines I have done.

Thinking back on what I could have paid for other Big Island adventures, no regrets on this trip and would ABSOLUTELY do this one again.

Lastly, the staff were great! Very expeditious, always safety first, and very friendly.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Honolulu Party Bike - Kakaako Bar Hopping Tour

Amazing night!

Reviewed by: Alex, 2017/08/01

This was such an adventure! We were with about 4 other couples and headed out near sunset to our first bar. Getting the bike up to speed is definitely a team effort but so fun. We were well entertained on the way to the first bar by music and loathe all around. When we got to the first bar we had two reserved tables and hundreds of drunk choices. The second bar had the best hefeweizen I've ever had! A coconut infusion type of hefeweizen. The third bar is a sort of Korean hole in the wall place. But none the less very interesting. We had Soju that was poured into a huge watermelon. That will for sure sneak up on you. Peddling back, waving at locals, having fun with cars in traffic, it was a great night to remember. We stayed out much later with most of the people we met on the bike tour and met back up at the first bar we went to. All in all this was a highlight of our anniversary trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hike Maui Rainforest Trails & Waterfall Swim - Best Hana Hiking Tours

Would Do This Hike Again

Reviewed by: rachgabe, 2017/04/06

This hike takes you through the rainforest side of Maui. Our guide, Sarah, was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer our questions about the plants and animals along our hike. The waterfalls were beautiful. The jumps into the pools were a lot of fun and the guides gave good instruction on jumping which made me feel confident. The food was substantial for the duration of the hike. We were provided bananas and pineapple, both which were delicious. I had the peanut butter and jelly sandwich, which was hearty for a PB&J. My husband had the turkey sandwich, and the slice of turkey was surprisingly thick making for a filling meal. Take advantage of the bug spray they provide. My husband didn't get bit, while I, not being as diligent with coverage, got a few bites. This was the last activity we decided to add to our itinerary and it turned out to be our favorite tour of our vacation.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/03/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Olu Ranch Horseback Riding Tour (Wailuku)

great fun

Reviewed by: kasing shum , 2015/06/01

We started around ten in the morning. It was a sunny day, you can feel the heat with the sun, make sure u have sun block on. Ranch owner greet us at the parking lot, walk us through the procedure. I highly recommend you to listen closely. He will teach you all the basic skill. Those horses are very gentle, so don't be afraid. They are clam as a cucumber. You don't have to Do anything most of the time. They are Well trained. You Just have to watch them about feeding on the side grass. They are very sneaky on grabbing a bite on the side. You Just have to Let them know you are watching and signal them before they grab the grass.We went across a stream and up the hill towards the valley. Owner provided a nice picnic. You Just have to be ready for some unexpected situation so you can communicate with the horse quickly. This is great activity and you get to see the whole west side.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Honolulu Waterfalls Hiking Tours with Expert Nature Guide

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Mamacita, 2011/05/29

We did the hike-only portion up to a waterwall. Beautiful rainforest hike on the way up, and impressively thick bamboo forest on the way back down. We appreciated that bug spray, water, and snacks were provided. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and patient with the occasional extra time it took our 6-year old daughter to navigate some slippery and steep areas. Bike Hawaii was understanding and flexible with us when we accidentally started on the wrong activity, and easily re-scheduled us to another day so we could enjoy the activity we meant to attend. I'm sure we will use their business again when we return to Oahu.

Sidenote: our transportation back to the hotel was a 6-seater vehicle, with 7 intended passengers. Much Thanks to the cab driver who insisted that it was not safe for me to simply "hold my daughter on my lap" for the return ride! I totally agree.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lihue Treetop Canopy Zipline Backcountry Adventure

Extraordinary Ziplining Experience

Reviewed by: Sue O, 2012/01/05

My family went on the ziplining tour and had a great time. My mom who is 75 years old probably had the best time of all. Our son is the only one who has been ziplining before and he really enjoyed it too.
The guides are very experienced and knowledgable and are very safety conscious.
The group had 11 people in it which was probably the best size to have, did not have to wait too long for your turn. The only bad thing was that in the beginning it was raining lightly so the pics did not turn out the best but as we continued zipping down the mountain the sun poked out in time for us to enjoy a nice picnic lunch in the valley.
The zipline site was unbelievable to see, so green and lush.
I would recommend this tour to everyone! I am afraid of heights but if you do not look down while on the platform your fears do not get to you. I felt very safe in the guides hands.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jurassic Valley Horseback Riding Tour at Kualoa Ranch

Wow!

Reviewed by: Donny, 2007/09/14

My husband and I had the pleasure of experiencing this excursion on September 8, 2007. Our guides Karen and Hana were great, they were very thorough with the instruction and were masters of matching up the horses with the guests. Karen was up front with us so i had more experience with her, she was pointing out all the movie location spots and actually stopped to pick us all fruit, she went on to explain some natural horse behaviors, cuz i was kinda nervous and she put me completely at ease. She was even nice enuff to stop and collect our cameras so that we can have a picture on our horses. The experience was great, the views were nothing short of breathtaking, the history of the ranch is a story worth hearing as well. I would definately do this again! Although it is nose to tail riding, you can NOT run the horses but its more about the scenery anyway! GREAT TIME!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Kaanapali Zipline Adventure

Super Fun Kaanapali Zipline Adventure

Reviewed by: Mary R., 2014/11/18

Awesome experience! Everything was first class and the location was beautiful. Our guides, Matt and Cliff, were amazing and they were super funny, detailed, careful, and made us feel like VIP;s. Our whole group agreed that those two made the whole thing amazing! The views were breathtaking and the weather was perfect. First time ziplining and I would totally recommend it to anybody especially through Veltra. Veltra made booking easy and also had no problem when we wanted to change to a ziplining adventure that was closer to our resort. Matt and Cliff reassured us that our novice level experience would not hinder our perfect vacation and they were completely right. If there is one adventure that cannot go missed while being in Maui, it must be ziplining Kaanapali. Two thumbs way up and look forward to trying all of the other adventures offered by Veltra in the future.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala 9-line Zipline Treetop Canopy Adventure

The canopy zipline rocked!

Reviewed by: K.L.M., 2016/07/26

My entire family had a blast zip lining through the tree canopies! Chris and Cassie were our guides and they were hospitable, informative and patient. It was our first time zip lining in such an environment-hundreds of feet in the air and we felt completely comfortable and confident in their hands. They provided us with water and snacks midway and at the conclusion of our adventure, including freshly picked bananas! They shared knowledge about the vegetation and geographical landmarks, as well as, insight into local eateries! Not only did we enjoy the various zip lines, but there were also suspension bridges and a final rappel to the ground. You also get to ride in a really cool armory jeep of some sort as you travel to and from the excursion. It surpassed our expectations and we were so glad to have chosen that adventure during our travels on The Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

What a view!

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2009/04/27

We really enjoyed our hike! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly! The trek is a lot more difficult than we expected! It states "moderate hike" but I feel that it is much more difficult. It was very hot and humid on the day we went. I would not recommend it for people with heart conditions,weight issues and leg or knee problems. If you are claustrophobic you may not like the tunnels that one has to go through.Bring plenty of water!!! There are close to 300 stairs to climb at the very top. Do not wear flip flops!! They state comfortable shoes but they should also state sturdy shoes like sneakers. Our group of 7 ranged in age from 8 to 63. Pace yourself and you will be fine. The SPECTACULAR view from the top makes it all worth while!! The snacks and drinks available for purchase on site after the hike were very reasonably priced. No gouging which was nice.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kipu Ranch 3-Hour ATV Ride - Ultimate Mountain Tour (from Lihue)

The Best ATV Tour!

Reviewed by: The Desio's, 2008/03/28

This was an amazing experience. We went in March with our 9 yr old son. My husband got a 4-wheeler and we got the Rhino. The guides were great, making sure everyone was safe before we got going. If someone was unable to operate safely, they would end up riding with the guides. Everyone in our group was respectful and followed the rules so we were able to get extra riding time. The stops were great, my son loved using the rope swing to jump into the river. The lunch spot was great, there was a kitten and small boars that would eat the left overs. The second waterfall was great, a little cold but worth getting in. We were able to see amazing scenery, the views were spectacular. We took some amazing pictures. This is a tour that you must experience. When we return we will definitely be doing this again. THANK YOU for an amazing experience that we will never forget.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oceanfront Horseback Trail Ride at Turtle Bay Resort

Great Riding Experience for Beginners

Reviewed by: Nunia T., 2018/06/05

This was our first time riding and it was such a great experience. My boyfriend and I were super pleased with the entire tour. From check in, to choosing our horse based on weight & ride experience, and riding through the trail and back to check out. All in all it was a wonderful experience that was definitely needed after a long busy week for the both of us. The staff members were awesome and they made sure that each guest was safe, and that each horse stayed in line so that it wont ride side by side and compete with the other horse. The scenery trail is breathtaking. We were able to ride through beautiful lush green forests, got to ride on the beach and seen a beautiful view of the ocean, and we also got to ride an open field of green grass. Definitely would recommend this relaxing horse ride to any couple that just wants to take time off their busy schedule.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha!
Thank you for joining us on the Turtle Bay Stables and for such a wonderful picture of the experience.
We are thankful to have great feedback. We hope that you will always remember the time you spent here and that you will return to Hawaii someday soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]