This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for All Hawaii Tours & Activities in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

14408 reviews

Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona)

大島一日旅遊: Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona) / Twilight Volcano & Stargazing Tour

Reviewed by: Fang Xing, 2018/11/13

我在計畫大島旅行前,從網站搜尋到其他人的分享,其中有許多人推薦從www.hawaiiactivies.com訂購行程,在大島的第一天抬頭看見星星已經吸引了我,我決定找一個可以看星星的行程。我們不打算租車,因此以有接送的行程為優先考量,11/08 我們試著在網上訂 Big island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner 的行程,這個行程包含接送,午晚餐!另外的優惠就是在行程後發文分享,可以有一位的50%退款反回! 當我們試著在網上訂這個行程,因為沒有找到小孩的訂購選項,而直接打電話由Ms. Nunia 協助,她在跟技術 部門溝通也確定多恩的年紀可以參加後,她打電話回覆我們,協助我們訂購2大一小(3Y5M) 的全日遊,謝謝她的幫助!第一次與這個公司交涉留下很好的印象!
11/10 我們的司機Chris 準時來接我們,在去接第二組客人時,他為我們講解沿路火山與海灘的景色,他是在這出生有少部分夏威夷原住民的血統,能遇到當地長大的居民做為我們的導遊,真是幸運!他從開始到行程結束始終掛著笑容為我們服務!
第一站是Kona 咖啡園: 在這裡我們繞了一圈咖啡園,可惜的是因為是周末,只有兩個烘培機器運轉著,途中還看見了Lava Tube,就是熔岩管,它是熔岩洞的一種,從這開始了對火山的認識。在這裡有各式免費咖啡的試飲,我試了Kona coffee medium roast 與有夏威夷豆口味所混合夏威夷咖啡,各有不同的風味!Chris 為我們在桌上準備了午餐,是亞洲式午餐有日本紫薯,魚片,雞肉與白飯,配上Kona的各式果汁! 是亞洲人喜歡的口味!
第二站到了黑沙灘看海龜:Chris 雖然不能保證是否看到海龜,一下車往海灘的方向,但我們非常期待,拉著兒子的小手往沙灘前進,踩在黑沙灘上是很特別的經驗,黑沙灘的沙是冷卻的岩漿經過風力與海水沖刷而成的,沙的顆粒很小摸起來很舒服,不過一會兒就看見一隻烏龜在沙灘上休息著,大家太过興奮靠近時,被在沙灘上的救生員喊ˇ著說”請給烏龜足夠的空間"! 在這地方有標示牌請大家給他們至少30ft 的空間,不可餵食也不可觸摸!在這片黑沙灘上是開著荷花的池塘,和諧地與海邊的景色共存著,非常美麗的景色.雖然只看見一隻海龜,還是非常值得.
第三站: 一連串的火山探險之旅,首先來到火山國家公園,Chris 分享著他在前幾個夜間所拍的照片,火紅的岩漿從洞口發出,非常驚人的景色,目前能見到的是火山停止噴發後不斷地發出的煙,這時候已經來到熱帶雨林區,天氣涼爽許多,再加上小雨落下,景色非常的特別,從海邊到山上,溫度驟降,但是貼心的Chris為大家準備了外套與雨衣,不需要擔心沒有帶外套,唯一的建議是要穿包腳的鞋子!
再來去看了crater lookout, steam vests,sea Arch 還有Chains of Craters Road.分別是火山口,蒸氣口,海邊拱門,最後在僅存的舊道路上欣賞熔岩經過的歷史痕跡! 如此接近因火山活動而產生變化的自然奇景,是來到大島時一定要參加的行程! 當我們站在舊有的道路上轉身往後一看在高處則是近期因火山活動留下的黑色的痕跡,在這Chris 找出各式不一樣型態的殘留物,仔細講解著,真的是更認識了大島!
第四站:在最後一站觀星之前,我們到了Lava Cafe享用晚餐,當魚補獲的魚排餐,牛仔骨分別配上土豆尼與白飯,兒子吃的是炒粉,免費的飲料,大家都吃得很飽! 估計是全車的亞洲客人而特別預備的餐點,接著到了Mauna Kea State Park 觀星,
一下車就已經能清楚看見滿天的星斗,透過Chris 架設的高倍望遠鏡看到了火星,邱比特星跟月球.同行有人看見了流星!
我真心推薦大家參加這個行程,不論你是一個人,兩人或親子行,都能享受從行程中帶來的樂趣與各樣的驚喜!




  • sea orch



  • our tour guied-Chris


  • black sand beach


  • our shuttle


  • kona coffee


  • national volcano park

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona)

大島一日旅遊: Big Island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner (from Kona) / Twilight Volcano & Stargazing Tour

Reviewed by: Fang Xing, 2018/11/19

我在計畫大島旅行前,從網站搜尋到其他人的分享,其中有許多人推薦從www.hawaiiactivies.com訂購行程,在大島的第一天抬頭看見星星已經吸引了我,我決定找一個可以看星星的行程。我們不打算租車,因此以有接送的行程為優先考量,11/08 我們試著在網上訂 Big island Twilight Volcano Tour & Stargazing with Dinner 的行程,這個行程包含接送,午晚餐!另外的優惠就是在行程後發文分享,可以有一位的50%退款反回! 當我們試著在網上訂這個行程,因為沒有找到小孩的訂購選項,而直接打電話由Ms. Nunia 協助,她在跟技術 部門溝通也確定多恩的年紀可以參加後,她打電話回覆我們,協助我們訂購2大一小(3Y5M) 的全日遊,謝謝她的幫助!第一次與這個公司交涉留下很好的印象!
11/10 我們的司機Chris 準時來接我們,在去接第二組客人時,他為我們講解沿路火山與海灘的景色,他是在這出生有少部分夏威夷原住民的血統,能遇到當地長大的居民做為我們的導遊,真是幸運!他從開始到行程結束始終掛著笑容為我們服務!
第一站是Kona 咖啡園: 在這裡我們繞了一圈咖啡園,可惜的是因為是周末,只有兩個烘培機器運轉著,途中還看見了Lava Tube,就是熔岩管,它是熔岩洞的一種,從這開始了對火山的認識。在這裡有各式免費咖啡的試飲,我試了Kona coffee medium roast 與有夏威夷豆口味所混合夏威夷咖啡,各有不同的風味!Chris 為我們在桌上準備了午餐,是亞洲式午餐有日本紫薯,魚片,雞肉與白飯,配上Kona的各式果汁! 是亞洲人喜歡的口味!
第二站到了黑沙灘看海龜:Chris 雖然不能保證是否看到海龜,一下車往海灘的方向,但我們非常期待,拉著兒子的小手往沙灘前進,踩在黑沙灘上是很特別的經驗,黑沙灘的沙是冷卻的岩漿經過風力與海水沖刷而成的,沙的顆粒很小摸起來很舒服,不過一會兒就看見一隻烏龜在沙灘上休息著,大家太过興奮靠近時,被在沙灘上的救生員喊ˇ著說”請給烏龜足夠的空間"! 在這地方有標示牌請大家給他們至少30ft 的空間,不可餵食也不可觸摸!在這片黑沙灘上是開著荷花的池塘,和諧地與海邊的景色共存著,非常美麗的景色.雖然只看見一隻海龜,還是非常值得.
第三站: 一連串的火山探險之旅,首先來到火山國家公園,Chris 分享著他在前幾個夜間所拍的照片,火紅的岩漿從洞口發出,非常驚人的景色,目前能見到的是火山停止噴發後不斷地發出的煙,這時候已經來到熱帶雨林區,天氣涼爽許多,再加上小雨落下,景色非常的特別,從海邊到山上,溫度驟降,但是貼心的Chris為大家準備了外套與雨衣,不需要擔心沒有帶外套,唯一的建議是要穿包腳的鞋子!
再來去看了crater lookout, steam vests,sea Arch 還有Chains of Craters Road.分別是火山口,蒸氣口,海邊拱門,最後在僅存的舊道路上欣賞熔岩經過的歷史痕跡! 如此接近因火山活動而產生變化的自然奇景,是來到大島時一定要參加的行程! 當我們站在舊有的道路上轉身往後一看在高處則是近期因火山活動留下的黑色的痕跡,在這Chris 找出各式不一樣型態的殘留物,仔細講解著,真的是更認識了大島!
第四站:在最後一站觀星之前,我們到了Lava Cafe享用晚餐,當魚補獲的魚排餐,牛仔骨分別配上土豆尼與白飯,兒子吃的是炒粉,免費的飲料,大家都吃得很飽! 估計是全車的亞洲客人而特別預備的餐點,接著到了Mauna Kea State Park 觀星,
一下車就已經能清楚看見滿天的星斗,透過Chris 架設的高倍望遠鏡看到了火星,邱比特星跟月球.同行有人看見了流星!
我真心推薦大家參加這個行程,不論你是一個人,兩人或親子行,都能享受從行程中帶來的樂趣與各樣的驚喜!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Bruce's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Private Boat

最高でした!

Reviewed by: Yumimin, 2018/08/22

まずは、ボートで数分走って、サンドバーを散歩しながら説明を聞いたり写真撮影などをします。
プライベートなので、人の少ない所に連れて行ってもらえるため、写真撮影では他の人が映らない景色をたくさん撮影することができました。そのあと、サンドバーの近くにあるシュノーケリングスポット(ちょうど水深が深くなるところ)に移動して、希望者はシュノーケルをしました。大きな魚がたくさんいました。
お腹がすいてきたので、船上でランチです。同じツアー会社の大人数を乗せる船も催行しており、そこで焼いたカルビやソーセージも頂き、最後は、ウォーターアクティビティーを楽しみました。3時間は長すぎるかと思いきやあっという間に楽しい時間が過ぎ去ってしまいましたが、非常によい思い出になりました。

昼食用のごはんや飲み物は、とっても美味しく満足のいく量があります。お酒を3缶持っていき、氷がたくさん入ったアイスボックスで冷やしてもらいもらえました。
シュノーケルセットは、透明度が高く海の中がくっきり見え、視力が弱くても海の中ではきれいに見えます。

6人いるなら絶対にプライベートボートがおすすめです。
さわやかで優しい日本人女性ガイドさんと、若々しく機転を利かせながらもてなしてくれるキャプテンの2名が、きめ細やかな対応をしてくださいました。写真もたくさん撮影してくださるし、子供のわがままにも応えてくれ(早く次に行きたい、あれがやりたいなど)ました。シュノーケルする前に、シュノーケリングの基本を教えてくださり、ガイドさんは常にライフセーバー用の浮き棒をもってシュノーケルのところまで一緒に来てくださるので、いつでも安心です。本当にどうもありがとうございました!


  • 海の色がターコイズブルー。


  • 陸から離れたこの場所でも水深が非常に浅くなっています。


  • 潮が満ち始めてきた水深数センチのSandbarです。


  • キャプテンが船上での昼食準備しています。


  • ちょうど日本食が恋しくなるころに出てくるおにぎりや空揚げは最高です。

Comments from activity operators

アロハ!キャプテンブルース貸し切りツアーご参加ありがとうございました。
Yumimin様のレポート、自分のところのツアーなのになんかドキドキワクワクして参加したくなっちゃいました(笑)。
またぜひ遊びにいらして下さいね。マハロ!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2018/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Swim with Wild Dolphins Cruise - Snorkel, Kayak, SUP, 20-Foot Water Slide

A morning on the *Swim with Dolphins Ocean Fun Cruise.*

Reviewed by: Bruce Randolph, 2018/06/30

We’ve been on snorkeling cruises in the past (some out of Waianae Boat Harbor) but never with this company. We visit Hawaii often (my wife was born and raised in the islands) we view island activities with a critical eye. This was a super dolphin/snorkel trip. The cruise is on a smaller boat, which has the advantage of offering a smaller group of people, a more intimate experience, and a little more adventurous ride - I like all three. Staff on these boats are there to 1. Offer safety 2. Offer service and 3. Offer fun and adventure. The Dolphin’s and You staff were excellent on all counts. I’ve seen the “fun” part on other boats get a little smarmy, but the staff on this boat really did a great job of encouraging people to participate and enjoy themselves without being overly “slick” or pushy. They also had some talented people who shared music I found enjoyable.
I take my own pictures with underwater stills and video. The videographer/photographer on the trip did a super job and was kind enough to show me some great shots while still attending to everyone on board. I wish I could say that about all the snorkeling/watching tours we’ve been on.
Overall I’d say this was a really good trip - for anyone - experienced or novice. Tips: If you have motion sickness, or aren’t sure if you have motion sickness, take dramamine. Do it. Take sunscreen - Use it. If you’re not familiar with photography (above and below water) leave your gear at home. Experience the trip and allow the professional the ship provides offer you some of the best shots you’ll ever see - most likely better images than you can take yourself. Fooling with gear and worrying about taking pictures, will detract from the memories you can make just being in the water and seeing the amazing things the crew will show you.
There are lifetime memories you can take away from a half-day trip like this. It might *seem* pricey to some, but I assure you that it is worth every cent and you’ll be ready for more.


  • Saw spinner dolphins, turtles and a wonderful variety of sealife

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Bruce! Thank you so much for your sincere 5-Star review.
We so appreciate you taking the time to offer this genuine feedback and to provide tips for other guests. We agree with your suggestions on all counts! Coming from a guest who has been on many tours and a photographer, this review means a lot. We invite you to come and try out our waterfall hike tour Nature and You or our circle-island tour Island and You on one of your trips back to the island, as well!
Mahalo and A Hui Hou Kākou!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

THIS TOUR COVERS IT ALL!!!! SUPERB!!!!

Reviewed by: nwc, 2016/04/06

The booking process so easy – one simple phone call. The tour provides lunch, dinner, snacks, EVERYTHING you’ll need.

Jim Carey was our guide, and was EXCELLENT in EVERY WAY. “Uncle Jim” was very accommodating and went out of his way to ensure guests were comfortable. We were amazed at Jim’s knowledge of island history & Hawaiian culture. As we traveled, Jim educated us on island facts, myths, and legend. He recounted many great tales of Hawaiian lore,with enthusiasm and energy. Jim loves his job and entertaining his guests.

The tour began with a trip to Mauna Kea and picnic lunch. After, we headed to Hilo and stopped at a lava field. Next stops were Rainbow Falls, Kamehameha Statue and Big Island Candies for a snack. After Hilo, we went to Volcanoes National Park while Jim told us history of the island’s volcanoes. Jim is as much a geologist as tour guide. We pulled over to see “steam vents”, and then to the viewing area and the Volcano Museum and gift shop.

On the way to dinner, we stopped at the Thurston Lava Tube. The tube was well lit, but Jim made sure we were armed with flashlights. We exited through a “skylight” and made our way back.

We ate at the Kilauea Lodge, a quaint restaurant. Meal was top-notch. Back to Volcanoes Park at dark. Jim had high-powered binoculars and we viewed spewing lava. The temp dropped, and Jim was ready w/hot chocolate.

We made one last stop to do some stargazing. For someone who had never viewed the stars in the blackened sky of Hawaii, I was astounded. The sky was FULL of stars – thousands of them that I’ve never seen before. It was like visiting a planetarium, in real life.

In conclusion, we highly recommend this excursion for anyone interested in a comprehensive tour that covers everything you would want to see on the Big Island, in one feature-packed day. If Jim is available, as for him by name. He was the best tour guide we’ve ever had – on any tour, on any island, country or continent.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such an excellent day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide whose Hawaiiana stories have quickly become a favorite among our guests. His top-notch hospitality allows everyone to just sit back, relax, and enjoy the day! We are so glad that you enjoyed all of the stops along the way and were able to get some stargazing in, as well. It truly is breathtaking to see such an abundance of stars and we totally agree that it's like standing in a real-life planetarium! Mahalo for the amazing recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

The Most Relaxing Informative Tour on the Island

Reviewed by: Casey, 2016/03/01

My husband and I recently took a Kailani Tours Hawaii trip to Kilauea Volcano. It was a very pleasant experience and probably one of the best tours we’ve ever done.

After driving about 90 minutes, we stopped to have a very nice box lunch at a rest stop near the military base. The lunches were prepared by a nice restaurant in Kona. Place mats were even provided to put on the picnic tables!

This was a tour in itself, as we were able to sample many different treats. We were even able to watch the employees preparing the cookies through a large glass wall. Everything we tasted was delicious except for the chocolate dipped squid that we thought was coconut!! I think one needs to develop a taste for the combination of chocolate and squid.

As we got closer to the volcano, the weather got progressively worse. Chris, our driver, was very adept at adjusting our schedule so that we took best advantage of the time we had. We stopped at the Rainbow falls lookout and took a short walk along the falls til we got to the huge banyan tree.

We went to the Kilauea Lodge for dinner. This looked to me to be a five star hotel and restaurant just outside the park. We were allowed to choose between a New York steak, fresh catch of the day, or a vegetarian dish.

After dinner we went back to the volcano to see it after dark. Thankfully, Kailani Tours provided very comfortable and warm Lands End parkas. Even though we were told to bring jackets, the ones we took were not warm enough as the winds were blustery, making the 45 degree weather seem much colder. We went to the lip of the Calderra where the view of the glowing lava was awe-inspiring.

As a final treat, we were given a short stargazing opportunity when we were about halfway home. The entire experience lasted from approximately 10:00 am to midnight. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about everything on the island, the volcano, and constellations and was very good at passing that knowledge along to us.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time with Chris. He is an awesome guide whose attention to detail really allows our guests to just indulge in the experience! He always makes sure that everyone has the best time possible. What an experience the chocolate squid must have been! I don't believe I've quite developed a taste for that either, but what a story to tell! Hopefully, the amazing dinner at Kilauea Lodge made your taste buds happier. Mahalo for the excellent review and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

This tour was AWESOME! Adam and Jim were incredible and we feel lucky to have had them as our guides.

Reviewed by: Robin and Gary, 2017/12/21

Our guides made our 12 hours together seem too short and they went above and beyond to make our day the best ever. Both were extremely knowledgeable about virtually any Hawaiian subject. They picked us up precisely on time and we started our day. We were taken to a lava flow surrounded by mountains that went on as far as the eye could see. Just our first stop of seeing mother nature at its finest. We continued on to a park for a gourmet box lunch that was obviously freshly made and to get to know our tour mates better. The views and fresh air were wonderful. The Hawaiian gods of weather were certainly shining down on us. Off again for a tour around the quaint town of Hilo where we enjoyed the statue of King Kamehameha and a stop at a candy shop. We then went on to Rainbow Falls with its beautiful waterfall and scenery. We stopped along the way at steam vents from the volcano. Ladies, if you want a facial, that's the place to go. Volcano National Park was amazing. The Visitor Center had a great museum and showed us the history of the crater. This was just a preview as we would return later for a nighttime view. Leaving the crater we visited the naturally formed lava tube used in the filming of the rolling boulder scene in Raiders of the Lost Ark. The ferns at the park were also used as a backdrop for scenes from Jurassic Park. We were treated to dinner at the Kilauea Lodge in Volcano, Hawaii. Fabulous. After dinner we returned to the crater to view the night time glow and star gaze. We were able to get a glimpse of the lava pool where the level varies 100s of feet over a few days' time. Jim talked about the stars and pointed out several constellations. It was definitely a once in a lifetime view. Throughout the entire trip our hosts provided almost continuous commentary on the history, stories, customs, flora and fauna of Hawaii. A total 1st class experience and the highlight of our trip to Hawaii. We would definitely do this tour with them again. Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Winery, Punalulu Black Sand Beach & Waterfalls Island Tour (from Kona)

Best way to see the island in one day!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2015/10/13

Tour was fun and educational! Marcus was an amazing guide, very informative and full of knowledge! Would definitely recommend this tour.

We were picked up in Kona then drove north to pick up other passengers on the tour. On our way there, we could immediately see these huge acres of lava rocks and we learned that these were formed during the eruption of Mt. Hualalai.

We took the Saddle Road to Hilo which took us a good 2.5 hours of a drive so make sure use the restroom before your pick-up. We only had one bathroom break in between. It was an interesting drive as we were able to view different landscapes; from green pastures to plain black; different climates from hot humid, to breezy wind, then drove through clouds to pouring rain as we were approaching Hilo. Our first stop was at Rainbow Falls, and it was beautiful! Then, we drove to the Akatsuka Orchid Gardens and saw great assortment of gorgeous orchids! This is also where we stopped for lunch, my tuna sandwich was huge and delicious!!

Finally, our visit to the Volcanoes National Park! We got to view the Kilauea Iki Crater and walked through a small trail full of ferns, and blooming flowers that I've never seen before. We also visited the Thurston Lava Tube, the experience here is just amazing and unique! It's pretty steep though so make sure you are in your comfortable shoes. Then, we were off to steam vents, where we could see smoke coming out from the ground. The Jagger Museum was absolutely informative and I liked it that it was placed right next to the crater with such an amazing view of the Halemaumau Crater! Maybe when I return one day, I would come here at night to see the glow of lava.

We also stopped by Punalu'u Black Sand Beach, another unique place I've seen where we also had a free coffee tasting! Then finally, a visit at Na'alehu, the "Southern Most in the USA" and made sure to taste the popular malasadas and cream puffs at Punalu`u Bake Shop, just perfect to end the day..Soo Yummy!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

WOW what a awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Steven, 2015/06/10

So you wanna see movie sets... this is the tour you wanna visit.

ok so the start of it was a bit confusing, you get on a bus with many other tourists inc non English speaking people, but thats expected, but when the tour guide starts talking in their language first...not sure. anyways they were explaining what the difference options to visit on the ranch.

we did ATV, Movie guide and jungle safari but other options inc sail and island hide away. the ATV is good but sucks when it rains like it did for us, was wet but they did provide ponchos but the seats got wet and our butts and pants were wet for the rest of the day. about a 30mins tour up and around the valley with 1 stop up near the mid valley looking down, yeah nice view, but they could have taken us to some movie sights that are not on the movie guide that we went on next. theres a million movies and tv filmed here and many not visited so they could have stopped us at them.

The Movie guides was great, Visited the site of Jurassic Parks tree stump for some pics, then drove past the lost golf field, also saw a few Godzilla foot prints, would have been good to stop and get pics there, the movie guide also took in some history about the ranch as well as the farming they do (it is a cattle ranch after all!)

After a very well stocked and yummy lunch we did the Jungle Safari in what simply put a Safari bus, which was also used for the Jurassic World bus as seen in the trailer so that was cool to know, went up into the jungle was rough and bounch so it added to the Safariness, we stopped at a few film locations inc the new Jurassic World Science building, it was fenced off but got a chance to take pics. up into the jungle and more little hidden spots were films and TV were filmed and to the top of the valley, good view and ics taken and then it was back to the gift shop, i thought there would be more LOST but i guess for licensing reason they cant sell things.
it was a great tour, well worth what we paid.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

The best snorkel trip ever!

Reviewed by: Traci & Shawn W, 2015/03/02

Our family returned from Maui less than a week ago. We squeezed in a lot of outings and adventures in our time there, but the 7 of us all agreed the snorkel trip was by far the highlight of our vacation! We have been on a few other snorkel excursions over the years, but the Dolphin Watch & Snorkel BBQ Lunch Cruise far exceeded our expectations. We were very fortunate that there were only a couple dozen people on the boat so it was quite personable. We were greeted warmly with a light breakfast of fruit and pastries. Weather wise, we could not have picked a better day!
We had anticipated to see some whales, but WOW is all I can say! Capt Lily was genuinely as excited to see the things we saw even though I'm sure she's seen them all dozens of times before. She was very knowledgeable and stopped often, positioning us for the best viewing as the whales were so active. We also saw spinner dolphins which was exciting. We boated out to Lanai and had the opportunity to snorkel in two different places. At our first stop the kids saw numerous fish and were lucky enough to see a sea turtle! Our second stop was at Sweetheart Rock where there were a ton of different fish. The boat had a slide that a few people took the opportunity to enjoy.
The staff was extremely friendly and professional and went out of their way to ensure everyone was comfortable. They had noodles and boogie boards for those that weren’t strong swimmers. There were always a minimum of two staff in the water with us, often more.
We were treated to a lunch BBQ’d right on board! We enjoyed burgers, hot dogs, potato salad, fruit, chips and alcoholic/non-alcoholic beverages. One of our kids is a vegetarian, and they were able to accommodate her with a veggie burger without prior warning.
The total excursion was 6.5 hours and flew by! Everyone enjoyed every minute of it and we will all have great memories for years to come! Thank you to the wonderful staff for making our day truly memorable!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Wonderful experience. Must Go!

Reviewed by: Yuki, 2016/05/06

We started the morning with very warm welcome with big smile of the guide in front of our hotel lobby. His name was Jim Carey. Since we were Japanese visiting from Japan, he was concerned about the tour being conducted in English. We said we were Okay, try to keep up. He kindly told us that he would try to speak.
As we started the actual tour and as we picking up the more new guests, he explain the schedule of the day again and again. so everybody know how that day is gonna be.
As we were on the move, he had full of stories of scenic locations, Hawaiian history and cultures.
At the lunch, we had Pick-nick lunch at the base of Mauna Kea, we had the Chicken Caesar wrap at very fine environment. When it was time to go, Jim was not calling out the guest but he was playing songs with the Ukulele to let people know that it is time to go, what a kind way to notify!!

After that we went to Hiro, there we did not have much time to stop so Jim was explaining lots of stuff as he drove by. Then after that we went to the Rainbow Fall, although we could not see the rainbow, it was beautiful fall.
Then here comes the main event, the volcano. We visited the steam vent and couple of other scenic points and a little hiking it was very interesting and felt really good to hike in unusual volcanic environment. Only thing was that rain came and went repeatedly. Then we moved to the location of Lava tube. It was awesome!! Here also, Jim had a wonderful stories to tell. We learned a lot of stuff from him.
Then we moved to the lodge/Restaurant for the dinner. Surprisingly the dinner was much better quality than we expected. After the dinner, when we got out of the restaurant, it was dark but very clear sky, we went back to volcano and saw lava splash and million stars with Jim's stories. Totally different face the volcano showed us from earlier that day.
All activities were finished and on the way back to the hotel, we are so tired and fell asleep. Best tour ever!!


  • at the Lava tube


  • after the pick-nick lunch.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. His love for Hawaii shines through his songs and stories of the islands. It sounds like you folks had no problem keeping up and really enjoyed your day! Excellent! Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

7-Line Skyline Akaka Falls Zipline Adventure

An amazing waterfall and a day of fun!

Reviewed by: Alyssa, 2014/12/22

We had a great time zip lining! This was my second time zip lining (first time in Sonoma) and my husband's first time. Our amazing guides Brian and Nainoa helped make our day memorable and zip lining easy for everyone. One recommendation for anyone prone to mosquito bites: bring mosquito gel or something for your exposed arms/legs! I sprayed two layers of OFF on my legs and came out of the first two lines with about 14 bites on my legs. The company provides OFF spray for you to use before you head up the bumpy road to the first line, but it doesn't quite work. I recommend wearing pants/long sleeve clothes that breathes as well as using bug spray as it is very humid there. If you bring your smart phone, I'd recommend bringing something to wrap around your wrist. If you have a regular camera, you can strap it around your neck or wrist. They have water to drink as you go through the course, so no need to bring a bottle along.

The course has seven lines for you to travel on, with the first two being very beginner friendly through the banana trees. As you progress throughout the zip lines, they get longer and the terrain clears up a bit. The guides find wild fruit that is growing on the course and pick it for you to eat. We had apple bananas, two types of guava (one pink and one small, sweet yellow guava), tomatoes, and a sip of white ginger flower nectar. The last two lines are by far the best. Second to last, you travel over the river before the waterfall and is the last line where you can practice your "steering". The last line you just let gravity take you down as you take a nice long ride, with an amazing view of the waterfall, to the end of the course. When you reach the bottom of the line, they have more fresh fruit and sugar cane all cut up, ready to enjoy! We would definitely go back!

One thing is the equipment can get a little smelly. Not sure how much it gets wiped down (my harness smelled sour and helmet left me sweating brown stuff).

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Zipline Tour, ATV Ride & Climbing Adventures at Coral Crater

Epic day of adventure for my girlfriend and I!

Reviewed by: Mike, 2018/10/01

We had a blast at Coral Crater! We booked the ultimate package that included zipline, tower,and ATV and it was so worth it! The day started off zip-lining. We had zip-lined at a few other places here which I remember being somewhat bored. This wasn't the case here. The lines fly through the tree top and it definitely felt a lot faster than our previous zip tour. No one got stuck on the lines because you go more than fast enough! I wish I was able to post some of the video here! After zip-lining we had a much needed hour break for lunch before the tower activity. It does get very hot as the adventure park is literally built into a crater and is protected from the wind. Taking a break to cool off and drink lots of water was very nice. The tower was a ton of fun, some obstacles were pretty easy while others were fairly challenging. I am not a climber so being up in the air really took me out of my comfort zone which made even the simple obstacles exciting! The safety equipment they use is top notch, high-end gear, so when you do fall you can rest easy knowing that you are safe.There was a 3rd grade boy in the group who was flying through the course, his parents (not old) could barely keep up! So its safe to say this great for kids. The most intimidating part is the "freefall" from 70 ft using the auto-belay device.It looks terrifying but is actually pretty fun. The climbing wall was a lot of fun also. We all got to take as many attempts as we wanted. I made it up to the bell both times I went and was exhausted after that. The final activity was ATVs. These are not normal ATVs, they are custom 800cc v-twin mid-engine off-road machines. I had a blast drifting and sliding the ATV around. I got the ATV almost sideways multiple times and at one point we almost hit 30MPH! This is not a slow, sightseeing ATV ride, so do not expect that. Driving skill will play a role in how exciting this ATV is. If you want to tear up the trail and get dirty, these are the ATVs to do it on!


  • Loved the tandem zip


  • Zipping through the trees


  • The tower!


  • Climbing wall was definitley a challenge but I made it to the top!


  • Tore it up in an 800cc mid-engine off-road machine!

Comments from activity operators

Mike, Thanks for the kind review. It was great having you at the park and we hope to welcome you back for another fun time.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Romantic & Beautiful

Reviewed by: NoName, 2015/11/03

Let me start off by saying I NEVER post reviews...which I need to work on because I am always checking them out before I do/buy things. This was my boyfriend & I first trip to Hawaii so we were very excited! We chose the Five Star package because of the jazz music (we attended a luau the night before & did not want to have the same theme).

They picked us up from our hotel at 4:30 pm. From the very beginning we were treated like VIP. We were led to the top deck to have champagne & o'dourves with the captain. We also got to take a professional pic with the captain, which was cool. After that, we were led to our seat inside the ship. We had a window seat & loved it. We were a little worried about getting seasick, but it wasn't a problem. I was a little concerned about the food at first because neither one of us are into fancy food, but it was pretty good (as stated before we chose that package specifically for the music). Instead of the lobster we chose a stuffed chicken option which was my favorite! For our steak entree we asked that it was cooked well done & it was the most tender steak ever! Throughout the dinner you can step outside as you please to feel the breeze, take in the views, & take pics.

The ambiance was beautiful! There was a live pianist, saxophonist/flutist, & singer. They were great! In the end they gave us the photo we took with the captain in a nice album cover with a pic of the ship on the water. Also, all of the ladies were given a rose. The only thing I WISH I would have did was asked for another copy of the photo so my boyfriend & I can both have one :-( I didn't even think about it until we returned back to our home state. I called 3 days later to see if we could get a copy; they sent an email to the photo dept. but almost 2 weeks later & I still haven't heard anything.

Overall, I highly recommend! This is perfect for a romantic date night! The cruise lasted about 2 hrs. This was a great way to end our trip in Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

It's always a wonderful experience with Star of Honolulu!

Reviewed by: Ms. Ems, 2015/05/01

It's my 3rd time with Star of Honolulu and they never fail to amaze me!
I was greeted with a beautiful smile by Kathleen at the ticket office. She was very nice, friendly, and it seems like she was enjoying her job. Before we boarded, the dancers are always very entertaining, a unique way to welcome their guests (yes, I've been to other dinner cruises and only Star of Honolulu has this great idea).
At the boat, here comes the cheerful and very energetic Freddie, who took us to our table. He didn't realize there were eight (8) of us but he was able to accommodate us right away having our own table by the window! He is the Assistant Floor Manager and I was really impressed with his friendliness and bright personality, he is funny too! The couples that we were with are visitors from Canada, celebrating their Silver Wedding Anniversary. I forgot to mention this special occasion when I made the booking so I told Freddie if there’s a way he can announce it after dinner. Knowing how busy they were, I never expected it to happen but I was extremely happy and grateful that he didn't forget. After the Polynesian entertainment, he immediately pulled my couple family towards the stage to make their dance. All the other couples, honeymooners, anniversary celebrants, followed. It was an honor!! Thank you so much Freddie for that, it was a memory of a lifetime for my family.
I would also like to give credit to Jay, who was our server that night, in fact all the crew members because they know how to take care of their guests, they're fast and attentive! The One Star package is not bad at all, I actually like this better than the Three Star believe it or not and IT'S ALL YOU CAN EAT CRAB LEGS!! Yummy! The steak was delicious also, so tender and juicy!
Will definitely cruise with Star of Honolu again and again! True "Aloha" spirit..good impression for those visiting the islands for the first time...greatly satisfied with the services they offer. Thumbs up SOH!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Sunset Dinner Sail, Honolulu City Lights & Fireworks on Fridays

Relaxing, Chill, Perfect!

Reviewed by: Kiennan, 2018/01/04

A friend and I both took our ladies on a surprise sunset cruise with Makani Catamaran and it was fantastic. It was definitely one of those experiences that was so much fun time flew right by.

The great thing about this catamaran cruise is that you launch out of Kewalo Basin on a slip, not off of a beach like some Waikiki cruises. This means that if you want you can really dress however you like- shoes, jeans, dresses.

Once you get on the boat, you're introduced to the crew and they go through the obligatory house-keeping topics: Crew introductions, location of bathrooms, safety items, where you can go on the boat, etc. Then they go over how food and drinks work.

Food for us was a buffet of five items: Veggie/tofu wraps, rice, potatoes, shoyu(soy sauce) and ginger chicken- which was the best in my opinion, and beef stir fry. Each item had one tray's worth of food, which was easily enough to satisfy everyone on board, although I don't believe there were any left overs. I've read reviews stating the food was a little nicer than Panda's Express, and that seems like a very fair statement.

The cruise came with one free drink. On the boat non-alcoholic drinks are $2 and alcoholic drinks are $6, and the more alcoholic ones like Long Island Iced Teas are $8. You can buy a commemorative cup for $8 which holds about twice as much as the disposable cups you would get otherwise. Our bartender made good recommendations based on what flavors I told him we were looking for.

The best part is just being out at sea with the people you're with. Aside from the crew instructions at the beginning, it's very hands-off. You just wander around the ship enjoying your company and great views. Although it can get a little windy, it's quiet enough that you can converse at a normal volume easily. If you get cold you can spend a few minutes on the inside of the boat to warm up a bit.

If this is within your budget, I highly recommend it. It's simple, clean, and fun.





  • Picture of the commemorative cup. Quarter at bottom for size reference.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Star of Honolulu Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Rick And Linda , 2017/11/12

My wife and I were recently transferred from the mainland and celebrated our 41st Anniversary here in Honolulu without our family, So we thought a seven course meal sunset dinner meal cruise with Jazz entertainment would an ideal way to celebrate our weddding anniversary. Coincidentally we were sitted next to another couple from Chicago who just renewed their wedding vows after 41 years of marriage also and found a lot in common with them (same age of children and grandchildren and pathway in life), thus truly enjoyed each company - for they were traveling by themselves as well. The Captain, the crew were great (especially Foster our server), the service was fantastic, and the food was great. And of course the entertainment and the ambiance with sunset backdrop and Waikiki ocean shore scenery made it memorable.

Here's what you can expect from Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment / Three Star Steak and Lobster Dinner with Jazz entertainers.

Coast over the calm water of Waikiki aboard the most popular dinner cruise in Hawaii, where you
will be treated to live music, top dining and spectacular views.

Upon arrival at Aloha Tower Pier, you will be guided to the top deck, where the captain and crew are waiting to treat you to a Hawaiian Belini toast and seasonal appetizers. A sophisticated way to start off an elegant evening at sea.
7-Course Dinner

Served in the luxurious top-deck Super Nova room, this premium French-style dinner menu features only the best seasonal ingredients picked and prepared by expert chefs. Maine lobster and top-quality beef tenderloin are sure to be highlights of the meal.
Drink Service

As a Five Star dinner guest, the full drink menu is available for you to order from. Up to three super premium beverages are included with your meal.
Sunset

As the final moments of daylight fade over the Pacific horizon, the Super Nova room fills with warm light. Views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Anniversary at Star of Honolulu Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Rick And Linda , 2017/11/10

My wife and I were recently transferred from the mainland and celebrated our 41st Anniversary here in Honolulu without our family, So we thought a seven course meal sunset dinner meal cruise with Jazz entertainment would an ideal way to celebrate our weddding anniversary. Coincidentally we were sitted next to another couple from Chicago who just renewed their wedding vows after 41 years of marriage also and found a lot in common with them (same age of children and grandchildren and pathway in life), thus truly enjoyed each company - for they were traveling by themselves as well. The Captain, the crew were great (especially Foster our server), the service was fantastic, and the food was great. And of course the entertainment and the ambiance with sunset backdrop and Waikiki ocean shore scenery made it memorable.

Here's what you can expect from Star of Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment / Three Star Steak and Lobster Dinner with Jazz entertainers.

Coast over the calm water of Waikiki aboard the most popular dinner cruise in Hawaii, where you
will be treated to live music, top dining and spectacular views.

Upon arrival at Aloha Tower Pier, you will be guided to the top deck, where the captain and crew are waiting to treat you to a Hawaiian Belini toast and seasonal appetizers. A sophisticated way to start off an elegant evening at sea.
7-Course Dinner

Served in the luxurious top-deck Super Nova room, this premium French-style dinner menu features only the best seasonal ingredients picked and prepared by expert chefs. Maine lobster and top-quality beef tenderloin are sure to be highlights of the meal.
Drink Service

As a Five Star dinner guest, the full drink menu is available for you to order from. Up to three super premium beverages are included with your meal.
Sunset

As the final moments of daylight fade over the Pacific horizon, the Super Nova room fills with warm light. Views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach


  • Two couples celebrating their 41st Wedding Anniversary

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Haleakala Summit Sunrise Tour with Breakfast & Transportation

Once in a lifetime sunrise

Reviewed by: Callie, 2017/12/23

A few things to be aware of before you book this excursion:
1) The road is very windy: consider ginger candy or Dramamine if you're prone to motion sickness.
2) Cell phone reception will be terrible.
3) It's very cold at an elevation of 10,000 feet. It was 40degrees for us. Dress warmly.
4) The air is also very thin at 10,000 feet: look out for shortness of breath and dizziness.
3) You may not see a picture perfect sunrise. No one can control the weather or even perfectly predict it. There will also be tons of other people there enjoying the view with you.

With all that in mind, we had a great time. At 3am, our driver picked us up and drop us off right in front of our condo in Kihei (pick up may not be available for your particular location - verify with PolyAd/GrayLine first if this is a dealbreaker for you). Stopped at a Kahului convenience store: buy snacks here if you don't like the pastries/coffee onboard.

Uneventful drive up. The 25-ish seater van/bus is heated, but once we arrived in the parking lot, our driver obviously had to turn off the engine/heat to conserve gas. We arrived 1 hour prior to sunrise, and in that 1 hour, the weather went from so clear and being able to see thousands of stars to sprinkling rain to so foggy I could barely see a few feet in front of me and back and forth. There is a tiny visitors center with giftshop, and restrooms (with ice cold water toilet seats), but not much else to explore. So we hung out on the bus until just a few minutes before sunrise.

The sunrise was partially obstructed by clouds, but the sky and landscape was still so beautiful. 30 minutes after sunrise, our driver drove us up a wee bit higher to the next parking lot for more photos, and then down to a golf course for breakfast. Breakfast was ok - I would have much rather saved my appetite for something else. We were dropped off at our condo at 11am.

We had a great driver and saw a beautiful sunrise from the top of a volcano. It was AWESOME.


  • The view after sunrise.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Kai Jet Ski Rental and Parasail Adventure Combo at Maunalua Bay

First Timers

Reviewed by: NoName, 2015/11/03

Let me start off by saying I NEVER post reviews...which I need to work on because I am always checking them out before I do/buy things. So, this is my way of giving back. This was my boyfriend & I first trip to Hawaii. We've always wanted to Jet Ski so decided to try this company out. We did the parasail/jet ski combo. I was a little hesitant about this company because of the reviews. There were only 7 on this website, but I found others on other websites that had me a little worried. The ONLY reason I decided to stick with them is because of the Go Pro cameras and I am so glad I did! We had a blast!! There is a little waiting around between activities, but we were on a boat chilling so who's complaining?? :-) I saw many reviews that complained about the jet ski path because it is just a circle, but that didn't bother us either. We had a great time! The jet skis pick up to a pretty high speed! It lasted about 30 min. After jet ski'ing we took another boat out further into the ocean & went parasailing. That was an awesome experience as well! We were in the air for about 5 min. A lot of people's favorite part of parasailing is getting dipped into the water, but we asked that they not do that because we're not big on getting into the ocean lol (sounds crazy right). Because of that they decided to let us go higher in the air lol, so that was pretty cool.

They picked us up at our hotel at 7:50 am, started around 8:30 am and were back at 12:00 pm. In the beginning I was a little worried about what time we would get back because we had a pick up time of 3:30 pm for a luau, but it all worked out.

Overall, I would totally do this again! The people on the boats were cool, friendly, laid back, & very experienced. We did other activities while in Hawaii but this was my boyfriend's favorite :-) I cannot remember how much the pics & dvd cost, I want to say $35 for all of the pics & $65 for the dvd but we purchased both. What a great memory to have!

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo nui loa for visiting H2O Sports Hawaii! Come back soon!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Sandra McCarthy, 2017/10/21

Our group of four "seniors" wanted to experience this unique water activity during our visit to Oahu. The underwater scooter adventure exceeded our expectations. The entire team from Bob's was very helpful to all of us onboard. They did a great job of communicating to not only those of us from the U.S. but were able to converse with the customers who were from Japan and needed communications in their native language.

We had been given appropriate safety briefings before heading out to the dive site. The outdoor temperature in mid October was in the mid 80s so not uncomfortable. The water temperature was a reasonable 75+ but we adapted to it as soon as we got into the water on the scooters.

The divers gave us appropriate underwater instructions to get us going and to set up the underwater photos for each person. We did have unusual trade winds that caused some bouncing and rolling in the boat but once in the water on the scooter or when snorkeling, it was mitigated. The water was clear and we had a variety of fish that swarmed around us as they were feeding on the food that the divers attached to the scooters. A unique feeling to have all of these colorful fish surrounding you in their environment.

We also had the opportunity to see a number of sea turtles both under water and coming to the surface. It would have been great to have had more time actually underwater but we only could accommodate 2 - 3 people underwater at one time. It probably would have been more enjoyable from the customer perspective with a few less onboard the boat.

Our group did take the opportunity to do some snorkeling after we completed our time on the underwater scooters. All in all a great time to remember and yes we did buy the photos especially for the video that was offered as well.

We have not been able to access our photos yet as we are still on vacation and will need to do so when we get home. Hopefully, they will be as delightful to watch as what we experienced


  • Ready for our underwater scooter adventures

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Best time ever!

Reviewed by: Shannel, 2017/10/26

I booked this horseback riding tour because my boyfriend has expressed how much he has always wanted to ride a horse. I did a quick search and Veltra had this awesome offer for a 2-for-1 which I found perfect as a surprise for him! I booked it and got confirmation very quickly.
We were coming from Honolulu so the drive took about an hour. Our booking was at 2pm and check-in was at 1:30pm. The early check-in was for the explanation of the liability and consent form while they prepared the horses. There was the two of us plus a small family of three. Helmets are recommended but not required- they are free to use. (If opt to not use a helmet, you must sign a section on the liability form) Around 10 minutes before 2pm, they explain and demonstrate how to ride and take care of our horses. We get on and begin the tour shortly after 2pm!
We got lucky with the weather! When we first arrived, it was grey, cloudy and started to drizzle. By the time we began our horse ride it turned sunny! Leanna was our guide and she is the sweetest person! We were all beginning horseback riders so we went at a good pace. She talked about the range, answered our questions, asked about ourselves, and made sure we were all comfortable and in control of our horses throughout the entire tour. The trail included uphill, downhill, and flat plains. The top view was absolutely stunning. We got to see the beautiful blue ocean in-front of us and the Ko'olau mountains behind us. Leanna even took our photos and they came out amazing. It was so serene, sunny and not too hot because there were cool breezes throughout that hour trail ride.
This is definitely an experience of a lifetime. I am so incredibly happy we got to do this! The views were breathtaking and I will be attaching photos even though the real thing is 1000 times better! We'll be doing it again the next time we get the chance. Thank you so much Leanna and Gunstock Range for a lovely time and thank you Veltra for the great offer!


  • Top view!


  • Through the trees


  • Through the range


  • At the stable

Comments from activity operators

Aloha!
Thank you for your great review. We hope you had a nice time and hope to see you again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Complete Circle Island Tour - Volcano National Park, Waipio Valley & Waterfalls

Excellent Big Island Tour!

Reviewed by: James, 2014/11/26

We were out in Honolulu on our first trip to Hawaii. My girlfriend and I purchased the Small Group Circle Island, Waipio Valley & Volcanoes National Park out of quite a few similar guided tours around the Big island. It was a fun experience that helped us learn quite a lot about the Big Island, geographic facts, ancient legends, etc. This drive is about 10 hours or so and is on and off the beaten path. Different from Honolulu and Oahu, this mostly rural island has its own culture, farmers’ markets, tropical rain forests, and black, green, and white sand beaches. Our tour guide was awesome (and I totally forgot his name) and a great story teller. He was punctual in picking us up from the Kona airport. Although the weather didn't really cooperate that particular day, it was rain and cold, our tour guide made it fun with providing us all kinds of great information as well as a really smooth ride. It was obvious he loves what he does and where he lives. The sights and landscapes were incredible - black, green and white sand beaches, lava fields, waterfalls, etc. Our approximately 250 miles tour (long but fascinating) touched at first the Parker Ranch in Waimea the bay-side town of Hilo and an orchid nursery. We stopped at the Waipio Valley Lookout, a must see location. The lookout offers sweeping views of the valley, which is breathtakingly beautiful even though the weather was very cloudy and it probably took away from the experience. We stopped at the Mauna Loa a macadamia farm and packaging place for lunch and snacks. We stopped at the Rainbow Falls very close to Hilo. It is a shorter visit with great photo ops. An absolutely fabulous view and yes, we did see a rainbow. At the Volcano National Park we saw smoke but no lava flows from the viewing area but walked through a lava tube. The black sand beach is one that is different to anything else we saw so far. We counted 12 turtles resting on the beach. My girlfriend and I highly recommend this guided tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Cruises - Oahu Dolphin Watch Tour & Snorkeling Experience

One unforgettable experience, definitely recommended for everyone visiting Oahu!

Reviewed by: Paul, 2018/06/04

We went for a 7 day holiday in Oahu, Hawaii and we were recommended by almost all places to visit this wonderful boat excursion! Boy we where we glad we did!

The cruise started with a short introduction of what we were going to be doing and what we were going to be seeing and the boat left the dock spot on at 12:00.

Shortly setting sail we were asked to go below deck where we were treated with a wonderful presentation of hamburger buns, topping, salad and chips. One of the employees had already fired up the grill to get the hamburgers done and ready.

We were given enough time to eat our hamburger and to enjoy the view before they called us up front to take a look at the dolphins.

Arriving on deck at the front we were showcased a large pod of dolphins. They stayed close to the boat for us to take a good look. The dolphins where very friendly and weren’t afraid of the boat at all. Some of them even bowed to make the experience even better.

Before arriving on our snorkeling spot we were given instructions about how to use the swim glasses and the fins. We were a little hesitant about the cold water but the sun was really strong so it evened out the temperature.

The snorkeling exercise started with us free roaming a little bit. The water was very clear and we were able to see all kinds of beautiful fishes and many other weird sea creatures. The instructor asked us to follow her in a line so she could bring us to other spots to see more of the ocean. She went down a couple of times to get us some weird things from the bottom and would bring them up so we could get a better look.

It didn’t take a long time before everyone was back on board and they started to serve us with a complimentary drink. exhausted by the snorkeling we just laid a bit enjoyed the sun while the boat set sail back to shore.

This trip was amazing, the amazing Oahu scenery alone was worth the experience! Recommend for everyone visiting this wonderful island.


  • enjoying the ride


  • Transparent water with a pod of dolfins


  • Another shot of the pod of dolfins


  • Beautifull scenario


  • delicious hamburger


  • saying goodbye to the little one


  • getting ready for snorkling

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scenic Road to Hana Tour with Waterfall Swim & Black Sand Beach Adventure

Great tour

Reviewed by: Laurie , 2015/10/21

I wished we had a more outgoing/energetic group of passengers along with us, but our driver, Sam made up for it, amazing me with his non-stop humor and entertainment. As others said, I am very glad I did not have to drive that one-lane two-way road with rusty railings and precarious turns myself for hours and hours of driving (see the one photo attached where looking out my window you could see an inch of pavement and then the drop). The tour buses being higher than car height and having large windows provided a wide-open view i would not have see from my rental car. Sam educated us on Hawaiian history, and pointed out dining spots, fauna, flora, and talked of herbal uses of the plants. He talked about his family and their land, and told stories of growing up in Hawaii. He made certain to stop and let us take photos from the tour bus, at perfect photo spots along the road often near its many bridges, rivers, falls. We were handed a map at the beginning with spots high-lighted in yellow where we would get out and walk around, so we could gauge how long we had to go. The places we stopped were gorgeous. Some had very short paths to explore. The banana bread stop nice. At one popular waterfall stop, the road jammed up and Sam was out there, cooling tempers with his humor, making friends, and directing traffic to clear the gridlock. The open air restaurant in Hana was good, beautiful artwork, nice lunch. Sam brought us tastes of a local dish, Poke, the restaurant made. Unfortunately at the one stop for swimming at the 7 Sacred Pools of 'Ohe'o, the park has certain conditions the surf must meet to let you down there to swim: it was closed that day, and I was terribly disappointed after seeing so many beautiful pictures on the internet and hoping it to be the big finish, but Sam still gave us time enough time to do the circular hike out to the point above there, as consolation. I am very glad I signed up for this tour. Was sad when the day was over.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Worth Every Cent Spent! A Definite MUST DO!

Reviewed by: Alan L, 2016/03/23

Our tour guide Mike was fantastic. After a bit of confusion on picking up passengers, we started heading east across the Big Island on Saddle Road in a very comfortable Mercedes van. Mike has a wealth of knowledge, both cultural and local, so he made the tour feel almost personalized for everyone. We stopped at the Mauna Kea Recreation Area for a tasty, fresh lunch. Weather was perfect to see both volcanoes. We stopped along the highway to walk on the lava and see and he explained the different types. We continued to Hilo and watched a video about the volcanes, and then we stopped at Rainbow Falls. Mike knew the best places for nice pictures. After taking the scenic route and getting downtown Hilo, we learned more history about various buildings and the Kamehameha statues around the islands and stopped at Big Island Candies for some tasty samples and quick shopping. Time for the main event!

We went into the Volcanoes National Park. We stopped by some active steam vents and then the Jaggar Museum to see the active crater. Mike tooks us to see other craters and lava flows and stopped to let us walk around and see various formations created by the flow. We went deeper and deeper into the park, making our way almost to the ocean, and then stopped at the Thurston lava tube. Very unique!

From there, we headed for dinner at the Kilauea Lodge. Great atmosphere, great food, great service! Definitely try the soups! After dinner and after dark, Mike took us back to the Jaggar Museum to view the lava glow. Mike must have called on Pele to part the fog, because we were able to see and take pictures of the glow. He provide binoculars and jackets to those who needed it.

Now, heading back to the Kona side at night, we finished the volcano video and watched an "update" video that showed all the eruptions since 1983. We stopped across from the Mauna Kea Rec Area for stargazing. Mike point out constellations, planets, galaxies, stars. BEAUTIFUL!


  • Nice Weather!


  • Lava flow with cinder cones.


  • Rainbow Falls


  • Big Island Candies Lobby


  • Getting steamed at the steam vents


  • Into the crater


  • Into the crater at night for the lava glow


  • Inside the Thurston lava tube


  • Lava Arch


  • Lava flow to the ocean with a touch of rainbow

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear you had such a fantastic day with Mike! Dinner at the Kilauea Lodge is such a special treat, and we agree that their soups are a must try to help warm up on those cold Volcano nights. We love when the fog parts and our guests get to enjoy that magnificent glow so clearly. Those clear skies also make for some amazing stargazing as well and we're glad to hear you enjoyed it! Mahalo for the wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

The most wonderful day in Hawaii

Reviewed by: NORMA BARAJAS, 2016/05/06

This tour was astonishing, we had our best time in Hawaii. Starting, our host Jim Carey a gentleman, expert story teller of Hawaiian culture. On the road we could see lava tubes, alien landscapes, the marvelous Mauna Kea where is an astronomical observatory and we had a windy delicious pic nic lunch. Near the city of Hilo, we had our second stop for seeing the Rainbow Falls, a fantastic view of the beauty and force of nature. Not far, Hilo, a rainy city, where is the University of Hawaii and the unforgettable chocolate factory where one can find all kind of delicious chocolates, candies, cookies, macadamia nuts. No one can leave that place without a full bag while Jim Carey is calling you with the sound of ukelele. Also you can take pictures of the statue of king Kamehameha in a park. Then, we took our way to Volcanoes National Park, which welcomed us with a warm fumarole that wet us in a strange but nice sensation. Then, the first wonderful breathtaking view of the Kilauea volcano, a vision like we were in Mars. The museum shows what the nude eye can’t see in a volcano, like Pele´s hair and lava forest. After, an outstanding landscape, the lava river, an unbelievable wonder full of mystery. We took a path through the rainy forest, where the flowers and the tree of Pele’s legend grow in the middle of volcanic rocks. Then Jim took us to a cozy restaurant, with a chimney attended by his owner. Dinner was awesome, very tasty, as the special passion fruit tea. At night we had the vision of fire in the middle of the night, the Kilauea's dancing lava took our breath away, an unforgettable moment, almost mystical. Pictures can’t catch that beauty, but the telescope that Jim takes with him did.
Back in the van a great surprise waited for us. Like a love detail, a hot coco and cookies appeared to warm us. On our road back more than one fell asleep dreaming of the most wonderful day of their lives. Mahalo from Colombia.


  • On the road


  • picnic stop


  • rainbow falls


  • Sunset at Kilauea


  • Kilauea at day


  • Volcanic landscape


  • Kilauea at night


  • Restaurant

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. He truly loves sharing his songs and stories of Hawaii with our guests, helping them to connect with our island while on tour. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the stops and treats throughout the day. Dinner at the Kilauea Lodge is so special and always helps our guests warm back up on those cold Volcano nights! Mahalo for your recommendation and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Star of Honolulu - Waikiki Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Entertainment

Awesome Cruise

Reviewed by: Garrett Low, 2014/09/10


My girlfriend and I went on a Star of Honolulu dinner cruise one Friday and we had a blast!
We arrived early and had some drinks before boarding the ship and were greeted with a performance of beautiful Hawaiian dancers. They kept dancing all the time while people were boarding, it was so pretty.
On board everybody was very friendly and welcoming, it felt great. They had to manage a lot of people getting on the ship but the staff seemed relaxed and genuinely happy that we were on board. Our server was particularly sweet, she worked so hard all evening. Although she was incredibly busy she even took the time to chat with us (we both share the same name and were joking around about it). The welcome drink was great (Mai Tai)! And dinner as well. It was so much to eat I was totally stuffed at the end. Steak, veggies, mashed potatoes, and crab legs as much as we could eat (warning: you will think you can eat more but it's already so much you cannot!). All finished off with yummy ice cream desert and coffee. The welcome drink was included, additional drinks had to be paid for but the prices were absolutely reasonable for the type of cruise! The route was beautiful and took us out towards Diamond Head. Even though there were a lot of people on board there is enough room to walk around and get a good spot to watch the sunset or take pictures. Later they started an evening show with lots of different costumes which was fun! We sat very close to the performance and they were again beautiful to watch. After the show they even encouraged everybody to stand up and dance! That was so much fun. Some people were shy but the crew had so much energy themselves they danced and danced and got many people up. Time just flew by! It was so beautiful to see the island and Waikiki/Honolulu from the distance, the lights, night setting in. Definitely recommended as a special trip for your vacation or a very romantic special date with your loved one :)



Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hike Maui Waterfalls & Rainforest Trails - The Best Hana Road Hiking Tours

Had a great time, Sarah was a wonderful tour guide

Reviewed by: Stacie, 2017/07/13

My husband, myself and our 11 year old nephew had a great time on our hike. Pretty much everything was as described. We got to go to 4 different waterfalls, got to jump into 3 of them, included a pretty hefty peanut butter and jelly sandwich with a bag of chips, native fruit, lots of water and bug spray provided, and a backpack to keep everything in! The hike was definitely more on the moderate side than the easy side, I would say. My husband and I are fairly athletic and we were both sore and tired at the end of the hike. The nature is amazing. I took about 200 photos. The information that Sarah shared with us was interesting and insightful. She was a very nice, patient and informative tour guide. She was friendly and made conversation, but was not in your face, or invasive when people didn't want her to be. She was also very helpful because she showed the people on the tour the correct places and ways to jump off the waterfalls. I think this helped with some of the anxiety people had. I definitely recommend this hike. It is a little pricey, but it was worth it, and you really get your money's worth. I ended up messing up one of my ears when I jumped off of the third waterfall we found, so the end of the hike wasn't as pleasant for me as the beginning was, but I think that was a random thing that happened. My 11 year old nephew jumped a total of 7 times off the different waterfalls and never really complained about anything except that he slapped his hands and arms on the water (which was more his own fault). The one thing I didn't like was the number of people that were at the waterfalls during our tour. That was something we couldn't really control. There are some "private" waterfalls that we got to see, which, obviously had less people, but still had other people there. I think if you have a choice, go on a weekday, and it might be helpful to go during an off season. We went the day after 4th of July, so it was probably pretty busy.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Amazing - Look no further, just book it.

Reviewed by: Dillon, 2015/05/14

My wife and I knew we wanted to do a boat tour of the Napali Coast but with all the options available we were nervous about picking the right one. Let me save anyone else looking into this the trouble and say just book the Sunset Cruise with Holo Holo Charters. You won't regret it, unless you get sea sick, which I would say probably 3-5 people out of 25-30 or so did on our trip, which was in early/mid May. But the crew took great care of them. My wife and I popped a dramamine each about an hour before we boarded and another right when we got on and felt great.

More about the trip. The crew and Captain Glenn were fantastic. They opened up the bar immediately upon leaving port and made sure we had drinks in our hand for the duration of the trip. The boat was spacious and there was plenty of room to move around. We were able to see the entire coast and even made it up to the northern most tip where the last beach accessible by car starts. I don't think many of the other boats are able to do that because they are not fast enough. The crew was probably the best part of the trip, they were super attentive, even offering to take pictures of us with the coast as a back drop. They were also very interesting to talk to and gave us lots of information about what we were seeing as well as info on local spots to check out when we got off the boat. My wife and I had hiked the Awawapuhi trail earlier that morning, which overlooks the coast, and the crew were nice enough to point out where we were to us as we cruised by. Awesome trail by the way if you like hiking. The crew also made sure you didn't wipe out while you were walking around the boat, it can get a bit choppy. At one point I was exiting the bathroom as we hit a dip and a member of the crew was able to grab me and steady me before I took a tumble.

In a nutshell, book the trip and don't have second thoughts about it. Worth every bit of the money. Holo Holo Charters does an amazing job.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Dillon,
Thank you for taking the time to post this awesome review! We will pass this great info onto Capt. Glenn and Crew.

We hope you had a great time here on Kauai and hope to see you and your wife out on the water again!

Mahaloa Nui Loa,

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]