This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for All Hawaii Tours & Activities in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.71 4.71 / 5

Reviews

14760 reviews

West Oahu Dolphin Watch Sail & Snorkel Cruise - Dolphin Sightings Guaranteed!

Hawaii Dreamin'

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2018/10/23

There is no better way to experience Hawaii, than out on its beautiful, indescribable blue waters. After doing a bit of research, I knew I wanted to go snorkeling on the west side of the island. I also snorkeled at Hanauma Bay, but there is zero comparison. Two completely different experiences. Sailing out of the harbor, on the beautiful catamaran, with the wind in your hair, onto the sparkling water, a stunning, panoramic view of the majestic mountains behind you, with three fabulous hours of yet unknown adventures ahead of you---well, what more can you ask for? Our time on this tour was great. It went by entirely too fast. But every minute was wonderful. We saw more dolphins than we could count. Had great visibility while snorkeling. Saw many different types of fish and marine life. All under the skillful supervision of the awesome crew. Also, the boat was not overly crowded, which was terrific. Plenty of room to move about and to have a good seat. The food and drinks were perfect. I just wish it was twice as long. And honestly, next time we go back, I will probably go more than once. It's simply the best way to experience the magic of Hawaii. PS. I booked through Hawaii Activities.com and I believe the company name is also Hawaii Nautical. No matter which you book it, it's completely worth it!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand Circle Island Sightseeing Tour on Motorcoach (from Kona)

The Way to Go

Reviewed by: stsoming, 2015/10/26

Our all-day Circle Island tour of the Big Island is the most efficient and smartest way to go for a first time visitor. The Big Island is vast; you can see up the coastline from the shore, but that distant point can be 75+ miles away. Generally speaking, I am not a fan of big bus tours. However, sitting high in the Polynesian Adventure Tour bus gave us a comfortable and panoramic view, and left the road worries and driving to our driver/tour guide, Sal. Sal is originally from the East Coast, but while he was driving, we learned about the Big Island's history, mythology, flora, fauna, language, etc. and it became obvious he took pride in his job and in his adopted home of 24 years. He joked that we would be tested, but it turned out, he was tested because before our last tour stop at the Hamakua Macadamia Nut Company, he became ill. Despite vomiting and G-I distress, he "held it together" and drove the bus safely into the parking lot before exiting quickly to the men's room. An aid car took him to the hospital and the Polynesian Adventure Tour Company sent a relief bus driver and mini-van to get us back to our respective hotels. It was an extra long day, but I learned the next day when I called Polynesian that he was at home resting and would make a full recovery. Kudos to Sal and to Polynesian Adventure.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

What a wonderful trip from beginning to end!

Reviewed by: Paul K., 2014/12/11

What a wonderful trip from beginning to end! This was an amazing excursion. It started off early in the morning but I was delighted to see a captain full of energy and passion for his career. Even though the winds caused concern for our safety up the Na Pali coast, he made sure to kick start the trip with high spirits as we sailed off the dock at sunrise. The water was very calm and we got the chance to meet the crew over breakfast and coffee before our first sighting of dolphins! For the entire trip – even when the waters got rough – the crew was always interested in talking to us and telling us stories about the island. You could tell that they really enjoyed connecting with everyone which made our experience that much better. Who wants to be on a boat where the crew only care about getting the job done? – No one! Thus, this was a refreshing surprise. After going up the Na Pali coast we made our way to Nihau and snorkeled off the boat. The lunch served included sandwiches, veggies with dip, pickles and pasta salad. Of course, who can forget the wine and beer served on our way back to port? Overall, this was a wonderful trip with great company and we will definitely recommend to our friends and family. The next time we travel to Kauai we plan on cruising with Holoholo at sunset. Thank you Holoholo!!

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for choosing Holo Holo Charters! We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time and are more than happy to share our beautiful island scenery with all. Our customer are the best. Please feel free to leave a comment on TripAdvisor, Yelp and Facebook. Aloha and Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Surf Bus North Shore Activities - Snorkel, Waterfall Swim, Bike, Kayak & More

Perfect setup if you want to do North Shore, but Not sure what activities

Reviewed by: John A, 2015/04/29

My wife and I were staying in Waikiki for a week and everyone said we need to make a trip to the North Shore when on Oahu. We scoured Trip Advisor, Yelp and other Hawaii Adventure sites and this one looked appealing. Turns out to be a great deal if you are looking for transportation to the North Shore and a variety of options to choose from once you get there. We chose to snorkel in the mornng at Sharks Cove then spend an hour at Waimea Bay, then in the afternoon we did the SUP down the river in Halewia.
The tour is setup where they pick you up on a ~20 person bus from multiple Waikiki hotels, then up a narrated drive up to the North Shore which took about 1 1/2 hours all together. Sam was our host for the day and is awesome at his job. Very knowledgable, humourous and makes the tour a good time. Once you are there, you get to see the options for the day such as hanging at the beach of Waimea Bay, surfing, snorkeling, beach bike cruise, Waimea Botanical Gardens, stand up paddle boarding and probably a few others options that I am missing. There is no additional cost to do these unless you want to do more than two. If there was one draw back for the day, it was that we could have enjoyed a few more hours on the beach and shopping at the local surf shops there.
Overall, great trip and glad we did it!


  • walking to Waimea Bay after snorkeling in Sharks Cove

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Amazing views and wonderful crew

Reviewed by: Tony & Bianca, 2014/09/27

I spent a consideral amount of time researching some of the different options for sight seeing tours of the Napali Coast and found this to have the best reviews and all of them were 100% accurate. My girlfriend and I had been very active on our trip to Kauai up to this point and looked to this as a relaxing evening which it was. The Caiptain (his name escapes me) was very funny throughout the trip making sure to update us when we were near items of interest and was also a very skilled navigator, at one point situating the stern of the boat under a waterfall for people who wanted to go under it.

The two deck hands (I am not sure the proper title) were very attentive to all of the guests aboard throughout the entire trip. I forget the gentelmens name that I spoke with but he stood with me for some time explaining to me much of the history of the Napali Coast as well as what it has been like growing up on the Island which made my experience even better. The crew does whatever it takes to make sure you have the best experience possible and my tip to you is to tip them accordingly, they do a great job and deserve it!

I highly recommend this to anyone interested in having an informative relaxing experience. Also, the food was very good and the crew made sure that you always had a drink in your hand.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-A-Hula Dinner & Cocktail Show with Fire Knife Dance

Legendary Show

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2015/03/01

While visiting the beautiful Island of Oahu, I started to reminisce of the last time I came here and it was for the last Michael Jackson performance back in the 90's. I was searching for a dinner and show activity and I was fortunate that I came across hawaiiactivities.com - Veltra because they have a 2 For 1 Review Rebate Special. I was traveling with my family, and so we booked for the Green Room & Dinner Show package. As we checked in at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center, we were greeted with warm alohas from everyone working. We started on an amazing tour of the theater and got to see some of the marvelous collections of Elvis and Michael Jackson. The dinner was amazing, and the we had the cocktails coming all night long. The show was amazing! It brought back many fond memories of my teenage life growing up listening to Elvis. I was having many flashbacks as I was singing to all the songs and rocking the night away. But unlike many shows in Waikiki, Rock A Hula has something special and particular to their show which is... Hawaiian Performances. Hula dancers, chants, and acts that resembled Elvis's presence here in Hawaii while sharing the Aloha spirit. This show is highly recommended if you love old school pop and classical songs. Thank you Veltra & Stars of Paradise for this wonderful time I had.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Oahu Tour - North Shore Beach Bus Adventure & Snorkel at Hanauma Bay

Great full-day excursion!

Reviewed by: John B., 2018/11/27

We had the pleasure of spending the day with our tour guide, Sergio. Pick-up was prompt at the exact location. The drive to the North Shore was informative with lots of facts about Oahu. We had a short stop at a coffee shop on the side of the road - excellent coffee! We then made our way to the North Shore and happened upon the Van's Triple Crown of Surfing! We spent an extended amount of time there watching surfers from around the world. Sergio then took us to the Pipeline. After a brief stop at the Pipeline, we stopped for lunch and paddleboarding. Lunch was amazing - shrimp, rice, and salad - and the shrimp were huge! Following lunch we went paddleboarding (kayaking was another option). There were turtles swimming in the river right beside us. Following lunch/paddleboarding, we stopped at the Dole Plantation which has everything pineapple you could imagine. The Dole whip was delicious - a must have when stopping there. After leaving the Dole Plantation, it was about an hour drive to Hanauma Bay (a state park) where we went snorkeling to wrap up our day-long adventure. Snorkeling was delightful - the fish were huge and couldn't have cared less that we were there with them.

If you're looking for something to do and don't want to fuss with details, this excursion is a great choice!


  • Hanauma Bay

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jungle River Fun - Stand Up Paddle, Hike, Water Zipline & Swim

Amazing Experience!

Reviewed by: Maren, 2016/03/14

We loved this day trip. The guides were really helpful and taught everyone on the lesson how to SUP. I was the only one of the group to fall in and it wasn't the guides fault.

The SUP portion was so relaxing, not strenuous at all. If you want a strenuous SUP trip rent and head up the Wailua River to the Fern Grotto.

After the SUP we hiked to a really beautiful swimming hole, not included in the description where we ate lunch and got to zip line into into the hole. There was also a huge dive platform. My husband did it, but I was too scared. Our guide had tons of information about local plants and wildlife.

After the swimming hole we hiked to another little lake with a rope swing. The lake was featured in the most recent Pirates of the Caribbean movie which our Guide clued us into. Super cool! And where we hiked out of the jungle to our boat to take us back to the launch we walked through the area where Indiana Jones ran out chased by natives in Raiders of the Lost Ark. So much fun! My husband and I went back to the hotel and watched Indy- Lost Ark just for fun.

We had so much fun on this trip and would recommend it to anyone. It's especially great if you want an intro to SUP. You'll feel like a pro by the end. And be ready to rent and board up a couple other rivers on the island.


  • At the beginning of the trip, leaving the harbor.


  • SUPing down the river. So Pretty.


  • The Swimming hole with zip line and high jump platform.


  • Little lake with rope swing.


  • Where we hiked out of the jungle to the boat that took us back to launch.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Super trip - cruise and snorkel

Reviewed by: Venky, 2017/08/01

The day was spent in a most enjoyable way.

We started on time and went to first snorkeling spot after about one hour cruise. Since we left at 700 am, (early in the morning) they gave us good breakfast. The water is blue and beautiful. We saw some flying fish while sailing which I got amazed. They have wings(?!), come out of water, fly for about three feet above the surface and go into water. It was amazing to see a fish with wings. They clearly flew and not just jump in and out of water.

The captain gave a 5 min lesson on snorkeling 101. It was full of very helpful tips and this greatly helped to snorkel without fear. The gears were provided. By the end of the day I became an expert. This is an example, how useful the people are to help you whatever you need in the trip.

The snorkeling part was very enjoyable and after about one hour, we were allowed to jump into the ocean from the second level of the cruise ship via a slide. That was so cool.

Next we went to a second place and we got to see lots of turtles. Some turtles came to top of water, so you can see them from the boat. We snorkeled and also jumped into water from the second level of cruise via slide for about one hour. It was fun. Lots of foods, drinks were given. We returned by 200 pm. What a day to spend.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Highly recommend! Beyond expectations!

Reviewed by: Matt & Melina, 2014/11/06

My fiancé and I booked this during our 6 day stay in Oahu. I cannot say enough good things about our experience. Jacob picked us up promptly from our hotel in Waikiki right on time and took us to the boat. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive right from the start and the entire way through. They instructed us on the ins and outs of snorkeling and made sure we were comfortable. We snorkeled and saw all the fish and sea turtles our hearts desired within a few feet. It was amazing! Barry hung out in the water with us the entire time indicating different sights and making sure all was safe. After a while we climbed aboard and David had prepared a delicious lunch of Mahi Mahi and chicken wraps, as well as macaroni salad and chips. The drinks were superb as well. After lunch, we set sail for the rest of the trip, viewing Waikiki and Diamond head as well as the rest of the island. The guys offered much advice on local eateries and activities, and answered any questions that we had with genuine interest. It isn't often that I post reviews, but these guys truly made our day, if not our trip. I've never felt so comfortable and impressed by any charter group before. BOOK THIS NOW! You honestly will not regret it. We are thinking about booking another trip with these guys before we leave.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Submarine Tour by Atlantis Adventure (from Hilton Pier)

First timers.

Reviewed by: Christina Wyatt, 2017/02/20

We loved everything. I am the biggest water and animal lover. The submarine was a great experience for us. Even though the reefs are all gone and they had boats, plans, and different materials placed as artificial reefs it just shows you how important our reefs are for sea life. It is a great learning experience to see the difference. How life is under water now after the way man has destroyed it and the ones who care enough to try to recover a small percent of what it would be if it had been left alone before people destroyed an environment for there own selfish reasons. Before booking I did read reviews of others who experienced the submarine tour before I decided to reserve our tour. Even though a lot of people stated they expected more and only gave it 1 and 2 stars I still decided to take the tour. I read Atlantis used partial of the proceeds to rebuild the reefs. If more people got together and helped rebuild what we all have destroyed then maybe there will be more fish and more variety everytime we come back. People should respect the homes of others, where animals live, and give to it instead of always taking. It was a great experience, it taught us to respect the beautiful nature in our world, to help rebuild, and stop destroying before there is nothing left to experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-A-Hula Dinner & Cocktail Show with Fire Knife Dance

Breathtaking evening

Reviewed by: Regina, 2018/06/17

We went along to this night not knowing a lot about the performance, other than it was in a very convenient location for us and that it was a very reasonable price. We left being blown away by the sheer professionalism, talent and wow factor of the performers and entire evening.

The pre show dinner was tasty and filling, the service friendly & prompt.

The show was in a lovely theatre with exceptional stage and lighting setup and from the moment the show started our eyes were glued to the stage.

The singers and dancers never missed a beat or note, the lighting was beautiful and the music fun and fabulous. We enjoyed the range of pop performers throughout the eras with Elvis and Michael Jackson impersonators as stand out performers! Even at the meet and greet afterwards Michael was perfectly in character - when I asked him how long his show makeup took he replied in a wonderfully accurate voice "makeup? What makeup??"

The fire dancer was also phenomenal with even bar staff remarking that they tried to align their breaks with his performance to go watch from the back of the theatre! Who needs to go to an overpriced louwow when you've got wonderful traditional hula dancers and performers right here.

5 stars - all round a phenomenal night and a "must see" for all visitors!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waterfalls & Volcano Helicopter Tour Doors-off & Doors-on Flights (from Hilo)

Awesome, Breathtaking, Not Enough Great Words to Describe

Reviewed by: DWAungst, 2015/09/21

The flight was amazing, but we did not fly from Hilo. When our scheduled time (from Hilo) arrived, the weather was below minimum at the volcano. This was very disappointing since Hilo weather was nice. But, Hawaii weather is very volatile.

We rescheduled for the next day as a "reserve flight" (needed more people to "confirm" the flight). Before the scheduled time, Paradise Helicopters called to say the flight was still only "reserved", but they had an opening in a different, circle the whole island, flight from Kona. They would upgrade me for no additional cost to take that one. We jumped at it.

The flight was amazing. We got to see the whole island, in addition to the volcano and real, live, flowing lava. Our pilot was Koji and he was awesome. The weather over the volcano was mixed, but he was able to navigate through the clouds enough to maintain the FAA rules for height and get us over the actual volcano caldera. Then, we headed for the current eruption points on the southern slopes and saw even more lava in the second vent. Moving further to the new lava fields, he located some live, flow lava. "WOW!!!" is all I can say.

The rest of the flight was great, too. Flying low up the valley on the north shore was wild. Seeing all the waterfalls was also terrific.


  • "Captian Cook", his initial landing point on the Big Island.


  • Green Sand Beach


  • Main Volcano Laval Pool on the Caldera


  • Lava pool in the second vent on the southern slopes of the volcano.


  • Flowing Lava - we were hovering only about 50 feet off this, the heat wash from the lava made the ride bumpy but worth it.


  • More Flowing Lava, Oozing Out of a Crack


  • North Shore Cliffs


  • One of Many Waterfalls


  • Intrepid Adventurers (us), Post Flight

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Classic Haleakala National Park Sunrise Tour with Breakfast at Maui Kula Lodge

Once in a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Whitney, 2018/03/07

What an amazing trip! you will not be disappointed! Diane picked us up at our Condominium and we picked up other passengers and went to have a continental breakfast. While at the home base, they give you extra layers of coats, ear muffs, and gloves to wear. We were prepared and had our heavy winter coats, but took these extra provisions just in case. I was so glad that we did! It was awesome to layer up as it is very cold before sunrise at the top and you do stand out in the cold as the sun begins its ascent.

One of the other guides or park rangers performed a chant as the sun rose which was very special.

Our Guide Diane was really great! So cheerful and personable the entire time. She drove safely up and down the mountain (we were SO glad we chose to do the tour instead of attempting to drive it ourselves). Diane peppered the journey with insightful facts and history. We learned so much about the history of Maui, culture of Hawaii, indigenous and protected species, and so much more! Truly a joy!

After sunrise, we also went up to the Summit, then stopped at several places on the way back down the mountain for sight seeing before heading to Breakfast. The Hot Chocolate was the best I have ever had! Great food!

Could not be more thrilled with this tour! Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Tour - Stargazing and Sunrise with Nature Guide

Once-in-a-life kind of experience

Reviewed by: Shin Taniguchi, 2018/10/01

Many people say sunset is better than sunrise, but sunrise is great, too.
Even though we were on the tour about two days before the full-moon (meaning moonlight is very bright and moon doesn't set until about 5 in the morning), we could enjoy the gorgeous stars in the sky with decent explanation of the stars.
Sunrise was also gorgeous. It was no doubt one of the most beautiful scenaries I have ever seen in my life. Although we were lucky enough to see both stars and sunrise in good weather and it is said that we mostly see clear sky at the peak of Mauna Kea, you may have to keep in mind weather is always a variable you can never tell.

Our guides were good, with a lot of experience and knowledge, trying to do their best to make the tour enjoyable.

If you are okay to go to bed early on the day before and can wake up at 1:30 in the morning, it will let you spend your time more wisely because you have a whole day even after you come back from the tour. (we came back to the hotel around 8:30 am)

Also be noted that the temperature up there is very low. Especially because the weater in Hawaii is hot and you need to face the near-freezing-point weather on the same day, make sure to prepare warm clothes yourself. The ski jackets and pants they lend you will not be enough.


  • Sunrise you can expect

Comments from activity operators

Aloha, this is Sumire from NatureSchool.

Thank you for joining our tour and giving us your feedback.
I 'm glad to hear that you could enjoy the stars and sunrise with the clear sky.
As you said, it's very hard to expect the weather on the summit.
Even though the weather is not good, we try our best to make the customers enjoy the tour.
Our tour guides have much knowledge and many skills.
We would love to do more English tours in the future.
We are looking forward to seeing you again on Bigisland.
Thank you for joining our tour again!

NatureSchool
Sumire

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Movie Site Tour - Film & TV Sets at Hanalei Bay, Opaeka'a Falls & More

Kauai Movie Excursion and Hanalei Bay Tour Review

Reviewed by: Ayshe Murat, 2015/12/03

We loved, loved, and loved it! The movie tour on Kauai is the perfect treat for not only movie fans such as me and my husband but for those who love seeing the beauty of Kauai. As it combines clips of scenes from famous, and some not so famous, movies filmed on the Island. It’s an easy six hours of entertainment as the tour guide fills you with fun facts of the movies with the reality of what actually had to occur (or not occur in some cases) for the film to be made. Bleeps of scenes and inaccuracies are pointed out with amusement such as scenes that go from one far corner of the Island into the mountains with the flash of the camera such as in the Elvis movie “Blue Hawaii.”

For a modest cost, my husband and I enjoyed touring Hawaii and meeting other tourists and having lunch (choice of Burgers; Pulled Pork and Chicken Sandwiches and Salads for the vegetarians) at the wonderful restaurant, Tahiti Nui, used in the film “The Descendants.” We even got to meet Julia, the real bartender in the movie.

The tour guide was professional, courteous and funny and went out of his way to point out great restaurants and frequent stops for pictures.

We highly recommend this for anyone as a wonderful way to tour Kauai and enjoy movie making at its most magical.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Awesome time!

Reviewed by: Misaki No, 2016/10/14

Not only I thoroughly enjoyed the sea and shopping this time, but also slightly different things wanted to do it and applied to this tour. I had not ridden a horse in Japan either and was the first experience of the throb.
When run on the shoreline of the north shore, and arrive; the place that is full of green far apart from the noise of Waikiki. There are not only the horse but also a chicken and the peacock.
A horse and the first meeting to be taken care of after arrival this time. Our fellow is Keahi and Ruby. I have gentle eyes having the rich mane. I have you teach how to get on at once and am a walk start. A guide walks the top and arrives in the next. I can take in the muscle of the horse whenever I step forward, and one step is very powerful. We stretch out the back not to break preparations and add it and the pace of the horse. The scenery from the horse is high and feels the comfortable wind. I might stop on the way, but walk the way with the pitch difference easily. I took a photograph at the good place of the scene. It was the experience that I could taste beautiful air and scenery in instant one hour, and was valuable.
A guide could tell neighboring restaurants and the recommended beach and was very kind. I want to recommend it to all of you by all means.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Na Pali Coast Sunset Cruise with Dinner & Cocktails by Holo Holo Charters

Our wonderful trip to the Na Pali Coast

Reviewed by: Bernadette & Patrick, 2014/11/17

We had the best trip you can get to the Napali Coast! The weather did it's best to blow away the clouds, but also made the sea rough so we got lots of fun in the waves and went wet in the front of the boat. After half an hour we were completely soaked and decided to go to the back were it is almost dry. There you also have a god view but it is rather bumpy than on the front of the boat. We had a nice and sunny view along the coastline of Kauai. Compared to our trips by helicopter and car the boat trip is the most relaxing way to see the coast and for us the most impressive. The height of the cliffs of Na Pali Coast is best seen from the bottom. From up in the air you'll get a great overview but you wouldn't see the whole scenery. The buffet on board was well organized and we had some delicious snacks on our tour. The crew took very good care of us all along the trip and offered very often to take pictures of us in the beautiful scenery. Nearby the harbor we made an additional stop to watch out for wales and turtles which are often seen on that place. Unfortunately we didn't find any turtle or wale but a lot of flying fish. The beautiful sunset with a glass of champagne was the right ending of a beautiful day on sea. MAHALO to Capt. Kelly and the crew Aaron, Jake and Max!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Flyboard Ride Adventure (with Waikiki pick-up)

Unforgettable Honeymoon Adventure

Reviewed by: Jane S. , 2016/04/21

I purchased the 30-minute Xtreme Flyboarding Adventure through Veltra during our honeymoon time in Oahu, Hawaii. My husband had been talking about wanting to do it for some time so I thought that it would be the perfect opportunity to surprise him. We had such a great time and the overall experience was definitely a memorable one!

While booking, there was an option for pick-up and drop-off which it was conveniently located right across from our hotel (Hyatt Regency). This made the travel so much easier as we did not have to worry about driving there or parking. Upon pick up, we were taken to the Xtreme salesbooth where we submitted our voucher and were picked up by a shuttle to take us to the pier. Everyone was very pleasant. At the pier, we were met by our guides, Mike and Sam, who took us on a speedboat to a mid-water location where our activity would take place.

It was a small group of us-my husband and I were the only ones doing the flyboarding while the others were on jet skis. Sam was our instructor and he was very patient, kind and encouraging throughout the experience! Personally, it took me a little while to get the hang of it but once I got up in the air, I didn’t want to leave. I would recommend getting the hour package if you want to extra time of fun!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center General Admission & Night Show Tickets

Exceeded our expectations!

Reviewed by: Sally, 2016/11/07

I thought this would be like a small Disneyland. It was, but in many ways so much better. We were greeted by helpful and enthusiastic young people who pointed us in the right direction. The staff consists of college kids who come from a variety of Pacific islands. We visited five of the six "villages", watching a show/demo at each. There were several performers but, at each, one mature person engaged the audience. They were descendants of that culture who told us fascinating stories and were often very funny. We took a boat ride down the river before watching the 15-minute movie "Hawaiian Journey." It's billed as a "breathtaking journey for the senses" and it was. Few people seemed to notice that there were speakers in the headrest of each chair. The music and sounds made me feel as if I were actually traveling through the beauty of Hawaii. Our ticket included dinner, which was good. The highlight of the day for me was the show afterwards: "Ha--Breath of life." It was amazing... and breathtaking; definitely on a par with Cirque du Soleil. The performances, set, lighting and choreography were amazing. They even served ice cream during the 10-minute intermission! It was a wonderful experience that gave me a better appreciation for the Polynesian people and their cultures.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Molokini & Turtle Town Snorkeling Tour (from Maalaea Harbor)

Molokini Snorkel AWESOME!

Reviewed by: barbara schafer, 2014/12/03

The day started off well as a greeter showed us where to park. A quick walk to the boat where we filled out the waivers and were able to see the sun come up behind the island in the distance. We formed a line to board (very organized) and took a boarding picture.

Unfortunately the weather at Molokini was not favorable, so we went to two alternate stops. At the first we were able to see four sea turtles! (along with the associated tropical fish cleaning them). The second stop was closer to the rocks which was pretty awesome to watch the waves crash and the reef was much shallower. A few different fish were there as well.

There was a slide for the children and the adventurous adults. Lunch was served after the first stop. Hamburger, hot dog or chicken and some side items.

Throughout the day Ryan (the videographer) took excellent underwater shots and generally just had a very pleasing demeanor. He seemed to really love his job (who wouldn't, right?)

After the second stop the bar service opened and there were crew members walking around offering refills. Talk about service! As we rounded back to the harbor the wind and waves picked up but the captain still kept the boat stable.

It was a very enjoyable snorkeling experience and I would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2014/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith's Family Garden Luau - Kauai's Most Famous Luau & Fire Knife Dancing Show

Nice surprise

Reviewed by: Mikaela, 2018/08/29

My idea about a Luau was...some food and a little bit of Tahitian dancing on a hotel property...This is what we saw year after year walking on Kaanapali beach - Maui .

Smith Family Garden Luau IT IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT- worth attending. They are very well organized and offer you a unique experience!

1. You get greeted by a local girl and boy who are offering a lei and at this point you get a group picture taken- nice touch- no pressure to buy it,

2.They offer you a tour of the garden and after that you have time to wander by yourself- 50 min- until they do the pork ceremony.

3. You are invited to your table- parties 6 or more have assigned seats- very thoughtful. They have a neat system to invite you to get the food without overcrowding the area. BTW- plenty of good food and drinks.
4. During the meal they entertain you : a little bit of dancing and singing and they invite people from the crowd to teach them how to dance. It was really neat !!
4. After the meal you are invited to an outdoor theater for an 1 hour show. It was A REAL show...lights, music...put together very professional! Enough seats for everyone, you can seethe scene from every seat . At the entrance you can pick up your photos.


I think it is the only Luau worth attending :)


  • In the garden

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Excellent guided tour of Lana'i

Reviewed by: John and Eva, 2019/04/07

We have been coming to Maui for years but have never ventured off the island to visit Lana'i. First of all, Veltra allowed us to change the tour date from a Monday to a Thursday with no problem since we had a conflict come up. The ferry ride from Lahaina was easy and took about 45 minutes. The sea was very calm and although they recommend taking sea sickness pills, it wasn't necessary for this trip. Our tour guide Bruce, met us at the ferry dock on Lana'i. He drove us around in an air conditioned Suburban which was very comfortable. It was just the two of us so the tour was really personalized. We took the full day tour which really gives you a great impression of the island. The tour was about 2 1/2 hours in the morning, then an hour for lunch and 2 hours in the afternoon. Bruce, our guide has lived on Lana'i for 20 years and was very knowledgeable. He has seen the positive changes that have occurred on Lanai' since Larry Ellison bought the island five years ago and thoroughly explained the evolution of the island through the current day. We were then dropped off at the ferry dock for the 4:30 p.m. ferry back to Lanai--note, you need to book the return ferry when you schedule the tour and for the all day tour, the 4:30 p.m. ferry is the one to take.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Magic of Polynesia Dinner Show - Hawaii's Best Magic Show!

amazing magic of polynesia

Reviewed by: Cora, 2016/12/05

The show, Magic of Polynesia was on the most amazing shows I have seen. I would highly recommend it to others. On Tuesday, November 29th, I was highly surprised when my dad said, “Would you like to go the show, Magic of Polynesia?” I said “yes, daddy!” My brother who is 5 years old and me who is 9 could not wait. Six hours later, we were at the show. A singer popped out of the curtains and sang songs that were beautiful love songs and was wonderful entertainment. He was an Elvis impersonator. One half hour later, John H shows up in the audience doing multiple sleight of hand tricks. They were amazing. He actually made 4 quarters turn into 50. Then all of sudden, curtains popped open and a guy (not John H) in a cage was on stage, and then one second later it was actually John H. Soon after, there were amazing dances and John H made a car, helicopter, and person (girl) fly. The car and helicopter vanished, and the girl became a shooting star. He engaged the audience and had audience participation. My favorite part of the show was when he made a tissue become a rose and tissue paper become snow. The snow came from his hand and spread throughout the audience. The show was full of not only magic but beautiful dances, including fire dancing and amazing food.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2016/11/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kailua Bay Twin Islands Kayaking and Snorkel Tour with Landing

First time kayaking!

Reviewed by: Kath, 2017/10/13

The tour overall was fun, and came with the necessities for our trip (tour guide, ride to and from hotel, locker for items, dry bag and mesh bag, snorkeling gear, snacks, food) Everything worked properly and everyone at the shop was friendly and helpful. The views on the kayak are fantastic and we even saw a baby Hawaiian monk seal sleeping on the beach on Moku Nui.

I would have put 4 stars because lunch was alright for the price (a sandwich, chips, and drink) and we would have liked to spend more time on the island relaxing. We also had to roll our kayaks to the beach which took up some time and energy - they're pretty heavy, at least for us smaller folks :)

HOWEVER, it is 5 stars because our guide, Keala, was awesome. She was extremely friendly, knowledgeable, and entertaining. It was our first time kayaking and we went at a good pace. When we arrived on the island, she took us around and told us about the history of the islands, its animals, and its nature. The whole tour vibe was relaxing and fun - we didn't feel rushed at all. She even offered multiple times to take pictures of us! So we got plenty of nice pics at the beach and in the water. The van ride home was great too, she pointed out places to us and told us more about Oahu. Thank you Keala!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Grand Circle Island, Hanauma Bay Lookout & Kualoa Ranch Sightseeing Tour

A day filled with fun for the entire family!

Reviewed by: Tatiana Johnson, 2016/12/01

Even though I am not a tourist and have lived in Honolulu for almost three years, the circle island tour with Polynesian Adventure Tours was amazing to say the least. I had already been to most of the places we visited on the tour, but on that day I saw the island in a different light. Nothing like learning about Hawaii from a native Hawaiian guide! He was a human encyclopedia of information and facts. Culture, history, flora, fauna, movie set locations—he knew it all.

What specifically impressed me is when our guide talked about Captain Cook’s death. Many sources say that this European sailor might have been eaten by the natives. Our guide shared, however, that Hawaiian people never practices cannibalism. After Cook’s death his body was treated the same way a body of a local chief would be treated—the flesh was burnt but the bones remained intact for further burial. So, upon requesting their captain’s body, Cook’s team was issued a bag of bones, which made them automatically assume he had been eaten.

I would highly recommend the circle island tour to anyone wanting to see Oahu’s beautiful nature and also learn more about its history and culture. This tour will definitely broaden your horizons. I am thankful I had the opportunity to go!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Eco tours hike was informative and very nice

Reviewed by: Dan and Denise, 2015/04/27

Me and and my girlfriend both liked the young guides who picked us up at the North Shore Marketplace parking lot. It was just us two so we felt very privilidged. The Hawaiian guide drove for about 20 min through many farms and got to know much abut them and who owned them, unfortunately much of the land were rented by Monsantos. Part of the drive was very bumpy but became much better when we got unto the military roads. The hike was not that hard mostly because the water wasn´t that high this time. It was partly slippery but our sneekers was enough to manage it. There were some very niice sceneries and crossig over the river and the mountain pool swim at the summit was very pleasent and just what we needed after a 2.5 hours hike. We got to use helmets but just for a very short time. The lunch was two wraps each and was more than enough for us.
The hawaiian native guide told us much about the the hawaiian culture and the problems hawaiians have had keeping their language alive. We also got to know about much about the different plants and trees, and the tight bond to nature hawaiina have had, he also made a hawaiian chant to the forrest when we just started the hike which was very nice to hear. We would recommend this hike to all our friends.


  • Great view at the end of the hike

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much for the kind words... we're so glad you two enjoyed yourselves!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/25
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Body Glove Dinner Cruise - Kona Sunset Dinner Cruise with Live Music

The most romantic and special event of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Kimo Kameaalohalani , 2017/01/07

So I decided to propose on this particular cruise, and I couldn't have picked a more romantic, thoughtful, and special cruise to do it. I was so incredibly nervous, but the customer service rep was extremely communicative and responsive for my specific request. John, the captain of the vessel, was so knowledgable in the marine life, that my fiance and I asked if he had majored in Marine Biology in college. He had a lot of passion for the marine life and he spent a lot of time speaking with us. Also, the wait staff was beyond courteous, they took pictures of my engagement, and they made us feel so special with their champagne toast.

I also set-up an original song to sing for my fiance, and the musician onboard actually learned my song before-hand, and played it perfectly as I sang it in front of 40 strangers! His tunes really bring that cool, Hawaiian vibe, and the MC was great with her meticulous tour and crowd work. I couldn't have asked for a better sunset, a perfect location, and the greatest staff that I have probably ever encountered. That's saying a lot as I had been a musician on several international five-star cruise lines in the past. I would HIGHLY recommend this cruise to anyone looking for a special event with incredible food.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour

Amazing adventurous experience viewing much of the Big Island treasures!

Reviewed by: Swillem40, 2018/11/18

What an amazing experience!!  Not only are you able to see the beauty in a fun adventurous manner but there is time and places to capture pictures in between some of the ziplines. The views are stunning and you’ll see waterfalls, rainforest, the ocean and so much more. The staff does a great job of getting everyone to open up and have a great time. They take the time to give you tips on how to do things so you get the most out of your experience. You are sure to laugh the entire time! It was great to also see so many kids on our tour who had an amazing time!
There is a little store before you start where you can get some things like souvenirs, treats, and bug spray.  If you go on a rainy day I would note you could get some mud onto yourself but it is minimal. It may also be helpful to consider the equipment when dressing.  Many on our tour thought it would be cooler because of the rain to start but the equipment keeps you a bit warm so many had rain coats they didn’t want. They do have some video and picture packages you are able to purchase of your tour and I recommend waiting to purchase these extras until the end of your tour to see if you like them.  If you go with the GoPro camera option then you will want that ahead of time.


  • All strapped up and ready to go!


  • Awesome bridge you enjoy walking!


  • Beautiful view back on what you just went over.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Diamond Head Crater Hike Guided Tour (from Waikiki)

Loved the Guided Diamond Head Hike!

Reviewed by: Mrs. D, 2015/09/06

The Diamond Head Hike was one of our favorite activities on Oahu! My 13 year old daughter and I booked this hike and, while we could have done it alone, I'm glad we were part of a group. We were picked up at our hotel and taken to diamond head. Our guide was friendly and helpful....I have to note that while he walked with the group, everyone climbed at their own pace...some were way ahead and others followed up from behind but we had meeting points at the mid way range and then at the top to be sure we had everyone. Our group was great and everyone watched out for one another. The climb itself is not overly difficult. There were people of all ages climbing. There are stopping points to take breaks if needed. Of course coming down is easier than going up!! Once we were down, our guide allowed time for the restroom and to grab a bottle of water if needed. Upon boarding the van for the return back to the hotel, we were all given our own individual 'I climbed Diamond Head' certificate which can be personalized and framed...my daughter loved this! I'd highly recommend this tour. I'd also recommend to book the early morning climb as it was getting very hot by 8:30 as we were finishing up. You'll also want a bottle of water.


  • At the top overlooking the inside off the crater


  • That's where we're headed


  • Sweeping views from the top


  • Top view


  • View of Makopu'u Lighthouse from the top

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Mrs. D,

We are thrilled that this hike was something you and your daughter both enjoyed! Your kind words and Great review mean a great deal to us, and your pictures turned out fantastic! The group support experience and educational part of the tours is exactly why we love our Diamond Head hike as well, and to be able to share that with Visitors makes it all worthwhile. Join us again for another adventure the next time you are in Oahu!

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Oahu Nature Tours

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]