This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for All Hawaii Tours & Activities in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.71 4.71 / 5

Reviews

14739 reviews

Germaine's Luau - Authentic Beach Front Hawaiian Luau & Polynesian Show

I call it a barefoot Luau....

Reviewed by: Ms.Ems, 2019/02/22

Exploring Oahu can be so much fun and Germaine's Luau is one of them! Mind you, I have been to mostly all the Luaus on the island but not for Germaine's. I was only convinced to try when many of my "social media" friends were posting and saying good things about it.
I'm a local resident here, and three of my friends from the mainland came to visit so we decided to join the Luau. They took the bus transportation from Waikiki provided by Germaine's and I drove to meet them there. I checked-in half hour early which gave me ample time to explore around the area and take photos. It’s actually a very nice place! Beautiful private beachfront setting with a view of the spectacular sunset!
We ordered the Hibiscus Package which included 3 drink tickets that I was given immediately at the time of check-in. We had a nice center seating section, which provided a better viewing of the Polynesian entertainment. On our way to the bar and to the buffet line, my friends and I decided to leave our sandals under our bench table and went barefoot through the sand because it was difficult to walk in. It was still a fun night, your feet touching the sand makes it a unique Luau experience.
Their drinks..I think their cups are small but since I got 3, it was just good enough for me! The food was delicious, and lots of Polynesian entertainment! All of my expectations were met. Definitely recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Awesome day at Gunstock Ranch

Reviewed by: Michele Colletti, 2017/09/04

My husband and I and our 2 kids age 10 and 12 set out from k'Olina area to the ranch. I have to say the drive was amazing. Great views, beach pull off spots, food trucks and we also stopped off at a coffee farm on the way. Once at Gunstock Ranch the staff was super friendly and accommodating. The horses were incredibly trained and easy to ride. The horses were very very very calm and I would trust my 91 year old grandmother could ride them and be just fine. The place was very clean and the horses very well kept after. Hardly any bugs at all, although we did put bug spray on us before hand just incase. I saw beautiful butterflies during the ride on beautiful lush natural trees and bushes. Seriously the views looked like movie sets and later we learned filming was done there in the past. The ride was easy, smooth and very very enjoyable. The scenery was incredible. We rode so close to cows big ones and baby ones. They were very calm and I was happy to know the cattle ranch does not brand their cattle but tag them with numbers. The people at this ranch really do take care of the horses. It's extremely apparent the amazing caring hands these horses are in. You do not need any prior experience at all to do this excursion and I highly highly recommend them over any other ranch in the area. We have done family trail rides before but this one was the best! When we return to Oahu we will be back.

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for your review Michele! We take great pride in the care of our horses and our ranch, we are so glad you had an amazing time! We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Mahalo,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poipu Valley Skyline Ziplining Eco Adventure

Skyline Eco-Adventure

Reviewed by: Mark & Chris from LA, 2014/11/19

The activity that i was looking forward to the most, on my most recent vacation to Kauai with my girlfriend and two friends of ours last week, was this zipline adventure and it was so much better on many levels than i had imagined. it was my first, my girlfriend's second. this is a top notch crew that operates this gig. they called the day before our outting to remind and verify, checking in was quick and effortless, the entire staff is way cool and the ride from their storefront to the zipline site was a short and scenic 15 minuite ride. once you reach the initial starting point, your two guides (ask for Axel, he's a character) suit you up in your gear and it's a short hike (which is actually the longest of the day) to the first launching platform where they give you a brief zipline 001 tutorial. one guide takes off to the end of the line awaiting your arrival and the other assists and instructs you on how to proceed, and then one at a time you're zippin' down the line high above valleys of lush greenery with unimaginable views from your mountain top to the deep blue ocean miles away. each line is different than the others in height, speed, take off and landing, view, tension, etc. they take lots of pictures that you can view and opt to purchase after. it's worth every penny and if i would have had more time i would have done it twice. so, check it out, you'll dig it too..............

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center General Admission & Night Show Tickets

Great Polynesian Culture Exposure

Reviewed by: Benson’s , 2018/01/28

My wife and I were pleasantly surprised by the evening show. The show HA: Breath of Life was entertaining and told a nice story while demonstrating the cultural talent and beauty of Polynesian cultures. We loved seeing all the different styles of dances from different Polynesian islands (Fiji, Samoa, Tonga, Hawaii, etc.) The set and backdrop were awesome! We greatly enjoyed the fire dancers! They were awesome!

We only pay for the General Admission and the Night Show Package (meal and villages activities not included), but we would suggest you to plan more time at this place! There are shops and eateries as well as a group of villages representing the cultures. Excellent opportunity to see a dance! The venue is clean and comfortable! Glad we took the trip up there!

On site, we learned there were other performances available during the day that showed the various island cultures, dances and dress. We were glad we saw HA because the dance included all those styles. We would have liked to had dinner at a food truck had we known the performance didn’t start until 7:30 PM. But we were able to still enjoy a good poke bowl at Tita’s Grill and delicious crepes from Delice Crepes (very good value for the price too). The timing allowed us to spend the day at North Shore and snorkel, then transition back to the Polynesian Cultural Center. This was a great way end a very enjoyable day.


  • Delicious Crepes from Delice Crepes


  • Poke bowl from Tita’s Grill


  • Great music and funny humor from father son duets before the Night Show starts

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

THE most AMAZING tour I've been on!!!

Reviewed by: Caren and Jan, 2017/12/09

We did the night time volcano viewing tour with stargazing through Kailani Tours Hawaii. It also included lunch, Rainbow Falls, Lava Tube and Jaggar Museum. This was one the BEST tours that I have EVER been on! It was our driver, Kawika's, first day and Kevin was his "co-pilot". We were VERY fortunate to have the knowledge of 2 excellent tour guides that could bounce things off of each other. They were both VERY personable and friendly. They took special care to make sure we were well fed, had water, jackets, flashlights, hot chocolate and cookies! The lunch was excellent and the dinner was superb! The service at the restaurant was just as good as the service from Kawika and Kevin! We ended up having some extra time due to all the pick up's being in the same vicinity, so we were able to see a couple of little extra things in the Volcano National Park - not normal - so it made the day extra special. Kawika was extremely knowledgeable about the volcanic system and was great at explaining it to us. The volcano viewing at night was the most spectacular thing I have ever had the privilege of seeing on this Earth! The weather was perfect and the view was INCREDIBLE! Kawika and Kevin set up a great telescope to view the stars through and they were also able to take photos of the volcano through it with our phones! I HIGHLY recommend this tour and the tour company! You won't regret it!


  • Volcano's National Park


  • Volcano's National Park


  • Devil's Throat


  • Night Time viewing of volcano


  • Night Time viewing of volcano


  • Night Time viewing of volcano

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hobie Catamaran Snorkel Sail at Kaneohe Bay Sandbar

Best way to enjoy sand bar

Reviewed by: Bonnie, 2016/07/26

We had amazing experience with Captain Parker( Not sure, if you call Catamaran sailer captain),but he had extraordinary talent with maneuvering Catamaran. Since our group was average of 60 years olds ( One close to 80 ), some of us were very insecure about the whole thing, especially, we were expecting hurricane Darby! Although, Parker made us feel very safe and comfortable, we were enjoying so much that we soon forgot that we were scared in the first place, riding through rough wave ( due to hurricane) which rarely ever happens in Kaneohe sand bar area. Sandbar was unbelievably beautiful, but I think what really made us enjoy this experience so much was Captain Parker. He was so knowledgeable about the area/ Ocean. We've seen so much turtle from 100 years old Mom to babies, I lost count after about 20 turtles, We said to ourselves, we've seen enough turtle for the rest of our lives! We also saw black tip shark, which is supposed to be rare to be seen in Kaneohe sand bar. We were able to go where no one else was in the Sandbar, which was so special, we were not crowded by the whole bunch of tourist, although, 3 out of us were indeed, tourist as well : ) This was far best experience, even for local Aunty like myself! Barbecue was also very tasty, it was not dried up meat, which we expected. I would recommend this catamaran sail to anyone from young to old ones!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Bonnie,
Thank you so much for such a positive review! And thank you for joining us on one of our adventures. I am so glad to hear that you had what sounds like a great experience with us. I speak for Parker and all of us when I say we truly appreciate you joining us to share that experience. And even more so, we really appreciate you sharing such great feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Mahalo nui loa!

Andy
Holokai Kayak and Snorkel Adventure

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2016/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Whale Watching Cruise with Free Hotel Pick-up

Best whale watch in Honolulu

Reviewed by: Unju Rogers, 2015/03/30

This is by far the best whale watch in Honolulu. I've been on both Navatek and Star of the Sea whale watches and they do not compare to the experience you get with this whale watch. The catamaran is very clean and the crew was great! They were not only observant to everyone's safety on board they were hilarious! My family (including a two year old toddler) had an amazing time. I was very fortunate to have found this activity through Veltra. I was hosting a friend who had never been on a whale watch and it was an amazing experience. We chose the late morning tour and it was perfect. The boat went out and the crew was able to find whales within 30 minutes from take off. There were an estimated 5 male humpback whales swimming together and we circled them while they dove. They were so magnificent and during the time we were watching them the crew members told us much about their behaviors. they told us why it wasn't unusual that a group of males would be traveling together and they also told us what would've been different if we had spotted a mama and her calf. Although none breached out of the water we saw them come to the surface many times. It was so amazing to see so many of them at once! At one point we saw all five come to the surface and blow water from their backs at the same time. Talk about a magical vacation moment!

I'd book this again in a heartbeat!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Pearl Harbor made easy! Saved a lot of time by taking this tour!

Reviewed by: Dennis, 2015/08/03

What a nice tour! We took the Royal Star Hawaii Deluxe Pearl Harbor/Arizona Memorial and Historical City Tour.
This is a great tour because, regardless of what you read anywhere else, there is an advantage to getting a tour operator to take you. I was curious about how easy it would be to get tickets on your own, so I went over to the ticket counter and asked what the next available time would be (already having the ticket that our guide, Larry, gave us). It was 3 hours later than the ticket Larry got us! We saved 3 hours, allowing us the 2nd half of the day to go do other things!
Our tour guide, Larry, who is very knowledgeable, shared many interesting facts and insights about the area. As for the Pearl Harbor portion of the trip, he gave us helpful instructions in advance, walked us in as a group, went to get our tickets for us, and then gave us instructions on what to see and do. He was even available for us while we toured the visitors center and museum. When we came back to the bus, he even had a mint and handy wipe for each of us to freshen up!
We also went to National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific and to Downtown Honolulu to see the famous statue of King Kamehameha, again many interesting facts delivered by Larry.

Conclusion: quality tour, saved 3+ hours of our day. Easy pickup and drop off near major Hotels.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

A Fantastic Experience - We Will Be Back

Reviewed by: Rebecca Lyons, 2019/02/07

What an amazing adventure we had on the Mikani Catameran Sunset Dinner Sail.

The whole experience was sensational. From the time we were picked up from the hotel the arrangements were seamless. All the directions provided by Veltra were easy to follow, the driver was on time and super friendly and we felt instantly welcomed. The air conditioned van was very spacious and comfortable and our destination was just a short ride from Waikiki. Upon our arrival at the wharf we were met by the booking staff who assisted us to check in and provide our boarding pass.

Stepping on board the catamaran we were welcomed by the friendly staff who were all very professional and we instantly felt part of the family. The boat was spacious with lots of areas both inside and out to cater for all tastes.

As we sailed off into the spectacular Hawaiian sunset we enjoyed the expansive views of the Waikiki coastline. After an enjoyable sail, we were invited to enjoy a delicious buffet dinner and home made cookies for dessert. After dinner we settled in and prepared ourselves for the fireworks. We weren’t disappointed, the captain ensured we had the best vantage point to experience this spectacular show.

I would highly recommend this cruise to anyone visiting Hawaii, it was the highlight of our trip and something we will never forget. We will definitely be back next time.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Catamaran Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour

Get the Wild Dolphin Experience from Ko Olina Ocean Adventures!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/25

I was picked up on time by Randi as soon as I got to the hotel. I was a little early, but it worked out so I wouldn't have to wait forever as the driver Randi was already waiting. She was very courteous and a nice person to talk story with on such a long drive. As soon as we got there, it was such a pretty place! When I checked in. Chyanne was very polite and made sure that I was taken care of. Austin the captain of the boat got everyone on as smoothly as possible. The boat ride was great and the Waianae coastline is wonderful. We stopped next to the Aloha Factory which was a perfect snorkel spot. There were tons of tropical fish and cool things to see. The next snorkel spot was a little farther north and we saw so many dolphins! They were swimming next to the boat. We waded around in the water and the dolphins came close by. It was amazing! I could here the little dolphin songs underwater when there were a lot of them around. We had an awesome photographer Barnabus who made all of us look pretty in our pictures. While I did have a camera, it's a lot better to have him take your photos. After all, this really is the experience of a lifetime, so looking pretty is necessity. When we got back, I was greeted with a wonderful lunch of a pulled pork sandwich, fresh fruit salad, and chips. If I could I would give the dolphin watch tour 10 stars! I highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Awesome volcano tour on the Big Island!

Reviewed by: jdgriffin23, 2016/03/22

This is one of the best tours to take while on the Big Island of Hawaii. We were picked up from our hotel in Waikoloa Beach in a very nice and comfortable van. The first stop was at Mauna Kea park where we had a delicious lunch. Our tour guide (Mike - awesome!) even brought placemats for us to use at the picnic tables! We then went along saddle road while he told us very interesting information about Hawaii and the volcanoes. We saw a beautiful waterfall at Rainbow Falls. We stopped at several locations to see the various types of lava produced by the volcanoes. We went to the Jagger museum and saw Kilauea crater, the Thurston lava tube, steam vents, and enjoyed samples of Kona coffee, cookies, and candy at the Big Island Candy factory. Delicious! We had a wonderful dinner at Kilauea Lodge and then went back to the Jagger museum to see the lava flow at night. It was amazing! Mike had binocular, warm coats, hot chocolate, tea, coffee and snack for us. After that, we went stargazing. It was cold at night, so having the coats was great. We had plenty of bathroom breaks throughout the tour and the 12 hours went by quickly. We also watched some incredible videos about the volcanoes on the trip on a large screen in the van. I would definitely recommend this tour! The tour guide was great, food was great, and we met some new friends along the way!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha and Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience! We are so happy to hear that you had such an awesome day with Mike. It's incredible how fast 12 hours can go by when you're having so much fun! Most people don't realize how cold parts of our island can get, especially in the evening, and we are glad that our parkas helped keep you comfortable while watching the glow from the lava lake in Halema'uma'u and also while stargazing. Mahalo for your wonderful recommendation and we hope to see you on your next visit to the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Fantastic tour - more than what we expected !

Reviewed by: Loi & Amy ~ Canada, 2015/07/18

We were in Hawaii for the first time celebrating our 30th anniversary and stayed for 7 nights in Waikikki. We booked this tour in advanced, paid total US$75 each, total $150.00 which included the admission and tour to USS Battleship Missouri via this site. So glad we booked this tour which we did on our 3rd day. We were picked up 5 minutes earlier, and the tour guide Marlon was most helpful and courteous. We got to stop and visit the Palace in Honolulu since we were early. The motor coach was very comfortable. A group with young children was late coming back, but the bus operator waited patiently for them. Marlon gave us very good instructions, for all the different visit sites at Pearl Harbour, and got us all our admission tickets very quickly and smoothly. This tour is well worth it as we got so many information which you would not have known had you just gone on your own. We did rent a car for 3 days, but we definitely made a right decision to purchase this tour and not drive there ourselves, just for the extra tour guide information is well worth it. Instead, we rented the car for our last 3 days in Waikikki and drove along North Shore, South Shore and West shore over 3 days. The Pearl Harbour, including Mighty Mo tour is a must do - we even got to take a picture with Mr. Hyland, a 98 year old survivor from Pearl Harbour. 5 stars for this tour !


  • Mighty Mo - USS Missouri


  • King Kamehameha Palace


  • Pearl Harbour Tour - always remember those who sacrificed for peace in the world.


  • So thankful for what all the allied forces did to end WWII.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Winery, Punalulu Black Sand Beach & Waterfalls Island Tour (from Kona)

Fantastic Day

Reviewed by: msblock, 2014/05/14

What a fantastic day!
Me and my friend were flying for the day and this tour was perfect for us!
Our group was small and the guide Marcus was very knowledgeable and friendly, sharing with us valuable information and keeping us entertained during the whole day.

It was a day full of wonderful surprises! To drive from Kona to Hilo we took Saddle Road and WOW! That's crazy how the landscape changes so fast along the way.

The first stop was at Rainbow Falls, we took many pictures and a short walk around the area. Next we headed to charming Hilo Town. Make sure to try their shaved ice!
For lunch we stopped at a Orchid Nursery and had a delicious sandwich.

The highlight of the day for sure was the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.
We hiked around Iki Crater. It's an easy short hike and there are many lookout points along the way. We also walked through Thurston Lava Tube and stopped to check the steam vents on the way to Jaggar Museum.

At Jaggar Museum you have perfect view from Halema'uma'u Crater and great pictures opportunities!

After the National Park we stopped at the incredible Black Sand Beach and our last stop was at a delicious bakery, Marcus got us delicious Malasadas!

On our drive back to Kona we could witness a beautiful sunset.

I recommend this tour for everyone staying in Kona! It definitely exceed my expectations.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gunstock Ranch Oahu Horseback Riding Tours - Sunset & Daytime Rides

Gunstock Ranch Horseback Riding Tour 10/17

Reviewed by: Jason Layton, 2017/10/25

My wife and I were in Hawaii for our honeymoon and wanted to venture out to the north shore of Oahu to get a taste of the landscape out there. I booked a horseback riding tour for our first full day in Oahu, and even though we had to get up early to make it out in time for our ride, it was SO worth it. Everything with the ride and staff at Gunstock ranch was perfect. Finding the ranch was easy and the signs leading to where we needed to go were so clear. We showed up a little early and our tour guide was still grooming and prepping the horses for the day, but she let us wander around and meet some of the horses. She was so kind and informative and did an amazing job leading our ride. She was patient and very clear in her instructions, and even though our ride was only 1 hour I feel like she went above and beyond to pack as much as she could into our hour ride! The service from Gunstock ranch was TOP NOTCH and I would HIGHLY recommend anybody to check it out. Even if the price seems a little high, it was so worth it and I can guarantee you will not regret making the trek out and taking a trail ride with Gunstock ranch. The location / area is so beautiful, we even saw a full and amazing rainbow the morning of our ride. If I could give this company / this ride 6 stars I would! I will definitely come back again next time we are on the island!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha!
Thank you so much for your kind review! We hope you love our ranch as much as we do, and we hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo nui loa,
Emily Hernandez
Gunstock Ranch

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters - Kauai Eco Adventure Deluxe Air Tour (from Lihue)

Best part of our Kauai vacation!

Reviewed by: KCOOPER, 2014/11/16

We had 7 vacation days to take in as much of Kauai as we could, and we had booked our helicopter ride a month before we took it, but at the moment we were to get on the helicopter, the ride was cancelled due to poor weather. Can't fault them for that, in fact we appreciated that they cared enough for our safety and enjoyment of the ride by cancelling it when they felt compelled to. Fortunately, we were able to re-book 2 days later, and by then we had explored enough of the island to have a good idea what we were looking at once we were up in the air. This made the helicopter trip that much more valuable to us once we got up there. I had two cameras with me on the ride, taking both stills and videos the entire time, and now, a few weeks after the trip and having reviewed their and my photoraphy work, I've come to realize that the video of our trip that we bought from Blue Hawaiian Helicopters was BETTER quality than most of my videos, and I probably should have spent more time enjoying the ride than worrying about getting the shots. So if you go, be sure to buy the DVD or SD card of your ride, and don't be too concerned about taking pictures or videos. Although the ride was expensive, it was well worth the cost because you would never really see Kauai like you do in a helicopter ride, and Blue Hawaiian Helicopters gives a First Class ride!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/10/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii 5-0 Tour with Lunch at McGarrett's House (from Waikiki)

so much fun and loved the sights as a major fan

Reviewed by: Anne Veghel, 2018/11/21

As a major fan, accompanied by a moderate fan indulging me, we both had a great time. Amy made sure all had fun. We had a lot of laughs, she shared some fun stories and we got to see all the sights. All of O'ahu seems to be a Hawaii Five-O set, but the key spots and how those get adjusted for better TV are all in the tour. High light of course is the time we got to spent at the mcgarrett house. The owners of the bayer estate are so lovely and welcoming, a hugh Mahalo to them. We were extra lucky, because as soon as we got into the car we were invited to a preview of the 200th episode 3 days later at the mcgarrett house. that was the highlight of our trip. We had such a good time and got to talk to Dennis Chun and his lovely wife Laura. Both were so friendly. The Episode was amazing and at our tour we already saw the house which was used in filming that episode. We were just in time to also see the restaurant before the plot line ended. Even if you only know about the show and are not a fan the tour is highly recommended because you're guaranteed to have fun and see lots of O'ahu As a fan you're guaranteed to have the best time of your life, because apart from an actual meet and greet this is the best way to connect to your favourite show. what other show has real life sets you can actually visit?!? Amy, you rock! Next barefoot bottle is on us :-)


  • Best seat in the house....

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand Circle Island Sightseeing Tour on Motorcoach (from Kona)

Fabulous tour!!

Reviewed by: Honeymooner Mrs. A, 2015/10/23

This tour was a wonderful way to see some of the big island's greatest attractions in one day, while learning much of hawaii's culture and history from a native tour guide! Jimmy, our tour guide, did a great job of providing background on all the tour stops and about the scenery along the way, while mixing in some light-hearted humor and even singing a traditional Hawaiian aloha song to end the day! The visits to the coffee plantation and macadamia nut factory were fun and provided lots of tasty samples. The black sand beach was a memorable experience, which included several sea turtle sightings. The visit to the volcano national park was incredible and so fun to eat lunch with the smoking volcano in the background! And the tunnels were amazing, walking through a beautiful rainforest setting and through the marvelous wet caverns - this was one of our favorite parts of the trip! Overall, such a great trip, so glad we booked through Polynesian. And the 11.5 hours went by quickly and comfortably in the bus. Plus, they picked us up and returned us to our hotel, which was such a great bonus, very convenient! They also provided a shuttle to pick us up at the hotel, which took us to the motorcoach, and our driver of the shuttle, Bill, was also very knowledgable of the Hawaiian culture and so friendly. He made being up at 6 am a pleasurable experience!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Whale Watching Cruise with Free Hotel Pick-up

Such an awesome experience in my life

Reviewed by: bigtree, 2015/02/11

Everything was perfect, which was sunny day and the pick-up car to Kewalo Basin arrived on time, actually a little early at the appointment place. It was my first whale watching excursion. I really like to recommend this tour if you are available.

The catamaran that my wife and I got on board, I think, is the perfect size for agile movement for following the humpback whales race and watching them closely and even listening to the mysterious and marvelous whale songs. I think this neat ship is much better than massive cruises to watch fast-moving whales.

Staff who are kind and informative also helped us to have a good memory of the whale watching trip. They are very friendly and kind, especially their informative knowledge will help you better understand the humpback whales traits like why they came to Hawaii and what they do and so forth.

More importantly, I think, the staff really know well about the best spot where we can watch whales. Thanks to the wonderful staff, we really enjoyed and got a lucky chance to watch dozens of whales and their competition race as well as the show of spouting water. Moreover, we could watch tremendous whale breach at the end of our trip, which was carried over the mom whale accompanying its baby. It was really an unbelievable and unforgettable moment in our life. It’s worth your every penny.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/02/07
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Scenic Road to Hana Tour with Waterfall Swim & Black Sand Beach Adventure

Glad we chose to go on a tour instead of driving it ourselves!

Reviewed by: Jenny, 2015/06/09

Our tour guide/bus driver Rory was one of the best tour guides we had during our trip to Hawaii. He made our trip to Hana worthwhile and made us feel comfortable. Not only was he funny and made our trip interesting with his sense of humor but he was very knowledgeable with the history of Hawaii and everything we saw on the Road to Hana. The Road to Hana was a crazy ride but Rory did a great job with the turns and making us feel safe. He made it worth dishing out the money to go on a tour rather than driving it ourselves. We stopped by a couple of places that were not on the schedule, simply because we asked about them and wanted to stop by. We stopped by Hana Farms which was a small stand by Hana that sold the best banana bread. We also stopped by a general store in Hana with cool knick knacks and some snacks. Although it was not on our schedule, he was more than willing to stop and let us look around and buy some stuff. He always cracked jokes and talked about his family. It made us feel like he wasn't just doing his job but that he was enjoying his job and getting to know his guests at the same time. Our Road to Hana wouldn't have been so great if it wasn't for our tour guide from Polynesian Adventure Tours. We recommend this company and this tour guide for any future visitors to Maui who want to go on this tour. You'll have a blast!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Educational, Cultural, & Beautiful!!!

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2015/03/26

I have hiked many of the popular attractions here on Oahu like Diamond Head, Manoa Falls, and Koko Head, but they have nothing as elegant as what the Huakai Iki hike has. We booked our tour, and was informed that the check in location is at the Aloha General Store. We were greeted by our wonderful guides Keola and Holly. We started venturing off on the private roads owned by Kamehameha Schools, Bishop Estate. We had excellent views of the agricultural land, the coastline of Haleiwa, the mountain ranges of both the Ko'olaus and Waianae! We had learned so much Hawaiian historical facts, such as endemic versus native species of plants and animals, special trees and plants such as the Koa tree, ohia lehua, and the strawberry guava tree. Keola and Holly are excellent guides! The one thing that I highly valued is that you can ask them anything! They will tell you if they know about it, and if they don't they will either call you or email me and give you the answer! Many other tour guides on other hikes, tend to come up with excuses, or falsified facts. But not Keola or Holly. We had great views of the swimming pools (water ponds), nice high clouds, and wonderful native plants. This is the best hiking tour that I have been on by far. I will definitely go out with north Shore Eco Tours again, for their Huakai Nui Hike! Mahalo Keola & Holly!


  • Beautiful Day in Hawaii-ne!


  • Our guide Keola


  • The Ohia Lehua


  • One of the landing zones for our military helicopters for training purposes.


  • High up in the mountain range.


  • Did you know Oahu has it's own Grand Canyon too?


  • The big lunch, after our hike was through!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day-Trip from Kauai to Oahu - Pearl Harbor Tour

trip to Pearl Harbor from Kauai

Reviewed by: Tom, 2014/05/01

Overall trip itineray was well organized beginning with plane tickets to and from Kauai. Plane ride was ~20 minutes to Oahu. Tour supposed to begin at 9:30am didn't start ontime due to 2 people being late. That alone did not make us late for 30 minute film presenation at 10:30am at Pearl but did cut into free time to observe rest of memorial. The film presentation was excellent! Trip out to Memorial was all good and quite humbling. All was well organized and went fine. Next went to battleship Missouri and all went fine ( except it rained - no one's fault there )
Next we were out to Memorial Cemetary and that was very interesting as well. Last stop after leaving Cemetary was our free time in Waikiki. Traffic was horrendous and lost alot of freetime to walk around due to travel to downtown.
For my wife and I we felt the cost of trip was reasonable and very glad we took the trip. But the one ingrediant that made the whole day memorable and quite enjoyable was our guide - Mr Garfield. He was engaging, he was extremely knowledgeable not only about Pearl but about ......everything. Not taking away anything from other guides available but having Mr Garfield was a huge positive to making the day an absolute success. I recommend that if you are contemplating taking a trip that you request Mr Garfield. You will not be disappointed.

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Guided Snorkel Tour at Hanauma Bay

Amazing time

Reviewed by: Mimi, 2017/05/07

I went to visit Hawaii with 3 kids, 10, 11, 14 and did 8 hrs private tour.

I would like to say that it was the most amazing tour I have ever done in my life. From beginning to the end, all of us were excited and were having so much fun.

First, we did snorkeling at Hanauma bay. Guide ( so sorry I forgot his name.....) was so patient with all kids (it was a first time snorkeling for most of us). He taught us step by step and made us feel comfortable in the water. We got to see lots of colorful fish and had lots of lots of fun.

Rest of time, Mark took us many many places we could not even visit by ourselves in Hawaii. Kids call him "Moving museum" because he knows everythings about hawai (histories, stories about things and etc) He answered all our questions and we never heard he said " I don't know"......

Mark took us amazing real Hawaiian food restaurant! We got to experience cool food there!!

We could not see sea turtles at Hanauma bay but Mark took us to the beach where he finds sea turtles often. Well, we found 3 of them! It was so amazing to see them and my dream came true!!!!!!

We all thank to both guys who gave us an amazing experience in hawaii, we learned so much about hawaii history and many stories about hawaii.

We would love to do this again next time we visit there for sure.

Thank you again,


  • Sea turtles


  • Hanauma Bay

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak in Paradise - Kailua & Lanikai Beach Kayaking Tour Adventure

Best Kayak ever

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/10/24

Kayaking on the ocean with Kailua Beach Adventures might be one of the best activities we did for our honeymoon. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and give us some great information about the culture and islands.

My husband and I both have done kayaking before, but has never done it in the ocean. There were some waves and it can be a little challenging for those who have never done kayaking before.

One thing to be prepared is some labour work. You need to drag your own kayak to the ocean with a cart they provide. You also need to drag it back. It was not super far, but definitely energy consuming. Most staff members are very friendly. I had a little hard time jumping into the kayak with the waves, the person looked a little annoyed with that and had a bad attitude. She might just be having a bad day.

During the kayak, they have professional photographers taking photos of your group and you can purchase them at the end of your tour for $39. There were about 40 in the package. The lunch coupon gives you three or four lunch choices nearby. Mostly box lunches or pizza with a drink.

I forgot one of my my shopping bags at their shop and called them the next day, they had it sent to my hotel, which was very nice!

We had an overall wonderful experience. We will definitely do it again given the chance!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Magic of Polynesia Dinner Show - Hawaii's Best Magic Show!

Best Magic Show in Hawaii!!

Reviewed by: Sandra Aguirre, 2015/04/24

My fiancee and I attended this event together. We checked in at 7pm and show started at 7:30pm. The location is very centric in Hawaii. We did not do the dinner show but they had great drink choices during the show! My fiancee had the Magical Mai Tai and I opted for a margarita. The show was amazing! The magic tricks were something neither of us had seen in the past. We are still on amazement on some of the tricks. The magician made the show not only amazing with his tricks but he also made it interactive. He interacted with audience and made it so funny to watch! We also loved that it was mixed with a polynesian show to fill in some time slots. The dancers were amazing! The length of show was perfect and did not feel like it went on forever. There were plenty of servers to handle the drink orders. The show is popular so it does get packed which is a good sign. The magician calls an audience members to participate during the show. Some were hesitant while others eagerly waited to participate. That made the show much more fu. Than normal. The ending to the show was very touching and it showed a soft side to the magician. We would definetely want to refer people to watch this show over & over again! You can't go wrong with this activity. If being entertained is what your looking for than look no further! This is the activity for you!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.


  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran - Waikiki Sunset Cocktail Sail with Open Bar

Waikiki Island Magic Catamaran Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Tommy , 2014/07/23

First off, the employees at VELTRA went out of their way to ensure our booking was confirmed and they even delivered a confirmation page for our sunset cruise directly to our hotel. Absolutely fabulous service all around !
When we arrived at the beach at the required check in time, friendly staff welcomed us as we waited to board.
Once onboard, the crew went above and beyond to ensure everyone had an amazing time! Even though this is listed as a " Cocktail Sail " , it was also a very family friendly atmosphere for our teenage Daughter as well, she had a most enjoyable time and not to worry, they have a variety of free non- alcoholic beverages available onboard too. They offer a photo option of your family / group prior to boarding which we normally would not buy but the background and picture quality came out so incredible and was worth the 15 dollar fee ,they have the print in a cardboard folder waiting for you upon your return to shore if you decide to purchase it.
This sunset cruise was a superb value for the low price , from the amazing Crew, to the smooth and safe sailing , and the fun music and relaxing atmosphere , it was a great way to meet so many other nice people on our Hawaiian Vacation! This was one of our top experiences on Oahu.
Simply put, we cannot wait to do it again on our next visit to Waikiki!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Polynesian Cultural Center Full-Day Pass with Luau Dinner & Night Show

Such an awesome day :)

Reviewed by: Laura, 2015/08/06

So I bought the super ambassadors package which bode well for me, considering the 42 acre mass of land the PCC is situated on! As a wheelchair user, probably not the best thing to be doing that on my own! (However massive my biceps may become!)
Everything from the bus ride there with narration from Cousin Nox to the personalised friendly tour guide Jarom who was a fountain of knowledge and super nice guy - was an incredible experience. That's just the customer service! The site itself was beautiful, plentiful in scenic, educational and picturesque landscapes, with presentations that made you laugh, applaud stamp you feet and clap you hands!
Hands down a great tour and an incredible luau and show to end the night! I was fortunate to go backstage before the show and meet someone of the cast - what a lovely bunch! And to see them in action and knowing their complete and genuine appreciation for U.S. tourists being there, made the show even more spectular and the experience that much more worth while.
For sure, I didn't see everything, and I'd definitely go back, especially for another canoe ride! Was so amazed at the level of attention and willingness that was about when I wanted to row the canoe and participate in activities like that.#SuperAccommodating
Truly a wonderful and amazing experience I'll never forget xD


  • These guys were awesome xD

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BOB's Underwater Scooter Adventure

Who said that only swimmers can go under the sea??

Reviewed by: Dilu Braga, 2016/09/30

First I was really afraid because I can barely float, I don't swimming if is not at the pool and going short distance. But I decided to have a new experience as a solo traveler in Hawaii as my first visit. The crew were just amazing, the lady at office received me with a big smile and was very friendly. The rest of the crew really made me feels good and my fears went away. When we got to the spot in the sea the first animal I saw was a turtle, and was an amazing feeling. While the crew organizing every scooter the only thing in my mind was "oh please I don't want to be the first one", after the captain told me I will be the next, I ended up being the third person going under. Words can not explain, you really need to go and have this experience where you can actually be close and touch animals under the sea.
I was lucky enough to see turtles, different kind of fish and even an octopus that got stuck on my big helmet for my pictures and video.
By the end of the day I got my photos and video, I've played my video and couldn't believe that the woman was me, they really did a good job, from the beginning to the end
I really recommend BOB's Adventure underwater scooter, specially if you don't swim at all, like me.


PS: I took the bus to get there from downtown, the commute was really easy and you will get so see more.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Deal Package + Jurassic Jungle Expedition Tour & Kaneohe Cruise

Horseback riding & Zipline adventure in September 2017

Reviewed by: Lee, 2017/10/21

Kuala Ranch is one organized, tightly runned place, especially with the amount of different tour groups going for all the different adventures. I opted for horseback riding & ziplining. Horseback riding was just good. Staff wasn't very personable. The basic instructions given by instructor felt very automated & quick. But since I'm a beginner, I was very happy to have a gentle horse like Mercury. However, my zipline adventure afterwards was fantastic! First time! Jerry, my driver to & from the zipline base, was so down-to-earth & pointed out things of interest along the ride. I was very lucky to have 3 super cool zipline instructors. Angie, Jessica & Connor were friendly, caring, knowledgeable & experienced! My group was a Japanese speaking family. So I was instructed separately. Connor speaks fluent Japanese! The ziplining was quite a thrill but felt very safe! I got stuck towards the end of the longest zipline; it was just amazing to watch how Angie propelled me towards the platform. There instructors are super fit! Never felt scared or nervous. Jessica & I ended up talking like friends! The scenery with its lush valleys & mountains was breathtaking! Seemed to go by so fast! I really wanted to do it again! I think my instructors made my zipline experience fun & memorable! Highlight of my Honolulu trip! Thanks guys!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

"A BEAUTIFUL DAY IN PARIDISE"

Reviewed by: Michele , 2016/04/18

We stared the day with a happy welcome from our guide and driver Jim. He had been a truck driver for most of his life so I felt very comfortable with his driving. From the very start to the end of the day Jim regaled us with his knowledge of the history, biology, geology, stories, songs and politics of this beautiful island. Our first stop was lunch at a pretty park. Lunch was delicious and healthy. We saw waterfalls, volcanos, steam vents and many different types of wild animals. We took an afternoon coffee break at the Big Island Candies shop where we enjoyed a free cup of Kona coffee and tasted many samples of the best cookies. Of course I had to buy at least one box. That evening we ate dinner and had drinks at a nice old lodge by the volcano. We enjoyed the company of the other guests. We all agreed dinner was great. The clouds had cleared and we were able to see the errie red glow of the lava and did some star gazing with Jim's high powered binoculars. The air was chilly up on the mountain and Jim made us hot chocolate and coffee to warm us up. On the way back to our hotels we watched a very interesting video of the history of the volcano with many amazing close up shots of inside and lava flows. It turned out to be a wonderful day and my husband and I agreed we were glad we went and it was worth every penny.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha! Mahalo for joining us on our Deluxe Volcano Experience. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful day with Jim. He is a wonderfully knowledgeable guide whose love for Hawaii shines through his songs and stories of the island. So glad to hear you enjoyed all of the sights and meals along the way. It's pretty hard to walk out of Big Island Candies without buying something with all of the amazing goodies they have there! Even with some cloud coverage, the lava lake is such a majestic sight to see, but when those clouds move, WOW! Mahalo for your kind words and we hope to see you next time you visit the Big Island!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]