This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for All Hawaii Tours & Activities in Hawaii

Overall Rating

4.71 4.71 / 5

Reviews

14763 reviews

Waikiki Fun in the Sun Sailing Cruise by Makani Catamaran

Sailing on the Beautiful Makani Catamaran

Reviewed by: Craig and Maureen, 2017/07/01

We definitely enjoyed our two hours of sailing on the beautiful Makani Catamaran. It’s the best escape from the sweltering midday heat. All aboard! The enthusiastic riders strolled towards the stretched tarp fronting the 60 foot catamaran, as others filled the inner cabin, or sat on the open air benches. Not to worry, all views satisfied a person’s thirst for adventure. After a brief introduction of safety, expectations and friendly crew introductions the big white $2million dollar catamaran slowly glided out of Kewalo Basin towards the majestic deep blue Pacific Ocean, passing other harbored yachts, catamarans and various tourist boats. At the mouth of the basin local fishermen on the shores cast their lines, hoping for a fresh catch for dinner. Beyond the ocean horizon a large cargo boat cruised along at a seemingly slow pace, and by the time the catamaran set at 1/4 mile out in the ocean it had traveled parallel to Diamond Head.
We were entertained, watching the skillful rigging of the main sail and sailing effortlessly along the fringes of the island. Excitement stirred when two large sea turtle surfaced on the dark blue waters, appeasing our anticipation for marine life. Feeling the ocean air against our face, listening to the rippling sounds of ocean waves gently splashing against the hulls, watching sailboats skimming across the blue horizon, parasail riders bobbing in the air, and surfer zealots zigzagging across 4-6 foot waves on Point Panics - What more could we ask for?

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Craig and Maureen

Mahalo for taking the time to share your Sail Makani experience with us. We are so delighted that you enjoyed yourselves. We look forward to sailing with you both again. Sending you both much Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holokai Catamaran Turtle Canyon Snorkel Sail (from Waikiki Beach)

Wonderful, given the circumstances :)

Reviewed by: Kelsy, 2019/02/13

I booked this tour back around August of 2018 for a February 2019 trip. The original date was supposed to be Sunday morning on their first tour; however, they reached out to us on Saturday morning to notify us rescheduling might be required, as the island was going to be hit with an extremely severe storm over the weekend. Sure enough, Sunday morning came, and it was determined the waters were too unstable to enjoy a safe snorkeling experience. We were able to re-book to Monday afternoon, with the hopes the waters would mellow out and clear up by then. We arrived at the meeting spot, and right as we were about to disembark, we were notified the waters were still too dangerous. We were then given the option to either reschedule, or go sail with them for an hour or so, and get a refund on the snorkeling portion. Given we were leaving the following day, we were unfortunately unable to reschedule, and opted for the sailing. The captain, Ryan, and the rest of the crew were all wonderful, and made it a memorable experience. We were out sailing for around an hour and a half, and the views were breathtaking. They also provided everyone a few free drinks to help make up for the inconvenience, and the free snacks provided were much appreciated. While we never got to enjoy the snorkeling itself, I can vouch for the company and their customer service. Thank you for turning lemons to lemonade! Also, in February it was a bit chilly, so I would recommend a light jacket, and definitely sunglasses :)

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Learn How to Surf - Kona Surfing Lessons

TWO THUMBS UP for Lifeguard Surf Instructors

Reviewed by: Michael, 2015/01/10

Our family of six (6) spent ten days on the Big Island. On Friday morning, one of our three boys told us how cool it would be to learn how to surf. That was all the incentive his mother needed to commence her Google search for the best firm to school her three sons (ages 22, 26 and 29) on surfing. She started calling on Friday morning at 8:00 o’clock with all of the places informing her that it would be Monday before they would have a spot for the three boys. The lone exception was Life Guard Surf Instructors. This family owned surf instruction firm took the information about our three (3) sons and arranged to have another instructor come in to give our sons a group lesson, which occurred within three (3) hours of when we initially called.

When we arrived they receive a thorough briefing about what was in store for everyone when they got into the water. This was extremely important since one of our sons has some learning difficulties and is very uncomfortable if there are things that he will be expected to do and he is not warned about them in advance. When we reached the place where the water instruction was to take place, to our surprise, our son who has the learning difficulty was given one on one instruction from one of the Owner family members. He thoroughly enjoyed himself. Our other sons also had a great time. We would highly recommend Life Guard Surf Instructors to everyone who wants their children to be instructed by highly trained and caring instructors.

Comments from activity operators

On behalf of our entire team here at HLSI. Thank you taking the time t write a review and share your families surfing experience with others. We pride our family owned and operated surf school on our customer care and satisfaction and number 1- their safety. Sharing our love for the ocean with others is what our surf school is all about!
Thank you guys for choosing HLSI for your surfing adventure here in Kona. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best North Shore Hiking Tours - Tropical Valley Adventure & Mountain Pool Swim

Awesome Hike!!!

Reviewed by: webstersway, 2015/06/19

We met Keola Nui at the North Shore Market Place, he introduced himself and let us know we would be the only ones on the hike that day. We could not have asked for a better guide. Nui was very knowledgeable about the land we were going to be hiking on, letting us know about the different farms along the road to the trail. He explained the history behind the current lay out of the farms. When we arrived at the trailhead, there was a light mist falling as Nui offered a prayer to the land in the native tongue to reassure it that we were there on peaceful terms. The trail itself was unbelievably beautiful. There were moments where we were complete enclosed in the jungle, then, it would open up to expose the sky and the mountain stream below. Again, Nui was very knowledgable about the flora and fauna, explaining the difference between the native and invasive plants. We encountered a few berries along the trail that we were able to sample, they tasted very much like raspberries. We hiked in for a couple of hours and ended up having lunch on some rocks in the middle of the stream, very cool!!! We then headed back, though there was much more to be seen, we were on a schedule and did not have the time to hike any further. When we had packed away our gear, Nui drove us the the Boy Scout Camp nearby to an absolutely incredible overlook...we did not want to leave!!! This is definitely a hike everyone should try, you'll learn so much about Oahu. Thank you Nui for a truly outstanding experience!!!

Comments from activity operators

Thanks so much for your kind words! We're so happy you all enjoyed your hike!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/06/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley - Polynesian Experience & Free Ticket to Waimea Falls

Toa Luau at Waimea Valley (Add to your Bucket list)

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2018/06/04

I had a amazing time with Toa Luau, food, drinks & show are great. It's a very family oriented luau and the location is beautiful. The good thing about being far from Waikiki, is that you can skip the crowds from the other shows and get a more personal experience.

I really enjoyed the pre-luau activities, they let us be part of dinner preparation and we learned how to make some traditional Polynesian dishes. They let us peel taro, green banana, they showed us how make flower leis & how to use palm leafs to make headbands, baskets and hats. We played Polynesian games and had the chance to play some musical instruments too. Kids and adults were having so much fun! I believe this is the only luau where you can experience a Kava Cerimony, one of the most iconic cultural traditions in Fiji.

I've been to other luaus before, but this one felt different. I didn't feel as a tourist. The staff makes you feel like you are part of their family and that they are inviting you for a real party at their home, so it made the evening really special.
Another good thing is that it includes admission to Waimea Valley. We arrived earlier and were able to enjoy the botanical garden and of course, swim at the most famous waterfall on Oahu. There are changing rooms available at the park so you can get ready for the luau.

I recommend this luau for everyone who is looking for a real luau experience and wants to learn more about the beautiful Hawaiian & Polynesian culture. Absolutely loved it!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Downtown Honolulu Sightseeing

Moving and Amazing!

Reviewed by: Darryl & Tina P, 2015/07/31

Pearl Harbor is truly amazing. we must admit as Aussies, my family knew only the basics about the bombing of Pearl Harbor, After our day at Pearl Harbor we learnt and appreciated so much more.

Our tour from the moment of pick up to return was exceptional. Larry our coach driver was a wonderful guide. He was very informative on our tour of the city. Our adult & teenage kids were very impressed to see the High School that Bruno Mars went to. The drive through the National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific was both moving and respectful. Driving past Hawaii State Capitol and understanding the architecture as well as Iolani Palace and Kawaiaha'o Church and stopping at the Supreme Court were a highlight. Upon arrival at Pearl Harbor, Larry explained everything clearly and we completely understood all requirements.

Visiting the Arizona Memorial was a truly moving experience, both an honour and privilege. Upon return, we headed to the bus to take us to Ford Island to step aboard the Mighty Mo (Missouri). Exploring the USS Missouri was great. While there were free guided tours available, we chose to explore on our own and had so much fun, while still learning all about this amazing vessel. To stand at the very location where the Instrument of Surrender to end World War II took place was remarkable and a moment to reflect.

We didn't get to see all of Pearl Harbor, but what we did see was amazing and we will be back on the Full Tour to see the rest and pay our respects again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Nautical Waikiki Snorkel Cruise with Turtles Sightings Guaranteed!

Amazing tour highly recommended!

Reviewed by: steve, 2014/11/21

We originally booked turtle bay tour but were upgraded to a dolphin tour on a different day as the tour ended up not running on the day. The tour bus picked us up at 7am from the hotel free of charge to the destination which roughly took about an hour. It was bit of a long drive but the driver was very friendly and continued interesting conversation so was not boring at all.
The vessel was very clean and well equpped. Crews were super friendly and helpful. As we jumped on light breakfast and fruit platters were served. The tour included lunch and 2 alcoholic beverages but better yet they provided 1 dollar beer and 2 dollar cocktails - the cheapest alcohol in hawaii!
The first stop was to watch the dolphins. I think there were at least 50 dolphins. I have never seen dolphins so up close - it was simply magical.
2nd stop was to do the snorkeling. The weather was perfect and the water was so calm and clear almost like an aquarium. After the snorkeling session sandwich bar lunch was served which in my opinion was quite decent - had lots of fresh stuff including the kalua pig.
After the lunch, we were taken back to the shore then transferred back to the hotel by around 1pm. Although the tour was quite packed we still had half a day afterwards.
The tour was overall very well organised and action packed that we did not have any chance to be bored.
I will definitely come back for more tours with Hawaii Nautical as this was hands down the best snorkeling tour I have experienced.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two-Tank Introductory Scuba Diving Boat Tour with Waikiki Dive Center

Awesome Scuba Dive!

Reviewed by: Marisa, 2014/06/09

All-in-all, I recommend this tour from Waikiki Dive Center. They have great instructors!

When I first walked into the dive shop it was fairly clean, but a little disorganized. The displays were a little difficult to reach and could be made better by putting out a single style and have customers ask for a size from the stock to sell in the back.
Everybody there was pretty nice, and very laid back. It was busy so I could understand that things were running late.
Once we got our gear, our driver Waylon took us to the boat at Kewalo Basin. He was friendly and nice to talk to but this is for scuba diving so don't expect a flamboyant tour bus operator.
The initial instruction was done by Gracie. She was really nice and did a great job at explaining things to keep everyone safe and having a good time. This was my first time and I had a little anxiety, but the breathing in scuba diving really is like yoga breathing. It was very calming, a different world in the ocean. I kind of felt like an astronaut. We had two dives, and everyone was very helpful in instructing us. Lacey worked with my group. She was nice and very much about safety for us newbies. We saw all kinds of sea critters. I took it easy and did the 'yoga' breathing and it turned out quite well.
If you want your scuba certification, Waikiki Dive Center is a great place to get it. This first intro dive counts towards it, so you're practically half way there already.
Nice people + Nice scuba diving = Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Tour - Stargazing and Sunrise with Nature Guide

First time close to the doors to haven:)

Reviewed by: Darko, 2018/09/12

I recommend this Sunrise tours especially to people who never conquers mountain peak higher then 3000 m.
Of course, I recommend it to everyone else, but for those who are for the first time on a higher elevation this is simply the must.

The flow of emotions I felt when I reached the peak was so overwhelming that I couldn't stop the tears.
It's almost impossible to express the feeling of inner fulfillment when you stand on the top of a high mountain watching the sunrise!

The Veltra crew did outstanding planning by set of small stops so our body can adapt to over 4000 m attitude.
First we stopped at 2000 to adapt to coldness of night and change in altitude. (They distributed parkas to all of us at that time)
Then we stopped at around 3000 m for unforgettable stargazing experience.
I saw shapes of Milky way, before but this was on completely different level.
I think the altitude of 3000 m makes substantial difference. There you don't have any light pollution but also the air is already thin enough to give you unforgettable experience of pure connection with the universe.

Then finally, just when you think that it can not get better then this, on the brink of dawn, we reached the summit and saw and felt unforgettable sunrise that will, at least in my case, stay forever in my memories.

I would like to use this opportunity to thank Veltra team and especially to our guide Stefan for allowing me to experience this unforgettable sunrise.

Sincerely.


  • Sunrise


  • Just we and the stars


  • Observatory

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you very much for joining our sunrise tour and giving us your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the sunrise and stargazing.
Because we are a Japanese tour company, it was our challenge to combine customers who speak different language.
We are very careful about the altitude accommodation of our customers.
Sunrise from the summit and the sky filled with the stars at Mauna Kea is outstanding.
I will tell Stefan about your review and he would be happy.
Thank you for choosing our tour.
We're looking forward to seeing you on Big Island again!

NatureSchool
Sumire

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Learn How to Surf - Kona Surfing Lessons

Awesome experience and a fun new skill gained!

Reviewed by: Nick Smith, 2018/02/16

I've always wanted to learn how to surf and Jason was totally awesome and fun to work with. Although there were high surf warnings and strong current warnings going on at the time, I nailed a perfect 10, according to him, on only my 5th wave. I later got 3 in a row, including standing up, surfing the wave, and laying back down again without falling in the blue water below. I quickly caught on to many of the trends, such as interpreting the waves and knowing when to go for it. The first thing to do with learning most any skill is to find patterns.

Jason called me a natural at it, and I believe it, given how quickly I learned and how enjoyable my experience was. It did take me a bit of time to get used to getting up to the standing position from laying down, but the classroom-like aspect of the first segment really helped with that.

I would say the hardest part about this whole thing was finding a parking space for where you'd be doing the actual surfing itself. If you're lucky, you could find parking along the street close by, but chances are, you'll need the parking lot that's close to around 700 feet away, but what's a little walking when you've got a lot of paddling to do? It's a nice warm up, at least, to prepare yourself.

I chose the one on one option mainly because I felt it was going to be a skill I wanted to use in other locations. Little did I know, it actually ensured I could do this as everyone but me canceled due to the surf conditions.


  • Me with surf board in background at starting location

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

A great day kayaking and hiking to Secret Falls!

Reviewed by: lorely81, 2015/11/17

My husband and I had a great time on this excursion. We were the only ones signed up for our particular day and time so it ended up being a private tour which was a bonus. We had the morning tour (check-in at 7:45 am) which seemed a lot less crowded than the later tours. There were a lot more people hiking in on our way out. The activity was very scenic and not strenuous at all for us moderately in-shape people (my husband more so that me!). Jamie was an excellent guide. He was knowledgeable in the flora, fauna, and area, but also personable so we weren't talking shop the whole time. Lunch was also more than adequate: fresh pineapple, deli sandwich on a good roll with cheese, lettuce, tomato, mayo, mustard, a bag of chips, 2 Kauai cookies, a drink, and 2 bottles of water. Since we took a guided tour this time, the next time around we'd probably opt for renting kayaks on our own and making our way to Secret Falls without a guide. We definitely want to do this again with our children when they are a little older (at least 5). However, for first timers we highly recommend Kayak Kauai with Jamie as your guide! P.S. I would not recommend this tour for children younger than 5. It is very rocky, muddy and wet with lots of tree roots on the trail and by the waterfall. We saw another tour group with young children and several of them were crying because they fell on their way down to the waterfall. One small boy fell and hit his head on a rock, poor thing.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Tour & Summit Sunset Adventure

This Was The Highlight of Our Hawaii Trip

Reviewed by: Sop, 2018/01/09

Our guides were Arthur and Justin. Both are funny and knowledgeable. This tour surprised us in so many ways. It is crazy that you can go from beach weather to freezing winds in a matter of hours. The parkas definitely help. I would recommend some layers of clothes, jeans, and good shoes. Bring a scarf or beanie. For those who live in the country, you do not realize how fortunate you are to not have light pollution. The stars that we saw were amazing. Your eyes adjust and focus so well on all the bright twinkles because there's no surrounding light. It's hard to explain but you feel like a child who's just seen something new and cool. Light pollution is real. On a good night in the city, I can probably see maybe 10 stars. Here, the volume is overwhelming. The location of Hawaii lets you see a lot more. Not only do you see the stars, but you can see distant galaxies as well our own milky way. Primitive, primal, natural are some other ways to describe experience.

The sunset on Mauna Kea was also a fantastic experience. Arthur and Justin are safe and excellent drivers. You see rental cars driving up the volcano on unpaved roads when they shouldn't. It's better to have the experts take you to the summit.

We attended this tour January 3, 2018. This gave us the rare opportunity to see the wolf moon and all the stars. I never knew how much light the moon provided at night.

I would do this again and recommend it to anybody who visits the Big Island.


  • moon through the telescope


  • sunset

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kaneohe Bay Kayak & Snorkel Tour - Oahu's Premier Ocean Eco-Adventures

Kayak & Snorkel Fun!

Reviewed by: BeachBoy, 2014/05/14

This kayak trip was awesome. I booked this tour since I heard that snorkeling is awesome in Kaneohe, and I wanted to get away from busy Waikiki. I was picked up from my hotel in Waikiki in the morning, and once we got to the state park, we were greeted by friendly staff at their gift shop where we checked in.

Make sure you bring your insect repellent. I got bit by mosquitos a few times. Once we were briefed and went down to the launch pad, our kayaks were tugged to the boat so we didn't have to kayak all the way to the first snorkel spot. The guide dropped us around the half way, and we kayaked about 15min to get to the Coconut island. The coral was BEAUTIFUL and there were a lot of tropical fish.

After 30min or so, we were then tugged again to the 2nd location. It was awesome since we were already a little tired from snorkeling. I liked the 2nd location at the sandbar, and this spot was also beautiful. The other snorkelers spotted a huge sea turtle.

We then had a chance to choose if we wanted to kayak back or tugged on the boat again. I chose to kayak back, and it was a perfect amount for kayaking for a day.

They had a fresh water shower at the park, and they took us to their BBQ lunch spot where we had a chance to eat delicious lunch with their staff.

Overall, this was a great tour. Especially recommended for families with small children or older people who can't kayak too long. Tugboat was awesome.

Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Volcano Tour & Stargazing Experience with Gourmet Dinner (from Kona)

Don't Drive Yourself- Take the Tour!

Reviewed by: Len from ABQ,NM, 2017/11/21

After a self-guided drive and tour of the Haleakala volcano in Maui, I decided to let a professional do the drive from Kona to the Kilauea National Park. After reading many of the TRIP ADVISOR reviews (97% excellent), I felt confident this was the tour for my wife and I. It did not disappoint! I hate bus tours because it seems you spend half your day loading and unloading the 50+ passenger buses. Our 11 person tour allowed us to spend much longer times at each wonderful stop with no pressure. Our guide, Kevin Hasting, just said “Come back when you have seen enough.” Fantastic! In addition, Kevin had an encyclopedic knowledge of Hawaiian culture, lifestyle, history, geography, ecology, you name it. He was also an excellent storyteller between stops which made this tour a unique and personal adventure. Lastly, Kevin was so proficient at navigating the Eastern Coast, Hilo area and park that he was somehow able to adjust his routes and timing to avoid the many rain squalls and downpours common to this area. I cannot say enough about how great this tour is. Don’t drive yourself, you will miss so much. One piece of advice. Take some warm clothes with you as it gets cold at night at the high elevations. I carried a light windbreaker jacket, a hoodie, a knit cap and a pair of pullover slacks to put on at night. I ended up giving my hoodie to a fellow passenger to wear who was shivering. The tour does provide emergency blankets and jackets.


  • Kevin took this photo using our iPhone and a flashlight. He is a wizard!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waikiki Parasailing Adventure with Waikiki Marine Sports (from Kewalo Harbor)

A must do activity when visiting Honolulu!

Reviewed by: Maxi and Lena, 2019/05/16

My sister and I joined the very friendly staff on a trip in the early mornings. We were only a group of 8. Everyone got a brief introduction and was set up with their gear and life jackets. Fun vacation music playing in the background we headed out into open waters on the speed boat which was so much fun in itself. The view towards the city with Diamond's Head in the background, touched by the rising sun was mesmerising! Can recommend to tag along even if you just want to watch your friend fly & not yourself.
When we were up both staff members explained all you need to know. We noticed with other passengers that even if you don't speak English very well they will go out of their way to show you what to do. But it is very easy. Time to fly! We did the 1000ft and it was the bomb! The view was exhilarating! You can totally hang loose and relax in your gear to enjoy the absolute beauty of a sight.on the way down we had so much fun when we were "dipped" into the water. If you don't want to get wet you can tell the captain beforehand, however we highly suggest you take a refreshing dip into the ocean! On our way back our captain did a few high speed curves and we were all laughing and celebrating this fabulous experience! We did purchase the picture package and when we got home we checked the sd card they give you - All we can say is THANK YOU for this great experience and these pictures are hilarious and captured 100% of the fun we had!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Voyage to Niihau & Na Pali Coast - Premier Snorkel Cruise by Holo Holo Charters

awesome cruise

Reviewed by: Patrick, 2014/11/29

Booked the activities through this website for NaPali and Nihau plus snorkeling.

Checked in the place at 6, and captain met us around 630. However, due to the weather condition, Nhau is not gonna be possible. 3 alternatives were given. We could either take the trip with a 25% discount, reschedule for another day or get a full refund on spot. Given we will only be on the island for one more day, we took the first option. And it didn't disappoint at all.

The ride to NaPali was a little rough, or "exciting" in the sailing world. Some people got sea sick and the threw up, but the crew members were very patient and friendly, didn't complain at all. We also saw a bunch of dolphins and a glimpse of whale during the ride. Captain stopped the boat for everyone to see in each situation.

On the way back, the weather got much nicer. We made a stop near Port Allen where we started for snorkeling. This was about an hour long. Once that's done, food was already waiting for us on the boat.

After lunch, we headed back and 25% refund was ready for us to pick up.

Overall, it was an awesome ride and honestly I couldn't ask for more. They offer both breakfast and lunch to accommodate its early schedule. They offer a large variety of drinks including beer, and all of them are free. The captain gives detailed background stories for every valley and beach we pass.

Just make sure to bring your towel and a camera, and you will be golden.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Holoholo Charters!

Mahalo

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Catamaran Waikiki Sunset Dinner Sail & City Lights Cruise

Great Friday Fireworks Dinner Cruise

Reviewed by: Derek S. , 2015/04/20

I had been looking for a nice dinner cruise that is a little more intimate than the large ships with several hundred people. The Makani sunset dinner cruise was perfect with only 30-40 people and a much more personal feel. Check-in was 5:00 and we boarded the catamaran around 5:20. We were given a quick overview of the ship, safety protocol, and facilities and were off around 5:30.

The initial drink service was a little slow with only one bartender but after the first round, ran fairly quickly. The food came out about 30-45 minutes into the trip and was a very tasty buffet line, similar fare to most Asian buffets in Hawaii.

The catamaran is a great design with a lot of exposed areas to stand, sit, and sunbathe as well as rails all around the ship. There is also a covered seating/dining area below deck in the center with the bar that is perfect for getting out of the wind and/or enjoying your dinner.

The night we went out was pretty windy/choppy but it didn't bother us and didn't look like anyone else aboard the ship had any motion sickness issues. The crew was very friendly and helped to deliver a great dinner cruise experience. We had captain Johnny, bartender Jenna, and can't remember the first mates name.

The fireworks display finished off our night and then we quickly returned to the harbor. I'd definitely recommend this dinner cruise and will take friends and family visiting Hawaii on this again in the future.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Manu Kai Catamaran Waikiki Boat Tour - Waikiki Snorkel Cruise & Cocktails

I’m on a boat and...

Reviewed by: Tyler Russell, 2019/03/06

So it all started with a super welcoming crew. The captain and both the deckhands were extremely courteous and expressed the spirit of Aloha in welcoming us aboard! Next came an explanation of what the trip would consist of, and I was like, oh yeah, this is gonna be a hoot and a half. Then we were underway on Diesel engines that sounded like the sweet purr of freedom you could only get on the open ocean. We headed out to the turtle cleaning reef, and we were not disappointed. They promised a great snorkel experience and they delivered! We jumped in the water after the best explanation of our safety and snorkel equipment and were immediately greeted by the ocean wildlife! Turtle the size of Kia souls cut in half with flippers! It was incredible. After we had our feel of the little mermaid experience, it was back to the boat where we were served libations by barista/deckhand that could rival those of a well seasoned bar! Drinks were flowing like the rays of sunshine beating down on us. We dropped sail, and cruises on the wind like seagulls on the breeze. It was a glorious experience that I will remember for years to come. When all was said and down, the sails returned to their stowed position, we sailed back to shore on those sweet Diesel engines and touched down gently on the sands of Waikiki. Your crew and company will hold a special place in our hearts as we carry the memories of good times with us. We found our beach!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pride of Maui Afternoon Snorkel Cruise with BBQ Lunch (from Maalaea Harbor)

Fabulous experience!

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/12/21

If you are looking for a snorkeling/whale watching experience, this is the one for you! All facets of the trip lead you to a perfect time on the water.

The captain took us to a beautiful spot for snorkeling located on a coral reef that had clear waters and many species of fish. It was our first time snorkeling. The crew taught us the basics, guided us while in the water, and shared how best to see the fish. Having a waterproof camera helped us capture the fun we were having as a family. We were sure glad we had it, especially when it came to the turtle sightings!

The boat, the Pride of Maui was well equipped with all the gear we needed, including multiple sizes of fins and snorkeling goggles. It was a comfortable boat, with storage under seats on the upper deck. Great views of the waters with whale sightings even during an off season. The slide is a must! You go zipping down and fly into the water! Never gets old!

The lunch was tasty, plump hotdogs and cheeseburgers were cooked over a grill and served warm with all the fixings. If you are a vegetarian and/or gluten intolerant, it’s best to call ahead to let them know so your needs will be covered. They are ready to make your lunch perfect for you if they have a heads up. There were several kinds of soft drinks and fruit punch along with alcoholic beverages for adults. The Miatais were the best!

All in all, a highly recommended choice for all ages!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to respond with your kind interpretation of our tour. We love to hear the words "perfect time on the water", because that is what our crew strives for. We love to create the perfect day on the ocean and are so happy you appreciate all the little things we do for our guests!

Mahalo for joining us.

Pride of Maui

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Original Oahu Ghost Tours - Myths & Legends of Hawaii

Orban Oahu

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2014/06/14

Our night started off with a bang! We were all terrified previously as we all heard so much about this tour. As soon as Uncle Joe came to pick us up he stated " This is not a tour where someone comes out of a bush and says Boo! This is a real ghost tour and see both friendly and evil spirits" As soon as we heard this, we were terrified. Our first stop was Pali Lookout. You wouldn't believe the setting there as in influences the fear. It was dark, cold, windy, and most of all a lot of the groups got many pictures of orbs. I was told to ask kindly if the spirits would like to take a picture with me. So i asked several times "May I take a picture of you?" I got rudely declined by many of the spirits as I guess they didn't like me. Our next stop was out at a Heiau out in the Windward side. It was pitch black, no wind, no sound, no nothing. but my ghost radar app that I was instructed to download, showed multiple orbs circling every minute. I was fortunate to capture a picture with 2 orbs. Then after that we went down to old Pali Road, and Manoa. Both places were of low line negativity meaning very evil spirits. It was crazy. I thought that by being on this tour I was capable of scaring the 4 other females I was with, but I was the one that was actually scared when it came down to it. Overall I recommend this tour to all. Uncle Joe and Aunty Sharon are experts. They know what to expect, and will take care of you all evening.


  • The Oahu Ghost Bus(ter)


  • The 2 Orbs (right hand side)


  • The only time we smiled


  • Old Pali Road


  • Our Ali'i of the Evening (Uncle Joe)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Deluxe Pearl Harbor Tour - Arizona Memorial & Battleship Missouri

Awesome day!!

Reviewed by: Anne Winch , 2016/10/01

My husband and and I made the trip to Pearl Harbour and visited the ship the Missouri and the very touching memorial. It was one of the best days spent on our Hawaii vacation. Our only regret was we did not get up and go as early as possible as there was so much more we could have seen if we had planned to spend the entire day there. The ship was amazing and definitely worth the ticket price. We didn't see the submarine or airport but we couldn't have squeezed anything else in that day. All round an excellent way to spend the day and have a real appreciation for the history.
One of the most amazing parts of the trip was the memorial. We were fortunate enough to have a WWII veteran visiting the memorial that day. It was very honerable how the staff escorted him on and off the shuttle boat and made way for him to the front the memorial. There were so many names you could not help but to look for a potential past relative on the wall and find your personal connection to history.
The Missouri felt like a time capsule. It was so interesting to see the way the sailers and army men lived on the boat. Very organized spaces in such tight quarters. One of the most memorable exhibits was the Japanese komakozi exhibit. They have letters written by the young men who sacrificed their lives in the Japanese Air Force. Very heart felt and it really hit home that all war is devastating regardless of the side you happen to be on.


  • Amazing ship!


Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Maui Air & Land Combo - Haleakala Helicopter & Deluxe Road to Hana Tour

Wow! What a Day!

Reviewed by: Ozzie's Mom, 2014/10/03

I will be forever grateful that a friend talked me out of renting a car and driving the Road to Hana. We are not spring chickens and weren't sure how we would like a helicopter trip to Hana with a road trip back to the cruise port in a 6-passenger luxury van. We knew we didn't want to do a 12-hour bus ride (cruise excursion) but we didn't want to miss Hana.

THIS IS THE BEST WAY TO DO IT!

We thoroughly enjoyed the helicopter flight to Hana and were able to see from the air the majesty of the island which would not have been as apparent from the land. Then we had a delicious lunch on the beach (provided by our tour guide, Surfer Sue) and experienced in all it's surface beauty, the road to Hana. There is no way we could have enjoyed this nearly as much had we driven both directions and certainly not at all had I decided to drive it myself. Sue taught me more about Hawaiian native flora and fauna than I would have learned in weeks on my own.

Because we wanted to make so many photo stops on the way back to port, we returned later than expected. Sue was kind enough to call the folks at Blue Hawaii Helicopters and ask them to send some articles we had purchased that morning and left behind at the shop for convenience sake, to us at the cruise port. No worries!

We could not have enjoyed this excursion any better than we did! Above and beyond treatment at every turn. Highly recommend for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2014/09/21
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Life Park Hawaii Dolphin Experiences & Day Pass

Even better than advertised

Reviewed by: Gerry, 2014/02/18

We loved every minute of the royal package. The trainers were very nice, informative and very easy to work with. From start to finish, the staff did a great job at making sure you learned about the animals but more importantly have a good time doing it. Trainers were great with younger kids and adults. They definitely catered to the crowd they were working with. I would definitely recommend this package. The swim with the dolphins is obviously the main event and gets most of the attention, but the swim with the sea lions and the ray encounter was just as interesting. The sea lions were very fun to interact with and hilarious to work with. Snorkeling with rays and the tropical fish was a very cool experience as well. Most importantly, the swim with the dolphins lived up to the hype. The tricks they were able to do and the interaction with the dolphins was great. The only down side was with all of the experiences, you can not bring a camera. You can use them around the park, but not during the activity. Unless you have someone with you not participating in the event to take pictures, you will have to buy their pictures of you during the activity. The price of the pictures is kinda high and with no other option, you're pretty stuck. The photographers were great to work with, very friendly and took great pictures, but the cost for the prints are high. Otherwise, everything else was fantastic. A great time all around!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand Circle Island Sightseeing Tour on Motorcoach (from Kona)

Had a great time! Highly recommended!

Reviewed by: Diana C., 2015/11/07

I am currently on vacation with my mom and this was our second time to the Big Island and the first time we took a tour. It was a last minute decision and we were able to find to find a great discount through hawaiiactivities.com. Normally, we do not do tours, but we felt unsure about driving and wanted to relax instead of drive to places. The island tour exceeded our expectations and we learned a lot of stuff that we eagerly shared with other tourists when we went to our luau last night. There were plenty of stops to get out for pictures, buying souvenirs and restroom breaks. The lunch was exceptional and I think it was worth the gold upgrade. I also enjoyed the free samples of Kona coffee, Hawaiian chocolate, and flavored macadamia nuts, etc. My mom loved the Lava Tube (cave) and seeing the volcano crater.

All-in-all, it was very relaxing and enjoyable. We had a lot of fun.

Also, for those with disabilities, I have a problem walking long distances and on uneven paths, so I did not do the short hike to the Lava Tube (cave). But, that's OK, as people are free to sit out from activities that they cannot do and I found the tour to be disability-friendly. They even have a special bus if advance notice is given for those in wheelchairs. The activity provider is Polynesian Adventure Tours Hawaii and they have a good reputation on the island according to the resort we are staying at.

Have fun!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-A-Hula Dinner & Cocktail Show with Fire Knife Dance

Rockahula

Reviewed by: Earle Lee, 2017/11/23

Rockahula great show Elvis was amazing. Michael Jackson was fabulous. Katie Perry sounded like her. Your dancers were fantastic. Two were noticeable and made you want to dance. The two who did surfer girl song. Both of these dancers had high energy throughout show. She was a red head and he had a man bun. Fire dancer was awesome and put on unbelievable show. He danced like he enjoyed what he did. We were so close we could smell the gas Costumes were beautiful. The last show was amazing in the red and black with Elvis in his white suit. When Elvis came out the first time it was like looking at Elvis from the 60's and he did such a great job. Elvis sang the best songs and the guests and audience were thrilled when he came out and interacted with the guests. All performers interacted with the guests at some point. We had front row seats but there is not a bad seat in the place. Service was good. Lots of food , presentation was nice. Food was good, the salmon was a little too salty, steak was cooked to perfection. Evan our server was great , and very attentaive. Staff was attentive. We met Anthony the bartender at the end of the show continuex to offer us drinks and iffered great service. Can't say a bad word about the terrific service, we received the best service from all the staff. Performers met guests at the end and took pictures with many if us and chatted with us. Great overall experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rock-A-Hula Dinner & Cocktail Show with Fire Knife Dance

Fabulous Dinner and Awesome Rock-A-Hula Show!!!

Reviewed by: Inna and Dennis , 2018/02/05

We purchased Green Room tickets and the whole experience was wonderful. We were met at a special entrance door by friendly staff and were directed to the back stage area for a tour there. The tour host was a very nice fellow who showed us the entire back stage set up with props, costumes, and lots of other interesting equipment.

We then met Katy Perry (very hot) in the Green Room for champagne and snacks prior to the mean. It was a large First Class room where we spoke to other guests and relaxed with drinks before dinner.

We then proceeded to have dinner and wine right in front of the stage. The lobster and steak dinner was super. Again wonderful service.

The Rock-A-Hula Dinner Show was very enjoyable, especially at the best seats in the house! Elvis was quite good. Katy Perry was even better. Katy looks so much like the real singer it was amazing. The dancers and singers surrounding them were beautiful and wonderful as well.

Then Michael Jackson rocked the house. Of course the dancers with Michael Jackson were amazing as well. Everyone rocked along with them.

The Fire Dancing was also so well done as was the great Hawaiian theme dancing. All the dances were so well choreographed and performed that it was indeed breathtaking.

Everyone had a great time at this wonderful, classy, and professional show. We will go next time again when we are in Hawaii !!! Very recommended to see!!!


  • Wonderful Rock Legends In Person


  • Inna and Dennis with Lovely and Amazing Katy Perry.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kualoa Ranch ATV Tour, Jurassic Jungle Jeep Expedition & Kaneohe Bay Cruise

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: Tami, 2016/05/28

We were there last week. I want to start by thanking the bus driver who picked us up. We were standing in the wrong place to be picked up. It was our pick-up time and nobody was there. One of the workers from our hotel came out and happen to hear me say something about the bus being late. He looked at our reservation and said we were supposed to be down the strret. My husband and I took off running hoping they wouldn't leave us. Just at that time the driver called me and asked where we were at. I said running down the street. It was awesome they waited for us.
OK, back to the ranch.
We did the zip lining and the jungle tour. The zip line was absolutely amazing (you need to book this a head of time as they fill fast). Our guides were very pleasant and knowledgeable. They were alot of fun too. I was very impressed that the one that gets us ready to zip, could remember all of our names (there were 10 of us and we did not always go in the same order). It's better than me, I can't even remember her name, sorry. I will never forget the experience and would so do it again.
Next we went on the jungle tour. Though a bit bumpy (as expected going up a mountain) it was amazing. Our driver was also pleasant and knowledgeable. The views were unforgettable. One driver even offered to take a picture of my husband and I.
Those were the only two activities we had time for but would love to go back and try more.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wet 'n' Wild Hawaiian Fun Water Park - Day Pass

Worth every penny - If you like water parks

Reviewed by: Vancouver Visitor, 2015/08/19

We were visiting Hawaii with three girls - ages 8, 8 & 10. They love water parks and we wanted a day away from the usual things, so we booked the deluxe package at Wet'n' Wild. The bus pick-up was convenient and on time. Upon arrival, there is some disorganization, and they have to "unload" and "check-in" the buses one by one. After this 15 minute delay, we were given tote bags (fairly decent logo shopping bags, that can hold a towel and some clothes) and the park was open! We had a delightful "private body board lesson", which is essentially private access to the wave pool for 30 minutes...well worth it! The rides are as advertised, very good to excellent for water parks. If you like big drops, Flyin' Hawaiian is it! The barbecue that is included is worth it: good salad, fruit, hot dogs, barbecue chicken and beef strips, all all you can eat. THIS IS A BIG DEAL, AS YOU CANNOT BRING FOOD INTO THE PARK, AND IF YOU HAVE TO BUY ANYTHING, THE LINES ARE LONG AND YOU WILL SPEND $15-20 FOR FRIES AND A BURGER. The unlimited soft drinks are a great deal also (you go to the "receipts" line at the snack bar and skip the big line to buy things...and it is all you can drink...be sure to grab one for the road). You will need a locker ($14-19, you get $5 back), but all else is included. A very enjoyable day, and a good deal for the price. It is very much worth paying the premium for the deluxe package.


  • Welcome!


  • View from the wave pool

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

North Shore Shark Adventures - Famous Shark Cage Diving Tour on Oahu

I met the sharks!!!

Reviewed by: Mahalo , 2015/08/03

The North Shore Shark Adventures was a very neat and wonderful experience. The boat ride out to the shark cage took about 15-20min. The crew members really stressed about safety first and were thorough about directions. They even had a sense of humor, which makes everything better. When we reached the shark cage the crew members separated all the costumers in to two different groups and we were escorted into the shark cage that was floating in the ocean. Being in the shark cage was kind of rough. The waves would rock/bob the cage from side to side and up and down. You really had to hang on to the cage bars to obtain stability. I personally wrapped my legs and arms around the shark cage ladder, which I found to be helpful. As soon as I stuck my head under water what I saw was absolutely amazing. 15-20 sharks swimming and circling the cage, each shark was at least 6-8 feet long. It was so peaceful and serene to see these sharks in their natural habitat swimming freely. Just a quick suggestion that if you plan on swimming with the sharks you may want to schedule this event early on in your trip because cancellations may occur due to the oceans unpredictability. For safety reasons they may cancel your shark adventures but they will call you in advanced to let you know. I suggested that if you are driving to the North Shore you call them to ask about cancellations before you make the trip up north.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Stargazing & Sunset Adventure with Picnic Dinner

Very few places could match this experience

Reviewed by: Darra, 2018/07/29

Very few places could match this experience. The location; the slow climb up the giant sloping mountain. We went through rain, sun, even through a cloud; through the lava landscape, ranch lands and very bumpy rocky last stretch of road to reach the top! And wow it was a view from the top.
Be warned; it is very very cold; not what you expect from your Hawaiian break! You get nice warm coats from the tour group though (and later a little hot cocoa and brownie to keep you going!)
As the sun sets; you can see the mountains shadow on the other side; a glimpse of Maui and the glint of the sun off the telescopes preparing for their nights work. You can see the odd bit of movement as they open up. As soon as the suns down; its all go though. We have to leave the area quickly as the lights from the cars interfere with the telescopes (so no, there is no looking around inside them; if that is what you're hoping for in this trip!).
We move down slope a little to a good spot to see the huge expanse of clear, cloudless sky and the abundance of stars.
It is slightly interrupted with the brightness of the moon (so depending how long your stay is in Hawaii, plan for a darker night, unless you love the moon!); but not enough to stop us seeing nebula, planets and stars - its a really interesting spot to see both the northern and southern skies.
We did also spot a bit of the glow from the erupting volcano

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]