Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now] reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 10-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Captain Bob's Kaneohe Bay Sandbar Snorkel & BBQ Lunch Boat Tour [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.27 4.27 / 5

Reviews

1646 reviews
Post a review

So fun!

Reviewed by: Jay , 2021/06/13

Went on captain bobs back in 2016 when I visited Hawaii and I just had to take my party this time around. Definitely will recommend to everyone I know and will be sure to book captain bobs again on my next trip to Oahu!

The staff is super friendly and they make your experience better than you would expect! The food is great and the drinks are great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Amanda , 2021/06/05

The experience was far better then we could have imagined. This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Everyone was so nice and did a great job at guiding and explaining everything. You truly get to enjoy every moment and not feel rushed. We were super surprised we got to see so many sea turtles, we were not expecting to see any so that was such a nice surprise. I would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome boat ride!!

Reviewed by: Yodelle, 2021/06/05

Captain Bob’s was such an amazing experience!! The people there were really helpful with instructions and they were so sweet! Truly a 10/10 experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend!!

Reviewed by: Reagan M, 2021/05/31

Such a great time! Played volleyball and then had some burgers. Totally recommend!! Was able to swim the reef three times. Saw so many turtles and even some eels. Loved the crew and had a blast. Would totally do again.

  • Peep the honu in his little cave!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience ever

Reviewed by: Liz Nguyen , 2021/05/28

This was a breathe taking experience that my boyfriend and I got to experience. From start to finish they were very accommodating and crew was very nice and sweet. Always checking if we needed anything. Highly recommended and well worth your money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a blast!

Reviewed by: Rita, 2021/05/28

So much fun- the best day of my vacation! The crew was exceptionally informative friendly and FUN!! I highly recommend this excursion.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2021/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience !

Reviewed by: Rammy901, 2021/05/28

It was our first time trying this out and we completely enjoyed the experience

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best tour

Reviewed by: Eduardo , 2021/05/23

The best crew in the world, super attentive all the time, very helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great excursion!

Reviewed by: Michele S., 2021/05/22

A must do when visiting Oahu. The crew was amazing. The best excursion we booked.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: taylor, 2021/05/15

amazing time, totally worth every penny loved it and would def do it again

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip!

Reviewed by: Zaza, 2021/05/10

I love staffs. They are so nice and took good care of us. They even help you take a photo. Worth it!

  • Happy mode

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!!

Reviewed by: Giselle, 2021/05/06

I had an amazing time with the Captain Bob crew! The sandbar was absolutely beautiful and views overall were incredible. Lunch was provided and actually very tasty! The crew was fun and added to the experience. I would definitely recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do Tour!!!

Reviewed by: Shalon, 2021/05/03

This was hands down the best highlight our my trip!!! The staff Captain Iggy, Mike, Paul and Yuki were super sweet, accommodating, and helpful! I will definitely do it again! I recommend doing this 10 out of 10!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome experience

Reviewed by: jenny, 2021/05/01

It was my first time snorkling and I had so much fun. the sandbar is definitely a place to go for. Also, getting to watch the turtles swimming was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exactly how it's described!

Reviewed by: Yanira, 2021/05/01

I booked this cruise for myself and my family. My son was 11 at the time and about 4 feet tall. I only say this so it makes sense. Well we got there later than we wanted to (we live on island and drove ourselves). Couldn't find parking and the crew let us know where we could park because the little store next to the boats is actually closed for good so that worked out! So yes if you are driving yourself get there early so you aren't freaking out too lol. We got on and they took us to the sandbar where they set up a volleyball net for us and we all got off where the water was down to our knees. So my child wasn't in any danger of drowning. The meal was the most basic hamburger bbq thing you can probably imagine so don't think you are getting some 5 course meal. It def hit the spot and I did not mind it at all. They offered some beer choices and wine as well as non-alcoholic drinks. The alcohol was not free. Not a big deal at all and didn't expect it to be. They took card and cash :) After a little bit of being out there we went out to a reef and were given gear to go snorkeling. It was beautiful. We were also pointed out things such as Gilligan's island at some point. Lastly we saw turtles and the crew had music playing through the trip. They were very nice. Don't bring too much stuff with you tho because when it was at 100% capacity you had to really squish. Towel, water, sunscreen and your own alcohol is what you should probably bring lol. Overall great July experience, great crew and perfect for taking your visiting family and friends from the mainland. Don't forger to bring cash to leave tips at the end of the trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2021/05/01

I love this it was amazing everybody should visit this when they are in Hawaii

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing and worth the money!

Reviewed by: Brianna, 2021/04/17

What an amazing experience! You will not regret taking this excursion. People are beyond friendly and helpful and they really make it a pleasant experience. Sandbar was beautiful and snorkeling was really fun. Would do again for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would do it again!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2021/04/12

Had a great time! Played volleyball on the sandbar for about an hour while the water was about 2.5 feet deep. Had a good hearty lunch with hamburgers, baked beans, pineapple, and a bag of chips. Boat then toured us over an area where sea turtles usually are. We saw well over 2 dozen, some were on the small side and some were massive in size. Boat moved over to the moon shaped reef where we snorkled for about an hour. Saw many tropical fish.
.Wear lots of sunblock and reapply.
Ample parking and easy to find.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time, great fun, great crew.

Reviewed by: Captain Jerry, 2020/04/04

Great time, great fun, great crew. Nice boat for this trip and we enjoyed our time on water. Thanks for a great crew, and just a slow down time to enjoy Hawaii. I will do this trip again next time I'm here. Thanks again. Captain Jerry in Texas.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Choose Captain Bob's over it's competitors if you're hesitating! You won't regret it !

Reviewed by: Denise Wong, 2020/04/01

My my what can I say about Captain Bobs?! I have now gone on Captain Bobs Adventure 3 times now!! Everytime I have visited Hawaii, I have taken new friends and family to experience this amazing tour that is fun filled for all ages. The crew is exceptionally welcoming and entertaining and it is just one of the best experiences I've had in Hawaii.

You can either get picked up by their shuttle or drive yourself to the pickup spot and your day goes from about 10:30-3:00pm give or take. They continue the tour rain or shine so if the weather seems kind of gloomy, be sure to take a light rain coat! The first two times I went the weather was nice and sunny, however the last time I went there were scattered showers that were on and off throughout the whole tour. It did get a little chilly but once you're swimming in the water it's not so bad.

My favorite part of Captain Bobs is the Sandbar part where you get to play volleyball, stand in the middle of the ocean, and eat some delicious burgers, beans, and nachos after! You get to see a bunch of sea turtles swimming while on the way to the Snorkeling area and then you get to snorkel among the reef, Since it got kind of chilly after they even gave us hot chocolate/tea!

My recommendations are: bring sunglasses, towel, light rain jacket, water shoes, underwater phone case to take photos, snacks, and most of all, bring your A game to play volleyball!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and exciting experience!

Reviewed by: Wisconsin family , 2020/03/21

Thank you for a wonderful day, filled with great family memories! The staff was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the area. The food was tasty! We enjoyed all the picturesque views from the sand bar. The snorkeling was safe. I was one of the last passengers in the water and I was still able to spot a great amount of marine life! Overall this activity was a family favorite!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Patrick from S.F. , 2020/03/08

Every aspect of the snorkel, Sandbar, volleyball, crew was amazing. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommended by Mr. Aloha

Reviewed by: Make Maka, 2020/03/07

We had an amazing time! Great all around experience and the crew was professional and very informative as well as tremendously fun to be around. Do not hesitate to jump aboard.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful adventures on the water!

Reviewed by: Dianne, 2020/02/27

The crew couldn’t have been more accommodating and fun! Lunch was delicious. Turtle spotting was fabulous. And the reef snorkel was an adventure to be remembered. Thanks for the memories!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Patty Smith, 2020/02/24

Had an amazing time. We had such a good time that we met them the next day to top the crew. We forgot cash.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Doug Shuma, 2020/02/23

The crew was delightful. The boats were comfortable. The BBQ burger for lunch was a nice surprise. Time to practice snorkeling at the sandbar was perfect for my girlfriend. We saw a ton of turtles and then the snorkeling was fantastic!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Cew

Reviewed by: Timothy Hay, 2020/02/22

All crew are nice and friendly!!
It was a bit cold but lots of fun!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If there is ONE snorkeling trip you do on Oahu, do this one!

Reviewed by: Vancouver Visitor, 2020/02/18

This is the 4th time our family has done this tour. It does not get old! Free pick up in Waikiki. Trip to the biggest sand bar in the world. Cheeseburger (or vegetarian!) lunch. Turtle watching. Snorkeling on private reef. Excellent hosting (with Jenner on the guitar). Great value. DO
IT!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Brandi Bommarito, 2020/01/25

The crew was amazing and so was the tour. We honestly wanted to pay to do it again. The sandbar was so awesome and snorkeling was so much fun. It was the best experience we had on the island. The hamburger were great and hit the spot. Thanks again to our wonderful crew. It is a memory my whole family will cherish forever

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice experience

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2020/01/18

The tour was cool and a nice memory !
Walking and playing beach volleyball in the middle of the ocean ! Also saw lots of seaturtles !! Awesome ! Nice tour !

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories