Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

131 reviews
Post a review

Outstanding entertainment and food!!!!!

Reviewed by: Michael A G., 2020/03/09

It was a totally Hawaiian experience from the entertainment to the delicious food!
Just an authentic feel with great music all entwined with guest participation and fun!
And through it all we even learned a lot about the culture and people of the islands!
I highly recommend to anyone planning a trip to Hawaii because the Chief’s Luau is a must see!
My wife and I will never forget it.
Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Royal Package - Definitely worth the extra money

Reviewed by: Jacky Daniels, 2019/12/16

My boyfriend and I went to Chiefs Luau and it was such a fun night. We are so happy we chose the Royal Package because we were in the very first row, got 3 complimentary drinks, and were first in line for the buffet. The food was really good, my favorite was the kalua pork and poi. The "chief" was hilarious and very talented. This show had performances/dances of cultures from all over Polynesia so it was really cool to see all of their differences. It was very engaging and family-oriented, the fire-knife performance was my favorite. One thing to note is to bring bug-spray! There were mosquitoes since the luau is located at a waterpark. I would highly recommend Chief's luau to anyone!

  • Imu pig (delicious)

  • Complimentary leis and make-your-own leaf headpiece

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best, best time!

Reviewed by: Ashton, 2019/11/18

This is my third Luau that I have been to so far and this one is by far my favorite! The crew is so nice and attentive and I loved how Chief Sielu is so family oriented. He made several points to bring guests on stage and include them in the show and they even had a special moment for two children through the Make A Wish Foundation that were there which was so sweet!
You are entertained all night long whether it's by the dancing, the Chief's jokes or the amazing fire dancers. I would also highly recommend the Royal package, we had great seats up front and were one of the first in line for the buffet.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an amazing Luau!!!

Reviewed by: Emi P. , 2019/11/15

I went with the Royal experience with my husband and 2 year old son. It was the first time Luau as a family. We absolutely loved it!!! The chief was very funny, and the show had a lot of audience engagements when the chief and his crews welcome audience up on the stage for dance and couple anniversaries. Food was very good and of course, the Mai Tai was amazingly tasty! Also, the activities before the show were really fun!!! My 2 year old son loved watching dances especially the last fire dance! He did not blink at all! I would totally recommend to everyone who has not experienced Luau but also to who wants more family oriented Luau experience.

Thank you, Chief and the crews for amazing Luau experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Friendly and Fun Luau

Reviewed by: a-chan, 2019/11/04

Chief's Luau was such a fun experience. The chief was such a funny person and made me laugh the entire time during the luau. The show was very intriguing, the Chief likes to have the audience take part in the show which made the experience personal. The weather was great the day I went so there was no rain at all which helped make the experience more enjoyable. The food was okay it wasn't something extraordinary but it was still good. My favorite part of the luau was when the chief had a special segment where he recognizes couples on their honeymoon and couples who have been married for a long time. The chief also helped someone propose to his love. He really acknowledges family and makes sure that everyone has a good time while they are at the luau. I would definitely recommend this luau to families and couples. 

  • complementary mai tai

  • amazing fire show

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My third time at the Luau and they never fail to impress me!

Reviewed by: Ms.Ems, 2019/10/21

My third time at the Luau and they never fail to impress me!
Family is very important to me, values, and life lessons, and every time I see their show, I always feel inspired and this time, I decided to bring my husband with me so he can experience the same. Chief's life story is so touching, and I love how he shares it with the guests. As always, Chief is very entertaining from the beginning to end, always full of laughers! The Polynesian Show, and the fire knife dance, superb!! Incomparable! Aaahhhmazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Luau!

Reviewed by: JFM, 2019/07/09

I took my daughter and her family to this Luau and I am so glad we bought the Royal package. It was great. We were right in front and the dancing was great and the Fire dancing was fantastic. I also liked the fact the they involved you in different activities. Food was great also. I liked the fact they will stay and take pictures with you at the end with your own camera. Overall I would definitely recommend this Luau to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not sure if we would go back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

show was awesome
meal was not the best
we included transportation from Waikiki..ambassador did no entertainment on the bus

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilarious and spectacular luau show

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2017/12/21

I love Chief Sielu's wit, and his personality really comes out throughout the show. You can really tell he enjoys hosting the luau and loves all his guests. They also have a lot of fire knife dancers (and world champions, at that) making their fire dances probably the most impressive ones out there.

The food is good and there's a cash bar (you get a few free drink tickets based on which package you book). The only problem with this luau is that it's so far away from Waikiki and starts right after rush hour, so you might want to leave earlier (perhaps at 3pm) to beat the traffic. Alternatively you could just spend the day in Kapolei at wet n wild or Coral Crater. Parking is $5 at wet n wild.

  • everyone gets a fire knife!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bus Transportation

Reviewed by: Christy S. Fuller, 2017/12/01

Everything was great except our bus got us there after all the activities were just about over. They really didn’t plan on traffic and one of our stops had two handicap individuals that you could clearly see they weren’t prepared for. However once at the show very pleased.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun & unique experience

Reviewed by: David Boyle, 2017/11/11

A fun and unique experience. Big Cheif was a loveable entertaining character. The flame exerbition was incredible

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best decision I made all week!

Reviewed by: Janice J, 2017/04/09

So entertaining and full of interesting facts about the Polynesians and their surrounding cultures.
The dancing and singing was beautiful and the food was amazing.
The Chief was hilarious and really made our anniversary night extra special and gave me flowers!

  • Kukui Nut Lei greeting

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yummy food Funny Chief

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/01/30

Had so much fun at this show and the good was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/01/17

We were told that going to Hawaii we had to go to a luau and we were not disappointed at all! The staff at chiefs luau were absolutely amazing, the food was fantastic but the overall experience is something we'll never forget. Thank you so much for a one of a kind and magical experience. I don't have enough good things to say, just do it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value and great location

Reviewed by: Roc & Nats, 2017/01/02

This was a must do activity and was made excellent by our host "Cousin Bo" who was informative and entertaining. The event itself was fantastic, the show was very professional and the story of the Pacific islands well executed. The fire dance at the end was visually stunning and well worth it. Location was beautiful and the trip there was pretty too. The activities and food were probably not my ideal, but we would absolutely recommend going for the actual performance. We booked the royal experience. The chief is a real comedian and the evening was good fun all round.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sealife Park

Reviewed by: Sandra, Sydney , 2016/12/05

We have been to Hawaii a couple of times and have been to most if the luaus, but we think the Chiefs Luau has been the best one by far. The food and drinks were very good and the location is very beautiful. The Chief was very funny and the whole show was very entertaining- great hula dancers and exeptional fire dancers. If you are staying on Oahu, do yourselves a favour and go see the Chiefs Luau - you won't be disappointed.

  • Sorry. Only photo i took before the show started.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing!

Reviewed by: Daniel Haquet, 2016/07/14

We stayed in Oahu for our 10yr anniversary and this was attended the night of our very anniversary and all I can say is that the Luau was amazing. When everyone celebrating and anniversary was asked to go on stage, given flowers, torches came out and they shut off the lights and had the couples dance under the stars, it made our night. We could not have asked for a better experience. We had a great time, the staff was amazing and the event was more awesome than I could have ever anticipated. Highly recommend.

  • The backdrop was amazing!

  • The chief was such a character a genuinly awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: vegas, 2016/06/12

We had an amazing time. Would recommend to anyone. Fun for all ages

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Jacob Parent, 2016/02/24

This luau was the best ever for my first luau! so funny! everyone was friendly and the food was so fantastic!

  • Pig cooking

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau fun

Reviewed by: LindaTMK, 2016/01/24

I have attended many Luaus. This was the best by far. The pre entertainment, the show, the food and the staff were fabulous. Will definitely go again. A must - attend event.

  • Dancing the night away.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience & Location

Reviewed by: H. Winarko, 2015/10/31

We had fun and lots of interaction with performers. Chief is super. Great Shows, food and location

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau!

Reviewed by: Jonathan W., 2015/08/31

This is the only luau I have attended, but I can't imagine one being more enjoyable than this one. The pick-up service was right on time at the scheduled location and the drive over to Sea Life Park was quick considering the time of departure. The pre-dinner activities were fun and I picked up a piece of local artwork from a vendor that has become my favorite Hawaiian collectible. Dinner was very good and I'm still thinking of how yummy the coconut cake was! Chief was very entertaining and the other performers really put their native pride into the show. I would certainly recommend this luau experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2015/05/17

After swimming with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, we simply walked back through the park to the Luau (very convenient). We were greeted warmly with a shell necklace and photo op with the Chief, and then got to enjoy some games (spear tossing, a Polynesian version of musical chairs (except with sticks), braiding palm leaves to make head-bands, and hula dancing). There were also some tables with native-made goods for sale. Then the Chief led the unveiling ceremony of the roasted pig (he is very entertaining and funny), got our non-alcoholic drinks and food (which was very tasty, especially the pineapple cake!), and then enjoyed the show. The hula dancers were very talented, the fire dancers where great, and it was neat to see all the different dance styles of the islands that were represented. It was our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we got to go up on stage with some other couples and they honored us with some pretty flowers! The only down-side was that the location is a little small, but other than that, we had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So and so!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

It has been a beautiful night, with a very normal dinner, nothing special for the price, with a beautiful show at the end. My disappointment was because I paid for a Royal seating and the seating was not good at all. I had to stand up and sit on the ground to have a beatiful view and I also didn't get the lei. But all the staff people were really very kind and I enjoyed the traditional dances and the fire knives dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: WallanVic, 2015/01/11

The Chief's Luau was fun and culture fulfilled. This was our second Luau and found this better than the Paradise Cove Luau as there was alot more teachings of the Polynesia culture. It was wonderful to hear about the different Polynesian beleifs, markings dancers and so much more. The Chief was a great host and his passion for his culture was lovely. A wonderful night.

  • Great Family night with the Chief

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best night!

Reviewed by: Baileys, 2014/10/05

The Cheifs luau was great! He's hilarious and his dancers were amazing to watch. The food was excellent and this is some thing we would do again and recommend to others!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First experience for my kids

Reviewed by: The Mann Family, 2014/08/11

We love the dancers and the stories! It was awesome!

  • Pretty cool!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

To be an Ali'i, you Must Drink Kawa With an Ali'i

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2014/05/05

My girlfriend and I decided to attend this luau because we were told that it is more privatized, less populated, and more personal. Indeed it was. Chiefs Luau has got be one of the most entertaining luau I have been to so far. Chief Sielu is a natural entertainer, with a real good sense of humor. The best part was Chief Sielu hand selected Ali'is to be used for demonstrations and entertainment. I believe the ali'is that he has chosen for the evening will never forget how to hold their wives, and throw them away. Overall this was the most funniest luau and great food.

  • The Chief Addressing the Village

  • "Learn fo make Fiah!"

  • E Komo Mai daughter of the Chief

  • You will always get lei'd in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN!!!

Reviewed by: Detroit, 2014/04/25

The entertainers were so personable. I felt like I was amongst family.
Activities, food& entertainment. The drinks were very strong

  • gotta have the pig to make it official

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at sea life park

Reviewed by: charles, 2014/03/24

awesome. great activities. excellent food and overall memorable experience. Must see attraction.

  • spring break 2014. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories