This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.77 4.77 / 5

Reviews

116 reviews
Post a review

What a Luau!

Reviewed by: JFM, 2019/07/09

I took my daughter and her family to this Luau and I am so glad we bought the Royal package. It was great. We were right in front and the dancing was great and the Fire dancing was fantastic. I also liked the fact the they involved you in different activities. Food was great also. I liked the fact they will stay and take pictures with you at the end with your own camera. Overall I would definitely recommend this Luau to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not sure if we would go back

Reviewed by: Viv , 2018/03/10

show was awesome
meal was not the best
we included transportation from Waikiki..ambassador did no entertainment on the bus

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilarious and spectacular luau show

Reviewed by: Mr.Anonymous, 2017/12/21

I love Chief Sielu's wit, and his personality really comes out throughout the show. You can really tell he enjoys hosting the luau and loves all his guests. They also have a lot of fire knife dancers (and world champions, at that) making their fire dances probably the most impressive ones out there.

The food is good and there's a cash bar (you get a few free drink tickets based on which package you book). The only problem with this luau is that it's so far away from Waikiki and starts right after rush hour, so you might want to leave earlier (perhaps at 3pm) to beat the traffic. Alternatively you could just spend the day in Kapolei at wet n wild or Coral Crater. Parking is $5 at wet n wild.

  • everyone gets a fire knife!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bus Transportation

Reviewed by: Christy S. Fuller, 2017/12/01

Everything was great except our bus got us there after all the activities were just about over. They really didn’t plan on traffic and one of our stops had two handicap individuals that you could clearly see they weren’t prepared for. However once at the show very pleased.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun & unique experience

Reviewed by: David Boyle, 2017/11/11

A fun and unique experience. Big Cheif was a loveable entertaining character. The flame exerbition was incredible

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best decision I made all week!

Reviewed by: Janice J, 2017/04/09

So entertaining and full of interesting facts about the Polynesians and their surrounding cultures.
The dancing and singing was beautiful and the food was amazing.
The Chief was hilarious and really made our anniversary night extra special and gave me flowers!

  • Kukui Nut Lei greeting

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yummy food Funny Chief

Reviewed by: MTK, 2017/01/30

Had so much fun at this show and the good was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/01/17

We were told that going to Hawaii we had to go to a luau and we were not disappointed at all! The staff at chiefs luau were absolutely amazing, the food was fantastic but the overall experience is something we'll never forget. Thank you so much for a one of a kind and magical experience. I don't have enough good things to say, just do it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value and great location

Reviewed by: Roc & Nats, 2017/01/02

This was a must do activity and was made excellent by our host "Cousin Bo" who was informative and entertaining. The event itself was fantastic, the show was very professional and the story of the Pacific islands well executed. The fire dance at the end was visually stunning and well worth it. Location was beautiful and the trip there was pretty too. The activities and food were probably not my ideal, but we would absolutely recommend going for the actual performance. We booked the royal experience. The chief is a real comedian and the evening was good fun all round.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sealife Park

Reviewed by: Sandra, Sydney , 2016/12/05

We have been to Hawaii a couple of times and have been to most if the luaus, but we think the Chiefs Luau has been the best one by far. The food and drinks were very good and the location is very beautiful. The Chief was very funny and the whole show was very entertaining- great hula dancers and exeptional fire dancers. If you are staying on Oahu, do yourselves a favour and go see the Chiefs Luau - you won't be disappointed.

  • Sorry. Only photo i took before the show started.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply amazing!

Reviewed by: Daniel Haquet, 2016/07/14

We stayed in Oahu for our 10yr anniversary and this was attended the night of our very anniversary and all I can say is that the Luau was amazing. When everyone celebrating and anniversary was asked to go on stage, given flowers, torches came out and they shut off the lights and had the couples dance under the stars, it made our night. We could not have asked for a better experience. We had a great time, the staff was amazing and the event was more awesome than I could have ever anticipated. Highly recommend.

  • The backdrop was amazing!

  • The chief was such a character a genuinly awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing

Reviewed by: vegas, 2016/06/12

We had an amazing time. Would recommend to anyone. Fun for all ages

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!!!

Reviewed by: Jacob Parent, 2016/02/24

This luau was the best ever for my first luau! so funny! everyone was friendly and the food was so fantastic!

  • Pig cooking

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau fun

Reviewed by: LindaTMK, 2016/01/24

I have attended many Luaus. This was the best by far. The pre entertainment, the show, the food and the staff were fabulous. Will definitely go again. A must - attend event.

  • Dancing the night away.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience & Location

Reviewed by: H. Winarko, 2015/10/31

We had fun and lots of interaction with performers. Chief is super. Great Shows, food and location

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun luau!

Reviewed by: Jonathan W., 2015/08/31

This is the only luau I have attended, but I can't imagine one being more enjoyable than this one. The pick-up service was right on time at the scheduled location and the drive over to Sea Life Park was quick considering the time of departure. The pre-dinner activities were fun and I picked up a piece of local artwork from a vendor that has become my favorite Hawaiian collectible. Dinner was very good and I'm still thinking of how yummy the coconut cake was! Chief was very entertaining and the other performers really put their native pride into the show. I would certainly recommend this luau experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun experience!

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2015/05/17

After swimming with the dolphins at Sea Life Park, we simply walked back through the park to the Luau (very convenient). We were greeted warmly with a shell necklace and photo op with the Chief, and then got to enjoy some games (spear tossing, a Polynesian version of musical chairs (except with sticks), braiding palm leaves to make head-bands, and hula dancing). There were also some tables with native-made goods for sale. Then the Chief led the unveiling ceremony of the roasted pig (he is very entertaining and funny), got our non-alcoholic drinks and food (which was very tasty, especially the pineapple cake!), and then enjoyed the show. The hula dancers were very talented, the fire dancers where great, and it was neat to see all the different dance styles of the islands that were represented. It was our 2nd wedding anniversary, so we got to go up on stage with some other couples and they honored us with some pretty flowers! The only down-side was that the location is a little small, but other than that, we had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So and so!

Reviewed by: Marzia (Roma-Italy), 2015/04/15

It has been a beautiful night, with a very normal dinner, nothing special for the price, with a beautiful show at the end. My disappointment was because I paid for a Royal seating and the seating was not good at all. I had to stand up and sit on the ground to have a beatiful view and I also didn't get the lei. But all the staff people were really very kind and I enjoyed the traditional dances and the fire knives dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: WallanVic, 2015/01/11

The Chief's Luau was fun and culture fulfilled. This was our second Luau and found this better than the Paradise Cove Luau as there was alot more teachings of the Polynesia culture. It was wonderful to hear about the different Polynesian beleifs, markings dancers and so much more. The Chief was a great host and his passion for his culture was lovely. A wonderful night.

  • Great Family night with the Chief

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best night!

Reviewed by: Baileys, 2014/10/05

The Cheifs luau was great! He's hilarious and his dancers were amazing to watch. The food was excellent and this is some thing we would do again and recommend to others!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First experience for my kids

Reviewed by: The Mann Family, 2014/08/11

We love the dancers and the stories! It was awesome!

  • Pretty cool!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

To be an Ali'i, you Must Drink Kawa With an Ali'i

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2014/05/05

My girlfriend and I decided to attend this luau because we were told that it is more privatized, less populated, and more personal. Indeed it was. Chiefs Luau has got be one of the most entertaining luau I have been to so far. Chief Sielu is a natural entertainer, with a real good sense of humor. The best part was Chief Sielu hand selected Ali'is to be used for demonstrations and entertainment. I believe the ali'is that he has chosen for the evening will never forget how to hold their wives, and throw them away. Overall this was the most funniest luau and great food.

  • The Chief Addressing the Village

  • "Learn fo make Fiah!"

  • E Komo Mai daughter of the Chief

  • You will always get lei'd in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN!!!

Reviewed by: Detroit, 2014/04/25

The entertainers were so personable. I felt like I was amongst family.
Activities, food& entertainment. The drinks were very strong

  • gotta have the pig to make it official

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at sea life park

Reviewed by: charles, 2014/03/24

awesome. great activities. excellent food and overall memorable experience. Must see attraction.

  • spring break 2014. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME entertainment, okay food

Reviewed by: Ashley Taylor, 2013/10/14

Chief was amazing, interacted with audience throughout the entire show. Show was HIGHLY entertaining. View from Luau was stunning, Dancing was incredibly, singing was awesome. Only downside of entire show was that the food was just okay. Pork was good, pineapple cake was good, everything else was just okay. However I would highly recommend this show even if the food was awful, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an Awesome Show.

Reviewed by: kevin gaines, 2013/08/04

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park was definitely one of the highlights of my tour's while visiting Honolulu! The staff from beginning to end was just great. Chief was an incredible man and host and the music, the dancing, the ladies just made the evening something to never forget! The setting at Sea Life Park was great. You look in one direction you see the ocean, and another direction you have the mountain back drop. I totally enjoyed this show and food from beginning to end. Chief is the man, what he and the staff did with the fire torches at the end of the show was a nice way to conclude the program. I know there are a lot nice luau's being offered in Honolulu, but this one right here is right up there with all the others. Great show and I had a wonderful time and evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilarious

Reviewed by: Alex, 2013/06/22

My friend and I decided to check this out as we were looking for something to do for the night. I have been to many Luau's before so I wasn't expecting anything amazing, but I turned out to be very wrong. the Chief was extremely funny throughout the whole night and he was also very interactive with the crowd. They had some fun activities before the Luau as well so that was fun. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a great night with great people! Hands down the best Luau I have done.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hands down best luau I've ever been to

Reviewed by: Kendall, 2013/04/06

My wife, 11 month old daughter, and I got the chance to attend the Chief’s Luau at Sea Life Park, under the Paradise Package. I usually don’t expect much from the food and drinks at these sorts of events, but I was pleasantly surprised. The food was very good, especially considering that it is a buffet, and the drinks were not watered down. In regards to the show, it was absolutely fantastic. The cast performed dances from the various Polynesian Islands and the entire time, the Chief is telling jokes (the jokes contain a bit of innuendo) and making sure everyone is having a good time. There is a reason Chief Sielu performs all over the island, practically every day: not only is he a very skilled performer, but he is absolutely hilarious. I will definitely be coming again. Please note that the cast does pull members of the audience for different parts of the show, however, it is not the run-of-the-mill “let’s all dance at the end” type thing, they are actually part of the festivities.

  • We were greeted with kukui nut leis, and we made a palm frond headband

  • The imu ceremony

  • Getting ready to start

  • Expert musicians

  • Showing off the pig

  • The imu before it is opened

  • One of the pre-show activities is a hula lesson!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Lovely Event & Evening

Reviewed by: Leigh, 2012/09/14

1 - A very informative and interesting event

2 - A fantastic location for the event, with mountains and the sea in the back-drop

3 - Talented dancers!

4 - A hilarious chief who makes the entire crowd get involved and excited

5 - Decent food for a buffet, some unique Hawaiian dishes. Nothing too fancy. It's not about the food, much more about the experience overall.

It was our first time in Hawaii and our first and only luau. We are happy we went and experienced it on the 2nd night of our vacation. It is worth it to have the luau experience and great fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing night!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/05/21

Booked this activity with a few friends, as we wanted to do something fun in the evening, and what a great choice this was! Being close to Waikiki is the first perk, but the entertainment and scenery makes it even better.

We were running late, so missed some of the crafts before the luau, but as soon as got there they were starting the Imu ceremony, which was unlike anything I have ever seen! Between Chief Seilu, who is the definition of entertainment, to the dancing, music, and wonderful food, this was definitely a night none of us will ever forget. Thanks Chief for keeping us laughing the whole time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories