Page 3) Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Chief's Luau - Traditional Polynesian Show with Authentic Fire Knife Dancing

Overall Rating

4.75 4.75 / 5

Reviews

131 reviews
Post a review

worth the money

Reviewed by: R family, 2015/04/04

We enjoyed the luau so much! We even got to see several whale breeches in the ocean behind the stage just before the show began. BONUS! Seeing the dancers and all that talent on stage was a great way to spend our evening.
Dinner was good, show was fun and the setting and the way the involved everyone made it that much more fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular

Reviewed by: Spencer , 2015/03/22

We looked around at a lot of luaus but then we luckily got recommended for chiefs from our front desk lady. The food was amazing, the stuff before was a lot of fun. The show was incredible and the chief was a blast and very funny! Would defiantly recommend it to anyone looking for a great luau at a pretty good price!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park

Reviewed by: Zack, 2015/02/21

Great time had. I only wish I would have upgraded seating. The standard seats were good, but surrounding people talked way too much during the show. No fault of the luau by any means. Just a lack of common consideration by a handful of inconsiderate people. It could have happened anywhere and our family was able to move to avoid them.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau

Reviewed by: Paul Viator, 2015/02/07

Very entertaining and nice experience. The food was a little disappointing, could have been better for the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Time!!

Reviewed by: Vincent & Linda - NY, 2015/01/21

WE had the perfect night. The luau was everything we dream it would be. The Chief and his staff were wonderful! Totally worth it!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: WallanVic, 2015/01/11

The Chief's Luau was fun and culture fulfilled. This was our second Luau and found this better than the Paradise Cove Luau as there was alot more teachings of the Polynesia culture. It was wonderful to hear about the different Polynesian beleifs, markings dancers and so much more. The Chief was a great host and his passion for his culture was lovely. A wonderful night.

  • Great Family night with the Chief

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Put this on your to do list

Reviewed by: Japhia, nz, 2014/12/21

My first luau and it was such fun great food and entertainment I learnt how to do the hula and even got up on stage the chief is so funny too

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: mgzmr, 2014/12/10

Great time! A must do if you visit Hawaii. Chief Cielu is hilarious and the dancers are amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Luau

Reviewed by: Michael, 2014/11/21

This was our first luau and we weren't disappointed.
The food was so-so.... but the entertainment was first class.
The chief was funny and the dancers were excellent

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best night!

Reviewed by: Baileys, 2014/10/05

The Cheifs luau was great! He's hilarious and his dancers were amazing to watch. The food was excellent and this is some thing we would do again and recommend to others!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lots of fun

Reviewed by: Gretchen, 2014/09/29

This was our first luau experience and it was fantastic. Transportation was included, the bus was on time and comfortable. When we arrived, they took a photo that had a beautiful back drop (amazing scenery with the mountain and the ocean), photo was $10 and quite decent quality. There were fun pre-show activities and drinks available. The buffet was good, we paid for the middle of the road package which was worth it. The emcee was funny and personable and the show was very entertaining, the woman sitting next to us said that they had been to several luaus and this was by far the best fire show they'd seen. We were called onto stage because it was our honeymoon and they gave me a nice flower bouquet. Overall it was really a great experience! The whole staff worked hard to make the night a good one. Worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chef's luau!!

Reviewed by: Take K, 2014/09/06

We love this luau!! The chef was super funny and he interacted with everyone at the luau. It was really personal and everyone was treated like family. We will def go back again. LOL Mahalo!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First experience for my kids

Reviewed by: The Mann Family, 2014/08/11

We love the dancers and the stories! It was awesome!

  • Pretty cool!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chiefs Luau

Reviewed by: Kelley, 2014/07/02

Really enjoyed the show! Food was...ok. Would recommend based on the entertainment factor.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

To be an Ali'i, you Must Drink Kawa With an Ali'i

Reviewed by: ----------RHO----, 2014/05/05

My girlfriend and I decided to attend this luau because we were told that it is more privatized, less populated, and more personal. Indeed it was. Chiefs Luau has got be one of the most entertaining luau I have been to so far. Chief Sielu is a natural entertainer, with a real good sense of humor. The best part was Chief Sielu hand selected Ali'is to be used for demonstrations and entertainment. I believe the ali'is that he has chosen for the evening will never forget how to hold their wives, and throw them away. Overall this was the most funniest luau and great food.

  • The Chief Addressing the Village

  • "Learn fo make Fiah!"

  • E Komo Mai daughter of the Chief

  • You will always get lei'd in Hawaii!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Melbourne, Australia, 2014/05/05

Would recommend Chief's Luau to anyone looking for some wonderful entertainment. It was very well run and great value for money. We had a terrific time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

FUN!!!

Reviewed by: Detroit, 2014/04/25

The entertainers were so personable. I felt like I was amongst family.
Activities, food& entertainment. The drinks were very strong

  • gotta have the pig to make it official

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park Hawaii

Reviewed by: Harold Walters, 2014/04/21

The performances were so-so. The seating was not good even though
it was Royal seating. We didn't get our lei as promised. The food
was not very good for the price. The one saving grace was that the
staff was very nice. The young people who delivered the food was
thoughtful and polite and returned to see if we wanted more food.
The mixed drinks were no more than sugar water. I attended the
Sea Life Luau about 5 years ago and it was excellent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau at sea life park

Reviewed by: charles, 2014/03/24

awesome. great activities. excellent food and overall memorable experience. Must see attraction.

  • spring break 2014. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Tanya and Hannah, 2014/03/09

What a fun night. From the running commentary on the way there to the Chief who is hilarious, what a great sense of humour! My daughter and I loved the way the luau incorporated songs and dance from all of the Polynesian islands. Really well done. The whole audience were involved throughout. The location was fabulous with the cliff face on the one side, the ocean and Rabbit Island on the other. Beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: Paulette, 2014/02/28

We loved the chief's Luau. We have been to several and this was our second time to attend Chief's. The food is very good, my husband loves the poi..., the setting is great and the highlight is the Chief. He is just a wonderful entertainer!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chief's Luau

Reviewed by: TMJ, 2014/01/12

Cheif's Luau show was good. Transportation was good. Food was alright. Disappointed in the fact that the 'coupon' for a free item we were supposed to get by booking with VELTRA was useless. In other words there was no free item.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience!

Reviewed by: keelssenior, 2013/10/16

This is just a terrific event to attend. The chief and his extended family put on a terrific and funny show designed to entertain all in attendance from couples to families. Many pre-show activities bring you inside the culture of the islands. The food is tasty and plenty of it to enjoy. The staff is very hospitable. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME entertainment, okay food

Reviewed by: Ashley Taylor, 2013/10/14

Chief was amazing, interacted with audience throughout the entire show. Show was HIGHLY entertaining. View from Luau was stunning, Dancing was incredibly, singing was awesome. Only downside of entire show was that the food was just okay. Pork was good, pineapple cake was good, everything else was just okay. However I would highly recommend this show even if the food was awful, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Fun Fun!!!

Reviewed by: mrsblock, 2013/10/07

Perfect for all ages!
Chief's Luau was a awesome experience! We had an amazing time. The show is really entertaining, the food is good and the staff is great.
The location is perfect, beautiful views and great pictures.
Everyone enjoyed the night and came back home with great memories.
The Chief is the best part of the night, he put on a great show!

I would recommend this show to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

chiefs luau is the best

Reviewed by: al_fred29, 2013/10/03

great luau and very entertaining
for all ages. would come back again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

awesome!!!

Reviewed by: lluis, 2013/08/25

Great place, nice views.
Funniest show we had in long long time!!
Definetively a great choice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an Awesome Show.

Reviewed by: kevin gaines, 2013/08/04

Chief's Luau at Sea Life Park was definitely one of the highlights of my tour's while visiting Honolulu! The staff from beginning to end was just great. Chief was an incredible man and host and the music, the dancing, the ladies just made the evening something to never forget! The setting at Sea Life Park was great. You look in one direction you see the ocean, and another direction you have the mountain back drop. I totally enjoyed this show and food from beginning to end. Chief is the man, what he and the staff did with the fire torches at the end of the show was a nice way to conclude the program. I know there are a lot nice luau's being offered in Honolulu, but this one right here is right up there with all the others. Great show and I had a wonderful time and evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau

Reviewed by: Joe Ballard, 2013/07/16

The entertainment was wonderful. The food was a disappointment. in fact, the cheaper tickets that went through the buffet had it better because they got as much as they wanted. Also, there wasn't much difference between our seats and theirs. I would do it again but would buy the cheaper tickets.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolute "must do"

Reviewed by: Kelly-Az, 2013/06/28

This show will spoil you...other luaus just won't measure up! Do yourself a favor and get the Royal seating close to the stage, especially if you will be attending with kids. You don't want them to miss a thing! We all loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2013/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories