Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise from Waikiki - Moana Sailing Catamaran reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Honolulu Sunset Dinner Cruise from Waikiki - Moana Sailing Catamaran

Overall Rating

4.85 4.85 / 5

Reviews

27 reviews
Post a review

Sunset Dinner

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2022/09/12

Very nice staff and drinks were great! The views were even better!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4Jul22; Moana Sunset Catamaran Cruise

Reviewed by: Matthew, 2022/07/06

The crew was very professional, respectful and attentive to all the guests aboard. Was a great cruise on 4th of Jul night.

  • Sunset Waikiki

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Low key, chill sunset sail

Reviewed by: The Sager’s , 2022/07/02

We were greeted by a friendly crew and captain as we boarded the catamaran. The small number of people on our sail made it feel like we had booked a private boat. We really enjoyed the crew, they were helpful for capturing pics and answering questions about the area and sailing. We did order dinner but found it too difficult to eat while sailing so the crew stashed it away and we ate it when we got back…rookie mistake!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A relaxed dinner and sunset cruise in Waikiki

Reviewed by: Jason V., 2022/06/05

This catamaran is a bit larger than other boats I've been on, making it much more comfortable both in terms of seating and sailing. We passed some other catamarans, and it looked like the passengers didn't have a lot of room to move around, they were so packed.

It was a pretty hot day when we got there, but once we set sail, there was a steady ocean breeze, becoming almost chilly once the sun sank lower. Bring an outer layer!

Our dinner was given to us in a take-out box, we ordered the crab cakes and ribs, and both were very good! Keep in mind that this is just an entree, so it doesn't come with any sides. In hindsight, bringing food/drinks would have been a great idea since the sail is BYOB. The crew was very friendly and helpful, coming around to check on us every once in a while and staying to chat for a bit.

Overall it was a perfect sunset experience. If you haven't been on a sunset cruise in Waikiki, the Moana is a fantastic option for a relaxed cruise with dinner.

Tip: sail on Friday and you'll be back at the docks with enough time to go catch the Hilton fireworks show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect view and friendly staff

Reviewed by: Sarah C, 2022/04/12

When it said sunset cruise with dinner - we were not expecting what we expected. Honestly, our family had booked it last minute and definitely did not dress for the occasion. HOWEVER, this specific Moana catamaran sunset cruise with dinner had exceeded our expectation to the point it was one of the most memorable event that we had done in Hawaii.

The staffs were funny, and super friendly. They were very attentive to our needs.
The food was from a to-go from a great restaurant. It was super delicious. I wish I've written down where it was from. We ordered the filet mignon, ahi tuna and salmon trio. All of them were superb. Being on this catamaran felt like being in a movie. The sunset were absolutely beautiful and were able to take photos that were picturesque.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice cruise

Reviewed by: Hugh, 2022/03/19

Cruise was nice. Beautiful sun set. We ordered some desserts from Roy’s and they were excellent as well. Because it’s a sailing catamaran we ate before leaving the harbor but it was great. Great views of diamond head, Waikiki & the mountains behind Honolulu. I’d recommend this cruise. We had done a dinner cruise on a bigger ship on our last trip and this was something different. Sit up front if possible crew was very nice and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Met expectations

Reviewed by: Beth, 2021/08/02

The cruise was excellent, the crew was friendly and attentive. The ride was smooth & met or expectations. The captain allowed for many sunset picture opportunities. The only thing I would not recommend is the meal, it was delicious but the cruise was not conducive to eating it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun Sunset Cruise

Reviewed by: Betty , 2021/08/01

We booked our cruise for 8 people and it was fun. If you buy the dinner, I would suggest you eat it before they set sail because there is not table and you will be eating from boxes in your lap. It was also kind of choppy when you set sail so it's hard to balance all the food especially if you order the garlic shrimp that you will have to peel. My husband got the mixed barbeque plate and everyone seemed to like that plate the best. They have water but you will need to bring your own sodas. You can bring your own alcohol or buy the drinks from them. I also suggest you don't sit in the front unless you are ok with getting wet. Some of our friends got soaked from the waves on the way back.

The staff was nice and took pictures. Other than that, it's pretty chill. I think we will opt for just the cruise next time without the dinner part.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommended

Reviewed by: JDizzle, 2021/07/31

Great crew, great view, great booze. Crew was attentive, gave out water, and the ride itself was just amazing. Definitely would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful trip

Reviewed by: Mandy, 2021/07/27

Was a great trip. Would not recommend ordering the food though. Food was okay but real issues was it was so awkward to eat without tables. You don’t need the food. Just bring your drinks and snacks and enjoy the views!!! Crew was interactive and friendly.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: LisaN, 2021/07/26

This was a family vacation that included grandchildren. The food was good, but difficult to eat while sailing with the wind. The overall experience was fantastic and the grandchildren loved it and want to do it again. One of the highlights of our vacation. We didn't bring any drinks as we thought it byod meant alcohol. Fortunately they offer water. Would highly recommend the cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful, relaxing evening

Reviewed by: Erica, 2021/07/13

We saved our sunset dinner cruise until our last night in Oahu. It was the perfect goodbye! The dinner was very tasty, the staff was attentive and the views were beautiful. A wonderful overall experience- highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEAUTIFUL EXPERIENCE

Reviewed by: Celena, 2021/07/01

Husband and I had a wonderful experience. Great crew. Beautiful scenery. The steak and lobster was the cherry on top!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Watch the sunset from the ocean while enjoying the company of the ship crew and others. You can bring your own drinks or purchase some from the crew as well as some local food that you have to reserve ahead of time.

Reviewed by: Miguel , 2021/06/26

Great energy from the crew and the other passengers onboard. Very friendly and they offer great conversations and pictures to those that don’t have selfie sticks or just want a good picture.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good ppl good music

Reviewed by: Keisha , 2021/06/26

Enjoyed myself the vine was amazing the drinks were good bring cash if you can

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great crew and experience!

Reviewed by: TES, 2021/06/13

Crew was extremely attentive and took us on a great sunset cruise. Greatly appreciate Chloe and the rest of the team for the experience! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun

Reviewed by: Tamara Wellman , 2021/06/09

The staff on the boat were super friendly. Everyone had a great time

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking experience

Reviewed by: La’Vergne , 2021/06/06

Easy ride great people an incredible experience. The music was amazing the food was really good sun say it was OK due to cloudy sky but that’s Hawaii. Once the alcohol getting everything else is great

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful boat ride

Reviewed by: Gina, 2021/06/01

The captain and staff were super friendly and relaxed. We felt safe, welcome and comfortable! It was the perfect way to end my trip with friends. The food was amazing and the drinks were a nice touch. It was a reflective, special moment my friends and I won’t forget. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Views, but Skip the Onboard Meal Option

Reviewed by: Dan from California, 2021/05/31

We were able to book at the last second (Thursday for a Friday cruise). There were both couples and families on board. The views were amazing, and the crew was attentive and entertaining. The only downside was the meal option. We were seated on benches with no table option. The meals were served in a flimsy styrofoam containers and required plastic utensils to eat. Hand-held options like burgers or wraps would have been a better option.

  • Sunset View from the Moana Waikiki

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Rick, 2021/05/31

Great catamaran sunset trip! Excellent crew and service. Pleasantly surprised to find it’s not only BYOB, but a selection of beverages are offered aboard! Lovely experience, we would love to do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

GREAT time!!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2021/05/27

It was an amazing time! The crew was sooooo friendly & the view was beautiful! BYOB definitely made the trip so much better! Lol

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lesilove

Reviewed by: Celeste, 2021/05/22

The crew was great. I was really impressed with their professionalism and courtesy for such a young staff. The shrimp dinner was very tasty. I really enjoyed myself. Even if you don't bring your own drinks; the drinks were very reasonably priced. That also impressed me.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Drew, 2021/05/09

Crew was super nice and food was great, views were beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

40th Bday was amazing!

Reviewed by: BdayGirl1981, 2021/05/09

Had a sunset bday cruise with my boyfriend. About 10 people total and an absolute blast. Drinks and BYOB + Dinner and Sunset!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding experience

Reviewed by: Aliyah, 2021/04/24

Such an amazing experience! Captain and crew were awesome. Steak and lobster dinner was phenomenal as well as the mai tais!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exactly what we needed on a vacation!

Reviewed by: BrandonW916, 2021/04/22

The harbor was nearby and easy to find. There is a breathtaking view and a nearby beach to hang out at, which we stayed after to cruise to see. During the cruise the captain and crew were very friendly and helpful, offering to take photos of us and asked us when we wanted to bring out our dinner. The cruise itself was very smooth, and they kept the sunset in view while we relaxed. They played music while we chatted and it felt like it was over way too fast. Overall a fantastic part of our vacation and definitely something we would recommend!

  • Sunset image while seated on the cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories