Page 2) Magnum Helicopters - Oahu's Best Helicopter Tour with Doors Off Flights reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Magnum Helicopters - Oahu's Best Helicopter Tour with Doors Off Flights

Overall Rating

4.84 4.84 / 5

Reviews

69 reviews
Post a review

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Emilia, 2016/02/11

The ride was beautiful.. The best way to know all the island..

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Kai Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Bernie Powers, 2016/02/02

This was a great ride. Couldn't have asked for anything better. Our pilot was wonderful and did a very good job of explaining everything during the trip. Would love to do it again some day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jim was great!

Reviewed by: Marilee, 2015/12/27

We had a great time, enjoyed the view, but felt restricted. The President was on the island, so our air space was limited. It was kind of a bummer, but our pilot, Jim, really tried to make the best of the situation. He was great!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for your understanding. We go through this every year at Christmas time when the President is on Oahu. We'll all be delighted when Mr. Obama returns as a regular citizen on vacation. It's our busiest time of year and we're forced to fly a less-than-ideal route due to security. \Oh well, just one more year and we'll be free. Thanks for flying with us.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A highlight of my Holiday

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2015/12/06

The whole experience was excellent from time I got picked up until drop off back at my Hotel. Our pilot was knowledgeable and a great guide for all of Oahu highlights. I am not great with heights but I would have no problems in doing this tour again or recommending it to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sooo much fun

Reviewed by: Amber J, 2015/10/04

Was so exciting n great had an awesome piolt doug he was a great driver n was funny knew alot about the island was a nice smooth ride n not scary at all will fly again with doug

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average helicopter ride

Reviewed by: Lucie, 2015/09/22

The helicopter ride took about 30mins which is really not enough to see Honolulu and around. The pilot was great but he only flew over certain areas once so only people at certain side could see and take pictures. I was expecting him to turn around 360 so everybody can take pictures. Great views of Waikiki, Honolulu, Diamond Head.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Air Tour

Reviewed by: John Cowan, 2015/08/14

If you never do any thing else, take this trip.
You will never forget this trip of your life.
Just plain awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Somethings you don't see every day

Reviewed by: Tomas , 2015/06/05

Perfect weather and a perfect tour. Pilot described everything we saw often with a historical touch.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great fun and brilliant way to see Oahu from a different prospective

Reviewed by: Emanuela Pari, 2015/05/09

The helicopter trip was brilliant. I was a bit nervous since I had never done this before but our pilot Jim was great at explaining what was happening and why. He kept us entertained for the full journey at the same time providing lots of useful info. The view was breath-taking especially for those parts of the island that can't be reached via road. Would definitely recommend this activity if you want to see Oahu from a completely different prospective.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter ride.

Reviewed by: William Wagter, 2015/03/20

I have had many rides on helicopters and this was the best. Never rode one with no door. My daughter and myself felt it was one of the best things we have done in our lifetime. The pilot was fantastic and having riden with the Sheriffs department as on observer several times in years past he ranks number one. What a smooth and exciting ride. I am telling all my family and friends to check out your service before anyone else when they come over to Hawaii. I will take another ride on my next trip back in the months ahead.

Reply from activity provider

Many thanks, William, for your kind words. We're really happy that you and your daughter enjoyed your tour...there's nothing quite like flying with the doors off, eh? May you return to Hawaii someday and fly with us again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Liza Cocks, 2015/01/26

I wish I do air tour again. thank you we love it so much.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Kai Helicopter Tours

Reviewed by: Shane & Louise, 2014/10/27

What an amazing tour, highly recommend. Pilot very knowledgeable, well organized and well worth the money.++++

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour

Reviewed by: Kylie, 2014/10/17

Was great. Tour was informative and our pilot definitely knew a great deal of the island and of course those little unknown facts!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Tracy, 2014/09/17

This was the best part of the trip! Brody was a great pilot and he was great telling us about Oahu. We are excited to come back with the rest of our family so they can experience the island from this view. This was a great way to end the trip. Love love loved this!! Highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

Hey Tracy - Many thanks for the great review. Brodi is a gem, eh? I'm glad you flew with us and thanks again for sharing your comments.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience with Makani Kai Helicopters

Reviewed by: hawaii_visitor, 2014/09/08

Me and my 9 year old son took this helicopter tour on September 5, 2014 and we had a great experience not only with the tour itself but also with the customer service provided by Makani Kai Helicopters. We really appreciate them accommodating our last minute booking. Pilot Broody was great and also provided a very good narrative of the places that we had seen. Since their shuttles were out at the end of our tour, they actually sent us back to our hotel in cab rather than making us wait for the next shuttle. we will highly recommend Makani Kai Helicopters.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2014/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Extravaganza

Reviewed by: Sandra Boniella, 2014/07/01

This is an excellent way to see the island. The pilot was friendly and informative. The crew to include the bus driver were great people and very helpful. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Ride

Reviewed by: Petals4Zuzu, 2014/03/24

The company was very professional. The pilot was very knowledgeable and personable and provided a great narration. We saw 2/3rds of the island and had some exciting moments flying over cliffs and through valleys. Unfortunately, the hull-mounted video camera quit working just 5 minutes into the 45 minute ride. We were certain we wanted to buy the video of our flight and the accompanying narration so we were disappointed that it wasn't going to be possible. The company provided us with a sales DVD that included many of the same sights we experienced, however, the special nature of the video of our flight was lost.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doors off helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Joe Hayek, 2014/03/20

Our first activity of our week on Oahu, and our favorite. Pricey...yes, but exciting. And, it gave perspective to all the things we did later in the week. Our pilot pointed out, as we flew over, where the President usually vacations, where Gilligan's Island was filmed, where Jurrasic Park was filmed, the Marine base, the closed, dangerous falls, the plantations, the North shore and Sunset Beach, the Polynesian Cultural Center, and flew us on the same approach the Japanese took in 1941 across Hickam and Wheeler Fields and down onto Pearl Harbor. Brodie, our pilot is a former Marine stationed on Oahu. He was friendly and very knowledgeable. Brodie spotted two Grey Whales off the North shore, flew out a bit and did some orbits over them so we could all see them. My wife forgot her light jacket, so a ground employee lent his hoodie to her. Absolutely magnificent!

Reply from activity provider

Mr. Hayek,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We're happy that you enjoyed your Doors Off tour and were able to see whales. I hope you managed to get some good pictures while you flew and plan to return to Hawaii soon. Mahalo and aloha,
P.J. O'Reilley,
Makani Kai Helicopters

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

good

Reviewed by: malek, 2013/07/15

I like it, it is amazing
You should try it
You well like it also

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mrs.

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/30

Booked this as a wedding gift my my daughter and new son-in-law. They had a wonderful time (original date cancelled due to rain), however re-booked for a different day without difficulty. Their only complaint was a language barrier. It was very difficult to understand the pilot-very strong accent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

loved it

Reviewed by: DRFAJ, 2011/06/29

was skeptical at first b/c i'd never been on a chopper before. it was a smooth ride with an experienced pilot. i was able to actually be over a rainbow...somewhere over the rainbow, way up high! would do it again. highly recommend it. you only live once.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Activity!

Reviewed by: Gabe, 2011/02/04

My Wife and I had a great time. We saw the whole Island of Oahu.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very safe and extremely enjoyable

Reviewed by: Cecelia, 2009/08/31

Makani Kai has one of the best reputations for safety in the islands. Knowing that, the experience of flying over the island of Oahu was quite enjoyable and relaxing. The pilot and ground crew are efficient and courteous. Easy to find if you drive yourself with available free parking!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter Ride

Reviewed by: Arnold, 2009/07/03

My group 8 people took on the ride and 8 came back stating this was by far the best thing they had experienced and all 8 said they would go back again and Highly suggest anyone wanting to see from the sky down what is happening need to take the 60 minute ride as our group did. Thanks for a wonderful time members of the Vacation Club.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/09/24

The trip was fantastic and i would definitely do it again. It was a brilliant way to see the island and the views were spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great ride

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/05

The Helicopter Tour was a terrific experience for first time vistors to the island...also for someone who has never rode in a helicopter! Highly recommend the company and the helpful staff! We ordered the video from our ride and received within the week as stated...we were quite surprised they were so accurate in sending it to us...THANKS!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Kai Helicopters

Reviewed by: Linus, 2008/06/12

Absolutely loved it! It was a great way to get a fast introduction to Oahu, and thereafter help us plan the rest of our stay on where to go and what to see. The video was delivered even before we arrived home!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Makani Kai Helicopters

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/05/12

Fantastic time. Views were one of a kind, and the staff was very enjoyable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Flight

Reviewed by: paultje_007, 2008/05/09

This activity was well worth spending money for.
In one hour you have seen the entire island from a bird's eye view.
Way better than any island tour from the ground in uncomfortable tourbusses.
The heli is great, peacefull and very safy & smooth. Also because of a great pilot / tour guide. He knows the island well, just as much how he knows his aircraft.

As a to-become heli-pilot myself, it's been great seeing one pilot entertaining 6 people while keeping the heli as smooth & steady as possible and forfilling a safe flight in constant contact with the tower all by himself.

Cheers for that,mate!
And to the entire team of Makani Kai Heli Tours for having had a wonderfull morning!


Regards,


Paul

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful time!

Reviewed by: Arianna and Bill, 2008/05/05

My boyfriend and I had a great time on the helicopter tour. The staff was wonderful and the pilot was amazing! He was very detailed about everything we saw, and pointed out so many things we would of never noticed! We got tons of amazing pictures and video of this unforgetable experience. Definitely something we would do again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories