Magnum Helicopters - Oahu Doors-Off Island Helicopter Tour reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Magnum Helicopters - Oahu Doors-Off Island Helicopter Tour

Overall Rating

4.82 4.82 / 5

Reviews

94 reviews
Post a review

Off door Helicopter

Reviewed by: Moy, 2021/09/10

Staff was friendly and helpful. Our pilot was informative and funny. The only downside was the video of our trip was not record by helicopter because of communication issues with the tour. We did get make a fun video with a replica of the Magnum PI Ferrari.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Julie, 2021/09/05

Booked this tour for my parents to enjoy a sightseeing experience of the beautiful island. They had a thrill and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. No complaints!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Time

Reviewed by: Diana Gonzalez, 2021/06/24

This was our first time traveling to Hawaii and the Magnum Helicopter Doors-Off Island Tour was our first activity. An absolutely incredible experience. You get to see the whole island and popular sites to visit. It is honestly breathtaking. Anyone who visits Hawaii should definitely try this out especially with the amazing staff who made us feel comfortable throughout the entire process. Thank you so much !

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wind in my hair

Reviewed by: Tiffany , 2021/05/26

This was definitely one of my favorite experiences. I highly recommend it. You see the island in all of its beauty. Also arrive a little early so you can get to film an extra little film on site.
Make sure you bring good sunglasses and I recommend either a bun or braid if you have long hair because just a ponytail will still hit you a bit. It does get chilly so bring long sleeves. And if you’re a freeze baby long pants too.
And if you can’t see something clearly on your feel free to ask your pilot to flip the helicopter around so you can get a better view! They’re super nice and accommodating about making sure you can see :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: The Newsoms, 2021/05/23

Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful and Went out of their way to make sure it was a Great experience. Evan was not only a great pilot, but a great tour guide as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool activity

Reviewed by: Steinar Anderssen, 2020/01/02

This was cool, but they advertise alot on their Instagram with pictures of feet hanging out of the Helicopter, but they do not allow those kind of pictures at all.
I highly advice atleast a sweater and long pants since it does get cold

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting adventure. Glad I spent the $.

Reviewed by: B v s, 2019/12/21

Thrill of a lifetime
Wanted to see Pearl Harbor and had little time before flying out San Francisco
Open doors make for exciting time
Seeing Honolulu from above quite a treat

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

the best helicopter tour ever

Reviewed by: mzelzer@web.de, 2019/12/15

This tour is highly recommended. Starting with the pick-up from the hotel to the check-in.
Our pilot was great. She had a lot of interesting information during the sightseeing flight.
It is important to buy the protective case for the mobile phone. A good investment.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Vijay, 2019/11/17

Wow ..spectacular views...the tour was well run and organised.
A must do when here...well worth the money and highly recommended!

  • Superb!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!

Reviewed by: Lea , 2019/07/30

I loved this experience. Location was easier to find. Check in was simple and easy. I liked the safety video. The real star was the helicopter ride. I highly recommend seeing Oahu from a helicopter and with the doors off!! I was able to take so many amazing pictures. I have been to Oahu many times and seen some of the sights from ground level, but it is nothing like seeing it from the air! Breathtaking!! The ground crew was fabulous, so helpful! I sat in the back on the right side. That was the only thing that was a bummer. I didn't get to a good view of Waikiki and some of the other sights on the left. The pilot, Steve, did do some circles to allow the right side riders to see, but many times, it was enough time to see and take photos. It is windy in the back, so I had to purse my lips throughout most of the flight to keep my lips and cheeks from flapping everywhere! I did wear a sweatshirt because there was a slight chill from the higher altitude. Overall, I give this experience a 10 out of 10!! If I every get back to Hawaii, I will take this helicopter ride again!!

  • Photo op after the incredible ride

  • The beautiful coastline!

  • No need to do the Pineapple maze, you know the path!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a ride!

Reviewed by: Kristi, 2019/07/05

An awesome way to see some of the beautiful Hawaii! Friendly staff. A great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A truly wonderful experience!

Reviewed by: Kelsy, 2019/02/13

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Hawaii for his birthday, and on our list of activities was this helicopter tour. He has always wanted to ride in a helicopter, and this ended up being the perfect addition to our itinerary. We went on a Friday morning, and the entire staff was friendly and welcoming, as well as informative on what to expect. For the approximately hour long flight, our wonderful pilot Margot (my deepest apologies if this is not spelled correctly) gave narrative to what we were seeing, as well as provided jokes and reassurance any time the flight even remotely became rocky. The views were breathtaking, and this was the perfect way to appreciate how green and full of life this island is. We both felt this was more than worth the money, and we enjoyed every moment. It seems like it can get quite chilly up there though, so I would recommend a jacket.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The experience was amazing

Reviewed by: Cid, 2018/01/23

The pilot was great, his knowledge of the sites and explanations was entertaining and informative, the music choices were good and the flight was not scary (for those of us who were a bit nervous); instead is was like a magic carpet ride.
I would definitely recommend this trip to friends!AS

  • Oahu North Shoreline

Reply from activity provider

Thanks, Cid, for a great review. I like that, a Magic Carpet Ride. 'Always wanted one of those.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great view of the island

Reviewed by: Girish, 2017/11/17

except the air sickness all other things were good. it was wonderful view from the top.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A awesome ride!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Mike Aguilar, 2017/11/12

My family was apprehensive but were truly amazed with the helicopter ride. It was informative funny and the talk of the trip. I would highly recommend this experience.
I can’t wait to do it on our next trip. On behalf of my family thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just great

Reviewed by: Marjo, 2017/05/06

This trip was amazing! We had a great time! The ride was smooth, got the feeling that out pilot was experienced and he talked beforehand what was about to happen. He explained a lot about what was around to be seen. This was one on the highlights in our trip and we sis a lot in Hawaii :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time ever

Reviewed by: Cindi, 2017/05/04

This was the best hour of our lives. The sights were beautiful especially in a helicopter with the doors off. The instructor was very informative explaining a lot of the Hawaiian culture. I would recommend this to anyone who comes to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Husband and wife

Reviewed by: Albert Verdugo, 2017/04/27

Great ride Jim was a perfect pilot wish him the best also the entire staff was outstanding very professional

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The greatest birthday adventure!!

Reviewed by: Glenn, 2017/04/11

Wow, what an experience. Definitely a MUST-DO while you are in Oahu! I loved the Doors-Off experience as it gave me a chance to get some incredible photos of the island from the air. BUT even more importantly, it was such a unique experience to experience flying as the wind and air rushes by! I'll never forget it. And the service and experience was exactly what you could hope for. The Magnum Helicopter experience was AWESOME, trust me, you'll love it. Best birthday surprise you could ask for.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip to Oahu!

Reviewed by: Jennifer Fast, 2017/04/11

The doors-off adventure heli tour was the highlight of our trip to Oahu! Hotel pickup and heli flight training was incredibly efficient. All staff were so helpful and friendly. Views were insane and the doors-off tour was such a rush. We got some amazing photos on this tour and I'll probably never want to do a heli flight any other way now :) Such an impressive tour; thanks so much for this experience never to be forgotten!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Open door helicopter tour

Reviewed by: Sharen O'connell , 2017/02/08

Thanks Jim , absolutely fabulous, great knowledge of the area, best sights not available anywhere else, well worth taking this tour we had a perfect day to fly, my daughter was a bit nervous but wanted to get straight back up. Jo & Sharen from Australia

Reply from activity provider

Thanks, Jo, for your glowing review. I'll make sure that Pilot Jim sees what you've wrote. Come back anytime and fly with us again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best money spent!!

Reviewed by: HI Convert, 2017/01/19

Amazing!! A "must do" for any new visitor. Even my spouse who lived here before saw things that he had not seen before.

  • Start of 60 min tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool !

Reviewed by: Tomas, 2017/01/02

We had Jim as our pilot entertained us with facts and fun! You need to do this to see Hawaii as it was. He got in close to the mountains and the falls where you could never hike it was unforgettable and worth every penny ! Thanks Jim !

Reply from activity provider

Thanks, Tomas, for your nice review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your tour with Jim. Please come visit us again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So amazing

Reviewed by: Jianjun, 2016/11/10

It's quite different to see the Island from the sky.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First timer!

Reviewed by: First timer , 2016/10/19

It was an awesome experience for my whole family! Our pilot Nathan and everyone else who help make this happen, thank u!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu view from the air

Reviewed by: Shelley, 2016/09/25

Great ride! Fantastic view of the island! Pilot Margo was very informative and professional. I would recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2016/09/11

Took the Hidden Oahu doors off flight with Jim. It was AMAZING!!! Jim is fantastic and the views are amazing. If you're going to take a helicopter ride, you definitely want to go Doors Off!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time ever!!

Reviewed by: Martin Adiwibowo, 2016/08/21

Loved every second of it. Highly recommended!!! If you want the best experience then look no further.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Way to go!

Reviewed by: Christine , 2016/08/16

Margo was awesome. The flight was so much fun and exillerating. I highly recommend this company

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brilliant experience

Reviewed by: Aimee, 2016/07/31

Without doubt the best experience we had while here. Doug the pilot was full of knowledge, funny, great with the kids on board and made the tour even better if possible.
Everything from booking to the flight was smooth and professional.
Can not recommend this enough. It's simply a must!!

  • Amazing experience

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories