Waimea Canyon Tour & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Waimea Canyon Tour & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto

Overall Rating

4.34 4.34 / 5

Reviews

73 reviews
Post a review

Wonderful way to be introduced to Kauai!

Reviewed by: Susan in Boulder, 2020/02/27

As someone who had never been to Kauai before, I booked this tour as a way for my boyfriend and I to get acclimated to the island. We were so lucky to have Kana e, a wonderful native tour guide, as our driver and tour guide. She made the entire day so much fun, and extremely interesting. We both loved her stories of the island, of her family, and her enthusiasm. I greatly recommend this tour, especially if you can have a native guide as good as Kana e!!

  • Our fabulous guide, Kana e. Her first name is really 23 letters long!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Tour Guide

Reviewed by: Jacky, 2018/12/24

We had a wonderful time. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and he took the effort to know everyone's name and show great customer service. The whole tour he was all smiles and friendly making you feel great throughout the tour.

  • Waimea Canyon

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea, Fern Grotto tour

Reviewed by: Evangelista, N, 2017/10/02

We were in Awe when we saw Waimea Canyon, most unforgettable sight so far and for the record we have seen Grand Canyon as well. the tour package itself is great, our driver is awesome forgot his name already ( sorry) he makes sure that each and everyone needs are met. Love the fact that we were picked up right in front of our hotel. I just wished tho that the Fern Grotto is as nice as in the pictureExtra treat that we also enjoy is the short hula performance...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful scenery and boat ride!

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/05/21

We enjoyed the tour, however it was distracting to have the driver singing over the music video and playlist. No one in our group enjoyed that at all and would have rather heard local commentary, island history, or just the recorded artist's voice.
The canyon scenery, boat ride, and fern grotto were beautiful and amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour of Kauai!

Reviewed by: Cheryl M, 2016/04/22

We had a great time! Juan, our tour guide, was fabulous! What a wonderful time. Everyone on the bus was entertained as well as having a good time. We were exhausted by the end of the day and it was worth it!
Highly recommended. Everyone in your party will get to be a sightseer and have a driver to do the work!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WAIMEA CANYON & WAILUA RIVER CRUISE TO FERN GROTTO TOUR....

Reviewed by: JIMJUDYMARGIBOB, 2016/02/14

WE ALL GIVE THIS TOUR ON KAUAI, A 10 PLUS. WE WERE PICKED UP AT OUR CONDO, DRIVEN UP THE WESTERN COAST. STOPS ALONG THE WAY...WAIMEA CANYON IS BREATH TAKING! OUR TOUR GUIDE, ROSERIO (misp?) WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND HAD A GREAT SENCE OF HUMOR. WE STOPPED FOR A WONDERFUL LUNCH,( RIGHT ACROSS FROM OUR CONO)..THEN HEADED EAST TO THE COAST AND OUR TOUR TO THE GROTTO. ALL IN ALL, IT WAS A WONDERFUL TOUR....WE WERE DROPPED OFF AT OUR CONDO IN THE EARLY EVENING...JUST IN TIME FOR A DRINK, SNACKS AND BED! MAHALO WE HAVE ALREADY RECOMMENDED THIS COMPANY ON FACEBOOK

  • JUDY AND JIM

  • SPEEDO BOB AND MARGI..HEADING OUT TO FERN GROTTO

  • VIEW FROM PARKING LOT ON WAY TO BOAT AND GROTTO...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour guide

Reviewed by: Richard Kwang , 2015/09/26

The operator and all the crew was super nice , really enjoy the show , but I am kind of feel bad because most of people doesn't know how to tips ...hopefully in the future most tourist need to know how to take care the performance and the tour guide

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too short time at the scenic spots

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

The Waimea Canyon was the highlight of this tour. The Wailua River and Fern Grotto were decent too (more time there luckily).

On the whole, I thought the tour felt too much like sitting in the bus, and too short time at the scenic spots. We had short stops of a few minutes at some scenic spots. Whereas we got a 20 minute stop at a shopping place, which honestly felt a bit like a waste of time to me when we could have spent that time at other scenic spots. Lunch was 1 hour long, but if a different place would have been chosen, lunch would have been served quicker, and we could have done with less time for lunch too.

On the whole, I feel I didn't see much during this tour, which is a pity. For a tour that has Waimea Canyon in its title, it felt decidingly light on Waimea Canyon.

I can't blame the driver/guide, as he was full of humour and well-spirited. But the tour schedule he had to drive could do with definite improvement I think. (Why not, after the Waimea Canyon lookout, drive further up to the Kalalau Valley lookout while we are in that area?)

One other thing: I got a pickup time of 7.00, but had to wait until 7.40 'til the bus arrived. The driver seemed to be on schedule, so presumably 7.40 was the pickup time communicated to him, but it wasn't communicated to me by the organisation sadly.

I did many great tours during my holiday. This wasn't one of them sadly, although I'm happy I got to see the magnificent Waimea Canyon.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto Tour

Reviewed by: KSD2014, 2014/09/22

Excellent tour. Our guide (Juan) gave us an unforgettable day. Not only was the scenery spectacular but Juan also managed to pass on the story of the Hawaiian people and Kauai as experienced by himself through his life growing up on the island. Juan is to be commended and the tour highly recommended. We also took other tours operated by Polynesian Adventure Tours and they were also of a very high standard.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Riverboat

Reviewed by: Bridgett Zelasko, 2014/03/08

Most beautiful sites on the island of Kauai. Must do tour! I loved all the stops we stopped at I couldn't stop taking pictures! The spouting horn was my favorite!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great sights lon trip

Reviewed by: memsl, 2013/03/05

We loved the sights. The Waimea Canyon was stunning as was the fern grotto. What was wrong with this tour was the more than 6 hours travelling in the bus to see two sights which took less than 20 minutes each to see. Great tour if you enjoy seeing the hawaiian country side from a bus.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Garden Island

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/11

I had a great time on this tour. We only stayed for two days so it was good that we did this tour on our first day to learn about the island. We just went back to the sights and beyond on the next day to explore more on our own. Kauai is such an beautiful, mellow, country island. People were very nice, and you can still feel that old Hawaiian way of living. I loved the Fern Grotto. The little dancing and singing on the boat was fun.

Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]