Waimea Canyon Tour & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto

Waimea Canyon Tour & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Kay , 2018/02/11

Outstanding tour and we had a really great guide. I highly recommend. We were island hopping and this was a perfect tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Beautiful day in Kauai

Reviewed by: Ron, 2018/01/27

We were amazed by the beautiful view at the Waimea Canyon.
I'm not sure what it is about the fern grotto, it is a place you have to see if you come to Kauai. It's not as breathtaking as other sights in Hawaii, but still it is moving in it's own way.
The tour guide was great and we got to see and hear about a myriad of things along the way that you wouldn't appreciate if you didn't have a guide. They know the places to stop and see, and the ones to pass by.
We would recommend this tour for anyone coming to Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our day with Sam

Reviewed by: Richard Bradford, 2018/01/11

Our tour guide Sam was very knowledgeable about Kauai. He added personal insights in not being a native but a resident for 30 years. He was also funny and helpful to all passengers. I would recommend him and his company to anyone wanting a good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good, but long

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/01/07

A more detailed itinerary would be helpful. For those staying in princeville, it is a 2 hour ride to Waimea canyon. The time at the canyon lookout point is 20 minutes. The fern grotto is another hour's ride. Boat ride and music were great, but hike and visit to fern grotto from boat was 20-30 minutes. Though there a couple of other small stops, you have to understand most of 11 hours is riding in a mini-bus. Driver was great and preferred small bus to large one.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We had a perfect day, the driver was friendly and very informative and professional. The views of the canyon were spectacular. The cruise and entertainment was more "laid back" and very worthwhile.

Reviewed by: John and Nadine , 2018/01/06

We liked the attention to detail from the pick up at our resort to the background knowledge during the driving portion. We had plenty of time to get out of the bus to stretch and take pictures. We seemed to be able to see and do more due to a smaller bus. This tour, like most, is depended on clear and non rainy weather; check ahead to pick a good weather day for this adventure. To combine both parts is a full day; we were picked up at 7am delivered back at 6pm. I would strongly recommend these stops as a "must see". You could drive up and down the canyon, but you would miss a lot of sights and information. The boat ride is also something not to be missed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon tour is a gem!

Reviewed by: Steve M, 2017/10/27

The Waimea Canyon & Fern Grotto tour is a signature tour when visiting Kauai! Polynesian tours does a good job of connecting you with the core highlights of this most remarkable experience. Truly a memorable experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Canyon tour and river cruise

Reviewed by: Bobbie, 2017/10/14

Guide and tour was excellent however being dropped at a mall for lunch was extremely disappointing. I would have paid more to get a local experience

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy

Reviewed by: Colin & Jo, 2017/10/07

Fern grotto was a lovely trip down the river ending up at fern grotto was like a rain forest the whole experience was great the people were very knowledgeable and the boat cruise ack they sang all the way back and taught us to hula which was interesting

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea, Fern Grotto tour

Reviewed by: Evangelista, N, 2017/10/02

We were in Awe when we saw Waimea Canyon, most unforgettable sight so far and for the record we have seen Grand Canyon as well. the tour package itself is great, our driver is awesome forgot his name already ( sorry) he makes sure that each and everyone needs are met. Love the fact that we were picked up right in front of our hotel. I just wished tho that the Fern Grotto is as nice as in the pictureExtra treat that we also enjoy is the short hula performance...


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon Tour & ABORTED Cruise to Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Bruce Cariker, 2017/09/20

Great tour as far as it went. The river cruise to Fern Grotto was cancelled due to high river levels. When people asked the driver about reimbursement for the cancelled cruise, he responded with some thing like, "You can phone the company and ask for a partial reimbursement, but don't get your hopes up if it doesn't happen." I think it indicates that the driver just wasn't properly informed about how to deal with the situation, Great driver otherwise, and full of lots of info. It would have been fun to talk with him in an informal setting.

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests.
A separate email will be sent to you in regards to the river cruise cancellation.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrible trip

Reviewed by: Unhappy customer , 2017/07/11

This trip was terrible, expensive, and boring. With false advertisement. We were on time waiting for the bus, but it came an hour and thirty minutes later. It was ridiculous they called 3 times saying to be on time, but they were late themselves! Our guide was very bad. All he told us was the name of the attraction not the history. The bus was huge but his mic didn't work. All he had to do was change the batteries but even at a stop he didn't take the time to change them. He just was talking with other people. We could have done this with our own car and taken our time! PLEASE don't waste your money and time on this trip!!! Explore your self and take your time!!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful scenery and boat ride!

Reviewed by: Mark, 2017/05/21

We enjoyed the tour, however it was distracting to have the driver singing over the music video and playlist. No one in our group enjoyed that at all and would have rather heard local commentary, island history, or just the recorded artist's voice.
The canyon scenery, boat ride, and fern grotto were beautiful and amazing.








Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the time and money

Reviewed by: SKSamy, 2016/10/22

The bus went with broke down when we were at Waimea canyon that gave us more time to spend at the beautiful Waimea canyon at the expense of missing the lunch. In spite of this we enjoyed every bit of it. The guide/driver did a nice job of keeping us engaged all the time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average Trip

Reviewed by: DebW, 2016/08/12

The Fern Grotto was a guided tour, which I did not realize when we signed up. The boat ride up the river was nice. The guide pointed out various places along the river. Your time is very limited at the Grotto. The guides there rush you along to the site, explain the grotto, sing, and then you are rushed out. I wanted to explore the trail a bit and take photos so that was disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Vikki M., 2016/08/09

Our tour guide was Jonna. She was friendly,,knowledgeable of Hawaiian history and folklore. She drove safely while she shared about the sights we visited. Her sense of humor and kindness was evident as she inquired about how each of us was doing. My husband and I finished our tour having learned about Kaua'i and the sights. We loved our tour and will recommend to friends to make time for this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon and Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Teacher82, 2016/07/06

Jack was a great tour guide and the day passed very quickly with jokes, historical information, and a beautiful cruise to the Fern Grotto. The singers were beautiful in sentiment and voice, showing us the beauty of the Hawaiian culture . I recommend this as it is a great way to be engulfed in culture and see most of the island , including great picture spots.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon lookout

Reviewed by: Michelle, 2016/06/09

The Waimea Canyon was beautiful! However, I feel I could have done this activity on my own. We spent most of our day picking up people from hotels and I felt I could have used that time exploring more of the canyon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour of Kauai!

Reviewed by: Cheryl M, 2016/04/22

We had a great time! Juan, our tour guide, was fabulous! What a wonderful time. Everyone on the bus was entertained as well as having a good time. We were exhausted by the end of the day and it was worth it!
Highly recommended. Everyone in your party will get to be a sightseer and have a driver to do the work!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Canyon & River Cruise

Reviewed by: Rita & Alan, 2016/04/17

Our guide - Rosario - was well informed and jovial. As there were only 7 of us on the trip Rosario was able to spend more time showing us interesting points on the island. The Canyon itself was beautiful although the River Cruise was a bit naff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waited Canyon and Fern Grotto tour 30 Mar, 2016.

Reviewed by: Cynthia Leas, 2016/04/02

Our guide , Jacque Cousteau, (Jack Custer) was great! He was so knowledgeable and seemed to enjoy sharing with us. My grandson and I learned a lot and had fun. My only complaint was having to drive from Waimea Plantation Cottages to the Sheraton to meet the tour, while Princeville guests WERE picked up. When I signed up for the tour online, it said we would be picked up. The day before, I got a call saying we would have to get ourselves to the Sheraton.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WAIMEA CANYON & WAILUA RIVER CRUISE TO FERN GROTTO TOUR....

Reviewed by: JIMJUDYMARGIBOB, 2016/02/14

WE ALL GIVE THIS TOUR ON KAUAI, A 10 PLUS. WE WERE PICKED UP AT OUR CONDO, DRIVEN UP THE WESTERN COAST. STOPS ALONG THE WAY...WAIMEA CANYON IS BREATH TAKING! OUR TOUR GUIDE, ROSERIO (misp?) WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND HAD A GREAT SENCE OF HUMOR. WE STOPPED FOR A WONDERFUL LUNCH,( RIGHT ACROSS FROM OUR CONO)..THEN HEADED EAST TO THE COAST AND OUR TOUR TO THE GROTTO. ALL IN ALL, IT WAS A WONDERFUL TOUR....WE WERE DROPPED OFF AT OUR CONDO IN THE EARLY EVENING...JUST IN TIME FOR A DRINK, SNACKS AND BED! MAHALO WE HAVE ALREADY RECOMMENDED THIS COMPANY ON FACEBOOK


  • JUDY AND JIM


  • SPEEDO BOB AND MARGI..HEADING OUT TO FERN GROTTO


  • VIEW FROM PARKING LOT ON WAY TO BOAT AND GROTTO...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oops

Reviewed by: John, 2016/01/10

Not bad until the driver left us at the last stop. Think one could tell that 2 of a group of 8 were not in the van. At least it was only mile or so walk to hotel.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Adventure

Reviewed by: Lawrence Phillips, 2016/01/09

Tour guide was great. Could have used more time at the canyon and blow hole.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience

Reviewed by: A & S Kidd, 2015/12/13

We took the Waimea Canyon and Wailua River Cruise tour and what an experience. Our driver and tour guide, Juan, was amazing. His knowledge of the history of the island of Kauai together with his own experiences growing up on the Garden Isle really made the day beyond interesting. From the time we boarded the tour bus until the end of the day, Juan's personality, knowledge and wit made every minute enjoyable. We highly recommend this tour AND Juan to all who may consider it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic guide!

Reviewed by: Marco S, 2015/12/01

Our guide, Jack, having been raised in Hawaii was extremely knowledgeable about the history and local factoids. He even had a few good jokes. He kept us engaged and interested for the entire day. Everyone else we came into contact with regarding this tour was also very professional and nice

Overall I would recommend this as a great way to get introduced to Kauai

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Betty Latiolais, 2015/10/02

The Canyon was beautiful. The river cruise was very relaxing and enjoyable. All in all it was very nice. The road up to the Canyon reminded me of going to Kings Canyon in California. Very interesting!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon tour

Reviewed by: Susan , 2015/09/30

My friend and I had a great time. Jack was a great tour guide and was very informative and very entertaining .

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour guide

Reviewed by: Richard Kwang , 2015/09/26

The operator and all the crew was super nice , really enjoy the show , but I am kind of feel bad because most of people doesn't know how to tips ...hopefully in the future most tourist need to know how to take care the performance and the tour guide





Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon and Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Thomas Hamilton, 2015/05/09

Outstanding day made all the better by our tour guide "Jack". He was a long-time resident of Kauai and knew all the details of where we were going plus sites along the way. He's a "keeper" for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too short time at the scenic spots

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

The Waimea Canyon was the highlight of this tour. The Wailua River and Fern Grotto were decent too (more time there luckily).

On the whole, I thought the tour felt too much like sitting in the bus, and too short time at the scenic spots. We had short stops of a few minutes at some scenic spots. Whereas we got a 20 minute stop at a shopping place, which honestly felt a bit like a waste of time to me when we could have spent that time at other scenic spots. Lunch was 1 hour long, but if a different place would have been chosen, lunch would have been served quicker, and we could have done with less time for lunch too.

On the whole, I feel I didn't see much during this tour, which is a pity. For a tour that has Waimea Canyon in its title, it felt decidingly light on Waimea Canyon.

I can't blame the driver/guide, as he was full of humour and well-spirited. But the tour schedule he had to drive could do with definite improvement I think. (Why not, after the Waimea Canyon lookout, drive further up to the Kalalau Valley lookout while we are in that area?)

One other thing: I got a pickup time of 7.00, but had to wait until 7.40 'til the bus arrived. The driver seemed to be on schedule, so presumably 7.40 was the pickup time communicated to him, but it wasn't communicated to me by the organisation sadly.

I did many great tours during my holiday. This wasn't one of them sadly, although I'm happy I got to see the magnificent Waimea Canyon.


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI