Jesper's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here


Reviews by Jesper
Last review on 2015/02/09
# of Reviews: 17

Too short time at the scenic spots

Posted on: 2015/02/09

The Waimea Canyon was the highlight of this tour. The Wailua River and Fern Grotto were decent too (more time there luckily).

On the whole, I thought the tour felt too much like sitting in the bus, and too short time at the scenic spots. We had short stops of a few minutes at some scenic spots. Whereas we got a 20 minute stop at a shopping place, which honestly felt a bit like a waste of time to me when we could have spent that time at other scenic spots. Lunch was 1 hour long, but if a different place would have been chosen, lunch would have been served quicker, and we could have done with less time for lunch too.

On the whole, I feel I didn't see much during this tour, which is a pity. For a tour that has Waimea Canyon in its title, it felt decidingly light on Waimea Canyon.

I can't blame the driver/guide, as he was full of humour and well-spirited. But the tour schedule he had to drive could do with definite improvement I think. (Why not, after the Waimea Canyon lookout, drive further up to the Kalalau Valley lookout while we are in that area?)

One other thing: I got a pickup time of 7.00, but had to wait until 7.40 'til the bus arrived. The driver seemed to be on schedule, so presumably 7.40 was the pickup time communicated to him, but it wasn't communicated to me by the organisation sadly.

I did many great tours during my holiday. This wasn't one of them sadly, although I'm happy I got to see the magnificent Waimea Canyon.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Fun day, great scenic spots, more personal than big tours

Posted on: 2015/02/09

This was a fun day. I liked that it felt non-scripted, with the guide not working through a standard talk and being very flexible in his schedule. Our guide made sure to let everyone introduce themselves, which makes for a better social experience throughout the day.
After a sunny start it soon became a more rainy day sadly, but our guide tried to work around it, switching around places. Despite the rain, it was fun and I got to see very nice scenic spots that were ideal for photography.
The lunch location at a small local place was great: affordable, good, local food.
Among the best tours I did during my holiday.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Excellent tour with unique scenery

Posted on: 2015/02/09

We had a rainy day, but despite that I had a lot of fun this day. The guide was well-informed and made sure to get everyone to introduce themselves shortly in the van, which makes for a better social experience throughout the day. We got to see the obvious places of the park (outlook at the crater), but the guide brought us to a lot of different places too, places I'm sure we wouldn't have seen on a large bus tour. Despite the long drive and the many places we saw, I felt we had sufficient time at every location.
The park itself is a must-see, unlike anything you've ever seen.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Stunning scenery, don't miss this

Posted on: 2015/02/09

Definitely do this during your holiday! The sunset and scenery at Mauna Kea is out-of-this-world and impressive. The stargazing afterwards is fun, as well as amazing to see so many stars so brightly.
The tour was excellent too, with well-informed guides and an un-rushed feel. Dinner was decent too.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Good

Posted on: 2015/02/09

Properly on time, good pickup and drive, good personnel.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Not the best snorkeling ever, but tour was fun

Posted on: 2015/02/09

Molokini is not as stunning a snorkel spot as some say: there's only a select variety of fish and there's no impressive coral reef. The water is very clear though. But there are definitely much better snorkeling options elsewhere to be found.
We had a muddy water day for Turtle Town sadly, but I got to see a turtle nonetheless, which was nice.
The tour organisation was class though, well-spirited. Breakfast was decent, lunch was very good. And there were a lot of whales to be seen! I must say that even with Molokini not completely living up to its reputation I had a good fun day. Time well-spent.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Best moment of my holiday

Posted on: 2015/02/09

Enjoyed this tremendously! The sunrise at Haleakala is as spectacular as everyone says it is.
Our guide (Bob) had a lot of humour, was well-informed and passionate, and gave us the freedom to go where we wanted to during the actual sunrise instead of having to stay at a designated spot.
Included breakfast was decent too.
The early wake-up is well worth it. Don't miss this when you're on Maui.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Nice scenery

Posted on: 2015/02/09

The scenery along Road to Hana is nice, it's an impressive ride. We got to stop where possible, and the driver tried to add some little spots here and there for quick extra photo opportunities.
I was most impressed with the final part of the road that nobody seems to mentions: the part after the Seven Pools which goes through the barren drier south side of the Haleakala. I liked this scenery a lot!

Be aware: if you want to stay on a budget: lunch is very expensive at the chosen restaurant. I brought my own lunch, which turned out to be the right choice.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Excellent

Posted on: 2015/02/09

Excellent. My plane was delayed and I had to change to a different flight. Called in the shuttle service and they made sure to arrive at the new arrival time.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Good

Posted on: 2015/02/09

Properly on time (early even, which is good), good pickup and drive, good personnel.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/02/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |