Page 2) Waimea Canyon Tour & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Waimea Canyon Tour & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto

Overall Rating

4.34 4.34 / 5

Reviews

73 reviews
Post a review

Waited Canyon and Fern Grotto tour 30 Mar, 2016.

Reviewed by: Cynthia Leas, 2016/04/02

Our guide , Jacque Cousteau, (Jack Custer) was great! He was so knowledgeable and seemed to enjoy sharing with us. My grandson and I learned a lot and had fun. My only complaint was having to drive from Waimea Plantation Cottages to the Sheraton to meet the tour, while Princeville guests WERE picked up. When I signed up for the tour online, it said we would be picked up. The day before, I got a call saying we would have to get ourselves to the Sheraton.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WAIMEA CANYON & WAILUA RIVER CRUISE TO FERN GROTTO TOUR....

Reviewed by: JIMJUDYMARGIBOB, 2016/02/14

WE ALL GIVE THIS TOUR ON KAUAI, A 10 PLUS. WE WERE PICKED UP AT OUR CONDO, DRIVEN UP THE WESTERN COAST. STOPS ALONG THE WAY...WAIMEA CANYON IS BREATH TAKING! OUR TOUR GUIDE, ROSERIO (misp?) WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND HAD A GREAT SENCE OF HUMOR. WE STOPPED FOR A WONDERFUL LUNCH,( RIGHT ACROSS FROM OUR CONO)..THEN HEADED EAST TO THE COAST AND OUR TOUR TO THE GROTTO. ALL IN ALL, IT WAS A WONDERFUL TOUR....WE WERE DROPPED OFF AT OUR CONDO IN THE EARLY EVENING...JUST IN TIME FOR A DRINK, SNACKS AND BED! MAHALO WE HAVE ALREADY RECOMMENDED THIS COMPANY ON FACEBOOK

  • JUDY AND JIM

  • SPEEDO BOB AND MARGI..HEADING OUT TO FERN GROTTO

  • VIEW FROM PARKING LOT ON WAY TO BOAT AND GROTTO...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oops

Reviewed by: John, 2016/01/10

Not bad until the driver left us at the last stop. Think one could tell that 2 of a group of 8 were not in the van. At least it was only mile or so walk to hotel.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Adventure

Reviewed by: Lawrence Phillips, 2016/01/09

Tour guide was great. Could have used more time at the canyon and blow hole.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible Experience

Reviewed by: A & S Kidd, 2015/12/13

We took the Waimea Canyon and Wailua River Cruise tour and what an experience. Our driver and tour guide, Juan, was amazing. His knowledge of the history of the island of Kauai together with his own experiences growing up on the Garden Isle really made the day beyond interesting. From the time we boarded the tour bus until the end of the day, Juan's personality, knowledge and wit made every minute enjoyable. We highly recommend this tour AND Juan to all who may consider it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic guide!

Reviewed by: Marco S, 2015/12/01

Our guide, Jack, having been raised in Hawaii was extremely knowledgeable about the history and local factoids. He even had a few good jokes. He kept us engaged and interested for the entire day. Everyone else we came into contact with regarding this tour was also very professional and nice

Overall I would recommend this as a great way to get introduced to Kauai

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Betty Latiolais, 2015/10/02

The Canyon was beautiful. The river cruise was very relaxing and enjoyable. All in all it was very nice. The road up to the Canyon reminded me of going to Kings Canyon in California. Very interesting!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon tour

Reviewed by: Susan , 2015/09/30

My friend and I had a great time. Jack was a great tour guide and was very informative and very entertaining .

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour guide

Reviewed by: Richard Kwang , 2015/09/26

The operator and all the crew was super nice , really enjoy the show , but I am kind of feel bad because most of people doesn't know how to tips ...hopefully in the future most tourist need to know how to take care the performance and the tour guide

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon and Wailua River Cruise

Reviewed by: Thomas Hamilton, 2015/05/09

Outstanding day made all the better by our tour guide "Jack". He was a long-time resident of Kauai and knew all the details of where we were going plus sites along the way. He's a "keeper" for sure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Too short time at the scenic spots

Reviewed by: Jesper, 2015/02/09

The Waimea Canyon was the highlight of this tour. The Wailua River and Fern Grotto were decent too (more time there luckily).

On the whole, I thought the tour felt too much like sitting in the bus, and too short time at the scenic spots. We had short stops of a few minutes at some scenic spots. Whereas we got a 20 minute stop at a shopping place, which honestly felt a bit like a waste of time to me when we could have spent that time at other scenic spots. Lunch was 1 hour long, but if a different place would have been chosen, lunch would have been served quicker, and we could have done with less time for lunch too.

On the whole, I feel I didn't see much during this tour, which is a pity. For a tour that has Waimea Canyon in its title, it felt decidingly light on Waimea Canyon.

I can't blame the driver/guide, as he was full of humour and well-spirited. But the tour schedule he had to drive could do with definite improvement I think. (Why not, after the Waimea Canyon lookout, drive further up to the Kalalau Valley lookout while we are in that area?)

One other thing: I got a pickup time of 7.00, but had to wait until 7.40 'til the bus arrived. The driver seemed to be on schedule, so presumably 7.40 was the pickup time communicated to him, but it wasn't communicated to me by the organisation sadly.

I did many great tours during my holiday. This wasn't one of them sadly, although I'm happy I got to see the magnificent Waimea Canyon.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: DAV, 2015/01/21

The Guide for the Waimea Canyon tour was excellent. Very informative and enjoyable! The Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto was a total waste of time. The "entertainment" was very, very poor. Back in Florida, a local restaurant has entertainment far superior. Would definitely recommend the Waimea Canyon tour. Would Never have Anything to do with the Wailua river cruise to Fern Grotto with the laughable entertainment. Not interesting or professional enough to keep even the attention of children.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

CIRCLE ISLAND TOUR AND FERN GROTTO

Reviewed by: Joan, 2015/01/10

It was okay. The driver liked to talk about himself too much.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: llbower, 2014/12/14

An enjoyable lazy trip down the river to a beautiful waterfall. Great Hawaiian entertainment too. Need to give the dancers more room to dance.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon &Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto Tour

Reviewed by: Sue and Ted........., 2014/11/15

Was an excellent day well spent. Juan was an exceptional guide providing interesting insight. Timing was superb and food was exceptional. Well worth the money.Juan made it so,

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice tour

Reviewed by: Guest, 2014/09/24

saw a lot and learn a lot on the tour. A beautiful tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon & Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto Tour

Reviewed by: KSD2014, 2014/09/22

Excellent tour. Our guide (Juan) gave us an unforgettable day. Not only was the scenery spectacular but Juan also managed to pass on the story of the Hawaiian people and Kauai as experienced by himself through his life growing up on the island. Juan is to be commended and the tour highly recommended. We also took other tours operated by Polynesian Adventure Tours and they were also of a very high standard.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/08/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice Tour

Reviewed by: Mark, 2014/07/21

If you don't have a car or don't want to drive this is a great way to see the sights. Comfortible transportation and the bus driver was very nice and informative. Long day for us, 11 hours, because we were picked up in Princeville, better if picked up from Lihue or Poipu. No lunch is provided however they stop at a golf course in Poipu to eat in their restaurant, so prepare for that additional expense. Was a little disappointed with Fern Grotto, we've seen much nicer areas in the botanical gardens. Boat ride was fun! Might be too long a day for young children and teenagers, for us it would have been better to drive ourselves.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii is awesome!!

Reviewed by: Laurie Richardson, 2014/04/22

Our tour guide was incredible!! he knew the history of the island, and we so enjoyed his humor!!! Fern Grotto needs to grow more not much to see there?

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Canyon great, River Cruise so-so

Reviewed by: Ultrasonics21, 2014/04/21

The tour was great and the guide had a lot of knowledge about Kauai. I was pleased to see how much of the south shore was covered in the tour. I wish they would have gone to the two other lookout points on the canyon before turning back but otherwise the stops were great. The river cruise was a little disappointing and the fern grotto, even though beautiful, wasn't worth the time spent getting there. If I had to do it again, I would just do the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best trip ever

Reviewed by: Hardeep, 2014/04/20

I enjoyed the guide. She was the best. The boat trip was perfect. What a beautiful romantic trip

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Delighted Adventurer

Reviewed by: Diane, 2014/03/28

Mario was an excellent driver and tour guide. We got to see so much of Kauai on this day-long tour. He gave us many hints beyond the tour if what to see, etc. We too the tour the first day we arrived. The information we gained helped orient us on our first trip to the Garden Island. Wonderful sites and LOTS of stops, well spaced and paced. We enjoyed the 24 passenger van and all the participants too.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Waimea Canyon and Fern Grotto Riverboat

Reviewed by: Bridgett Zelasko, 2014/03/08

Most beautiful sites on the island of Kauai. Must do tour! I loved all the stops we stopped at I couldn't stop taking pictures! The spouting horn was my favorite!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Tour of Kauai

Reviewed by: Steve & Kathy, 2014/02/24

We enjoyed a day with Davin our driver through Waimea Canyon, the spouting horn, and the fern grotto. There was so much more than just those stops and our driver not only navigated expertly with the large bus he was driving but also provided an informed narrative of our surroundings. We also enjoyed the lunch at the golf course we stopped and the scenery of such a beautiful area. While our stops were quick, we were able to do some shopping and purchased some wonderful souvenirs. Would suggest Veltra tours to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2013/09/08

Tour guide very great and tour was a must do for anyone going to Kauai. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Island Tour

Reviewed by: Irene, 2013/08/11

We went as a family and enjoyed every moment and the Tour Guide Craig was very friendly and knowledgeable. Positive things about the Tour are: 1. the time it went quickly especially with the interesting sights as Waimea Cyn and Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto Tour. 2. The lunch was a good time to relax and enjoy a good meal with friends or family. 3. Sightseeing-and able to shop and stretch. Negative things about the Tour are 1. getting to boat on time- Fern Grotto Tour so we could get better seats for photo taking, their was another group of people there already. Negative things about the Tour 2. There was one store we stopped at in beginning of Tour and we did not feel welcomed. The owner was following us everywhere so we left out of there back to the bus also the refreshments where horrible. The only interesting fact at that store was a $4,000 beaded necklace. Overall, we enjoyed the day and recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great sights lon trip

Reviewed by: memsl, 2013/03/05

We loved the sights. The Waimea Canyon was stunning as was the fern grotto. What was wrong with this tour was the more than 6 hours travelling in the bus to see two sights which took less than 20 minutes each to see. Great tour if you enjoy seeing the hawaiian country side from a bus.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2013/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fast but Nice

Reviewed by: Donald, 2010/07/27

The tour is a bit rushed as expected because of all the area covered. However, you get to see a lot, but for a small amount of time. Waimea Canyon is most definitely the highlight of the tour. The river trip and fern grotto weren't too exciting. The tour is a good way to get an overview if you just have one day on the island (like we did).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/07/23

This is a great tour if you want to see the island and learn about the culture. This was our first trip to Kauai, so we took the all day tour (11 hours from the time we were picked up.) Very long day but it was EXCELLENT and well worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I love Kauai So much

Reviewed by: Kauai Lover, 2009/04/04

I and my husband enjoyed a lot. Our guide has very much knowledge about Kauai, and Hawaii's history, too. Even the tour was long, we never got bored!
That was our First trip to Kauai, and we didn't know where should we go. But this tour gave me so much experience in Kauai.
If you go to Kauai First time, you should join this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]