Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim [Open Now] reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

86 reviews
Post a review

Great knowledgable guided tour... amazing hike!

Reviewed by: Julia , 2020/11/18

We signed up for the kayaking but the hike and the waterfall was the best part of it!!
Our guide Jay was so knowledgeable about the nature, trees, plants and history of Kauai! we learnt so much and even had a taste of Kuala along the way
highly recommend this adventure, the 5 hours passed so fast!
Do it!! all get and skill levels!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Julia, So nice to be outdoors and sharing the beauty of Kaua'i with visitors and locals alike once again. Good to know that Jay has dusted his wares and sharing his knowledge of all things Kaua'i. We are very fortunate to have him out in the field. Thanks again for your kind words and keep enjoying the salutary outdoors. Stay well. Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Adventure!

Reviewed by: Staci, 2020/03/14

Jay was our guide and he couldn't have been more awesome. He's a local and a bit of a botanist so he was very knowledgeable and truly happy to take us on the tour. The kayak to the hike was fairly easy for two inexperienced kayakers as we were flowing down stream. The hike was fairly easy for non-experienced hikers. We went during the rainy season so it was very muddy, so it was a bit slick in spots, but that's part of what made it fun. The waterfall was astounding. So tall and powerful. Well worth the hike to see it's beauty. The lunch provided was enjoyable. The kayak trip back was a bit of a challenge as you're going upstream, but once you hit a nice flow, it becomes much easier. I would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone visiting the island looking for a little adventure!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Staci,

Glad you enjoyed your recent paddle and hike on our Wailua River Sacred/Secret Falls tours.

Jay is a local boy who has proudly been sharing the beauty of Kaua'i with friends, locals and visitors alike; he "walks the talk".

You're description of the tour is great. The more mud...translates for a more forceful waterfall.

Thanks for taking the time to share with us and others your experience.

Keep paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review of kayak and hike

Reviewed by: John, 2019/07/26

Overall I had fun. The trip is basically kayak for 2 miles, hike for 1 mile, visit a 100' water fall, and then hike back for 1 mile and then kayak for 2 miles. Since I like physical activity, this trip worked well for me.

Kayaking requires some physical work, and since there are 2 people per kayak, at last one should be in good physical shape.

Hiking was through lots of mud. You will cross streams, ankle deep mud, and will get dirty. Best to wear sandals since sneakers will be ruined. My youngest son loved this part (getting dirty is always fun).

  • Rainbow during kayak

  • Waterfall. There is a pool at the bottom.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha John,

Thanks for taking the time and for your nice and constructive review on what to expect and what to bring.

If you don't like to paddle and hike this could be wrong tour for some.

Keep active...and thanks again.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2019/05/02

Even with the rain it was a blast... wear proper shoes they will get muddy!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Nicole,

Without rain you could not have rainbows.

Thanks for warning people about shoes.

Until our trails meet again.

Thanks for taking the time.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Kayak and Hike

Reviewed by: Tena, 2019/04/19

We very much enjoyed the kayak and hike to Sacred Falls! Our guide Dustin was outstanding! He shared his knowledge of the area and kept us entertained with his jokes throughout the tour. The hike is muddy so wear shoes you don’t mind getting wet and dirty.
We would definitely do this activity again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Tena,

Dustin is on a roll. One out of every 3 honorable mentions this month, has Dustin's name affixed.

That said all our guides I can humbly say, "Do an outstanding job!".

Thanks for warning others about the property shoes to wear.

Stay paddling and hiking.

Thanks again for sharing.

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Ron Z, 2019/03/31

This was a great time. This was our first time in kayak and we did awesome as our guide said. The hike to the falls was muddy but well worth it. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a little adventure.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Ron for a nice review. Summer "dryness" has arrived and the trail is a wee bit less muddy. Thanks for warning folks about the mud.
Stay paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Part if our trip!

Reviewed by: Pilar Abalos, 2019/02/27

We got to kayak down the Wailua River. Jay our guide was amazing. He told us about historical information about the beautiful island of Kauai and it’s history. Our hike to the waterfall was deep in the interior and he pointed out plants and trees and gave us history and background about them. He was patient and very friendly. Our swim in the falls was something on my bucket list and was definitely what I was expecting and more! Thank you to Jay and everyone at Kayak Kauai!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Pilar,

Glad to hear that not only that Jay did a great job guiding but that he help lighten "your bucket".

Keep filling up that bucket and thanks for letting others know what a good job Jay is doing; we are very
fortunate to have him on board.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing! Exotic hike/waterfall swim checked off bucket list!

Reviewed by: Ashley , 2018/10/04

Our leader, “T” was awesome. He had so many cool stories, and was a local that knew it all. He did the whole hike barefoot, which I could have never done!!
Beautiful adventure. Well worth the money.

Reply from activity provider

Mr T...has a lot of "sole"...that is why he can amble in bare feet.
T is classic and allot of fun. A real pleasure to work with. Glad to hear
that he is sharing his aloha in the field. Thanks for sharing.

A hui hou,
Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Isaiah & Alyssa Webb, 2018/09/25

Loved the tour guides - justice was awesome! Gave us a lot of island knowledge and had so much fun along the way! Definitely do this tour before leaving the island!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Isaiah,

Glad to hear you had a good time on our Sacred Falls paddle and hike.

Justice is training with us and is keen on becoming a guide.

I am pleased to hear that he is an upcoming guide.

Keep paddling and thanks for the kind review.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go!

Reviewed by: Nathan from LA, 2018/07/29

This was one of the highlights of our trip, like the title say... Go! It was beautiful, challenging (slippery on a sunny day - potentially dangerous if you aren’t wearing proper shoes for the hike portion) and exhilarating. Our guide Tyler was a wealth of information and kept everyone relaxed through a new experience.

  • My wife and I in the pool at the base of the falls.

Reply from activity provider

Nathan....thanks for sharing. Come back and enjoy our other tours and guides. Retain those Kaua'i memories. Thanks again. Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Sjewkes , 2018/06/16

This was a great way to really see Kauai by water and land. The waterfall was worth the hike. Remember to wear really good shoes for the hike as you will cross over some fast moving water. My shoes kept slipping off. Overall, a great activity.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your review. Always have loved the Hawaiian word for waterfall: "wail lele" which is defined as "jumping waters". Come back and enjoy our other snorkel and paddling tours. And yes...aqua shoes or sturdy tennis shoes is a must. A hui hou and thanks again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience and Workout!

Reviewed by: Sharilynn , 2017/12/21

There are some amazing views and creatures to see. The guide was awesome. We took two kids in the front of our Kayaks (which means we did all the rowing) therefore the groups with 2 adults per boat went way ahead of us. Don’t sign up for group activities if you expect the world to evolve around you. The group we went with seemed to rush through everything and we were trying to enjoy the trip and views.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Favorite Adventure in Kaua'i

Reviewed by: Amanda Edwards, 2017/12/09

A MUST-DO....be prepared for mud...it's a rainforest!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Empfehlenswert

Reviewed by: Paseba, 2017/11/26

Die Kajaktour ist einfach zu bewältigen, zieht sich aber meiner Meinung nach mit 45min etwas hin. Die Wanderung zum Wasserfall ist eine Erfahrung für sich: Durch einen Fluss mit doch recht starker Strömung (Sicherung durch ein Seil), über wirklich schlammige Wege durch den Dschungel und das alles wieder zurück. Ist aber für jedermann gut zu bewältigen. Auf jeden Fall Wasserschuhe mitnehmen. Teilweise standen wir knöcheltief im Schlamm. Der Wasserfall ist großartig (30m hoch), das Wasser sehr erfrischend. Man darf aber nicht erwarten, dort mit seiner Gruppe allein zu sein. Im Minutentakt kommen neue Besucher am Wasserfall an. Trotzdem eine schöne Location.
Würde die Tour wieder machen!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2017/11/17

Fantastic!
Jesse was a terrific guide
The brows were outstanding!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/07/03

The Sacred Falls Adventure was just perfect for my husband and me. The sites were beautiful! Our tour guide was informative about plants and birds on the way to the waterfall and made our adventure more special!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua river

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2016/08/09

Kayaking was easy. Hike was nice and the waterfall gorgeous the water was cold. The lunch provided was yummy. The guide was kind informative and patient.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua river

Reviewed by: Gforce, 2016/08/09

The guide was patient and made shure I was okay because of my asthma. Once we made it to the waterfall I was able to sit on the rocks relax eat lunch and enjoy the sound of the waterfall.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua river

Reviewed by: Lis, 2016/08/09

Had a great time with family raced back but we lost. Waterfall was pretty and lunch was filling. The guide was kind and informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day kayaking and hiking to Secret Falls!

Reviewed by: lorely81, 2015/11/17

My husband and I had a great time on this excursion. We were the only ones signed up for our particular day and time so it ended up being a private tour which was a bonus. We had the morning tour (check-in at 7:45 am) which seemed a lot less crowded than the later tours. There were a lot more people hiking in on our way out. The activity was very scenic and not strenuous at all for us moderately in-shape people (my husband more so that me!). Jamie was an excellent guide. He was knowledgeable in the flora, fauna, and area, but also personable so we weren't talking shop the whole time. Lunch was also more than adequate: fresh pineapple, deli sandwich on a good roll with cheese, lettuce, tomato, mayo, mustard, a bag of chips, 2 Kauai cookies, a drink, and 2 bottles of water. Since we took a guided tour this time, the next time around we'd probably opt for renting kayaks on our own and making our way to Secret Falls without a guide. We definitely want to do this again with our children when they are a little older (at least 5). However, for first timers we highly recommend Kayak Kauai with Jamie as your guide! P.S. I would not recommend this tour for children younger than 5. It is very rocky, muddy and wet with lots of tree roots on the trail and by the waterfall. We saw another tour group with young children and several of them were crying because they fell on their way down to the waterfall. One small boy fell and hit his head on a rock, poor thing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Sherri & Tom Boehm, 2015/01/10

Great tour and guide! Justin, our guide, was fun, informative and very patient as we were first time kayaking. The scenery was beautiful and we would recommend this tour to everyone! Thanks again for this awesome experience!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, beautiful kayaking, hiking trip

Reviewed by: Susan Swanberg, 2014/10/31

Because we were off season my husband and I were the only ones that signed up for a kayaking tour - so we got a private tour with a guide. Our guide, Christian, was very friendly, familiar with the area and so helpful to have along. Being I had never kayaked before he went over safety features and the easiest way to get in and out of a kayak! The kayaking was easy (gorgeous views along the river), the hike was fun (mud up to my knees) the waterfall at the end was beautiful. It was a very successful trip and would very happily do it all again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So Much Fun!

Reviewed by: Amy, 2014/05/03

The Kayaking was a good workout!! The hike was so beautiful and felt like we were truly seeing the inner island jungle. The waterfall was beautiful and we had an over all great time!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic, Educational Adventure

Reviewed by: Rob M., 2012/06/29

Kayak Kauai Outbound makes this trip an experience not to be missed. Kelly was an extraordinary guide, enthusiastically sharing his knowledge and passion for the land, the local history and ancient culture. He went out of his way to make the hike interactive and interesting. He has a real gift for this. The operation, overall, is very laid back. You're made to feel comfortable with every aspect of the tour. We highly recommend Kayak Kauai Outbound and will surely be returning on our next visit to the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]