This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Overall Rating

4.73 4.73 / 5

Reviews

74 reviews
Post a review

BEST DAY EVER!

Reviewed by: Renee, 2019/06/22

A beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. The guide was friendly and helpful, everyone was able to paddle up the river at their own pace, the river is lined with greenery, but the real treats were the hike along a gorgeous trail with amazing foliage and, of course, the waterfall. Swimming in the pool at the base of the waterfall and looking up at the water pouring over the cliff is an experience like no other. I went with my teenage daughter on a beautiful sunny day. There were no significant recent rains, so the trail was not muddy or slippery and the hike wasn't strenuous at all. I highly recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Renee,

Glad you enjoyed our Wailua River paddle and hike to the Sacred Falls with your daughter.

Yes it’s pretty classic and you gave a really nice review. Thanks for taking the time and until our trails cross.

Stay paddling and hiking.

Aloha,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2019/05/02

Even with the rain it was a blast... wear proper shoes they will get muddy!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Nicole,

Without rain you could not have rainbows.

Thanks for warning people about shoes.

Until our trails meet again.

Thanks for taking the time.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Kayak and Hike

Reviewed by: Tena, 2019/04/19

We very much enjoyed the kayak and hike to Sacred Falls! Our guide Dustin was outstanding! He shared his knowledge of the area and kept us entertained with his jokes throughout the tour. The hike is muddy so wear shoes you don’t mind getting wet and dirty.
We would definitely do this activity again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Tena,

Dustin is on a roll. One out of every 3 honorable mentions this month, has Dustin's name affixed.

That said all our guides I can humbly say, "Do an outstanding job!".

Thanks for warning others about the property shoes to wear.

Stay paddling and hiking.

Thanks again for sharing.

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Ron Z, 2019/03/31

This was a great time. This was our first time in kayak and we did awesome as our guide said. The hike to the falls was muddy but well worth it. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a little adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Part if our trip!

Reviewed by: Pilar Abalos, 2019/02/27

We got to kayak down the Wailua River. Jay our guide was amazing. He told us about historical information about the beautiful island of Kauai and it’s history. Our hike to the waterfall was deep in the interior and he pointed out plants and trees and gave us history and background about them. He was patient and very friendly. Our swim in the falls was something on my bucket list and was definitely what I was expecting and more! Thank you to Jay and everyone at Kayak Kauai!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Pilar,

Glad to hear that not only that Jay did a great job guiding but that he help lighten "your bucket".

Keep filling up that bucket and thanks for letting others know what a good job Jay is doing; we are very
fortunate to have him on board.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Choice!

Reviewed by: Trish F, 2019/01/11

Wonderful experience! Our guide Dustin was amazing and shared interesting history of Hawaii. Well worth it! We'd do it again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Trish,

Dustin is a legend in his own mind...but then maybe, given your review, he is a legend. Thanks for sharing and confirming what we all knew at Kayak Kaua'i, i.e. that Dusting rocks.

Until our wakes or trail meet.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls

Reviewed by: Karen, 2018/11/06

We took the Sacred Falls kayak, hike and waterfall swim with Doc as our guide. He was awesome, providing great information about many of the plants we saw. He was better than our guide at one of the botanical gardens we visited. He also provided information on Hawaiian culture and history. The kayaking was at a very comfortable pace. My advice to future visitors would be to wear shoes you wouldn't mind throwing away. The mud was VERY deep but not too difficult to hike through. The waterfall was beautiful and a fun place to at least wash off your feet!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Karen,

Thanks for sharing your impressions and insights to our Wailua Sacred Falls.

Glad to hear that Doc is doing a good job. Very lucky to have a Doctor in our employ who brings a real love and knowledge of the environment we are celebrating>

Stay paddling and hiking.

Thanks again.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great weather, great guide, beautiful view

Reviewed by: Mylène, 2018/11/05

The kayak ride down the river was beautiful and relaxing. The waterfall was beautiful, and worth the hike! However the trail is very muddy and we weren't expecting that, and therefore ruined our good pair of running shoes. It is worth it, but do bring a good pair of shoes (you'll need them!) but that you don't mind getting wet and dirtying forever.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Mylene,

Thanks for nice review.

Yes...we usually recommend some "beater tennis shoes" or sports sandals for hike to the waterfall.

Thanks for sharing and keep on paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing! Exotic hike/waterfall swim checked off bucket list!

Reviewed by: Ashley , 2018/10/04

Our leader, “T” was awesome. He had so many cool stories, and was a local that knew it all. He did the whole hike barefoot, which I could have never done!!
Beautiful adventure. Well worth the money.

Reply from activity provider

Mr T...has a lot of "sole"...that is why he can amble in bare feet.
T is classic and allot of fun. A real pleasure to work with. Glad to hear
that he is sharing his aloha in the field. Thanks for sharing.

A hui hou,
Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Isaiah & Alyssa Webb, 2018/09/25

Loved the tour guides - justice was awesome! Gave us a lot of island knowledge and had so much fun along the way! Definitely do this tour before leaving the island!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Isaiah,

Glad to hear you had a good time on our Sacred Falls paddle and hike.

Justice is training with us and is keen on becoming a guide.

I am pleased to hear that he is an upcoming guide.

Keep paddling and thanks for the kind review.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing. Short kayak to trail and then hiked to waterfall. Everyone should do.

Reviewed by: Ericka Supplee, 2018/09/10

No 2 waterfalls are the same. Very peaceful hike to falls and breathtaking view.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your review. Always have loved the Hawaiian word for waterfall: "wail lele" which is defined as "jumping waters". Come back and enjoy our other snorkel and paddling tours. A hui hou.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go!

Reviewed by: Nathan from LA, 2018/07/29

This was one of the highlights of our trip, like the title say... Go! It was beautiful, challenging (slippery on a sunny day - potentially dangerous if you aren’t wearing proper shoes for the hike portion) and exhilarating. Our guide Tyler was a wealth of information and kept everyone relaxed through a new experience.

  • My wife and I in the pool at the base of the falls.

Reply from activity provider

Nathan....thanks for sharing. Come back and enjoy our other tours and guides. Retain those Kaua'i memories. Thanks again. Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Sjewkes , 2018/06/16

This was a great way to really see Kauai by water and land. The waterfall was worth the hike. Remember to wear really good shoes for the hike as you will cross over some fast moving water. My shoes kept slipping off. Overall, a great activity.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your review. Always have loved the Hawaiian word for waterfall: "wail lele" which is defined as "jumping waters". Come back and enjoy our other snorkel and paddling tours. And yes...aqua shoes or sturdy tennis shoes is a must. A hui hou and thanks again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak only tour

Reviewed by: Christi F. , 2018/05/14

Due to the flooding on Kauai we couldn't do the full tour. The tour company called and asked if we wanted to still do just the kayak tour for a lower price, which we did. T our guide was great and we made the best of the modified tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do adventure!

Reviewed by: WA State travelers, 2018/03/11

We took the first group out at 7:45am,was a perfect trip and not over crowded. Our tour guide was Phil, he was terrific -very knowledgeable and a ton of fun. My husband and I had a great time and would recommend this for anyone wanting a little adventure. The kayaking was nice and about two miles to your hiking spot-less waterway traffic going in- coming out was getting busy- would suggest booking the early group. The hike was muddy-go barefoot or wear sturdy shoes you don't mind getting wet and muddy, a bit slippery and challenging but fun. The waterfall is beautiful (water was a bit chilly) but worth getting in it. Lunch was perfect, not too much and very yummy. Definitely a must do when visiting the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST DAY EVER!!!!!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2018/01/27

This was by far the best day of our week. The kids loved it! The kayak trip on the river was amazing, nice and relaxing, beautiful scenery. Advice- have one experienced kayak-er for the 2 person kayak. The hike through the forest was so cool, it was exactly what we had imagined. We were filled with history and information along our hike which was really inviting! Once we got to the falls, delightful! Although the water was cold, it was the neatest things we had experienced! The lunch, the surroundings, the tour guide, all amazing! Don't second guess, Just do it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very fun

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2018/01/23

This was an amazing experience. it was so pretty and the hike was fun. would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Be very careful!

Reviewed by: Annie S., 2018/01/21

The waterfall destination is spectacular, our guide, Web, was very good - and barefoot!. Well-fitting hiking or sturdy aqua shoes are a must for the average hiker. The kayak trip is easy in a wide river. The hike is often along narrow pathways along a dropoff area with no barriers. The ground is very muddy, uneven and you're stepping between roots of trees much of the time. Good foot placement, patience and balance are requirements. When we arrived at the falls, a thunderstorm dumped a lot of rain decreasing the time at the falls and created an extremely wet and muddy return trip on the path back to the kayaks. Puddle depths were unknown leading to many slips and falls and very slow and slippery going. While no one was hurt in our group of 12, I'd advise this trip only for the very adventurous, and very careful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience and Workout!

Reviewed by: Sharilynn , 2017/12/21

There are some amazing views and creatures to see. The guide was awesome. We took two kids in the front of our Kayaks (which means we did all the rowing) therefore the groups with 2 adults per boat went way ahead of us. Don’t sign up for group activities if you expect the world to evolve around you. The group we went with seemed to rush through everything and we were trying to enjoy the trip and views.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour!!!

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2017/12/17

This activity was one of the best experiences in my life. The kayak and hike to the waterfall was beautiful! Our tour guy Dustin was amazing!!! He was very informative, enthusiastic and funny. He made the experience even better!! If you book the tour, you have to ask for him.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Favorite Adventure in Kaua'i

Reviewed by: Amanda Edwards, 2017/12/09

A MUST-DO....be prepared for mud...it's a rainforest!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: Annie, 2017/12/09

Really cool tour, our tour guide was very cool and made the whole experience so much fun! The trek up to the waterfall was quite fun to hike because there was so much mud:) And the kayaking is also lots of fun, not too much of an exhaust ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Empfehlenswert

Reviewed by: Paseba, 2017/11/26

Die Kajaktour ist einfach zu bewältigen, zieht sich aber meiner Meinung nach mit 45min etwas hin. Die Wanderung zum Wasserfall ist eine Erfahrung für sich: Durch einen Fluss mit doch recht starker Strömung (Sicherung durch ein Seil), über wirklich schlammige Wege durch den Dschungel und das alles wieder zurück. Ist aber für jedermann gut zu bewältigen. Auf jeden Fall Wasserschuhe mitnehmen. Teilweise standen wir knöcheltief im Schlamm. Der Wasserfall ist großartig (30m hoch), das Wasser sehr erfrischend. Man darf aber nicht erwarten, dort mit seiner Gruppe allein zu sein. Im Minutentakt kommen neue Besucher am Wasserfall an. Trotzdem eine schöne Location.
Würde die Tour wieder machen!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2017/11/17

Fantastic!
Jesse was a terrific guide
The brows were outstanding!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

really fun, great guide!

Reviewed by: gracie, 2017/10/28

Beautiful, got some exercise, learned about the island and the things around us on the trip. Kelly was calm, knowledgeable, fun. Had a great time. You should do this.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak Fun

Reviewed by: Bruce Cariker, 2017/09/20

We had a great time. The hiking was great, the waterfall was gorgeous, and the water was a great temperature. While reasonably experienced kayakers, we had a little trouble keeping up with the rest of the kayakers on the upriver return, due to being older and out of shape. Dillon (our guide) did a great job of making this an enjoyable adventure. Due to a camera mishap, the pics he took of us and shared are the only ones we have of this adventure. Thanks, Dillon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Fun, 2017/09/09

It was very fun and i had fun cuz it was fun. It seems kind of funny cuz it was so fun. Our kayak weighed a ton but it was still fun. And we went hiking. the end

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/07/03

The Sacred Falls Adventure was just perfect for my husband and me. The sites were beautiful! Our tour guide was informative about plants and birds on the way to the waterfall and made our adventure more special!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Steve Megyese, 2017/06/22

Our tour guide was wonderful. He was very knowledgeable and helpful!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would not recommend for families with children

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2017/06/03

I took this tour with my 8 year old and I wouldn't call this the highlight of our trip. I consider both of us in fairly good shape, and kayaking up Wailua was still quite challenging, especially with the wind. The tour guide seemed to be in a hurry so it added to the stress. The hiking part was quite difficult with rocks, roots, steep climbs and descents. Here again, our tour guide rushed through the forest, not even waiting for some of the slower group members. The "scrumptious" advertised lunch was awful - a stale deli sandwich and a pre-packaged cookie. The waterfall was the only redeeming moment of this tour. All in all, unless you're an adventurous young couple in good shape, I would not recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]