Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim [Open Now] reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.76 4.76 / 5

Reviews

86 reviews
Post a review

Great knowledgable guided tour... amazing hike!

Reviewed by: Julia , 2020/11/18

We signed up for the kayaking but the hike and the waterfall was the best part of it!!
Our guide Jay was so knowledgeable about the nature, trees, plants and history of Kauai! we learnt so much and even had a taste of Kuala along the way
highly recommend this adventure, the 5 hours passed so fast!
Do it!! all get and skill levels!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Julia, So nice to be outdoors and sharing the beauty of Kaua'i with visitors and locals alike once again. Good to know that Jay has dusted his wares and sharing his knowledge of all things Kaua'i. We are very fortunate to have him out in the field. Thanks again for your kind words and keep enjoying the salutary outdoors. Stay well. Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Adventure!

Reviewed by: Staci, 2020/03/14

Jay was our guide and he couldn't have been more awesome. He's a local and a bit of a botanist so he was very knowledgeable and truly happy to take us on the tour. The kayak to the hike was fairly easy for two inexperienced kayakers as we were flowing down stream. The hike was fairly easy for non-experienced hikers. We went during the rainy season so it was very muddy, so it was a bit slick in spots, but that's part of what made it fun. The waterfall was astounding. So tall and powerful. Well worth the hike to see it's beauty. The lunch provided was enjoyable. The kayak trip back was a bit of a challenge as you're going upstream, but once you hit a nice flow, it becomes much easier. I would definitely recommend this excursion to anyone visiting the island looking for a little adventure!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Staci,

Glad you enjoyed your recent paddle and hike on our Wailua River Sacred/Secret Falls tours.

Jay is a local boy who has proudly been sharing the beauty of Kaua'i with friends, locals and visitors alike; he "walks the talk".

You're description of the tour is great. The more mud...translates for a more forceful waterfall.

Thanks for taking the time to share with us and others your experience.

Keep paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing time!

Reviewed by: lk , 2020/03/14

“Doc” was our guide and we had a great time kayaking and hiking to the sacred falls. It’s an all day trip so plan for it and it’s not for people who can’t handle the long bike and kayaking. Prepare to get muddy! Definitely unforgettable!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Ik,

It is nice to have a "Doc" in the crowd when you are hiking to the Sacred/Secret Falls.

We are blessed to have Doc lead our Wailua River paddle and hike tour as he juggles other commitments in life.

Thanks for reminding folks that there will be mud. We are fond of saying, "embrace the mud"! More mud ...the stronger the falls is.

Thanks for you kind words and 5 star review and for making it possible for us all to share the beauty of Kaua'i with others.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time.

Reviewed by: Dan, 2020/02/14

Great time. Good solid adventure and not too much exertion for relatively fit mid-40s husband and wife. Water was cold in February but probably feels nice in summer. Josh was a great guide- lots of interesting history and knowledge along the way. Be sure to hike in the puddles, as odd as that sounds. It has the best footing and you are going to get muddy and wet anyway.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Dan,

Glad you enjoyed your Wailua River Secret/Sacred Falls tour with your guide Josh. Thanks for your wise council on the trail. I think more folks have gotten injured trying to avoid puddles instead of just plowing through them and resigning themselves to wet shoes and mud.

Your guide, as all our excellent guides at Kayak Kaua'i, bring a real love to what they do and there to keep you informed, entertained and safe.

Stay paddling and hiking. Until our paths cross.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family experience!

Reviewed by: Mike E., 2020/01/04

This was a great experience for my wife, our 16-year old daughter and me! And our guide, Tyler, was extremely helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and the various interesting things we experienced along the river and the trail leading up to the waterfall. We highly recommend this excursion to anyone visiting Kauai!

Yes, the trail is muddy, but you just have to, in Tyler's words, "Embrace the mud" and not worry about it and your experience will be much enhanced. And the falls at the end were magnificent -- my daughter and I swam up to the base of them and the winds had spray had to be hurricane-force.

My only advice is to book the early-morning tours, before the crowds begin showing up. That way, you will have the trail (and the falls) mostly to yourself, and the mud won't be as bad.

This was a great experience and is highly recommended. Thanks Tyler!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Mike,

Nice review and correct, if you come with the mind set that it will be muddy, you will have better time.

We are blessed to have Tyler working with us.

Morning tours are definitely nice, but ending the day on the river is not too shabby either.

Thanks for sharing and thanks for making it possible and for your kind words.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: David , 2019/12/03

Beautiful all tge way to the waterfall. Tour Guide was very knowledgeable about the plant life.wear water shoes !! Or shoes ur willing to throw away. Worth every penny.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha David,
Thanks for you 5 star review.
Glad you enjoyed the tour and thanks for making folks aware that some sort of shoes, like water/aqua shoes are a good idea.
Happy Holidays....and thanks for takin the time to share and letting our guides are doing a good job and keeping you informed.
A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great adventure for all ages!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2019/08/26

Dustin did a great job interacting with all of us and we were a very diverse group (age, gender and skill level)!

He was very knowledgeable of Hawaiian culture. We also learned a lot about the plants and animals of the area. Beware of the wild boar. ;-)

The hike was muddy but not too difficult. The waterfall was spectacular and much colder than expected.

Would definitely do this again! The morning is cooler and may be drier than the afternoon.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred falls adventure

Reviewed by: Amy, 2019/07/28

Easy kayaking. The hike is easy but take your time not to fall. Our guide was helpful at crossing all more challenging obatacles. Beautiful falls and swimming area. Nice lunch.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Amy,

Yes...wise council...go slow. Half the fun is getting there!

Thanks for sharing and glad we were able to share the day with you.

Keep chasing waterfalls.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review of kayak and hike

Reviewed by: John, 2019/07/26

Overall I had fun. The trip is basically kayak for 2 miles, hike for 1 mile, visit a 100' water fall, and then hike back for 1 mile and then kayak for 2 miles. Since I like physical activity, this trip worked well for me.

Kayaking requires some physical work, and since there are 2 people per kayak, at last one should be in good physical shape.

Hiking was through lots of mud. You will cross streams, ankle deep mud, and will get dirty. Best to wear sandals since sneakers will be ruined. My youngest son loved this part (getting dirty is always fun).

  • Rainbow during kayak

  • Waterfall. There is a pool at the bottom.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha John,

Thanks for taking the time and for your nice and constructive review on what to expect and what to bring.

If you don't like to paddle and hike this could be wrong tour for some.

Keep active...and thanks again.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST DAY EVER!

Reviewed by: Renee, 2019/06/22

A beautiful, unique, and memorable experience. The guide was friendly and helpful, everyone was able to paddle up the river at their own pace, the river is lined with greenery, but the real treats were the hike along a gorgeous trail with amazing foliage and, of course, the waterfall. Swimming in the pool at the base of the waterfall and looking up at the water pouring over the cliff is an experience like no other. I went with my teenage daughter on a beautiful sunny day. There were no significant recent rains, so the trail was not muddy or slippery and the hike wasn't strenuous at all. I highly recommend this tour!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Renee,

Glad you enjoyed our Wailua River paddle and hike to the Sacred Falls with your daughter.

Yes it’s pretty classic and you gave a really nice review. Thanks for taking the time and until our trails cross.

Stay paddling and hiking.

Aloha,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2019/05/02

Even with the rain it was a blast... wear proper shoes they will get muddy!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Nicole,

Without rain you could not have rainbows.

Thanks for warning people about shoes.

Until our trails meet again.

Thanks for taking the time.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Kayak and Hike

Reviewed by: Tena, 2019/04/19

We very much enjoyed the kayak and hike to Sacred Falls! Our guide Dustin was outstanding! He shared his knowledge of the area and kept us entertained with his jokes throughout the tour. The hike is muddy so wear shoes you don’t mind getting wet and dirty.
We would definitely do this activity again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Tena,

Dustin is on a roll. One out of every 3 honorable mentions this month, has Dustin's name affixed.

That said all our guides I can humbly say, "Do an outstanding job!".

Thanks for warning others about the property shoes to wear.

Stay paddling and hiking.

Thanks again for sharing.

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time

Reviewed by: Ron Z, 2019/03/31

This was a great time. This was our first time in kayak and we did awesome as our guide said. The hike to the falls was muddy but well worth it. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a little adventure.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks Ron for a nice review. Summer "dryness" has arrived and the trail is a wee bit less muddy. Thanks for warning folks about the mud.
Stay paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Part if our trip!

Reviewed by: Pilar Abalos, 2019/02/27

We got to kayak down the Wailua River. Jay our guide was amazing. He told us about historical information about the beautiful island of Kauai and it’s history. Our hike to the waterfall was deep in the interior and he pointed out plants and trees and gave us history and background about them. He was patient and very friendly. Our swim in the falls was something on my bucket list and was definitely what I was expecting and more! Thank you to Jay and everyone at Kayak Kauai!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Pilar,

Glad to hear that not only that Jay did a great job guiding but that he help lighten "your bucket".

Keep filling up that bucket and thanks for letting others know what a good job Jay is doing; we are very
fortunate to have him on board.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Choice!

Reviewed by: Trish F, 2019/01/11

Wonderful experience! Our guide Dustin was amazing and shared interesting history of Hawaii. Well worth it! We'd do it again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Trish,

Dustin is a legend in his own mind...but then maybe, given your review, he is a legend. Thanks for sharing and confirming what we all knew at Kayak Kaua'i, i.e. that Dusting rocks.

Until our wakes or trail meet.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls

Reviewed by: Karen, 2018/11/06

We took the Sacred Falls kayak, hike and waterfall swim with Doc as our guide. He was awesome, providing great information about many of the plants we saw. He was better than our guide at one of the botanical gardens we visited. He also provided information on Hawaiian culture and history. The kayaking was at a very comfortable pace. My advice to future visitors would be to wear shoes you wouldn't mind throwing away. The mud was VERY deep but not too difficult to hike through. The waterfall was beautiful and a fun place to at least wash off your feet!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Karen,

Thanks for sharing your impressions and insights to our Wailua Sacred Falls.

Glad to hear that Doc is doing a good job. Very lucky to have a Doctor in our employ who brings a real love and knowledge of the environment we are celebrating>

Stay paddling and hiking.

Thanks again.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great weather, great guide, beautiful view

Reviewed by: Mylène, 2018/11/05

The kayak ride down the river was beautiful and relaxing. The waterfall was beautiful, and worth the hike! However the trail is very muddy and we weren't expecting that, and therefore ruined our good pair of running shoes. It is worth it, but do bring a good pair of shoes (you'll need them!) but that you don't mind getting wet and dirtying forever.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Mylene,

Thanks for nice review.

Yes...we usually recommend some "beater tennis shoes" or sports sandals for hike to the waterfall.

Thanks for sharing and keep on paddling and hiking.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Absolutely amazing! Exotic hike/waterfall swim checked off bucket list!

Reviewed by: Ashley , 2018/10/04

Our leader, “T” was awesome. He had so many cool stories, and was a local that knew it all. He did the whole hike barefoot, which I could have never done!!
Beautiful adventure. Well worth the money.

Reply from activity provider

Mr T...has a lot of "sole"...that is why he can amble in bare feet.
T is classic and allot of fun. A real pleasure to work with. Glad to hear
that he is sharing his aloha in the field. Thanks for sharing.

A hui hou,
Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Isaiah & Alyssa Webb, 2018/09/25

Loved the tour guides - justice was awesome! Gave us a lot of island knowledge and had so much fun along the way! Definitely do this tour before leaving the island!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Isaiah,

Glad to hear you had a good time on our Sacred Falls paddle and hike.

Justice is training with us and is keen on becoming a guide.

I am pleased to hear that he is an upcoming guide.

Keep paddling and thanks for the kind review.

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing. Short kayak to trail and then hiked to waterfall. Everyone should do.

Reviewed by: Ericka Supplee, 2018/09/10

No 2 waterfalls are the same. Very peaceful hike to falls and breathtaking view.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your review. Always have loved the Hawaiian word for waterfall: "wail lele" which is defined as "jumping waters". Come back and enjoy our other snorkel and paddling tours. A hui hou.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Go!

Reviewed by: Nathan from LA, 2018/07/29

This was one of the highlights of our trip, like the title say... Go! It was beautiful, challenging (slippery on a sunny day - potentially dangerous if you aren’t wearing proper shoes for the hike portion) and exhilarating. Our guide Tyler was a wealth of information and kept everyone relaxed through a new experience.

  • My wife and I in the pool at the base of the falls.

Reply from activity provider

Nathan....thanks for sharing. Come back and enjoy our other tours and guides. Retain those Kaua'i memories. Thanks again. Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Sjewkes , 2018/06/16

This was a great way to really see Kauai by water and land. The waterfall was worth the hike. Remember to wear really good shoes for the hike as you will cross over some fast moving water. My shoes kept slipping off. Overall, a great activity.

Reply from activity provider

Thanks for your review. Always have loved the Hawaiian word for waterfall: "wail lele" which is defined as "jumping waters". Come back and enjoy our other snorkel and paddling tours. And yes...aqua shoes or sturdy tennis shoes is a must. A hui hou and thanks again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kayak only tour

Reviewed by: Christi F. , 2018/05/14

Due to the flooding on Kauai we couldn't do the full tour. The tour company called and asked if we wanted to still do just the kayak tour for a lower price, which we did. T our guide was great and we made the best of the modified tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do adventure!

Reviewed by: WA State travelers, 2018/03/11

We took the first group out at 7:45am,was a perfect trip and not over crowded. Our tour guide was Phil, he was terrific -very knowledgeable and a ton of fun. My husband and I had a great time and would recommend this for anyone wanting a little adventure. The kayaking was nice and about two miles to your hiking spot-less waterway traffic going in- coming out was getting busy- would suggest booking the early group. The hike was muddy-go barefoot or wear sturdy shoes you don't mind getting wet and muddy, a bit slippery and challenging but fun. The waterfall is beautiful (water was a bit chilly) but worth getting in it. Lunch was perfect, not too much and very yummy. Definitely a must do when visiting the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEST DAY EVER!!!!!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2018/01/27

This was by far the best day of our week. The kids loved it! The kayak trip on the river was amazing, nice and relaxing, beautiful scenery. Advice- have one experienced kayak-er for the 2 person kayak. The hike through the forest was so cool, it was exactly what we had imagined. We were filled with history and information along our hike which was really inviting! Once we got to the falls, delightful! Although the water was cold, it was the neatest things we had experienced! The lunch, the surroundings, the tour guide, all amazing! Don't second guess, Just do it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

very fun

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2018/01/23

This was an amazing experience. it was so pretty and the hike was fun. would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Be very careful!

Reviewed by: Annie S., 2018/01/21

The waterfall destination is spectacular, our guide, Web, was very good - and barefoot!. Well-fitting hiking or sturdy aqua shoes are a must for the average hiker. The kayak trip is easy in a wide river. The hike is often along narrow pathways along a dropoff area with no barriers. The ground is very muddy, uneven and you're stepping between roots of trees much of the time. Good foot placement, patience and balance are requirements. When we arrived at the falls, a thunderstorm dumped a lot of rain decreasing the time at the falls and created an extremely wet and muddy return trip on the path back to the kayaks. Puddle depths were unknown leading to many slips and falls and very slow and slippery going. While no one was hurt in our group of 12, I'd advise this trip only for the very adventurous, and very careful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience and Workout!

Reviewed by: Sharilynn , 2017/12/21

There are some amazing views and creatures to see. The guide was awesome. We took two kids in the front of our Kayaks (which means we did all the rowing) therefore the groups with 2 adults per boat went way ahead of us. Don’t sign up for group activities if you expect the world to evolve around you. The group we went with seemed to rush through everything and we were trying to enjoy the trip and views.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour!!!

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2017/12/17

This activity was one of the best experiences in my life. The kayak and hike to the waterfall was beautiful! Our tour guy Dustin was amazing!!! He was very informative, enthusiastic and funny. He made the experience even better!! If you book the tour, you have to ask for him.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Favorite Adventure in Kaua'i

Reviewed by: Amanda Edwards, 2017/12/09

A MUST-DO....be prepared for mud...it's a rainforest!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]