Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Kayak Fun

Reviewed by: Bruce Cariker, 2017/09/20

We had a great time. The hiking was great, the waterfall was gorgeous, and the water was a great temperature. While reasonably experienced kayakers, we had a little trouble keeping up with the rest of the kayakers on the upriver return, due to being older and out of shape. Dillon (our guide) did a great job of making this an enjoyable adventure. Due to a camera mishap, the pics he took of us and shared are the only ones we have of this adventure. Thanks, Dillon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun

Reviewed by: Fun, 2017/09/09

It was very fun and i had fun cuz it was fun. It seems kind of funny cuz it was so fun. Our kayak weighed a ton but it was still fun. And we went hiking. the end

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Adventure

Reviewed by: Danielle, 2017/07/03

The Sacred Falls Adventure was just perfect for my husband and me. The sites were beautiful! Our tour guide was informative about plants and birds on the way to the waterfall and made our adventure more special!




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Steve Megyese, 2017/06/22

Our tour guide was wonderful. He was very knowledgeable and helpful!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Would not recommend for families with children

Reviewed by: Anonymous , 2017/06/03

I took this tour with my 8 year old and I wouldn't call this the highlight of our trip. I consider both of us in fairly good shape, and kayaking up Wailua was still quite challenging, especially with the wind. The tour guide seemed to be in a hurry so it added to the stress. The hiking part was quite difficult with rocks, roots, steep climbs and descents. Here again, our tour guide rushed through the forest, not even waiting for some of the slower group members. The "scrumptious" advertised lunch was awful - a stale deli sandwich and a pre-packaged cookie. The waterfall was the only redeeming moment of this tour. All in all, unless you're an adventurous young couple in good shape, I would not recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai 1st Trip

Reviewed by: Brb, 2017/05/21

Thank you so much! Had a great time! The guide Philip was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Secret Waterfall Kayak, Hike, Swim

Reviewed by: Harriette, 2017/04/22

My boyfriend and I had a blast. It was so much fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2017/04/17

The kayaking part was nice, not too difficult. The hike was a nice hike, not quite a casual walk down a straight path but also not too difficult. I enjoyed having our guide Jesse there to explain things to us as we hiked, he was a good guide. He got stuck talking to just one individual of our group a few times and it was hard to hear what he was saying sometimes. The waterfall was nice, there were a lot of boulders in the water so be careful! Lots of other people from other tours on the same path made it a bit crowded.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Great Day

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2016/11/11

Had a great time with this activity. The kayaking was fun and leisurely; the hike a comfortable jaunt; the falls isolated and beautiful. Go early to reduce the number of visiting groups at the falls, and ask if you can have Jamie as your guide...he was really great. Not a tasking activity if the weather is moderate...if it's hot or wet, it could pose a different sort of adventure.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lono was the man!!!

Reviewed by: Megs, 2016/10/27

Such a wicked day which was enhanced by Lono and his approach to the group and how he chatted with us about all & sundry. He had such a vast knowledge of the land which was an added bonus :)
Would definitely recommend the tour.
The whole experience was wicked!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua river

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2016/08/09

Kayaking was easy. Hike was nice and the waterfall gorgeous the water was cold. The lunch provided was yummy. The guide was kind informative and patient.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua river

Reviewed by: Gforce, 2016/08/09

The guide was patient and made shure I was okay because of my asthma. Once we made it to the waterfall I was able to sit on the rocks relax eat lunch and enjoy the sound of the waterfall.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua river

Reviewed by: Lis, 2016/08/09

Had a great time with family raced back but we lost. Waterfall was pretty and lunch was filling. The guide was kind and informative.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome River and Waterfall Adventure!

Reviewed by: 3Dean, 2016/05/05

While this is rated Easy to Moderate, when it has been raining, it is much more Moderate than Easy! The rain brings mud and many in our group were slipping and sliding quite a bit! It is still a lot of fun and well worth the Moderate journey. The kayaking is smooth and the hike is exciting enough while still being safe if you watch your step. Brian was our guide and he was very helpful and had great stories for us. The meal was OK, but you are not going on this journey for the food. The waterfall is a great site to relax and spend time with the chickens. It's Kauai, so of course there are chickens! Would highly recommend this and I plan to go again when I next visit the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally Awesome

Reviewed by: Davis, 2016/03/29

This was one of the highlights of our trips. Being able to Kayak on a river and then being able to be under a waterfall. Definitely a rememberable experience. Would recommend this adventure to everybody. Best way to experience nature!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

not an easy trail,kayaking was smooth

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2016/03/26

We enjoyed this trip so much but I caution that the hike is a lot more rugged than I expected. Lots of rocky terrain to navigate, wear good footwear that can get wet.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Oahu Ohana, 2016/03/22

Had a great time with Brian as our guide. He was entertaining and provided a fun tour. I would highly recommend it. He made sure everyone had a wonderful, safe trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day kayaking and hiking to Secret Falls!

Reviewed by: lorely81, 2015/11/17

My husband and I had a great time on this excursion. We were the only ones signed up for our particular day and time so it ended up being a private tour which was a bonus. We had the morning tour (check-in at 7:45 am) which seemed a lot less crowded than the later tours. There were a lot more people hiking in on our way out. The activity was very scenic and not strenuous at all for us moderately in-shape people (my husband more so that me!). Jamie was an excellent guide. He was knowledgeable in the flora, fauna, and area, but also personable so we weren't talking shop the whole time. Lunch was also more than adequate: fresh pineapple, deli sandwich on a good roll with cheese, lettuce, tomato, mayo, mustard, a bag of chips, 2 Kauai cookies, a drink, and 2 bottles of water. Since we took a guided tour this time, the next time around we'd probably opt for renting kayaks on our own and making our way to Secret Falls without a guide. We definitely want to do this again with our children when they are a little older (at least 5). However, for first timers we highly recommend Kayak Kauai with Jamie as your guide! P.S. I would not recommend this tour for children younger than 5. It is very rocky, muddy and wet with lots of tree roots on the trail and by the waterfall. We saw another tour group with young children and several of them were crying because they fell on their way down to the waterfall. One small boy fell and hit his head on a rock, poor thing.






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun adventure

Reviewed by: Kirsten, 2015/11/07

This was a great combination of exercise and adventure. It was listed as easy/moderate which I would think would be appropriate for slightly older, non-athletic people, but it included wading through muddy rivers with slippery rocks and hauling up a couple of steep and narrow muddy paths. I kept thinking I was glad I was with my fit husband instead of my healthy mom...she would never have made it. The description also mentioned something about "air conditioned vans will take you back to your car". This never happened...you hike and kayak all the way back. Again, I LOVED it and wouldn't have wanted it any other way...I just thought the advertisement was way off of what the actual experience entailed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!!!!!!!!!! Totally worth it :)

Reviewed by: Ozzie, 2015/10/08

This is an adventure that everyone must go on. Our tour guide was informative, patient and hilarious! Being a first time kayaker, he took the time to get me comfortable paddling before heading out. The hike was great and the waterfall was breathtaking! So many things to see along the way, all of which our guide pointed out. I would highly recommend this to everyone who visits the island. Thanks for the great memories. Be back soon!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great kayak experience

Reviewed by: Carl S, 2015/08/16

Wonderful tour guide, knowledgable and hilarious. The workout was respectable, but offered great sights along the way that kept us interested, and an interesting hike through the Hawaiian woods. At the end the jump off a cliff into the river was tons of fun. I would definitely recommend this trip; a good mix of fun, beautiful sights, and physical exertion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Mike Elsken, 2015/07/28

I would have to say this place was the best !!!
They were very helpful and accommodated my wife's gluten free issue.
Cole
our tour guide was the best ,funny, patient and very informative.If we ever come back and do this again we will request him.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Conflicted ~ Good/Not So Good

Reviewed by: NorCal, 2015/07/07

We had 3 athletic families attend this trip with adults and teens. The kayaking was BEAUTIFUL on the way 'in' to the hike (current and wind assisting). The hike itself was a bust and we all like to hike. Our guide left us to our own devices for most of this trip and was of little guidance. Even wading through the water to the hike our guide took us the more difficult route. We know this because on our return to the kayaks a couple of us followed a different guides route across the river which was so much simpler and safer! The hike was muddy and slippery despite having good water/hiking shoes. We had adults/kids fall many times and one significant injury. Others had already slipped in this location yet our guide offered no help or alternative. In early July, unfortunately the waterfall yielded little water. The hike not worth the end result. We did enjoy the 'work out' aspect of the kayak trip back. It was beautiful but challenging going against the current if you aren't a regular kayaker.

At a minimum: I'd rate this a moderate adventure and challenging for individuals who aren't regularly very active.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun hike

Reviewed by: Mohamed, 2015/03/04

Felt a bit rushed through the whole trip, our guid stopped once for pic before reaching the water fall, very nice experience and had lots of fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Sherri & Tom Boehm, 2015/01/10

Great tour and guide! Justin, our guide, was fun, informative and very patient as we were first time kayaking. The scenery was beautiful and we would recommend this tour to everyone! Thanks again for this awesome experience!!!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Franziska, 2014/11/24

it was fun paddeling up the Wailua river and hiking to the waterfall. Very good instructions and guided tour. The guide showed us a lot of things and explained to us. It was awesome to swim in the warerfall pool but also pretty cold! Great tour - I recommend it to everyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2014/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, beautiful kayaking, hiking trip

Reviewed by: Susan Swanberg, 2014/10/31

Because we were off season my husband and I were the only ones that signed up for a kayaking tour - so we got a private tour with a guide. Our guide, Christian, was very friendly, familiar with the area and so helpful to have along. Being I had never kayaked before he went over safety features and the easiest way to get in and out of a kayak! The kayaking was easy (gorgeous views along the river), the hike was fun (mud up to my knees) the waterfall at the end was beautiful. It was a very successful trip and would very happily do it all again.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One of the best activities of our week on Kauai

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2014/10/11

My husband, 18-yr-old daughter,and 20-yr-old son completely enjoyed everything about this day adventure. I was unable to participate -- I have a bad knee and wear a brace, and it was recommended that it would be risky for me. Afterwards, my husband said that that was the right decision -- there's a bit of hard work in getting through the mud to the falls. The guide shared interesting local information throughout the day, it was beautiful, fun, active. would do it again. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: Chad, 2014/09/19

This was one of the highlights of our trip. Great tour!! Our guide Kelly was awesome. He felt a little embarrassed when he wiped out in the mud, but what a great time. A definite must do in Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Adventure

Reviewed by: NessaMarie, 2014/09/10

This tour was the highlight of our trip. My 13 year old son and I had an awesome time. Our tour guide Amos was very knowledgeable, friendly, and my son talked about Amos and the hike the whole ride home. We will definitely do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI