Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Sacred Falls Adventure - Wailua River Kayak, Hike & Waterfall Swim

Overall Rating

4.80 4.80 / 5

Reviews

132 reviews
Post a review

Great time!

Reviewed by: Megan , 2024/06/16

My husband and I, along with our 19 & 15 year old daughters, thoroughly enjoyed the Sacred Falls adventure. Kayaking up the river was peaceful and beautiful as the river is very calm. The hike was fun with some scrambling over rocks and roots and wading through streams. We enjoyed eating lunch by the waterfall before trekking back. Our guide, Izzy, was fantastic - super easy to be around, very encouraging, and she grave great beach/dining suggestions at the end. We loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2024/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/06/13

to escape into the woods of kauai was so much fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/02/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our guide, Justice was awesome!

Reviewed by: Horn Family, 2024/06/09

Our guide, Justice was awesome! A wealth of knowledge and so enjoyable.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Horn Family,

Justice is slowly getting quite a following with singles, couples and especially families.

Justice on his tour is fun, informative and safety conscious with patience as a spice.

Thanks for taking the time to share your Wailua River paddle and hike to the Sacred/Secret fall.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2024/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!

Reviewed by: Jackie , 2024/05/31

We had a fantastic time and our guide Izzie was awesome. The hike and the falls was so beautiful. We had a great time, this is a must do excursion!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Jackie,

Izzy wrote the guide book or should have. Your guide is the leader of the pack and she is a delight/fun to work with.

Thanks for taking the time to share and for the 5 stars and will share your kind words with the celebrity.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred Falls Tour 5/27

Reviewed by: CN, 2024/05/29

I loved this tour and would recommend it to anyone coming to Kauai for their 1st or 10th time! This tour is the perfect level of activity with the 2 mile kayak breezing by and the 1.5 mile hike not feeling very strenuous. Izzy was so kind and accommodating towards everyone in our group regardless of our fitness level. She made the tour feel more personalized, which was so special. The waterfall is absolutely beautiful, and words don't do justice to how refreshing the water feels. Izzy also provided our group some recommendations for Farmer's Markets and restaurants on the island, which I will keep in mind for myself and others' future trips!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha CN,

Izzy does it again and won you over.

Izzy remains the "Queen of the Wailua" with her tours that are fun and fact filled, while keeping you safe.

Thanks for the 5 stars and hope to see you back at the Sacred/Secret Falls.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2024/05/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience like been in paradise

Reviewed by: Haydee Harris-Valdez, 2024/05/05

It was a great tour, our guide was so informative and fun, I would recomend this tour 100%

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Haydee,

Thanks for taking the time to review and for recommending us.

After 40 years we still do not rest on our laurels.

We do have a great crew from the time you give us a call to when we get you out in the "great quiet".

Stay well and active.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Becky / John, 2024/04/11

We had the best day!!! From the beautiful weather, the calm kayak conditions, the lush hiking environment, the spectacular falls and our amazing guide Justice, we could not have had a better experience. Justice was incredibly friendly, super knowledgeable, funny (dad jokes lol), patient and an overall great guide who thoroughly enjoys what he does.
As novice kayakers, we had no issues but the river was very calm with very little wind.
As intermediate hikers we found the trail fairly easy to navigate as long as we were mindful on the rocks and roots. On the hike, you WILL get muddy and you WILL get wet crossing 4 streams and 1 river but it’s all worth it once you reach the breathtaking falls.
The lunch supplied by the tour was pretty good too as we picnicked at the falls.
Hiking shoes/sandals or running shoes are best. For anyone with mobility issues, they may find parts of the hike difficult.
We would highly recommend this tour as it was the highlight of our time on Kauai!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Becky/John,

Kudos….for a wonderful review that give folks a good idea of what to expect and what to bring.

We are fond of saying, "embrace the mud" and be ready for a fun, safe and informative outing with great guides such as Justice.

Thanks for taking the time to share.

Stay well and active and hope to see you back or on our other tours.

A hui hou,

Micco

PS Thanks for sharing this same review on Trip Advisor.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rising river cancelled half the trip but not half the cost.

Reviewed by: Reid Johnson, 2024/04/07

The guide was excellent, the river and surroundings were breathtaking. Unfortunately, high winds and a rising river stopped our paddles without ever seeing the falls. Weather is unpredictable, but since we paddled twice as hard against the winds, it was exhausting. Thought there might be a discount of some kind since our 4 hr. tour only lasted 2 1/2. Better luck next time, I guess. Would do it again with better conditions.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Reid,

Man proposes and the the gods dispose!

All our guides are excellent and do a great job in not only sharing the cultural and natural history of the area, but most important keeping you safe in questionable weather.

We do offer a discount when weather conspires and abbreviates a tour. Veltra should be extending a discount; if not, you know how to reach us.

Stay well and look forward to your return.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience/ money value

Reviewed by: KW, 2024/04/06

Had awesome guides, great group we were paired with. Highly recommend for those that like adventure. Do not recommend for elderly or young children

Reply from activity provider

Aloha KW,

For the active senior and don't take children under 6.

Are guides are truly awesome as you discovered and do a great job imparting the natural and cultural history of the area, while keep you safe and sound.

Thanks for the 5 stars and looking forward to seeing you on our other tours, or this one, …yet again.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Unforgettable Adventure!!!

Reviewed by: Lana , 2024/04/01

We were so fortunate to have our guide all to ourselves. He was so informative, patient, and watchful to make sure we had the best experience. The kayaking was challenging but Fun!!, The Hike to the waterfall was also challenging!! Never crossed a small river hanging on to a rope!!! It was Amazing!!!! You haven't really lived until you have lived this Adventure!! 100% worth every minute and every penny!! This was a birthday present for our son and it wound up being a present for all of us.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lana,

Yep a rope is always nice especially when crossing a thigh high river.

Glad you enjoyed the guide and the personal touch and we are looking forward to seeing you back.

Thanks for taking the time to share.

Stay well and active.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Hike!

Reviewed by: Brandon, 2024/03/14

Had a great time, and our tour guide was great. Calm water during the kayak, easy hike, and refreshing swim at the Secret Falls.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Brandon,

Since you did not mention a particular guide, will assume you are extolling all our guides.

Glad you enjoyed the river calm and the easy hike.

A swim in the pool below the falls is always electric.

Thanks for sharing.

Stay active and healthy.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Sara, 2024/03/02

Super impressed! Our guides were the BEST! We learned so much and got to see and take in, feel so much beauty all while being physically active. The value of it all was so worth it. This adventure was epic, I will never forget it!! Thank you!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Sara,

Thanks for helping us celebrate 40 years at the "helm"

All our tours, from ocean to rivers often combine some lower and upper body exercise.

And our guides truly love what they do and love sharing their particular brand of aloha.

Stay well and active and retain those memories.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/01/28

Really phenomenal day, the falls were like no other, how I wish to be back in Kauai!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kara,

Phenomenal is good enough for us all at Kayak Kaua’i.

We truly try to help folks have a safe and memorable time.

We are getting a kayak ready for your return.

Thanks for caring to share.

Stay well and active.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Time & Awesome Guide

Reviewed by: Russell & Maddison, 2024/01/21

The adventure starts with kayaking out of the marina and up the river. The current is very slow, so you have plenty of photo opportunities and chances to enjoy the views. Wear a hat and sunscreen, you don't have shade for much of this portion.
Next is a hike through the rainforest. 95% of the hike is easy. There are a few river crossings, muddy inclines, and slippery/uneven footings. The hike is definitely not grueling, and I never felt tired. But if someone had mobility or balance issues, they would struggle at a few spots. I'd take my kids, but not my grandma.
Third is lunch at the waterfall. It's an uneven/rocky area, but our lunch was good. The views here are amazing. The pool of water is VERY cold. It's shallow enough to walk all the way under the waterfall.
You get about an hour at the waterfall. Then you hike and kayak back to where you started.
Our guide was Justice. He was very knowledgeable about the plants, wildlife, and history of the area. He had lots of interesting stories. The trip was enjoyable & he definitely added to the fun. Justice will tell you that "Hawaii is magic" and after this vacation we might agree.
When we eventually make it back to Kauai, visiting the waterfall will surely be on the list of activities.

Reply from activity provider

Wow Russell and/or Maddison,

One of you should write a guide book. Do you want to start writing copy for us? (Smiling face)

A very,,,,very good description of what is involved and might say the the excellence of our guides such as Justice.

Thanks for taking the time…it’s a beautiful world out there.

Stay well and active.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paddle & Hike

Reviewed by: Conny, 2023/10/31

We had a very good time paddling and hiking although the place was very crowdy. Our tourguide had everything under control.
And now I know what people mean when they say the tour is a muddy mess after heavy rain. But this is part of the game and as our tourguide said: „you are going to be wet and muddy anyway“

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Conny,

Thanks for giving us 4 stars even though there was mud.

That said, more mud, means the waterfall will be flowing stronger and impressive.

Glad you enjoyed.

Stay active and well.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guides

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic tour-GREAT tour guide!

Reviewed by: Wilson Family, 2023/07/09

The kayak/hiking/waterfall tour was beautiful. Exactly what we were looking for. Tour guide Harrison was fantastic, very knowledgeable about the local flora/fauna, history. Harrison was cool with letting our 10 year old daughter double kayak with him (she didn’t want to ride with mom and dad!). Lunch sandwiches were very yummy. Tour guide even provided a chilled pineapple after the tour. Harrison made sure we all had transportation after the tour and actually went out of his way to drop us off at the beach across the highway in his own personal vehicle. 100% recommend and would use again!! Also-prepare to get muddy LOL

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Wilson O'hana,

Harrison does it again, i.e. provides a classic effort, as he does on all his tours.

We are the only tour company on the Wailua that provides pretty good lunches; my favorite is the veggie.

Will share your kind words with Harrison…slowly; don't want it to go to his head.

Thanks for sharing and warning folks about the mud.

A hui hou,

Micco

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Kauai Adventure

Reviewed by: Gregg M, 2023/06/29

If you are down for a decent workout plus an absolutely exceptional experience go on this excursion.

The kayak trip is breathtaking. You are paddling along more or less the Kauai jungle. Once you complete your paddle up it’s off to a beginner level hike.

The hike consists of a couple of water crossings and then being immersed in open cane like fields and then into dense rain forest. Then you begin to get peaks of the waterfall ahead.

The arrival at the waterfall is phenomenal. For us it was our first time to a Hawaiian waterfall and all the hype and what you expect to experience, well, it’s true! Bask in the beauty of the falls, go enjoy the water and feel it crashing about you, you won’t be disappointed. It was a bit chilly at first but once in it’s comfortable.

This is where you get lunch, the sandwiches were great, the cookies, those were delicious!

Once you get to spend the 45 or so minutes at the falls it’s time for the hike back. Take in the scenery, it’s truly breathtaking.

Once back at the kayaks it’s time for the 2 mile paddle back to the marina. Here’s our advice on the paddle, go easy heading out to save your energy for the paddle back. It seems there is always a head wind for the return trip, we’ve heard this from friends who did it in the Spring and we did it late June. Just expect a harder return paddle then out.

Our guide was Steve, so I can’t speak for the other guides. But he was a top notch guide. Shared great info on what we were seeing, the horticultural significance of the area and some Kauai history, you are traveling through where the Hawaiian Kings/Queens lived.

Couple of tips, if you are a mosquito attraction like my wife, bring some bug spray. Absolutely make sure you have a refillable water container, it’s hot and you are working. And, go do this excursion, hands down the most fun thing we’ve done on the islands.

Reply from activity provider

Wow Gregg…you should become a professional review generator. Let me know if you ever need a job.

Seriously thanks for generating an excellent review that give potential clients a real sense of what is involved.

Having Steve as the guide is just icing on the cake on the journey to the falls and yes he is definitely "top notch".

Thanks taking the time.

Stay well and active.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The highlight of my trip!

Reviewed by: Kenisha & Chris, 2023/05/20

This excursion was amazing. I enjoyed every part of it. The kayaking was a serene adventure, the hiking was fun and the waterfall was a sight to behold. Our tour guide was awesome and engaging. I definitely recommend this tour.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kenisha and/or Chris,

Amazing is good enough for me. How can we do better?

Thanks for the kudos.

Hope to see you back again for more water falls and paddles.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really enjoyable morning.

Reviewed by: LammyP, 2023/05/20

We did the 7:30am tour and am glad we got out before it got too busy on the trail. I had never kayaked before but our guide, Garrett or "G" was able to answer any questions I had and I was quickly put at ease.
The kayaking up to the trail was good and the river not too busy. The trail was around a mile or so. We knew from the pictures that there's a crossing over water but we weren't aware there were about 4 each way and that one was about hip height. It was fine, we were just taken aback a bit.
Some of the trail was muddy, some was boarded walkways and some was literally clambering over jagged rocks. Wouldn't be suitable for anyone with mobility issues!
We only had around 40 minutes at the sacred falls, which was a shame. A little longer would've been better.
A highlight was meeting a little shama thrush that G had befriended.
The trail back seemed muddier due to the amount of folk on the trail.
The kayak back was a little harder as we were going against the flow of the river, but overall it was an incredible experience.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lammy,

You should write a guide book. Great review and gives potential clients an idea of what to expect on the river and trail.

We ...you are lucky to have Garrick sharing his particular brand of aloha. Garrett is great water man with a real handle on the natural and cultural history of the area, while keeping it all safe and fun.

We try to spend an hour by the falls, but that is always dependent on group and weather dynamics.

Your only error is paddling back you are actually paddling with the slow current, but it is paddling into the wind that can at time test your mettle.

Stay well and active and thanks for taking the time to share.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Activity on the Kauai!

Reviewed by: Darrin, 2023/04/14

I was excited to experience the natural beauty of Kauai by kayak and hike. What I wasn't expecting was to learn so much about the history and culture of the Wailua Valley, Wailua River, and Sacred Waterfalls. Our entire group felt like the tour was more a group of friends than a standard follow the leader tour. This was in no small part due to our fantastic tour guide, Izzy. I'd recommend asking for her.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Darrin,

We love our clients and I personally married one.

Izzy does a particularly good job of guiding singles and families alike and making them all feel part of an extended family while at the same time keeping you safe without loosing the sense of fun.

Leaving you "thoughtful" with the history and culture of the area is considered as important as any facet of our tours.

Thanks for you kind words and will make sure to share with Izzy.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime opportunity

Reviewed by: Joe Hartzell, 2023/03/16

This experience is well worth the time and effort. Sacred falls is beautiful and swimming under the falls is a once in a lifetime opportunity that should not be missed. Bring along some good wet shoes and be prepared for a fun kayak trip down the river, a beautiful hike to the falls and then the big payoff at the end. Steve did a great job, and this comes highly recommended.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Joe,

I am usually on top of our reviews, but yours fell through the cracks.

Anyway, better late than never to thank you for taking the time to share and give us a five star. 39 years later and we strive to keep improving and guides like Steve make the difference.

Thanks again…stay active and well.

Micco/Head Guide

…and yes bring good aqua shoes that you can afford to get muddy.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sacred falls adventure

Reviewed by: Tenille , 2023/03/01

We had a great tour, and knowledgeable tour guide, Steve. The kayak and hike were beautiful and the water fall was sooo worth it! We did end up going ahead of our group when we were on our way back as we did have some slower paced people. But we found our way back easy. Would definitely go again!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Tenille,

Will let Steve know that you enjoyed the tour.

What is nice about our Wailua Rive tour to the falls is that by the time you might get tired paddling, there is the trail to the falls. Nice combination of paddling and hiking.

With the recent rains.the waterfall has been really gushing. Great picture.

Thank you for taking the time to share.

Until then....keep chasing waterfalls.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved this adventure.

Reviewed by: Chris, 2023/01/27

This was a great tour that I am really happy that I went on. Harrison was our guide and was informative and a super nice guy. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to combine kayaking and hiking. The trail to get to the falls was a bit muddy but not too bad. The falls are very impressive. Lots of fun!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Chris,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with Harrison. Harrison continues be outstanding and we are all lucky
to have him share his “aloha”.

Stay well and active.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2023/01/14

So glad we were able to do this! Would highly recommend! Harrison, our tour guide was awesome and made the tour that much better. He had a bunch of fun and interesting information that taught us about the island.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Andrew,

Thanks for the 5 stars. We are so lucky to have Harrison on board and is one of our top guides.

Glad you enjoyed his “aloha” and hope to see you back on our island.

Meanwhile….try to remember all you learned from Harrison.

A hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Harrison was awesome!

Reviewed by: Donnie and Susan, 2023/01/14

Extremely enjoyable trip! Harrison was very knowledgeable, outgoing, and extra attentive to everyone's needs. He gave off a vibe that he loves what he's doing and is "living the life"! Would definitely do this trip again.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Donnie and Susan,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know that Harrison continues to excel and give 100%. Harrison is a keeper and he allows us all to “live the life”; hope you both continue as well.

Thanks and a hui hou,

Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day filled with fun

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/12/21

Lots to do on this one hike alone, the kayak start was awesome, into the gorgeous waterfall

Reply from activity provider

Melé Kalikimaka Kara, Thanks for the 5 stars. The tour to the falls, as you learned was a nice combo of upper body and lower body exercise; when your arms are about to give out from kayaking…there is the trail to the fall. Happy Holidays. Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome day!

Reviewed by: Kristen , 2022/11/19

Great way to spent the day! Perfect for couples, everyone uses a double kayak. The included lunch was nice at the waterfall. Easy hike after the kayak route to the waterfall, any type of shoes or no shoes are doable. Our tour guide Izzy was super friendly and knowledgeable. Thank you !!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Kristen, Thanks for the 5 stars and for taking the time to share. I agree with all that you said, including that Izzy is great, but some sort of footwear is advisable. We have one seasoned guide that negotiates the rocky often slippery trail shoe less, but again we recommend some sort of aqua shoes or beater tennis shoes. Keep chasing waterfalls. Happy Holidays. Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth the activity!

Reviewed by: Rebecca W, 2022/09/28

Even with the kayak and hiking involved, the time spent at the falls was wonderul.
Logan was a great guide who shared his learned knowledge of the island and past customs with us.
Highly recommend.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Rebecca,

Logan always mixes a good time while ensuring safety and leaving you "thoughtful" of all thins Hawaii/Kaua'i.

Thanks for your kind words: will share them with Logan.

Stay paddling and active.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

worth the time and effort!

Reviewed by: Carolyn, 2022/09/24

First, our Guide "G" was fantastic! He made all the difference with his knowledge of Kauai history, and educating us all along the hike and kayaking portion of the trip. Would recommend the earliest departure time of 7:45 if you don't want a lot of crowds both on the water and at the falls. As we were leaving around 11am to hike back to the kayaks, the falls were very crowded and busy, as was trail and the river on our return. Overall, worth the little effort it takes to see this very pretty part of Kauai.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Carolyn, Or was it Mr T, who was your guide. Regardless, with all confidence I can tell you that all our guides on all our tours, keep it fun, safe and thoughtful. I love the morning departures but the after noon is a nice way to end the evening. Anyway, appreciate the 5 stars and that we are doing a good job. Your patronage makes it possible to work and share with others this very pretty part of Kaua'i. Stay active and well. Micco/Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it

Reviewed by: Dalt, 2022/08/31

T was great and we loved it! Really enjoyed ourselves!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Dalt,

That's is what it's about, ...a little exercise and enjoyment.

Thanks and stay active.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kauai Categories