John's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here


Reviews by John
Last review on 2019/07/26
# of Reviews: 4

Review of kayak and hike

Posted on: 2019/07/26

Overall I had fun. The trip is basically kayak for 2 miles, hike for 1 mile, visit a 100' water fall, and then hike back for 1 mile and then kayak for 2 miles. Since I like physical activity, this trip worked well for me.

Kayaking requires some physical work, and since there are 2 people per kayak, at last one should be in good physical shape.

Hiking was through lots of mud. You will cross streams, ankle deep mud, and will get dirty. Best to wear sandals since sneakers will be ruined. My youngest son loved this part (getting dirty is always fun).

Reply from activity provider

Aloha John,

Thanks for taking the time and for your nice and constructive review on what to expect and what to bring.

If you don't like to paddle and hike this could be wrong tour for some.

Keep active...and thanks again.

A hui hou,

Micco
Head Guide.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Rainbow during kayak

  • Waterfall. There is a pool at the bottom.


Swim with Dolphins and Snorkel Review

Posted on: 2019/07/26

Overall this was not one of the better snorkel experiences. The boat was too crowded, with 61 snorkelers. The right size for the boat should have been about 40. Especially crowded at the start where people were not allowed on the top deck when leaving port.

The crew try their best to provide a good time. They are energetic and enthusiastic.

Food option was another issue. Basically you get either a cheeseburger or veggie cheeseburger. No other choices. I hate cheese. Since food is pre-made, there is no opportunity for a simple hamburger. Drinks are either water or watered down lemonade, served in tiny cups. Should have had more variety and larger cups. You also can get a bag of chips.

Swimming with the dolphin is basically everyone jump in the water, look down to see a couple dolphins swim by, and then jump right back in the boat.

Snorkeling was not rushed, but the site did not have many fish or varieties of fish.

Water slide was fun. Much more fun than snorkeling.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha

I am sorry that conditions were less than ideal on your tour.

Our boat is actually certified for 97 passengers. We will talk to our staff about openinig up the top deck from the begining. Usually for larger groups we do allow that. There should be room for everyone to move around comfortably from the onset.

We have a no cheese option for both the beef and veggie burger. We are constantly trying to improve our program. We actually just got our Liquor License and have been discussing different beverage options.

The swim with the dolphins and snorkeling vary based on conditions and their behavior. Ideally we like to have longer, closer views of the animals in their natural enviornment. Usually we see turtles and a variety of fish. Occassionally other cool sea life like eels, rays and even monk seals.

We are glad you enjoyed the slide. And hope you can come back with us sometime so we an make the experience and memory better for you.

Kind regards

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
  • Dolphins as they swam by. Only saw 2 sets of 3 dolphins.


Two Tank Intro Dive Review

Posted on: 2019/07/26

Waikiki Dive Center is a small dive shop that works with both beginners and experienced divers. The boat is small (no bathroom). We had 7 divers on the boat, including instructors. Water is provided, but you must bring your own food.

Since this was my sixth time diving (not certified), they did a quick review of skills with me, but I did not need much instruction. My dive instructor pointed out some interesting sea creatures including a small octopus (too fast for me to get a picture). Lots or turtles at this dive site.

Only down side was the second dive was at the same site, but we did explore more on the 2nd dive.

I am considering going back there to get certified.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Review of ClimbWorks 8 zip line experience

Posted on: 2019/07/26

Good zip line experience with a mix of short and long zip line runs. Was able to go up side down on the majority of the zip lines, although they prefer to save "tricks" for the last 2 zip lines as a surprise.

All lines are dual zip - so you go two at a time. Takes about 2 1/2 hours with 11 people in the group. Guides were fun, helpful, and took some good pictures (separate charge to buy their pictures). They encourage you to take your own pictures too.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | | Next