Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Luau Kalamaku - Kauai Polynesian Show with Hula & Fire Dancers

Overall Rating

4.74 4.74 / 5

Reviews

35 reviews
Post a review

Best event on my Kauai trip!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2018/09/05

I enjoyed the whole experience immensely! The food was great and the entertainment was fantastic! What I loved the most was that there was constantly something going on, I was never bored waiting for the next tick of the clock to happen, unlike a different luau we went to later during our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show

Reviewed by: Neil, 2018/06/21

Outstanding show. Staff was great. Good food variety

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun evening!

Reviewed by: Mike and Melinda, 2018/04/07

Never ending tropical drinks, shopping pre-show, great dinner buffet and really nice show! What more can you ask for? The area is covered as well in case it rains. This was a fun evening! The show production is top notch. They fit a lot of people into the building but to their credit, it doesn’t feel like it. Don’t let them trick you into thinking the poi is good though! ;)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Show and Hawaiian Story ever told! AAAA

Reviewed by: MariaR from Colorado, 2017/11/25

It is so worth paying to have them pick you up and our driver was both informative and funny. I would pass on the train ride. Too many kids were in our car and we couldn't hear the tour. Or get closer to the conductor. The food was plentiful and many buffets were available. The drinks for Muai Tais or Blue Hawaiians were all inclusive and if you like to drink, there was no maximum. The show was the spotlight of this Luau. The pictures are just a brief image or example of the spectacular event that draws you into the history of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Happy

Reviewed by: Jonathan, 2017/08/22

We had a good time, but if there was one thing I would change would be the ending. It felt like the beginning it had a lot of excitement but the end it all went down. Great customer service by the way except from one of the venders selling in graved rocks.

  • Fun

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great show.

Reviewed by: Crystal, 2017/08/17

The food was alright, but the show was amazing! A very nice facility and staff. The train ride was fun and informative. The show was the best part of the night though.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau

Reviewed by: NLKTravel, 2016/11/19

Pros: I added the optional transfer for $12pp and it was nice to have someone else drive since drinks were included. This was a large tour bus with plenty of room. When you arrive, you are greeted with a flower lei. Some local venders were selling hand made items, spices, photos, and nuts. The grounds are well kept with a flower lei greeting. The food was very good and you could go back for seconds. The dancers and show was one of the best I have seen.

Cons: If you drive yourself, arrive early so you can find parking. Paying for the "Plantation Owner's Evening" I thought we should have been sitting closer and I didn't feel like I was being treated like an "Owner". See the photo I attached of how far back we were from the show. For some reason, our bartender was not having a good day and was basically being grumpy. I hope his attitude changed later.

  • View from table 126, Plantation Owner's Evening

Reply from activity provider

Warm Aloha ,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. Your feedback has been shared with the activity provider to better serve future guests.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very professional job

Reviewed by: scott, 2016/08/10

This is a busy, but very well organised event - We had the full package - coach transfer, train ride, meal and show. The food was of very high quality and as a vegan I was very pleasantly surprised by the variety of veggie food. (There is plenty for the meat eaters too!). The show good too - something for everyone I reckon.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well organised and tasty food.

Reviewed by: Laura, 2015/05/20

Had to wait for 25 minutes on arrival in a queue to 'check in', once inside we didn't realise how big the area was. Markets, no lines at the bar, the buffet was well organised and entertainment was good. Not an intimate affair, hundreds of people but well worth the price.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku at Kilohana Plantation

Reviewed by: George Carr, 2015/03/10

The train ride was very nice. Enjoyed seeing the plantation. The show was wonderful. The story behind the show was much better that the traditional Luau show of various dancers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome and Passionate

Reviewed by: Kat and Tom, 2015/02/07

This was exciting and passionate! Well choreographed and emotion filled. The Dancers are sexy and in great shape, and very much into their roles! The history is that of many pioneers and reveals all the sorrow and exhilaration of coming to a new land! Hawaii is no different than America and the West, or of Europe and its colonization. The story is fiery in its presentation with several ovations prompted by the force of the dancers, well worth seeing. And the food is excellent. The whole is well organized and amazing!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/02/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau Ever

Reviewed by: KathyS, 2014/05/21

This luau was beyond our expectations. We went for the gold seating (worth it). We had a table right up front. Upon entering we were able to learn a few hula moves with the poi balls and do some shopping with local vendors. Open bar! All you could drink all through dinner. Hula dancers before and during dinner. Group hula lesson - fun! Buffet food was good - dessert delicious. Show after dinner was spectacular!! We also went to the plantation a couple of hours before the luau started to enjoy a tour of the old plantation house (with shops) and did some run tasting. Definitely worth the money. I would highly recommend this event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Plantation Owners Dinner

Reviewed by: Brandon and Kelly, 2013/10/30

What a great way to experience the Hawaiian culture! We very much enjoyed our dinner as well as the Luau performance after dinner. The dancers were fantastic and we were thoroughly entertained! We would highly recommend the plantation owners dinner for couples as it is a very romantic setting with a staff that made us feel very welcome and appreciated!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

luau kalamaku

Reviewed by: Lori, 2013/09/25

Had a wonderful time. Great show. Would go back again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time

Reviewed by: Lee Hanley, 2013/06/29

Great, food, drinks and entertainment. What more can I say. Well worth going to for an evening of fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Evening

Reviewed by: Dawn H., 2013/05/27

The service, food and show was great. We enjoyed dinner at Gaylord's.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luau Kalamaku/Plantation Owner's Evening

Reviewed by: Georgia Larry Kopka, 2013/04/29

The dinner at Gaylord's was wonderful. Later we were greeted by our torch carriers, who were friendly and informative. Pulu (Sean) was especially attentive and made us feel welcome. The very best part of the evening was the show and the story they told. It gave us a true feeling of 'being there' as the Polynesean's made their journey to Hawai'i. This was truly a gift from the actors & dancers in the show.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/04/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

had a great time

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/14

Everything here was very nice, the planatation was gorgeous and the entertainment fanastic. Would definitely recomend to anyone wanted a luau experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]