(All Reviews) Hilo (Things to do near your resort), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

All Reviews for Hilo in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.65 4.65 / 5

Reviews

513 reviews

Blue Hawaiian Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight [Open Now]

Blue Hawaiian Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight - July

Reviewed by: S. Rowland, 2021/07/15

Great pilot and staff - very warm and made us feel comfortable for our first helicopter ride. Loved all the sites, learning about the Island and seeing the transitions of the landscapes - so beautiful. We would definitely recommend Blue Hawaiian!

A couple thoughts:
- Can you add another bathroom to have the lines more manageable?
- You mentioned in the notes it can get chilly on the helicopter (thus I thought there might be open windows!). In fact I found it a little too warm. I relaxed and got comfortable, but found that info slightly misleading.

Thanks,
S. Rowland

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Zipline Tours - Kolekole Falls Big island Zipline Adventure [Open Now]

Great value!

Reviewed by: Abby, 2021/07/06

This is a fantastic zipline tour that is very well priced (with all the research I did on other tours, this offered the most zip lining for a better price!). The experience itself is so fun and the guides teach you about local plants and culture along the way, also with a sense of humor! Very fun trip and so cool to zipline over a waterfall.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicopters - Volcano, Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo [Open Now]

The tour is not 60 minutes - closer to 50 minutes.

Reviewed by: Debbie M, 2021/06/28

We enjoyed the trip and thought we'd see at least one waterfall in addition to the volcanoes. After paying $670 for my husband and I, we were really put off by the "begging" for a tip for the pilot - the staff told us thee time about how to tip the pilot - felt it was really cheesy. We always tip and don't need to be told three times. Also, we asked about validating parking and were told absolutely not.
On the positive side, the pilot was very knowledgeable, took us over volcanoes and had was very skilled - we felt safe.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure [Open Now]

Amazing and Fun

Reviewed by: Dusty mosier, 2021/05/28

Me and my husband had a great time on the ziplines, the lead people were amazing and fun, the scenery was breathtaking as you got to speed over waterfalls and such. I would definitely do this again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Stellar Explorer & Daytime Solar Viewing Tour [Open Now]

Amazing experience and knowledgable guide

Reviewed by: Wade, 2021/03/27

Our family had a ton of fun gazing at the stars. Our guide Krystal was amazing. Her background in astronomy provided a unique experience. She provided so much information about Hawaii, the importance of the stars for Hawaiian navagation, and any other science questions our family had.

  • Moon shot

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Stellar Explorer & Daytime Solar Viewing Tour [Open Now]

Mauna kea star gazing

Reviewed by: Carol, 2021/01/15

It was a unique experience. Rich, our tour guide was very informative. We learned a lot about the history of the island of Hawaii as he drove us to different must see locations like the cave, water falls, historic sites. We also learned about plants, volcanoes, fissures, and stars in a day! We saw nebula, galaxies, a couple of satellites, shooting stars and learned about so many other stars in our constellation! It was very educational! Really appreciated it a lot!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/01/12
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

天候も良かったせいかリムジンに乗っているようでした!

Reviewed by: yokky, 2020/03/14

今回で8回目のハワイ島でしたが、ヘリツアーによりハワイ島全容を観ることができて新しい発見がありました!

Comments from activity operators

yokky様

この度は体験談をご投稿いただきありがとうございます。

8回目のハワイ島もお天気に恵まれ、ヘリコプター遊覧をお楽しみいただけたとのこと、大変うれしく思います。
滝への着陸も弊社おすすめのオプションとなっております。
今のハワイ島が感じられる素敵なお写真もご投稿いただきありがとうございます。

またのご利用をお待ちしております。

VELTRAカスタマーサービス

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

空から見るハワイ島も最高

Reviewed by: Hirocy, 2020/03/09

足が不自由な家内にとっては、凸凹したところを歩いたりするのは困難で、健常者にとっては短い距離移動でも時間がかかったりするので、車での観光ではなく、初体験のヘリを選択しました。溶岩が流れていなかったのは残念でしたが、火口を上空から見ることが出来、その大きさに感動しました。また、鯨も見ることが出来ました。捜して下さったパイロットに感謝。日本語の出来るパイロットをリクエストしていましたが、他に日本人参加者がいなかったので仕方ありません。前日の午後は車のハンドルが取られる程の強風だったので心配しましたが揺れもなく快適。家内もハイテンションでした。時間が有効に使え良かったです。

Comments from activity operators

Hirocy様

この度は体験談をご投稿いただきありがとうございます。

ご家族とハワイ島のヘリコプター遊覧をお楽しみいただけたとのこと、大変うれしく思います。
ヘリコプター遊覧は陸路では行けない場所をくまなく、かつ広域で見ることができるのでおすすめの観光方法です。
また今がシーズンのクジラも見えたとのこと、いかがでしたでしょうか。
素敵なお写真のご投稿もありがとうございます。

またのご利用をお待ちしております。

VELTRAカスタマーサービス

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Tour from Hilo [Open Soon]

Flexible, intelligent, and comprehensive

Reviewed by: Stan Flouride , 2020/03/07

I took 2 tours with Wild Orchid in the same week and because of the weather and cruise ship schedule we reversed the order of the Hilo/rain forest and volcano tours. This allowed us to avoid hoards of tourists from the ships and getting stuck behind huge buses on Hawaii's narrow roads.
At Lee's suggestion we started our volcano tour much earlier than scheduled and avoided traffic and site congestion.
I was the only guest but it's clear that Wild Orchid's tours are never very big. This is much more conducive to an educational and intimate tour.

A long time resident of the island, Lee knows its history and its people well and works hard to share his affection with you. He knows the geologic, botanical, and human history of Hawai'i thoroughly and imparts it well.

My time here is limited but if I had time I'd take a third tour with him.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2020/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ドアなしヘリコプター遊覧 スリルを体感!<英語パイロット/フライト45分/ヒロ空港集合> by パラダイスヘリコプター

最高でした!

Reviewed by: ぱいなぽー, 2020/02/11

人生初のヘリコプターでした。東大王がきっかけに搭乗しました。お天気に恵まれ、風も雲も無く、とても優雅な旅になりました。
コナから距離があり、往復は大変でした。ですが、火口を上空から眺めたり、綺麗な海やオヒアレフアを見れたり、おすすめです。終始大興奮の2時間でした。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2020/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

初めての一人ハワイ島

Reviewed by: kazu, 2020/02/08

ハワイ、オアフ島は何度か友人と訪れています。
ただ、火山が見たくて一人初めて別行動で参加させて戴きました。申し込んだ便は中止になり別のコースをお勧めして戴き参加しました。天候の為当初の目的は果たせませんでしたが。ヘリコプターに乗れて一人旅を経験できて楽しかったです。敏速な対応をして頂き安心して参加出来ました。ありがとうございました。

Comments from activity operators

kazu様

この度は体験談をご投稿いただきありがとうございます。

ご希望の回が中止となってしまい、大変申し訳ございません。
しかしながら、弊社のおすすめでもある滝への着陸とともにハワイ島のヘリコプター遊覧をお楽しみいただけましたら幸いです。
綺麗なお写真もご投稿いただきありがとうございます。

またのご利用をお待ちしております。

VELTRAカスタマーサービス

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2020/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Circle of Fire Helicopter Flight from Hilo [Open Now]

Beyond our Expectations!!

Reviewed by: Brenda, 2020/02/08

What a thrill it was to fly over the various lava fields and craters on this lovely island. The pilot was very informative and told us stories about some of the people who were affected by these lava flows. He also explained what had happened in the past and what is happening now to the changing landscape as we viewed from above. A highlight of our trip for sure!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Circle of Fire Helicopter Flight from Hilo [Open Now]

Sensational ride with knowledgeable pilot

Reviewed by: Roderick & Debra, 2020/01/27

From the moment we took off to the theme song of Hawaii 50 (one of my highlights), this ride was sensational. From the front row, we soared over volcano craters, lava flows, waterfalls and macadamia nut farms. To miss out on seeing Big Island from the air in a helicopter is to miss out big time. Save money in every way you can before your holiday to include this in your Hawaiian itinerary. Sara our pilot was super friendly and very knowledgeable about everything we saw below us and very keen to answer all our questions. Although I wondered if the ride would be scary, it was not at all. We sat in comfortable chairs, safely buckled up, and soared through the sky as if on a magic carpet. This helicopter ride was one of the best activities I've ever done in my life and I will never forget it. Thank you to everyone who worked to make this a wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Stellar Explorer & Daytime Solar Viewing Tour [Open Now]

Unforgettable experience. Excellent services.

Reviewed by: Ping, 2020/01/20

Unforgettable experience. Amazing views. Excellent services.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hilo Waterfalls & Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Tour from Hilo [Open Now]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Elise, 2020/01/09

The tour was wonderful! Rob, our guide, was very knowledgeable and friendly. We had plenty of time at each of the stops, and really got to explore the island. The hikes in Volcanoes National Park were easy, and we got to see a variety of areas and sites. The waterfalls and black sand beach in the afternoon were beautiful. Absolutely loved the day and the tour!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2020/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Circle of Fire Helicopter Flight from Hilo [Open Now]

Professionally done, great experience

Reviewed by: PKV, 2020/01/02

The overall experience was very good. This is our first Helicopter ride and it turned out to be an excellent one. Though we did not get to see real fire ( no active lava in Hawaii now), we could see the steaming volcano at close up. The pilot Steve was very good, answering all our queries with patience. The narrative was good throughout the trip. Overall 50 minutes was worth the money. I paid additional $100 for copilot seat which was on higher side. This is one reason why I rated 4-star and not 5-star.

  • Hilo from Helicopter

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

ヘリの経験がない人は一回は乗るべき。

Reviewed by: りゅうせい, 2020/01/02

小さい子供が居るのであれば15分で十分だとおもいます。集中力がらないので、、

ヘリは世界中どこで乗っても高いなと言うイメージがありますが、、人生の経験としてあったほうが良いかな?とおもいます。

正直な所、セスナでも同じような風景は見れますが、助走無しで上に飛ぶのはまた違う気がします〜!

Comments from activity operators

りゅうせい様

この度は体験談をご投稿いただきありがとうございます。

ハワイ島でのヘリコプター遊覧をお楽しみいただき幸いです。
セスナとはまた違うヘリコプターならではの飛行方法も感じていただき、大変うれしく思います。
ヘリポートでのお写真も搭乗の雰囲気が伝わってきますね。ありがとうございます。

またのご利用をお待ちしております。

VELTRAカスタマーサービス

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Circle of Fire Helicopter Flight from Hilo [Open Now]

Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Denise, 2020/01/01

What an amazing experience! It was so interesting to learn about the volcano, the island and all the beautiful landscapes. It made me want to learn more about it all. Our pilot was very professional and fun. He had a plethora of knowledge about the island and we felt very safe in his hands. It was a fabulous tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Stargazing Stellar Explorer & Daytime Solar Viewing Tour [Open Now]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Guilietta Kim, 2020/01/01

It was very impressive that a tour guide has shared a lot of stories about cultures of Hawai'i during the entire tour program. The courses were absolutely nice. The view of a coffee farm was so beautiful and the dinner was much nicer than I expected. When it comes to stargazing tour, the tour guide moved the spot for better sightseeing and it was brilliant. Even though I am not a native speaker, I fully enjoyed this tour program and I highly recommend this one to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/12/27
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

ハワイ島ヘリコプター最高!

Reviewed by: 日本橋 りか, 2019/12/31

ハワイ島は、思った以上に広い。
ヘリコプターでしか見ることのできない絶景がたくさん。
ワイピオ渓谷は、人生で一番美しい景色でした。
お値段以上の感動です。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls [Open Now]

Recommend it!

Reviewed by: Kyle, 2019/12/26

Speechless experience and an amazing way to see the coast.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Umauma Falls Zipline Tour & Waterfall Swim Adventure [Open Now]

9-line zip line tour

Reviewed by: Muriel, 2019/12/21

The staff, Scott, Skippy and co were fantastic. Very entertaining as well as thorough and confident in their jobs. My first 4 lines were horrible (I nearly pulled out), very rough and uncomfortable. After #4 Skippy realised my trolley was broken and gave me his own which made the rest of my journey much more comfortable, although I think he may have walked the rest of the track home.... thanks Skippy :)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ハワイ島 ジップライン8本 ワールド・ボタニカル・ガーデンの中を滑走!<英語インストラクター>

英語だけの説明ですが!

Reviewed by: mikimama, 2019/12/17

説明は英語だけ一切日本語わからないスタッフですが なんとかなります。ここだけ 滝の上ジップしてすごく綺麗です。だんだん長いジップになります。スタッフも若いですけど一生懸命やってくれます。写真はメールで送るとのことでしたが 送られなかったのは残念でした。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

助手席指定してより良かった❗

Reviewed by: Kaz., 2019/12/14

雲の多い心配な天気だったけれど、空の遊覧は最高でした。
後ろの4人席は中側になるとどーだろう?
助手席指定しての前席まん中は操縦者気分でした。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/12/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Lava Doors-Off Helicopter Tour from Hilo [Closed]

Big disappointment!

Reviewed by: Lizjazza, 2019/12/04

After reading the detail for this tour we were extremely disappointed with what we experienced. We were a party of 4 who were split over 2 different tours. We thought this was due to weight restrictions which we couldn't understand because we are all average but in hindsight realise it was because we all wanted doors off. The pilot was great gave lots of detail and interesting facts. The flight was wonderful experiencing doors off just unfortunate the tour has not been revised since the lava stopped flowing and you spend the majority of the flight flying over blacken ground which becomes boring very fast. We were looking forward to seeing the waterfalls but this was a quick fly over and back to base so felt let down with this also. We had another couple on our flight as did my sister on her flight and all eight of us were extremely disappointed with what our tour delivered for the cost. The company really need to change the itinery for this tour to make it an experience to remember as it obviously once was when the lava was flowing.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Lizjazza,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us.  We apologize that the experience didn't live up to your expectations.  Sometimes, the booking process and weight and balance considerations necessitate us splitting groups to fit into our available capacity, but in all cases we strive to accommodate the desires of our guests.  We find many passengers who remain excited to see the recent 7000+ acres of lava from last year's Leilani eruption, to include Fissure 8, and many completely engulfed coastal areas.

Mahalo,

Joel
Chief of Operations Officer

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ドアなしヘリコプター遊覧 スリルを体感!<英語パイロット/フライト45分/ヒロ空港集合> by パラダイスヘリコプター

これは最高!

Reviewed by: けいきち, 2019/12/03

足が悪い母がいるので、がんがん歩くツアーは無理なので、こちらに申し込みました。ワイコロアからレンタカーで1時間半くらいですが、ほぼまっすぐの道なので、Google mapで間違いなくいけました。ドアなしなので、風はガンガン来ますので、寒いです。母は運転手のとなりのベストポジションで前も周りも見えてすごく楽しかったみたいです。火口もくるくる回ってくれて、海にどのように溶岩が流れていくかも見れました。価値あり!!

Comments from activity operators

パラダイスヘリコプターズへのご搭乗ありがとうございます。
またお忙しい中、口コミへの高い評価を頂きありがとうございます。
今後も皆様にたくさんの笑顔をご提供できるよう社員一同さらなる努力をしてまいります。

お客様担当主任 ティファニー

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

空から見るハワイ島はサイコーでした!

Reviewed by: yajikita, 2019/12/01

初めてのハワイ島!結婚30年の記念に一生に一度の体験をってことで主人がこのツアーを選びました。空からのハワイ島は素晴らしかったです。このツアーの目玉は滝への上陸です。ヘリでしか行くことのできない滝は絶景です。成長してるハワイ島をぜひ体験してみて欲しいです。

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Circle of Fire Helicopter Flight from Hilo [Open Now]

Great helicopter ride

Reviewed by: CHERYL , 2019/11/23

This was a great helicopter ride over volcanoes, waterfalls, and the rain forest. The staff treated us great, including safety procedures. I can say I was nervous. However, the staff was assuring to me along with making sure all of us were safely seated. I highly recommend this excursion. It was a great day. Love, love, loved it. I would do this again.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/10/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Zipline Tours - Kolekole Falls Big island Zipline Adventure [Open Now]

Weeeeeeeeeee!

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2019/11/23

Take the 'Plunge, have a go. An efficient team, supportive, knowledgeable and local. We, 4 of us, all enjoyed the experience, always felt safe. If you haven't experienced zip lining before (We all had) this was a great way to be introduced and build up to the longer and higher lines. Great views, a fun time.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧<フライト45分~/英語パイロット/滝への着陸プランあり/コナ・ワイコロア地区送迎> by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプター

サービス 最高

Reviewed by: TOMO, 2019/11/23

日本語パイロットで とても楽しい機内 キラウエア火山の噴火口を詳しく説明、ヒロの町に行くまで曇ってましたが ワイピオ渓谷に行くと晴れてて 滝への着陸で30分位の休憩 なかなか体験出来ないことが 現実に体験出来て良かったです。

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations