(All Reviews) Waikoloa (Things to do near your resort), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Waikoloa in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

804 reviews

Doors-Off & Doors-On Kohala Valleys & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour [Not Operating]

Gorgeous!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/07/06

What a morning, sights I will remember in my head forever!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/04/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle of Fire Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo [Not available]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/07/06

The Volcano is absolutely stunning, and to see it from the air is a different view completely!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2024/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau Dinner Show with Open Bar at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Luau

Reviewed by: CH, 2024/07/04

Show was great! Service did their best. I was not pleased with set up & quality of how things were presented & for food & drinks.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Summit Adventures Sunset & Stargazing Guided Tour with Transportation

Do this! Even if you're not into tours...

Reviewed by: Geoff & Elisabeth, 2024/07/04

Sunset from the summit! This is a $ splurge, at least for us, but between the quirky Hawaiian history and mythology lesson plus solid science and general kind authenticity of our guide Addison; the "you'll never see a sunset quite like this one" moment; a humbling and breathtaking view looking out at the galaxy; and the luxury of being a passenger rather than a driver, with convenient pick-up and drop-off...totally worth it. Thanks for the highlight!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/07/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧 水~土曜日10:30限定で日本語パイロットのリクエスト可能<フライト100分/英語パイロット/ワイコロアヘリポート>

ビッグアイランド(ハワイ島)ヘリコプターツアー!

Reviewed by: COCO, 2024/06/21

ビッグアイランドのヘリコプター遊覧ツアーに参加しました!パイロットはToshiさん、お孫さんが産まれて、セミリタイアされたとの事。今回、Toshiさんにお会い出来たのは、非常にラッキーでした!
ヘリに向かう時からテンションが上がり、テイクオフでMAXに到達!眼下に広がるビッグアイランドの大自然に感動しました(^^)
特にコハラ海岸の断崖絶壁と、落差365mのプナルルの滝へのランディング&テイクオフは迫力満点でした!
ビッグアイランドの誕生から今に至る迄の、歴史に思いを馳せながらのフライトは、人の一生が如何に短く、如何に大切か、改めて感じる事が出来ました!
正にプライスレス!!お勧めです(^^)

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2024/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧 水~土曜日10:30限定で日本語パイロットのリクエスト可能<フライト100分/英語パイロット/ワイコロアヘリポート>

キラウエア火山ヘリコプター遊覧

Reviewed by: ココ, 2024/06/21

パイロットは望月トシさんでした!
彼のあたたかく、そして熱い案内で、わたし達はハワイ島の本当の魅力を知りました!トシさんホントにホントにありがとうございました!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2024/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Loa Kohala Luau & Dinner Show with Open Bar at Fairmont Orchid Waikoloa

Luau review

Reviewed by: Elaine Elliot , 2024/06/21

The site for the luau was gorgeous. The food was excellent. We couldn't see the show at all because we were in the back and had kids , although none of us could see it. We left early. We haven't gotten our pictures because we didn't get a chance to do it quick enough. The old method of bringing to the guests was better.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle of Fire Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo [Not available]

Great volcano views!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/06/13

They got us on early to get a great view with the clear morning skies! wonderful and safe flight

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2024/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Quest Hawaii - Dolphin Swim & Encounter at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Incredible experience, highly recommend!

Reviewed by: Carol Kromer, 2024/06/09

This was my second time doing this and it was amazing both times! This time I took my 3-year-old grandson. He was excited up until it was time to get in the water. He started crying and wanting mommy and though she was there she wasn’t planning to get in the pool (I hadn’t paid for her). Anyways, the trainer saw how upset he was and asked him if he wanted to hear the dolphin fart. He stopped crying and watched as she proceeded to make the dolphin make a fart sound. She then offered to let him do it and he did which made him laugh. He then decided the dolphin was pretty cool and ended up petting her and feeding her too. It was so fun spending that time with him and I can’t wait to do it again when my granddaughter is old enough.

  • Making the dolphin fart made my grandson’s day and he still talks about it.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

伝統ルアウ&フラ・ハワイアンショー  レジェンズ・オブ・ハワイ(ヒルトンワイコロアビレッジ)<日・火・金催行/ブッフェ夕食/飲み放題>

PCCのような派手さはないが舞台と観客が近いルアウとしては楽しめます

Reviewed by: ここぱ, 2024/06/08

食べながら見るという感じですが食べ物、飲み物の種類と量もちょうど良い感じです。
Alii Seatだと優先的に入れてブッフェも先に取れるし飲み物もテーブル担当の方が直ぐに聞いて持って来てくれます。
ショーは派手さはないですけど飲み食いしながら気楽に楽しめる感じです。
英語がわからなければ雰囲気で楽しむしかないですけど。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Quest Hawaii - Dolphin Swim & Encounter at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Once in a lifetime experience!

Reviewed by: Hannah Mowers , 2024/06/08

It was a great experience, all the employees were very informative and friendly. The dolphins are very well cared for. I this was the highlight of my trip. I highly recommend this adventure and I will definitely do this again!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2024/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau Dinner Show with Open Bar at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Very high price, terrible performance

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2024/06/08

Food was OK, performance not so good, singing was awful. Nice that there is a space for children to run around

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau Dinner Show with Open Bar at Hilton Waikoloa Village

We Absolutely loved it

Reviewed by: Lisa perez , 2024/05/26

Made so many memories with my family first visit here we will be back

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2024/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ホエールウォッチングクルーズ <12~3月/午前/軽食付き/ワイコロアまたはカワイハエ港発>

ホエールウォッチング

Reviewed by: さささん, 2024/05/17

時期的にあちこちで出現しますので、船の全方向で見ることが出来ました。
途中、マイクを海中に沈め、クジラの鳴き声も聞かせてくれます。

子鯨が頻繁にジャンプしますので、大体あの辺にいそう、というのを見極めてスタンバイしてるとジャンプなど見れます
ただ、安全のため一定の距離は取っているので比較的遠くでしか見ることはできません
望遠鏡などあると良いと思います。私は10倍のものですが、持参してよく見ることが出来ました。

船の乗船は砂浜から小さなボートにのり、少し沖にある船に乗り換えます。
ビーサン、裸足がオススメです。
船ではドリンク(缶ジュースか、マイタイ)、スナック(チップス)がもらえます。
船上は日除無いので日焼け対策はしっかりしましょう。
船内もそんなに広く無いので荷物は最小限にした方がいいです。
みなさんスマホ以外ほぼ手ぶらでした。

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo for joining us! We're honored you chose Ocean Sports for your Whale Watch Cruise!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2024/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle of Fire Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo [Not available]

Great views!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/04/25

Wonderful island and volcano views from above, they make sure to take you up when sights will be great!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/02/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Glass Bottom Boat Scenic Cruise from Waikoloa | Kids 0-5 Ride for Free

Beautiful and informative

Reviewed by: Kris & Mark, 2024/04/21

Great little trip into the ocean to view coral reef and fish! Beautiful clear blue water. Staff very knowledgeable. Loved it!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Kris and Mark,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your Glass Bottom Boat Cruise. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the trip and the information provided by our crew.
We know there are a lot of ways to spend the morning when you're on the Big Island and we're honored you chose to spend part of your morning with us.
Mahalo and A Hui Hou

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau Dinner Show with Open Bar at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Great show

Reviewed by: Friends , 2024/04/21

Great show, standing in a buffet line. A little tiring, food was great

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2024/04/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau Dinner Show with Open Bar at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Fire performance

Reviewed by: JL , 2024/04/13

Fire performance was as the cool kids say these days....fire!

The buffet food was better than average. I go to Hawaii every year and we always do luau. This was the more memorable ones. Dessert buffet table was really good too.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Loa Kohala Luau & Dinner Show with Open Bar at Fairmont Orchid Waikoloa

Best Luau!

Reviewed by: Colleen , 2024/04/12

It was my husband's birthday and we wanted to do something special for him!
This celebration and event was perfect and one we will never forget. The staff, atmosphere, entertainment and food were all spectacular! We loved it and recommend everyone goes for an unforgettable, lovely evening!
Thank you so much!

Brian, Colleen and Joel Ruggiero

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2024/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Quest Hawaii - Dolphin Swim & Encounter at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Really good show.

Reviewed by: Dave K, 2024/04/12

Great food.
Excellent show with authentic dances from different islands.
Very entertaining we had a great night.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/04/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Glass Bottom Boat Scenic Cruise from Waikoloa | Kids 0-5 Ride for Free

not very impressed

Reviewed by: Oliver, 2024/03/29

The boat was comfortable, the captain was friendly and knowledgeable. We got a text in the morning saying that visibility was poor... and it was. We didn't see much. I don't feel like it was worth the price. Maybe a beverage, a snack or a little souvenir could have been included for the $50 we paid.

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your Glass Bottom Boat Cruise. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the boat and your interactions with our Captain. We're sorry that the ocean didn't cooperate on the day of your cruise, and that's why we sent the text prior to your arrival.
We've always tried to give our guests updated information about anything that will affect the quality of their cruise in time for them to reschedule or cancel their cruise should they decide not to join us. We appreciate your suggestions about additional items that can be added to the cruise, and we've forwarded your ideas to our Exec Team for their review.
Mahalo and A Hui Hou

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Sunset Whale Watching Cruise with Open Bar - Ocean Sports [Dec - Mar]

Wonderful wildlife sightseeing

Reviewed by: Flavie, 2024/03/25

We had a wonderful time! We were super lucky to see a lot of dolphins and whales. It was for sure a once in a lifetime adventure. The entire crew was awesome! Thank you so much!

  • Dolphins

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your Sunset Cruise. We're so happy that you enjoyed the trip and your interactions with our crew, and got a chance to see so many cetaceans!
We know there are a lot of of ways to watch a sunset when you're on the Big Island and we're honored you chose to spend one of yours with us.
Mahalo and A Hui Hou

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2024/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau Dinner Show with Open Bar at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Authentic Show!

Reviewed by: David F, 2024/03/09

For us it was a true Luau. Not just a Hawaiian show. From weaving headbands to teaching hula dancing. The show was very personable with audience interaction. Food was very good, brought out to the table instead of a buffet bar. It was an all day affair for us. Went to Waimea Falls first and spent some time there and then to the Luau. MC was great. Highly recommend. We stayed on the North Shore so it was very convenient!

  • Waimea Falls

  • Luau

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight with Landing Option

Helicopter tour is always a wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Girls trip, 2024/03/08

I’ve done this more than 5 times and every trip is different and wonderful. Great way to see more of the island without driving. Love all of the employees. It’s a great experience. Last time in March 2022 we took three grandsons and son in law. Very fun trip. They have a fantastic time. This time I took a friend who had never been to island. We again had a fabulous trip. Thank you ❣️

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2024/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Sunset Whale Watching Cruise with Open Bar - Ocean Sports [Dec - Mar]

Awesome whale watching adventure

Reviewed by: Lava Lava Girl, 2024/03/03

We were very lucky to sail on a lovely evening with lots of whales surrounding us and they were quite active. The crew were great, we enjoyed the snacks and drinks. It was just about perfect, loved the boat, could have stayed out on the water for hours if allowed. Definitely will do again and recommend this cruise.

  • gorgeous sunset on board the Sea Smoke

Comments from activity operators

Aloha,
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback about your Sunset Cruise and also for including that beautiful photo. We're so happy to read that you enjoyed the trip, the onboard amenities, the whales, and your interactions with our crew!
We know there are a lot of ways to watch the sunset when you're in Hawaii and we're honored you chose to spend one of yours with us and that we've earned your recommendation.
Mahalo and A Hui Hou

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle of Fire Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo [Not available]

Clear Skies!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/02/29

We got a great morning, very clear skies and gorgeous views of the volc nat park!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2023/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle of Fire Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo [Not available]

Great Views!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2024/02/29

Awesome to get to see the volcano from above to understand it much different then walking through

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2023/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Loa Kohala Luau & Dinner Show with Open Bar at Fairmont Orchid Waikoloa

Didn't meet expectations; there are better luau's -- skip this one

Reviewed by: Ayall, 2024/02/27

Decided to try this luau after researching luau options on the big island, and unfortunately it fell short of expectations.
There are three main areas I judge in a luau, and I'll expand on each category for this place; location/setting, food/drinks, and entertainment.
First the location setting. Although located at the Fairmont orchid resort, a beautiful and well kept property, the luau itself was "makeshift" utilizing cheap plastic chairs and tables and placed between the golf course and tennis courts, over a mile away from the coast with no sunset or real ocean view. Most other luau's I've been to are more like restaurants with permanent structures set right on the coast.
I had read rave reviews about the food, and while it too fell short of expectations - it wasn't all bad. I'll definitely give it credit for a large selection and variety, but the food was overall "meh." The poke, fish, shrimp and chicken were good but the beef and pork were awful. There was no actual hog roast; the pulled pork they served was clearly not from a recently dug up roasted pig - and it tasted disgusting; this was the biggest let down as you expect amazing pulled pork when you goto a luau. They lacked variety in drinks, so not much to choose from in terms of wine (only "red" or "white") or beers (a few cheap varieties in cans, no IPAs), and the mixed drinks were also limited in ingredients (for example, they couldn't make me an old fashion), but they had the basics to make most decent cocktails. My biggest complaint with the drinks is that the line was long and clearly a bottleneck only having 2 bartenders making drinks for the entire group. Other luaus I'd attended always had the basic drinks ready to go so you could grab a basic drink at anytime if you wanted.
As for the entertainment; also very meh. Not a big production (again, due to the "makeshift" nature of this luau), but it contained all the basic elements to not fall completely short.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Kea Evening Stargazing & Daytime Solar Viewing Tour with Dinner

Great tour

Reviewed by: Elena M, 2024/02/26

Henry is a wonderful tour guide. He told us so many interesting things about Big Island culture, history, plants, geology, stars. He was great with the kids and took a good care of us all. The Rainbow fall was beautiful and the banyan tree nearby was insane! The star gazing was great even though the conditions were not the best (bright moon). For me the best experience of the tour was getting deep inside the cave - it was amazing, I had never seen anything like it.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2024/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

ホエールウォッチングクルーズ <12~3月/午前/軽食付き/ワイコロアまたはカワイハエ港発>

良く見られてよかったです。

Reviewed by: 胆石おやじ, 2024/02/25

以前にオアフ島でホエールウォッチングに参加しましたが、その時はほとんどクジラに会えなかったですが、今回は早い時間帯から次ぐから次に見ることができました。
帰りには、船の周りをイルカが来て、ジャンプまで見せてくれて、最高のホエールウォッチングになりました。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories