Blue Hawaiian Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour (from Waikoloa) reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Blue Hawaiian Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour (from Waikoloa)

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

216 reviews
Post a review

Couldn't have time it better!

Reviewed by: Pamela, 2019/06/02

My niece and I where visiting the Big Island during a very active period for Fissure 8 and our experience of an 'so up close you could feel it' was amazing!

The tour and the crew where fantastic and we really experienced what Mother Nature was throwing at the Big Island during that time. Was a once in a lifetime experience and one I highly recommend.

  • Fissure 8!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour

Reviewed by: Paul Rae, 2019/04/09

Had a fabulous time and definitely worth the expense to see parts of the Island you simply can't see otherwise.

Pilot and support staff were all very friendly and professional... A must do if you are on the Big Island or any other Island where they offer their services.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No Lava not even a spark

Reviewed by: PBoy, 2018/09/01

the website still says we can have a pretty good chance to see lava. After all this is the most active volcano in the World!. But wow there is nothing there. The remains are acres of black rocks and at the end is a black hole with some red in it that's not lava just red rocks. The whole thing is crumbling away. There is no lava here now. We can go see some on the ground for free. it's everywhere up on the saddle road

  • lava rock black and not glowing

  • lava rock pushing down trees and electric wires

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Father's Day 2018

Reviewed by: Allen Strong, 2018/06/20

Awesome experience!!!

Best Father's day present ever. The lava channel and fissure 8 eruption was priceless.

Recommend highly! Book it with Blue Hawiian.

Allen

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano sky view

Reviewed by: Sunny , 2018/03/11

Wonderful life experience! Our pilot Scott (should be right name) Is experienced tour guide and very patiently answered my 5yrs old boy questions. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Felt like a kid again

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2017/10/07

This helicopter tour was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. Checking in was a breeze. The pilot (Karl I think) was great, really friendly and knowledgable and told us fascinating stories about the land. His mixed tape for the flight was a great accompaniment to the flight. Nothing can quite prepare you for how amazing it is to fly over a volcanoe crater spewing lava, I was truly awe struck and felt like a kid again! It really is the top experience I would recommend on the big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to experience the Volcanoes National Park!

Reviewed by: mcavalheiro, 2017/09/27

Let me start saying one thing - Kilauea Volcano is one of the most active volcanoes on Earth and it's definitely a MUST SEE & DO if you are visiting Hawaii. I think everyone should explore the Volcanoes National Park as much as they can, and since I've hiked hiked the most popular sights before, this time I decided to get the bird's eye view from Kilauea.

From start to finish Blue Hawaiian Helicopters was very professional and delivered a great service. After the check-in we watched a video about safety and what to expect on the tour. Due to the weather conditions my original flight was cancelled, however I was able to reschedule to a later time. It was worthy the wait! The aircraft was modern, very comfortable, large windows and the pilot was excelled and very experienced. He not only made us feel safe, but also shared a lot of interest facts about Hawaiian geology and history.

We flew over dozens of waterfalls and over the most recent lava flows and it was crazy to see how close the lava got to some houses couple of years ago. The most incredible part thou was for sure seeing the lava flowing into the ocean and watching the bubbling lava lake inside the Pu'u 'O'o Crater (which you can only see if you are doing an air tour).

I will never stop sharing these incredible memories with everyone around me.
Thank you VELTRA & Blue Hawaiian Helicopters for the amazing experience. I highly recommend this tour, whether you are visiting the island just for a day or more, make sure to include a helicopter flight on your wish list.

  • Kilauea, the smiling volcano!

  • Lava flowing to the ocean

  • Where lave meets the see

  • Great helicopters!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible, absolutely incredible!

Reviewed by: Terry from Texas, 2017/09/19

The Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour was easily the best event our group had while on the Big Island. Everyone loved it. BH uses very high quality helicopters and our pilot was well trained and very skilled. We all agreed that at no time did we feel unsafe. Our pilot was also very well informed and told us a lot of interesting things about the volcano and the Hilo side of the island. But, the views were the most memorable part of the trip. Don't forget your camera or you'll hate yourself.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible!!!

Reviewed by: Ken, 2017/09/19

I name of this tour says it all! Live lava flows and incredible waterfalls. Our pilot, Peter, was fantastic and informative. I highly recommend the store to everyone.

  • The Caldera

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano and waterfall trip from Hilo

Reviewed by: Jim...aka Dad, 2017/07/17

Be ready for good music, family fun and good jokes...leave the Dad jokes back home!

  • Aloha...Holden's

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Started out rough, but was a fun time

Reviewed by: Dotman, 2017/07/17

We arrived at the appointed time for check in after making the 2 hour drive from the opposite side of the island. We were greeted nicely, had a short conversation, then found out the booking agent sent the email with the requested date/time, but the booking agent actually booked us for the following day.

After a few minutes, the tour company resolved the oversight by calling in the standby pilot, upgraded us to the bigger helicopter (to fly with only us), and would provide us with a free copy of the flight video. The only issue was it would be an hour later than our scheduled time. This gave us time to eat lunch at the airport before our new check in time, so no worries.

The flight was fun, great photo opportunities of the volcano areas/lava tubes, and very interesting facts from the seasoned pilot. I would use this company again despite the scheduling error.

  • In flight

  • At the check in desk

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!!

Reviewed by: Deana, 2017/07/16

I was scared for my life, but it was amazing!!! Our pilot Eli was awesome!!! Highly recommend it!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent flight around the Big Island...

Reviewed by: archieman1, 2017/06/27

Beautiful weather and exceptional views from the helicopter flight over the Big Island. We saw lava flowing into the ocean and several "hot spots" while flying over the volcano. Saw rain forests and waterfalls that we never would have seen hiking. Stopped for some fuel in Hilo... it all was a blast and worth the money to see the island in a way you can't on foot.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and educational

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/06/08

I brought my daughter and granddaughter to visit my parents who live in Hawaii. My parents had never done the helicopter tour and it exceeded our expectations. Our pilot was also a biologist and gave us lots of information about the island. The kids (teenagers) couldn't stop smiling. We had four generations in that helicopter and all of us loved the experience. Highly recommended.

  • Just landed and can't stop smiling!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Lisa, the Circle of Fire is one of the "hottest" tours we have right now! Great to hear that your family was able to experience it and to see what formed the archipelago of the Hawaiian Islands. Hawaii Island is the youngest of all the major islands; we hope you have a chance to visit her older siblings and see what they have to offer from the sky!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous helicopter ride

Reviewed by: Marg from Australia , 2017/05/22

We travelled from Australia with our friends and took a helicopter tour of the volcano. The trip was amazing !! The pilot was informative and very knowledgeable. He had some great jokes and made us feel very safe. I would really recommend this trip to anyone.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Marg, Thank you for making the long trip out to visit Hawaii! So great to hear that you had such a memorable experience. Great selfie by the way!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lava flow

Reviewed by: Duane, 2017/02/19

Hard to beat the pictures you can get from the air on this trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Views!!!

Reviewed by: Jamie, 2017/01/26

We are so happy we chose this helicopter tour. We got close for pictures and selfies and our pilot was entertaining!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amaizing

Reviewed by: Maruxa, 2016/01/16

The experience was really great!
The views were amaizing!
I recomend this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Dale & Cheryl , 2015/03/11

We were hesitant to do this because we had never been in a helicopter, but WOW. So glad we did!! Awesome views of the volcano. Pilot (Jeremy) was very knowledgable and made the experience very interesting. He was very professional and skilled with the operation of the helicopter. An experience we will never forget!! Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island spectacular

Reviewed by: Michelle Tinkham, 2014/07/27

Craig was great. We had a wonderful time and saw some amazing lava flow and waterfalls.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool!

Reviewed by: Chere, 2014/05/21

Jeremy was an incredible pilot! We learned about the difference between lava and magma, saw some incredible sights, and had an overall amazing time! A definite must do!

Reply from activity provider

We are thrilled that you all enjoyed your tour. The pictures look great and the sky light shot is excellent. We appreciate your feed back and welcome you to fly with Blue Hawaiian Helicopters in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW!!!! Breathtaking!!

Reviewed by: Nova & Rich, 2013/10/06

A must do!!!! We Loved every Breathtaking moment!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island

Reviewed by: William, 2010/04/04

To start off with when we were making reservations transportation aparently wasn't available. Don't let them tell you that. They have vans and make pick-ups from the hotel we stayed in. We took the big island spectacular 2 hour. It was nice. The volcano part wasn't what i thought. I expected to see flowing lava. All you see is the top crust of past lava flows. Even the volcano vent wasn't what I thought it would be. The VOG was so thick thast about all you could see. A little let down. Although the 2nd part was the tropical rain forest. We had a nice ride along the ocean front. Went up the valleys and saw more waterfalls than I could keep track of. Pilot even sighted some whales and circled for us. Wind turbulance in some of the valleys made me tighten my seat belt a bit. Later I learned the pilot is a retired coast guard pilot. Wish I knew that going in, I would have been a bit more relaxed.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands