Blue Hawaiian Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour (from Waikoloa) reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Blue Hawaiian Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour (from Waikoloa)

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

222 reviews
Post a review

Well worth it!

Reviewed by: April, 2019/08/22

We were told repeatedly that the helicopter tour was a must do on the big island and that Blue Hawaiian was top notch. They absolutely are! Friendly, helpful staff and top of the line equipment and a spotless facility! Thank you for calming a nervous first timer!! It was amazing and so worth the cost!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopter Volcano tour from Hilo

Reviewed by: Keri, 2019/08/14

Sarah was the Most informative pilot ever out of our 6 helicopter experiences in Hawaii. The views of the craters at Volcano National Park we’re amazing and the number and size of the waterfalls at the end was unexpected and spectacular. All in 45 minutes! We drove the saddle road from Waikoloa for an hour and forty minutes to take the helicopter out of Hilo for a much lower cost than from the Kona side.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Top highlight

Reviewed by: Eva, 2019/07/04

Professionals at work!
Booked the eco star helicopter and had a grwat quiet flight with very good views from the back window and middle seat.
Weather was good so we had a clear view.
The pilot expained everything well and I felt safe at all time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't have time it better!

Reviewed by: Pamela, 2019/06/02

My niece and I where visiting the Big Island during a very active period for Fissure 8 and our experience of an 'so up close you could feel it' was amazing!

The tour and the crew where fantastic and we really experienced what Mother Nature was throwing at the Big Island during that time. Was a once in a lifetime experience and one I highly recommend.

  • Fissure 8!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour

Reviewed by: Paul Rae, 2019/04/09

Had a fabulous time and definitely worth the expense to see parts of the Island you simply can't see otherwise.

Pilot and support staff were all very friendly and professional... A must do if you are on the Big Island or any other Island where they offer their services.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No Lava not even a spark

Reviewed by: PBoy, 2018/09/01

the website still says we can have a pretty good chance to see lava. After all this is the most active volcano in the World!. But wow there is nothing there. The remains are acres of black rocks and at the end is a black hole with some red in it that's not lava just red rocks. The whole thing is crumbling away. There is no lava here now. We can go see some on the ground for free. it's everywhere up on the saddle road

  • lava rock black and not glowing

  • lava rock pushing down trees and electric wires

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing view of lava field!

Reviewed by: kritter_foster, 2018/08/20

Although the lava is no longer very visible (it's crusted over, so you really only see the black lava crust, the steam from the fissures, and a little bit of lava glowing in one of the fissures), it was amazing to fly over it and learn the history of the area and the previous eruptions. The view from above makes you really appreciate how much territory has been affected. We couldn't see it spilling into the ocean anymore, either, but it was still really cool!

We didn't fly very close to the waterfall, and we were under the impression that we might see more than one, but the one we did see was very impressive from above.

Just being up in a helicopter, flying over this beautiful island and the surrounding ocean was fantastic and we loved it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Diana T, 2018/07/18

When I booked this trip to Hawaii, I was not anticipating Kilauea to erupt actively. In fact when it came on the news that this volcano was spewing lava, I was ready to cancel this trip. However, Kilauea is on the Southeast end of the island and Waikoloa, where we were staying, was far from the volcanic activity. So, we not only kept our trip to big island of Hawaii but also added a helicopter ride to witness an active volcano, which is not something Californians can see on a regular basis, more of a once in a lifetime.

Our pilot, Scott, was great. He took the time to explain what we were seeing, took into consideration of Sophia’s, my 9yo daughter, wanting to see and learn more about this magnificent phenomenon (in fact it was the whole reason for booking this helicopter tour), and took into consideration in providing a smooth, fun, helicopter ride without missing out on being able to see what we need to enjoy the experience of viewing the natural activities of an active volcano. This tour was so worth it. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Eco Star - Circle of Fire

Reviewed by: Heidi, 2018/06/30

The tour was excellent. The pilot was friendly, knowledgeable, and skilled. The flight was smooth and close enough to get a good look at things. The flight line staff were effective and efficient. The view of fissure 8 was incredible, a once in a lifetime opportunity. I would highly recommend this to anyone coming to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/27
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle of Fire tour

Reviewed by: Cromer70, 2018/06/30

Great experience! Great views of the erupting Kilauea volcano and spill of lava from fissure 8 into the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/27
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a treat!

Reviewed by: Jop, 2018/06/24

An amazing experience, friendly professional staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Father's Day 2018

Reviewed by: Allen Strong, 2018/06/20

Awesome experience!!!

Best Father's day present ever. The lava channel and fissure 8 eruption was priceless.

Recommend highly! Book it with Blue Hawiian.

Allen

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience!

Reviewed by: K. Hammon, 2018/06/17

Incredible opportunity to see volcano. Very professional pilot. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Zip line and water falls

Reviewed by: Ca fun, 2018/06/14

Chris was wonderful! He knows Hawaii very well and we learned so much within a day! Loved ziplining, Gabe and Kelton were so patient and humorous that we didn’t feel it took almost 3 hours to finish the whole activity. It’s the best Hawaii tour ever!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was amazing - but do not book through Veltra!

Reviewed by: mark, 2018/05/01

Had a beautiful helicopter tour through volcanoes and waterfalls, but it almost didn't happen because Veltra didn't give the right information to the company, resulting in us showing up at the airport and discovering our reservation didn't exist.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Better than I expected

Reviewed by: Jennifer Harriette , 2018/04/20

1st time in a helicopter. 1 more bucket list item checked off. The views were spectacular and we were very fortunate to have the weather & Mother Nature in general on our side that day. Our captain/pilot was great and very knowledgeable. He encouraged us to ask questions & answered them very well. I personally think the whole experience was worth every penny but then again, we were a party of 2. Either way, I would highly recommend Bule Hawaiian and this flight package in particular. Got to see everything they advertised. Aloha!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

For a smooth, quiet and relaxing flight over the Volcano fields - choose the Eco-Star!

Reviewed by: Craig M, 2018/04/16

For my first flight in a helicopter, wasn't sure what to expect... but wow what a smooth & quiet aircraft the Eco-Star is! The crew at Blue Hawaiian were courteous & professional and our Pilot Patrick was great - who was always checking to make sure everyone was comfortable during the trip and had ample opportunity to see & photograph each viewing site.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent trip

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2018/03/24

The driver was friendly. We saw amazing lava flow and beautiful landscape.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano sky view

Reviewed by: Sunny , 2018/03/11

Wonderful life experience! Our pilot Scott (should be right name) Is experienced tour guide and very patiently answered my 5yrs old boy questions. Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome time!! We enjoyed it so much!!

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2018/02/03

We loved our adventure!! Pat was a great pilot and tour guide! We had big smiles on our faces for the rest of the day! A can’t miss in Hilo! The staff and crew were so nice and helpful with my mom who needed extra help getting to and from the helicopter. We highly recommend this excursion

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/08
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

whales, active volcanoes, amazing waterfall and cliff passages

Reviewed by: shannon, 2017/12/22

It was super and Tom was very professional and once whales were spotted, he circled back for an amazing look at breaching humpbacks. it was fantastic.... another lady was airsick on our trip, but tom handled it with amazing professionalism. I highly recommend this trip. highlight of our stay!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Spectacular

Reviewed by: Jim M, 2017/11/20

Great ride and narrative. Only down side was some local light rain. Windy condition was handled well by the pilot. Flight video was a good option. All well done.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Greg, 2017/11/13

Went on the tour with our pilot Carl, who was very knowledgeable and friendly and fun. Showed us many interesting sites and found glowing lava on one of the flows. It was really a great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing flight!

Reviewed by: CHENTING KO, 2017/11/03

Amazing flight, nice helicopter, all passengers with BOSE A20 headset, and our pilot (Chase) is very knowledgeable and gave us a very comfortable ride with amazing views of big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: kiwiuk, 2017/10/29

.......only spoilt by the lack of DVD afterwards. Apparently the inflight DVD recording didn't work - totally gutted, as this was an absolute one off for us from Down Under.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amacing

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2017/10/22

Thank you so much for showing us all de highlights during this flight!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Reviewed by: Marcella, 2017/10/11

Very professional and very entertaining. Excellent commentary. The video is worth buying. Defintely good value.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Petra, 2017/10/10

As a surprise for my husband, i booked the tour of the hole Island. Chase was very nice, competent Pilot - really interested to inform and entertain his guests. The first part of the tour was not very spectacular, but the volcanos and waipuu valley were spectacular. Highly recommendet!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Felt like a kid again

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2017/10/07

This helicopter tour was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. Checking in was a breeze. The pilot (Karl I think) was great, really friendly and knowledgable and told us fascinating stories about the land. His mixed tape for the flight was a great accompaniment to the flight. Nothing can quite prepare you for how amazing it is to fly over a volcanoe crater spewing lava, I was truly awe struck and felt like a kid again! It really is the top experience I would recommend on the big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/17
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well orginized

Reviewed by: Pete Rommers, 2017/10/02

Well orginized, deliver what's promised and good informed en pleasant staff

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands