Kohala Mountains, Sea Cliffs & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour with Landing Option reviews, Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kohala Mountains, Sea Cliffs & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour with Landing Option

Overall Rating

4.72 4.72 / 5

Reviews

158 reviews
Post a review

Amazing ride, excellent and enjoyable pilot and guide!

Reviewed by: John L., 2022/05/03

The team was professional, friendly and competent. Toshi, our pilot, was extremely knowledgeable about the areas we flew over and provided some incredible views of the canyons, cliffs and waterfalls along the journey. We were able to spend ample time viewing and enjoying the highlights. Toshi was very knowledgeable about a wide range of topics related to the areas we flew over. Highly recommend this trip for anyone considering it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent experience for those with disabilities.

Reviewed by: Joline, 2022/02/28

Incredible experience. Was concerned about the cost but definitely well worth it. They went above and beyond to make the to her accessible for my daughter who has cerebral palsy and challenges walking. The pilot was phenomenal with his knowledge base and engaging us in answering questions. Doing the early morning tour was also great as we did not have a whole lot of clouds and the weather was great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular experience

Reviewed by: Mary, 2022/02/12

It was an awesome experience & beautiful views of natures.Hoping to flight again with our kids to enjoy the beauty of Big Island Hawaii.Thanks to our pilot Shane for the smooth & excellent flight.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice ride but watch the front seat upgrade.

Reviewed by: Mike, 2022/02/12

No doubt the ride itself was amazing! We were able to see a ton of the Big Island and our pilot was great.

However, the interaction at the desk was a little shady. When we arrived we had four in our party plus another passenger who was also assigned to our group. As we checked in the receptionist asked if we wanted to upgrade as the two front seats were still available. First off, that seems strange since there are only four seats across the back - obviously someone in a group of five would need a front seat. The problem came when one in my group wanted to upgrade to the front. They charged the full amount for both front seats. Then the receptionist pulled the single passenger to the side, giving her a "free" upgrade to the other front seat... great for her! If it would have been explained that the full price for both seats would be charged then another from my group would have taken the other front rather than give it away. I understand they have to distribute weight, etc. but the way it was handled was less than desirable. It's unfortunate that a shady sales experience soured an otherwise great day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best thing ever !!! Worth every penny!!!! Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Barbara florey, 2022/02/11

I would highly recommend this experience for everyone ! I learned so much about Hawaii and got to see the volcano with the red lava down in it . The amazing north coast , waterfalls watching whales from up there. Best thing ever . Very good pilot and guide! Friendly helpful !! Beautiful views you can only get from a helicopter

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/02/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Ride !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by: Jon, 2022/01/01

The trip was simply fantastic .
We enjoyed the the sites very much.
When we come back to Hawaii, we will do the trip again.
It was a great ride!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour and great people!

Reviewed by: Art Goldberg, 2021/10/02

The coastal tour was perfect. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. Marco our pilot made everyone very comfortable and was a great tour guide and pilot. I highly recommend Blue Hawaiian Helicopters!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!

Reviewed by: Pat from Houston, 2021/09/17

Pilot, Kai, was knowledgeable, friendly and great. Learned a lot!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal!

Reviewed by: Kasandra, 2021/08/16

Toshi was PHENOMENAL! He was very engaging and made us feel so comfortable. You could tell he has such a warm spirit. The flight itself was nothing short of amazing, and I actually cried while flying through the valley because of how beautiful it is, later to find out Toshi made the playlist and it hit perfectly. There are no scenic roads to take you to where this helicopter goes, the helicopter ride is the only way to see these parts of Hawaii 1,000% worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight - July

Reviewed by: S. Rowland, 2021/07/15

Great pilot and staff - very warm and made us feel comfortable for our first helicopter ride. Loved all the sites, learning about the Island and seeing the transitions of the landscapes - so beautiful. We would definitely recommend Blue Hawaiian!

A couple thoughts:
- Can you add another bathroom to have the lines more manageable?
- You mentioned in the notes it can get chilly on the helicopter (thus I thought there might be open windows!). In fact I found it a little too warm. I relaxed and got comfortable, but found that info slightly misleading.

Thanks,
S. Rowland

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommend it!

Reviewed by: Kyle, 2019/12/26

Speechless experience and an amazing way to see the coast.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well worth it!

Reviewed by: April, 2019/08/22

We were told repeatedly that the helicopter tour was a must do on the big island and that Blue Hawaiian was top notch. They absolutely are! Friendly, helpful staff and top of the line equipment and a spotless facility! Thank you for calming a nervous first timer!! It was amazing and so worth the cost!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Mountains, Cliffs & Waterfalls Air Tour

Reviewed by: Paul Rae, 2019/04/09

Had a fabulous time and definitely worth the expense to see parts of the Island you simply can't see otherwise.

Pilot and support staff were all very friendly and professional... A must do if you are on the Big Island or any other Island where they offer their services.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Zip line and water falls

Reviewed by: Ca fun, 2018/06/14

Chris was wonderful! He knows Hawaii very well and we learned so much within a day! Loved ziplining, Gabe and Kelton were so patient and humorous that we didn’t feel it took almost 3 hours to finish the whole activity. It’s the best Hawaii tour ever!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

whales, active volcanoes, amazing waterfall and cliff passages

Reviewed by: shannon, 2017/12/22

It was super and Tom was very professional and once whales were spotted, he circled back for an amazing look at breaching humpbacks. it was fantastic.... another lady was airsick on our trip, but tom handled it with amazing professionalism. I highly recommend this trip. highlight of our stay!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Spectacular

Reviewed by: Jim M, 2017/11/20

Great ride and narrative. Only down side was some local light rain. Windy condition was handled well by the pilot. Flight video was a good option. All well done.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing flight!

Reviewed by: CHENTING KO, 2017/11/03

Amazing flight, nice helicopter, all passengers with BOSE A20 headset, and our pilot (Chase) is very knowledgeable and gave us a very comfortable ride with amazing views of big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amacing

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2017/10/22

Thank you so much for showing us all de highlights during this flight!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Blue Hawaiian Helicopters

Reviewed by: Marcella, 2017/10/11

Very professional and very entertaining. Excellent commentary. The video is worth buying. Defintely good value.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Petra, 2017/10/10

As a surprise for my husband, i booked the tour of the hole Island. Chase was very nice, competent Pilot - really interested to inform and entertain his guests. The first part of the tour was not very spectacular, but the volcanos and waipuu valley were spectacular. Highly recommendet!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Phenomenal Experience!

Reviewed by: Patricia & friends, 2017/09/08

Sites, sound and Greg our tour guide made this ride the top memory of our visit! Majestic views coupled with great fun! The stop at waterfall put the icing on cake.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent flight around the Big Island...

Reviewed by: archieman1, 2017/06/27

Beautiful weather and exceptional views from the helicopter flight over the Big Island. We saw lava flowing into the ocean and several "hot spots" while flying over the volcano. Saw rain forests and waterfalls that we never would have seen hiking. Stopped for some fuel in Hilo... it all was a blast and worth the money to see the island in a way you can't on foot.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome with Marco

Reviewed by: KELLY, 2017/04/15

Had an excellent tour guide named Marco, very fun and professional
My boyfriend got a little quizzy, but I highly recommend doing the 2hrs helicopter ride

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Big Island Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: paula, 2017/01/01

Very professional and couteous staff to deal with and made us feel well taken care of. We had an amazing flight with spectacular views of the island and Volcano!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular Trip

Reviewed by: Barbara from Kona, 2016/09/29

The trip lived up to its description. The pilot made sure both sides received extraordinary views by angling over each side so that all passengers could see the feature. Narration and music added to the enjoyment. I'm so glad we did the waterfall landing add on. The flight up into one of the canyons with many waterfalls plunging down the sides is a never-to-be-forgotten experience.
And the actual landing at the base of one waterfall was amazing. Wish I had brought my bathing suit for a swim in the pool! Thanks to our pilot (Greg)for making this a special experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EXCELLENT!!

Reviewed by: Ben E., 2016/03/28

Ian (pilot) was a fantastic tour guide and pilot - lots of treats, was able to see active eruptions and fly up the polulu valley - even better!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Should have done this sooner!

Reviewed by: Jim P, 2015/10/20

Very high quality experience. The pilot was knowledgeable of the area and very experienced in flying making it a comfortable and interesting tour. The day before the weather was very rainy so we were afraid we would not see much but we lucked out and actually had very good viewing. But if we had flown with them when we were there in 2013 it would have been totally clear, even the tops of Moana Kea and Moana Loa. So, don't put it off!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip Highlight

Reviewed by: Texas T, 2015/08/29

The helicopter ride was the greatest way ever to see the entire island. Our pilot Marco was most informative during the ride. We would highly recommend Blue Hawaii and would use them again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Luxury Volcano Helicopter Tour

Reviewed by: Bill & Linda Beagles, 2015/06/01

Although the ceiling was relatively low, Dale made sure we saw some lava flows and "hot spots". We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Breathtaking

Reviewed by: Byron L., 2014/12/08

Amazing tour, this is the must do tour in the Big Island. Just the right amount of time and plenty of scenery to enjoy, the wife was thrilled.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories