Na Pali Coast Explorer Ocean Rafting Snorkel Tour (from Kikiaola Harbor)

Do the Na Pali Coast, but do it with someone else

Reviewed by: Beleu, 2015/01/08

Our trip was from Kikialoa Harbor.

While some of the crew was nice, the captain was not.
We picked that operator because the boat had a Canopy that would have protected our parents from the sun as they were no interested in snorkeling, just the boat ride. However the boat was being worked on, canopy was not there and towards the end of the trip had mechanical issues.

On the day we show up, the weather was too bad for the Na Pali Coast, so we had the option to do the south shore instead. We asked to do the South shore, but the captain was hoping we could cancel and reschedule because he would rather go fishing that day. We then rescheduled for the next day as while not guaranteed, weather was looking much better, so he said.

Next day, same deal, weather was to bad for the Na Pali Coast, so we went on the South Shore as the Captain had no fishing plan that day.
We did see Turtles, Whales and Dolphin but the snorkeling spot was bad, we saw a couple gray fish and that was about it. Snorkeling 30 feet of the shore on our hotel beach on Poipu offered more species and colors that this trip.

Lunch didn't make it back from anything, each 12" Subway sub was to be split by 4 people and they were all the same with olives, which is a bad choice of topping for a group.

Once day I will do the Na Pali, but I will not use that the explorer, no Na Pali and No snorkling

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views of Na Pali Coastline

Reviewed by: Travel4fun Group, 2014/07/07

Great trip but do the morning excursion only. The ocean waves and winds can be brutal in the afternoon. We did the morning trip and the ocean waves were not too bad on the way to Na Pali. We saw dolphins and turtles along the way. The coastline is beautiful!!! The snorkeling spot was good but got better the further we got away from the shore. Lunch was very good with a chicken and rice dish. On our way back we went into a cave with the boat. This was very cool. The ride back to the harbor was brutal!!! Big waves and VERY bumpy!!!! If you get sea sick easily or have a bad back or neck then this is not the excursion for you. If you want a full experience of riding the waves then sit in the front. If you want a calmer ride, sit toward the back. Overall, this was a great excursion.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AWESOME EXPERIENCE!!!! MUST DO FOR KAUAI!!!!

Reviewed by: Vicki, 2014/05/12

This was the best trip next to our helicopter ride that we took! The crew were wonderful and a lot of fun. We had great weather and a small group which allowed us more time to go further up the coast and see more of the sea caves. Up close and personal with two pods of dolphins and 2 large groups of sea turtles, so close to the boat you could reach out and touch them. The small raft was a perfect way to see this part of Kauai's coast. So much more fun than the big sailing boats. Getting in and out of the raft at the beach landing was a little tough but the crew were right there to assist you.

This was a once in a lifetime trip and well worth the time and money. Had a blast and would do it again when I come back.


  • Huge group of sea turtles right up to the boat


  • Dolphin pods swimming with us on the boat


  • Sea Turtles Galore!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is the way to see the Na Pali coast,

Reviewed by: Christian, 2014/05/06

This tour started at 9 am with a very friendly introduction of the island of kauai as well as how the coast was formed with a local flare. We set out with Captain Dennis shortly after 9:30, he and his crew did a very good job at making sure all of the guest were comfortable and relaxed. We were able to sit on both sides of the boat which made it really fun because of the splashes from the water. We cruised for about 20 minutes before we encountered spinner dolphins, whales, and we also saw a lonely sea turtle floating passed our boat. Throughout the whole trip the deckhands were telling stories, legends and filling us in all the movies that were filmed on the Na Pali coast. We were able to venture passed many waterfalls and sea caves one of which Captain Dennis backed the boat right into the cave so we all could take pictures of the inside. It seemed dangerous but the Captain was fully in control the whole time. On the way back the surf was huge so we snorkeled in a calm area in front of the coast which was crystal clear and we could see all the way to the bottom about 40 feet. One of the deckhands actually went all the way down and pulled up some sand for me bottom. Lunch was good but not great. Bento's were a bit cold from sitting in the cooler but they were still tasty, it needed shoyu and some kind of hot sauce. They ride back was comfortable the whole way with more stories being told about the living in kauai and how the alii influenced the lifestyle. The local long haired deckhand was awesome we even met a pro surfer at the coast. Definitely recommend seeing the Na Pali coast in the water instead of paying three times the amount for 1/4 of the time. Perfect way to spend the morning and afternoon.


  • Na Pali


  • Unreal feeling!!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Christian thank u so much for your review we appreciate all of your comments and welcome u back to Kauai and our Na Pali Ohana anytime! Our goal is to give the very best tour that we can always, and guests like u make it all worthwhile!!
Claire

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect morning!

Reviewed by: Lindsey, 2013/05/14

A fantastic day, the weather was spectacular and the crew was excellent. As we reached the Na Pali coast, we ran into a pod of dolphins and the boat stopped so everyone could enjoy them and take pictures before we headed up the famed coastline.

The weather was absolutely perfect, we were insanely lucky, and we were able to go into a sea cave and turn around! With enough time for about 45 minutes to snorkel and enjoy the water and a delicious lunch before we headed back to the harbor. After doing several activities in Kauai, I would most definitely recommend a visit to the Na Pali coast, it truly is as magical and awe-inspiring as everyone always says!


  • Dolphins & Na Pali


  • Na Pali Explorer


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Evan, 2012/10/05

This was a fantastic tour! While we did not get to go hike and see an ancient Hawaiian village, it was still a very enjoyable tour. The staff knows their stuff and their tidbits were great to have on the tour. I loved how manueverable the boat was, allowing us to go more places than just a regular boat, including inside a sea cave, which was awesome. The snorkeling was fun too but the fish were not very active where we were. The vistas they provided us and the information within were great... I would go back on this again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful views but unpleasant

Reviewed by: Brian, 2012/09/11

We were contacted for an "upgraded" tour at no additional cost and accepted. We were slated for a catamaran but the upgrade got us a zodiac boat. We were supposed to have 1 hour of snorkeling with the tour and with the upgrade to recieve a nicer lunch.

The trip out was bouncy but tolerable. Saw the coastline, caves and spinner dolphins which was a treat. Got the tour of the old Hawaiian and the lunch was very good.

Things deteriorated when there weren't enough snorkles for all the people! (They were two short) We were told we'd have only 30 minutes to snorkle the reef which just wasn't enough time (no explanation for the shortened snorkeling time). The trip back was brutal in the zodiac once past Barking Sands. High chop, winds and bouncing on the edge of the zodiac was particularly rough (understatement). The driver did the best he could to minimize the bouncing but we found out that the afternoon winds made the trip we expereinced very typical. It was very,very unplea

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Weather can be a variable

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/07/17

I was generous with my stars considering our unseasonably bad weather day on the seas. This was certainly not any fault of the team, but be mindful that weather can play a factor in the enjoyment. Biggest negatives of the weather:
choppy seas prevent some of the potential exploration
cloudy skies prevents the sun from heating you up as you get wet/cold from splashing water

We're pretty adventurous and rugged so the weather only notched down the enjoyment 1 level, but one person got sea sick on our trip and I am sure their enjoyment was a ZERO.

Weather aside, a great way to see the wonders of the Napali Coast and of course do some snorkeling. My wife was a first time snorkeler and she had a great time swimming with the fish and TURTLEs. Sadly no dolphins during the dive but we saw some on the boat trip.

If you've done a tour of the coast, this is not the best time spent for snorkeling, but a great combination tour and snorkeling adventure...so good value for your precious

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Experience

Reviewed by: Cassidy, 2012/07/06

My husband and I took Na Pali Coast Snorkel Cruise June 29th and had such a wonderful time! The scenes are breathtaking and we do not have enough great things to say about the Na Pali explorer staff. We were given incorrect info by the concierge at our hotel and the staff worked with us so that we were still able to experience the tour we signed up for. The boat staff was wonderful and friendly which made the whole experience very enjoyable and entertaining. We learned some Hawaiian history from the staff and we were able see dolphins and sea turtles during our cruise. Overall the cruise exceeded our expectations and I would definitely recommend the Na Pali Explorer snorkel cruises to anyone!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OMG fun!

Reviewed by: Dee, 2012/05/01

Forget my other review....that was for kayaking....this is a BLAST! The whole trip was fun but the trip back had me laughing so hard at times I couldn't breath! We wished we could have gone again! The only thing I would change is the (in my limited experience) cheap snorkels. It hurt my mouth.....otherwise all was great fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

for experienced paddlers

Reviewed by: Dee, 2012/05/01

I had only paddled on flat water & this trip was just too much for me & my husband. The guides were great, lunch was great & the beaches were lovely but paddling that far was too much for us & a few other couples. It was a real grind getting to the 2nd beach & we had a hard time keeping up even with breaks. If you are an experienced paddler you will probably have a great time but I don't recommend for beginners!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/09/27

My new wife and I had a great time. I did this tour 8 years ago with my family and had to bring my wife back to expreience it. The tour guides were awesome! Shawn was great as were all the others. Our cruise was on Sept. 20th1 It was wonderful! the views were breathtaking, the staff was great, the food was good and the snorkeling was spectacular!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

NaPali coast tour

Reviewed by: Tim and Christie, 2011/08/03

The Na Pali coast is gorgeous and something everyone should see, especially from the sea. Our boat sat 12 guests and was very fast, but smooth. I didn't get sea sick on this fast boat and didn't really even get wet! We did the beach landing and snorkeling. Snorkeling was good and the hike to the Hawaiian village was interesting and informative. I would recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fast and FUN!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/08

FAST. FUN. My family loved every minute of this tour. My kids said it was like going to an amusement park on water, thrills and adrenaline rushes and all.

We will definitely be telling our friends about it who are coming to the islands for vacation...and will most likely be back to do it again ourselves next year! thanks for a great time of fun for my family!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Quite an adventure!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2009/07/21

This was one of the highlights of my whole trip! But first the bad stuff:

Be prepared that riding in a small zodiac very quickly through the extremely bumpy, choppy Pacific Ocean is not for the faint of heart!! You're basically holding on for dear life to a rope and you're bumping and bopping all over the place as you're speeding through the ocean. And then it rains and those drops sting you're eyes as you're speeding in a boat. If you even THINK you have a sore back or neck DO NOT do this! My boyfriend and I are both in excellent shape and we both still had soreness in our backs and butts for two days afterward from the boat ride and our knuckles were rubbed raw from holding onto the rope (we should have used the gloves the captain offered us!).

But it was SO worth it!! We even boated over a whole group of dolphins and you're seeing them way up close and personal in this zodiac rather than on a big high boat. It was so amazing!! The snorkeling is wonderful, the Na Pali Coast is

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/06/15

Really liked this tour. Very informative captain, very attentive crew. Saw dolphins, and sea turtles. Beautiful scenery. Felt like a rollercoaster on the ride back. Lots of fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI