Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.34 4.34 / 5

Reviews

194 reviews
Post a review

Fern Grotto cruise experience

Reviewed by: Richard from Oahu, 2019/07/20

We appreciated the ride up to view the grotto, which everyone visiting Kaua’i should see. The best part was the music! Made me thirsty!

I highly recommend the Smith boat ride without reservation.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun ride

Reviewed by: Dave , 2019/06/11

Beautiful views. It is a lot of fun. Great entertainment. Nice people. Would recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of the river

Reviewed by: Nikki, 2019/05/22

Friendly people and nice tour with lots of information

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok.

Reviewed by: Deb D, 2019/05/02

Relatively inexpensive way to see some of the river greenery. Appreciated the history/culture narration. Lead entertainer on the way back was funny! Hula ladies don’t really seem into it, you feel like they are just doing a job and don’t necessarily enjoy it, and they seemed tired. Fern grotto a beautiful site.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting trip

Reviewed by: Martin, 2019/02/28

Excellent organization of the trip, nice music and dance, very impressive walk to fern grotto. All-in-one: Beautiful trip worth the money

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a fun boat ride.

Reviewed by: Gladys Espino, 2019/01/03

The boat felt a little outdated but the staff and the scenery made up for it. Our girls had fun riding the boat, watching the hula dancers, and learning about some history.

  • Here's a picture of a waterfall at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Activity!

Reviewed by: Chuck&Vickie, 2018/09/27

This was a great activity. The boat ride was great. The captain's commentary was insightful and the scenery was beautiful. The entertainment was also very good.

  • At the Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great option to see Wailua river and Fern Grotto for those not kayaking

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

5 years ago I came to Kauai and kayaked up the Wailua river. This time I'm taking family here who are not all physically fit and it would be a pity if there was no other way to see the Wailua river and Fern Grotto! Fortunately there's Smith's River Cruise! It offers a relaxing way to see the river, take a boat ride, and walk around the Fern Grotto. Well worth the ticket price! You also get to see a fun performance by the crew there and on the boat ride back, and get to join in the dancing.

  • Performance at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Oahu Vacationers, 2017/11/15

We had to U-turn few mins late since GPS couldn’t find the Wailua Marina location - Waze app had “Wailua River State Park” but it took us down a tiny steep road... luckily we arrived on time for the 11am tour. Had great photos along the way! Enjoyed the boat ride; aside from the humidity and brown muddy water due to the rain night before...bring a fan or baby wipes. We saw 2 kayakers and 2 paddle boarders. Nice boat attendees and Hawaiian musicians. A lovely, less than 2 hr tour with lots of time to explore rest of the island! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our trip to the Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Tom H., 2017/11/06

It was definitely worth the time to visit the Fern Grotto. It was enjoyable and we even got a bit of Hawaiian history!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Smith Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Janet, 2017/05/24

This was a very throw back to the past type of experience. Simple fun, nice people, old fashioned hospitality. The river is in full sun, would not recommend kayak option..not enough interesting flora along the way. Hula and Hawaiian music on the boat ride fun. Fern Grotto was devastated in 1992 and a shadow of it's former glory. Guide gave good local information in an entertaining sort of presentation. I'd take grandma and grandpa or very young kids on this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely ride

Reviewed by: Chris P, 2017/05/20

Smooth, interesting and all round pleasant ride to a beautiful place.

  • Cruisin

  • Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early Bird Gets the Best Tour!

Reviewed by: Annette , 2017/05/09

Who could pass up a tradition of Hawaiian tourism that has been in operation since 1947?! The Smith family was awesome. They were very friendly and kind. We were fortunate to be on the first boat of the day and in a small group. The morning was cool yet very comfortable. While we waited for our tour to start, the on-board talented trio of musicians were taking requests, joking and visiting with the passengers. Once on the river, the captain gave us an overview of the points of interests along the way as we passed stand-up-paddle boarders and kayakers enjoying the quiet river too. We were treated to a beautiful hula demonstration, native music and an improv hula lesson! After a short walk to the grotto, our "guide" explained some of the history and folk lore about the grotto, afterwards, they sang the Hawaiian Wedding song to us. It would be fun to go back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!!

Reviewed by: ohiofirekids, 2017/02/11

He most beatiful views I have ever seen!!....will definitely return!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

The Smiths river boat trip to the Fern Grotto was wonderful. We loved the live entertainment, they were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau ever

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

We have been to Luau's on all the islands but none of them can compare to the Smiths. The place is gorgeous. We felt like we were walking around in Disneyland. The food, service and show was excellent!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good entertainment

Reviewed by: Kansas620, 2016/09/08

The staff and Captain were very nice. The musicians were outstanding! Loved the walk back to the boat, down the path through rain forest. A little disappointed in the viewing distance from the Fern Grotto. It was explained that in 2006, the area received torrential rainfall and suffered a mudslide. Since that time they had to built back the tour area, which means a viewing stage/deck, quite a ways away from the Fern Grotto itself. You can no longer go to the mouth of the cave, and pictures did not turn out well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2016/08/27

Such a beautiful part of the island! We had a great time on the tour, our guides were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice relaxing ride on the Waimea River

Reviewed by: Jackie Benavidez, 2016/08/22

We took the morning tour and really enjoyed it. We were entertained by musicians on our way to the Grotto and was even taught a simple hula dance. The Grotto was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the history lesson of the area. I would definitely take this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern grotto

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2016/08/09

Enjoyed the relaxing boat ride. The ride back was extra fun with music and my crazy mom who got up and intertained everyone aboard. The workers seemed to enjoy it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Boat ride and laua

Reviewed by: Bob D, 2016/07/23

Lots of fun. Entertainment was great. Narrative was very informative. Grotto was awesome. We included the laua which was most fantastic. Food beverage and entertainment was great. My first laua and my best. Thank you for a great evening. All the staff were very friendly

  • Beautiful

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Poi

Reviewed by: Angie, 2016/07/04

Extremely pleasant, and affordable. Beautiful, must see fern grotto. We ate our imaginary Poi.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Iz like performer

Reviewed by: Nhids, 2016/04/24

This 1 1/2 hr activity is really good for those who doesn't have upper body strength to do kayak to get to grotto which is a beautiful mystical place. The whole family enjoyed very much the ride and the entertainment whose voice is the future IZ. The staff were all awesome! Thank you all for making our day great!

  • My mom a few more steps to the grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING! If you haven't booked a luau this trip Do THE CRUISE!

Reviewed by: Maren, 2016/03/14

When we booked our trip to HI my husband had been 3-4 times already. I hadn't been at all. He convinced me not to book a luau. We really like food and figured we'd save the money for something else. Once we got to HI I was really-really bummed we didn't have a luau on the docket, and it was too late to book anything.

This cruise was amazing and once we did it we weren't so bummed about missing the luau. The cruise is so peaceful. The guide is a smith family member and his family owns the land surrounding the river. He knows so much about the land and has tons of stories he tells while you cruise up and down the river.

You stop at the fern grotto, which is so cool. It's a must see on any trip to Kauai. The musicians on the cruise play songs and play a special song to people who have just gotten married or celebrating anniversaries.

Then on the ride back the musicians play native songs. It's the next best thing to a luau.

Already did it once but will do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful tour

Reviewed by: Melissa & Pat , 2016/03/10

A must if in Kauai... Beautiful sights and a wonderful staff!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Glen Hayden, 2015/10/25

A great way to spend an afternoon. A slow relaxing ride up the river with a leisurely stroll through the tropical plants to the grotto. Once at the grotto the songs of Kauai serenade you while the beautiful and awe inspiring sites fill your senses.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Average boat tour

Reviewed by: Lucie, 2015/09/22

This was 2 hour boat tour to Fern Grotto and back with live music. The tour was average, nothing special.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Laua Ever!

Reviewed by: Family of Five, 2015/07/16

The Smith Family Laua will not disappoint! I've seen five Lauas and this was far superior to all others! Food and the show was amazing! The grounds of the facility were very beautiful and the tram ride showed all the land had to offer! Many photo opportunities! The Fern Gratto was beautiful and the musicians were great! Very pretty!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do

Reviewed by: Diane, 2015/07/13

Driver picked us up so we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving, fun and informative boat ride to Fern Grotto with music, singing and dancing then delivered right on time to the Luau and brought back to our condo afterwards......Al fun, no worry

  • Fun fun

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2014/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cruisin' down the river

Reviewed by: Bud & Babe, 2015/05/03

Excellent! Good music, good stories, wonderful local flavor!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]