Smith's Kauai Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Kauai Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.42 4.42 / 5

Reviews

281 reviews
Post a review

Fun Day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

Beautiful natural scenery! Good little quick filler!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Janice

Reviewed by: Janice, 2022/11/18

This was a great tour. The guide was knowledgeable as well as humorous. I also enjoyed the music and dance. Great tour for the price!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith’s Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: BarbW, 2022/11/05

This boat ride was amazing. The entertainment was very good with Hawaiian hula dancing and singing. When we got to the grotto it was a short easy walk and once again we were entertained at the grotto where Elvis sang in the movie Blue Hawaii. On the trip back down river one of our guides gave us lots of history of the area including places where movies had been filmed.
It was a very pleasant morning and would recommend Smith’s Fern Grotto tours to everyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto River Cruise

Reviewed by: John, 2022/11/05

Very Nice, Relaxing Cruise for anyone too take. Everyone should do it one time, while Visiting Kauai.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful scenery, fun staff

Reviewed by: Gayle , 2022/10/22

Pleasant boat ride with interesting history and fun staff. Fern Grotto beautiful and unique. I would recommend to my friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/10/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A relaxing time

Reviewed by: Greg & Susie , 2022/10/15

A relaxing time to check out the river and the grotto. The live entertainment in the boat was too and the history telling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grotto Tour

Reviewed by: Grotto Gang, 2022/10/15

It was a beautiful tour, so much fun and I learned a lot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly Recommend

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2022/10/14

We had an fun time one the short river cruise. Learned some history, saw beautiful views, heard wonderful live Hawaiian music and watch hula dancing. Very fun.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and easy adventure

Reviewed by: Tami Lake, 2022/10/08

This cruise was so much fun. It started off with the tour guide walking us through so interesting facts. The staff was really funny. They made you feel comfortable. The hula dancer was really good. When the boat landed at the trail, it was really easy. It’s a good tour for elderly or those that are physically challenged. I say this because the hike is more like a short walk on a maintained path. It was great and very inexpensive.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun, relaxed, scenic trip

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2022/09/25

Easy excursion for anybody! Pleasant entertainment and beautiful walk through manicured path to view Fern Grotto Cave. The help was very friendly to me - especially the guy who kept calling me Mrs. LaRusso since I have a strong NY accent.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour for family!

Reviewed by: Pranee , 2022/09/24

Very nice tour and staff. Me and my family enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and educative few hours on the river - amazing scenery and we learnt the hula too

Reviewed by: Pete and Shelley , 2022/09/17

This was an amazing afternoon on a river cruise x the scenery was so beautiful. Smiths team were entertaining and amazing historians they taught us loads about the river and the area round it the Ukelele plying and traditional dance including Hula felt so special. This was worth every dollar spent .

  • Fern grotto

  • Hula dancing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Fun!

Reviewed by: Vmp, 2022/09/11

My second river cruise and enjoyed the commentary and musical entertainment. The last time I was here, the barriers hadn't been put up around the Groto, though.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto River cruise

Reviewed by: North Idahoans, 2022/09/11

Very relaxing cruise up the river. Beautiful scenery. Very friendly and helpful staff. Also enjoyed the witty sense of humor on the commentaries. The trail is not the best for the elderly and spots on the trail were difficult to maneuver a walker so highly suggest a wheelchair instead, but the scenery was well-worth the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto in Kauai, Hawaii

Reviewed by: CDM, 2022/09/10

The large deck for viewing was definitely a plus from when I was there back in 2007. Just a little disappointing that the frems were so few. I guess that hurricane did more damage to the environment then I thought.
Music was wonderful as always.
Boat ride also pleasant. Guide giving information about the area along the river was very helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful area, but nothing spectacular.

Reviewed by: Matthew , 2022/09/09

Overall we enjoyed the Fern Grotto tour but nothing spectacular about it. Entertainment coming back was light and fun. Grotto itself was just OK.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful area to see

Reviewed by: Tammy, 2022/09/04

Good knowledgeable staff. Friendly. Shorter than what we expected. We read it would be 2 hours and we felt rushed out of there because another group was there waiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful hidden spot

Reviewed by: Laura J, 2022/09/02

This is a short tour of the Wailua River to get to the fantastic fern grotto, surrounded by beautiful trees, plants, and flowers. The entertainment was particularly good on our way back, where we learned some hula moves and danced to live music.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely tour

Reviewed by: Spiker Family, 2022/08/31

Informative cruise given by The Smith family. Bring sturdier shoes than flip flops because the jungle mixed with sporadic rain showers make a slippery path. My daughter loved the live interactive entertainment. Overall good time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing, but go earlier.

Reviewed by: Brenda, 2022/08/29

It was a relaxing activity and great for littles, but I could sense the tiredness in the crew because we took the last tour of the day. Best to go earlier in the day. Also, be warned to bring bug spray with you on the jungle walk to the fern grotto! Fern grotto was beautiful, but hard to hear explanations over arguing children. Haha. Maybe it would be easier if thye had a loud speaker or megaphone at the fern grotto?

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect adventure

Reviewed by: Alexandra , 2022/08/28

The staff was amazing and I feel so lucky they shared this magic of their island with us.
The performance on the boat was incredible. We learned so much and just loved every minute

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Gritto

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2022/08/14

We had a fun time! Good storytelling, singing, and hula dancing! Would recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience.

Reviewed by: Karen, 2022/08/08

It was our second time after 12 years and still is a great experience. Warm welcome to all the staff and very knowledgeable.
Worth the price too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith’s River Cruise

Reviewed by: Alex Hernandez, 2022/08/03

Great excursion to share with family, friends of all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

40 Years Later

Reviewed by: MEB, 2022/07/30

While on this trip, we celebrated our 40th anniversary. We took the Wilua river cruise to the Fern Grotto 40 years ago on our honeymoon, and I'm happy to say that the best parts of this experience have not changed.
We were happy with the new decking in the Grotto, I only wish that they had wheel chairs available at the Grotto. My wife was unable to make it all the way to the main platform, so she missed out on the best part. Our main goal was four our three daughters and our grandson to see it, and they did!
Thank you for another great experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Fun

Reviewed by: Diane G, 2022/07/28

We've been to the Fern Grotto many times and love it every time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun cruise with a short walking tour

Reviewed by: Laura, 2022/07/28

Lovely cruise provided by great staff with hula, singing, music, story telling, walking tour, and an overall great time. Bring water, sunscreen and possibly bug repellent. Will do this again next time we are on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith’s Wailua River cruise to fern grotto with live entertainment/River cruise package

Reviewed by: Carolyn, 2022/07/23

Great trip for any one that has problems walking or doing large hikes. Nice boat ride as you see nature along with kayakers . The more adventurous people would probably prefer that method of seeing the area. On the boat they taught a hula dance. Gave some interesting info on the walk. It is an easy trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Grandpa, 2022/07/22

My family went on this excursion to the Grotto because it looked so good in the brochures. The boat ride up and back was the best part in my opinion. The workers on the boat were very entertaining and told the history of the river and the Grotto.
On the way back they let us place our flowers in the river and tell a little about our mother who had passed away just a few days prior to this part of our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best ever tour for the money

Reviewed by: Lorraine and Vikki , 2022/07/20

My wife and I enjoyed this tour more than all of the others. It was a beautiful, leisurely trip down the river to Fern Grotto. The scenery, and entertainment was wonderful! $30 per person is the best deal on the entire island. Don’t forget to tip.

  • The Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]