This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Good for a rainy day!

Reviewed by: Christy, 2018/02/28

It was something to do on a rainy day to fill a couple hours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaaaah-amazing

Reviewed by: Sararose, 2018/02/11

The cruise was amazing. Very relaxing and welcoming. The crew, including all singers/dancers/captains, was phenomenal!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great option to see Wailua river and Fern Grotto for those not kayaking

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

5 years ago I came to Kauai and kayaked up the Wailua river. This time I'm taking family here who are not all physically fit and it would be a pity if there was no other way to see the Wailua river and Fern Grotto! Fortunately there's Smith's River Cruise! It offers a relaxing way to see the river, take a boat ride, and walk around the Fern Grotto. Well worth the ticket price! You also get to see a fun performance by the crew there and on the boat ride back, and get to join in the dancing.


  • Performance at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Oahu Vacationers, 2017/11/15

We had to U-turn few mins late since GPS couldn’t find the Wailua Marina location - Waze app had “Wailua River State Park” but it took us down a tiny steep road... luckily we arrived on time for the 11am tour. Had great photos along the way! Enjoyed the boat ride; aside from the humidity and brown muddy water due to the rain night before...bring a fan or baby wipes. We saw 2 kayakers and 2 paddle boarders. Nice boat attendees and Hawaiian musicians. A lovely, less than 2 hr tour with lots of time to explore rest of the island! Mahalo!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our trip to the Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Tom H., 2017/11/06

It was definitely worth the time to visit the Fern Grotto. It was enjoyable and we even got a bit of Hawaiian history!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do in Kaua'i!

Reviewed by: TjHensley, 2017/08/10

''This is the second time we have been on the Fern Grotto adventure. Beautiful place and you learn something too! Thank you for sharing your family history Smith Family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Smith Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Janet, 2017/05/24

This was a very throw back to the past type of experience. Simple fun, nice people, old fashioned hospitality. The river is in full sun, would not recommend kayak option..not enough interesting flora along the way. Hula and Hawaiian music on the boat ride fun. Fern Grotto was devastated in 1992 and a shadow of it's former glory. Guide gave good local information in an entertaining sort of presentation. I'd take grandma and grandpa or very young kids on this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely ride

Reviewed by: Chris P, 2017/05/20

Smooth, interesting and all round pleasant ride to a beautiful place.


  • Cruisin


  • Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early Bird Gets the Best Tour!

Reviewed by: Annette , 2017/05/09

Who could pass up a tradition of Hawaiian tourism that has been in operation since 1947?! The Smith family was awesome. They were very friendly and kind. We were fortunate to be on the first boat of the day and in a small group. The morning was cool yet very comfortable. While we waited for our tour to start, the on-board talented trio of musicians were taking requests, joking and visiting with the passengers. Once on the river, the captain gave us an overview of the points of interests along the way as we passed stand-up-paddle boarders and kayakers enjoying the quiet river too. We were treated to a beautiful hula demonstration, native music and an improv hula lesson! After a short walk to the grotto, our "guide" explained some of the history and folk lore about the grotto, afterwards, they sang the Hawaiian Wedding song to us. It would be fun to go back again!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Informative

Reviewed by: Amy, 2017/04/21

It was lots of fun and informative. The staff was really nice and it was a very kid friendly adventure

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I just don't enjoy large group tours

Reviewed by: Linsey, 2017/03/26

This is a great tour for those that want an easy, non-strenuous ride up and back on the river. I just did not enjoy being packed in with that many people to see the attraction after hiking and adventuring all week and then going on a garden tour directly before this one. I thought it was the only way to get to the grotto, and didn't like being herded in a huge group to see the ferns and hurry and take a photo. We really wished we knew that renting kayaks from the same company was an option because that looked way more our style. Aside from that, the staff was nice and gave an informative tour and musical entertainment for the ride. Best suited for older or more conservative tourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice boat tour

Reviewed by: Lois jenken, 2017/03/25

Enjoyed the river cruise very much
It was nice to see some traditional dancers and music and the grotto was definitely worth seeing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

January Hawaii trip

Reviewed by: Neal Reader, 2017/02/27

Beautiful boat trip up the Wailua River, scenery and stories of the area spectacular.
Fern Grotto an incredible natural creation. Well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice side trip

Reviewed by: Ron M, 2017/02/18

Nice river cruise. Did it before going to our Luau next door

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: RobertH, 2017/02/17

The location was very hard to find. Price was fair. The man entertaining was kinda corny. I was expecting more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Leslie B., 2017/02/16

Four of us thoroughly enjoyed the river cruise to fern grotto and Smith Family Luau experience afterwards. We had researched luaus on the Hawaiian Islands, and I am convinced we found the ideal one. Loved the gardens and cultural dance show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!!

Reviewed by: ohiofirekids, 2017/02/11

He most beatiful views I have ever seen!!....will definitely return!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth Every Penny

Reviewed by: Virginia , 2017/01/13

Such a great experience- travel up the Wailua River, learn about history (Hawaiian and movie), visit the beautiful fern grotto, and learn the hula on your boat ride back to the dock. Easygoing and enchanting, photographic and peaceful.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Majestic

Reviewed by: Shandzl, 2017/01/09

Wow, what a wonderful experience! The fern grotto was breathtaking and I loved how they taught us how to hula!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great activity

Reviewed by: Phil, 2017/01/07

Nice crew, entertainment (Hula and hawaiian music)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely cruise in Nature

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/27

On a lovely sunny morning the cruise up the Wailua river to the Fern Grotto was a lovely experience. The entertainment was delightful and all staff friendly and helpful. Explanations about the history and nature were good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed this!

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/26

Beautiful, interesting, very enjoyable. Crew were wonderful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

The Smiths river boat trip to the Fern Grotto was wonderful. We loved the live entertainment, they were great.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau ever

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

We have been to Luau's on all the islands but none of them can compare to the Smiths. The place is gorgeous. We felt like we were walking around in Disneyland. The food, service and show was excellent!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th birthday luau

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

What a fabulous time! Loved this luaua show. It was best I've seen! Ate way too much but thoroughly enjoyed my evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th bday

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

Enjoyed trip up river much. Very nice crew. I wish they knew more about physical science of area. The history they shared was great. thx!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River cruise

Reviewed by: Gary & Elvia, 2016/10/22

It was nice, although it was short. I rented a kayak for the same river. Hindsight I should of did my homework.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

relax and enjoy

Reviewed by: Happy camper, 2016/09/27

My wife and I loved the quite trip down the river the music was great and the scenery was beautiful. Highly recommend to all looking to relax and escape it all!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Peter, 2016/09/25

Hurricane Iniki did in the fern grotto which I had not been aware of so was disappointed in that as it was always so beautiful. Other than that the river ride is always nice and Wailua such a beautiful place. The crew and entertainers were delightful and all in all it's a fun ride but as I said the fern grotto which is what most come to see was pretty much done in my mother nature. I had been on this ride more than once and first time as a child as my father was born in Lihue so I knew the grotto as it had been years ago so this most likely is what led me to my disappointment but first time goers will still find it a lovely trip and fun for all. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride!

Reviewed by: TraveLpro, 2016/09/09

This activity works for the whole family. The river is lovely and passengers get a bit of entertainment and a bit of history.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |