Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.37 4.37 / 5

Reviews

219 reviews
Post a review

River Excursion

Reviewed by: Arizona, 2021/11/28

Good way to spend a couple of hours meandering down a river.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family tour

Reviewed by: :-), 2021/11/14

We have two toddlers so this was a nice adventure to take with little ones. The fern grotto is beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun. Sort of hokey!

Reviewed by: CurlyQ, 2021/11/10

Nice boat ride and walk to the fern grotto. The customers on board got into the group songs and their hand movements. A good family outing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Value nice trip with the kids and grandkids.

Reviewed by: mitch, 2021/10/30

Nice cruise, lots of fun info and entertainment and a great trip for the value.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent crew and talent, Fern Grotto not truly accessible

Reviewed by: Michele, 2021/10/17

Our group of 4, aged 50s to 70s, very much enjoyed the entertainment and river history. One of our group was in a wheelchair. Bathrooms were accessible but the ramp to see Fern Grotto was so steep that 2 of us chose bathrooms over seeing that trip endpoint. This excursion is the best value on the island. Book it!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/10/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Relaxing with good humor

Reviewed by: Linda, 2021/10/03

Captain on cruise was very informative and relaxed. He made the cruise more enjoyable. The young man who sang had excellent humor and a great voice for the songs he sang. The ladies were doing their job. Hula was beautiful and graceful

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/09/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So worth it!

Reviewed by: Catharina , 2021/09/27

Great short cruise for the money, even includes entertainment. We loved it! We would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very enjoyable river cruise

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2021/09/21

Great opportunity to sit back, relax and enjoy and hour and 20 minutes on the Wailua River and “getting married” at the Fern Grotto. The music and hula dancing on the journey up the river added a wonderful ambiance and the history and information on movies filmed on and around the Wailua on the way back was very informative. All in all a wonderful addition to our trip to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lynsan

Reviewed by: Lynn M, 2021/09/06

We had not been to the fern grotto in 25 years. It is more beautiful and serene then we remember. The staff a Smith's are welcoming and deliver a fun trip. We like the music and the Capitan's narrative explaining the area.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/08/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aloha ! Remarkable performances by the musicians and Aloha dancers

Reviewed by: Hazel De Leon, 2021/09/02

Aloha ! Remarkable performances by the musicians and Aloha dancers. A very entertaining group! My family was amazed all througout the river cruise. The walk to the Fern Grotto was a unique experience because the beauty of the lush and large tropical plants was amazing and beautiful. Overall, an exciting experience to see a beautiful garden ( Fern Grotto) . It is very well recommended to have the river cruise and if we come back to Kauai, we will do the Wailua river cruise again.

  • Beautiful Fern Grotto

  • A lush garden

  • At the Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and Friendly

Reviewed by: Monica, 2021/09/01

We went with our 22 month old baby. They are family friendly and fun. Made the boat ride easier to handle with a toddler with the hula dance and jokes. They seemed authentic. The cave was beautiful as well. Good to take kissing pics.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2021/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great River Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Cmm, 2021/07/09

The Wailua river cruise to the fern grotto was fun. I really enjoyed the music/entertainment on the boat to the grotto. My whole family was memorized looking at the fern grotto. Definitely a good tour for family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2021/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Inexpensive and Fun Time

Reviewed by: Cookie , 2021/06/17

This was a quick sightseeing adventure that was worth the cost. The boat trip was relaxing with authentic music one way and informative talk the other way to and from the Fern Grotto. The Fern Grotto is not as impressive as it once was due to storms that have torn away some of the older, longer ferns, but it was still worth the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2021/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting and beautiful

Reviewed by: Mamacreamz , 2020/03/28

This is a wonderful tour. The boat is comfortable and a mild ride for all ages. The waterfall and fern grotto are beautiful. You receive history of the area and enjoy Hawaiian song and dance. There is time to walk around and enjoy the beauty

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fern grotto river cruise

Reviewed by: lorna brewer, 2020/02/15

the folks involved were friendly, informative and fun.
the scenery was lovely and the grotto very unique
the music on the way back and the dancing was great and even got to practice ourselves
the weather could have been better but no control over that

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Leisure Cruise

Reviewed by: Terrible Trío , 2020/02/01

Had an awesome time. Crew was friendly and the singers were great!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family ‘20

Reviewed by: SAGER , 2020/02/01

Amazing views and relaxing. Truly enjoyable! Great for everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Shaza, 2020/01/18

Gorgeous views in that island
Drive is easy and welcoming staff there

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: June, 2020/01/18

We had a wonderful time. Very enjoyable smooth ride in the river. The foliage was very pretty. Easy walk to the grotto. It was fun before when you could go up in the grotto. Enjoyed the singers and hula dancer. Would definitely recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Lois Bloom, 2020/01/15

We enjoyed the beautiful scenery and narrative. Disappointed that we couldn’t go to cave,just on platform for a look.
Did this tour years ago and got to sit up in caves and was more impressive..

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith family does amazing job with style

Reviewed by: Lisa Fleishman , 2020/01/06

Smith family knows how to do everything with style class and professionalism.. always a great family time. Everyone knows how to make you feel apart of everything

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a nice tour.

Reviewed by: MoniqueS, 2020/01/02

The boat was interesting. The hula dance experience on the way back improved the overall tour. It was hard to enjoy the Fern Grove because you are crowded with many people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A warm and welcoming crew

Reviewed by: Lesli Takasugi, 2019/12/22

This was our first time visiting the lovely Fern Grotto, and we had a wonderful time. The crew were so sweet, especially with our daughter who got into one of the local plants that made her cry and tongue swell. They performed hula and sang beautifully, playing to the children on board. We highly recommend this short river boat ride for families with young kids.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Cruise

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2019/11/08

A very nice peaceful river ride. Enjoyed the history discussion on cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice

Reviewed by: Grandmas antiques, 2019/08/25

We had a great time and what was the show in a European movie theater in the morning here in london on the way out hades was a bit like a ride to get the little one..made of

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fernandez Grotto River Cruise

Reviewed by: Yvette , 2019/08/17

It was a nice cruise throught the river to see the Grotto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice and relaxing!

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2019/08/01

It was a nice family outing. It was relaxing boat tour. One way we had musicians, singer and dancer. In the other direction there was an interesting commentary. Got off the boat to see Fern Grotto. Good price vs quality!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Entertaining and silly

Reviewed by: Dee, 2019/07/26

The Smith's family is awesome and entertaining. Wear mosquito repellent when going, just a taught. They sing and entertain as you travel up the fern grotto and had us all doing the hoki pokie. We will be doing their luau too so we'll let you know how it goes!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto cruise experience

Reviewed by: Richard from Oahu, 2019/07/20

We appreciated the ride up to view the grotto, which everyone visiting Kaua’i should see. The best part was the music! Made me thirsty!

I highly recommend the Smith boat ride without reservation.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great entertainment, informative guide very fun!!!

Reviewed by: Laura Ryman , 2019/07/09

This was a great trip. Informative Guide, beautiful walk up to the fern canyon. Great entertainment all around fun. The hula lesson was fun too!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]