Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

A must do in Kaua'i!

Reviewed by: TjHensley, 2017/08/10

''This is the second time we have been on the Fern Grotto adventure. Beautiful place and you learn something too! Thank you for sharing your family history Smith Family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Smith Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Janet, 2017/05/24

This was a very throw back to the past type of experience. Simple fun, nice people, old fashioned hospitality. The river is in full sun, would not recommend kayak option..not enough interesting flora along the way. Hula and Hawaiian music on the boat ride fun. Fern Grotto was devastated in 1992 and a shadow of it's former glory. Guide gave good local information in an entertaining sort of presentation. I'd take grandma and grandpa or very young kids on this tour.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely ride

Reviewed by: Chris P, 2017/05/20

Smooth, interesting and all round pleasant ride to a beautiful place.


  • Cruisin


  • Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early Bird Gets the Best Tour!

Reviewed by: Annette , 2017/05/09

Who could pass up a tradition of Hawaiian tourism that has been in operation since 1947?! The Smith family was awesome. They were very friendly and kind. We were fortunate to be on the first boat of the day and in a small group. The morning was cool yet very comfortable. While we waited for our tour to start, the on-board talented trio of musicians were taking requests, joking and visiting with the passengers. Once on the river, the captain gave us an overview of the points of interests along the way as we passed stand-up-paddle boarders and kayakers enjoying the quiet river too. We were treated to a beautiful hula demonstration, native music and an improv hula lesson! After a short walk to the grotto, our "guide" explained some of the history and folk lore about the grotto, afterwards, they sang the Hawaiian Wedding song to us. It would be fun to go back again!



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Informative

Reviewed by: Amy, 2017/04/21

It was lots of fun and informative. The staff was really nice and it was a very kid friendly adventure

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I just don't enjoy large group tours

Reviewed by: Linsey, 2017/03/26

This is a great tour for those that want an easy, non-strenuous ride up and back on the river. I just did not enjoy being packed in with that many people to see the attraction after hiking and adventuring all week and then going on a garden tour directly before this one. I thought it was the only way to get to the grotto, and didn't like being herded in a huge group to see the ferns and hurry and take a photo. We really wished we knew that renting kayaks from the same company was an option because that looked way more our style. Aside from that, the staff was nice and gave an informative tour and musical entertainment for the ride. Best suited for older or more conservative tourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice boat tour

Reviewed by: Lois jenken, 2017/03/25

Enjoyed the river cruise very much
It was nice to see some traditional dancers and music and the grotto was definitely worth seeing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

January Hawaii trip

Reviewed by: Neal Reader, 2017/02/27

Beautiful boat trip up the Wailua River, scenery and stories of the area spectacular.
Fern Grotto an incredible natural creation. Well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice side trip

Reviewed by: Ron M, 2017/02/18

Nice river cruise. Did it before going to our Luau next door

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: RobertH, 2017/02/17

The location was very hard to find. Price was fair. The man entertaining was kinda corny. I was expecting more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Leslie B., 2017/02/16

Four of us thoroughly enjoyed the river cruise to fern grotto and Smith Family Luau experience afterwards. We had researched luaus on the Hawaiian Islands, and I am convinced we found the ideal one. Loved the gardens and cultural dance show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!!

Reviewed by: ohiofirekids, 2017/02/11

He most beatiful views I have ever seen!!....will definitely return!!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth Every Penny

Reviewed by: Virginia , 2017/01/13

Such a great experience- travel up the Wailua River, learn about history (Hawaiian and movie), visit the beautiful fern grotto, and learn the hula on your boat ride back to the dock. Easygoing and enchanting, photographic and peaceful.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/01/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Majestic

Reviewed by: Shandzl, 2017/01/09

Wow, what a wonderful experience! The fern grotto was breathtaking and I loved how they taught us how to hula!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great activity

Reviewed by: Phil, 2017/01/07

Nice crew, entertainment (Hula and hawaiian music)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely cruise in Nature

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/27

On a lovely sunny morning the cruise up the Wailua river to the Fern Grotto was a lovely experience. The entertainment was delightful and all staff friendly and helpful. Explanations about the history and nature were good.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoyed this!

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2016/12/26

Beautiful, interesting, very enjoyable. Crew were wonderful!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

The Smiths river boat trip to the Fern Grotto was wonderful. We loved the live entertainment, they were great.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Luau ever

Reviewed by: Linda, 2016/12/19

We have been to Luau's on all the islands but none of them can compare to the Smiths. The place is gorgeous. We felt like we were walking around in Disneyland. The food, service and show was excellent!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th birthday luau

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

What a fabulous time! Loved this luaua show. It was best I've seen! Ate way too much but thoroughly enjoyed my evening!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My 50th bday

Reviewed by: Cmai, 2016/12/06

Enjoyed trip up river much. Very nice crew. I wish they knew more about physical science of area. The history they shared was great. thx!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/12/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River cruise

Reviewed by: Gary & Elvia, 2016/10/22

It was nice, although it was short. I rented a kayak for the same river. Hindsight I should of did my homework.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

relax and enjoy

Reviewed by: Happy camper, 2016/09/27

My wife and I loved the quite trip down the river the music was great and the scenery was beautiful. Highly recommend to all looking to relax and escape it all!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Peter, 2016/09/25

Hurricane Iniki did in the fern grotto which I had not been aware of so was disappointed in that as it was always so beautiful. Other than that the river ride is always nice and Wailua such a beautiful place. The crew and entertainers were delightful and all in all it's a fun ride but as I said the fern grotto which is what most come to see was pretty much done in my mother nature. I had been on this ride more than once and first time as a child as my father was born in Lihue so I knew the grotto as it had been years ago so this most likely is what led me to my disappointment but first time goers will still find it a lovely trip and fun for all. Aloha

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride!

Reviewed by: TraveLpro, 2016/09/09

This activity works for the whole family. The river is lovely and passengers get a bit of entertainment and a bit of history.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good entertainment

Reviewed by: Kansas620, 2016/09/08

The staff and Captain were very nice. The musicians were outstanding! Loved the walk back to the boat, down the path through rain forest. A little disappointed in the viewing distance from the Fern Grotto. It was explained that in 2006, the area received torrential rainfall and suffered a mudslide. Since that time they had to built back the tour area, which means a viewing stage/deck, quite a ways away from the Fern Grotto itself. You can no longer go to the mouth of the cave, and pictures did not turn out well.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful!

Reviewed by: Deb, 2016/08/27

Such a beautiful part of the island! We had a great time on the tour, our guides were amazing.


Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice relaxing ride on the Waimea River

Reviewed by: Jackie Benavidez, 2016/08/22

We took the morning tour and really enjoyed it. We were entertained by musicians on our way to the Grotto and was even taught a simple hula dance. The Grotto was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed the history lesson of the area. I would definitely take this tour again.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do Activity on Kauai!

Reviewed by: Jackie, 2016/08/13

This was my 3rd trip to Fern Grotto over the years and it never disappoints! The entertainment is awesome! Everyone is so friendly and accommodating! There were 18 of us on this trip and most were first timers, they loved it! Can't come to Kauai and not see the Fern Grotto!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern grotto

Reviewed by: Tiff, 2016/08/09

Enjoyed the relaxing boat ride. The ride back was extra fun with music and my crazy mom who got up and intertained everyone aboard. The workers seemed to enjoy it.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 |
Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI