This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment

Overall Rating

4.33 4.33 / 5

Reviews

189 reviews
Post a review

Great entertainment, informative guide very fun!!!

Reviewed by: Laura Ryman , 2019/07/09

This was a great trip. Informative Guide, beautiful walk up to the fern canyon. Great entertainment all around fun. The hula lesson was fun too!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a lot of fun with views of nature’s beauty

Reviewed by: R&R family , 2019/06/27

The crew members were great entertainment and informative. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun ride

Reviewed by: Dave , 2019/06/11

Beautiful views. It is a lot of fun. Great entertainment. Nice people. Would recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Last Trip

Reviewed by: Joe Mays, 2019/06/10

The trip was great, the entertainment was great.Enjoyed all there was to see and would be great for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of the river

Reviewed by: Nikki, 2019/05/22

Friendly people and nice tour with lots of information

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun beautiful and quick

Reviewed by: CRL, 2019/05/11

Great and fun trip and just takes a couple of hours

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok.

Reviewed by: Deb D, 2019/05/02

Relatively inexpensive way to see some of the river greenery. Appreciated the history/culture narration. Lead entertainer on the way back was funny! Hula ladies don’t really seem into it, you feel like they are just doing a job and don’t necessarily enjoy it, and they seemed tired. Fern grotto a beautiful site.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A romantic river rendezvous

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/04/10

Wedding ceremonies have been held at the fern grotto for decades. It's a historic and beautiful spot to get married or renew your vows. We didn't know this before arriving but it was a special surprise since my fiance proposed the day before. The cruise to the fern grotto was the perfect way to end our vacation in Kauai. Even if you're not going for a wedding, you'll get to hear and watch Hawaiian singers and musicians perform a traditional Hawaiian wedding song. So whether you're celebrating an engagement, a honeymoon, or 50 years of marriage, this beautiful destination will fill your heart with love. I'm so glad we did this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting trip

Reviewed by: Martin, 2019/02/28

Excellent organization of the trip, nice music and dance, very impressive walk to fern grotto. All-in-one: Beautiful trip worth the money

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a fun boat ride.

Reviewed by: Gladys Espino, 2019/01/03

The boat felt a little outdated but the staff and the scenery made up for it. Our girls had fun riding the boat, watching the hula dancers, and learning about some history.

  • Here's a picture of a waterfall at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: T. Hasko, 2018/11/10

Great little boat ride to the beautiful fern grotto! I loved the song and little hike up. The tour guide was wonderful we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Activity!

Reviewed by: Chuck&Vickie, 2018/09/27

This was a great activity. The boat ride was great. The captain's commentary was insightful and the scenery was beautiful. The entertainment was also very good.

  • At the Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Lola, 2018/07/04

The river is lovely and the grotto too - this activity is very affordable compared to many tourist attractions

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grotto cruise

Reviewed by: Darlene, 2018/05/25

The MC and music brought the experience to another level. Enjoyed it very much!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good for a rainy day!

Reviewed by: Christy, 2018/02/28

It was something to do on a rainy day to fill a couple hours.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Aaaaah-amazing

Reviewed by: Sararose, 2018/02/11

The cruise was amazing. Very relaxing and welcoming. The crew, including all singers/dancers/captains, was phenomenal!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great option to see Wailua river and Fern Grotto for those not kayaking

Reviewed by: B.L., 2017/12/17

5 years ago I came to Kauai and kayaked up the Wailua river. This time I'm taking family here who are not all physically fit and it would be a pity if there was no other way to see the Wailua river and Fern Grotto! Fortunately there's Smith's River Cruise! It offers a relaxing way to see the river, take a boat ride, and walk around the Fern Grotto. Well worth the ticket price! You also get to see a fun performance by the crew there and on the boat ride back, and get to join in the dancing.

  • Performance at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Oahu Vacationers, 2017/11/15

We had to U-turn few mins late since GPS couldn’t find the Wailua Marina location - Waze app had “Wailua River State Park” but it took us down a tiny steep road... luckily we arrived on time for the 11am tour. Had great photos along the way! Enjoyed the boat ride; aside from the humidity and brown muddy water due to the rain night before...bring a fan or baby wipes. We saw 2 kayakers and 2 paddle boarders. Nice boat attendees and Hawaiian musicians. A lovely, less than 2 hr tour with lots of time to explore rest of the island! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Our trip to the Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Tom H., 2017/11/06

It was definitely worth the time to visit the Fern Grotto. It was enjoyable and we even got a bit of Hawaiian history!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do in Kaua'i!

Reviewed by: TjHensley, 2017/08/10

''This is the second time we have been on the Fern Grotto adventure. Beautiful place and you learn something too! Thank you for sharing your family history Smith Family.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Smith Boat Tour

Reviewed by: Janet, 2017/05/24

This was a very throw back to the past type of experience. Simple fun, nice people, old fashioned hospitality. The river is in full sun, would not recommend kayak option..not enough interesting flora along the way. Hula and Hawaiian music on the boat ride fun. Fern Grotto was devastated in 1992 and a shadow of it's former glory. Guide gave good local information in an entertaining sort of presentation. I'd take grandma and grandpa or very young kids on this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely ride

Reviewed by: Chris P, 2017/05/20

Smooth, interesting and all round pleasant ride to a beautiful place.

  • Cruisin

  • Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Early Bird Gets the Best Tour!

Reviewed by: Annette , 2017/05/09

Who could pass up a tradition of Hawaiian tourism that has been in operation since 1947?! The Smith family was awesome. They were very friendly and kind. We were fortunate to be on the first boat of the day and in a small group. The morning was cool yet very comfortable. While we waited for our tour to start, the on-board talented trio of musicians were taking requests, joking and visiting with the passengers. Once on the river, the captain gave us an overview of the points of interests along the way as we passed stand-up-paddle boarders and kayakers enjoying the quiet river too. We were treated to a beautiful hula demonstration, native music and an improv hula lesson! After a short walk to the grotto, our "guide" explained some of the history and folk lore about the grotto, afterwards, they sang the Hawaiian Wedding song to us. It would be fun to go back again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful and Informative

Reviewed by: Amy, 2017/04/21

It was lots of fun and informative. The staff was really nice and it was a very kid friendly adventure

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I just don't enjoy large group tours

Reviewed by: Linsey, 2017/03/26

This is a great tour for those that want an easy, non-strenuous ride up and back on the river. I just did not enjoy being packed in with that many people to see the attraction after hiking and adventuring all week and then going on a garden tour directly before this one. I thought it was the only way to get to the grotto, and didn't like being herded in a huge group to see the ferns and hurry and take a photo. We really wished we knew that renting kayaks from the same company was an option because that looked way more our style. Aside from that, the staff was nice and gave an informative tour and musical entertainment for the ride. Best suited for older or more conservative tourists.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice boat tour

Reviewed by: Lois jenken, 2017/03/25

Enjoyed the river cruise very much
It was nice to see some traditional dancers and music and the grotto was definitely worth seeing

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

January Hawaii trip

Reviewed by: Neal Reader, 2017/02/27

Beautiful boat trip up the Wailua River, scenery and stories of the area spectacular.
Fern Grotto an incredible natural creation. Well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice side trip

Reviewed by: Ron M, 2017/02/18

Nice river cruise. Did it before going to our Luau next door

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

River Cruise

Reviewed by: RobertH, 2017/02/17

The location was very hard to find. Price was fair. The man entertaining was kinda corny. I was expecting more.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do!

Reviewed by: Leslie B., 2017/02/16

Four of us thoroughly enjoyed the river cruise to fern grotto and Smith Family Luau experience afterwards. We had researched luaus on the Hawaiian Islands, and I am convinced we found the ideal one. Loved the gardens and cultural dance show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]