Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment [Open Now] reviews, Kauai tours & activities, fun things to do in Kauai | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are required to pass the pre-arrival COVID-19 test requirements or complete the mandatory 14-day quarantine. Up-to-date Hawaii COVID-19 information can be found here.

Smith's Wailua River Cruise to Fern Grotto with Live Entertainment [Open Now]

Overall Rating

4.35 4.35 / 5

Reviews

206 reviews
Post a review

Very interesting and beautiful

Reviewed by: Mamacreamz , 2020/03/28

This is a wonderful tour. The boat is comfortable and a mild ride for all ages. The waterfall and fern grotto are beautiful. You receive history of the area and enjoy Hawaiian song and dance. There is time to walk around and enjoy the beauty

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fern grotto river cruise

Reviewed by: lorna brewer, 2020/02/15

the folks involved were friendly, informative and fun.
the scenery was lovely and the grotto very unique
the music on the way back and the dancing was great and even got to practice ourselves
the weather could have been better but no control over that

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Leisure Cruise

Reviewed by: Terrible Trío , 2020/02/01

Had an awesome time. Crew was friendly and the singers were great!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Family ‘20

Reviewed by: SAGER , 2020/02/01

Amazing views and relaxing. Truly enjoyable! Great for everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent

Reviewed by: Shaza, 2020/01/18

Gorgeous views in that island
Drive is easy and welcoming staff there

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: June, 2020/01/18

We had a wonderful time. Very enjoyable smooth ride in the river. The foliage was very pretty. Easy walk to the grotto. It was fun before when you could go up in the grotto. Enjoyed the singers and hula dancer. Would definitely recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: Lois Bloom, 2020/01/15

We enjoyed the beautiful scenery and narrative. Disappointed that we couldn’t go to cave,just on platform for a look.
Did this tour years ago and got to sit up in caves and was more impressive..

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2020/01/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Smith family does amazing job with style

Reviewed by: Lisa Fleishman , 2020/01/06

Smith family knows how to do everything with style class and professionalism.. always a great family time. Everyone knows how to make you feel apart of everything

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a nice tour.

Reviewed by: MoniqueS, 2020/01/02

The boat was interesting. The hula dance experience on the way back improved the overall tour. It was hard to enjoy the Fern Grove because you are crowded with many people.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A warm and welcoming crew

Reviewed by: Lesli Takasugi, 2019/12/22

This was our first time visiting the lovely Fern Grotto, and we had a wonderful time. The crew were so sweet, especially with our daughter who got into one of the local plants that made her cry and tongue swell. They performed hula and sang beautifully, playing to the children on board. We highly recommend this short river boat ride for families with young kids.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wailua Cruise

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2019/11/08

A very nice peaceful river ride. Enjoyed the history discussion on cruise.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice

Reviewed by: Grandmas antiques, 2019/08/25

We had a great time and what was the show in a European movie theater in the morning here in london on the way out hades was a bit like a ride to get the little one..made of

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fernandez Grotto River Cruise

Reviewed by: Yvette , 2019/08/17

It was a nice cruise throught the river to see the Grotto.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice and relaxing!

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2019/08/01

It was a nice family outing. It was relaxing boat tour. One way we had musicians, singer and dancer. In the other direction there was an interesting commentary. Got off the boat to see Fern Grotto. Good price vs quality!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Entertaining and silly

Reviewed by: Dee, 2019/07/26

The Smith's family is awesome and entertaining. Wear mosquito repellent when going, just a taught. They sing and entertain as you travel up the fern grotto and had us all doing the hoki pokie. We will be doing their luau too so we'll let you know how it goes!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto cruise experience

Reviewed by: Richard from Oahu, 2019/07/20

We appreciated the ride up to view the grotto, which everyone visiting Kaua’i should see. The best part was the music! Made me thirsty!

I highly recommend the Smith boat ride without reservation.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great entertainment, informative guide very fun!!!

Reviewed by: Laura Ryman , 2019/07/09

This was a great trip. Informative Guide, beautiful walk up to the fern canyon. Great entertainment all around fun. The hula lesson was fun too!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a lot of fun with views of nature’s beauty

Reviewed by: R&R family , 2019/06/27

The crew members were great entertainment and informative. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun ride

Reviewed by: Dave , 2019/06/11

Beautiful views. It is a lot of fun. Great entertainment. Nice people. Would recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Last Trip

Reviewed by: Joe Mays, 2019/06/10

The trip was great, the entertainment was great.Enjoyed all there was to see and would be great for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour of the river

Reviewed by: Nikki, 2019/05/22

Friendly people and nice tour with lots of information

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

fun beautiful and quick

Reviewed by: CRL, 2019/05/11

Great and fun trip and just takes a couple of hours

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok.

Reviewed by: Deb D, 2019/05/02

Relatively inexpensive way to see some of the river greenery. Appreciated the history/culture narration. Lead entertainer on the way back was funny! Hula ladies don’t really seem into it, you feel like they are just doing a job and don’t necessarily enjoy it, and they seemed tired. Fern grotto a beautiful site.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A romantic river rendezvous

Reviewed by: MsTravelGal, 2019/04/10

Wedding ceremonies have been held at the fern grotto for decades. It's a historic and beautiful spot to get married or renew your vows. We didn't know this before arriving but it was a special surprise since my fiance proposed the day before. The cruise to the fern grotto was the perfect way to end our vacation in Kauai. Even if you're not going for a wedding, you'll get to hear and watch Hawaiian singers and musicians perform a traditional Hawaiian wedding song. So whether you're celebrating an engagement, a honeymoon, or 50 years of marriage, this beautiful destination will fill your heart with love. I'm so glad we did this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting trip

Reviewed by: Martin, 2019/02/28

Excellent organization of the trip, nice music and dance, very impressive walk to fern grotto. All-in-one: Beautiful trip worth the money

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a fun boat ride.

Reviewed by: Gladys Espino, 2019/01/03

The boat felt a little outdated but the staff and the scenery made up for it. Our girls had fun riding the boat, watching the hula dancers, and learning about some history.

  • Here's a picture of a waterfall at Fern Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fern Grotto

Reviewed by: T. Hasko, 2018/11/10

Great little boat ride to the beautiful fern grotto! I loved the song and little hike up. The tour guide was wonderful we had a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Activity!

Reviewed by: Chuck&Vickie, 2018/09/27

This was a great activity. The boat ride was great. The captain's commentary was insightful and the scenery was beautiful. The entertainment was also very good.

  • At the Grotto

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful ride

Reviewed by: Lola, 2018/07/04

The river is lovely and the grotto too - this activity is very affordable compared to many tourist attractions

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grotto cruise

Reviewed by: Darlene, 2018/05/25

The MC and music brought the experience to another level. Enjoyed it very much!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]