(All Reviews) Big Island Best Luaus (Shows & Nightlife), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Travelers arriving into Hawaii are subject to COVID-19 travel restrictions, and up-to-date information can be found here.

All Reviews for Big Island Best Luaus in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.11 4.11 / 5

Reviews

411 reviews

Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau - Voyagers of the Pacific Show

Perfect birthday celebration

Reviewed by: Ms Jones, 2022/01/20

All of my expectations were delivered. Everything I imagined the Luau would be or could be was beyond my dreams. The staff was wonderful, the waiters were attentive and friendly. There will definitely be a next time to the island. The acknowledgment of birthdays, anniversaries and honeymooners was a joy to see. I met one of the birthday girls and a newly married couple it was a pleasure to celebrate with them all. ALOHA!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2022/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau - Voyagers of the Pacific Show

Great time

Reviewed by: Magda, 2021/12/23

Delicious buffet! Great MC and dancers! Loved the backdrop of the ocean.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Majestic Oceanfront Celebration

Reviewed by: Vhurteau, 2021/12/18

Excellent pageantry and making educational entertainment fun for the whole family that includes history of the various South Pacific tribes together with an excellent orchestra, singing and an outstanding master of ceremonies. The buffet food was fine but you go here to enjoy a majestic recreation of Hawaiian tradition!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Kids still loved it

Reviewed by: Trust, 2021/12/11

Not what I expected based on my previous luaus on other islands. I missed the pulling the lig from the ground, the games before hand, dance together. I can only blame Covid

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Luau was disappointing

Reviewed by: Maria, 2021/12/04

Due to the possibility of rain the show was rushed. The performers did not stay long enough for pictures. The hula lesson was not done.

The only thing that was good is the location of our table. So close to the stage. Loving it. The location of check was mislead and very unorganized

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Great time!!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2021/11/14

This was our very first time in Hawaii, and of course our first luau. The show was great, the food was good, and so were the drinks! It was a beautiful evening and very well done, and completely safe! I highly recommend this luau whether it’s your first or you are a seasoned professional!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Great show, tasty food, friendly staff

Reviewed by: eburatto, 2021/10/20

This was our first luau experience and it did not disappoint! We were all very pleased with the friendliness of the staff, the beautiful location, the delicious food, and the spectacular show. It was really entertaining!
Just one thing I found odd was that the Mai Tais felt "virgin". I am a very light drinker, and I get tipsy with 2 glasses of wine, but I had 5 Mai Tais and I was completely sober... weird. They were delicious though! That's why I had 5 :)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/10/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Good food, and I loved the production.

Reviewed by: Terri Zimmerman, 2021/10/16

Good venue and parking was easy to find. Plentiful food with a lot of variety and a beautiful view with the water. I especially liked the production showcasing the different island cultures.we brought family with us that had never exp Hawaii or a luau so was especially nice to share that experience in a positgive light.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Island Breeze luau

Reviewed by: Becky, 2021/09/25

The islander Breeze Luau was everything we expected and more. The staff went above and beyond to make sure that Covid restrictions were in place and the experience was not compromised. Each party had their own table that was 6 feet apart. The food was fantastic and fresh! The drinks were good as well! And the star of the show was the music, dancers and the master of ceremonies! They all really put their aloha into the show! Thank you for a great experience.


Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Not what I expected

Reviewed by: GnC, 2021/09/21

I give the music snd dancing all the credit. It was a wonderful show. My impression of the food was it was just ok. Maybe we just don’t like Hawaiian
Food but thanks for trying. The deserts were soggy and lacked flavor. For the total experience, this was way over priced and disappointing.I don’t think I would recommend this luau to my friends due to the food.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Great show!! Fantastic food.

Reviewed by: Tanya Z, 2021/09/18

Get the expensive seating. It’s worth sitting closer to the stage.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/09/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

family fun

Reviewed by: Lina, 2021/09/12

We decided on this luau -from many- because they were family friendly and the other reviews. They were right, we had a blast. The staff were so accommodating to my daughter (1.5yo). She loved the show and even tried to Hula. We were also celebrating my moms 77th birthday and she loved it too. The best buffet of hawaii's essential plates and desserts too. I would definitely would go back.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

So great!

Reviewed by: SB , 2021/09/07

Loved it and felt safe.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2021/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Impressed

Reviewed by: Stacey D, 2021/08/25

My husband and I took our 15yr old son. We enjoyed the food, good portions and several options were available. The show was fascinating, and the performers were enjoying themselves which made the show even better. Would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau - Voyagers of the Pacific Show

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2021/08/23

Overall, awesome experience! After reading reviews, I was super nervous about the validity of this site, especially considering that this site was able to get me tickets to a Luau that was sold out on all other sites. I called the venue to be reassured that this was a real site, and they confirmed it's validity! We showed up to the luau, had an amazing experience, and had 0 complications! Def. recommended!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ho'omau Waikoloa Luau - Polynesian Dinner & Show at Mai Grille

Started off great, ended in disappointment

Reviewed by: Wolfe Family , 2021/08/22

The location and everything at the start was great but the fact that a 3 hr show ended after an hour because of 20 mins of rain was extremely disappointing. We understand the show had to stop briefly but did not understand why it just ended after a few mins after the rain stopped. Was truly looking forward to the luau show and we barely got to see one. Food and staff were all good except no one really explained why the show ended so quickly.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ho'omau Waikoloa Luau - Polynesian Dinner & Show at Mai Grille

Luau

Reviewed by: Ellis , 2021/08/20

Unfortunately it rained, the show was cut short by an hour and a half, but what we experienced for the time we were there, it was outstanding!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau - Voyagers of the Pacific Show

First luau for most of family.

Reviewed by: Bridget D, 2021/08/13

Beautiful setting facing ocean, Show was entertaining, staff was attentive, Food was plentiful and good but not outstanding. Mai tais were tasty but seemed watered down.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Beautiful event with beautiful people

Reviewed by: Stefanie Doty, 2021/08/07

This was an event booking for my family. My 4 year old and 14 year old both equally enjoyed it. My for year old loved learning the hula. Food was plentiful and the story told was wonderful. All of the staff were efficient and super sweet.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Excellent Honeymoon Experience!

Reviewed by: Summerlover71, 2021/08/03

We loved all the cultural dances and the food was amazing! Great experience on our honeymoon.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Okay, wouldn't do it again

Reviewed by: Jennifer, 2021/07/31

Started out waiting in a very long line, got our table in the very back on the side. Was in direct sunlight. It's 85* and 85% humidity and I'm sitting in the sun, which maybe two other tables had some sun. Just us got the special table. I was fanning myself to try and stay cool but only sat a few minutes before I thought I should get in the drink line. My daughter stayed at the table since it looked like the appetizers were coming out. After 15 minutes in the drink like I brought a Mai tai, a Coke and two waters back. I didn't dare drink the alcoholic drink since I was already overheated. Got back to appetizers and salads on the table. Kept fanning myself (daughter and I were taking turns) when we were told we could get in line for food. Why? The line was 50 feet long. Why wait in line for 20 minutes instead of being able to eat any food we currently have? So I got in the food line so daughter could eat some. 30ish minutes later we're back at our table with dinner. I didn't get to eat the other foods, so can't comment on them. As we're sitting there we take a bite, then while we chew we fan over the table to shoo the flies away. Also still fanning self since still in the sun. Took about 5 bites and couldn't handle the sweating and flies anymore. Ice in the drinks have melted so daughter goes to get new drinks. Seems like the show is getting ready to start. I ask the attendant if we can get a box for our dinner since we didn't get to eat because we were battling flies and were too hot since we’re sweating in the sun. No, they can't do that since it's a buffet. Will the food be available after the show when it's cool? Nope. So the few bites of food I had were fine, can't comment more. The show was fine, nothing amazing. Couldn't see some parts well because there was one spotlight on the single dancer. It needs a little back light, especially if the dancer is in dark clothes. Overall an unpleasant experience I would not do again even if it was free.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Awesome

Reviewed by: Jesse , 2021/07/30

I so wanna go again. Very fun and entertaining.
Love the food and music and dancing.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ho'omau Waikoloa Luau - Polynesian Dinner & Show at Mai Grille

Amazing experience for the Luau

Reviewed by: Dave, 2021/07/23

Really enjoyed the Luau. Amazing performance, music and crowd interaction. Recommend this for anyone wanting to catch a Luau in Waikola

Comments from activity operators

Mahalo Dave for choosing our luau. It was our pleasure serving you. Looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Enjoyed our anniversary at the Island Breeze Luau!

Reviewed by: Danielle , 2021/07/10

Show itself was pretty good. Food was just ok. Happy there was a kids food table. Disappointed there was a small desert selection

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oceanfront Royal Kona Luau - Voyagers of the Pacific Show

It was OK

Reviewed by: daved, 2021/07/10

The food and the show were both about average but there was nothing to do in the way of activities. We took our grandson and there was nothing for him to do but eat. We have been to other Luaus on Maui and Oahu and they were much bigger and more festive. The whole night seemed a bit rushed.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legends of Hawaii Luau at Hilton Waikoloa Village

Food and service were very good, performers were good, the narrator and story were average.

Reviewed by: Ken, 2021/06/08

We have been to several other Luaus and this was by far the worst, Narrator was average and there was really not much of a story. The music was ok. The food and service was very good.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Good luau show!

Reviewed by: Marlin, 2021/05/26

The luau was good, we enjoyed the show. Food was okay, could have been better. Limited vegetarian options, desserts and alcoholic beverages.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Well done show, good food

Reviewed by: jpimsler, 2021/05/22

On the specific date we went it rained, so that's a lost star that's in no way their fault! If we had wanted to leave and not stay in the rain they would have given us a refund or moved the tickets to a different date.

The show as very educational and the dancing was great! Our one year old was in a trance! Such awesome culture across the Pacific islands. The food was really good and big portions/as much as you want since it's a buffet. Before you leave check out the Hawaiian/Polynesian exhibit inside the hotel.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2021/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Loved it!

Reviewed by: JulieG, 2021/05/18

It was a grand finale to our trip. Really enjoyed the dancers.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island Breeze Kona Luau at King Kamehameha Hotel

Island Breeze Luau

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2021/05/18

Fantastic show!!! Excellent food!! Would go again!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2021/05/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations