(All Reviews) Volcano Air Flights & Tours (Hawaii Volcanoes National Park), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Volcano Air Flights & Tours in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.68 4.68 / 5

Reviews

388 reviews

Big Island Helicopter Circle Island Flights with Landing Option [from Kona]

Professional

Reviewed by: David F, 2024/02/13

Great trip with Tyler being our pilot. Not only was he a great pilot he was very knowledgable about the Big Island and about things a vacationer would not know. Saw many whales and spinner dolphins.. Circle Island tour was a great experience! Support staff was great and gave us all the information needed to make the trip great, but also safe!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2024/02/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour - Blue Hawaiian Circle of Fire Flight from Hilo

A great flight

Reviewed by: Sean, 2024/01/07

Since we did this the day before leaving, it was really fun to see lots of places we'd visited on the ground from the air, and to get a better view of crater road through the park. The kids loved having the headsets and microphones, and asked lots of questions. The pilot was very patient with them and had taken the trouble to learn their names and really interact with them. He also accepted requests for minor deviations from his flight plan to see particular things, flying into clouds so that we could get a better view of a rainbow. They also take video of the whole trip, and we wound up paying for that too since it seemed reasonably priced compared with the cost of the overall experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2024/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Doors-Off Helicopter Tour - Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo

Absolutely amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Balazs P., 2023/12/22

An absolutely fabulous experience, feeling the wind while the endless lava fields pass by below our feet. Photos without glare, a dream!
High safety, perfect pax care, highly recommended to anyone.
Many thanks!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2023/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour - Blue Hawaiian Circle of Fire Flight from Hilo

Circle of fire tour

Reviewed by: Michelle , 2023/10/18

We had the best pilot and best tour ever, amazing scenery

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kohala Mountains, Sea Cliffs & Waterfalls Helicopter Tour with Landing Option

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: HFI, 2023/09/17

Highly recommended tour! The staff was really kind and helpful. The pilot was also really kind and funny as well! The tour was the best thing we ever did!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2023/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧 日本語パイロットのリクエスト可能<フライト100分/英語パイロット/ワイコロアヘリポート>by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプターズ

ヘリでハワイ島1周

Reviewed by: タコさん, 2023/08/25

料金が一人10万円超え、高いと思いながらの参加でしたが、日本語のパイロットのリクエストがかなってTosiさんがお出迎え安心しました。
イグアスの滝遊覧でもヘリに乗りましたが15分で2万8000円、今回のフライトは2時間半、単純計算で10倍とすると28万円。実際ワイコロアのヘリポートからヒロまで飛んで給油、燃料代もかかっています。何よりパイロットが日本語で説明、いろいろな質問にも明快に応えてくださり、火山の火口も迫力満点!渓谷の滝も素晴らしかったです。ハワイ島の成り立ちが良く分かり、絶対損はしません。余裕があれば滝に降りるコースもいいのでは… 2023,8,22参加

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/08/22
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Doors-Off Helicopter Tour - Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo

AMAZING flight!

Reviewed by: Yes to Hawaii, 2023/08/25

This was the BEST flight I've ever done on Big Island. The doors-off was the way to go. It was a 4-seater with only 3 of us on-board so we each got a window seat.

Tips:
-Bring/wear a windbreaker. It gets VERY chilly with the wind.
-Sunglasses are a must
-Cameras or cell phones for photos must have a wrist strap

  • This view...10 out of 10

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2023/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧 日本語パイロットのリクエスト可能<フライト100分/英語パイロット/ワイコロアヘリポート>by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプターズ

是非是非!

Reviewed by: Dr.Evazan, 2023/08/15

・ヘリコプターに乗機するだけでも興奮する.
・前席であれば、離陸時の興奮はより高まる.
・日本人パイロットのToshi(別名sushi)の山の説明もわかりやすい.
 積極的質問にも対応してくれる.
・乗機中の機内&航路記録は購入して良かった.離陸時の乗客の表情の変化も記念になりました.
・滝付近に着陸オプションをつければ良かったです.

  • 溶岩

  • ヘリコプター待機場

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/08/07
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Loa & Kilauea Big Island Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo - Blue Hawaiian

Best event of the trip!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/08/13

Nothing like seeing the eye of the volcano from above! Be weary of the drive over of course

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧 日本語パイロットのリクエスト可能<フライト100分/英語パイロット/ワイコロアヘリポート>by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプターズ

ハワイの自然を感じることのできる特別な体験

Reviewed by: Mucho6, 2023/08/05

料金は少し値をはりますが、ハワイまできたのでそこは思い切って参加してみました。

結果いいお金の使い方をしたと思っています!

まずヘリに乗ることなんてなかなかない中でヘリの揺れなんかも大変貴重な体験でした。

景色も地上からは見れない景色を存分に楽しめることが出来て満足しています。

一点だけあるとすると、やはり英語が苦手であれば多少追加料金はかかりますが、日本人の運転手にお願いしたほうが無難だと思います。

我々は英語のツアーで多少は言ってることがわかるものの、やはり歴史やその土地の情報なども実際に見ながら説明してくれるので吸収力が違うと思います。

  • 普通には見れない景色

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Loa & Kilauea Big Island Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo - Blue Hawaiian

Splendid Flight

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/01

Great views of the whole park from above! I would recommend doing this for a different perspective of the gorgeous volcanoes!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Doors-Off Helicopter Tour - Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo

Absolute amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/01

Wish we got to see lava but the experience alone made us know we will soon be back!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Loa & Kilauea Big Island Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo - Blue Hawaiian

What an Experience!!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/07/01

It was an awesome tour to get to see the crater from above, the pilot was awesome at his job and the views we got were amazing.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2023/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Loa & Kilauea Big Island Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo - Blue Hawaiian

Good Ride

Reviewed by: Kara, 2023/05/31

Really good conditions we got so lucky! Great experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧 日本語パイロットのリクエスト可能<フライト100分/英語パイロット/ワイコロアヘリポート>by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプターズ

素晴らしい体験でした!

Reviewed by: みっち, 2023/05/27

火山の火口や谷の中を間近で見ることができて、忘れられない素晴らしい体験でした!
日本語の話せる知識豊富なパイロット(カイさん)のガイドも、とてもわかりやすく、より一層楽しめました。
絶対に参加した方がいいツアーです!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2023/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Loa & Kilauea Big Island Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo - Blue Hawaiian

Superb experience

Reviewed by: LammyP, 2023/05/19

We thoroughly enjoyed our flight over the volcanoes. From the staff giving us our safety briefing to pilot, everyone was friendly and professional and explained everything thoroughly. The flight was great, despite a little rain... which meant we flew above a rainbow! We got to see a few craters and the pilot made sure to show them from bother sides so that all passengers got a good view.
There was a fun soundtrack to go along with each stage of the flight too. The flight was recorded which could be purchased, if desired.

Only slight downside was that it wasn't the easiest for us to find. The satnav took us to the nearby UPS depot and there's just one small sign for Blue Hawaiian, once you get up to the building. Not worth marking the experience down for though, would 100% recommend.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Volcano Kilauea & Mauna Loa Flight from Hapuna - Sunshine Helicopters

Great Experience!!

Reviewed by: Jen , 2023/05/14

We had a great flight around the island. The scenery was beautiful. Our pilot was very knowledgeable and friendly. She did a great job explaining the volcanos and island. This was a highlight of our Hawaii trip. A must do for sure!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Volcano Kilauea & Mauna Loa Flight from Hapuna - Sunshine Helicopters

Jungle, waterfalls and volcanos oh my! Just a sight

Reviewed by: Lauren Ralph, 2023/03/18

We were able to get a Birds Eye view of the lava paths over the saddle road and it just showcased how awesome nature really is. The clouds hindered our view of the caldera over volcanos national park (but there was a massive winter storm). The coolest part for me was seeing the snow on top on Mauna Kea. My husband loved the waterfalls along the coast.

  • 5 feet deep!

  • Get to the chopper

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight with Landing Option

Spectacular

Reviewed by: Anne, 2023/02/04

We had driven around the island before taking our helicopter fight. What an amazing perspective to see it from above. This should be on everyone's list.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/03/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Big Island Spectacular Circle Island Helicopter Flight with Landing Option

Stunning scenery

Reviewed by: Jim, 2023/02/03

Wow, wow, wow. There is no better way to see the Big Island than from a helicopter. We felt like we were floating in the air and taking in unbelievable sights. The waterfall landing was the perfect ending to an amazing day.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Doors-Off Helicopter Tour - Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo

Awesome flight over Kilauea

Reviewed by: Tom, 2023/01/29

We had a wonderful experience with Tiana as our helicopter pilot. She was extremely skilled at flying and was a wealth of information regarding the areas we were flying over.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2023/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Loa & Kilauea Big Island Volcano Helicopter Tour from Hilo - Blue Hawaiian

What a great ride!

Reviewed by: Lew Lefton, 2023/01/21

We enjoyed both having a window seat (lucky that our ride wasn't full!). Kilauea was erupting, what a great experience to see it from above!! Ethan was so skilled and knowledgeable. Totally worth it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2023/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mauna Loa Volcano & Active Lava Flow Helicopter Tour - Sunshine Helicopters

Over Charged

Reviewed by: Tony G, 2023/01/03

Was priced and purchased a Volcano Tour. I understand the Volcano flow and eruption had stopped, but I shouldn't be charged the premium fee if we only received a Coast Tour (which is about 1/2 the cost).

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2022/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Doors-Off Helicopter Tour - Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Vickie, 2022/12/28

Tianna was our pilot and was a phenomenal one. She handled that very tiny helicopter without a problem. I have a tendency to be motion-sick and I had zero problems with her at the stick.

We were disappointed that there wasn't any lava flowing but we got great views of Kilauea's craters and the changes since we were last on the Big Island. She made sure everyone got a good view of what we were seeing and was quite knowledgeable about the area.

They give you advice about what to wear and I fully advise everyone to pay attention to it. Temp in the chopper was ~50°F with buffeting winds from the rotors. Because we listened, we were comfortable. The only complaint was the wind was strong enough to make my eyes water and it was hard to see at times. That said, it was a fun experience and I highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

キラウエア火山 ヘリコプター遊覧 日本語パイロットのリクエスト可能<フライト100分/英語パイロット/ワイコロアヘリポート>by ブルーハワイアンヘリコプターズ

溶岩と滝

Reviewed by: Kaz, 2022/11/21

ドライブでは見られないキラウェアの溶岩や海岸の絶壁にある滝等、圧巻の景色を見ることができました。バイリンガルのパイロット兼ガイドの知識も豊富で想定以上に楽しむことができました。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour - Blue Hawaiian Circle of Fire Flight from Hilo

Awesome Day

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

Our pilot was really nice, however it was cloudy that day, which is not anyones fault, but bummer!

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Kara,

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your tour. Thank you for flying with us.

Mahalo,
Blue Hawaiian

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2022/11/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour - Blue Hawaiian Circle of Fire Flight from Hilo

Great way to see the volcano

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/11/21

really awesome to go over the eye, esp with active lava

Comments from activity operators

Aloha Kara,

Thank you for your comments. That tour is a great way to see Kilauea.

Mahalo,
Blue Hawaiian

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2022/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicopters - Volcano, Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo

Book this helicopter tour!

Reviewed by: Allyson , 2022/11/17

We had a group of 4 and knew we wanted to do a helicopter tour and this place knocked it out of the part the pilot (Wade) was amazing and all of the staff was great at communicating! They make it convenient by being able to call or text and ensure that you will be comfortable before going up in the air! Would definitely do this again if we ever return to the area! Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2022/10/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicopters - Volcano, Lava & Waterfalls Flight from Hilo

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Pauline, 2022/10/20

This is a must do. It was fantastic. Our pilot was Wade and he was very
informative

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2022/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kilauea Volcano Helicopter Tour - Blue Hawaiian Circle of Fire Flight from Hilo

Great Experience All Around

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/04

The team throughout was extremely knowledgeable about the areas we were flying over! The views were incredible throughout, from cliffs and waterfalls and all throughout the volcano. Highly recommend this trip!.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2022/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories