This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Waterfalls & Volcano Helicopter Tour Doors-off & Doors-on Flights (from Hilo)


Attended as (Families with Young Children) Reviews

Comfortable ride

Reviewed by: Kerilyn, 2017/09/11

Very clean and comfortable helicopter. Pilot had a great soundtrack and was very good at making sure we all got a good view of everything. Staff was efficient and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic experience

Reviewed by: Cain, 2017/08/15

Had a wonderful time flying over the volcano's. Ticked something off my bucket list. Would recommend to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING

Reviewed by: BOB W, 2017/07/03

MY 12 YEAR OLD GRANDSON AND I WENT ON A DOORS OFF VOCANO TOUR WITH ROBERT AS OUR PILOT. AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING EXPERIENCE, TOTALLY UNIQUE AND WORTH EVERY SINGLE CENT OF THE COS, FROM CHECK IN TO DEPARTURE. SOMETHING THAT BOTH OD US WILL ALWAYS REMEMBER. THANKS FOR A DELIGHTFUL EXPERIENCE!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic trip!

Reviewed by: Jalemap13, 2017/06/26

Great tour of volcanoes and waterfalls, definitely would recommend. Pilot Paul was a great guide and wonderful with the kids.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great trip

Reviewed by: Ian, 2016/08/31

Really excellent trip, would recommend it to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paradise Helicoptor Vocano & Waterf

Reviewed by: Karnuth4, 2012/08/20

The pilot was very knowledgeable of the area and specifics around the volcanic activities as of late. All 4 of us fully enjoyed the flight! We got some great close-ups of the volcano and the remnants of the village that once was there. We didn't see as many waterfalls as I thought we would but it didn't take away from the trip. I would recomend this to any friend or family member.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the money

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/04/07

I did this helicopter ride with my husband and 12 yr old son. It was fantastic! We got lucky and had a sunny day, and the views of the island were amazing. We saw some lava flows, we saw waterfalls, and the pilot shared lots of information. We saw a house that had recently been destroyed by lava flow, and all that was left was a bit of roof. We had never done a helicopter ride, and I was a bit nervous about it. We rode with the doors on. It was very smooth, and the views made me forget to be nervous. I felt very safe actually. Our pilot (Aaron) was completely competent and friendly and knowledgeable. I got to sit in the front, next to the pilot. My husband and son sat behind us and they had a great time. Its expensive, but its worth doing at least once. You'll get a view of the island that you can't see any other way.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Be Aware!!

Reviewed by: crfolgate, 2011/02/04

This would be a great trip IF you don't get stuck in the backwards seats. These seats are a total rip off since you don't get to see where you are headed and when there is something cool to see well too bad it's already past. Pilot does a good job of trying to circle around so everyone see's but there's no way for the backward seat folks to see anything really well. If you decide to go I STRONGLY recommend that you get guarantee's that you get a front seat or front looking seats only. My wife and Mom had great seats and enjoyed the views I'm happy about that but I wish I had saved the money and sent them up without me since it was two hours of flying backwards and barely seeing anything. You have been warned. :O
**** Also you should also be aware that the photo's of all the cool lava flows are really old. We saw very little lava and after the flight we found out they use old photo's for advertising. Pretty views are to be had but not much lava.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Helicopter

Reviewed by: Jerald Fox, 2010/12/31

Everyone shoud do this tour in the first few days of vacation. Fantastic experience and the best way to see the island!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience with one caution

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2010/11/26

Had a fantastic time! Our guide, Jesse, grew up on the island and was a wealth of information about not just what we saw on the tour, but also about other activities on the island. Word of caution: if you book through a third party like we did, after you receive confirmation, call Paradise to verify your group size. We showed up as scheduled to discover that someone (don't know if it was Paradise or Hawaii Activities) incorrectly entered the size of our group as two instead of three. We couldn't take the tour on our scheduled day because the group was overbooked. Luckily we were able to go the next day and Paradise had availability. They took great care of us once the error was discovered, but if you're on a tight schedule, don't risk missing out. Call ahead! Inconvenience aside, this is something you should do and was well worth the cost!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Tracey K., 2009/07/04

Paradise Helicopters is an excellent company and I would highly recommend the Fire and Falls tour out of Hilo. For three of the four of us, this was our first time in a helicopter and it was amazing. Our pilot Dylan was fantastic and gave us a personal guided tour which was great because the whole ride was very interactive. Definitely the best way to see the Volcano and Water Falls!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Miss Hardey, 2007/11/01

Would definitely do this again! Pilot was fabulous and sights were beautiful. Wonderful way to spend time in Hilo.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Open Door Tour

Reviewed by: Scott H., 2007/05/08

This tour was a wonderful experience! The open door helicopter was, in my opinion, the ONLY way to see the volcano's and the associated flows. We were lucky enough to witness 3 surface flows, noticeable flow into the ocean AND 2 craters with visible orange molten lava! Thanks for a great time. Emily, you were AWESOME!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
2 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands