Mana Kai Waikiki Sunset Sail (BYOB) - Honolulu's Most Affordable Sunset Cruise reviews, Oahu tours & activities, fun things to do in Oahu | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

Mana Kai Waikiki Sunset Sail (BYOB) - Honolulu's Most Affordable Sunset Cruise

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

24 reviews
Post a review

Nice budget friendly trip. Great to enjoy the skyline. Getting in and out of boat was in the water.

Reviewed by: Traveler from SF, 2020/02/22

Nice budget friendly trip. Great to enjoy the skyline. Getting in and out of boat was in the water.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/01/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: George A., 2020/02/17

Great time. No bathroom was a plus, never peed off a boat like that before, it was an experience. Would definitely go again, the captain and first mate we’re very cool. It’s a smaller boat but don’t let that steer you away.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great and fun crew

Reviewed by: Chris, 2020/01/21

Friend and I had a great time, great views and overall a great experience

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience for my Grandma

Reviewed by: No enough Room, 2020/01/05

Mi abuela conoció Oahu el año pasado y este fue el único crucero económico que encontré. Afortunadamente encontré asiento para ella. Pero en general es muy cozy para todas las personas que habían
Menos gente puede hacer más ameno el Viaje.
The sailor was handsome. So that’s a bonus

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai catamaran ride

Reviewed by: Dani, 2019/12/27

We went for my husbands birthday on 12/07/19 and it was about 20 of us so we took up the whole boat. I tipped the captain and assistant $20 if he could wait for couple of friends who were arriving late and I also offered the other 2 couples, who were not part of our group, a round of drinks if we left a bit late. They were fine with it. Once we left, all was well EXCEPT for the captains sarcasm. We were not out of hand nor too crazy for him to handle, but to treat us as if we didn’t know any better, was unacceptable. But his remarks and dry humor was the ONLY negative part of our trip. I understand he probably has to deal with drunk people everyday... but we were still paying customers and would expect to be treated like we treated him... with respect. I could imagine how he would treat other tourists who paid hundreds of dollars to take this one trip just to enjoy the sunset cruise and booze. Honestly I would probably refer to a different catamaran company or just get rid/retrain the captain on the spirit of aloha. Not the way I would represent the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good cruise

Reviewed by: Bob, 2019/12/01

Good cruise, but will get on a larger cat next time

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great cruise

Reviewed by: Trevor, 2019/11/19

We had a great cruise out on the bay with a fantastic sunset. We had our own drinks, which was great. The crew were perfect and helpful with anything you need. Recommend highly

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an incredible experience!

Reviewed by: Brittany, 2019/08/04

We enjoyed the sunset catamaran cruise and it was one of the highlights of our trip! The crew were great and entertaining. Views were surreal, especially at sunset. Definitely recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sunset catamaran

Reviewed by: Iluv2swim2, 2019/07/24

It was a beautiful ride. The crew were great. I highly recommend the experience! I liked that we could just bring our own drinks and food!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sunset catamaran

Reviewed by: Lauren , 2019/07/24

Really enjoyed this catamaran sunset sail. Curtis and Pono the crew were really accommodating and made all the difference in the experience. Sunset was perfect and they made sure all the best views were seen, and even acted as photographers when needed! Also liked that we were able to bring our own drinks, and that the boat had a cooler so our drinks didn’t go cold.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience!

Reviewed by: Erin, 2019/06/29

We had a very relaxing mid day cruise, the crew was great and very accommodating. We had to reschedule our cruise due to in-climate weather and the crew made sure we were able to reschedule for a different day that worked with our schedule. Enjoyed the cruise immensely!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mana Kai sunset cruise

Reviewed by: Jane, 2019/06/20

Great staff, Jonny and his team were excellent, BYO a great idea, good vibe, great music

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do in Waikiki

Reviewed by: Mac, 2019/06/17

This was a highlight of my trip! Worth every penny to just be out on the water at such a beautiful time of day. The captain of the boat was great and i loved the music they played. I met some cool people and it was very laid back! I would definitely do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time.

Reviewed by: Jim, 2019/05/29

The captain and crew were great. Everyone on the boat had a great time. Bring a small cooler with your favorite beverages, sit back and relax. It was a fun time. Will definitely do it again. It's only a two hour or so trip but we'll worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful sunset and friendly crew

Reviewed by: Carmen, 2019/04/25

This cruise was a great way to conclude our visit to Waikiki Beach. Beautiful sunset, friendly crew, lots of memories. We enjoyed the company of other people and the whole atmosphere on the boat.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect way to get on the water!

Reviewed by: Nikki M, 2019/03/19

We had so much fun and saw some whales!! Be prepared to get wet. It didnt last the full 2 hours (brought us back at 6:45) and never stopped for us to jump in as advertised but I'd highly recommend! Being able to BYOB made it so much better than the other boat cruises.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing value, a must do excursion in Waikiki

Reviewed by: Liz Thors, 2019/01/21

The crew was so fun, they really understood their audience and made it fun for everyone aboard. This was a great experience and value for the cost. The length was perfect!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amusing sailing experience

Reviewed by: Wander Woman, 2019/01/07

The captain and his crewmate were perfectly pleasant (and very attractive), but did very little to connect with the group. They did, however, seem very competent in their sailing abilities, which made it easy to relax and enjoy the trip.

We happened to have three "Instagram girlfriends" who made the trip pretty amusing with their selfie/photoshoot antics. They seemed to be having a blast, and it was easy to let them have their fun, while we laughed with them.

Additionally, we did the sunset sail, and passed a bunch of monohull sailboats, loaded with passengers counterweighting their boats and waving to us during the trip. Such beautiful sights (sunset on the water, gorgeous Waikiki/Honolulu area, beautiful water, and getting to see the monohulls slicing through the water)!

I was overall very pleased with the experience for such an affordable price. I'd definitely recommend it to friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice

Reviewed by: None, 2018/11/24

Good overall experience, the sunset was okay but we had an amazing moon rise over Diamond Head! Crew was great! Thank you

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

日本人のいない、サンセットクルーズ

Reviewed by: GA9, 2018/09/21

当日は天気は良かったものの、
肝心のサンセットに雲がかかってしまい、、、
残念な結果に終わりました。

しかしながら、小さな船でのアクティビティのため、
船長が気軽に写真を撮ってくれるなど、
対応自体はとても良かったです!
日本人は僕らの他におらず、
終始 外国の気分を味わえたのは、
ハワイに 1週間いてこの船上だけでした。

他のツアーと比較した上で、
コチラに申し込むことに決めたのですが、
運次第ということを考えると、
お手軽に参加できるため、
このアクティビティがちょうどいいなと思いました。

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable sail

Reviewed by: Nunia T., 2018/09/04

Captain Johnny took us out and we enjoyed ever minute from the check in process to the check out. I myself totally forgot it was a water boarding so my jeans got wet but that did not stop any fun on the boat. You can bring food & your own alcohol beverages on board with is a plus! This sail was so therapeutic to me and my inner Moana came out. I would definitely recommend this sail for those that want have more of a fun unforgettable ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Casual Hawaiian experience :)

Reviewed by: Anthony, 2018/08/31

We had a great time on this catamaran cruise. Captain Johnny and his crew were awesome, and they made the experience to remember.

My first booking with another boat was declined since it was last minute, but VELTRA called me and suggested to book this one instead. I'm glad they did because it was definitely on my bucket list of things to do. The price was also reasonable. The boat is a bit smaller than expected and they don't serve any alcohol on board, so grab some beers from ABC store and they'll keep them cold for you. I'll recommend this cruise to everyone who is looking for something casual.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time, fun people!

Reviewed by: Jennifer , 2018/08/23

Had a fun time, will go again next visit for sure!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

amazing time and amazing crew!

Reviewed by: mitch and summer, 2018/06/06

we absolutely loved our trip on the Mana Kai Catamaran! Our captain was named Brewski and he made sure that we all had a great time and everybody was safe. Beautiful views, fun vibe, and good people.

Buy a handle of rum and mix it with some fresh Hawaiian juices, mix it up in a huge jug and bring it aboard for everybody to share! you will make friends quick! everyone is on vacation so its a great vibe

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oahu Categories