This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Grand Circle Island Sightseeing Tour on Motorcoach (from Kona)

A really great way to see the whole island

Reviewed by: Darra, 2018/07/29

Loved our tour guide on this trip. He had brilliant recommendations for everywhere we went; and he took interest in what everyone's plans were for the rest of their trips so he could make good suggestions. Very honest and approachable.
I'm always interested in learning about the history and local knowledge of anywhere I visit and this trip definitely covered this.
The scenery of the island is so completely different as you travel round; if you enjoy taking photos;there are a lot of good opportunities for some unique photos.
The only slight disappointing part for myself wasn't anything within control of the tour operator and that was that the volcano national park wasn't safe to enter. Eruption still ongoing and unpredictable and experiencing earthquakes in the area!
I would say the highlight for me was seeing the sea turtles on the black sand beach.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

False advertising

Reviewed by: K. Davis, CA, 2018/07/23

I would rate the tour outstanding, but the only reason, I chose good was due to the fact that I had to pay for my lunch. I signed up and paid for the Gold Package, which was supposed to include a prepaid lunch. To my surprise, after I boarded the bus, the driver announced that lunch is no longer included and we would have to purchase our lunch. Ordinarily this wouldn’t be a big deal, but when I pre-pay for something, I expect to receive what I paid for. You need to remove “Gold Package with Lunch “ from the website.
Other than that, the tour was great. Our driver/tour guide Tommy was hilarious and very informative about the island.


  • The waterfalls were breathtaking!

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! Thank you very much for taking the time to post about your experience. Due to Hawaii Volcanoes National Park closure the tour itinerary has been temporarily modified and unfortunately the "Gold Package with Lunch" is not available at this time. We apologize for the inconvenience and the website is now reflecting the correct tour schedule. Our Customer Service Team will contact you on a separate e-mail shortly.
Our Company appreciate receiving your concerns - we welcome all feedback, overjoyed and unfavorable, this is the best way for us to improve our services as well as the activities offered on our website! We hope your Hawaii vacation will be a memory to remember to make you want to come back and visit us again.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour and Great Lunch Up Grade

Reviewed by: Maggies Daddy, 2018/05/20

Well this tour was Very Special, even if the weather was not the best all day. It is well worth the price and the Driver / Guide was excellent. We choose to up grade and take the Gold package which included Lunch at The Volcano House, they were ready for us and served a wonderful lunch. Great Service, View and Food thank you. But the highlight of the trip was at the Jagger Center in the Nation Volcano National Park. The over look at the viewing portion was crowed but in between the rain and very low clouds we were treated to see the glow of the very active volcano about 500 to 1000 yards away, the same on that erupts about 10 days later and we also rode on the highway that has serious crack and lava erupts on the road. We were in Maui 3 days later in our condo and felt the earthquake from the same we were at that Sunday before. Great Tour and wonderful memory from our trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice

Reviewed by: Anaeli, 2018/05/12

Thanks to our guide Tommy who was very happy and experienced we had very good time and we learned and enjoyed a lot.
This tour is a fantastic opportunity to learn a lot in short time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely sights but some omissions

Reviewed by: Traveller, 2018/01/07

The sights of Hawaii are beautiful but the driver skipped every scenic photo opportunity. Spent too much time in stores. We don’t need to know about the driver’s marital problems either. Needs to be more professional.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not soo grand tour

Reviewed by: Kona Traveller, 2017/12/31

More time was wasted in visiting stores. I booked this tour to see natural beauty and not stores. Very less time was allocated to see natural beauty.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was good tour!

Reviewed by: Yoon, 2017/12/17

This tour was good! We went to the black sand beach and saw the turtle. It was awesome. And the rainbow falls was also fantastic. Great experience!


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Melinda, 2017/12/13

Driver and Guide, Cousin Greg was wonderful. He made the trip very exciting.
His knowledge of the history of the island was greatly appreciated. We were treated like ohana. Thanks for a fantastic day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Grand Circle Island Tour

Reviewed by: Dorothy , 2017/10/28

What a wonderful way to see the beauty of the Big Island! The driver was the guide and was superb! We enjoyed the day and lunch at the Volcano House. Was worth every penny!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island & Volcanoes National Park Sightseeing Tour

Reviewed by: Carol, 2017/07/24

The trip picked us up right at the hotel. That was very convenient. We had lunch at Volcanoes National Park overlooking the volcano. We had a great time. Our tour guide had lots of information to share with us.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Island tour

Reviewed by: Dan Schiller, 2017/06/16

Fantastic trip.... Driver was Greg. Yery informative and had a great since of humor....

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Journey to Pelehonuamea’s abode

Reviewed by: Sushmita, 2017/04/17

The journey to the Volcanoes National Park was truly amazing. Our driver, Jeffery was full of snippets of information, folklore and modern stories about Hawaii and kept us entertained and engaged all through the day. The tour was a snapshot of the island from the black sand beaches, foggy hills, rainforest like areas to grasslands and rolling hills. However, the highlight was the abode of the volcano goddess, Pele. We were lucky enough to see some lava fountains on the edge of the Kilauea caldera. The trip was planned well so that we had enough time to enjoy the majesty of the volcano, the atmosphere of the Rainbow waterfall and of course the coffee, shortbread cookies, macadamia nut candies and the various flavours of macademia nuts at different store stops along the way! This trip was one of the most memorable highlights of our trip to Hawaii.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

trip

Reviewed by: fiona, 2017/03/28

Wonderful trip
The driver know many things and tell a lot
If he can get off the bus and go with us , it would be good.
Lucky, the weather is nice and i can see the turtles



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good to learn outline of the big island

Reviewed by: Chiyo, 2016/12/17

It was good to visit several places in a day, to feel the big island.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/11/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip

Reviewed by: CGTUR, 2016/06/21

Long trip but with many interesting stops enroute. The driver / guide was very informative especialy on the local folklore


  • Kilaweo bubbling!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a Day!

Reviewed by: Matt., 2016/06/04

A great way to get a snapshot of the whole island. It would have been great to see the bay where Captain Cook landed but that was the only main thing we missed. We travelled with two little boy (6 and 8) and it was a massive day for them but overall great.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time circling the island

Reviewed by: Vera and Jack Glass, 2016/05/25

We met Cuzn Greg at in Kona and boarded the bus for our tour. The tour started off relaxed instead of hurried. Greg gave our tour a lot of history and humor. The tour was a great way to begin our stay on Hawaii. We were able to see sights and decide whether or not we wanted to go check it out again. The local knowledge given to our group by Cuzn Greg was insightful and left me wanting to learn a little more. All the stops were long enough to take in whatever sight you were at but not long enough to get boring. We plan on coming again and will do more tours.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not that interesting ....

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2016/04/30

You can tell they get paid by the retail places they stop at. We weren't allowed much time at scenic places we stopped at but when we stopped at a chocolate factory or the coffee shop or the macadamia nut factory we had plenty of time to "shop". We didn't take this tour to shop. We took this tour to see the island, all the places were interesting but when you have 30 minutes at the candy store and only 15 minutes at Rainbow Falls (and we were told to use the restrooms at the falls cuz their won't be bathrooms for awhile) that's obvious they are getting a kick back from the candy store. Also our bus has a bathroom but he said we weren't allowed to use it because it hasn't been cleaned from the event from the prior weekend. I think someone's being lazy and not doing their job by cleaning the restrooms. It's ashame, they messed up overall in my opinion.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island and Volcanoes National Park tour

Reviewed by: Jen, 2016/04/25

My family and I enjoyed this tour a lot. Although it was a very long day around 12 hours from time of pick up to returning to the hotel, our drivers made the ride enjoyable and the day go by fast. Our shuttle driver Billy picked us up from the hotel and brought us to the motor coach where Kala took over for our journey around the Big Island. Both drivers were very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was very informative with many interesting topics ranging from history of the land, communities, cultures, folklore, and meaning of the many Hawaiian names. Kala was wonderful and shared many stories as an insider who grew up and lives in Hawaii. We were able to visit many locales including a coffee farm, black sand beach, lava tube, candy store, volcanoes national park, Hilo, Kona, rainbow waterfall, and macadamia nut store. We would have liked to have more time per stop and for lunch but understand this would have either cut back on the number of sites to see or stretch the tour beyond 12 hours. Food at the volcanoes restaurant was good and can be preordered but the wait was still long for the food to come out. Overall, it was a great tour that gave us a glimpse of Big Island's many attractions.


  • Lava fields

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holiday

Reviewed by: Jo Wong, 2016/03/12

our driver was lovely and did some detours to show us more due to the small size of our group.
was already at the pick up point at the hotel in the morning - we were 10 mins early ourselves ~!
was a very pleasure day tour :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing driver-guide

Reviewed by: Louise & Frank, 2016/02/28

Kemo is a living computer! This guy knows everything about the Big Island. We enjoyed his colourful narration as we navigated the roads around the island.
We enjoyed being part of a tour and learning about the history of the island of Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/02/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect way to see the big island

Reviewed by: Mike , 2016/02/06

Our girls loved the tour. They got to see the best of the big island in one day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The had enough time at each stop to look around. The bus picked them up right by where they were staying.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good way to start a visit

Reviewed by: ScottJ, 2016/01/23

This tour s a great way to get an overview of the big island. The content is good, maybe a few too many 'souvenir' stops, but overall a very good tour. Our guide was very personable, and very knowledgable. He gave a constant commentary of the history of the island, geology, and flora. The stop at Volcanoes National Park was a highlight, would have enjoyed more time there. One suggestion, bottled water on the bus would be nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/01/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A good way to know Big Island

Reviewed by: First time visitor, 2016/01/09

The tour guide was knowledgable. He knew about the developing history of Big Island and the current housing/ land pricing as well. This tour is a great way to go on main attraction on Big Island.


  • Black sand beach

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time

Reviewed by: Eunice, 2015/12/26

Excellent tour!!! Tour guide very knowledgeable about the island. We travelled with my elderly father with wheel chair (9 total). Tour guide very helpful and easy going. I think his name is Bob. The whole family was very impressed with everything. We had the tour with lunch. The food was delish!!! I would definitely recommend this tour 100% and will next time book here again if we ever go back to the big island. This tour really made our trip worth it!!!!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Circle Island & Vocanoes National Park Sightseeing on Motorcoach

Reviewed by: Parmel & Angelique, 2015/12/13

My daughter and I did this tour in Nov and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was quite surprised that we we picked up in a beautiful Motor Coach which was so comfortable. Tour itself was absolutely fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and guided us throughout the tour. Highly recommended.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome tour ! Highly Recommend

Reviewed by: Hiren Tilala, 2015/11/19

I along with my wife took this tour on 12th November 2015. Initially I was little bit hesitant for booking this tour, but I am glad I did it. Volcano National Park visit and Lava tube are the best experience of my life. We had a lot of fun at Kona coffee visitor center shop. This tour covers lot of places to take pics like Orchid garden, Waterfall, etc . Our Guide stopped bus at Candy factory and macadamia nuts factory (crazy nuts with lot of flavor) which was fun. Overall, this tour definitely exceeds my expectation and I recommend everyone to take this tour if you want to cover important attractions of Big Island in one day. Most Importantly, All credit goes to guide who is very friendly and informative ( He even lend me his umbrella at volcano national park).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mexico visiting Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jaqui, 2015/11/12

Hi I'm Mexican and travel with my niece, Hawaii, take the Circle Island tour & Volcanoes National Park Sightseeing on Motorcoach and our guide was very friendly and was Greg.Greg though not perfectly master the language, we did spend a day execelente . We visited the national park and was exciting to see so much natural beauty, also the view of the waterfall was hermosisima, but the most fun was shopping visit the ranch sweet coffee shop and macadamia rich aromas and flavors. Thanks for the orgabizacion of these trips.
Mexican recommend this trip enjoy it, do not miss it.you do not always have the opportunity to discover both in one trip besides the excellent company



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful landscape

Reviewed by: victor, 2015/11/12

the tour of the National Park on the Big Island and the surrounding area was fun, instructive and impressive. Our guide Greg was simpatico, courteous and very considerate, and stranger still that we support our needs. Thanks to this excellent tourpudimos We spend a pleasant day with my granddaughters and daughters and my wife liked the landscapes that despite not master the language seemed beautiful landscapes I see in this trip.We never imagined such beauty and exotic landscape and excellent coffee. We recommend this tour to be a beautiful memory of Hawaii.Besides seeing the strange black sand beaches and pleasant climate for walking
Thanks Greg for your excellent company and frenship



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HAPPY TRYP IN HAWAII

Reviewed by: mabe, 2015/11/12

An excellent choice to know the natural hawaiian wonders, it was a tour with emotion and expectations of how dangerous nature can be. The guide was friendly, with experience and patience even with foreign tourist like us. As a mexican tourists visiting for first time, we always remember this beautiful island we highly recommended this tour, Do not lose this tour, that can be a great mistake you can lost a great adventure that few sides of the word can offer. So thank HAWAIIAN ACTIVITIES for this option. And like we say MEXICO "ESTUVO PADRISMO" it means: was great, fun, awesome and amazing.

I recommend this excellent trip



  • EXCELLENT

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories