This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Oahu Categories


Reviews by ----------RHO----
Last review on 2015/09/08
# of Reviews: 14

History Of Hawaii Untold!!!!

Posted on: 2015/09/08

If you seek to understand the truth of Hawaii history and culture, then attend this luau! I have been to several other luaus here before but I heard this luau was good. Never a doubt when it comes to a performance operated by Tihati. All of the stories (mo'olelos) are truthful, portrayed with no staged authenticity, and educational. The food was amazing! As you can see in my picture I had a mountain high plate full of prime rib, teriyaki chicken, and furikake rice. Now if you can eat all of what I did, then enjoy a premium maitai. All in all, this was a very good way to spend my night. We got out at 9:00pm and went straight to the bars.

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • If you can eat 2 of these plates like me, then come on down.


  • Let her sways and ways relax you, like the waves of the ocean.


  • No dollar bills are to be thrown on stage during a fashion show!


  • From Tahiti well portrayed by Tihati!


Educational, Cultural, & Beautiful!!!

Posted on: 2015/03/26

I have hiked many of the popular attractions here on Oahu like Diamond Head, Manoa Falls, and Koko Head, but they have nothing as elegant as what the Huakai Iki hike has. We booked our tour, and was informed that the check in location is at the Aloha General Store. We were greeted by our wonderful guides Keola and Holly. We started venturing off on the private roads owned by Kamehameha Schools, Bishop Estate. We had excellent views of the agricultural land, the coastline of Haleiwa, the mountain ranges of both the Ko'olaus and Waianae! We had learned so much Hawaiian historical facts, such as endemic versus native species of plants and animals, special trees and plants such as the Koa tree, ohia lehua, and the strawberry guava tree. Keola and Holly are excellent guides! The one thing that I highly valued is that you can ask them anything! They will tell you if they know about it, and if they don't they will either call you or email me and give you the answer! Many other tour guides on other hikes, tend to come up with excuses, or falsified facts. But not Keola or Holly. We had great views of the swimming pools (water ponds), nice high clouds, and wonderful native plants. This is the best hiking tour that I have been on by far. I will definitely go out with north Shore Eco Tours again, for their Huakai Nui Hike! Mahalo Keola & Holly!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Beautiful Day in Hawaii-ne!


  • Our guide Keola


  • The Ohia Lehua


  • One of the landing zones for our military helicopters for training purposes.


  • High up in the mountain range.


  • Did you know Oahu has it's own Grand Canyon too?


  • The big lunch, after our hike was through!


Why see the chief or a center, when you can hang with Kahunas!

Posted on: 2015/03/21

The Big Kahuna luau was awesome! We were first greeted by the Ambassador of Aloha named Chad. As we boarded the bus, he gave us our ticket, and gave us a brief explanation as to what were are going to expect. We then picked everyone else up and he then further detailed what we all was about to experience. On our drive up Chad, was greeting everyone and getting to know them by asking for everyone's first names, where they are from etc. He made a real great first impression. As soon as we got to the luau we knew what to expect. He were greeted with a shell lei, maitai, and appetizers! We took photos with hula dancers, danced hula with them, and started drinking! Those maitais were amazing! I had three before we even got seated for our dinner. Dinner menu was amazing with local foods that I couldn't get enough of. I was in a dilemma, I was either going to drink a lot, or eat a lot, so I decided to do both. Little did I know that the next day, my bed was my best friend. This is by far the classiest luau where you have servers going around asking if everything is okay even if you weren't in the VIP section. I had an amazing time and I wish everyone would take my word about how fabulous the Big Kahuna Luau is! Mahalo to Discover Hawaii Tours & VELTRA for seting me up with awesome memories!

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review


  • Even women can dance with fire!


  • Diamond Head Lookout


  • Wanna Hula? Then get your drink and sway your hips!


  • Tell me where you can get a better sunset picture.




  • Manoa Valley.


Perfect Day On The Bay

Posted on: 2015/03/01

It was an amazing way to spend the day out on the bay! I have heard so much about how beautiful whale watching is, and they are not wrong. The captain and the naturalists on board knew everything and anything there is about humpback whales. They even have library books on their tables for everyone to read and learn. Lunch was great with an endless buffet of local food. The whales were awesome! They were flapping their tales every 5 minutes. We found a pod of about 6 whales. None of them however jumped or stood out of the water, but that is not a problem. We were fortunate to have found them in 20 minutes of departure. We had a good 2 hours of observing and trying to take as much pictures as we could.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review




Legendary Show

Posted on: 2015/03/01

While visiting the beautiful Island of Oahu, I started to reminisce of the last time I came here and it was for the last Michael Jackson performance back in the 90's. I was searching for a dinner and show activity and I was fortunate that I came across hawaiiactivities.com - Veltra because they have a 2 For 1 Review Rebate Special. I was traveling with my family, and so we booked for the Green Room & Dinner Show package. As we checked in at the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center, we were greeted with warm alohas from everyone working. We started on an amazing tour of the theater and got to see some of the marvelous collections of Elvis and Michael Jackson. The dinner was amazing, and the we had the cocktails coming all night long. The show was amazing! It brought back many fond memories of my teenage life growing up listening to Elvis. I was having many flashbacks as I was singing to all the songs and rocking the night away. But unlike many shows in Waikiki, Rock A Hula has something special and particular to their show which is... Hawaiian Performances. Hula dancers, chants, and acts that resembled Elvis's presence here in Hawaii while sharing the Aloha spirit. This show is highly recommended if you love old school pop and classical songs. Thank you Veltra & Stars of Paradise for this wonderful time I had.

Rating: star
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review





It's a Plane! It's a Bird! No!!! It's Iron Man with Hawaiian Parasail!!!

Posted on: 2015/02/10

Since I have been let go by Spider Man because he moved on in life recently, I have now been contracted by Iron Man to be his editor and newspaper publisher. Iron Man had told me that while he is in Oahu, he wants to do something fun and exciting. So I did my research and found hawaiiactivities.com - Veltra. They had great reviews of Hawaiian Parasail and they are the highest ranked for customer reviews! Veltra has a 9:00am early bird special that is reasonably priced, so that is what we booked for. As we checked into Hawaiian Parasail, the reservation agents Loke and Keri were very welcoming with an ample amount of Aloha. They got us checked in and ready to board as we met Captain Jayme and crew member Jason. As we were sailing out to sea, there was quite a bit of nervousness from everyone on the boat. It was everyone's first time, and there was 1 woman who went by herself and she could not swim. So Iron Man voluntarily flew tandem with her, and I stayed on boat as an observer so Iron Man could save her lonesome day. As Iron Man started to get ready to go up, Jason and I were getting all the photos in as we could. Since I am only an editor, my pictures were not of great quality compared to Jason's. It was a smooth ride the whole time for them until they were returning back to the boat. The female started trembling with fear as they started to get dipped in the ocean. Her body twisted as she almost did a 360, until Iron Man caught the line to prevent her from doing so. As we got back to the hut, Keri and Loke displayed their images of Iron Man's event. He saved the day again and he had an amazing time. All in thanks to Hawaiian Parasail & Veltra!

Rating: star
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Iron Man getting ready.


  • Iron Man getting dipped.


  • Iron Man getting dipped again.


  • Flyin Hawaiian Style.








Makahiki Means To Party, Eat. & Especially Drink

Posted on: 2014/10/16

For all you that don't know what the meaning of the word Makahiki is; it is defined as a period of celebration (in old Hawaiian times) of a prosperous and 8 months of working in the kalo fields and old fish ponds. Many hula dances, food to eat, and alcohol to drink. What is amazing is that this would need a lot of space for the Hawaiian community to celebrate this ritual here in the islands, but the Ali'i Kai Catamaran could host it all on their beautiful double decker! This was a sunset dinner cruise that I would never forget with an amazing ample amount of food, beers, and friendly staff that consistently check to see if everything is alright. My girlfriend had a blast as well too, especially when the male servers are called up to the dance floor. There is dancing gesture and its called "umi" where all the women in the crowds go crazy for! I found it extremely funny as a server "umi(ed)" in front of her. The sunset was beautiful as it hid behind some of the massive clouds that Honolulu has. Overall it was a wonderful evening and would recommend this to everyeone! Book it here with Veltra since it is a 2 for 1 promotion. (Saved me $84.50).

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • The Beautiful Sunset Along Waikiki Beach


  • Don't forget to bring your shades and tie for Gangnam Style!


  • Amazing Cultural Dances Performed By Everyone


  • Watch the beautiful dance of hula as you are seated.


  • Get on Board the Ali'i Kai.


Sundown + Alcohol Downed = Man Downing

Posted on: 2014/08/24

As you check in and arrive to the pier, you will be entertained with a Hula performance. You will then be directed with a pleasantly helpful staff to seat you with your tossed salad ready to be consumed. Also you will then receive a welcome Mai Tai which is very addicting and may cause you to purchase more. I had 4 of them. The all you can eat crab legs, steak, and macadamia nut ice cream was amazing. As the sun started to set, I found myself in a very relaxing area of the top deck. I was taking in the views of the ocean, land, and skies as I was just about ready to call it a night. Until we just about to reach the dock, all their employees started a party and danced like crazy. My date is not much of a dancer, but she enjoyed watching me entertain everyone. This night was a night to remember especially the service provided the staff on board. They will make sure you are always satisfied.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • Chilling on the Deck


  • High Skies of Oahu (No Edit)





Orban Oahu

Posted on: 2014/06/14

Our night started off with a bang! We were all terrified previously as we all heard so much about this tour. As soon as Uncle Joe came to pick us up he stated " This is not a tour where someone comes out of a bush and says Boo! This is a real ghost tour and see both friendly and evil spirits" As soon as we heard this, we were terrified. Our first stop was Pali Lookout. You wouldn't believe the setting there as in influences the fear. It was dark, cold, windy, and most of all a lot of the groups got many pictures of orbs. I was told to ask kindly if the spirits would like to take a picture with me. So i asked several times "May I take a picture of you?" I got rudely declined by many of the spirits as I guess they didn't like me. Our next stop was out at a Heiau out in the Windward side. It was pitch black, no wind, no sound, no nothing. but my ghost radar app that I was instructed to download, showed multiple orbs circling every minute. I was fortunate to capture a picture with 2 orbs. Then after that we went down to old Pali Road, and Manoa. Both places were of low line negativity meaning very evil spirits. It was crazy. I thought that by being on this tour I was capable of scaring the 4 other females I was with, but I was the one that was actually scared when it came down to it. Overall I recommend this tour to all. Uncle Joe and Aunty Sharon are experts. They know what to expect, and will take care of you all evening.

Rating: star
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • The Oahu Ghost Bus(ter)


  • The 2 Orbs (right hand side)


  • The only time we smiled


  • Old Pali Road


  • Our Ali'i of the Evening (Uncle Joe)


To be an Ali'i, you Must Drink Kawa With an Ali'i

Posted on: 2014/05/05

My girlfriend and I decided to attend this luau because we were told that it is more privatized, less populated, and more personal. Indeed it was. Chiefs Luau has got be one of the most entertaining luau I have been to so far. Chief Sielu is a natural entertainer, with a real good sense of humor. The best part was Chief Sielu hand selected Ali'is to be used for demonstrations and entertainment. I believe the ali'is that he has chosen for the evening will never forget how to hold their wives, and throw them away. Overall this was the most funniest luau and great food.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

  • The Chief Addressing the Village


  • "Learn fo make Fiah!"


  • E Komo Mai daughter of the Chief


  • You will always get lei'd in Hawaii!

Page Previous | 1 | 2 |