This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Ko Olina Ocean Adventures Catamaran Snorkel with Wild Dolphins Tour


Attended as (Couples) Reviews

Wonderful!

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2017/06/21

I had a problem at first snorkeling, bUT the guides were wonderful and helped me get over my problem. I had the most wonderful time.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/06/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2016/03/05

We saw humpback whales and a group of bottle nose dolphins! We stuck with the dolphins for an hour or so, and at times they were very close to the boat. The snorkeling part was fun too. Would highly recommend--just make sure to take your motion sickness medication.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was awesome! Highly recommend it and would love to do that again!

Reviewed by: Chloe, 2015/10/21

The tour was awesome! The crews were super friendly and helpful! The whole experience is just so amazing, highly recommend it!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling Adventure

Reviewed by: Shayne, 2015/06/15

Had a blast!! Loved Marc and his shipmate (I believe her name was Hannah). Very enthusiastic and kind :)


  • Dolphins!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/06/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally worth it!

Reviewed by: Honu , 2015/05/24

Our guides were very friendly and helpful. We were able to swim next to turtles, dolphins and tons of tropical fish. This isn't the kind of swimming with dolphins in an aquarium where they do tricks for you and kiss you, but it's amazing in itself to see a pod of 30+ dolphins in their natural habitat. They came as close as within 10 feet of us in our trip, and turtles were close enough to touch. Lunch was actually delicious!

Overall an unforgettable experience and highly recommended! I would also recommend getting an underwater camera or waterproof iPhone case. We didn't and definitely regretted it.


  • Dolphins before we got in the water. Weather was spotty, but supposedly it's usually better.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I will always remember this day

Reviewed by: Marin, 2015/01/17

We were literally swimming next to wild dolphins! The crew was very helpful. Though we would like more time for snorkeling.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Find the Dolphins

Reviewed by: Ronaldo Fontoura, 2014/11/15

The promissed was to swim with Dolphins but not guaranteed. I Know but it is almost impossible considering open sea and the reasonable visibility.

Reply from activity provider

Hi Rolando, we do try our best, but yes sometimes the dolphins are around the corner or just unable to be located. We see them about 90% of the time, but some days are trickier than others. We hope you enjoyed the snorkeling and clear water our islands had to offer anyway. Thank you for coming with us, we hope that you can try again. Many thanks, Ko Olina Ocean Adventures

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Ashlee, 2014/10/12

My husband and I did this on our honeymoon, it was such an awesome experience. We were able to snorkel out and see tons of beautiful fish, two huge turtles and lots of dolphins. Our captain mark was so determined to get all of us to see dolphins in the water, and he was succesful. We had dolphins swimming right under and around us. I recommend it to anyone looking for a fun filled day! Also lunch was served once we got back and i got the pulled pork sandwich which was really tasty! I give this activity a two thumbs up!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Laura, 2013/08/28

This was a highlight of our trip to Oahu. The staff were great and they feed you well. We saw so many dolphins, sea turtles and fish. We also bought the cd of pictures from a photographer on the boat. Great trip. No complaints!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

overall great experience

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2013/08/24

Great tour and only gave four stars instead of 5 because we didnt see any dolphins under the water when we got in, we only saw them from afar. Austin, our guide explained it was most likely due to the time of year when the young are born and the dolphins were being overprotective. The staff were fantastic and very helpful throughout the whole tour. Even though we didnt see the dolphins in the water, we were not disappointed as the experience of seeing them in their environment jumping out of the water was awesome in itself. The staff were very apologetic at the dolphins non compliance. It wasnt their fault though, you cant make the dolphins do things they dont want to do!I would highly recommend going

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Swim

Reviewed by: KellyC, 2013/06/18

Best thing we did all week while on Oahu!!! Our crew put us directly in the path of the spinner dolphins twice. They calmly swam beneath us and carried onward. Crew showed high respect to the wildlife at all times.

Reply from activity provider

Awesome! Your enthusiastic satisfaction is what we strive for! It takes not only a great crew to accomplish these magic moments but also great customers that can share the respect and love of the ocean to make the magic happen. Thanks for joining us! Mahalo Nui loa.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2013/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Excellent first experience

Reviewed by: Irene, 2012/10/22

Staff were very patient when giving individual tuition which was much appreciated as this was my first experience and am in my 60s. Will certainly be snorkelling again.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2012/09/22

This activity was awesome. We did see a lot of dolphins and did manage to get some pics of the dolphins. The Captain was very knowledgable of where to spot the dolphins and turtles but we only saw one turtle. We saw the Black Pearl from the Pirates of the Caribbean and I thought that was interesting. I would definitely do this again!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Dolphin Adventure

Reviewed by: Mike Do, 2012/06/19

I was in Hawaii for 5 days with my girlfriend and we had activities planned every single day. This however was by far the best. Captain Mark and First-Mate Tim were very knowledgeable and very entertaining. There was definitely never a dull moment. We ended seeing about 20 dolphins throughout the duration of the trip. This is definitely worth the money!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Randy, 2012/06/02

Captain Spencer and his First Mate Jesse were both great. The boat is great, the snorkel gear is great, the sights are awesome and everybody at Ko Olina was friendly and helpful. Do yourself a favor and spend the extra $10 to rent the wetsuit, especially if you take the morning tour. The water is fine, but once you get back out on the boat, the wind is very chilly until you get good and dry. Also MAKE SURE and observe the instructions about PASSIVE swimming around the dolphins!!! If ANYBODY kicks you will probably not get to see these amazing creatures up close under water! We had quite a few in our group who couldn't seem to follow these very simple instructions and only a couple of people got to see the dolphins up close. We all got to see them swimming very close to the boat while we were onboard though. Capt. Spencer went way out of his way to give us three good tries though, and this tour was a real highlight on our Hawaiian vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best excursion in Oahu!

Reviewed by: Nicole Mankowski, 2012/05/29

This is an experience you can't miss! The crew makes sure you get the most amazing adventure possible! We saw several sea turtles and dozens of spinner dolphins. The best time of my life was snorkeling with this crew under the amazing waters off the coast of Oahu!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful day!!!!

Reviewed by: Tabatha and Stephen, 2011/10/18

Great day out. Dolphins are amazing. Thank you Captain Chip and Lyndon, you guys were great.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So So....

Reviewed by: The Langes, 2011/04/02

The tour was very predictable. There wasnt much "uniqueness" about this tour. The wait time to even board the boat was extremely excessive. There were 3 people at the check in counter and only 1 of them was accepting people and checking them in while the other 2 enjoyed the chaos. After waiting in line to check in for over 30 minutes we were herded outside only to hurry up and wait some more. Boarding the boat finally approached and we sat there for another 20 minutes while they explained snorkeling to the group. Once we got to the first snorkeling site we waited on the boat another 20 minutes before getting in the water. After about 30 minutes in the water the captain demanded that we all get back in the boat. Now we were off to see the dolphins. This was about a 40 minute ride up the coast. The view was great. Once we arrived at the dolphin site we all took turns getting in the water and watching for them to swim underneath us. Not with us but underneath us. Okay, it was pretty cool

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaii Dolphin Swim & Snorkel

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/01/28

Staff were great and lunch was nice however took a long time to actually see any dolphins. However we did eventually find them in addition to turtles, seals and whales. Stayed a long way away from them and couldnt get a close look. Boat ride was lots of fun which made up for the long wait. I was under the impression from the tours description that you could swim with or near the dolphins however this is not the case at all and only saw them for a few minutes before being taken far away to a snorkle spot.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Snorkeling Trip!

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2010/11/21

We spent 8 days in Hawaii, and did a lot of activities. I have to say that this snorkeling trip was my favorite thing of the whole trip. We got to swim with about 40 wild dolphins, sea turtles, and feed tropical fish. It is so amazing to be with these animals in their natural habitat. So much cooler then doing any type of interaction at a sea park. I highly reccomend this to anyone. Any time I go back to Hawaii in the future, I will definitely be doing this trip again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful snorkeling

Reviewed by: G. Akers, 2009/11/27

Excursion was overall quite enjoyable. Was a bit disappointed that no turtles were seen, but this was due to weather/surf conditions and not under staff control. Crew worked hard to try to get all passengers in water with small pod of dolphins we encountered. As they were constantly moving, saw more of them from boat. They were amazing and a lot of fun to watch.
The highlight of the trip for me was feeding the fish while snorkeling. As soon as a few food pellets released, you'd be swarmed with beautiful tropical fish--quite the experience. (However, as there were so many passengers on the trip, you were also surrounded by other swimmers making it difficult to maneuver without getting hit, bumped, or kicked.) Majority of staff were very nice and worked hard to make guests comfortable. Photographer did a fantastic job.
Would definitely recommend the excursion, but be aware that conditions can affect what you experience, be prepared to be snorkeling in a good-sized group in op

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow, just wow!!

Reviewed by: Shannon, 2009/11/08

My husband and I did the morning snorkle on 10/26/09. Being a certified SCUBA diver, I never thought snorkeling would be so memorable after diving several exotic locations. Boy was I wrong. The staff made it a point to make all 3 locations as memorable and interactive as possible from locating a pod of approx 160 dolphins after several failed attempts to even finding several impressive turtles at the "cleaning station." This is a total A+++ adventure and I recommend to everyone. But for having event planned every other day during our stay, I would have gladly redone this adventure and hope to do it again when we return to Hawaii.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/08/07

Amazing. Staff super friendly, professional and efficient. We saw lots of exotic tropical fishes, sea turtles and dolphins. Definitely a must do!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A lot of fun!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2009/05/14

Ask to do the "Deep Drop" with the wild dolphins. You're not supposed to, but it's a once in a lifetime experience! Absolutely amazing to see them underwater!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best activity in Hawaii we had

Reviewed by: Rob, 2009/02/23

This was just an awesome day. Our captain was a really cool guy and was very knowledgeable about dolphins. He managed to find some Whales annd dolphins shortly after that. He dropped us off in the water, close enough to see the dolphins. This trip is really worth the money. We swam whith loads of fishes as well as turtles.
The only negative thing was the driver that took us to the harbour. He was 40 minutes late and really rude. The driver on the way back was funny and in a good mood.
Overall we are so glad to have done this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Thoroughly enjoyed

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/10/07

Wonderful fun to see the different animals, but do NOT make this your very first snorkeling experience on the island, nor your only experience looking at fish. Don't make it your first because it is a little intense (you have to jump off the back of the moving boat *into* the pod of dolphins) if you are not comfortable snorkeling. The time it takes to see the dolphins and turtles short-changes the fish experience a bit, but is absolutely worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Tracy, 2008/07/27

We had such a great time! The staff was amazing. The captain was so funny & his staff really made you feel welcome and prepared. I was especially impressed that one of his staff members was multi-lingual and was able to explain what we were doing in both English & Japanese. It was so cool to see the dolphins jumping around the boat and just amzing to actually be floating above several doplphins in the open ocean.

The snorkleing was amazing too. I have never seen so many different types of fish & we even got to hang out & watch a huge turtle. At the end they give you a good deli style lunch and show off the slide show, which is for purchase,from the outing. This was an amazing excursion. I would recommend it to anyone going to HI, but I would suggest that people pratcice snorkleing before they go. The open ocean in choppy water is really no place for a 1st time snorkler. Other than that I would say this is an activity you should not miss!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highlight of our trip

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/07/04

this is THE highlight of our hawaiian vacation. i've been to O'ahu once, but never been to the west side. the views were awesome.

we were very lucky to see a pod of spinner dolpins within 30min of our departure. i can still remember the sound of dolphins in the water! that's something you will never forget. this tour lived up to its expectations and more. on the 2nd snorkel spot, we swam with three sea turtles! it's the underwater heaven there.

you MUST do this when you are in hawaii. unforgetable!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!!

Reviewed by: Arianna, 2008/05/05

My boyfriend and I had an awesome and amazing time on this activity! Captain Mark and his crew were great and explained everything to us first time snorkelers! We got to be so close to the dolphins and sea turtles, and the fish were beautiful! We already decided the next time we are in Oahu we will do this again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Trip!

Reviewed by: Janie, 2008/04/23

My husband and I had a wonderful excursion! We saw a pod of over 100 dolphin, and the staff made 3 "drop" passes to be sure that everyone got to see the dolphins in the water. The area with the turtles was great, even got to see a ray, and the area where the fish are is AMAZING! We literally swam with hundreds and hundreds of fish all around us. The crew was fantastic, the excursion met and exceeded our expectations.






Rating:
Attended as:Couples
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Oahu Categories