This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Lahaina in Maui

Overall Rating

4.63 4.63 / 5

Reviews

666 reviews

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

The best snorkel trip ever!

Reviewed by: Traci & Shawn W, 2015/03/02

Our family returned from Maui less than a week ago. We squeezed in a lot of outings and adventures in our time there, but the 7 of us all agreed the snorkel trip was by far the highlight of our vacation! We have been on a few other snorkel excursions over the years, but the Dolphin Watch & Snorkel BBQ Lunch Cruise far exceeded our expectations. We were very fortunate that there were only a couple dozen people on the boat so it was quite personable. We were greeted warmly with a light breakfast of fruit and pastries. Weather wise, we could not have picked a better day!
We had anticipated to see some whales, but WOW is all I can say! Capt Lily was genuinely as excited to see the things we saw even though I'm sure she's seen them all dozens of times before. She was very knowledgeable and stopped often, positioning us for the best viewing as the whales were so active. We also saw spinner dolphins which was exciting. We boated out to Lanai and had the opportunity to snorkel in two different places. At our first stop the kids saw numerous fish and were lucky enough to see a sea turtle! Our second stop was at Sweetheart Rock where there were a ton of different fish. The boat had a slide that a few people took the opportunity to enjoy.
The staff was extremely friendly and professional and went out of their way to ensure everyone was comfortable. They had noodles and boogie boards for those that weren’t strong swimmers. There were always a minimum of two staff in the water with us, often more.
We were treated to a lunch BBQ’d right on board! We enjoyed burgers, hot dogs, potato salad, fruit, chips and alcoholic/non-alcoholic beverages. One of our kids is a vegetarian, and they were able to accommodate her with a veggie burger without prior warning.
The total excursion was 6.5 hours and flew by! Everyone enjoyed every minute of it and we will all have great memories for years to come! Thank you to the wonderful staff for making our day truly memorable!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/02/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

The crew was awesome.

Reviewed by: Telma Chicas , 2015/03/30

As we walked up to the harbor the staff was friendly and guided us in the right direction (since there's several different boats departing near each other) Right from the start the captain was very friendly. She introduced herself as well as her staff. As you get on the boat the captain explains to you what stops we will be making and exactly where we will be snorkeling. Unfortunately for us the first stop (right in front of lanai) was too windy so we had to go straight to our second stop. On our way there we saw a baby humpback whale with her mama whale. We stayed at our snorkeling spot for about half an hour to 45 minutes. We saw plenty of fish but unfortunately there were no turtles. Either way the view was very beautiful. On our way back to maui (from lanai) we drove right next to a pod of dolphins and that was probably the highlight of the trip for me. It was amazing seeing all the Dolphins jump out of water and they were very close to us!!! . As we saw the Dolphins and the whales, the captain would give us some info about them and she was very informative. The crew was helpful with making sure everybody was comfortable. They cook hot dogs and hamburgers for lunch and it was pretty yummy. It's a little bit hard to walk on the boat so the crew helped us take our food to the table, they walk around to pick up the trash, they hand out snorkel gear for those who need it, and the captain instructs us on how to dive in and where to snorkel. They also passed out some cookies after everyone ate and those cookies were delicious. They also offered complimentary beer or cocktails for those of age. Overall it was an awesome experience with awesome people. I would definitely recommend it. Some of the people got a little sea sick so I definitely recommend taking something before getting on the boat for those who have sensitive tummies.


  • Our view of maui

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Maui to Lanai - Dolphin Watch & Snorkel BBQ Lunch Cruise (from Lahaina Harbor) / 2-for-1 Review Rebate Special

Reviewed by: Gloria of SFO,CA, 2015/05/22

What an awesome experience!!! Was the best because my fear of water had lessened. When me and my friends were talking about this cruise I was speculating because of my fear. But for the sake of friendship we did it. No turning back. Booking was easy. We booked Thursday and luckily there were available slots the next day which was our last day of fun moments in Maui.
At the Lahaina harbor, we were met by a nice and jolly gentleman who helped us at the entrance. Before we got into the ferry, Lily the captain welcomed us and gave us some information and instructions. As soon as we entered the ferry, breakfast was ready. No worries of getting hungry. Then Lily gave us more instructions and reassured everyone that they will help and guide us all the way. The words of assurance from Lily, Robin and Cody made me even more comfortable.
Finally we reached our first stop at Lanai. Everyone was already jumping into the water while me and my friends were just standing at the stairs because this was our first time. And the water was kind of rough and my fear was kicking me. Then came Robin who helped and guided us with the board. Robin did a good job teaching and guiding people in the water. The same thing with Cody. The first time I dipped my head into the water, all I was saying was WOW!!! Underwater is really amazing. I was so full of joy because finally I got to see live corals and fish swimming in their own world. I was so proud of myself. At that time, I told myself I need to get over this fear and need to learn how to swim so I will be able to explore and enjoy the habitat of fish.
This is an experience that will remain in me forever. I surely will do it again and hopefully I will be a good swimmer by then. It's worth doing it.
Thank you Lily, Robin, and Cody for doing a good job. You are all wonderful people.
M A H A L O!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trilogy Excursions Maui to Lanai Day Trip - Cruise, Snorkel & Guided City Tour

Great sail to Lanai!

Reviewed by: Debbie, 2018/01/28

For our last full day in Maui, my husband and I decided to book the 10:30 a.m. Discover Lanai Sail; what a good choice! From the moment we boarded the boat until the end of the day, the Trilogy crew did everything possible to make sure we had an exceptional experience. There were 5 crew for 50 passengers, so one of them was always nearby.

Once we were underway to Lanai, they served beverages, delicious cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit. The humpback whales were very active so the captain did his best to get closer when there was a sighting. As we got close to Lanai, we were surrounded by a school? of spinner dolphins. What fun!

After docking, they took us to the beach — quiet and sandy with restrooms and plenty of shade. Chairs, mats and snorkeling gear were efficiently distributed to get us into the water quickly. There was gentle surf but it was fairly easy to walk in. We’ve snorkeled many places, and this was nice, though not extraordinary. There were many fish, but the variety was limited. Still fun, and crew were very vigilant about keeping everyone safe.

For those who didn’t want to get in the water, (or didn’t stay in very long, like us), there was an island van tour that took about an hour an a quarter. There was no microphone used so I couldn’t hear quite everything, but it was interesting to see Lanai City.

At 3:00 we had a late lunch in Trilogy’s covered pavilion overlooking the dock area. Very pretty there. They served healthy and tasty food — tossed salad, noodle salad, corn on the cob, and BBQ chicken.

On our trip back to Lahaina (4-ish), the crew opened the bar as soon as the boat cleared the harbor for our trip back to Lahaina. Woo-hoo! Whale watching was even better than it had been in the morning. We also saw two baby whale breeches; what a thrill!


  • Lanai sunset and whale fin

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/01/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great experience, my parents' highlight of the trip

Reviewed by: Stacie, 2017/07/13

We had a great time on this cruise. Everything about it went basically as planned. We went to two different snorkeling spots where we had an hour or a little more to swim around checking out the coral reef and the marine life. In the beginning, they had a little breakfast that included muffins, fruits and different types of juice. After the first snorkeling spot, they made chicken breasts, hot dogs and burgers patties for lunch which were also very good. They didn't have KETCHUP!!! Which was a pretty big bummer, but the food was good and there was plenty of it. They also handed out bags of chips and pretty much everyone was able to get a second bag. The best part about the cruise was the dolphins that we saw. We spent about 20-30 minutes watching a pack of dolphins swim around and with out boat. They got up so close, it was amazing. My nephew and I sat at the front of the boat and actually got yelled at by the captain, but it was definitely worth it because my feet were about 10 feet away from touching the dolphins they were so close. Then at the last snorkeling spot, we got to swim with sea turtles (only noticed one when I was swimming but it did get pretty close), and a 6 foot long shark that was laying underneath the wreckage we were snorkeling above. It was pretty awesome and scary all at the same time. The shark was sleeping (or dead) because it didn't move and there was no danger, but I still didn't want to take my eyes off him! The boat provided the snorkel equipment including the liquid to keep your goggles clear. There is also a slide that goes off the side of the boat which was really fun to go off of! The crew ended the cruise with a free alcoholic beverage for each adult over 21 years old, and it was very tasty and had a lot of alcohol in it! I believe this was well worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Maui to Lanai - Dolphin watch and Snorkel BBQ lunch cruise.

Reviewed by: Louisa Kiem, 2015/05/13

I would like to share with you my wonderful experienced with Maui to Lanai Snorkel adventure. First of all the Captain Lily is very knowledgeable, friendly and courteous. Lily explained about our tour and made sure that our safety comes first. There were 2 other staffs, Robin and Cody, who helped served us Continental breakfast such as muffins, juices, healthy food bars and fresh fruits. Breakfast were enough and refreshing.
Our first stopped was at the coast of Lanai. It was our first snorkeling experienced. The water was a little rough and I was scared. Captain Lily made sure that Robin were there to helped us. We were able to see underwater corals and some fish. Robin and Cody were there to helped us and made sure everybody were having fun and feels safe.
Our next stopped was near The coast of Lahaina. The ocean was calmer and some passengers had fun snorkeling. We saw a few Turtles, that was really exciting. We did not see any Dolphin at this time, better luck next time. It was a very pleasant and relaxing day.
Captain Lily cooked some barbecue such as chicken fillets, hamburgers and hotdogs. Lunch were delicious, we made our sandwiches. There were macaroni and potato salads and condiments. They also served some alcoholic punch. We were very satisfied with the food and there were plenty of cold bottled water and sodas.
Captain Lily, Robin and Cody were very good in making our trips enjoyable and memorable.
My friends and I had an Amazing experienced. We took a lot of pictures and selfies. I would recommend this tour to all my friends.
Thank you very much to Captain Lily, Robin and Cody for a job well done. Hope to see you again, whenever I come to visit Maui. Aloha and Mahalo!
Sincerely, Louisa Kiem from San Francisco, California .


  • With my friends.


  • With Captain Lily

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/05/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Lanai Snorkeling Trip with my wife and kids

Reviewed by: BGalindo, 2015/04/06

First thing, the boat Captain Lilly and her crew of Cody, Robby, and Robin made us really feel like we were part of there family. They were very attentive to everyone. On the trip besides my wife were our 3 children ages 13, 11, & 7. As we left the harbor and headed out on our very spacious boat, we had some breakfast treats and were fortunate enough to see some whales on the way to Lanai too. As we got halfway across the Bay, Mother nature provided a little wind but the Captain and crew took us to Sweetheart Rock which was very calm and beautiful. After we spent an hour or so there, we headed off to another location and were greeted by a pod of spinner dolphins. That was a great treat as the boat allowed for easy viewing, and as a matter of fact, you felt like you could reach in the water and touch them. As we cruised back to Lahaina we again came upon some more whales, this was truly a magical experience seeing these giant animals up so close. Our final snorkeling spot was just outside of the harbor and we we entered the water, the kids were able swim along with the turtles. The kids were blown away as this was there very first trip the islands and there very first snorkeling trip. As we anchored down, we had had a very nice lunch and plenty of sun and scenery to take in. As we enjoyed the experience, one of the boat engine had trouble so we had to wait for a mechanic to check it out. That was really a blessing, as we had extra time to snorkel and soak in the views. The entire family was actually happy to have the delay as we got some spend extra time on the boat and in the water....We could have stayed all day. The next time we are back Maui, we are going to do it all over again....

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Excellent Trip

Reviewed by: Chris & Mary, 2016/03/21

All parts of this trip went very well. We were on time in the morning to pick-up our ferry tickets at the Laihaina Lanai Ferry Booth and they had a prepared envelope waiting for us with all the tickets and information for the day. Upon arrival at Manele Small Boat Harbor, we were cordially met by Rick as we walked off the ferry, who quickly whisked us away and up to Lanai City and Dollar Rental. Our Jeep was waiting for us and check-in was smooth, cordial and we were given a map and suggestions on starting our day exploring Lanai'i. We had a great time finding our way down the bumpy one-lane dirt roads to the Garden of the Gods and partly to Polihau Beach. We returned and then went to see Shipwreck Beach in the sand. No problems, as we were careful to avoid soft sand areas. We returned to Dollar Rental at noon concerned that the late afternoon and evening ferries may be cancelled due to rough seas. We decided to return on the 2 p.m. ferry. The Dollar Rental agents and Rick, who we happened to see at the Grocery Store / gas station, were very helpful in arranging earlier shuttle service to the harbor and changing our ferry tickets for the earlier return. Note: everything seems to happen there at the one-stop grocery store / gas station / Dollar Rental place and parking lot. Even with the changes, all went quickly, no hassles, and we were back to the harbor with time to spare for the return bumpy, high-seas ferry ride to Lahaina. If it is rough seas, sit in the inside lower deck center rear section. We have great memories, pictures and fun stories to tell of our half-day on Lanai'i, thanks to how easy the tour arrangements worked and how friendly everyone was on our excursion. Recommended.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/02/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Aquaball Adventure & Zipline Tour at Lahaina Dragonfruit Farm

I had the best day here!

Reviewed by: E.W., 2015/08/28

I booked the 430 appointment so I had a relaxing day in the morning and plenty of time to get to the plantation without being rushed. I called them and they gave me great driving directions to my phone via text which was extremely helpful. So the drive up and the plantation was beautiful. We got to see another side of Maui then where were staying at. We were welcomed in when we came by the owner of the field. Then we went up to a little cottage and we got to taste many different kinds of delicious home grown dragon fruit and we were offered cold drinks by the staff. The staff there were so sweet and helpful and accommodating! They have bathrooms and showers to change! Jennifer took us thru the fields while our belongings were taken up in a golf cart. On our way up Jennifer explained to us how they grow the dragon fruit. It was fascinating to learn how much work is involved and to hear it from her who does the work first hand . It was really interesting and informative. In addition there are bananas and pineapple to see. The Aqua ball was so fun! I'm always looking for new and adventurous activities to try and this was something I've never done. It is a huge blown up ball with an opening for a person to jump inside! It cooled us down and we had so much fun! You get in one person a time and they fill the ball up with cold water. You are then securely closed and are pushed down the hill. I was with some friends so we had fun pushing each other down. The staff waits for you at the bottom, takes you out safely and you get a gold ride back up the hill to complete the Aqua ball activity again.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Aquaball Adventure & Zipline Tour at Lahaina Dragonfruit Farm

This was one of my highlights of my trip!

Reviewed by: Elisheva, 2015/08/28

The staff works quick and efficient. They provide water up there at the activity as well which was amazing! Ice cold water bottles in coolers. Super convenient and necessary on a hot summer day in Ausguts. The staff added to our enjoyment and fun as well! They took as many pictures as we wanted and answered all of our questions. They shared their experience living in Maui Hawaii and their experience of working on the field and their travels, so super friendly. Zip lining was amazing. We did it as the sun set. So we got to dry up from the Aqua ball and Zipline across the field. They told us how to turn over and let loose. It was different then all my experiences where I just went across the rope holding on traditionally. The staff moved fast and I felt safe and secure with them as I landed on the landing board. If you ever went zip lining before, you want someone strong and secure to catch you. We got to do this Zipline 4 times each! I had my friend stand in the field and get amazing pics from so close. After we were done we changed and saw the sun setting on their field. We wanted to see the sun from a higher vantage point so we asked them where to go. They told us to just drive up the road.

We had just enough time to drive right up the road after and continued watching one of the most beautiful and serene sunset.

All in all this was one of my highlights of my trip! I will never forget it!! I would definitely recommend this to all my friends or anyone reading this review.
Thanks again guys!!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.


  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Super trip - cruise and snorkel

Reviewed by: Venky, 2017/08/01

The day was spent in a most enjoyable way.

We started on time and went to first snorkeling spot after about one hour cruise. Since we left at 700 am, (early in the morning) they gave us good breakfast. The water is blue and beautiful. We saw some flying fish while sailing which I got amazed. They have wings(?!), come out of water, fly for about three feet above the surface and go into water. It was amazing to see a fish with wings. They clearly flew and not just jump in and out of water.

The captain gave a 5 min lesson on snorkeling 101. It was full of very helpful tips and this greatly helped to snorkel without fear. The gears were provided. By the end of the day I became an expert. This is an example, how useful the people are to help you whatever you need in the trip.

The snorkeling part was very enjoyable and after about one hour, we were allowed to jump into the ocean from the second level of the cruise ship via a slide. That was so cool.

Next we went to a second place and we got to see lots of turtles. Some turtles came to top of water, so you can see them from the boat. We snorkeled and also jumped into water from the second level of cruise via slide for about one hour. It was fun. Lots of foods, drinks were given. We returned by 200 pm. What a day to spend.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/07/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry Ride & Guided Island Expedition Trekker Tour

Excellent guided tour of Lana'i

Reviewed by: John and Eva, 2019/04/07

We have been coming to Maui for years but have never ventured off the island to visit Lana'i. First of all, Veltra allowed us to change the tour date from a Monday to a Thursday with no problem since we had a conflict come up. The ferry ride from Lahaina was easy and took about 45 minutes. The sea was very calm and although they recommend taking sea sickness pills, it wasn't necessary for this trip. Our tour guide Bruce, met us at the ferry dock on Lana'i. He drove us around in an air conditioned Suburban which was very comfortable. It was just the two of us so the tour was really personalized. We took the full day tour which really gives you a great impression of the island. The tour was about 2 1/2 hours in the morning, then an hour for lunch and 2 hours in the afternoon. Bruce, our guide has lived on Lana'i for 20 years and was very knowledgeable. He has seen the positive changes that have occurred on Lanai' since Larry Ellison bought the island five years ago and thoroughly explained the evolution of the island through the current day. We were then dropped off at the ferry dock for the 4:30 p.m. ferry back to Lanai--note, you need to book the return ferry when you schedule the tour and for the all day tour, the 4:30 p.m. ferry is the one to take.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lahaina Whale Watch Cruise Excursions - Most Popular Whale Watch Tour in Maui

Amazing Whale Watching Experience!!

Reviewed by: Amber Walker, 2017/12/04

The crew on the tour were professional and courteous right from the start. We were all anxious to see whales and our boat got right out there and we started seeing whale spouts. The boat was always on top of where the whales were. Through out the entire ride, the captain was incredibly knowledgeable and answered all questions. The boat itself was well stocked and very clean. There were plenty of tabkrs inside and on top, as well as seats on the front and back. Everyone had a place to sit and could see the action from anywhere on the boat. The end of the tour was the most incredible. Two whales swam literally under the boat and came out in front of the bow. Seeing how big these amazing creatures were so close was a once in a life time experience. Both whales came up for air at the front of the boat. The whales seemed as curious about us as we were about them, and hung out around our boat for a good fifteen minutes. I highly recommend this tour and their company for an incredible whale watching tour!! The experience is excellent for couples and families with children of all ages. My one bit of advice would be to show up twenty five minutes before check in as it was very busy and took some time to find a parking spot.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

First snorkel- and I'm hooked!

Reviewed by: Mirza Mughal , 2016/04/27

I can't swim and was going for my wife. Thank god I went through with it. Off the back the tour was very well organized. 4 crew members including the captain and everyone knew their jobs well and communicated well with us. Very helpful. Very nice breakfast and catamaran sail to lanai island to start with. We saw whales while going to lanai! near lanai we saw a big pod of dolphins. Both times the captain was knowledgeable about steering the boat and showing us the best views. The Dolphins came very close to our boat too! (See attached picture)when we got to the snorkel site- the crew was very empathetic to my lack of swimming skills. They helped me very gently through the entire thing and encouraged me to go into the waters with floats etc. and I'm so glad they did. We snorkeled for an hour at lanai and I had so much fun. After that we sailed back to Lahaina beach while the crew made burgers and we snorkeled at the Lahaina harbor and then ate food. All in all 5 stars to the crew for being on top of everything and at the same time being jovial about it. Definitely recommend taking this day excursion for the views of Maui island and great snorkeling sites. I saw turtles at both sites- and I don't even know how to swim!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lahaina Whale Watch Cruise Excursions - Most Popular Whale Watch Tour in Maui

Whale Watching in Maui!

Reviewed by: Amber Walker, 2017/12/08

crew on the tour were professional and courteous right from the start. We were all anxious to see whales and our boat got right out there and we started seeing whale spouts. The boat was always on top of where the whales were. Through out the entire ride, the captain was incredibly knowledgeable and answered all questions. The boat itself was well stocked and very clean. There were plenty of tables inside and on top, as well as seats on the front and back. Everyone had a place to sit and could see the action from anywhere on the boat. The end of the tour was the most incredible. Two whales swam literally under the boat and came out in front of the bow. Seeing how big these amazing creatures were so close was a once in a life time experience. Both whales came up for air at the front of the boat. The whales seemed as curious about us as we were about them, and hung out around our boat for a good fifteen minutes. I highly recommend this tour and their company for an incredible whale watching tour!! The experience is excellent for couples and families with children of all ages. My one bit of advice would be to show up twenty five minutes before check in as it was very busy and took some time to find a parking spot.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/12/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

A great trip to the most unusual island in Hawaii

Reviewed by: Jan & Cathy, 2015/05/07

We wanted to explore all 6 of the main Hawaiian islands on our trip and so included a trip to Lanai. We signed up to take the ferry, shuttle, & Jeep rental package. We drove to Lahaina on Maui & rode the 9:15 AM ferry for the 45 minute ride to Manele Bay on Lanai. We then took the shuttle to the Dollar rental place in Lanai City (a small community in the center of the island with no traffic lights) and we were given an almost new air conditioned Jeep to drive around for the day. We were well aware of the landscape on Lanai - so it wasn't a surprise to see very little vegetation and no good beaches there. We took our time and drove east to Shipwreck Beach & then north to the Garden of The Gods (a truly unique moonscape like place). Then back into town for a casual lunch & finally out to the west coast to see the barge harbor (not much there). We turned in our Jeep (after filling up with $4.50 per gallon gasoline) & were taken back to the ferry dock & ferry ride back to Lahaina in the evening. A very full day and worth it - not something to do again, but worth it to say that we explored this very little visited island. We had no problems with the ferry, shuttle or Jeep reservation.


  • Shpwreck Beach


  • Garden of the Gods

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/18
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Amazing..!! Great experience

Reviewed by: Arminder , 2015/09/12

Went to maui for honeymoon and this was defiantly our highlight and we had a great time. This was my first time doing snorkeling and i don't even know how to swim so i was not comfortable initially but this staff helped me with everything, explained me how to snorkel safely and i had no issues. Staff was really nice and helpful. Food was also great as well. They served breakfast when we started in morning and then we had bbq lunch. After snorkeling for couple of hours, they started BBQ and we had fresh hot dogs, cheese burgers, chicken burger and much more. Savor a delicious and freshly prepared BBQ lunch featuring big juicy hamburgers, chicken breasts and plump hotdogs with all fixins was amazing. After lunch, drinks bar was open and we all had complementary drinks. I was not expecting this much fun but now i am glad that i did this activity. This is must do activity in Maui and every dollar is worth spending on this activity. The price was very affordable since everything is expensive in Hawaii this was relief. I would highly recommend to get this deal. The Lahaina curse company and her crew are family oriented and provided safe, fun adventure.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Worth it!

Reviewed by: Brodri44, 2015/06/24

This trip is totally worth it! First of all they pick you up exactly at your assigned time and after the trip they are right there to pick you up! So everything is done in a timely manner. The driver was extremely friendly and helpful. After they picked us up from our hotel, they drove us to where the boat is. Where the staff was just wonderful. On the way to Lahaina they offered us some good breakfast and played some music. Unfortunately, on our way to the first snorkel spot the weather got really bad. Therefore we had to go to a completely different spot where the waters were calmer and the weather was nice and sunny. Other than that the whole experience was amazing. The first snorkel spot that they took us to was beautiful. Filled with reef and all kinds of fish. Then, while on the way to the next snorkel spot they cooked us some dinner. On the second snorkel spot we got to see turtles and sharks! It was a lot of fun. On the way back they give you a complementary beer or cocktail and dessert. They also provided us with snacks and all kinds of drinks. I would recommended this excursion to anybody. Had a blast!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

We had a wonderful day!

Reviewed by: fummys, 2015/09/05

My husband and I joined this tour because we wanted to enjoy the sea of Maui. We stayed at Kapalua and so we had to get up very early and take a taxi to the nearest pick-up hotel. But it well deserved. They offered continental breakfast as soon as we were on board. It was good. Thanks to such a good weather, we enjoy boating on that day. In fact, it rained so heavily a couple of days ago that it was pretty difficult to find a good spot for snorkeling but the crew successfully did. The water was very clear, which was important for snorkeling. After we snorkeled, we returned to the boat to have a big BBQ lunch. It was also great. Enough good food and many kinds of drinks. On the way back to Maui, we saw a green turtle swimming. In addition, unexpectedly, we met a lot of dolphins! I have never seen so many dolphins before. They swam jumping and some of them came close to the boat. We were so excited. Then the crew brought us to another snorkeling spot near Lahaina Harbor before we got off the boat. The crew were all friendly and helpful. I would like to join this tour again with my children and grandchildren next time.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Snorkeling Trip to Lanai with the Lahaina Princess

Reviewed by: Christian, 2015/10/24

We already booked the snorkeling trip from our home in Austria and had no expectations at all what we will get as we were snorkeling-novices. On our first day on Maui we made a short trip from our hotel in Kihei to Lahaina to check where our trip will start the next morning. A very friendly lady at the port in Lahaina told us where our snorkeling trip will start and which boat will take us out.
The next morning an extremely friendly captain and his crew welcomed us on board and took us out to two awesome snorkeling spots. On our way we were served breakfast. At the snorkeling spots the crew was enormously helpful with the snorkeling equipment and to get into the water. During the snorkeling the crew members were out on surfboards two overlook the snorkelers. We felt extremely safe and fine.
On our way back we were served lunch with fresh fruits and beverages and nice things to eat.
We can highly recommend this company for booking a snorkeling trip. Unfortunately we did not see any dolphins or green turtles this day, but that is absolutely not the fault of the company.
Manuela and Christian from Austria

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Snorkeling Trip to Lanai with the Lahaina Princess

Reviewed by: Manuela & Christian, 2015/10/24

We already booked the snorkeling trip from our home in Austria and had no expectations at all what we will get as we were snorkeling-novices. On our first day on Maui we made a short trip from our hotel in Kihei to Lahaina to check where our trip will start the next morning. A very friendly lady at the port in Lahaina told us where our snorkeling trip will start and which boat will take us out.
The next morning an extremely friendly captain and his crew welcomed us on board and took us out to two awesome snorkeling spots. On our way we were served breakfast. At the snorkeling spots the crew was enormously helpful with the snorkeling equipment and to get into the water. During the snorkeling the crew members were out on surfboards two overlook the snorkelers. We felt extremely safe and fine.
On our way back we were served lunch with fresh fruits and beverages and nice things to eat.
We can highly recommend this company for booking a snorkeling trip. Unfortunately we did not see any dolphins or green turtles this day, but that is absolutely not the fault of the company.
Manuela and Christian from Austria.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

So many Dolphins to see!

Reviewed by: Rylee, 2015/08/31

This was my husband and I's first trip to Maui. We knew we wanted to do something adventurous but also relaxing for an excursion. The snorkel trip to Lanai was just what we were looking for. We ended up snorkeling at two different areas that day; first, at sweetheart point on Lanai, and then another spot around Lahaina on Maui. We would have stayed longer at sweetheart since it is more secluded, but there were just a couple of passengers who had spotted jellyfish in the water, so the captain made the decision to move elsewhere. As we were traveling back to Maui, we were lucky enough to see not just one, but two pods of Hawaiian spinner Dolphins. This was definitely the best part of the trip that day. They were very active dolphins and would swim along side the boat for minutes at a time. After we made it to the second snorkeling spot on Maui, a few passengers spotted a sea turtle swimming near an old abanded pier. The crew was also very kind and helpful and made sure that our safety was their priority. Food was great as well. We hope to do this excursion again someday and would recommend it to all!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Awesome snorkeling trip Maui to Lanai

Reviewed by: Dustin, 2015/07/08

This trip was a great trip that gave us a couple different spots to check out snorkeling in Maui. Boarding the boat was quick and easy and we were out of the harbor in no time. I suggest if you did tent gear or have your own snorkel gear to bring it with you. They are just basic J snorkels with one size fits most masks. The trip to lanai was quick and calm. The reef off of Lanai was pristine and had soo many colors. The wind picked up so we got off the spot looked for dolphin to the south and went to a second spot near Lahaina. This spot was great also near a broken down pier with tons of sea turtles. The bbq lunch of burgers hotdogs and chicken was great as well as the crew who went around to make sure everyone was having a great time. The crew was great for younger children and older patrons alike. There was even a complimentary adult beverage included after lunch. They sell some gear to raise money for local whale research which was a great concept. I would recommend this trip to any family looking to get out snorkeling for the first time. Great way to see the island and the coral reefs.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lahaina Whale Watch Cruise Excursions - Most Popular Whale Watch Tour in Maui

Outstanding whale watch

Reviewed by: Carol and Jim , 2017/12/30

We were totally impressed with the professionalism of the research staff on the whale watch of Dec 8. The pilot was extremely experienced and could pick up the behavior of the whales from afar to make an educated guess as to if they might come up more often than not. The attendants were knowledgeable as well providing much information as to the life cycles of the hump back whales. Many questions were answered to our satisfaction. They put a sort of a microphone to attempt to detect whale sounds although not successful they were willing to try all the technology to help us have the best experience ever. I really think luck played a big part in our amazing morning of whale watching but that being said it's worth taking a chance and we most appreciated the staffs attention to safety and providing all the education they did. The juvenile whales came right up to our boat and we're curious and playing around the boat so long the pilot had to call a sailboat over to distract them away so we could start our engine and return to shore. It was just amazing.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/12/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skyline Kaanapali Zipline Adventure

A must-do on Maui: Kaanapali Zipline Adventure

Reviewed by: Manu S., 2014/12/15

One thing you definitely have to do during your Maui visit is ziplining!
We booked the 8 Line Zip Tour which took all in all about 4 hours. At „half time“ there was organized a little break at an wonderful lookout where you had the chance to take some snacks and drinks.
It was our very first time we did ziplining and we really enjoyed it. Not only the adventure itself but also the wonderful view on Kaanapali coast is worth it. Don‘t worry about little fear of heights, because the guides will take it away with their joking manner. We were surprised positively that ziplining is popular with all age groups. The group we joined in was mixed up and we all had pretty much fun doing the Kaanapali Zipline Adventure. Therefore we would absolutely recommend it to everybody - no matter if you do it with friends, your family or as a couple.
The online-booking via Veltra was uncomplicated and the procedure on site was smoothly.
Thumbs up for the great organization and the whole ziplining team - you must not miss this adventure!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Snorkel and Dolphin Watch Cruise with Lunch (from Lahaina Harbor)

Best Experience Ever!

Reviewed by: Brian, 2015/12/30

This was our first time going to Maui with the family and we wanted to choose the activities that would leave a great impact on all of us. And boy did we do the right choice. Doing this activity was the best experience ever! The staff was very friendly and informed us regarding safety issues, then we had our continental breakfast. On our way to the first snorkeling spot we had the chance to see some whales and that was a plus. Once we arrived to the right spot we snorkeled for about 45-55 minutes where we all had a chance to see a baby turtle swimming among us (super cute by the way). After that we continued to our second snorkeling place and it was there where we encountered more turtles and fishes. Being able to see the ocean life from a different perspective is amazing. Once we concluded our snorkeling we went back to the boat and had some delicious burgers and hotdogs BBQed for us by the staff. It was just amazing! I encourage you to do the Maui to Lanai - Dolphin Watch & Snorkel BBQ Lunch Cruise.


  • Ready to discover underwater wonders =)

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Goofy Foot Surf School - Maui Surfing Lessons with FREE Photos (from Lahaina)

Fabulous for everyone!

Reviewed by: Victoria Dame, 2012/09/10

We surprised our 10 year old son with surfing lessons on our recent trip to Maui. He was so excited when he finally found out what we were doing.

When we finally found Goofy Foot they were already getting people suited up and checked in. It is a little difficult to find, but worth the search. (Just so you know, it's past the school in a small shopping center on Front Street in Lahaina. Not in the main shopping district).

We checked in and they got him all suited up, he was the only kid that morning. They have small groups, only five people per instructor. They also have a photographer, $20 for 20 pictures. The pictures were good, not fantastic, but the price was great and we have a few really good ones.

The photographer took everyone down to the beach and gave them a lesson in hamming it up for the camera. Then the instructor came down and the lesson started.

They learned all the moves to get up, stay up, speed up and slow down on the sand before moving the board

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Princess Sunset Cocktail Dinner Cruise & Royal Lahaina Luau Combo

Sunset Dinner Cruise & Luau

Reviewed by: Dye, 2012/07/09

This combo package was excellent quality and value! We were set to sail on a Monday evening. The island was experiencing high winds the previous day with no end in sight. The activities company gave a courteous call asking if we would like to reschedule for later in the week. After assuring me the cruise would safely sail as planned that evening, whether we rescheduled or not, we declined the reschedule. The servers, captain and entertainment seemed happy to be doing their jobs which made our experience that much more pleasurable. The entertainment was Jimmy Buffet-ish with a touch of Hawaiian. He recognized birthdays, anniversaries etc and several folks joined him on the dance floor. The dinner was AMAZING! I am not a huge fish eater... but the macadamia nut crusted mahi mahi was to die for! We were seated with some Newlyweds from the midwest whose company was very enjoyable. I think sometimes people are a bit uncomfortable dining with strangers. However, the crew made everyone feel a

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Princess Sunset Cocktail Dinner Cruise & Royal Lahaina Luau Combo

Dinner Cruise combo Luau

Reviewed by: Ray & Gerry of Central NY, 2012/01/03

Unfortunately you can't always have perfect weather; there was no sunset to view. But the food was good, the ride was smooth and the couple we shared our table with were very friendly; on their honeymoon from Belgium. Our only complaint is the way the guests are loaded onto the boat. When you embark instead of climbing topside you are led all the way around the bow only to come back where you boarded, then you're allowed on top. A nice walk unless you're DISABLED! The staff I complained to said it was my fault for not telling them I have trouble walking. Other than that, the rest of the staff was great, and I soon forgot any troubles. The Luau was good but the food lines were too long; that was a problem for those of us at the back. It was difficult to eat in the dark, when the entertainment started and the lights were turned off. My wife felt the dancers were only up for a short while and should've performed longer. Rain was forecast (it didn't) and maybe they were rushing to beat th

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations