This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui to Lanai Ferry - 4x4 Jeep Rental (from Lahaina Harbor)

Overall Rating

4.194.19 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews (Post a review)

Attended as (Families) Reviews

Memorable experience

Reviewed by: Cathy, 2018/09/29

The ferry ride was VERY rough on trip over to Lana I. Many roads not open due to recent rain. We enjoyed hiking in Shipwreck beach and seeing the landscape. The cat sanctuary was the highlight of the day. Walking arount town was pleasant. We enjoyed visiting the shops. Probably wouldn't return unless we were assured that more roads were open. Staff was quite accommodating.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai 4+4 Jeep rental

Reviewed by: Bob, 2018/09/22

The Jeep experience on Lanai was great but we could not take it on most of the off roads except for shipwreck beach. The recent rain tropical storm dropped a lot of rain and left the roads impassable. This is the 2nd time I’ve tried and had the same result.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to lanai

Reviewed by: Nancy, 2017/12/03

Very easy! Great trip! The experiencemafe easy was simplified by your booking. Would use it again on our next trip over to the Hawaiian islands.


  • Shipwreck beach!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, money well spent!

Reviewed by: Alicia L., 2017/04/29

At first the day seemed like a pricey day when you consider for two people it cost over $300. The cost was well worth it! When we arrived at the Lahaina boat dock we received our vouchers and were told we could basically return on any ferry regardless of our departure time (so more flexibility than expected). The ferry ride was great, we got to see whales all over the place, which was a first for my mother. Once we reached Lanai everything was taken care of, the shuttle had been booked and paid for that takes you to the rental car site. The rental jeep was ready to go, although it's not really stated anywhere beforehand you are not allowed to remove the roof due to red dust. Most of the adds showing jeeps on Lanai have jeep tops off or down but you cannot do that. That being said I wouldn't have wanted it down due to the red dust either. The shuttle driver setup a pick up time before leaving, as well as his number in case we wanted to catch an earlier ferry back. We rode down to Shipwreck beach, did the Cat Sanctuary, and then Garden of the Gods and the beach below. This took all day and by no means did we do the entire island, which meant that we took the last ferry back to Lahaina. We would do this again as there is more to see and do on the island as well as the ease of just showing up and having everything set for your day.


  • Cat at the Cat Sanctuary.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry - Fun for the Family

Reviewed by: Deric, 2017/02/06

We had a great time with the ferry to lanai and the Jeep rental. Although buyer beware - the Jeep rental agency on Lanai will try to shake you down for transporting you on the shuttle to the rental office. Only send your driver with the shuttle to avoid being charged for the shuttle.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Jeep rental

Reviewed by: Cheryl , 2016/06/18

We were so disappointed that the rental company did not notify us that the off roads were closed due to all the rain. We were so excited to go over and had our day planned accordingly. We ended up taking an earlier Ferry home..a ton of money spent for exploring the town.
We would have rescheduled if they had let us know. I had been there before and wanted so much to show my family. It was a very unhappy day.
I love Lanai and its charm. I'm sure the trip will be taken again. You can't control Mother Nature but it would have been nice to be given the option to reschedule.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha Cheryl,

Thank you very much for submitting your review on our website. Expeditions usually informs us at least a day or two in advance so that you can make the decision before you board the ferry ride to Lanai. We regret to hear that you were not informed of the road closures ahead of time. Expeditions has offered a partial refund in for the activity not meeting your expectations.

Mahalo Nui Loa,
VELTRA Customer Support

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lanai Ferry and Jeep Adventure

Reviewed by: Bunky , 2015/07/27

All we can say is "WOW"!

First:
The Ferry ride to and from Lanai was, in itself, fantastic. We met some locals who couldn't have been nicer and saw an unreal sunset on the way home.

Next:
After we grabber our Jeep we hit Richards supermarket. Now, by this time in the trip we had eaten enough poke to get Mercury poisoning so when I tell you that Richrads Super Poke Bowl was the best we had. I mean it! Id go back just for that!

More!:
We hit Shipwreck beach which was beautiful. We made it to the Garden of the Gods and then to the beach beyond that....we did not see a SOUL out there. It really felt like we were on a deserted island.
Now, I do have to tell you, the drive is technical and you could get stuck. So be careful! There was a point where I had to lay some rocks and driftwood in the trail just to make it through.

All in all....it was an amazing day and I will go back to see the rest of Lanai as soon as I can.






Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/07/05
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui to Lanai Ferry 4x4 Rental

Reviewed by: Regina M, 2014/04/23

This is a MUST NOT MISS trip if you are in Maui. Explore Lanai in a 4x4 Jeep to areas off the grid. Don't worry that you aren't an off road driver. Put the Jeep in 4wheel drive and go! I am so glad that I was able to fit this trip into our itinerary.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]