Maui All Stars Stargazing Tour & Haleakala National Park Sunset Experience reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui (With pictures only) | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui All Stars Stargazing Tour & Haleakala National Park Sunset Experience

Overall Rating

4.98 4.98 / 5

Reviews

65 reviews
Post a review

Book this tour if you love stargazing! You won’t be disappointed!

Reviewed by: Vikram W, 2024/02/20

Wonderful experience of Haleakala mountain expedition includes watching beautiful sunset from a secret location away from the crowd followed by sky full of stars, using 2 different telescopes to see different constellations, stars, Jupiter and its moons, andromeda and our moon from close and in HD, as well taking variety of pictures using our phone.

The tour guide Yoshi is a passionate stargazing enthusiast and also a great photographer. He guided us through the crater for various photo locations and spots, and will took us to the secret spot away from the crowd to watch beautiful sunset and he also became our photographer and clicked perfect pictures on each spot, so we didn’t need to worry about taking selfies. He also showed us some tricks for clicking beautiful pictures of stars in the dark.

I highly recommend this Haleakala sunset and stargazing tour with Yoshi to everyone that loves stargazing and also interested in watching sunset from the top of Haleakala mountain above clouds at 10k+ elevation from sea level.

Yoshi picked us up from our hotel in West Maui in the afternoon and another couple who was visiting from Japan from their hotel, then we all picked some dinner from a nearby marketplace and started with our journey to Haleakala mountain top. Yoshi had also bought us donuts from Crispy Creme and also provided us with winter coats, blankets and hot tea to prevent from cold winds atop the mountain. Thanks Yoshi for this wonderful experience. Arigato and Mahalo!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful stargazing and sunset

Reviewed by: Hyma, 2024/01/27

The guide was super good and really informative. Truly suggest this to everyone

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2024/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best New Years Eve Star Gazing!!

Reviewed by: Tania , 2024/01/20

Yoshi is an amazing guide. His personality is everything. We had an amazing sunset and were able to see clearly Andromeda, Jupiter, and Saturn. One of the best experiences of our trip!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Dina, 2023/12/28

If you want to see the rings of Saturn and Jupiter and craters of the moon then this tour is a must! Yoshi had everything taken care of for us. He had warm jackets, gloves, blankets, chairs, and a GPS computerized telescope. He was pleasant, kind, and knowledgeable. He even bought us donuts and made us hot tea! This tour was AMAZING! In our group of 4, it was a unanimous vote for the best tour of our whole vacation. We all enjoyed the beautiful sunset from a private location. Then, Yoshi brought out his personal telescope and showed us some stars, planets and the moon up close and personal. We had never seen anything like it before. We gave this tour 5 stars.

  • Beautiful Sunset

  • Stary Night

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour!

Reviewed by: Rim, 2023/10/16

Amazing sunset & night sky! We loved learning about stars. This tour is 100% worth it.
A special thanks to our tour guide Yoshi:
- He picked us up at our hotel right on time, we didn’t have to wait a minute!
- He bought us donuts for the ride and told us great stories about Maui along the way.
- The tour was well prepared: we had chairs and blankets to watch the sunset, and binoculars and telescope tonwatch the stars
- He was toughtful and offered us hot tea and coffee when he saw us shivering from cold (much needed!)
Thanks again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do on Maui

Reviewed by: John, 2023/10/15

This was an amazing tour! Our guide was so knowledgeable. Gorgeous views and so many stars. We even got to see Saturn and the Milky Way! Both our kids 11 &15 fully enjoyed it. One said it was their favorite activity on our trip. We will definitely be doing it again on our next trip to Maui. It’s does get cold at the top, so make sure you bring layers, hat and gloves! Blankets are provided!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The tour guy was exceptionally professional. Very memorable stargazing experience!

Reviewed by: Flora, 2023/07/28

The tour guy was exceptionally professional. Good ride. Very Friendly. Caring and taking care for everyone on the tour. He’s also a professional photographer and showed us how to take great night photos!!! Best experience!!! 100% Recommend this tour!!! He gave us the most memorable experience for our trip! My kids are ages of 12 and 8. They like this tour a lot.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2023/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Jerry, 2023/07/14

Yoshi was very knowledgeable and friendly. My girlfriend and I had an awesome time. Thank you so much!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My kids RAVED

Reviewed by: Awesome Excursion, 2023/07/10

I and one of my sons were not able to go due to illness but my other kids went and loved the experience - they can't wait to do this again. They are very academically inclined and found him to be incredibly knowledgable and engaging. They could not stop talking about how much fun and informative the trip was. He also provided them with blankets, jackets, tea and coffee. He took beautiful pictures and showed them how to take photos as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/07/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime experience

Reviewed by: Ketan and Poonam, 2023/07/04

This experience is a MUST if you are staying in Maui!
You will not get to do this anywhere else! And book with Yoshi, he made this experience wonderful from start to end.

We were picked up on time, and did stops to pick up sandwich on route.

Yoshi took us to the summit and then found a nice quiet place for us to see the most beautiful sunset and then the night sky full of stars! It was truly spectacular!
Yoshi was so informative and the views of the Milky Way and craters on the moon from the telescope were amazing!

It’s very cold up at the summit so pack hat, gloves and warm clothes if you are doing this experience.

Yoshi bought coats and gloves for us! And some yummy Krispy Kreme donuts

Thank you again Yoshi for this incredible experience that me and my husband will always remember! It made are trip Hawaii even more special.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unforgettable experience!

Reviewed by: Jennifer , 2023/06/24

The overall experience was amazing and unforgettable! We got to view the gorgeous sunset and sky studded with millions of stars. Our guide Yoshi provided warm coat and gloves, and we were able to enjoy the whole experience in warmth and comfort. Yoshi setup his powerful telescopes and gave us glimpse of moon's surface, and stars that are light years away. The experience exceeded our expectations, and would recommend for anyone visiting Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Incredible experience!

Reviewed by: McGovern family , 2023/06/14

Our family of 4 had an amazing time watching the sunset and stargazing with Yoshi! It’s a very special experience that we all enjoyed and won’t soon forget. Yoshi did a great job of making sure everyone was comfortable and adapting to the high altitudes well. He showed us many stars and constellations and provided a lot of details about the island and vegetation. We would definitely recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2023/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Haleakala sunset tour

Reviewed by: Mary Franklin, 2023/06/06

Gosh I was absolutely amazing! He took us to a more secluded spot to watch the sunset and was very knowledgeable. 10/10 would recommend taking this tour!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful guide, 100% recommend over other Haleakala experiences

Reviewed by: Kristin, 2023/05/24

Yoshi is an excellent, enthusiastic guide who takes great pictures! He provided a lot of neat information about Maui and Haleakala along with extensive knowledge about the stars. You are picked up from fairly accessible locations, and I'm glad to pay for someone experienced in driving the roads, which can get narrow and quite close to cliff edges. Three stops along the way before the peak to get accustomed to the gradual climb in altitude. The actual crater couldn't be seen due to clouds, but Haleakala was still quite beautiful to see. I chose the sunset tour because I didn't want to get up that early for sunrise, and I'm glad I did! I was well rested and the sunset was beautiful. Yoshi provided comfortable camp chairs, warm coats, gloves, and hot tea as we waited for the sunset. You need to bring your own dinner, so don't forget to pack it! It was great, super peaceful, quiet, and comfy! Once night fell, Yoshi brought out some high-tech telescopes and pointed out constellations. I got to see Mars! It was a very clear night and amazing to see all the stars filling the sky. Informative and quite the experience. Afterwards, he drove us back. I really enjoyed this tour and highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2023/05/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An absolute must when visiting Maui

Reviewed by: Ian Armstrong, 2023/05/03

We cannot speak glowingly enough about the stargazing tour experience with Yoshi. He was such a knowledgeable and considerate guide. He had everything we could possibly need to be comfortable on top of the mountain, and it is so much more enjoyable making that trip as a passenger than as a driver. We cannot recommend the experience enough!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The best tour ever!

Reviewed by: Angelica Molina , 2023/04/19

Our guide was the best. Everything was Amazing.
He brought chairs, hot water for tea or coffee, blankets, a telescope and binoculars to see the stars and the constellations. Very good photographer as well. We are so happy!! Thank you so much for this opportunity.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Touch the stars ✨

Reviewed by: Hermann , 2023/01/04

It’s been a really lovely experience from the drive through the sunset to the guided star tour! Very touching ✨

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Mrs. Mertens , 2022/11/03

I chose this excursion to surprise my Husband on out Honeymoon and we had the best time. Yoshi was kind, knowledgeable, and fun to be around. I was even able to tell him that this was a surprise for my husband and he had no idea what we were doing and Yoshi helped me keep that secret till we were at the top of the summit. Yoshi picked us up at the Lahaina Mall and made many fun stops on our way to the top of Haleakala. First was Krispy Creme where he picked us up donuts, next we stopped at Foodland so we could all get some food for sunset and the final stop was Kula Lodge located on the volcano. We then reached the summit to watch the sunset. Yoshi was so kind and took many pictures of my Husband and I. He had blankets, coats, and gloves for us as it is quite chilly at the top. We were then able to sit in his warm van and enjoy the food we had bought at Foodland and Yoshi offered us coffee that he brought. Then the fun part started, Yoshi has very high quality telescopes. We went when there was a full moon and we were able to see the moon in very high detail as well as Saturn and Jupiter and few constellations. We will definitely be coming back when we visit Maui again and we cant wait!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great night

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2022/10/18

Yoshi was our guide and he was super friendly and informative. Drove us all the way to the summit to watch the sunset and then later on, the stars. Highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Experience

Reviewed by: Dariana Pirela, 2022/09/29

I love it everything in the tour, definitely is a dream come true!! So gorgeous and the pictures are amazing. This is that kind of experience which everyone have to do it! Thank you so much

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Kacy, 2022/09/28

We had such a great time and felt well taken care of on this tour. Would recommend to everyone I know. We went with 2 kids (9 and 11) and both thought it was great too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour. Different than the rest.

Reviewed by: Andreas P, 2022/09/12

This was an amazing experience.

Yes you can drive to the top of the mountain with your own car and view the sunset and save yourself the money ( you still have to pay admission fee). But this tour is not just about the sunset.
Its about seeing the stars mostly.
Yoshi has two freaking telescopes. Not just one. 1 worth around 3k i believe and the other for sure more than 10k.

Also we saw some other tours going up tthe mountain and a lot of cars and it gets really packed at the 10k feet. Yoshi has his secret location thats what he calls it, where actually not a lot of people go there and its at 9k feet. So hw drives up to the 10k feet to see the sunset, and if its packed he goes down the 9k feet. But for the stars is definetely at the 9k feet and its amazing for both. Not a lot of people, there is silence and you can enjoy both experiences.

Also the other tours are just for the sunset most probably. We definetely dis t see anyone else with a telescope. So yeah this experience is unique.

We were able to view multiple stars and he explained everything about the stars, we were able to view the ISS station when it passed through, we were able to see Saturn very closely and yes its like the pictures. You can see the ring around it.
We also saw Jupiter and 4 moons of jupiter and the moon and the craters on tbe moon. All these you cant see with the naked eye.

He provided jackets, chairs, blankets as it gets cold up there, some krispy kreme donughts, hot tea, coffee, and water as well.

So yeah if you just wanna see the sunset you can do it on your own if you wanna save money . But the real experience which is something unique that you cant see abywhere else is the star gazing and you get the sunset as a bonus.

So yeah recommended. And go with this tour because of the telescope.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the kind words. We try our best to make the tour unique and exciting, so every customer walks away with a new appreciation of Maui, but also the Cosmos. We are delighted that you had a memorable trip and that's our goal for each and every tour. Please come again and mention that you're a return customer. We will bend over backwards to provide another exciting tour.

Mahalo,


Maui All Stars

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime

Reviewed by: Tajhv0429@gmail.com, 2022/08/27

It was a once in a lifetime experience. Our tour guide was real friendly and knowledgeable. He showed us a shopping center on our way. He serve crispy krispy cream donuts and tea. Shared his knowledge and showed us Jupiter, the craters of the moon and constellations. The drive up did not take very long. It was freezing during the night so put on layers. Watching the sunset was beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do!

Reviewed by: Sarah , 2022/08/14

Yoshi was our tour guide and he was fabulous. Very knowledgeable and thoroughly enjoyed the overall experience. At 10 thousand feet it does get colder than you expect. We had the chance to stop and change into warmer clothes before going to the summit. Highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience ever!

Reviewed by: Grace and Drew, 2022/06/29

We had the best tour ever! We ended up being the only two on the tour and it was amazing. He even stopped and got us some donuts. We saw the best sunset and so many stars. Yoshi showed us all the different stars and the milky way on the telescope. He also took plenty of pictures of us and let me just say he is an amazing photographer. Would love to go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Lindalim , 2022/06/27

Yoshi is amazing! He is very thoughtful and came prepared. I went to Haleakala for sunset and then went for stargazing. He is very knowledgeable and explained a lot about stars to us using laser & telescope. He gave us donut, tea, blanket, gloves, jacket, and candy. It was amazing!!! He is very kind and friendly. I definitely recommended him to everyone.

Ps: Thank you, Yoshi!

  • Sunset

  • View from telescope (right)

  • View from Telescope (left)

  • Milky way

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing stargazing trip!

Reviewed by: Roxanne, 2022/06/10

This tour is absolutely worth it! Yoshi is tour owner and tour guide with over 20 yrs experience! His tour is perfect for those who don’t want to drive up for their first time in the dark and windy road (like the other tour). Everything was provided as described- and the arctic jackets were a must have because it was freezing and windy! Loved the hot tea provided too! Yoshi is super knowledgeable about the stars and with his telescopes we were able to see the beautiful stars. Oh and the sunset was absolutely terrific too! Definitely worth taking this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A MUST-DO ACTIVITY!

Reviewed by: Shooee, 2022/03/29

Yamauchi-san's tour was absolutely amazing. He was so courteous and professional. He also took so many good, creative pictures of us and he is very talented. We enjoyed his company and tour. It ended up being the most favorite activity during our entire trip. Who knew an astronomy tour could be so fascinating? A must-go tour in Maui!

  • Sunset is more beautiful than sunrise because of pollution in the air.

  • The stars look so much closer than I ever thought they would be!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING

Reviewed by: :)), 2022/02/28

Aren’t enough words to describe how wonderful the experience was!!! The most beautiful sunset and stars I will ever experience! I would highly recommend to EVERYONE!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2021/10/04

We were fortunate enough to have had a new moon and clear sky up on Haleakalā back in September. We had breathtaking views of Milky Way, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, the Andromeda galaxy, and much more thanks to our amazing guide, Yoshi! Yoshi brought us a box of donuts and served us hot tea throughout the night. We were a bit fearful of driving down from the summit in the dark, but Yoshi led the way and made us feel very safe. This was easily one of our most memorable experiences during our visit to Maui and highly recommend it!

  • looking toward Maalaea Bay

  • taken with an iphone / no tripod

  • taken with an iphone / no tripod

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories