Maui All Stars Stargazing Tour & Haleakala National Park Sunset Experience reviews, Maui tours & activities, fun things to do in Maui | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Maui All Stars Stargazing Tour & Haleakala National Park Sunset Experience

Overall Rating

4.97 4.97 / 5

Reviews

32 reviews
Post a review

Amazing tour despite weather conditions

Reviewed by: Rickard Dybeck , 2023/02/04

My girlfriend and I got to enjoy a private tour by Yoshi up Haleakalā, and I’ve rarely encountered a tour guide with such love for his profession and adopted home. Unfortunately it was very cloudy so we couldn’t see the stars, but Yoshi took us to a great pizza place and we chatted for several hours and learned so much about Japan and Maui. We will be back next time we’re in Maui and we will make sure it’s during the summer months for better weather conditions. I would strongly recommend taking a tour with him (and when given the option go for ice cream), as he will work so hard to ensure you have the greatest time.
Also don’t be too worried about it being cold, it was around 45F when we were there, and at least for me I was fine in a t-shirt.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The most magical experience!

Reviewed by: Mala, 2023/01/23

This was the most special experience of my life and I will remember it forever. Yoshi is the kindest and most knowledgeable person, the ride up the mountain was so smooth, the sunset was absolutely breathtaking, and seeing and learning about stars and planets really felt like dreaming. I truly believe it was the best day of my life.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Yoshi will make stargazing a highlight of your trip

Reviewed by: Ben, 2023/01/08

Yoshi's knowledge and passion for the stars made this one of the most memorable experiences of our time in Maui. We will definitely be booking again on our next trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2023/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Touch the stars ✨

Reviewed by: Hermann , 2023/01/04

It’s been a really lovely experience from the drive through the sunset to the guided star tour! Very touching ✨

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2023/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing stargazing

Reviewed by: Dale, 2022/11/05

Our guide was very knowledgeable throughout the tour. However, his vast knowledge regarding planets, stars and constellations was the highlight of the tour. Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Mrs. Mertens , 2022/11/03

I chose this excursion to surprise my Husband on out Honeymoon and we had the best time. Yoshi was kind, knowledgeable, and fun to be around. I was even able to tell him that this was a surprise for my husband and he had no idea what we were doing and Yoshi helped me keep that secret till we were at the top of the summit. Yoshi picked us up at the Lahaina Mall and made many fun stops on our way to the top of Haleakala. First was Krispy Creme where he picked us up donuts, next we stopped at Foodland so we could all get some food for sunset and the final stop was Kula Lodge located on the volcano. We then reached the summit to watch the sunset. Yoshi was so kind and took many pictures of my Husband and I. He had blankets, coats, and gloves for us as it is quite chilly at the top. We were then able to sit in his warm van and enjoy the food we had bought at Foodland and Yoshi offered us coffee that he brought. Then the fun part started, Yoshi has very high quality telescopes. We went when there was a full moon and we were able to see the moon in very high detail as well as Saturn and Jupiter and few constellations. We will definitely be coming back when we visit Maui again and we cant wait!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great night

Reviewed by: A. M. Delisle, 2022/10/31

Our tour guide was great. So knowledgeable and informative. We really enjoyed the stargazing sunset tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a fantastic experience.

Reviewed by: Mari, 2022/10/26

Our guide was the best. He took the time to show everything to us and to answer all our questions. He was an amazing guy. We loved the experience so much. Our guide was excellent and knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What a great night

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2022/10/18

Yoshi was our guide and he was super friendly and informative. Drove us all the way to the summit to watch the sunset and then later on, the stars. Highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Company

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/10/04

Unfortunately, our tour got downpoured on, and there was not much sunset, but the crew worked to re-accommodate us for a future event.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/10/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Ricky & Taylor , 2022/10/02

Yoshi was a great tour guide! He made us feel like he was so happy to share the experience with us. He is very kind and thoughtful and definitely knows all about the national park and the island itself along with all the stars and planets he shows you through his telescope. The views of the sky through the telescope were awesome. Definitely an experience we will never forget! A must do when visiting Maui.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time!

Reviewed by: MTT, 2022/10/01

Winter clothes were provided but bring a hat or extra gloves if you get cold easily. Yoshi did a great job of showing us the stars and we saw Saturn too! He even had Krispy Kremes and hot drinks!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2022/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: Steve, 2022/10/01

Great guide and tour. Would definitely recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Experience

Reviewed by: Dariana Pirela, 2022/09/29

I love it everything in the tour, definitely is a dream come true!! So gorgeous and the pictures are amazing. This is that kind of experience which everyone have to do it! Thank you so much

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Kacy, 2022/09/28

We had such a great time and felt well taken care of on this tour. Would recommend to everyone I know. We went with 2 kids (9 and 11) and both thought it was great too.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Glad we chose the tour with stargazing

Reviewed by: Lori, 2022/09/17

There’s always a chance when scheduling a tour that the weather will not cooperate. Our trip was that time for the sunset at Haleakala. That was a little disappointing, but Yoshikazu more than made up for it with the stargazing. He is so knowledgeable of the stars and has a great telescope. Because it was a new moon night, we were even able to see the rings around Saturn! There were 7 of us on this tour, so he was more than willing to help with pictures for everyone. We were worried about how cold it gets up on top, but winter coats and lap blankets were included. We really enjoyed this trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing tour. Different than the rest.

Reviewed by: Andreas P, 2022/09/12

This was an amazing experience.

Yes you can drive to the top of the mountain with your own car and view the sunset and save yourself the money ( you still have to pay admission fee). But this tour is not just about the sunset.
Its about seeing the stars mostly.
Yoshi has two freaking telescopes. Not just one. 1 worth around 3k i believe and the other for sure more than 10k.

Also we saw some other tours going up tthe mountain and a lot of cars and it gets really packed at the 10k feet. Yoshi has his secret location thats what he calls it, where actually not a lot of people go there and its at 9k feet. So hw drives up to the 10k feet to see the sunset, and if its packed he goes down the 9k feet. But for the stars is definetely at the 9k feet and its amazing for both. Not a lot of people, there is silence and you can enjoy both experiences.

Also the other tours are just for the sunset most probably. We definetely dis t see anyone else with a telescope. So yeah this experience is unique.

We were able to view multiple stars and he explained everything about the stars, we were able to view the ISS station when it passed through, we were able to see Saturn very closely and yes its like the pictures. You can see the ring around it.
We also saw Jupiter and 4 moons of jupiter and the moon and the craters on tbe moon. All these you cant see with the naked eye.

He provided jackets, chairs, blankets as it gets cold up there, some krispy kreme donughts, hot tea, coffee, and water as well.

So yeah if you just wanna see the sunset you can do it on your own if you wanna save money . But the real experience which is something unique that you cant see abywhere else is the star gazing and you get the sunset as a bonus.

So yeah recommended. And go with this tour because of the telescope.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate the kind words. We try our best to make the tour unique and exciting, so every customer walks away with a new appreciation of Maui, but also the Cosmos. We are delighted that you had a memorable trip and that's our goal for each and every tour. Please come again and mention that you're a return customer. We will bend over backwards to provide another exciting tour.

Mahalo,


Maui All Stars

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The Best Sunset Ever

Reviewed by: Alberto and Camilla, 2022/08/30

This experience was absolutely great! The view of the sunset from the top of Haleakalā volcano leaves anyone speechless and looking at the stars surrounded by the complete dark and the complete silence is astonishing. Yoshi is the perfect guide: he knows everything about Maui and he is an amazing guest. He bought us donuts, he gave us hot tea and sweets, and he had coats and gloves to face the cold. Visiting Maui is something you can't miss.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Once in a lifetime

Reviewed by: Tajhv0429@gmail.com, 2022/08/27

It was a once in a lifetime experience. Our tour guide was real friendly and knowledgeable. He showed us a shopping center on our way. He serve crispy krispy cream donuts and tea. Shared his knowledge and showed us Jupiter, the craters of the moon and constellations. The drive up did not take very long. It was freezing during the night so put on layers. Watching the sunset was beautiful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/08/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Must Do!

Reviewed by: Sarah , 2022/08/14

Yoshi was our tour guide and he was fabulous. Very knowledgeable and thoroughly enjoyed the overall experience. At 10 thousand feet it does get colder than you expect. We had the chance to stop and change into warmer clothes before going to the summit. Highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing

Reviewed by: Ashima Chand , 2022/07/28

Amazing Tour and awesome tour guide and driver . Very polite and helpful throughout the tour !
So knowledgeable and made it extra special for each tourist . Must do for anyone planning a trip

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2022/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gorgeous Experience!

Reviewed by: Kara, 2022/07/24

The sunset is just as good as the sunrise! and no reservations. This tour company however is the one to go with, as the stargaze was really detailed!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Anirudh, 2022/07/15

We had a great time in the sunset and stargazing tour. The tour operator Yamauchi-San was a very friendly and knowledgeable guide. He promptly picked us up at the scheduled time. He was very engaging with the whole group and provided us with donuts and water at the start of the trip. He ensured that the group got gradually acclimated to the altitude by stopping at couple of places on the way. Once we reached the summit he took us to a place that had a very clear view of the setting sun. Then during the stargazing part of the tour he showed us several stars and star clusters through the telescope and binoculars. Also since it was a full moon we also got a good view of the moon and it’s craters through the telescope. Overall we enjoyed the tour and would recommend it to others.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best experience ever!

Reviewed by: Grace and Drew, 2022/06/29

We had the best tour ever! We ended up being the only two on the tour and it was amazing. He even stopped and got us some donuts. We saw the best sunset and so many stars. Yoshi showed us all the different stars and the milky way on the telescope. He also took plenty of pictures of us and let me just say he is an amazing photographer. Would love to go again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2022/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing!

Reviewed by: Lindalim , 2022/06/27

Yoshi is amazing! He is very thoughtful and came prepared. I went to Haleakala for sunset and then went for stargazing. He is very knowledgeable and explained a lot about stars to us using laser & telescope. He gave us donut, tea, blanket, gloves, jacket, and candy. It was amazing!!! He is very kind and friendly. I definitely recommended him to everyone.

Ps: Thank you, Yoshi!

  • Sunset

  • View from telescope (right)

  • View from Telescope (left)

  • Milky way

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2022/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing stargazing trip!

Reviewed by: Roxanne, 2022/06/10

This tour is absolutely worth it! Yoshi is tour owner and tour guide with over 20 yrs experience! His tour is perfect for those who don’t want to drive up for their first time in the dark and windy road (like the other tour). Everything was provided as described- and the arctic jackets were a must have because it was freezing and windy! Loved the hot tea provided too! Yoshi is super knowledgeable about the stars and with his telescopes we were able to see the beautiful stars. Oh and the sunset was absolutely terrific too! Definitely worth taking this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/06/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful tour guide!

Reviewed by: Susan E., 2022/04/18

Yoshi was amazing! He was warm, friendly and knowledgeable about the start and area. We had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A MUST-DO ACTIVITY!

Reviewed by: Shooee, 2022/03/29

Yamauchi-san's tour was absolutely amazing. He was so courteous and professional. He also took so many good, creative pictures of us and he is very talented. We enjoyed his company and tour. It ended up being the most favorite activity during our entire trip. Who knew an astronomy tour could be so fascinating? A must-go tour in Maui!

  • Sunset is more beautiful than sunrise because of pollution in the air.

  • The stars look so much closer than I ever thought they would be!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING

Reviewed by: :)), 2022/02/28

Aren’t enough words to describe how wonderful the experience was!!! The most beautiful sunset and stars I will ever experience! I would highly recommend to EVERYONE!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2022/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience!

Reviewed by: Sam, 2021/10/04

We were fortunate enough to have had a new moon and clear sky up on Haleakalā back in September. We had breathtaking views of Milky Way, Venus, Jupiter, Saturn, the Andromeda galaxy, and much more thanks to our amazing guide, Yoshi! Yoshi brought us a box of donuts and served us hot tea throughout the night. We were a bit fearful of driving down from the summit in the dark, but Yoshi led the way and made us feel very safe. This was easily one of our most memorable experiences during our visit to Maui and highly recommend it!

  • looking toward Maalaea Bay

  • taken with an iphone / no tripod

  • taken with an iphone / no tripod

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2021/09/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Maui Categories