(All Reviews) Fishing Charters & Tours (Cruises, Sailing & Boat Tours), Big Island tours & activities, fun things to do in Big Island | HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

We are continually updating the latest closures and availabilities of our activities, and the most up to date information regarding COVID-19 in Hawaii can be found here.

All Reviews for Fishing Charters & Tours in Big Island

Overall Rating

4.25 4.25 / 5

Reviews

32 reviews

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Great time!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/07/16

I booked this trip because we could share the charter and because we could keep what we caught if we wanted. For a very good price, we were able to spend all morning fishing and otherwise enjoying being on the beautiful water. My husband was disappointed because a marlin was hooked on his turn, but by the time the deckhand got the pole to him, the fish was off. (The deckhand on this day only seemed adequate. I don't think he's the regular one, though; so I wouldn't let that sway me from booking again.) Everybody got to reel in at least one fish, and I am pretty sure most got 2. I got to reel in a 19.5 pound skipjack tuna :o), which the deckhand filleted for us, and we had it cooked at the Royal Jade Garden in Kona. The chef did a great job (salt and pepper stir fry and honey walnut stirfry - the salt and pepper was best) for around $14 each dish. It was a great way to spend a morning on the Big Island. Will call them again on our next trip there.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Captain Jack Kona Sport Fishing Charter (from Keauhou Bay)

Great trip

Reviewed by: Hedy, 2019/03/16

My cousin and I have gone out on fishing with Capt Jack 4 times over the last 4 years. We have caught fish on each trip. The trip we took last week was a blast. 1st we
spent about a 1/2 hour catching bait.Then we used the bait to catch 9 small (10 -15 lb) yellow fin tuna and a mahi mahi on live bait. At least twice we each had a fish on at the same time. Then the 1st mate took out the big rods and we looked for bigger fish. We caught about 20 lb ono. If you like fishing, head out the Mark on Captain Jack out of Keauhuou Bay, you can start catching fish at the mouth of the harbor. Mark and his first mate always provide helpful guidance to the ladies. We took 5 one gallon baggies of fish home. Great job Capt Mark.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Melissa Billups

Reviewed by: All Around Travel Svcs, 2008/04/17

I have only started using hawaiiactivities.com and this was one of the trips we booked. It was great and so was the service with hawaiiactivities.com. I will be selling all of these tours to my clients and I have placed a link to my site at http:www.allaroundtravelservices.com also so that I can recommend it to everyone! The only problem we had on the fishing trip was our sea sickness! BRING DRAMAMINE!! Caught some awesome Mahi Mahi and Tuna and the crew was GREAT! We did the 3/4 day charter.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Great experience!

Reviewed by: MTTravelers, 2016/02/13

We had a great time on the Sea Wife 2 during our fishing charter. Unfortunately, the fish did not cooperate that day but the other aspects of the trip made up for it. The boat was extremely clean, in good repair and well stocked with water and snacks. I was concerned about getting seasick but the medicine and confidence by Captain Kent to handle any emergency situation took care of any queasiness. I would recommend this trip if you are spending some time in the Kona area.

Comments from activity operators

Thank you so much, we are glad you had fun!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Fishing the Big Island

Reviewed by: Al from Montana, 2011/06/24

Enjoyed our four hour fishing experience, with all poles used, we had an enjoyable time. Not getting to reel in a fish didn't dampen my trip, as I witnessed a 14 year old boy bring in a 42 lb. Ono. The enitre boat was able to share in the fish caught by the boat and this was an extra worth eating. I found the entire staff of the Sea Wife II to be both helpful and entertaining. I would definitely go again and look to the Sea Wife II for my charter experience.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Bite Me

Reviewed by: Linda D, 2012/09/23

First, we were late because we got lost (our fault, not theirs). Second, we didn't catch anything, not even a bite. However, we had a perfectly lovely cruise from the harbor and around the coast of Kona. The guide and captain - who happened to be father and son - were very skilled, informative, knowledgeable and helpful. They even delayed our return to port, trying to get us a bite at least. Great trip over all.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Great Time and Lots of Fish!!!

Reviewed by: Elisha's Family, 2008/10/04

My family really wanted to do some fishing while we were in Hawaii, and I am so glad that we took the time to do so! It was such an amazing difference from fishing on a lake, and the being out in the ocean was so exciting and refreshing! The captain and the crew were very attentive to our needs, and knew just where to go to reel in the big ones :) Highly reccomend this operation and can't wait to go back!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Nothing like a Hawaiian Sunset!

Reviewed by: Kyle Bond, 2008/06/07

We booked a two day trip on the "bite me" - there is nothing like watching a sun setting in HAWAII while floating in the middle of the ocean. Day one was pretty relaxing but by day two we were ready for some aggressive fishing ... two marlins later! Haha! Capt. Brian and Crew AMAZING JOB and hoping to see you again soon!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Boys' Fishing Trip

Reviewed by: Beverly , 2013/03/06

The boys went fishing while the girls went shopping. They had a very good time, except for Paul, who did not take his Dramamine! At least he only fed the fish on the way back. They caught some nice fish, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The crew was friendly and knowledgable and helpful. I would recommend this.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2012/05/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

GONE FISHING

Reviewed by: Anita, 2011/05/03

My boyfriend talked me into going and I had the time of my life! He caught a 20lb mahi mahi and we got to bring it home!!! I caught a shark and another man caught a marlin! It was a great experience and I would definitely go again! Thanks Sea Wife II!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

memorable

Reviewed by: DAN, 2008/03/06

WE thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The trip was memorable, the crew was
courteous and informative and we went back to our condo with some fresh
tuna fillets - everything we had hoped the experience would be.

Thanks So Much

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

April fishing with Dad.

Reviewed by: Sam, 2012/04/29

My father need some assistance on and off the boat. The captain and crew were great. Did not catch anything ... but that is how fishing is sometimes. Love the stories and making new friends. It was worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Cruise

Reviewed by: Beverly , 2015/02/01

We ended up doing more cruising than fishing. This was much different than the year before, when they motored to a certain spot & fished. We still had a good time. The crew was friendly and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2014/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Great time

Reviewed by: Kim, 2009/03/10

My son and boyfriend spend 1/2 day fishing and had a wonderful time. The staff were very helpful and friendly. My son caught a 30lb spearfish and was thrilled. Both of them would do it again.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Great Company!!!

Reviewed by: John Kuehn , 2015/07/30

Went out on two trips! Both were amazing and I had a great time! The crew and captain were very nice, helpful and knowledgeable. I will defiantly go out with them again when I visit!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kona Sport Fishing Trip - Shared & Private Charters (from Kona Pier)

Wonderful experience!!

Reviewed by: H family, 2017/01/09

First time for my kids and me and we would definitely do it again!! The crew was great and professional. We all hooked a fish!! Loved it!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Great time!

Reviewed by: Cherie, 2010/01/31

It was a beautiful day and the staff was great. They were friendly and knowledgeable and it was very exciting for us!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kona Sport Fishing Trip - Shared & Private Charters (from Kona Pier)

Charter was great:)

Reviewed by: Chris, 2016/01/02

We had a great time got four bites but that's fishing crew was fun I would go again

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Sea Wife 2 Charter

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/02/21

I went out with my 8 y/o son on the Sea Wife 2 today, out of Kona.
Overall we had a very nice time. This was my first charter fishing trip in Hawaii, and things are done very differently here from my state of WA.
Sometimes that has to be remembered when looking at the whole picture. If you are visiting the big island with your family, and want to just be out on the beautiful water and catch something then this is a GREAT place to setup with your kids. The Captain and deck hand were really friendly, and everything was in good shape, i.e. fishing equipment, boat etc.
I was pretty let down in the fish that we were catching, i.e. Mackeral, somethink maybe called Striped Jack? small Ono, etc. These were basicly 14" 2lb baitfish. Fish that would lend themselves towards bringing up something bigger and more interesting. I myself fish heavily when at home, so this was kinda a drag...... but don't get me wrong,,, my kid loved it! and I think it is a good way to get out and ensure th

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 1" Sport Fishing Shared & Private Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Half Day Shared Sport Fishing

Reviewed by: Wanda and Keith, 2011/11/24

Although this was a lot of fun; it is a bit pricey... an expensive boat ride. You don't actually handle the rods unless something is caught, otherwise you just enjoy the ride. In our case, we didn't catch anything so we just enjoyed the ride. The views are spectacular and we ran into a school of dolphins which was amazing to watch. If you don't mind the money, it is still a good way to just relax and soak up the sun. It's not much in the way of fishing since you don't actually get to handle any of the rods, that is done by the crew only although they said if anything was caught, you could try to reel it in and they'd help.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Sea Wife II

Reviewed by: Jess C, 2011/10/04

My husband and I were so excited to deep sea fish! Unfortunately, noone on the boat caught a single fish. My husband and I fish back home, so we know this sort of thing happens, but 4 hours on the boat and not a single fish was kinda irritating. The crew worked hard and was super nice though. Just wish that for the $200 we spent we could have at least seen someone catch a fish on the boat. I kinda felt that if I wanted to sit on a boat for 4 hours I would have booked that instead of fishing.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 3" Fishing Boat Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Ms

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2010/02/20

Captain and crew surely cannot be faulted for the fish not biting. They did their best to navigate us into waters where fish were known to be biting in the past, but with the big beautiful Humpback Whales roaming the seas the odds were against them. It would have been nice if at least one of them was a bit more communicative and share with us some local knowledge, but they kept to themselves. I know that is not their job, but it would have added some color to the day.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Good fishing

Reviewed by: Kathy, 2017/02/27

Although we had a successful fishing trip, it was slightly marred but the surliness of the captain (Kent). We later found out that he has a great success rate fishing and the added bonus of keeping part of fish made the trip.
Where Kent lacked in communication skills, the first mate (the kid) more than made up for with his non-stop stories. (No really, you can look that up). Hehe
We went home with a 22lb mahi mahi. Way to go, Jennifer.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Great Fun

Reviewed by: Jose's Wife, 2008/10/04

My new husband really wanted to go fishing on our recent trip to Kona. This seemed to be the best option for us because we didn't want to charter a whole boat just for the two of us. The crew was friendly and helpful to me (first time fisher) and my husband got a kick out of watching me try to fish!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Sport fishing

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2007/12/27

I went fishing in September 07. I had a great time. The crew was professional and friendly. The boat was clean and well maintained. The captain and crew wanted everyone to catch fish. I would recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kona Sport Fishing Trip - Shared & Private Charters (from Kona Pier)

Bite Me IV fishing

Reviewed by: Ken, 2014/06/09

enjoyed the fishing trip even though only caught one skipjack tuna, the crew were very nice and did their best to catch some fish

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2014/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

"Bite Me 3" Fishing Boat Charter (from Honokohau Harbor)

Mr.

Reviewed by: Jerry Fox, 2010/12/29

Nice boat, nice day, nice crew, not so nice fish. We all enjoyed ourselves. Very relaxing!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Not a bite!

Reviewed by: Jason, 2007/07/09

Our captain had been aaway from the waters for weeks and our trip was his first back. So, he did not know where the fish were biting. If it were not for the huge shark we saw in the harbor area, it would hvae been a complete waste of money.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Fishing in Kona

Reviewed by: BEJ, 2016/05/03

Crew and captain were great! Other participants smoked way too much which kept me ill. Not the best time to go; since fishes are not biting too much between 10 - 12:00

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2016/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sea Wife Kona Sport Fishing Trips (from Honokohau Harbor)

Fishing

Reviewed by: Tony, 2007/10/27

We went in August 2007 and it seamed like all they wanted was your money. didnt't get one bite and the deck hand would'nt even talk to us I will charter a boat next time.

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
  Top Destinations

Hawaiian Islands

Big Island Categories