Summit to Sea: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Biking Tours (from Hilo)

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Timothy , 2015/06/01

Great guides, very knowledgeable. See the best of volcano national park

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great, except for lousy weather

Reviewed by: Christy, 2014/10/26

This was a lot of fun, even with the bit of rain we got. (getting rain in my eyes, not so fun... almost wrecked) It was a shame half the trip got cancelled due to high winds. Got to see the half of Volcanoes Nat'l Park that we didn't see the day before on our own, so that was a lucky happenstance.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bike Tour of Volcanoes National Park was more informative that I would have imagined

Reviewed by: Pilot01, 2014/07/27

My teen aged son and I enjoyed the bike tour of Volcanoes National Park very much. Pretty, who drove the van, passed out snacks and handled logistics, was super well organized and very friendly. She also gave us some interesting "tid bits" of Hawaiian culture. Megan, our guide was a recent geology graduate with a specialty in Volcanology. She was fantastically knowledgable about all of the geology and we learned much more than we would have if we had toured the park on our own.

The cycling is mostly down hill and anyone in reasonable physical condition should be able to enjoy this tour. The weather varies from fairly cool, windy and damp (rainy) to sunny and warm. I would recommend dressing in layers with a water resistant jacket, in order to be comfortable the whole tour.

All in all this is a great way to see all of the highlights of Volcanoes National Park and learn far more than you would without an expert geologist.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to explore Volcanoes National Park

Reviewed by: T Feldstein, 2014/02/19

We didn't quite know what to expect when we signed up for the bicycle tour of Volcanoes National Park, but were very pleasantly surprised to meet and interact with our guides, Meghan and Pretty. We learned things about volcanoes that we wouldn't have on our own. The short bike parts of the tour weren't too much, but enough to get the blood pumping. Meghan's stories and knowledge of the National Park were entertaining and very informative. She has extensive experience in the park's history and we could have listened to her for more time than the tour allowed. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone with an adventurous spirit and a thirst for volcanic knowledge.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day Adventure..

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/20

I was expecting to see items of interest that we couldn't see from driving the park in a car. This was not the case, we only passed through one area that was not accessible by car (but a short hike would have taken us there).
Bikes need to be tuned. I mountain bike fairly often and our bikes' shifting was poor. All bikes had Grip Shift. My partner's bike was very bad and she fought the problem the entire trip.
Overall I think that the bike ride was not worth the money.

Reply from activity provider

Bike Volcano guided bicycle tours take place on paved roads and trails. There are 2 off road paved trails that we cover on our bicycle tours. Yes, you could have chosen to hike or drive your car around the National Park. However, you would not have had the full sensory experience of exploring the points of interest by bike, while exercising, and exploring a large area with an Interpretive Guide and a support van to return you to your point of origin. Safety is our highest priority. All of our bicycles undergo a daily and regular maintenance tune-up schedule with a Profession Bicycle Mechanic. We always carry spare bikes in case a bike problem develops on tour or in transit. You or your partner could have alerted our Bike Guide or Driver that you were having a bike issue so that we could have issued you another bicycle. Lastly, Bike Volcano offers the lowest priced guided bicycle tours of the National Park. We appreciate your comments and strive to approve our service.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just the BEST

Reviewed by: MICHAEL LOVEJOY, 2012/06/21

WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF THE ENTIRE TRIP! Pretty and Beth were outstanding! Trails were easy for everyone and nobody was rushed. Scenery was incredible and the trails were 95% paved. A few small hills but mostly flat and downhill. Highly recommend this, and see if you can get both Pretty and Beth!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Chris and Sue, 2012/06/12

Thoroughly enjoyed this bike ride. Great way to learn and see the volcano area. Our guide Steve had an excellent knowledge base of the park which added to the experience. Great excercise too, but not too strenuous.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific event

Reviewed by: Charlie S., Little Rock, 2012/06/11

This event was outstanding in all respects. Our guide, Steve, was very knowledgeable about bot scientific and historic aspects of the volcano, which really enriched the remarkable things we saw. George, his helper, was always available for help with bikes, water, etc. The equipment was very good - sturdy and reliable. The ride really is 98% down hill - only a couple of hills to climb - I made the first one (58 years old, huffing and puffing) and walked half of the second one). Lunch was good. Only downer: if you are expecting to see molten lava, you won't.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the park

Reviewed by: Liz & Marco, 2012/04/30

We had a great time. The ride is relatively easy and mostly downhill. We enjoyed the views during lunch along the shoreline. The wine at the winery was certainly "different."

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEAUTIFUL BIKE RIDE!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/07

THIS WAS A BEAUTIFUL BIKE RIDE! I CAN'T IMAGINE A BETTER WAY TO SEE THE BEAUTY OF THIS NATIONAL PARK AND ITS VOLCANO! I ABSOLUTELY WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TOUR FOR ANYONE WHO LOVES TO REALLY GET CLOSE TO THE ACTION AND WHO ALSO LOVES TO EXPERIENCE ISLAND BEAUTY AND EVERYTHING FIRSTHAND. BIKING DOWN THE RIM, WITH THE WIND IN MY HAIR, IS A MEMORY I WILL NEVER FORGET. REALLY ENJOYED LEARNING THE HISTORY AND INFO ABOUT THE VOLCANO AND PARK ITSELF TOO

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great time!

Reviewed by: Alexander, 2011/06/12

We did the Volcano Bike Tour in late May 2011. We had a great time. Fred, our tour guide, was very knowledgable about volcanos, the land, and history of what we toured. The ride was very doable with a few inclines to be challenging and make one feel like they accomplished something. We had a nice deli lunch by the ocean when we finished riding. I suggest you bring a jacket or sweatshirt as it is cooler at that altitude. Also, check out driving time to the meeting point. We stayed on the Kona side and it took 1 1/2 hr. to get to the general store.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very fun AND educational

Reviewed by: Becky and Sean, 2010/10/26

Eric and Willy were super fun and very knowledgable. It was fun going off roading along with the street path. I loved how they pointed out very unique things along the course that other tour guides were skipping over. The winery wasn't that great but was a nice way to wrap up the day. The sandwhiches were sooo good!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bike Tour

Reviewed by: jan, 2010/09/26

This bike tour was one of the most fun experiences of our trip to the Big Island! Our tour guides, Emily and Willy, were stellar! Very safe, informative, and very personable. Because of the bike tour, you were able to see a lot of sights that would not be available by just hiking through the facility. The bike ride was mostly level and downhill so most participants could totally do this tour! The lunch package was great as well as the last stop to the beach! Many thanks to our guides which made this trip so unique! A most memorable trip, do not miss this!!








Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcanoes

Reviewed by: Donald, 2010/08/03

This was by far the best activity I have experienced in both my visits to Hawaii. The tour guide (Eric) was exceptionally knowledgeable and he was also very patient with the group. His assistant (Willie) could not do enough for us. The activity was fun, enjoyable and conducted in a very safe manner. Both guides did everything possible to ensure we all had an equally good time. We learned a lot, burned some un-needed calories and had a fun time too! I would give this activity my highest recommendation. You won't be sorry you did it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Fun

Reviewed by: Ed Gallagher, 2010/07/26

Our guides, Willy and Eric, were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Eric took the time to point out a million different peculiarities of the Hawaiian landscape and Willy was very funny and entertaining. The two of them are a great team.

The sights on the volacano were amazing and my wife and I took tons of pictures. We never felt rushed and enjoyed it thoroughly.

The food was very well prepared and quite delicious. My wife and I ate the turkey club sandwich and were impressed when we received a gourmet sandwich, not some week old mystery meat thing.

I would highly recommend this event not only because of the beautiful sights, but also because of the best service one could ask for.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful way to see the Volcano!

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2009/10/28

I really enjoyed this trip and it was well worth it. We toured the park on bike and enjoyed the beautiful day. The ride was not too difficult for those who aren't in the best of shape like myself. The staff is prepared for rain and also provide snacks and water to keep you refreshed. The only thing I wasn't happy about was that we did not go to *closely* see where the lava hits the ocean; however, it would have been another 16 miles round-trip, so I can understand :). Guide did recommend where we could go park and see it later that evening. All in all it was a great trip with awesome guides!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great trip all around!!!

Reviewed by: Robert, 2009/10/03

Both of the guides were outstanding!!! They were knowledgable and entertaining!!! We went 12 miles which seemed to go by in only minutes... we had fequent stops tons of Hawaiian and volcano history. A longer ride would not have been an issue for me and would have been very enjoyable!!! The food was outstanding and our day was absolutely awesome!!! The views were amazing and we would have missed so many of them if we had not taken the bike ride! I highly recommend the trip and I hope you have the same guides. They truely made the trip more than a bike ride! Have fun, I did!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Orlando Resident, 2009/02/24

This was a really enjoyable day. The staff was friendly and informative. We felt like we had made new friends by the end of the day. Definitely recommend taking more than one day to see the Volcano National Park, though. There a lots of trails to hike that can not be accessed by the bikes.
A big Mahalo to the staff for putting together a lovely "adventure".

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow...just wow!

Reviewed by: Becca Vorez, 2009/01/17

When my fiancee told me that he wanted to take a bike tour of a volcano, I was like, "NO WAY!" but I am SOOO glad that I went since it was literally the BEST tour that we went on while on the Big Island!

The guides are soooo informative and all the places we were able to go was way awesome. It was so nice to feel the sun and the breeze while touring instead of being cooped up in a bus! :)

My favorites were seeing the old lava flows, the smoking crater and the visit to the winery. I brought back a few bottles and everyone LOVES them!

I can't wait to try this again and have reccomended this tour to all of my friends! Yay! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the park

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/06/30

Great way to see the park

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2008/06/05

The bike the volcano tour was sooo much fun. My cousin & I are both in our 20's and we had a blast. The age ranges of our group were teen's - 50's. The Guide was very knowledgable & both him & the driver were fun. The sights were awesome, The lunch was tasty, & there was some good downhill spots where you were going pretty fast. Definately want to do it again & probably will do it again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bike the volcaco tour

Reviewed by: Rob & Nancy, 2008/03/25

What an experience! The best way to see the park. The guide was great - knew his stuff and was able to adapt when the volcano decided to erupt while we were there. This was the best thing we did while on the island.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Volcano Bike Tour

Reviewed by: Leslie, 2008/03/11

The Bike Tour was really alot of fun. Our guide was very informative about the volcano and what its activity and history were. Was hot and tired by the end and did not want to really participate in the wine part, but that was good as well.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Angelo Cici, 2007/12/21

It was the most unique and enjoyable activity we did in Hawaii. The guides were very helpful and informative. I am so glad my girlfriend and I found this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hawaiian Islands

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI