Summit to Sea: Hawaii Volcanoes National Park Biking Tours (from Hilo)

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Timothy , 2015/06/01

Great guides, very knowledgeable. See the best of volcano national park

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/05/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great, except for lousy weather

Reviewed by: Christy, 2014/10/26

This was a lot of fun, even with the bit of rain we got. (getting rain in my eyes, not so fun... almost wrecked) It was a shame half the trip got cancelled due to high winds. Got to see the half of Volcanoes Nat'l Park that we didn't see the day before on our own, so that was a lucky happenstance.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bike Tour of Volcanoes National Park was more informative that I would have imagined

Reviewed by: Pilot01, 2014/07/27

My teen aged son and I enjoyed the bike tour of Volcanoes National Park very much. Pretty, who drove the van, passed out snacks and handled logistics, was super well organized and very friendly. She also gave us some interesting "tid bits" of Hawaiian culture. Megan, our guide was a recent geology graduate with a specialty in Volcanology. She was fantastically knowledgable about all of the geology and we learned much more than we would have if we had toured the park on our own.

The cycling is mostly down hill and anyone in reasonable physical condition should be able to enjoy this tour. The weather varies from fairly cool, windy and damp (rainy) to sunny and warm. I would recommend dressing in layers with a water resistant jacket, in order to be comfortable the whole tour.

All in all this is a great way to see all of the highlights of Volcanoes National Park and learn far more than you would without an expert geologist.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/07/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to explore Volcanoes National Park

Reviewed by: T Feldstein, 2014/02/19

We didn't quite know what to expect when we signed up for the bicycle tour of Volcanoes National Park, but were very pleasantly surprised to meet and interact with our guides, Meghan and Pretty. We learned things about volcanoes that we wouldn't have on our own. The short bike parts of the tour weren't too much, but enough to get the blood pumping. Meghan's stories and knowledge of the National Park were entertaining and very informative. She has extensive experience in the park's history and we could have listened to her for more time than the tour allowed. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone with an adventurous spirit and a thirst for volcanic knowledge.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/01/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day Adventure..

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2013/02/20

I was expecting to see items of interest that we couldn't see from driving the park in a car. This was not the case, we only passed through one area that was not accessible by car (but a short hike would have taken us there).
Bikes need to be tuned. I mountain bike fairly often and our bikes' shifting was poor. All bikes had Grip Shift. My partner's bike was very bad and she fought the problem the entire trip.
Overall I think that the bike ride was not worth the money.

Reply from activity provider

Bike Volcano guided bicycle tours take place on paved roads and trails. There are 2 off road paved trails that we cover on our bicycle tours. Yes, you could have chosen to hike or drive your car around the National Park. However, you would not have had the full sensory experience of exploring the points of interest by bike, while exercising, and exploring a large area with an Interpretive Guide and a support van to return you to your point of origin. Safety is our highest priority. All of our bicycles undergo a daily and regular maintenance tune-up schedule with a Profession Bicycle Mechanic. We always carry spare bikes in case a bike problem develops on tour or in transit. You or your partner could have alerted our Bike Guide or Driver that you were having a bike issue so that we could have issued you another bicycle. Lastly, Bike Volcano offers the lowest priced guided bicycle tours of the National Park. We appreciate your comments and strive to approve our service.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just the BEST

Reviewed by: MICHAEL LOVEJOY, 2012/06/21

WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF THE ENTIRE TRIP! Pretty and Beth were outstanding! Trails were easy for everyone and nobody was rushed. Scenery was incredible and the trails were 95% paved. A few small hills but mostly flat and downhill. Highly recommend this, and see if you can get both Pretty and Beth!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Untitled

Reviewed by: Chris and Sue, 2012/06/12

Thoroughly enjoyed this bike ride. Great way to learn and see the volcano area. Our guide Steve had an excellent knowledge base of the park which added to the experience. Great excercise too, but not too strenuous.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Terrific event

Reviewed by: Charlie S., Little Rock, 2012/06/11

This event was outstanding in all respects. Our guide, Steve, was very knowledgeable about bot scientific and historic aspects of the volcano, which really enriched the remarkable things we saw. George, his helper, was always available for help with bikes, water, etc. The equipment was very good - sturdy and reliable. The ride really is 98% down hill - only a couple of hills to climb - I made the first one (58 years old, huffing and puffing) and walked half of the second one). Lunch was good. Only downer: if you are expecting to see molten lava, you won't.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the park

Reviewed by: Liz & Marco, 2012/04/30

We had a great time. The ride is relatively easy and mostly downhill. We enjoyed the views during lunch along the shoreline. The wine at the winery was certainly "different."

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

BEAUTIFUL BIKE RIDE!

Reviewed by: Mr. Anonymous, 2011/08/07

THIS WAS A BEAUTIFUL BIKE RIDE! I CAN'T IMAGINE A BETTER WAY TO SEE THE BEAUTY OF THIS NATIONAL PARK AND ITS VOLCANO! I ABSOLUTELY WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TOUR FOR ANYONE WHO LOVES TO REALLY GET CLOSE TO THE ACTION AND WHO ALSO LOVES TO EXPERIENCE ISLAND BEAUTY AND EVERYTHING FIRSTHAND. BIKING DOWN THE RIM, WITH THE WIND IN MY HAIR, IS A MEMORY I WILL NEVER FORGET. REALLY ENJOYED LEARNING THE HISTORY AND INFO ABOUT THE VOLCANO AND PARK ITSELF TOO

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Hawaii, Big Island Categories

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Concierge Services in Honolulu HI