Karen from MO's activity reviews | Book tours, activities & fun things to do on HawaiiActivities.com

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Hawaiian Islands


Reviews by Karen from MO
Last review on 2017/09/24
# of Reviews: 4

What an amazing experience!!

Posted on: 2017/09/24

This trip was the highlight of our trip to the Big Island. We had a great time and enjoyed the experience immensely. I was a little disappointed when they called me that morning and told us the road to the summit was closed and we might not be able to go to the top. Since we were on a limited time schedule we decided to go anyway. Nate was our guide and picked us up in Kona. On the ride to Mauna Kea, he explained about the different kinds of lava flows and some of the myths about Pele. When we got to the sheep station, Nate set up our meal for us and explained about life as a sheep rancher on the island. He promised that if we didn't get to go to the summit, he would make sure we at least saw the sunset from another spot. Supper was very good and it was fun getting to know the other tourists with us. After we ate, we got the good news that the road had opened and we were able to go to the top. What a gorgeous sight!! We saw the sun set on one side and turned around and saw the full moon coming up on the other. After watching the sunset, we went back down to visitor center and did some stargazing. Nate was very knowledgeable about the constellations. We were able to see the rings around Saturn and other constellations that night. The hot chocolate and warm brownies tasted good after being up on the summit where it was pretty chilly! I would definitely recommend this adventure for anyone visiting the Big Island, If we are fortunate enough to return, we will be doing this again!! Thank you Nate for a great evening.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Beautiful views of the valley

Posted on: 2017/09/24

What a unique experience! We were met at a small shop and driven part of the way down in the valley by Bob in a four wheel drive van. The road in and out of the valley is very steep and rough at times, but the view was beautiful. The wagon ride was fun and Bob was very informative telling us about the plant life and history of the valley. We saw a beautiful waterfall that can not be seen unless you go down in the valley.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Great guides and fun day

Posted on: 2017/09/24

We enjoyed our day Klauea Bike Tour. From the pick-up in Hilo and back we had excellent tour guides. Dorian and Nate were both very informative and accommodating. We were lucky enough to be the only two cyclists that day and got great attention. Dorian and Nate both were very knowledgeable and bent over backwards to make our day fun. Dorian took time to find examples of different kinds of lava rock to show us and also found some of Pele's hair to show us. He was also a good photographer and made several pictures for us. My husband especially enjoyed the cool fresh mint towel at the end of the ride. I would highly recommend this tour to others.

Reply from activity provider

Aloha! We are so glad you enjoyed cycling around the volcano with us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Nate and Dorian are a wonderful team and I will be sure to pass on your kind words! Mahalo!

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review

Fun Evening

Posted on: 2017/09/24

We enjoyed the Island Breeze Luau. We were seated with a great group of people and enjoyed talking with them.. The show was very well done. The fire dancer at the end was especially good. The food was very good and had a lot of choices on the buffet.

Rating: star
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date: 2017/09/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
See individual review
Page Previous | | Next